Building collapse: Lagos state govt may prosecute T.B Joshua | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 29 September 2014

Building collapse: Lagos state govt may prosecute T.B Joshua

It looks like Synagogue leader T.B Joshua will be prosecuted by the Lagos State Government over the collapse of his building on September 12th that left more than 115 people dead.

According to Punch, the state government has set up a coroner of inquest for the purpose of investigating the cause of the building collapse. This was made known in a statement credited to the Lagos State Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice, Mr. Ade Ipaye, on Sunday.

According to the statement, Ipaye had instigated the coroner’s inquest pursuant to Section 15 of the Lagos State Coroner’s System Law No. 7 of 2007.
The coroner of inquest, headed by Magistrate O. A. Komolafe, has been charged with the duty of establishing the cause of the collapse of Synagogue’s six-storey building that killed no fewer than 115 persons.
Ipaye, who spelt out the responsibility of the coroner, said its final submission might necessitate the institution of a criminal charge against the church.
The commissioner was quoted to have said, “The law requires the verdict of a coroner, as certified in writing, to be forwarded to the State Attorney General and such verdict may form the basis of criminal prosecution depending on the evidence collected.
“The coroner in this case is Magistrate O. A. Komolafe, who also sat as coroner in the Dana Air Crash case. He is expected to announce his sitting or visitation schedules and other details and to hold the inquest at the premises of the High Court of Lagos State, Oba Akinjobi Way, Ikeja.
“In doing this, he (Komolafe) has all the powers of a magistrate to summon and compel the attendance of witnesses, including medical examiners, and require them to give evidence, produce documents or present other relevant materials.”
Source: Punch

472 comments:

1 – 200 of 472   Newer›   Newest»

not my Pastor

Unique.uzoma@gmail.com

D should leave this man alone abeg, it's too much, # seastar#

Wow this issue is getting serious, the government shld take it easy michaeldawari@gmail.com

The law should take its place

lammy said...

Wow

No point prosecuting him. Get the Engineers that did the job.
Worshipcentre546@gmail.com.

beauty said...

Hmm...........beautymadu90@gmail.com

The Government should

Issokay! Mikky4manu@yahoo.com

All protocols should be observed...

Stories that touch. They can't do jack

If found guilty let the law take it place Eongrillz@gmail.com

awojirinsa6@gmail.com:

Heard the building was even under construction and Lagos state also said they never gave any building approval for the house. Am afraid he might have acase to answer to them then.

Hiisssssss.

frankblack said...

D Lord is ur strength prophet TB Joshua.. francisdunia1@gmail.com

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Jst passing

Visit my blog

www.glowysofiscated.blogspot.com

So sad T.B is facing so much of problems...hormohyemy@yahoo.com

goldeneye said...

1st to comment... My email goldeneyectinc@gmail.com

Neks said...

"May"? I feel so sorry for this Prophet right now even though i don't believe all of his miracles...

Immaculate said...

They should start immediately and stop wasting time.

No b small thing. Obianuju4anita@gmail.com

Eyah! Well let's see how it goes.. God knows best as He already know how this saga would end. Psalm 46:1. BishopDammy#

Flowzzykingin@gmail.com

CasalA don burst

May God help us all

It is well
Olarinde.juliet@gmail.com

No b small tin. Obianuju4anita@gmail.com

I think dey shd,many lives were lost just bcos of negligence. Dcdorischuks@gmail.com

all we say is 'Give us justice'

Hmmmm,it is well

Flowzzykingin@gmail.com

Well am nt a fan tho! Bt i fink tins lyk dhs shud b done spiritualy , they shud seek spiritual insight

God hlp us É‘̤̈̊ηd̅ hlp our nation vicky4real2708@yahoo.com

Prosecute those who issued the building permit and gave approval for occupancy. Those should be relieved of their jobs with immediate effect. The pastor is ONLY a preacher of the gospel of Jesus Christ and NOT an archictect ,bulider, contractor or the Lagos State government. The Lagos State government should be sued for approvingthe occupancy of the building without verification of pertinent building and real estate laws.Get it into your thick head. You will be tresspassing when you neglect the laws of division of labor. You can only prosecute those who violated the laws NOT those who have suffered twice by loosing their money trusting on the expertise of government appointed officials and the use of the property that has cost them so much.God send us help. IJN.

