Dear LIB readers: Should I be worried? My BFF is urging me to date her ex | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 4 October 2014

Dear LIB readers: Should I be worried? My BFF is urging me to date her ex

From a female LIB reader
My best friend dated this guy when they were in school and they broke up after he cheated on her with a certain girl. Now I met this her ex recently and he is professing love for me. I called my friend and told her and she goes "You better say yes. I want to be a chief bridesmaid". She's been forcing me to call him and all. Although I like the guy because he is made and actually my spec but again he is my best friends ex-boyfriend. They dated for three years. The weird thing in all of this is her seeming 100% support to the proposed relationship. Should I take her for her word or be scared?

236 comments:

1 – 200 of 236   Newer›   Newest»

Like yu said the dude is made, so grab the opportunity b4 someone else take ur spot. Already made men are heard to see this days.....

Don't date him because later she might turn against you and become your worst enemy, is better u don't try it. Twitter/@dj_smartt

Question.......akubuike1@yahoo.com

Hmmmmmm ....akubuike1@yahoo.com

josslinda said...

linda love tell dis girl that she is on her ownoo

Maybe he always liked you and she knew it. Maybe she has made her peace with it but bits not a good place to be honestly. But God's will will still be done.

oladele said...

lol....don't Oooo .she is asking u to marry her so she can av easy access to be aving s*x wit him ...but if not for the fact that u are looking cheap how will u even tink of dating a guy that has dated ur bfrnd for 3yrs...haba naso guy scarce for ur area? well my advice is don't even try it and after doing it u can come here and tell us the outcome ....
#next

He cheated on your friend and now he's made and liking you, deep down she might be jealous, bitter or still in love with him. The guy is also questionable, he cheats and he goes after his ex's friends. If I were you I'll run from the impending drama.

Kimmy*****

Never u try it, U are likely to regret it before marriage or after marriage. What do u expect ur friend to say? No, so dat u will say that she is jealous, she will always encourage U, please use your head. Just pray God will give you your heart desire and not the one your friend dumped due to his high affinity for ladies. Be wise.

Leave him

dont go , he will still use u and dump u like ur bff. Linda arrest my comment

please look well before you say yes.hidden agenda fit dey inside but if your mind tells you yes.then give it a shot.

Funso Samuel said...

I dont comment on rubbish post

Hmmm, ur best friend is up to something, better don't marry him oh

I m suspicious!

pipifierce said...

Follow ur hrt, period!

Sweet@ I have a friend that's cunning like dat , its a trap she's not hppy with it. Deep down. He's not d only made man on earth who is your spec so. Forget him biko!

Rule 101 in Chessy's diary...
Never date your friend's ex...
And pls be very scared. Don't try it.

No you shouldnt be worried, because she has moved on and not bitter. Go for it.

Pumpkin

No big deal, I supported my ex to date my school dota, now they are talkn marriage. Goodluck!

Runnnnnnnnnnnnn.

Jade said...

How would we know! Mscheww

It's sounds weird. Friends and Exs?!?! Hmmmm. Am afraid for you then again, we don't want you missing a chance of getting a man.
Pray about it.

khemorah said...

Be afraid! Be very afraid!!!

Be very afraid my sister. Was in the same situation...it ended up that both of them were still sleeping with each other behind me. Run like runtown!

(twitter/ig)

jerry said...

Its left to u to decide and it doesn't matter if he's ur frnds ex or not. Besides ur frnd support it so whatelse.

Once ur gal frnd is already married no problem u can date the guy but if shez nt u beta run 4ur life #onelovefromSnow#

This life ehh

Pls dont! That's high way to grave...

ukbliss said...

Don't date him, he may just want to sleep with you.

pearl gold said...

Pray about it! Fast n pray just tell it to God. Dis relationship stuffs d mistakes neva leave ur memory! So dnt b in a hurry!

She's only pretending to be in support. If you value your life don't accept

eviliciouspepe said...

