Women in revealing clothes deserve to be raped - says a poll in Brazil | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 30 March 2014

Women in revealing clothes deserve to be raped - says a poll in Brazil

According to a report by AFP, a poll in Brazil says a woman who shows off her body deserves to be raped. We are talking about Brazil, the land of samba, voluptuous carnival dancers and mini bikinis.
Of the 3,810 respondents of both sexes who responded to the government’s Institute of Applied Economic Research (IPEA) survey released last week, about 2,480 - 65% - justified raping women who wear “clothing that shows off the body.”
And 58.5% of respondents also agreed that “if women knew how to behave, there would be fewer rapes.”
This poll has triggered outrage in the country, especially when it was revealed that most of the poll’s respondents - 66.5% - were women. So wait, it is okay to walk near-naked in a carnival, but not in real life? And women are the ones who believe this? There's absolutlely no excuse for rape! What do you guys think?

155 comments:

Ndi ara! no excuse for rape, even if she is stark naked.

Dobby said...

This is really outrageous. really saddening that most of the votes came from women...SMH!!!

Ok we hear! Na dem sabi

Dee da blunt said...

Sorry dis posts relates to the nick n maria's post. Dear Linda nd fellow confusionists, I think u peeps r always over shooting dis virginity tin. 1st maria hd been formerly married so she wasn't a virgin. Again eminen had shagged dis same chic nd louded it. So I feel her holding out to nick cannon was bcos she was trying to avoid being trashed in the media by d big mouthed kid who she is older dan wif over 10years or sometin. So he had to put a ring on it b4 she is assured. Therefor it wasn't a matter of CHASTITY, dis is purely INSECURITY.(Also not d fact that they knew each other for a period of less dan 6months b4 marriage(dis technically isnt holding up. Here in naija, we date for yrs b4 thinking marriage). Again u pple talk about d man valuing nd loving u more cos he married u a virgin. Do I need to remind u of KANYE WEST nd KIM K(d one u pple cal industry b*tch) check out dier everytin about them even deir pre-nupital agreement. Since d inception of this world, NO MAN HAS EVER ADORED A WOMAN D WAY KANYE ADORES KIM!!!(Even as odas cal her osho-free). Now I will respect a lady for keeping herself, bt I know I can NEVER marry a Virgin(cos its jst imposible). Now if u bring religion into it, its d right tin to do, bt u peeps should stop attaching it to a succssful marriage. This is the 21st century pulease ... Finally I pity u 28yr old nd 32yr old like aunty linda, I hope ur holdn up works for u, cos majority of guy wunt buy dt trash as an excuse from an old woman. for me, I LUV ND F*CK MY GIRL AND MY NAME IS Dee

Desmond 2 d G said...

Its just one of the factor.........but not the major reasons behind nigeria girls being raped.....

I am sure those that feel that way are actually mad

I am sure those that feel that way are actually mad, although I am not justifying the womens dress, their dressing sometimes can be on the extreme, but that doesn't justify them being raped

Dee da blunt said...

Well, dey judged demselves. Nd yes linda... U dress according to d occassion nd evironment. Ladies dnt wear trousers or skimpy tins to d markets in Ilorin. Goan ask

Better lets see if dat wil stop dis half naked tinz. Lolo1

Gozie said...

Indeed there's no excuse for rape. But ladies should try exposing less of their bodies. Look at them babes in the picture, aren't they enough to make a sane man hay wire?

I support them..u cnt were such clothes..is wrong..

Linda ooooooo my friend christiana dimoke won miss fair and white Gold, you didn't post the info, why now since on Friday. Please I want gist n pics

It's ok during a carnival. It's a carnival of a few days!!! Real life is REAL!!! It's like dangling fish in front of a cat everyday. Am totally against rape though, but am just saying

well if a woman cover up, there won't be anything to attract a man to rape, ths women know what they are talking about.

Good idea. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

@Linda, when an Antelope dances to d full glare of a Lion, what do u expect? This is just a parable, am not liking man to animals though.

