Nigeria, 5 other countries, have largest numbers of extremely poor people | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 3 April 2014

Nigeria, 5 other countries, have largest numbers of extremely poor people

The World Bank President, Jim Yong Kim, while addressing participants at the Council on Foreign Relations, CFR, meeting in New York on Tuesday April 1st, said five countries, including Nigeria, make up two-thirds of the world's extremely poor people.
“The fact is that two-thirds of the world’s extreme poor are concentrated in just five countries – India, China, Nigeria, Bangladesh, and the Democratic Republic of Congo. If you add another five countries — Indonesia, Pakistan, Tanzania, Ethiopia, and Kenya – the total grows to 80 percent of the extreme poor.”
 “By extremely poor, we mean people living on less than $1.25 a day. And more than a billion people in the world live on less than that each day.”
And we are an oil producing country. We need a government that works!

120 comments:

Peejay said...

This is heavy. Too heavy for bedtime. I'll worry about it in the morning. God keep Nigeria and I till then. One love.

MARKET MONITOR said...

And we are an oil producing country. We need a government that works!
www.naijaeyez.net

Chai...wat a record. is dis not enof for dis politicians to wake up and do somfin. #NaijaWeHailThee

Amarachi said...

This is very very very very very very very very very badddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddddd.We need to do something people

Gentletee said...

Not far from the truth at all.

And by my guess,the poorest in Nigeria will be my dear north.I've seen the kinda poverty this world bank president is talking about,kai I shed tears .There's really hunger in this country!The govt really have a long way to go in terms of poverty eradication

Hmmm my country, wat a shame. Our leaders ll only read this story and laugh. That's all, God dey o. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Linda, are you the change Nigeria needs?

Tell us something we didn't know already.

$1.25, dats about 200naira a day, 6k a month on food alone,how is that poor?...major bar!

hadiza said...

Na wa o... Really sad... At least we tried to make dt list..hehehehe

Linda dear! I have known this a long time ago, that an average Nigerian live below 1 dollar a day, its not news to me again, I sorry of Nigeria

THIS IS SAD O.......

ProficientHand said...

And ministers spend billions chartering private jets and acquiring bullet proof exotic cars and the Egghead of the administration lacks the WILL to sanction them. This administration is hopelessly and irredeemably corrupt.

Zenki brown said...

Oil producing country among †Ñ’ξ poorest. But our leaders pocket re xtremely fulllllllllllll

Yes a good government

We're always doing well from behind
When God created Nigeria and blessed it enormously, other countries became jealous and were complaining,and God turned to them and said
"Just wait and see the type of leaders I will give to Nigeria"

I totally agree with you! 20 billion can pay every Nigerian a million naira with much leftover. I wonder who de r fooling.

Tovia babe said...

Anty linda, which one ɪ̣̝̇È™ viewers of the readers again?

Tovia babe said...

May God help nigeria

Tovia babe said...

Anty linda, which one ɪ̣̝̇È™ viewers of the readers again?

I am not surprised.

Criously we really need government dat works. Is so pathetic. Tufiakwa

I don't understand d kind of country dat my mum born me in. Mum am blaming u for dis ooooo

bliss said...

Nigeria as a country is undeveloped nt even a developin country cos i dnt c any signs of development at all, nigeria dependence on oil has so weaken d engine of growth in dis country nd our leaders ar makn d situation worst by embezzling d little 1 we av, while dey get richer nd d poor gets poorer.. Lord pls remember dis country, tins ar gettin out of hand

helena said...

God help us in this country,we need serious intervention

Abeg they should shut up.I attend UBC in Vancouver B.C Canada and Linda you need to see poverty at its peak.their
poverty worst pass our own.NNE anytime you visit go downtown and you will see poverty at its highest,so please they should STFU.they also forgot to mention that we are home to one of the richest men in the world. All this one na propaganda!