Abeg run as fast as your legs can carry you! Do u trust this your best friend? And is she currently in a committed relationship? Abeg it's weird. A better man will come. Don't feel obligated to date him.

U shud be scared.....she is passing off a guy dat cheated on her to U....U no wise?????

Your call

lildivachic said...

ma dear dnt dare it oh...though husbands r scarce buh she mite hunt u lerra or stil ve sum feelins for d guy....chck if u hav offended her bfor n "maybe" she wants to gt bac at u.
surrender d situation to God.

Hmmm,my 2cent is DON'T TRY IT!!! He's made. She cld bcome ur contender b4 u knw it once she starts seein u shining. (Sue)

Depend on the trust u have for her.
Is she trustworthy?
I Don't trust anybody but at the same time, I place some level of trust on some ppl

who ar u asking,y cnt u follow ur heart..he might cheat on u like he did to ur frnd n @ d same time he might might marry u if he is ur man..jst fellow ur heart..Goldensarah9@yahoo.com

S T said...

i think u should investigate further before u make d biggest mistake of ur life.

I dnt know wah to tell u now becouse u fail to let us know if ur frnd is single, now answer me is ur frnd still single?#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY#

Y nt go ahead gal

Girl, be scared! Your bff already told you her reason for encouraging you - she wants to be a bridesmaid. That should tell you she is selfish. If that's the only reason why you will date him, please don't!!!

Ada Owerri said...

......and they broke up after he cheated on her with a certain girl, are u a leaner? Wat makes u feel he will not cheat on u? Or do u tink u're his last bus-stop? My dear shine ur nose & smell d truth ok, gudluck...(Rochas We Know 2015)

Run dear, run!

Like seriously.......

dunny said...

if i were you i would be scared oh, my dear the history might repeat itself. if he is that good? why can nt ur best friend reconcile with him instead of pushing you into it. becareful my löve.

Its crazy but make sure its your decision and not because u'r cajoled into dating the guy

KK said...

U need to ask ur friend dat "What's d big Idea???", cos sounds lyk she has an hidden agenda except she s already happy wit sumone else which u Av failed to mention.

go and watch omotara johnson
u better be scared, dont trust friends
i will not

When u start regretting ur actions, ur friend will never be there to share ur pains. My dear, follow ur heart, look before u leap

KK said...

U need to ask ur friend dat "What's d big Idea???", cos sounds lyk she has an hidden agenda except she s already happy wit sumone else which u Av failed to mention.

KK said...

U need to ask ur friend dat "What's d big Idea???", cos sounds lyk she has a hidden agenda except she s already happy wit sumone else which u Av failed to mention.

i think you should go ahead.but first find out if your friend have good intention for telling you to go ahead and date him.

Be worried n run in d other direction fast!

I dnt advise u 2 take d guy ooo mayb ur friend wants d ex bk so if u take d guy she can v access 2 d guy Wch u myt nt kno of

Babe ar u sick or what,nd u call dat Kind of person a bff? She is nt ur frend at all, there must be an alterior motive, beta open ur eyes b4 u see urself drowning

Your friend is such an hypocrite!

IF U LOVE HIM THEN DONT MIND WHAT SHE THINK OR WHAT SHE WILL SAY AT UR BACK.
FROM NWA NKWERRE

To think that u ar even considering to accept the proposal,lol, it seems u ar a learner

She wants to use u to get back at him and she is claiming chief bridesmaid...don't trust her no him..u are about to set yourself up for major drama and heartache

Babe ar u sick or what,nd u call dat Kind of person a bff? She is nt ur frend at all, there must be an alterior motive, beta open ur eyes b4 u see urself drowning

That's weird.. She wants you to date her EX; ask her what's in it for her.

*My R1.50c comment*

No Reason To Be Worried My Dear. Just Go Ahead Since She's In Support Of It. All's Well!