I kinda have to agree with them on this. It's just the world and its double standards. When a man forgets to lock his door and is robbed we blame him and not the thief, so why should it be any different from rape? I am not excusing rape but wearing revealing clothing in the name of sexiness doesn't do much good does it?

I agree wit them,infact that shud also be applicable 2 nigeria nd oda country's of da world...xo dat indecent dressing wud reduce*ingrident don yarn*

Escali-B said...

Rape them whores creed quite amazing but impracticable, and cant be justified by 100% vote.

haters-slayer said...

i think they are talking shit.

Please there's no excuse to rape whatsoever... mscheew

queen B said...

OJAI baby said...

Ojai says" they r not to be raped, bt they can be embarrassed in public, that's the penalty they pay for indecent dressing.

dudette said...

No matter the circumstance,nothing justifies rape! I totaly Agee with u on the whole carnival event,its part of their culture to expose their body.....well they just gave rapists a go ahead and put their own daughters in harms way.goodluck to them!

There is never an excuse for rape, I guess Brazilians are just tired of there women going about naked, since they can't stop it they decided to scare them wit d rape thing.. Which is not wise move... They should hv just said women wearing revealing dress should be arrested instead of raped... World cup is near so they trying to keep there women properly dressed..

Rape can never be justified! Those supporting it are just angry hypocrites.

Hypertek IshOlawale said...

Ok...We can say walking near naked in a carnival can be justified since its an annual event. «If we apply Situation ethics to it its justifiable». Raping a woman because she's dressing half naked is not justifiable cus raping itself is a wrong act. NB: Two wrongs can never make a RIGHT and «Punch lines -----> WRONG people can never achieve greatness cuz even the AEROPLANE had to be achieved by WRIGHT BROTHERS. Hence i will say maybe because Brazil is not a democratic nation where freedom is allowed that is what makes 'em go with this poll. But for me its totally unacceptable. Case dismiss court arise!

It's quite funny to know that the buck of the correspondence came from the women.

The results say Brazil is more conservative than its image.

It's quite funny to know that the buck of the correspondence came from the women.

That Function Gurl said...

They had better start putting on MORE clothes!

rape can neva be justified!!

thiwa

That is crap because most people who get rape are well dressed women who are just unfortunate to be attacked.

THEY DONT KNW WOT THEY WANT

Such a stupid thing to say, these days more children even get molested than adults sef. So can we now blame children that is because of what they wear?

Very daft way to reason, women used to go around naked not to long ago in Africa and yet the rape cases were less.

I think I want to rape u, sebi u like dick?

Rape is more about power than sex, if you observe well most women who get raped are actually the quiet docile types men feel they can take advantage of and get away with it.

A rapist is a sick bastard and there is no excuse for it.

I guess we can also say that people get robbed because they drive flashy cars or wear expensive clothes abi.

If that is the case then thieves are also justified, after all you enticed them with your nice things....hisss

yoruba seeker said...

Y we no go rape them with all this konji wey dem dey cause for we guys

Real rubbish, women like Cossy and Macedda who expose themselves don't get raped, it is even the regular decent girls who get attacked.

See stupid reasoning! So people who rape children and toddlers do so because they are wearing only pampers abi hiss

IBK said...

Rape can never be justified wit 'any good reason'

Opelicious Morgann said...

No excuse for rape. Those that are calling for it, should better prepare their daughters and mothers for rape, isi-ewu idiots.

Victor said...

I'm not saying rape is right in fact it is a very despicable act but some women really ask to be raped. How can you walk around in a see through skirt and a thong. What can of signals are you sending to would be rapists if not easy access.

Ogaaaaaa Linda is there an excuse what so ever for u ladies to open your body..........U girl are now the one flauting ur body while the men cover there........#ThingsUpSideDown

If u like post or not

Rape has no justifications Linda. Not at all Linda, none that I know.

