Parents kept daughter in cage for 3 years because she suffered from convulsion | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 21 April 2014

Parents kept daughter in cage for 3 years because she suffered from convulsion

Channels TV tells a story of how parents in Bayelsa state kept their 16 year old daughter in a cage for three years because she suffered from convulsion. Read full story below...
A regular visitor to the home of Mr Selekeowei Olokumo, in Yenagoa, Bayelsa State, Nigeria’s South-South region, would probably have noticed a small make shift building directly opposite his one bedroom apartment which could easily be mistaken for a generator cage.
To think it is a place where he stores his old and worn out property would not be out of place, as it was haphazardly built with wood and carton on what could be seen as a semi refuse dump site.
It was a feeling of shock when Channels Television realised that it was not for keeping his generator or other items but where his 16-year old daughter, Blessing Olokumo, had called home for almost three years.
Blessing is the 6th out of the 16 children of Mr and Mrs Olokumo; a twin who has no relationship with her twin sister, not because her twin sister was dead. she is simply ashamed of being associated with her.

She is not leprous, neither is she affected by any contagious disease. She is just a child who had convulsion when she was three years old and was not properly monitored by the medical doctors, so instead of outgrowing it as most children of her age would probably have done, she has since been battling with the condition.

One would expect her parents to be sympathetic to her plight and treat her with more care and attention, but the reverse has been the case, as Blessing is being treated with utmost disdain by those who are supposed to love her more.

She has been tagged the evil child, accused of being responsible for the death of her immediate siblings who were also twin girls. She has been abandoned by her parents in a cage for almost three years and left to God to decide her fate.

Luck smiled on Blessing when members of the Mary Slessor Twin Foundation, a foundation focused on the welfare of people of multiple birth heard of her plight and decided to intervene. She was rescued on January 25, 2014 in a very bad condition and has since been on admission at the Niger Delta Teaching Hospital, Okolobiri.

Blessing’s father, a security guard at the Niger Delta Teaching Hospital, Okolobiri was asked how he could do such to his flesh and blood. He simply stated without remorse that he was tired of looking after the girl.

“Why I kept her in this house is that when she defecates and urinates, she soils the whole house when the mother and myself are not around. So there’s nothing I can do again. I now isolated her from the apartment I’m living”, he said.

While one may be tempted to call her dad wicked, heartless and much more, one wonders what words would be adequate to describe her mother, Mrs Bernice Olokumo, a petty trader, who accused her daughter of being responsible for the death of her younger siblings who were also twin girls.

On her relationship with her daughter, she simply said she was afraid of her and appeals to the Government and other people of goodwill to come take Blessing from them, as they were tired of fending for their own child.

To ascertain the present condition of Blessing, Channels Television paid her a visit at the hospital and met a transformed girl. Gone were the tiny frame, bony knee and sunken eyes. A cheerful, robust and well fed child was what she had become, after just three months of love and care.

On the way forward regarding her medical bills and her future, efforts to speak with the doctors proved futile, but the President of the Mary Slessor Twin Foundation, Mr Ebitei Roberts, spoke.
“What we are working on is that after now when she is discharged, we want to take her to maybe a motherless babies’ home or any special school to rehabilitate her. With the way we are seeing things, if we take her back to the family, they will take her back to where she was and we don’t want that to repeat itself because we have spent money.”

The foundation has since lodged a formal complaint with the Police and the welfare department of the State Ministry of Women Affairs. The complaints list criminal charges of child abduction, inhuman treatment, child molestation and failure to enrol a child for proper education.

Culled from Channels TV

150 comments:

Elsmama said...

saddening

Ceeflo said...

The world has vividly evolved but some people have failed to do the sames....its really alarming

Visit http://ceeflod.com for interesting write ups

linlin dont u sleep

How wicked! Btw, Linda go n sleep biko.

Diana Cair said...

Anyone who need my nude picture hit mai name

Diana Ca said...

...What a pity......haaa too bad

Kenyan Girl N¤d¥ Photo Leaks Online By Female Friends [See Photos]

Diana Cair said...