Naija no dey carry last my foot. Of course the country no dey carry last for bad and evil things but they are hardly named in anything good.

congrats on our centenary...nd dis kind of news is suppose 2 mk u proud*smh*ingrident*don yarn

Wait our sister country Ghana did not make this list? Even sierra leone wow Lmao why am i so surprised? Nigeria why na? What at all is the government doing? Smh

If I hear!! But I tot nigeria is d giant of africa? Abeg jor dis 1 na big lie

Did they also happen to mention that most of these countries have some of the highest population in he world?

And 20b$ is missing and nobody is saying anything, shame to people living in that country,

i hope eagle eye, puff puff mouth and ogogoro master have seen this

princenho said...

he is right many nigerians are living from hand to mouth , the suffering in nigeria is on the increase ...

Ngozi okonjo iwuala are you there? If you dont tell Nigerians what happened to our. 20b $ , God will ask you about it.

AGB said...

f'n bullshit statistics. I hate hearing thsi "less than a dollar" lie. yes there are poor people,but those statistics are lies. How much is a bottle of beer,how much is the cheapest meal in one day? how much is the smallest recharge card in Nigeria. One of these alone is more expensive than the statistical price they always quote talkless of when they are combined in one day. Screw all these western lies & stereotypes.

princenho said...

i get angry any time the name NIGERIA is been mentioned outside and in the mouth of this powerful and top people of the world is never for good...

So true and annoying. We don't need anyone to tell us its obvious. I still haven't understood what our government has been doing since independence.. We were better than Ghana but see how they got revolutionalised and are waxing daily

I pray the next time poor countries are mentioned, 9ja no go dey. Amen!

God will always punish a people who allow their evil leaders to live.

Camry 2007 said...

This shows the kind of leaders we have in this our beloved country....let's see whether they will say world bank has joined opposition party

TOGOLESE said...

I thank GOD for my country TOGO oooo.

How sad and embarrassing... Funny how the rich people in these named countries are extremely rich

Martins (GlossyMart Tech Gadgets 07037317400 or 08116202737) said...

That's soo true..I ve seen poor people,I mean poor people..I know a lot of people who can't even boost of #5000 in 3 months..its just too frustrating..it might sound unbelievable or funny but just know Nigeria is soo poor in terms of her economy,yet she is one of the biggest oil producing country..I weep for naija cos our redemption is still something I can't understand where it is to come from..we ain't helping ourselves soo how is heaven going to help us? smh

All dis research are becoming suspicious nd politically partial... I agree,pple r poor here but a normal Nigerian live above $5 a day!!!

christian said...

Nigerian people are suffering but there are many ways to get out from these mess click this link http://tinyurl.com/qfupcvh

dhobiz said...

Linda u self eh,see d way you just concurred and already calling on the govt,I understand we're poor but which statistics did they use in measuring that rubbish,extremely poor my foot.....this oyibo people had better respect themselves.US that is over 250 how have they been able to eradicate poverty?nmtchew

chai! extremely poor......i deny ma identity biko

that girl said...

No Linda, we need a govt dat don't steal from its people, a govt dat aren't in for just themselves.

ThatGirl said...

ghana no dey there : (

If China and India with the highest GDP growth in the world make the least, it's baffling. It seems only few people are getting enriched by these countries economic boom. I believe Nigeria should invest more in education(human capital development) and take critical steps at addressing the challenges in the power sector. With these, poverty and unemployment wuld be eradicated...hillary charles, jos

Kemi said...

Am not surprised Nigeria is on this list, it is just so sad that despite all the resources God blessed Nigeria with, we have plunged into a terrible state of decadence. My concern is when will things get better in Nigeria? If u have a problem with no solution in sight, then the word hope almost doesn't have a meaning. With the kind of leaders that have been changing hands in our nation, I just don't see the hope of things getting better. Our future as youths is so bleak and people are dying of poverty every blessed day. I just don't know what to say again abt the sad state of Nigeria.

i keep praying that one day there will be a divine intervention from christ jesus about nigeria's issue

Hip hip hurray, nigeria just made the list, NONSENSE.... Lord knws that nigeria will always make this type of list, upon all our oil money we are still suffering like this.... Na God go judge our leaders them.....

