GLEEHD Foundation hosts Nigerian Govt & Economic leaders to a weeklong Centenary celebration in London | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 1 April 2014

GLEEHD Foundation hosts Nigerian Govt & Economic leaders to a weeklong Centenary celebration in London

In celebrating Nigeria, Her People and Her Successes over the last 100 years; Commonwealth Democracy Initiative in partnership with GLEEHD Foundation, ROSTRA Consulting & Amandla Consulting organised a weeklong chain of events in London to celebrate the success of Nigeria as a United Nation between 10 and 13 of March, 2014. Continue...

Dayo Israel, GLEEHD Foundation’s Director for Africa led the Nigeria delegation through the London events which commemorated Nigeria's centenary, her active role in the commonwealth, and the economic growth of her state, while also creating an opportunity for a renewed partnership between Nigerian Government/Business Leaders and their European counterparts. 

Speaking about the involvement of GLEEHD Foundation; Dayo Israel said “it is imperative that as the Commonwealth and the United Kingdom celebrates the Centenary of World War 1 and this year’s commonwealth Day observance, that it should also celebrate the centenary of the almagation of the southern and northern Nigeria – a British product led initiated by Lord Lugard, it is on this premise that we have collaborated with the Commonwealth Democracy Initiative and Rostra Consulting to put Nigeria on the map during this symbolic week in the commonwealth and also to help foster a renewed commitment in the UK-Nigeria economic relationship.”

The delegation of visiting Nigerian Business and Economic Leaders led by General Yakubu Gowon participated at the Commonwealth Memorial Service in Honour of the war dead of World War 1 with wreath laying on behalf of the Nigerians who died in World War 1 at the Commonwealth Memorial Gate in London. The ceremony had in attendance Former UK Prime Minister Sir John Major; Eminent Commonwealth Leaders, Senior British Leaders, Joke Silva, Sound Sultan, Weird MC and a host of others.
The Nigerian Business Roundtable was held in honour of Nigeria at the British Institute of Directors was held to bring together various private investors, entrepreneurs and venture capitalists from Nigeria and to meet their public and private sector counterparts in the United Kingdom. It also offered a unique opportunity for our business communities to engage each other in a series of plenary and breakout sessions which covered major issues, including challenges and opportunities in UK-Nigeria Investment and Trade. Some of the participants include Governor Yuguda of Bauchi, Governor Oshiomole, Governor Uduaghan, Chairman of Etisalat Nigeria - Mr Hakeem Belo-Osagie; Chairman of the Nigerian Economic Summit Group - Foluso Phillips, M.D of Nigeria’s Bank of Industry – Dr. Evelyn Oputu, D.G National Center for Women’s Development – Mrs Onyeka Onwenu; HRH Adekunle and Ojuolape Ojora; Vice Chairman of the Council of Speakers and Speaker of the Oyo State House of Assembly Rt. Hon Sunmonu; Chairman Senate Committee on Privatisation Senator Gbenga Obadara, Mr. Olu Jacobs and Ms Joke Silva, General Yakubu Gowon, Minister of Power - Prof Chinedu Osita Nebo amongst others.

Other leaders represented at the weeklong event include the Ooni of Ife Oba Okunade Sijuade, Governor Rauf Aregbesola of Osun, Governor AbdulFatah Ahmed of Kwara and Governor Jonah Jang of Plateau, and Hon Labaran Maku – Minister of Information.

Speaking at the business roundtable; Governor Oshiomole said “The story of Nigeria is like a big elephant struggling to get on its feet but there is no question that when it does get on its feet, it must dominate the forest. All indicators are there, no perfect country but many opportunities… Nigeria ought to get first preference from the British investors especially because of our ties and the advantage of language etc but Britain is losing out to the Asian tigers, its high time Britain reconnect to Nigeria economically.”

The event also featured some High Level Trade and Investment Meetings organised by GLEEHD Foundation for the Government and Business Leaders from Nigeria including a High Powered Trade Meeting with Former UK Ambassador for Global Trade and Investment, and 3rd Child of Queen Elizabeth – Prince Andrew the Duke of York at Buckingham Palace; as well as a meeting with the leadership of the All Party Parliamentary Group on Entrepreneurship at the UK House of Lords.
A Special Event at the Islington School of Art and Media was also held which saw some of the VIP Guests from Nigeria address over 250 students and young leaders as part of the activities to celebrate Nigeria’s Centennial Anniversary in London. Speakers included GLEEHD Director – Dayo Israel, General Yakubu Gowon, Mr Foluso Phillips and Dr. Charles Akinola from the Osun State Government. 

All invited guest also participated at the Commonweath Day Observance Service with Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II at the Westminster Abbey, with some delegates including General Yakubu Gowon attending a Private reception with Her Majesty The Queen at Marlborough House as organised by GLEEHD Foundation. 

Commending GLEEHD; Minister of Power; Professor Chinedu Osita Nebo said “This is a timely initiative organised by GLEEHD Foundation especially at this defining moment for Nigeria economically. Power in Nigeria is a colossal problem to think about, yet a whopping opportunity for investors, the reason is the suppressed demand for electricity in Nigeria is so huge today”
Wrapping up the weeklong celebration was a Gala Award Night recognising the contribution of Eminent Nigerians and Nigerian Emerging Leaders.