My dear better not try it. Gurl never truly say what they mean. Am a gurl I know. Plus she may just be trying to get a reaction and see what you ull do. Please move on.PS: he's made are u for real? Smh get your priorities right you sound like an 18yr old

I am of the opinion that in relationships the only opinion that matters is that of the people in it. So the fact you are asking LIBers for advice suggests that you are unsure and you shouldn't walk into any relationship blind! Follow your heart!

She may one of those friends who can't say the stark truth and does not want yo be seen as opposing a friend. Question is can you live with your friend always in the shadows?

Hmmmm dis is rada confusin but 2me it dosnt mata if wat u both feel 4 each oda is real den I fink u shuld go ahead mayb u re meant 4 each oda u neva can tell as 4 ur best frend, mistakes re bound 2 happen mayb their rshp was a mistake.

See Gobe.my dear has ur friend moved on? Is she happy in her new relationship,d guy cheated on her n she is advising u to date him.hmmm think well pls girls are not smiling.

I believe she has something up her sleeve.

Hmm, you should sit and wonder why she is encouraging you towards the ex, does she want your happiness or wants u to suffer in his hands like she did. It might turn out good, but then again, who knows. Be smart, ask questions. #lindiwe

U̶̲̥̅̊ can give it a try buh be careful

Modupe

Gentletee said...

Capital N0! Your friends ex cant be good enough for u. He cheated on your friend and your friend wisely quit and u want unwisely enter such a relationship. Common think about it. Take your eyes off what he has cos it will help your decision.

Her royal hiness said...

hmmm.....my dear sister pls run for your dear life o,dis girl is a home destroyer in d making,we women 're not to be trusted when it comes to matters like dis ,I urge you to shine your eyes nd f..k outta d relationship,cos something tells me d guy is a chronic womanizer nd would soon tear your gullible mind to pieces,so babez shine your eyes o..as d Yorubas say'oju la ri,inu la o mo'..don't worry you go thank me later

prettyjules said...

Story! Shez expecting u to use ur number six!!

Run!!!b

Young elite said...

There is yoruba saying which says;"The cane use to beat the first wife is still very much availabe in the house for junior wife"Pick and choose a wisdom from that Quote.

90% of ladies I know won't just allow u date him like that.....esp. if d crashed relationship involved sex.....how will she take it when all three of u are together? Something is smoking somewhere ....be carefully...

Ofcourse u should be careful. U have to leave either the guy or your friend. it's dangerous to keep the two.

Be scared.

Run from this boy and your so called friend. She will plant cassava on ya head. Sorry for you, na so dem dey do like say e nor dey pain them then watch as you begin to date the guy and she turns into something else. God punish devil.....

Run for ur life. There is a deal involved. olukemipt@gmail.com

Lagbaja and Ego Reunites and Perform Together

Akon Performs in Plastic Bubble to Avoid Catching Ebola in Congo

You should be scared o. Please don't listen to her.

Well sha if u lyk him giv it a try ts a relationship nt marriage

Be scared..be very scared....wat hapnd to d girl code..u cnt be dat desperate girl....plus ur frnd dated him for three yrs it wasnt a fling..d only tin I can tell u is on ur wedding day while ure getting married to her ex...she wld b behind scenes spicing up ur drinks....no girl has d hrt to accomodate such esp now dat hes made...der wld b jealousy love...like I said,be very scared.nessa.

Very funny. Please do NOT try it

Date him, later you can invite your friend for a threesome, after all, he was the one fucking her before he met you.

My dear...be afraid...be very afraid...doesn't it seem weird to you?....if you're getting bad vibes.....don't do it...and if you really like the guy why would you describe him as 'made' and 'my spec'.....is that what love is about?please take a moment to sit down and think.....you should know how people operate even best friends...you can't trust anybody....so please don't be myopic in your reasoning....A word is enough for the wise....just be careful...that's all I'm saying...