If another country no dey hungry me to go make i die..

i pray that will trun out a good news someday

i keep praying that one day there will be a divine intervention from christ jesus about nigeria's issue

Olodo like you!! Did they say N200 â day on food? The problem is they earn N200 â day from whatever work they do. So for your mind â family of 5 that spends N6K â month on food is not poor???? I can see wia ur own poverty started. Useless Anon 11: 06pm. Go back to ur Secondary sch and collect back ur sch fees frm ur Econs teacher cos he failed woefully unless u are â clss stabber

kclub said...

Poverty ownz a mansion in u like seriously

@Bonario,God does not appoint leaders for any country. We choose our leaders and if we choose wrongly,then we have to live with that.

Lolllllllll bonario jus said it all

Why ukraine no follow?

ONE HUNDRED KAY said...

R u daft? Thats like one square meal a day, n am sure some people aint even able to get that

Naija Movies Nollywood said...

We don't have government, but looters

IJMB printout IJMB form now

Okay this is bad

Are you sick?

Lol.tins will still get beta ijn amen.

Imagine d comparison btw 9ja n Ethiopia /kenya.....God hv mercies on my country we only knw our pocket

Nigeria is @a stage wea dey wil jst let a Woman rule Us coz we c d diff...... D Men ve dsappointd us so Make way fr d Women.... #iwillbethefirstwomanpresidentofnigeria

Its neva a lie it is the Gospel truth sometimes in the past years they also said dat average nigerian is living below $1 now its $1.25 smh Nigeria no get Govt n for those of u hailing n shouting dat dis current regime is working I pity y'all if u ever leave the shores of dis country u will understand what I mean, what a shame a whole African Biggest oil producing country, ok where's dubai, tunisia, saudi, libya, n lots more on d list, Nonsense

Sylvanus said...

So bad and this is a country where one person (a public Servant) will spend billions of naira to service private jet for personal use. God will forgive us all and touch our POLITHEIFCIANS for a change of life.
God bless Nigeria.

julz said...

The leaders have a major role to play in this but the people aren't helping matters either...take the north for example,how would the economy grow when people are killed and businesses/commercial places burnt down almost on a daily basis for useless reasons. You start to make little progress in life and people around you end your life out of envy and jealousy forgetting that wealth can actually spread if people invest,expand and create opprotunities for others....the reasons go on and on so my dear linda,even if you become the president,poverty would still exist in this country because truth be told, it simply tales more than the leaders to change it.

Odikwa risky

@ Bonario, that was a nice line mehn.. Very funny. U b clown

obojo said...

It is a deliberate act by our leaders to impoverish the nation. If things work, who will be their slave to carry out their devlish acts? This set of leaders need to go before this country can move forward.

A country who produces oil.... A country wit d riches man in Africa....n the 18th riches man in d world.... N we still ranked d top 5 of the xtreme poor ppl in d world.... Only God can save us.....

Bonario z jes full of crap.. The people are the cause of their own misfortunes.

And the region with the highest rate of poverty,insecurity,illitracy, street children/almajeri,barbarism, etc are the ones who want to rule everyone else.

am sure ppl like u live on 70k per month for food alone, n u com here yearning dust。 anuohia。can 200 naira a day provide d 3 square meal for one person。 idiot, u r among d looters in nigeria dat dont have compassion for d common man。 ewu gambia, thunder fire u on ur toes

Hmm, the money is there in Nigeria but those old and selfish politicians have shared and are still sharing the money among themselves. They are even keeping money for their great-great-great grand children unborn. They caused all these illness called poverty in this country. There own is for the rich to be richer and poor to be poorer. I don't think they have for any day Sat down and think of their afterlife. Maybe they thought they will carry their stolen money and all their ill gotten things to heaven.
The day that we the youth wake up and send all those old and selfish leaders away from ruling this country, that is when things will go smoothly in Nigeria.

BONARIOS BABY said...

Lol oga when did that 1 happen? Anyways if nigeria wants to b poor that's her business,as for me,my destiny is in Gods hands and I'm so extremely rich..

You're dumb ...its as if you don't know some family men earn that

CELEB said...