About GLEEHD:
GLEEHD Foundation for Leadership and International Development is an international organisation Headquartered in the United Kingdom with an African Secretariat in Nigeria established to promote the Development of Africa. GLEEHD is an independent, not-for-profit international organization which seeks to promote Africa Renaissance by fostering Good Governance and Democracy, Advancement of Economic and Entrepreneurial Development, Promotion of Human and Children’s Rights, and Advocacy for Youth Development and Participation in Africa. GLEEHD works to achieve this mission by working in partnership with Africa public institutions, civil society and regional and international development partners. www.gleehdfoundation.org and www.gleehdfoundation.org.uk

28 comments:

Good one #bright bravo#

I hope they too will not award tyrants and money looters

Murders that's what you nigerians are.

God will punish them. They don't fight for the image of Nigeria abroad. They don't fight for our welfare. The hotels they host these people in won't even employ one single Nigerian...
They blew millions in The Intercontinental Abu Dhabi, yet at that Hotel's Open day, they rejected Nigerians with disdain! Once again, God will punish them.

Honestly Nigeria is so special and bless if not the bad leaders who re-cycle power.
I love Wierd MC,wow! She's being out of news..
Going off Topic,wanna ask;
Thought Ibinabo Fiberisima said she wants to go and donate relief materials to boko haram victims in the north.What is keeping her and her colleagues?

'Her success' linda ikeji I don't understand,which success have we had in this useless nation. No lights for 2 weeks and 3 days,the woman who use to sell frozen fish and meat and shrimp has packed up, she couldn't continue buying petrol for generator, they imprison innocent gay people.the love under age girls and polygamy. So what is the success linda.

Sweetest Mom said...

Nice pictures

Good work...

Celebrate what success? Nigeria is fast failing we need help not fake recognitions. If you have had uninterrupted power for at least 5 hours in your home say I?

princenho said...

k sound sultan with his dimple self, one question is WIERED MC straight ?

Na only God knw the millions wey them spend their.....

Use to remember this dude dayo israel back in the days in oyingbo,ebutta metta,he'll rally us up for NGO sturfs,he had the better of us,now his out the hood,smart moves on our hustle

Hope wierd mc don relocate go uk o? Cos 14years is not a small something o lol

AnnMarie said...

Oh boy see personalities

Celebrating what?

jo said...

Commendable that we have celebrities working on such a worthy cause child rights and youth. Development

Ofilispeaks.com said...

biko Linda...where is the success?

Weird MC sup? Longest time? I hope...........

abeg wey our $20 billion oo, all this yeye parambulators # in fela voice.

Linda, when you post a story with abbreviations, you should spell out the full meaning of these abbreviations please. Thank you darling.

Happy to see a nigeria youth as the host but of what advantage will this bring to our nation or is still same of the same???? God bless our nation IJM

Linda, truth be told, Nigeria is indeed one the most useless countries on the face of the planet. And I say that with a deep sense of sadness and regret. I can only liken Nigeria as a country to a man who maintains a state of the Mercedes at home and wears ostensibly expensive designer clothes, while his children are starving and have been sent home from school cos their fees have not been paid. This country is going to keep on 'keeping up appearances' till the whole damn thing falls apart. Why can't we be honest about our challenges and seek help instead of going abroad and celebrating nonsense and receiving and doling out phoney awards. I see governors whose states are in turmoil over there doing only God knows what. I also see the minister of power in attendance. This is a minister who is presiding over a ministry responsible for generating less than 4000 MW for over 160million people in 2014. Pray tell what is he doing there. What exactly is it we ate celebrating. Clearly we are the architects of our own failure. We suffer from delusions of grandeur. An over-bloated sense of self. Hence we're too arrogant to accept our flaws let alone seek help. Would've said God help us but that would be ridiculous because I've come to realize that God only helps those who help them selves....shame

Weird MC is not straight, that is why she is weird.

So after this what next? Are these the sort of programs that made China the economic power house it is today? A ceremonial and unrealistic venture of so called personalities parading themselves to self importance in London (With broke British people). No impact on Nigeria's educational or infrastructural base AT ALL. Bullsh*t

Dee Brown said...

is that weird mc? is that bleaching?

we are waiting for weird MC to step on the shores of this nation,we shall ensure she gets her well deserved 14yrs or she has to cream at least 4 men with proofs!-concerned straights(lagos chapter)

Dayo Isreal, that a wonderful job. keep it up

This boy/man Dayo Isreal. I have known him for some time and have watched him morph from one variant o the next. Google his name on You Tube and see him in his insurrection as a pastor. You will even see a YouTube presentation of him atop an Ori Oke in Ibadan casting and binding. He sold himself as a "Youth Champion" for years in the UK, went to America morphed into a "Pastor" and even in Ibadan a s a"Pastor". HOW LONG IS THIS GLEEHD GOING TO LAST FOR. Oh, lest I forget, he was was also in the 'group' responsible for Dele Momodu's presidential campaign - securing a mamoth 4 votes. SO BIA DAYO ISREAL WHAT/WHO ARE YOU?