First to comment oooo. Paultheballerno1@yahoo.com

Flowzzykingin@gmail.com

zines143@gmail.com good for him!

The bodies should be evacuated completely

I doubt because TB Joshua is Powerful

Flowzzykingin@gmail.com

biola said...

The building was under construction, and then Lagos state confirm not giving development approval. He might have a case to answer then.(awojirinsa6@gmail.com)

Flowzzykingin@gmail.com

zines143@gmail.com

k

Trendyiphie10@gmail.com

goldeneye said...

1st to comment... My email goldeneyectinc@gmail.com

he myt be in so much pressure now

-i'd take this wid a pinch of salt..

Let justice b done. adebayoifelaja@yahoo.com

NaNcY DreW said...

Of cuz he shud be prosecuted

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

"May" prosecute TB joshua" is a conditional statement..E never sure noni.

It is well joyce4aj@yahoo.com

First to comment. It is well. spikes16online@yahoo.com

zines143@gmail.com

He might be in so much pressure now hope tinz go well

Make una chek dat man well o.Obedon2001@gmail.com

Its me Obiora.....but why?

zines143@gmail.com

jostico said...

make dem nor try am oo

Bernard Cynthia said...

why do people want the downfall of this man ? i have never been to his church but its the fact...

Can't they let him be????(lordmartins 2009@gmail.com)

niyazz said...

Finally something has to be done people's life won't just go down like that questions need to be answered from the project manager, to who approved the building for usage etc

Swagg isimemen said...

Lag state is rite, Bestbobbyy19@yahoo.com

Dave Mide said...

WHen its " may " ....dont believe the government! They lie through their teeth! we all know this is nuffin buh formality , nothing would ever be done! RIP to those who died in that tragic, horrendous mishap!

waplegend said...

What a pity

That will be good for him imagine giving bribe that is so bad for a man of God

kevin said...

let the govt persecute, 115 souls lost cant jst go away.

First to comment. It is well. spikes16online@yahoo.com

Biko let them investigate it first.....lizzyyajir@gmail.com

lammy said...

First to comment,forgot 2 put my email address.odunlamiolatawura@yahoo.com

nice one cos i dnt believe dis man.1st to comment.madonnaobute2000@yahoo.com.0028581227,diamond bank

BONARIOS BABY said...

No now dey can't possibly do that prosecute a pastor hmmm lord hv mercy o!

Let the law takes its course

This isn't Fair. May their souls rest in peace summersdora@gmail.com

Dey should leave him alone...its not his fault d building collapse na....atleast he has being helping d less priviledge

legacy said...

Very well said

stones said...

Too too bad. sorry to pray hard.
erugoprecious@gmail.com

Everything Rosham said...

His property collapse and he's being prosecuted for it.. Oga oo

Story for the gods..

Judgement and vengeance is God's. Jemmygentle@gmail.com

Is now the time government take to their job serious

God help us.....sdyney4all@yahoo.com

God help him... Cos he needs. It.

May God verdict him if he is innocent.
Prettychi77@yahoo.com

D dooms day iz near.....flee 4rm sin my people@ologunifemidolapo@yahoo.com

Linda publish my comment I cant see it oooo

So help you God...tohraj@outlook.com

FIRST TO COMMENT......... better, lets d court look to it, let him be question. how can u build a six storey building on a two storey building foundation. Ahhh there is god o

This is getting tough
Pastor may not find it funny &easy anymore

sorry for him. sagufobi@yahoo.co.uk

Very good,he has to be prosecuted and if found guilty must face the wrath of the law. This is a new Nigeria (wether people believe it or not) and NOBODY should be above the law (from the president down to the beggar on the street) ESPECIALLY when death is involved! God bless Nigeria

mike said...

NOT ONLY TB JOSHUA,LET THEM INVESTIGATE THE BUILDING MATERIALS AND FIND OUT THE QUALITY .SOME OF THE MANUFACTURERS ARE BECOMING WORLD RICHEST WHILE THEY ARE KILLING NIGERIANS WITH VERY LOW QUALITY GOODS

May thy lord safe TB in this trying times. Too much soul r gone. Too much to ignore. Smallseed131@yahoo.com. @realjidejamal

Oluwaseyi said...