Anyone who need my nude picture hit mai name

Illiteracy, ignorance, lovelessness... Dey dnt even hav an iota of feeling for her,to dem she's a disgrace, curse nd "witch"(witches dnt exist) .. Nawaoo...

Can u imagine? Wah impetus? Bayelsa pple! Fish brains! All of 'em!

peter okoya lover said...

Heartless parents.

Ugh people are actually wicked, for you to even do that to your own child shows you're the one that is evil and probably responsible for the death of your own children. Illiterate woman smh God forgive you. Women like this shouldn't be allowed to even have children, let alone 16?! Poor people never learn gosh, what in the world are you doing with 16 children when you can't even provide basic medical attention for 1? In my opinion they should be arrested

De heart of human is very deep nd wicked ur own pikin u put her for cage say bcoz of illness she nut de one dat cause it to herself shame on dat useless family..God don put dem to shame nd dis gal will be a great person in life...Steadyman Say So...

Success Key said...

Why are some parent so wicked to have 16 children and keep one inside a cage. May Gos help the lady and i believe she might be something necessary to herself in the future

Pls madam Linda don't say things u don't know. She could be an epileptic n not a case of improperly managed convulsion by d "doctor" its more likely an improperly managed convulsion by d parents. Pls stop blasphemy against our doctors

#awwfulll .... even if hes dauhter is going to give him cancer +HIV... its no enouh reason to quarantine his daughter... mehn... #ignorance kills more than illness

This is really more than wickedness,your own flesh and blood?God have mercy

raphael ohazurike said...

#awwfulll .... even if hes dauhter is going to give him cancer +HIV... its no enouh reason to quarantine his daughter... mehn... #ignorance kills more than illness

Jesus Reigns said...

Ignorance

POVERTY and ILLITERACY is a disease. I ma sorry but it is obviously the lack of knowledge or education of how to take care of such situation that led to this. By the way, the Nigerian government should start to emulate the Chinese law restricting (low-income) families to have more than 3 children. Imagine 16 children, smh.
May God help us all, amen.

really sad some wicked people tho

Wickedness at its peak

really sad some wicked people tho

Thanks 2 d generous foundation.God bless them.

This child is not evil as claimed by her parents! Na dog dey burn dog & witch dey burn witch. Her parents must face the law for child abuse

Illiteracy is a disease.

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

The evil that men......and women do will shock the devil

God lord save us. Social media exposes us firsthand to the wickedness of mankind. Do good people, d kingdoms of heaven and hel r real.
Xoxo

swit said...

Lord have mercy

The south-south seem to believe heavily in witchcraft, this is not the only case of child neglect and maltreatment that has come out of that area. On the other hand, you gotta wonder what a night guard and a petty trader are doing raising 16 kids?!! As in on what income or is it solely on the basis of 'it is God that trains children?'

JO said...

Ignorance is the WORST disease, it breeds fear and thus stagnation of mind of people. There is no excuse for ignorance. The parents are simply wicked. One doesn't need to be educated to show love to a child. Please, Blessing shouldn't be returned to her callous and wicked parents.

I've got tears rolling down my eyes. After reading this typical example of man inhumanity to his fellow man. Uwa di omimi! Dis word is indeed very deep, strange and wicked. Thank you Jesus, for sending people to her rescue.

Am @dat point wia nofin suprises me anymore. Wat won't I hear bikonu? O Chim o.

Ajewole Mayokun said...

*what happened to a parent's un conditional love? Dat's mighty cruel.......

wonders shall neva seize to happen in dis country.so convulsion wey dem suppose use metal spoon control dat initial stage hmmmmmmmmmmm make i no talk again i don dey vex joooor

Ignorance is a dreadful disease. Chai!

diamondblinqZ said...

Very wicked ppl. God will punish u bastards!

Thank God for Mary Slessor's Foundation...

Wonders shall never end! I'm so mesmerized!

So if this girl become someone important or rich in life now, this same parent will claim her as their daughter abi hmmmm na wa o.

this is pure weekness.so people do not deserve the gifft of a child

hannah udo said...