Let her go in and experience

Go make he bang u as u nor fit use ur head..they dated 4 3yrs,it wasn't a 1 9th stand abeg rest,and 4 ur mind u think say hin go settle 4 less? Keep dreaming

Be scared and wary.

Read & learn,dz cud b a plAnned something but bcoz ur stupid u can't put 1+1 together..one time I told a toaster 2 go 4 my friend dt if he succeed in hitting her only then can we date

my ex cheated on me and that's part of the reason we broke up cos i did not trust him again, he is a good guy and can still recommend him to my friends with no hard feeling. so ur bff may be doing it with a good conscience, now the ques is for u knowing d history of he been a cheat, would u be able to trust him? how are u sure he would not cheat on u also. all d best in ur decision.

Be afraid , be very afraid. Its freaking weird!

Lammy93 said...

Dating ur bff's EX is a very silly thing to do.. Ur bff might b acting cool and nice but am sure she is hurting within. So pls b wise with ur decision.

Be scared young one. You better run.

luvth_bionse said...

There's nothing to be scared about she may have moved on with her life.

Be vry scared cos she wil start her madnx if d guy ask fr ur hand in marriage in less dan 4months afta she dated em fr 3yrz no show. Becareful

Hmmn, in a similar situation

Linda please tell them ooo I don't know what they see women as!

mummy3 said...

Ooh! On dis matter I will jst pass

Duncanholly45 said...

Mmmm....... If u ask me ee **in omawumi's voice** but on second thot, shldnt dating U BBF Ex be a Deal breaker in da session 101 Rule of law of SisterHood zone!! #LynxxxGal#

Be scared!!! Girls re bad, the heart of man is wicked be very careful, and cautious. Pray also. Don't love a guy cos he is made that's cheap.

if u love d guy go on wit him

I saw a similar story like this here and it didn't end well for the lady so I advise you to RUN. You even just like his outward qualities by what you have said.

NICK

beautyspice said...

My dear, run as far as u can. She may have plans of using you to get vengeance.

N i guess u'av been eyein him wen he was dating ur bff...better change 4 good.....n everytin is not about money

Don't be surprised if the guy, as well as your BFF, has an STD you don't need. And your BFF doesn't mind your being part of the chain. Nor gree. Which kain byforce accept the guy be dat?

Sommie. said...

Do you want to? Abi na your BFF be your brain box? Pfft.

Weird. Do you know the HIV status of you BFF? I'm just asking

Berra b scared

My dear,run for ur life o..how would u settle with a guy who has seen ur bestie's cookiejar..u don't want her visiting u when u guys are married and have them both getting down in ur home when a connection sparks..save urself d high BP n heartbreak..linda all ma comments on giveaway ddnt show oooo..post this 1

iamdebby-g said...

She isn't 100% in support of it,she's just doing all dat to let u think she isn't jealous,which in actual sense,she is!

SCARED!!!

Goodluck ,all I can say nw#bebo

Tomorrow she will pour acid on you when jealousy kicks in. The ball is in your court darling.

Ena said...

A guy who cheats is ur spec?

Ur headache not mine

fifi said...

Be scared ooo.smthn is wrong smwhr

Be scared!! Ça va?

fifi said...

Be scared ooo.smthn is wrong smwhr

Don't do it please, use your head, she is up to something, and it is not a good thing!!! Female friendships can be very complicated, on Linda's blog some weeks ago we read about a girl that was heartbroken, when her boyfriend dumped her!!! She set up her very close friend to seduce the guy, and then dump up, only for her to fall in love with another guy: then her boyfriend tricked her into coming over to his place, pretending that he was sick!!! Lo and behold, she went there to take care of him, since he was sick , only to find out that the guy was okay, then she saw her friend's ex-boyfriend(whom she seduced and dumped)!!! She was raped by all these guys!!! So God would give you your husband, and it wouldn't be your friend's ex-boyfriend be wary of your so-called friend!!! Whizman

Eka Joy said...