I agree with you Linda, there is no excuse for rape, and I am sick and tired of women, who think their fellow women deserve to be raped, because of the way they are dressed!!At the end of the day, women that not scantily dressed are also raped in India, Brazil, South Africa,Ghana, Nigeria and other parts of the world! Women we are our own worst enemy, a man that rapes a woman is an animal, and a beast.... What kind of generation of men and women are we raising that feel that women do not deserve better, it is disgusting!! Would you like it if your mother, sister, sister-in-law, niece, female cousin was raped?! It is a very despicable and demeaning act, and we should not encourage it, by blaming it on how people dress, rapists should be castrated!! What a cursed generation_Cocobutter

Yikes!,this is truly teriffying,how can they justify rape?,we all know it is wrong to dance around half naked,at the same time,raping the women doesn't give any moral lesson whatsoever,the govt should probably ban the samba dance or insist the women cover up properly while performing,as for the men who rape.........they need Jesus,and I pray that salvation comes to them real quick in Jesus Name,Amen.

Oooooopsss!!!!

They should not be raped, but then, women should respect them selves and know put on some thing nice. Rape has no excuse to be frank!

do you really want an opinion poll on the matter? how can u even ask people if they think its right to be raped, thats like asking if is right to steal..

zibaintl said...

linda dere is a reason to be raped.u almost de waka naked for road n xpect person not to rape u......pls canival or no carnival....women shld dress modestly/cover up their endowments n stop all dis open breast,open bum etc..am a lady too but dis is my opinion.

Deariecutebridals said...

@linda, please im looking 4 job , pls help with any abeg.im a lady finish nysc last year oct. tnks dearie

When it comes to rape, I think the male folks are raped psychologically everyday. From the streets to his place of work, on his phone and laptop, even in his house, nudity is everywhere. Being sexualy aroused by what he sees leads him to have this insatiable crave for sex. Those who are mature and with experience know how to play the game of attraction so as to get laid, others pay for it, while others simply take it by force... I agree with the poll

Of course its no excuse for rape, bt sometimes we lady over do it,nt all guys are gentlemanly enuf some guys are werewolves them no send u o,

The 65% should be shot, point blank period. Lol! Of course not but nobody deserves to be raped. As much as I believe women should be cautious and protect themselves at all cost, wearing revealing clothes or even walking naked on the street is not an invitation to forced sex. Rape has less to do with the victim and more to do with the rapist.

Sound scaring..

Rape isn't gud at all, but women shud learn to cover up, nudity doesn't move real guys

Linda nnem there is no excuse for rape but please ladies should dress decent and proper biko.it is appalling the way some ladies dress these days.its like keeping food open and you expect a hungry man to Ignore when he knows he won't see such again.like I said no excuse for rape but ladies please lets cover up and men too should learn self control.nne I'm off to sleep,goodnight!😘

"if women knew how to behave" because it never depended on a man's level of respect and consistency to keep his erection to himself. A woman is always in charge of everything, I see, even a stranger man's desire. Glad that Brazil, a land known for its beautiful and sensually seducing women -- something the culture encourages by the way-- is uneducated enough to choose what is right from wrong. YOU GO SOCIETY. YOU. GO.

monica said...

I dunno why pple always tackle annie idibia,dere's Nothing she does dat seems right to most ppl,she's a lovely lady,I felt touched wen I saw her pic of breastfeeding olivia,dey sed she always want to be in d news,will d press leave her alone,som sed dey were xpecting to see her boobs,dats insanity cos dey"l be d ones to castigate her some sed she's suffocatin d baby,re u blind to see she raised her cloth..etc blah blah,in conclusion,I tink most ppl still feel pained nd jelous cos she took 2face away frm dem,ntoi mofos notin can seperate dem.

Well said.

He is utterly insane, it's a carnival and the costumes are suppose to be creative. Pls stop taking it personal, if u are aroused u hold yourself and stop talking like a freak. NOTHING SHOULD JUSTIFY RAPE NOMATTER WHAT mtcheeewww

Its absolute rubbish but That's their view anyway..

There is no excuse for Rape,a Rapist will still rape a Nun dat covers her self..... d issue is not about cloths its about the rapist,ders no xcuse for rape..