Woman how could u! It she not ur child pray and ask God to forgive u mehn dats bad

lexy said...

Wicked parents....hw can u make ur child suffer like dat(inhumanity to man)from ur own parents that brought you into this world..how do they even want God to bless them ,whn they are evil..Bokoharam parents.

Nollywood Forever said...

For all their bullsh*t religion nigerians are the most inhumane ignorant people I have ever come across SMH Left it to god indeed. god god god who is the source of all YOUR problems. Get a clue.

'she had convulsions at d age of 3 and was not properly managed by d doctors therefore she did not outgrow it'. How does a doctor come into this picture now.stop d blames nd read about SEIZURES.

That man and woman are heartles desciples of phaarow coupled wt Jezebel.To start wt,hw cn a mere minger security man give birth to 16 children?dis is one of the main reason why the rate of unemployment is always high in this country.They should charge the parents to court let them face the necessary charges for for their inhumane attitude.May God bless the charity home.

##################GOD##############################punish############################devil####################

I HV been battling with my Child who also suffers multiple convulsions per day for 9yrs for now. I know is not an easy task to look after them but this act is inhuman. We as parents has the duty to care and pray for healing. Though we live in a society where there us discrimination. Some schs refused to admit him. If u go out with Jim and it happens people will isolate u. No one want anything to do with him. There is no professional doctors for them in Nigeria. Rather hospitals will use it as a means to milk u. There is no justification for what the parents did. I believe poverty contributed alot to that. How I which the govt will help built a children Hosp. Where such kids are taking care of.

My god! Education is the key. We really need to be educated

Rushel

"And d only part i want 2 hear is dt .....her parents have been arrested n Locked up in d prison where d guards lost d key!" One good turn deserves another!!

~noraFab

What a cowardly and wicked act

julz said...

Who does that in this modern day? Human beings are just capable of anything. How can a mother treat her own child like this? Thank God for the twin foundation who rescued her. She should be taken to an orphanage or somewhere better where she'd be properly cared for. I hope the same family doesn't come looking for her when she becomes an important figure in the future.

chelseakenny said...

I doubt if she is truly a mother......................16 children(na one village u wan born)

Na wa ooO d@ husband nd wife re vry stupid,ur own child..wat if she bcos gr8 2mrw,dey wil com nd strt sayn nonsense..may it nt b well wth dem...dnt even knw y God gv children 2 pple who cnt care 4 deir children...

Humans can be so mean.....why wil u treat ur own blood like dat.... God hlp us

Wicked parents!!! I hope the gurl becomes something good in the future so they'll terribly regret their loss

Wicked woman #bright bravo#

This is typical example of ignorance and superstition..... these parents should be arrested, because God blessed them with 16 children they think they can sentence one to death..... they should ask people who are being God for a child how it feels.
I don't blame them sha that's poverty can cause.
I think the authorities should apprehend them for child neglect and abuse so that others can learn a lesson.# TEAM SAY NO TO CHILD MOLESTATION AND ABUSE!

That's Wickedness.

kai! some are being killed by boko haram, you want to kill yours by yourself

Human can be so heartless not just to others but to themselves as well. Why would a man who works as a security guard and a petty trader decided to have 16 children in the first place? there is definitely no way they can take care of all of them and now after such harsh treatment on the poor girl they blame her for killing her siblings which if properly investigated would be their fault as failed parents. I wish there would be some sort of enlightenment program in this country to make people understand that its not by how many children you give birth to and end up not caring and bringing them up properly but by being a good parent to what ever number of children you decided to bring into this world and making sure they are cared for adequately.

Haba ifeoma, dis news is like 1year old na .....Omalichaa Sydney..

Humans can be so heartless not just to others but to themselves as well. Why would a man who works as a security guard and a petty trader decided to have 16 children in the first place? there is definitely no way they can take care of all of them and now after such harsh treatment on the poor girl they blame her for killing her siblings which if properly investigated would be their fault as failed parents. I wish there would be some sort of enlightenment program in this country to make people understand that its not by how many children you give birth to and end up not caring and bringing them up properly but by being a good parent to what ever number of children you decided to bring into this world and making sure they are cared for adequately.