Ur bff is certainly nin support of this but she surely can't show it, if u want to say yes, say it cos u like him but be quite sure ur friendship with ur bff won't be d same again as for me, I can never date a close friend's ex

Be scared. She's gonna be fucking the guy if u marry him. I'm talking from experience.

U beta take off she s just dashing u b is she knows wat she experience d wit him,meanwhile y must u date ur bestys ex ain't u seeing oda chykers

She doesn't mean a word, she either knows the guy will use u nd dump u or will strt getting jealous if things work out, unless she is happily married.

Love, true love, is a permanent feeling. If you are comfortable with the fact that there is a chance that guy will someday sleep with your bff (not once or twice, maybe more), then date him or even marry him. What if your friend wants you to date him thinking it would bring her closer to the guy? ... Please the concept of Best Friend Forever is an illusion.

Run away and be scared because she's got something up her sleeve

Chidinma said...

My dear be scared ooo

Baylow said...

This story is "one kain" lol. He professes love and doesn't call u? Said this cos your besty asked u to call him. Was he your spec when he was your besty's bf? Or he is now that he's made? Weigh your options by what u think is right to do (friendship and respect matters). Do what is right.

Neks said...

who advice you na em you go blame later if backfire, follow wetin your heart tell you.

Dnt even try it, I even taught she married, r u sure she really ur bff? Or dnt u tink she want to use u to see d guy again, or dnt u tink d guy want to use u? I tink u shuld fashi dat side

My dear sister if u lv d guy and u sure d guy lv u pls pray 2 God and go 4 it

If I were you, I wll be scared but u know how life is: expect the unexpected! Just pray about it and am sure u will find answers to ur question.

Mrs. A.

Dont!!! If the ex is so good why is she not with him???

I will say dont. Its possible he has changed and loves u truly, its possible nothing can go on btw him and your besty. But prevention is berra than cure. Wait.....nothing said here will matter you already are in love na so y u dey ask sef....odikwara gi egwu o!

mandy said...

Which kind of weird s*** is that? If she wants to swim in that river again she should go herself not send you. The guy on his own might not b bad but the fact she s sending you on that path s very odd. If it were me I would shift back small 1st and look very well

Ruuuuunnnnnn

Oscu Uhunamure said...

Madam...na U̶̲̥̅̊ dumb pass abi?? U̶̲̥̅̊ dnt knw wats gud 4 U̶̲̥̅̊?? Sum1 who cheated on ur bff ...U̶̲̥̅̊ tink U̶̲̥̅̊ can mk him change...some girls sha...go ahead naw...U̶̲̥̅̊ wanna date a made A̶̲̥̅♏...rubbish

dhobiz said...

I think you should be worried but go ahead and date him but be wide awake.

Blunt Fuck said...

I am very sure you were eying him when he was dating your friend. Road don open for you. Go ahead and date him. Nor be only 'made'. Long throat!

linsadris said...

As fr me I can't date my BFF ex but it all depends on u. Follow ur heart

linsadris said...

As fr me I can't date my BFF ex but it all depends on u. Follow ur heart

Lol.. be scared o. She prolly wants to be ur chief bridesmaid, and chief mistress when d time comes.

OMA

It's a setup! RUN!

Girl,run.Aint nothing like maturity when it comes to issues of the heart especially when sisters are involved.

Be very scared!
If he's made in heaven, why didnt she forgive him?
They can get back together na. Do not date this guy.....trouble brewing!

Otu Ocha!

Be scared oooooo * bt is ur frd married? Or not* if yes give d guy a chance n please close your legs, if no dey re up 2 sumtin. Dat ur frd should not be trusted. U be mumu oooooo, still keeping best frd*

Mrs DAvido

obietrezy said...

Consult an oracle..

Be scared.

Be scared ooh! I repeat be scared!

No she will make mockery of things may be in future

better be scared
a healthy dose of fear is a good thing often times.