Well 4me in ma own opinion, rape is out of it, but mayb an embarrasement of d highest order would do. Buh dis brazilian chicks sha.

Tracyomodon said...

anyone who rapes is an animal and deserves to be locked in a cage.No matter what women have rights to their bodies and the cloths they ware.

ISN'T IT THEIR CULTURE TO BE SCANTILY CLAD? WHICH ONE IS AGREEING FOR RAPE NOW? THIS IS HOW WAHALA STARTS........HM!

True Talk

Zenki brown said...

₪o excuse @ A̶̲̥̅ll. Bt women shud also wear clothes nd stop revealing themselves.

linda wot do mean by saying no excuse for rape i'm not a fan tho, buh let's be sincere a lady wearing revealing clothe from her house & walk on d street what do u think she is looking for,BWT this is onther way of telling women to dress good.#THAT AKWA IBOM BOY

When a lady knows that dressing very provocatively might increase her chance of getting raped even by 0.000001 percent, why take the risk. Rape can never be justified but when it happens, it can't be undone. Whether or not it makes a difference, it is safer to dress modestly.

Wen guys wear skinny jean or short wit shirts dat every1 can still see their abs Girls dnt rape dem o ...

fred said...

Nice. Women should learn how not to indirectly seduce men...

Why will women open their body in the. First place a woman of virtour will not expose her body not only there even nigeria. This is the people that efcc suppose to be arrested ,when they expose their body they attract dog because they can attract Godly men like that,is not wise for a woman to be exposing her body.

BONARIOS BABY said...

No woman deserves to b raped,weda naked or half maked defaulters must b pernalized

No one is saying that there could be excuse for rape. What we are saying here is that there are certain behaviors in women that facilitate rape. They should desist from such behaviors and that is what you should be preaching to cut down rape statistics in the world.

I agree... what's d essence of cloth when one can't cover their privates properly??? since they deem it fit to wear 'behind closed doors' attires on d street, they should b prepared to face what's supposed to happen behind closed doors anywhere...

I think God really took out time to create brazilian women. They are d definition of hot! And they just dnt have d body, they gat d face too!

PURPLE

Gina_cres said...

xoo right.

That thing must be painful. Nooooo....I can't. ........mummy Ada

I really think women don't know the kind of power they possess and that some men lack control and this lack of control can result in rape. I can really blame ladies for wanting to feel free but this freedom can come with consequences.

Phenomenamen said...

Yeah Linda, no excuse

Phenomenamen said...

Yeah Linda, no excuse

oyakhilome said...

Linda, you've lived long enough to realise the incidence of rape has become more and more pronounced in the past 15 years. Truth is, the skimpier women(and children) have been made to dress to look cute or "sexy", the more we hear of rapes. Think about it.

cutie said...

True. But its not every woman who has been raped wore a revealing dress.

No woman deserves to be raped

I totally agree! It's called invitation to treat.Men that rape should rape the living day light out of them. What happened to decent dressing? Women can dress necked if they want when they are at home. Islam got it right in that angle.

There is NO justification for rape, none whatsoever!! Regardless of this, women CAN reduce rape rate byu dressing modestly thereby not inciting the sexual desire of the randy he-goats called rapists.

Fact gaskiya said...

No excuse for rape for whatever reason.

"Deserved to be raped"? That's just outrageous.nobody deserves to be raped
*vanchuks*

Nothing justifies rape.Incarceration should be better option

last baby said...

Maybe I should agree with this. Bcos this is one of the things that spouse men but instead of raping those involve they go for innocent ones that are decent

On a frosh ehn flow na. Em wan receive fresh air.

It more worrisome that a larger percentage of women constitute this poll.... My opinion "No excuse for such inhuman act"

They should wait until the world cup starts! am sure they will see more than " revealing " clothes! Naked women will be walking the streets then ...just wait and see!

#daveydave

visit www.loggtv.tv for more entertainment news

There is NEVER a justification for rape. Even if the woman walks naked on d streets, it doesn't make it ok to rape her.

