Defence HQ releases statement on purported video of Shekau in circulation, says its fake | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 2 October 2014

Defence HQ releases statement on purported video of Shekau in circulation, says its fake

The Nigeria military has reacted to the purported Boko Haram video released earlier today where Shekau or his fake said he was still alive. The military insists that he was killed last month and that the video is fake. Read the statement posted on the Defense HQ website below...
The Defence Headquarters is studying the claims made in the video purportedly released by the terrorists showing their leader Abubakar Shekau as dismissing his death. From immediate observation and what some online news outlets claimed to have seen, the video did not indicate when it was shot neither did it show any proof of life or currency such as screen time or date. 
The video also did not make any reference to anything that has happened since the impostor’s reported death. It is also noteworthy that the air plane said to be mentioned in the video had been missing before he was killed.
It should not surprise anybody if the terrorists decide to manipulate pictures, clone another Shekau or upload a pre-recorded video all in a bid to prove invincible. As far as we are concerned, the individual who was appearing in video and claiming to be the leader of the terrorist group was killed in the Kondunga battle in September.
The resemblance of the corpse and that of the eccentric character was incontrovertible. His identity was equally corroborated by people who knew him before we announced his death. So, while waiting to see the new video before any further statement, our message to them is that justice will be served to whoever bears that name or designation and whoever engages in act.

90 comments:

win said...

I thought as much

Pls Linda I want to watch this video pls

Who to believe? and where is the missing air plane?

Dead or alive,what matters most is an end to this evil,and from all indications Boko haram is nearing its end.

ukbliss said...

I hope his dead

confusion!

Ceeflo said...

Yes, I thought as much

Neks said...

okay Defense HQ, lets wait and see after 1 year at most to see....i don't know who to believe now....i just hope he is truly DEAD!

Okay! Guess the ball is in BH's court to prove if the "eccentric" leader is alive or na

TUFINE said...

i dnt knw wat 2 believe, weda dead or not hiz a dead meat dats all

When will our military stop telling lies.

mandy said...

Boko haram and Nigerian Army. The real abracadabra... The more you look the less u see... #$exynerd

What or who do we believe.
first to comment.

oghoz said...

is there nothing like DNA to confirm the death of a supposed person.. or is it to expensive for our military to run a DNA confirmation? We are just jokes in the country trying to use physical attributes like forehead to confirm such a thing... Bin laden was not just physically confirmed.. They ran DNA on the damn guy too

Nigeria we hail thee. Was any forensic study carried out?

Why do I believe the boko guys to the defense HQ

keisha said...

God knows the truth

what do we believe?.
(first to comment).

I believe the defence HQ on this one excerpt bokoharam show this so called shekau holding a recent news paper or talking about a very specific current event then I will reconsider. God will surely make Nigeria overcome all her challenges and she will be a beacon of light and hope to the world.

bunmi said...

Ok o

MACBOOK said...

And that ends the story abeg

faithful ojie said...

I hope so o..he should better be dead,i no want anoda story o

THATS WHY I LOVE AMERICA, THEY WILL GIVE U PROVES AND TEST THE BLOOD SAMPLE, ETC TO CLARIFY YOU ON THE MATTER B4 ANNOUNCING THE DEATH OF THE TERRORIST.

via official intercom

Shekau is still Alive

Nomso said...

i knew that........zumafrances@gmail.com

MK said...

I believe the Nigeria military, I observed same before I read this.

Funso Samuel said...

I surely expect this to happen.This BH palava wont last forever but wont be solved very soon too.It will take time.I believe the video is truly fake.

tina said...

My God I don't know who to believe again, but all I know is dat God will definitely cast out dis BH one day n they will b history.
tina.agori@yahoo.com

Yeye dey smell.

i always tell my friends that they have not killed that monster. he is hiding somewhere...

Life that displeases God

End Times Virus Part 2

Jabez: Praying to receive all-round breakthrough

He should better b dead oooo!!

Ope o!

I believe u guys 100%. D video must be an old recording b4 he was killed, dey only released it to manipulate people's mind. exactly ma thought after viewing it. Thumbs up our soldiers, God will surely reveal those evil politicians doing this

'Studying the claim' and 'waiting to see the video'. WTF. I thought they should have looked at the video first before coming out with a statement. Hmmmh....Nigeria sha na wah for us o.

Dis shekau story is just to confusin

Na so
Lordemma4love50@yahoo.com

No comment
Waiting patiently

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

I wonder why most people are always against our military. easily believing the terrorists than the army. Making it look like they want the terrorists to win.

oj said...

an so #bringbackourgirls#

There is nothing fake there

Abdullahimuhammad62@gmail.com

Lol! I feel ur pains! But DNA is only useful wen u ve details frm previous test frm the person before hand. Osama was in CIA hence they had his DNA before his arrest! In our case we dnt ve any sound data base to talk of individuals DNA records n finger prints. Plz u guys shud take it easy wit d hate towards ur country!