NONYE

better be scared
a healthy dose of fear is a good thing often times.

NONYE

please u hv every right to be scared!!

Consider the present state of this your best friend. There could be danger if things are not healthy with her.

U better b scared my dear

U need to run........run away, wot stupid advice. When my friend fell in love with one of my toasters, I was hurt. Why would she permit you to date her ex. There is more to this sorry to say, run away.

Be very scared!

No u should not be worried The only thing u should be worried about is ur worwor face which is a recipe for divorce

One man poison is another man's meal. God ahead, people change. If you believe the man, then marry him, guard him jealously, because your friend may come back to his vomit.

Mama said...

If u shld accept d guy,then u hv to b careful wit ur best friend cos u cant predict if she stil likes d guy or not.

Lol she is jealous trust me, thats the way I act when someone I like likes someone close to me, I coat the jealousy with artificial excited. My face beneath is a mask of horror and my dark heart prays endlessly for a disaster she whoever it is could come back victimized and weep on my shoulder like a lost child. I'm being honest run away from her not him. Thank me later

Mama said...

If u shld accept d guy,then u hv to b careful wit ur best friend cos u cant predict if she stil likes d guy or not.

Abeg where ma bb charger

Ur mind will see you through

That's a very uncomfortable situation. Although I wouldn't want to date my best friend's ex. But if she's down with it and u trust that her support is 100% you may want to give it a shot. However a remember that he'll always have that tag "My best friend's ex".

Better stay away

Be very scared, because she's testing your friendship with this. If you go for it, her attitude towards you will change, so don't say you were not warned.

Hmmmmmm story for the gods oooo babe buh again I ll say follow ur heart if der is any secret btw u and ur BFF dat u promised each of not to spill u bera tell d gal fast bfore she use her reggae to spoil ur blues ooo

No

My dear nuh all dat glitrz re gold..cos I bliv ur friends consent to dis relationship is a purported one...its. fake I mean...and for the fact they'v had sumfin in common in d past..its certain that there would be a consideration the both to cheat...
***FACT***

Just be careful with her

Do it at your own peril but it works out for everyone, enjoy

Nothing new beneath the sun

If it looks fishy , sounds fishy and smells fishy..... then its fishy

Shine your eyes well well

Zubby says so

Don't do it, it's not right...just stay away

caringheart22 said...

Believe me the guy didn't cheat on your friend, your friend actually cheated on the guy and the guy found out then broke up with her and the reason why she told u to say YES is cos the guy is so good and caring and you are making a good choice. That's what I think...

Be super scared dear..don't date the guy..how are you sure she is not still hung up on the guy and this is a great oppourtunity to swoop in..girl wise up!!

Mims said...

Dont be worried, BE AFRAID...BE VERY AFRAID. iv come to understand that spec and being made has nothing to do with a life time comitment. Besides all professions of love will cease if acid gets thrown in ur face. #justsaying

Not only should u be scared u should run.

Babe the thing na 50-50. I go advice u to follow your heart using your brain.

Abeg , make d guy waka. its not gonna work @ dudu Heritage

Anon said...

I wldnt date my bff's Ex... Wldnt evn look @ him twice. Gals re 1 funny creatures. Dnt want sme1 hatin on me later wen d love begins to blossom. Evn if she seems so happy 4me.

Be very very scared. But anyways, go with ur guts. U can never tell. U have to enter inside the bus to be able to describe the things inside.

No try am........topzy

Misery loves company. She's trying to give you a taste of that hurt and pain. He cheated on her after three years. That's all you need to know.

Be scared

it depends on you. just look before you leap

Layi said...

Both of you are stupid fools. You like him because he's rich and your friend will not just share his penis but that money you hungry flies are rushing for. She doesn't love you to be hooking you up with a cheater.
Enjoy your unholy maTHREEmony.

My dear be sacred oooo,she met just be pretending,is not advisable to date a guy ur friend has dated.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 236   Newer› Newest»