SEXIE BADDOE said...

Hmm..wonders,all dese bayelsa pple sef aside d elite 1s d locals r really local,WTH were dey fucking 16 tyms to giv birth to 16 kids wen dey cnt take care of dem..jst looking for excuses to excuses to reduce deir num n dey got 1 in forn of ds poor gurl wt an ailment..I mean ow cud any1 b ds cruel?

prince presh said...

Nigerians will never change.

Will said...

ignorance, my people perish for the lack of it.

Dauda (Dave_gino) said...

This is like real bad meh. No matter what. Blood na blood. Guess it because this man have those kinds in abundance that's why.

They ve 16 children prolly y they care less about her. Pls mary slessor organization take her to a motherless babies home mayb grace would smile on her and she would meet another jonathan family. Sewzann

OmG, this is disheartening, to believe a parent did that to their blood. Satan is not just in hellfire but exists as human. This little girl can turn out to be a very important personality in future

Some parents r so hrtless.y wld u do such 2 ur child?smh so sad

Jeez Wonders shall never end,God forbid for this kind of parents.

Na wa oooo

SaphicDerrida said...

Too bad and has that solved her problem...

Both d father nd mother should be thrown in jail for dis grave hrtlessness... To thr own daughter for dat mata. Dats serious

Opelicious Morgann said...

When people are looking for children, some are treating theirs like pests. How can a parent be this callous? God even blessed them with 16 kids and if one is a bit challenged, why couldn't they care for her? Nawa ooooo!!!

God, this people are so fucking wicked and heartless. If they could really do this on their own flesh and blood hw much more can they do to others..... Am very sure there is thousand ways to solve this issue but they choose to act like the devil, pls they should take that gal away frm them b4 she meets her death abeg.....

Some people dey look for pikin while this ones they misuse their own..... Ndi ara, ala gbabuo haa egbe'ahu....

Wickedness is all I c....

*hot tears*

Deep sigh! Some parents! Smh, our lack of awareness over certain things are unfathomable! Thank God things are gradually changing though.

Thanks 2 d generous foundation.God bless them.

dats too much na.....

Anastesia Obi said...

Chai!! imagine wickedness of d highest order.

Gdmoni Linda nd Libers.

Thank God 4 resuce team oooo God bless dem

Hmmmm wat a story.May God 4gv dose parents ooo

Thank God 4 resuce team oooo God bless dem

kidykuz said...

Yoruba again..nawao

Did u say 16 children?choi! For treating that girl like that,they deserve to be punished.

Why would they value the child when they have 16?? To them children comes freely and they can just have sex and gbam another one is out. Stupid, senseless parents no money na them born pass.

Terrible dad and devilish mom..... Hw sad.....

They deserve to be jailed

Poor kid.
Visit nenyville.blogspot.com for job openings

The parent mostly the mother shuld be stoned to death, wht kind of a mother wuld do dis to her own child. She doesn't deserve to ve a womb. She's d main witch

What an ironic world! Those witout children r luking 4 while she is been hated by d very pple meant 2 show her luv but wat do u xpect 4rm a man wit 16 children he feels he can do away wit her but dey failed 2 undastand dat every child is special in d sight of God n he is going 2 surprise her parents wit wat he wud do in her lyf. Tnx 2 d pple 4rm d foundation 4 giving her cause 2 live ryt n live like a human being

This is wickedness in high places. Africans pls grow up. This is just outright stupidity and foolishness. Na wa o.

Ayoola Williams said...

Am a student of guidance of counselling and its high time government employed the services of a counsellor fully than before...the counsellors are being trained to help people with this kind of maladjustment to be normal and have sound mental reasoning.....this is crazy......employ counsellors in schools, hospitals, local government etc. and remunerate us well so that the services of a counsellor will be felt in the society....we have all it takes in Nigeria it's only that the government are neglecting important thing....

O ga o,first of it kind. Have never had of this since I was born. Pikin wey dem 4rm her yarnsh bring out.