1st to comment,may God come to rescue for this man..

Why will he be prosecuted now? Is he not paying his "TAX on the said building to the Lagos State Government before the building was collapsed? Why didn't they prosecute him then? These our Governments self! adebisiadebowale82@gmail.com

not may bou shuld ......darmey610@gmail.com

Cloud9 said...

God vindicate him if he is a true Man of God.. Your wish be done lord.. Kelly.stanley735@gmail.com

AdaBluey said...

Eehya.. I really feel for this Man of God

Only God can help him now..tohraj@outlook.com

Nigerian govt and after tragedy investigation.isiaka208@gmail.com

okiezman said...

They better do Ok. Okesimaa@gmail.com

Zoe said...

this man has suffered enough!i believe the God he serves will see him through

eseleborfaith@gmail.com said...

Dis pple shuld leave T.B alone o haba?

Na wa for dis deir matter oo. beemmaaa@gmail.com

But y do they have to do this to him,but they didn't see him pushed the building na nawa o.(incase Linda princessdessy20@yahoo.com)

Beausteven said...

May god help us

He isn't above the law!

Hmmmmmmm am speechless.grace b

Let justice take its course topezes@yahoo.co.uk

Its well

BIG FISH * said...

Y disturb TBJ...Lagos state and FG should more concern abt the jet that flew over the building....

"STILL WATCHING FROM MY OCEAN "

I just hope that's not where the story will end..or this may be a ploy.. nigeria is watching. Mercy_ab2003@yahoo.com

God knows best

Jay said...

115 people? When it not a terrorist attack. These are human with folks and families, so because it a church their souls will rest in peace? Pls let the law do it job. All these religion ishz tho *pffft*

(Iamjaytat@gmail.com)

About time that happened!

Leave him alone plss... Tegaireh10@gmail.com

About time!

Annie said...

Hmmm.. God knows those that are His. He will vindicate His own.
Jochienuel@gmail.com

tot they'll neva do dat, he needs to be taught a lesson. lives lost cos of carelessness.
cutiquin2011@yahoo.com

Annie said...

Hmmm.. God knows those that are His. He will vindicate His own.
Jochienuel@gmail.com

Good!
augusgirl@yahoo.com

That is the right thing to do

I pray dis issue end well. Email is amyviviano@yahoo.com

I see this coming but what i know for sure is that the prosecutor or judge will be bribe...this is how corrupt naija is @ the moment..if this guy call TB Joshua is in a civilize country like the western world, he will spend all is fortune to compensate the families of those that died in this negligence or else he will spend the rest of his life in Jail...but lets open our eyes and see the out come of the end of this after the so-call investigation...Naija i hail...lol

LIB Name / ID: Jay Sanni
e-Mail: sweetmob2002@gmail.com

okay

gradually b cuming more interesting. ....sorry ooi!

comment... anu_oluwagbemiro@yahoo.com

We're watching as events unfold.

Tohhh edone happen Eongrillz@gmail.com

The man is evil

Ds gud news nd I hope is nt anoda political stunt...... He shuld face da law,datZ if he won't bribe is way out.... Enelovergirl2003@yahoo.com

thats a good thing to hear.tobiosinubi@yahoo.com

Thelantern said...

Rexpeters22@gmail.com

*Dee* said...

Finally!!! sipasi_damilola@yahoo.com

Nuttyprince said...

They should leave this man alone, Lagos government should b busy investigating on the strange aircraft ....abi dem no watch d video?

They should prosecute him please, I've always had this bad vibe about him and my guts never lie.....

thats good to hear.tobiosinubi@yahoo.com

GOBE TINS...lawt4u2me@yahoo.com

Olaomitogun@gmail.com

pls God come and help the church.okerekediebere@gmail.com

Olaomitogun@gmail.com

ishaq mubarak said...

I dnt just understand

Olaomitogun@gmail.com

If hes innocent nothing will happen Afolabi Tosyne's blog

Olaomitogun@gmail.com

Baby95 said...

just wondering how this will go.hmm

Olaomitogun@gmail.com

rozayhuh said...