Lmao! Bona u no wella!

that is true. u can sense that in our GDP per head which is very low

yes Linda ur so ryt, cuz if a supposedly straight guy would opt to hv gay sex for less dan $13,000! Den we hv a BIG problem in Nigeria.. God help us

Its so sad...the money generated from akwa ibom state alone is more than dat of the whole state of texas in U.S.A.....so much oil in abundance...

Is that not an insult on Nigerian government and the entire Nigerians?

Nigeria â„“̊ hail o...nd some stupid ministry pple wey dey pursue money go wan make nigerians no go skul 4 ghana...â„“̊ hear...skul 4 naija na wahala, get job person must die...â„“̊ hear say make â„“̊ return back ² nigeria after â„“̊ finish skul....until GEJ and d rest including apc all σƒ dem until dey re dead..

Technically, we are amongst the richest.
Govt lets us down!

* My R1.50c comment *

Sex advice said...

Its the painful truth about our country...rich in oil and other natural resources, yet poor.

Just 2 women in this present regime can feed the whole Nigeria £20 a.day for ever.
talk less of the oga patapata

Dear world bank president, we hav found d poorest already.

Period! I concur at Jim's statement.

Millypee said...

Like its news! (sigh, and flip over)

pokaZu said...

Hmmmm... Some even leave less than a dollar a DAY while others don't even Spend a Day.. I have a sure hope "Naija will Change"

Posted Via SonYO Ericssion

Just for the poor to pray for God's grace in Nigeria, if not,

Lmaoo hilarious

Our politicians are animals. Our so called representatives at the confab even proposed that money should be given to them for there PA's n cooks n drivers, asides the fact they are getting 1mill naira per week, how shameless and heartless can they be? Naija is far behind and yet some people in naija dont know it yet....

This country needs God intervention.

hadiza said...

6k on food a month isn't poor? I don't pray such for u.

hadiza said...

Lmao! Hahahhaha

hadiza said...

You are one of the 'thiefs' Nigeria owns ba?

If people like ONYX live above $5 a day, he would definitely would have added an ounce..may God help naija youths.....gullible is understatement.

am sure abati and co wud b strategising replies

hadiza said...

the government dont care about the country, as long as there is no accountability on their part, there is absolutely nothing we can do. We are just in a sad situation. An average Nigerian is not even ready to die so lets not talk about revolution.

we really need a change in our government system, because those old men up there are the main course of all this things that is happening in this country.... and they also involve in bringing us down while they have the opportunities to steal our money.

MlleP said...

It is indeed very shameful! Saw Okonjo-Iweala on Tv discussing it and defending govt by saying we are still better than India. SMH, is that what we shd be doing? Looking for which we passed...at least we are not last last? We need prayers

Wondering what boko is still waiting for #NoTopNameRecently#
Jennipukka

Very sad. That is why you all should vote for Babatunde Ositelu who is contesting for president in 2015. To learn more about him go to www.isaac2015.com we need a change in our government.

This is the definition of POVERTY and Jonathan is there dashing celebs money, instead of him to empower these people, am so glad i dont live in Nigeria anymore. The gap between the rich and the poor is very ridiculous. Inequality is one of the biggest problems in Nigeria but very little attention is paid to it.

coordinating finance minister, what have you got to say about this? Please use harvard referencing when explaining,thanks.

AnnMarie said...

this is sad

this is so not right

It's a shame.

ZeeZee said...

Thank you Linda for the update because I have some colleagues whose heads are so far up their asses all they care about is themselves and how to get richer and don't care for the poor I had one say over and over it takes 3 Nigerian men to feed your whole country (mine)... I acknowledged it maybe it would but why insult mine when they can't feed their own? My country isn't even on the list. Not only is a functioning gov needed but prayers too. People need to change their mindset. These peoples fathers are stealing amounts you can think are lies and forgetting to go to a homeless shelter to uplift even one person

Derrick. Chillz said...

It might interest you to know that Nigerian leaders generally are the highest paid in the world. Yet, majority of her citizens are suffering beyond imagination living in deplorable conditions. What a contrast!