Wicked parents their don't know whta that girl I̶̲̥̅̊ℓℓ be IN̶̲̅» future god is watching them heartless father and mother pls that girl shld not go bck τ̅☺ them. They r people out there looking Ƒσя child take her τ̅☺ mtherless babies home.by name Happiness

d parent ar heart less

Inhuman!

How would they care about her, when they were wicked enough to have 16 children in a one bedroom apartment.

Na wa oh!!!! Am jst so short of words. I don't no wot to say but its almost unbelievable dat parents who should be held responsible for not taking proper care of their daughter's challenges re talking nonsense. Na wa oh!!!!!

pmandy said...

Dis woman u re very heartless human being u don't desever kids @tall. God have mercy on her wicked woman

poverty and illitracy the twin demons destroying africa n africans

pidginnews said...

Things dey happen oOga jona dey think

fortune said...

People could be so stupid..a petty trader nd a security guard with 16 kids...madness ...smhw..y give birth to children u aren't capable of training?...na una sabi shaa

Candy said...

Na wa. Heartless parents.

I FEEL HOT TEARS IN MY EYES...

Cuci said...

Linda pls cross check your information. That girl in the picture can't be 16 and moreover, if she's 16, she can't be enrolled in a motherless babies home cos she's already an adult. As for the parents, they will surely reap what they sow! Why didn't they take the child to a motherless home at once? Too bad that a mother could be that heartless. And to think that she's still excreting more kids is abominable. God is too patient and merciful. Thank God that He(God) is not a man...

Mr eddy said...

Nawa o..people get mind sha

Seriously Linda i wonder why you even have to call them ''Parents'' even Animals have rights. The child should be taken away from them and never returned back to them. They don't deserve to be her parents, the poor child deserves better.

Hmmmmm no comment..... Next

SMH; What the parents did to the girl was very inhumane, to put it mildly. .
They deserve to be taught some lesson!

* My R1.50c comment *

Josephine Ejiogu said...

What a world some couples are crying day and night for years to be blessed with a child and here we have a couple abondoning their child. So sad

16 children???????????????????????

well i can only hope they are her real parents,but such an inhumane treatment... that's really bad. well thank God for the foundation God used to save her life. you can be sure that girl will be their life saver .. the stone the builders rejected will become the chief cornerstone.

otevee said...

blood of God...how can men be this heartless....i dnt have business with the okpehe father but the mother who is so callous...may the poor girl find it in her heart to forgive them o,as for her twin i doubt if she's real her sister o

Impossible Lindiway. Can't blief a mother il do this evil to her child. May God help nd save that child(Blessing) for the future.

Tears#Crying# LORD I Give U All the Glory For intervening in The Life of Ur Daughter Blessing I Say Thank you, Thank U for Ur love nd Protection Upon her Life I Say May U be Praise For Ever in My life IJN Amen. Mz pee.

I am so glad that Nigerian are becoming more aware of a lot of things so as to save these innocent children that are tagged witches. Thank God now for modern technology as well. The department of social services in each state should be more alert to these situations.

The Perfect Bitch said...

This couple have lots of unanswered ques!!6th child out out 16children?and she's just 16yrs?wat a rhyme but wait oo,plus d dead twins 18children?family planning organization should come and interfere in this matter oo!!due to ur lack of parental care,d child lost proper medical care!Some people don't deserve to be called parents!d woman is a disgrace to motherhood!!dear blessing,God who kept u alive till today will lift u above all expectations!May d wrath of God be on ur parents for bringing u into dis world to suffer you!

What do u expect sixteen children in dis morden life. De stone wish de builder rejected shall be de conner stone,

Na wa o

Pathetic stories! Bur pls linda ya comment about d doctors dat treated girl is probably bias. Pls cross check ya info.

This ur tears no dey finish? Dem say muma gee born twins, tears roll down from your eyes! Psquare wan separate, tears roll down from your eyes! Na to buy rollers for ur tears na im sure pass

hmm

So sad, pray for God healing on her

Ignorance!!!