Oyo for him Farooqamodu@gmail.com

May thy lord safe TB in this trying times. Too much soul r gone. Too much to ignore. Smallseed131@yahoo.com. @realjidejamal

Olaomitogun@gmail.com

jforjudith said...

He MAY be prosecuted??? He should be prosecuted!!! 115 people died here!!!...judithikwue@gmail.com

We are watching. nwankwo.kelechi1@gmail.com

It's only right they do so, hes a man of God yeah but den lives were lost in his building may not be his fault but the families of those innocent lost lives re entitled to compensation

Let them face the law ....Lekan1983@gmail.com

They should pls leave dis man alone haba! Linda post my comment. eberenora@yahoo.com

Lummie Dee said...

The State Government should put a time frame within which investigations should be completed. This has all the makings of an incident that would be swept under the carpet.....

ikuomolaolu@yahoo.com

wish my mum who is always luking for miracles and a conc fanatic can read this...aunty Linda abeg lemme be among the lucky winners oh

Coroner's inquest, Linda. Don't follow them to write bad grammar.

I dey really pity this man i swear.....
Eddreamzdreamer@gmail.com

Think he needs to be prosecuted.. garretakpale@gmail.com

popoola Desola said...

for real. dis man should be prosecuted..nd m sure he wnt be sentenced..Nigeria sha

shollymama said...

All dis headline nah wash, no we country 9ja probe ko!!! Linda like say u sef no knw ur country

nene said...

Ok na... e don start!... nenemba2014@gmail.com

God save us all.. passionatebeauty2001@yahoo.com

Upon all this am not sure he is going to lose customers.... Eddreamzdreamer@gmail.com

hmmm let c aw it goes

This is so serious

shollymama said...

All dis headline nah wash, no b we country 9ja probe ko!!! Linda like say u sef no knw ur country

""Those that are with us are greater than those against us" EMMANUEL
YES lovely Linda i need to win this i have been an LIB reader for years now mikedave147@gmail.com

Biko we can't be fooled jare /gloriafines103@mail.com

babawalexy9ja said...

Trying times.. Dr is God oo.. Olevsalenco2009@gmail.com

Prosecute him, dat man is playing wit pples lives.

Amery said...

May? they Should biko, pples live were involved (nnejiamaka@ymail.com)

Get ready for the "touch not my annointed quotes" in other words Pastors should be above the law.. Salvation is personal, so if u like carry gun and sword dey defend pastor,that no be wetin go carry u to heaven

Miracle said...

Iike seriously I think its a neessary action long overdue...jesus_j32@yahoo.com

TB josh must be passin thru a lot ryt now...meecee93@gmail.com

Itohan Ogbebor said...

When will his whole issue end...hmmmm....Touch not his annointed

osujichijioke said...

It is the statutory responsibility of the government of Lagos State to conduct an inquest into what really happened in that Synagogue Church guest house collapse, and ofcourse in an impartial manner. It is after this that it will be determined if that man of God, Prophet T. B. Joshua will be prosecuted or not.

Linda na 2day of all day ur blog dey fuck up lol...it takes tym 2open even 2post a comment.julianaezeaku@yahoo.com

A prophet is not known in his home country. don't touch him or u'll incure d wrath of GOD.

nkechilucy65@yahoo. com

Yes, let them investigate b4 judging the man Freemancrib@gmail.com

Mr. TB Joshua, now will be the right time to tender evidence to support your claim that the airplane caused the collapse.

i wonder why a person would lie over death (emmanuelokhimamhe@gmail.com)

They should probe the church collapse and find out what really happened

Eddreamzdreamer@gmail.com.....

Will that bring back the dead.ayinbu@yahoo.com

andrewakinmoyo@yahoo.com

God is with Prophet TB Joshua, "TOUCH NOT MY ANOINTED AND DO MY PROPHET NO HARM"
richard107smith@yahoo.com

Sm1 has to pay...i smell trouble..
Amy_solange93@yahoo.com

God wil help us all..meecee93@gmail.com

And it's still under probability

Ejovwo Edijalau said...

Hez not his fault now

Ejovwo Edijalau said...

There is God in whatever we are doing oooo.....linda tell them ooo