Admin said...

hmmm.. ndi brazil kwa. anyway thats their opinion but since its mostly from women, i think there's a point there.legit blog

@least i agree wt this to some extent.u are addressed d way u dress.If d lady dress decently wtout exposing their curves&shapes i think dt wl curb d menace of rape2some extent.

¤¤¤GOD punish devil¤¤¤

Yes linda! there is absolutely no excuse for rape. Buh women on d other hand shud behave n always learn how 2 dress properly it gives respect also,they shud learn how too respect their body so dat dey wil b respected too.#myperspetive#

Hehehe... Alright naw... Ladies go naked and get raped.

All am thinking right nw is hw to get wide with this ladies....... Mehn, this brazil chicks are so damn hot, but nothing in this world will make me rape a gal no matter hw revealing her dress will look like......

30yrs shouldnt by pass this people that indulge in rape......

Jay said...

A woman who decides to go unclad in the midst of all the decent clothing in shops have no business complaining of being raped. It's a shame even married ones are involved in this madness. Don't support rape either.

Francis said...

There is absolutely no excuse for rape same as their is absolutely no excuse to dress half naked .Go figure

Personally, I think they are highly confused.

*thats how I see it*

chuubiyo said...

I love Brazil!
Samba!

No matter what a woman puts on she should never be raped! Rape ÈŠ̝̊̅Úª evil!

Some women say that chit cuz they think it'll make them appear wise, holy and more appealing to men. Maybe the poll was cooked up cuz this aint the first time such will happen. Then again, only conservatives/traditional animal like ppl will reason that way cuz men are never accountable for their actions in their sight: it's always Eve's fault aka women's fault.

How can a normal human being justify RAPE? It shows you how wicked and uncaring most humans are. Not encouraging girls walking about naked but to say they deserve to be raped is scary.....then some men deserve to be killed for cheating on their spouse then

No woman/man deserves to be raped; they got it all wrong.
It should be, *are most likely to be raped*.
They should scrap the carnival aswell if that's how they feel...considering their strong Catholic/Christian stance.

*My R1.50c comment *

I think some ladies should understand that certain outfit re provocative, so you should never blame a provoked man in his responsive actions

charles said...

Do not put your hand in the mouth of a lion and ask it not to bite your hand.

Nnamdi said...

Well, you can say there is no excuse for rape because of the way people dress, but you forget that you are not been sincere to your real mind. Things lead to things and there must be a causative reasons for that. No one is claiming that rape is right but is there is reason why people rape? That is the question.

There's no excuse for rape!!!

So underage children who get raped are raped because their dressing is revealing?!!!

Rapists shld be well punished for their cruel behavior.

There is no excuse for it. Body parts exposed or not. Rape cases are increasing by the day and people blame the ladies for too much exposure. Question is, how many rape cases were recorded in the stone ages when ladies walked around naked?

Veeon said...

Smh patriarchal society

They should be seriously raped wit no mercy...

No excuse @ all, its inhuman!!!

Can a victim of an arm robbery attack be blamed for driving an expensive car late in the night or living the gate to his expensive mansion open? If 'NO' then we should not blame a victim of rape for whatsoever reason. Rape can only stop if men stop raping.

If the sight of a woman's cleavage or thighs can make you rape her, I am very sure that such men have raped their sisters and mothers at home.

There is no justification whatsoever for committing a crime.

honest geh said...

There is absolutely no justification for rape. But since we leave in a world where d heart of man has become desperately and unthinkably wicked, to be fore warned is to be fore armed. If the beasts have spoken d mind, it's only wise to be on d safe side, be conscious of ur dressing. Cover ur body. After all it takes nothing to do so

-Blunt Ibo boy- said...

This kinda dresses sometimes instigates rape,we are not all the same when it comes to self control. Women should try and be more decent in terms of dressing. Still no excuse for rape.

he that feshes ant infested fire wood is certainly inviting the lizard for a feast. ekwucha lam

women can wear what they like..according to d occasion sha. bt their behavior most times causes the problem.