Why a woman will do this to her own daughter is beyond me. This is an insult to couples trying for a baby.

#smh# na wa oooo and how many bayelsa pple do u know again???

Asin ehhh!!!!!

ebonydoc said...

Linda, how could b sooooo naïve as to have said " she was not properly monitored by the medical doctors"? First and foremost, doctors don't go about looking for patients; its only patients dat present in d hospital seeking medical attention dat get 2 b treated! Secondly, if d patient is refusing doctor's attention, he/she can't be forced! Ur statement makes d situation seem like blessing's parents had been taking her 2 d hospital but d doctor was incompetent, so he/she mismanaged blessing. From dis story, its obvious blessing's parents were an ignorant, poorly enlightened couple, probably also financially handicapped, so dat dey believed she was a witch, thus dey didn't seek medical help. Her parents r 2 blame. The father even works in d hospital as a security personnel yet he didn't see d need 2 take his daughter 2 d hospital! This shows d level of ignorance in dis country! God help us all!

ebonydoc said...

Exactly my tots! Linda is probably as clueless as Blessing's parents!

ebonydoc said...

Dumb ass! Good u decided 2 shut ur ignorant trap! Convulsion is not controlled by metal spoon! Google is ur friend so help urself dis very moment!

Anu ofia like u , u had better. Change ur ways, am sure u're one of those kidnappers that use Badoo u have now moved to Linda's blogg, anyway ur sins will catch up with u very soon

Alagbado-ode said...

I hope these parents are not members of Helen Ukpabio's ministry? The devil is really going about like a roaring lion!

Pathetic

pretty mama said...

Pls read well b4 u comment, they didnt say she has 16 children, they said d girl is 16 years old.

pretty mama said...

Some pple just cant read! Its 16 years old daughter not 16 children! Mumu

pretty mama said...

Pls read well b4 u comment, they didnt say she has 16 children, they said d girl is 16 years old.

ebonydoc said...

Linda, how could b sooooo naïve as to have said " she was not properly monitored by the medical doctors"? First and foremost, doctors don't go about looking for patients; its only patients dat present in d hospital seeking medical attention dat get 2 b treated! Secondly, if d patient is refusing doctor's attention, he/she can't be forced! Ur statement makes d situation seem like blessing's parents had been taking her 2 d hospital but d doctor was incompetent, so he/she mismanaged blessing. From dis story, its obvious blessing's parents were an ignorant, poorly enlightened couple, probably also financially handicapped, so dat dey believed she was a witch, thus dey didn't seek medical help. Her parents r 2 blame. The father even works in d hospital as a security personnel yet he didn't see d need 2 take his daughter 2 d hospital! This shows d level of ignorance in dis country! God help us all!

pretty mama said...

Eyes dey pain u or u just cant read? Its 16 year old daughter not 16 children. Abeg go sit down somewhere

pretty mama said...

ZeeZee said...

Your own flesh and blood?? Some are orphaned and begging for parents yet some Parents even have the audacity to act this way. Okay act like you won't grow old one day and you wont need blessing, did anyone force you to have 16 - primitive thinking

Stop being such an ass will you? Linda didn't write the story. ChannelsTV did hence the "CULLED"

Pretty Mama, you seem to be the one who can't read o
"Blessing is the 6th child out of 16 children of Mr and Mrs Olokum"
Pls read before you post a comment.

@Pretty Mama u r a big fool,Idiot calling some1 mumu.Open ur eyes n read well,If u dnt understand dis story then shout up girl!#6th out of his 16children# ode ni e mehn*angry*

Danz said...

@ebonydoc.....Mumu, can't you see the source of the story below? Ode....be accusing Linda anyhow, mtcheeeew! .....madam know know

Adebimpe said...

So sad, no be the parents' fault na God wey no dey look face or attitude before him bless people. If that was their only child won't they seek medical help and ensure she gets well? But becos dem see am yafu-yafu dem dey waste am. God you are great! Please bless those looking up to you with this beautiful gift.

6th child out of 16 children,you are the one who can't read.