Idiat!! U knw notin

Abegie oo!!he had beta be death b4 I get him myslf!!

The guy is DEAD! Period!...now go in with air raid and weed out the rest of the filty smelly Moslem PIGS!

I know the coward is dead. But it's a shame that the NIGERIAN army can not sort out a bunch of dirty Moslems in flip flips with no prior military training in seconds...why is ISLAM such a violent religion...

Who we go blive nAo.Na wa 4 naija

akinsule02 said...

this is not the 1st time we heard tis type of new and the nig defence didnt apologize for saying they killed him d 1st time so how do we believe them. its not killing shekau but eradicate boko haram

pipifierce said...

#Stories...#OluwaKnowsBest

Shut ur dirty trap up

kokokoko m! Ogene nti ike

Blog Police said...

Oghoz, u run a DNA test against a database to get results. We no even get finger print database not to talk of dental records, blood and body tissue records for all Nigerians. When I had my son in the US, his blood was taken...thats how u can run a test in future to confirm DNA match. It's easy but our govt isn't interested. 1st let them merge records frm the Nigerian passport office, drivers licence, auto registration, national ID card, voters card etc together. In this pool of info, we can get dates of births, finger prints, blood groups, state of origin, residence, details of car(s) owned etc. Then 2ndly we update this with hospital records, work info etc. If we start now in 5 yrs crime control will be easy like in developed countries where finger prints and blood samples from crime scenes can be ran against an already existing database. Naija we hail thee.

Confusion in everywhere who i want believe now,okay i believe in Nigeria army dis useless man is already die

This dude shouls die already nw pls God...
Eddreamzdreamer@gmail.com

Issokai, we dey watch

story for the gods

.FROM NWA NKWERRE

It's so fake

It cnt be,d gov. Shud stop covering up...aliyuboniface@gmail.com

Joy Adeniyi's blogs said...

@Bonario nnags, you are totally on point. I go with what you said. Either He is dead or alive, what matters is an end to all the evil being perpetrated.

vera said...

True talk.lets watch and see.but i suspected it was fake because BH took time before coming out to dismiss his death.

Let justice prevail, anyone who poses to be shekua shld be killed untill dere will be no more shekua to pose as.

Shekau was killed last year. He 'resurrected' in the person of Abacha Geidam - a confirmed area boy, serial rapist (of underage Chibok girls) and drug addict. FINALLY the imbecile was killed in an ambush laid by Nigerian soldiers in Konduga. Whoever doubts this needs his head examined. The military is 100 per cent right. Shekau is effectively dead. Another double may spring up, though.

Let justice prevail...anyone who poses as shekua shld be killed, untill dere is no more shekua to pose as.

Yetaygel@gmail.com

Pls join the army and tell us the truth..

And reside in your papa house

That man is still alive

osujichijioke said...

Shekau is now a cat with nine lives. DHQ should be sure of what they are saying. They should provide more facts.

Computer can do anything nowadays. And something else, one reason why DNA may not be easy to do is that the Nigerian army seemed not to know who the guy was or who his family members were. If before killing him they had known his name and relatives, it would have been easy to get a family member's DNA and compare it to the deceased's. (Anyway, that may not prove much because he may have another relative fighting for BH). However, if they do that now, this so called Shekau will say that is for the other man they killed, not him. They knew John Togo before they killed him and so it was just a matter of collecting samples from relatives for DNA.

2 me I no knw wo 2 4low....welda d idiot don kaput or nt. Cos wen dey dislodge us frm ngoshe juction close 2 cameroon. As we tacticaly manova n wthdraw chargin tru cameroon, paper n internet yan say 480 soldiers fli 2 cameroon. Question way I ask havta d rubish talk na who do d countin? cos we soldier way enta cameroon we no up 2 200 nt 2 talk of 300, so na who com cameroon com count us na.

...ezi!

NaNcY DreW said...

Yet anoda shekau, shekau a name or a bokoharam rank 4 leader? Cuz dey kip coming up different shekau's, me I don't get it @ all.

A peaceful country is all I ask for, I don't care whether he is dead for real or not. 'let love rule' #onelovefromSnow#

And in this time you still think this terrorism is religious?

Y'all should let the man enjoy his seven virgins in hells peace!

Why are u not asking where is the armoured tank always stationed behind him

I believ say shekau don die since.ds mofos ar jst playn games..nzenaozo77@yahoo.com

I guess a chalk fell on ur English teacher and killed him/her ..I understand

If he can come online to represents their late leader (Shekau),he should be ready to face the consequence. Bade Jackson.

Uche Emma said...

The circus continues

hmmm!what are we to believe now/ is he dead or alive?

I believe Shekau of BH more than Defence HQ. Defence HQ are found of retracting their statements.

hmmm crazy

the bastard is dead.

I would love to see Vultures fed on his body .....*abj peeps plz add up 22c5a351 *

Lmao!!!! Why evils, ijeoma ure cruel!!!

He shud die biko