Any woman who thinks unworthy of herself by letting all her goodies hang outside doesn't deserved to be rape but she is obviously sending out a wrong message.

I agree. They should learn the proper way of dressing.

JaCkSoN said...

I think policemen in brazil should be at alert to rape any scantily clad woman. This law should be passed and stipulated in d whole world. Women are the major cause of rape cases. Simple and short. Seems I'll go to brazil soon.(To restore some orderliness)

why zero comment? were is my comment Linda?

Only animals rape women. Human being shouldn't commit rape even if a woman is completely naked b4 him.

And men that rape deserve to be killed. Death sentence for the animals men!

Mr Film Trickx is definitely a pig. I suggest you proof read your comments first before spewing and posting whatever garbage resides in your obviously empty brain.

Women in brazil should learn to dress decently and not exposing their sensitive part for the world to see. Raping is not an option to stop indecent dressing.

It very ok to me,if a woman who dress in an open body should be raped.

Ok it's wrong to wear such clothes but it's right to correct the person by raping them. Your thinking is very redundant . Rape is unjustifiable

It's wrong to wear such clothes and it's right to rape someone for wearing such clothes, can't you see how redundant your thinking is. You have no respect for women. Potential rapist, always looking for the slightest excuse to rape

Rape is not gud at all#sugarking#

What do u mean even if she is stark naked...try that one first na and see what you get

Is it because men have physical strength? If a hot man walks about naked, will he get raped?

I am compelled to comment: Women are their own problem. While no one approves of rape. Women should know that not all men can control their instinct. Men naturally go gaga before women not to talk of a naked one. you don't put meat before a hungry lion or put petrol near fire. Until women understand the influence they have over men and lean to cover up, they fall victim of 'Spiritual Konji"

AnnMarie said...

there's no excuse for rape

Thumbs up deee @ princess....tell them so they can all pack well....morons

May ur wife be raped. Idiot

Rubbish... no excuse to rape

So d kids they rape nko uncle.?? Think!think!!think!!!

While I would not say they deserve to be raped, I would say they are inviting rapists. A carnival is a carnival and no woman will be raped at a carnival. The mode of dressing at a carnival is the attraction. But a woman dressed in revealing clothes on a lonely street or flirting with a bunch of randy guys is simply asking to be raped. Not every guy is disciplined enough to know when you are simply having fun.

If you support rape then your mothers , sisters and daughters will also be raped including your nieces. AMEN!

While I will not agree they deserve to be raped, I will say they are inviting to be raped. A carnival is a carnival and everyone expects the skimpy and revealing dresses.That is part of the fun of the carnival.But such dressing on a lonely street or among a bunch of drunken, randy males is inviting trouble. Not everyman is disciplined enough to know when a woman is simply wanting to have fun and not everyman knows the meaning of human rights and freedom. The ladies simply have to be careful and not invite the undesirable to themselves.

Ziliah said...

i can understand how people think this is true but in fact it is wrong.. if someone wants to rape u it doesn't matter what u are wearing they WILL RAPE YOU.. rape is about control not about sex.. that is why rape is being use as an instrument of WAR. U can run around naked (and people do.. nudest communities)and u WILL NOT GET RAPED but if u are around a man that want to take advantage of you and most importantly take control of you that no matter if you are naked of fully covered YOU WILL be RAPE.

flante said...

do animals wear clothes?dats y dey fuck in rape like public manner.so wld b d case of women who dont wear clothes...ivdont know of rape,but i know some ladies who fake resistance but like rape like sex

1 some men have been smitten and love their women like Kim K... I don't even think his love for her is somtin I respect, dry humping her in his video

Well... Mariah Carey learnt her lesson with Eminem.. And it is a valuable lesson, u can't rili know what your partner is up to... Holding out helps you maintain your pride and it allows you to be able to leave without feeling like you lost out...

The issue of rape is not about a females dress code anymore...even guys rape girls fully clothed....the issue is some guys need to grow up,cos there is no fun or sweetness in rape its just a dirty and inconvenient satisfaction...........raping a girl gets u nothing but generational curses...lobatan!