Japheth Omojuwa &Uche Briggs arrested for leading protest over NIS tragedy | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 2 April 2014

Japheth Omojuwa &Uche Briggs arrested for leading protest over NIS tragedy

Public speaker, blogger and activist Japheth Omojuwa was arrested this afternoon in Abuja alongside Uche Briggs for leading a protest for victims of the Nigerian Immigration Service employment test that took place on March 10th. The two men and one other person were taken to NSCDC office and there are reports that they were beaten by NSCDC officers at their headquarters. They've since been transferred to SSS office in Asokoro. See some tweets talking about the arrest after the cut...

119 comments:

My oga at the top,,,,d fct is dat ntin can be done to revive d dead ones

About that time... Japhet tho*

Nasir el ruffai can u shut up already

What a wrong move by the security agents,when you arrest people like Omojuwa you're only faning the embers of revolution,awwww! I missed being part of this protest that happened at my backyard.
Nice one Omojuwa we are solidly behind you. We need to take our destiny in our hands.

And Nigeria is supposed to be a democratic Republic? ... wow! smdh!

*My R1.50c comment *

FUNMINISTA said...

In Jonathan's administration,freedom of speech is guaranteed but freedom after speech is not certain.

Abeg abeg is dis el- rufai ñ✽t too old 4 twitter? He is always using stuff lyk dis ² play politics nd we all knw he isn't concern abt dis guys or wat happen @ d NIS test

Shyla said...

Why are they arresting them? On top the one wey pple don first experience. Was there any form of violence in their demonstration? If not then these SSS and co go see nwii. This is how they will keep on frustrating the youths when they try to speak out.
But on another note, I thought the FG had resolved this NIS issue or na mere talk and no action forthcoming?

Stupid country...

Ollynation AOB said...

Naija na wa oooOllynation AOB_ Do coffee and tea really dehydrate us_

I am full of anger now! Why for God sake? These our ruler are bastards!!! May the wrath of God come upon anybody that is involved in the arrest of these guy. Shameless old reterds that call themselves leaders! Idiot!!!

Useless country. . No freedom of speech. Jonathan is now acting like late abacha

Dis is absolutely absurd' what is our Government turning into? They've got every right to protest... "Democracy" - freedom of speech" come to think of it today is uche's buffdai feels sad dat he is arrested n beaten for no reason' .... 'Aiye le o' Let them all be judged

What's wrong with these security men?

this present administration is totally suffering from a rot that is totally inhuman and non understandable. i mean you don't make such mistakes, why arrest people like this when you can easily oppress the defenceless and you go on to arrest the most powerful. from a very neutral perspective, he geJ may not be dumb but he is surrounded by a whole lot of lunatics suffering from some divine amnesia or ebola as it seem. governance is not by oppression, when it is needed, oppress the right people. is just that simple. no one can be in support of such abuse of power but how stupid of them to have arrested this sort of people, edi lon di awon guys yi keh

What a really bad move. They just dug their grave deeper.

KVF said...

This is rather absurd. Abba Moro walks the street of Abuja freely and the likes of Japheth Omojuwa are in Government custody. What a shame, what a country!

Bonario,I don't think too many people in this country have the liver for revolution.The word only exist in dictionary otherwise the revolution would have taken place long before now.Long way to freedom!

i choose not to believe this yet...i have no comment now...let me wait for more details

Linda you are ‎​​very annoying.Now its Bonario,you quicky uploaded his comment.I thought you were a different person but you are just like every cheating person.stop doin that and appreciate others that read your blog.if you like don't post my comment.

Where is occupynigeria?my people,this nation is wack

BELLA! said...

Naija my country!!!

Jonathan is a tyrant leader. Military leadership under d cover of democracy. Wat is Nigeria turning into? I knew it wld come 2 dis. Dere is no freedom of speech anymore in dis country dat is if it has ever been. I don't c any right presidential candidate 4 2015 at all!!!
$$k@y$$

Mechie onu gi dia you coward! All you do is rant on comment section without action. "We need to take our destiny in our hands" na by mouth?

Bona its not by typin aww frm the comfort of ur bedroom. Happened at ur background yet you couldn't go and u r nw sayin u r solidly behind them. They dnt need ur sympathy oga, they need you hands on biko

This country is simply unbelievable!! News like this gets me so vexed!!!

What is wrong with our government, where is our democracy, what happened to freedom of speech and peaceful protest, it is Mr Abba Moro that directed NSCDC to arrest them, because they are under the ministry

This fool called Omojuwa has been looking for this opportunity since. Its nothing but the cheap popularity he has been craving for. Its normal for security operatives to call you in for questioning when you cross your boundary so his interrogation is in in-order so clowns like Fani Kayode and Elrufa should stop over sensitizing the issue.

adaeze nwankwo said...

We demand their release,they are law abiding citizens and reserve the right to protest.

BONARIO'S BOYFRIEND said...

True talk

The government and its agent have resulted into intimidation and harassment by arresting those who are ready to speak for the masses, daring the possible consequence of such kind of move is an indication of insensitivity of this administration. They must be released with immediate effect otherwise another protest is on the way.

So one can't protest again in Nigeria????????????

Gentletee said...

That was a peaceful protest and does not amount to a breach of public peace! Very wrong move to make.

Jeez! Dis country is sick with horrible leaders at the helm of affairs,why wld dis guys be maltreated and arrested for a peaceful protest? Mtn ,etisalat is sacking,multinationals coming to nig to enslave citizens with contract jobs with ridiculous job conditions,when will all dis end? Goodness!

el rufai,leave this nonsence behaviour,you should be more than these,loseing your attained respect so fast

All these emergency activists should just go and seat down...Why wouldn't they wait for the investigations on the tragedy to be completed? They have taken money from El-rufai and they want to be champions..I pity them...

If I hear! Jonathan had better order them to release Omojuwa, they've got the wrong person. Dem wan start craze abi?

Timi said...

I'm here in Lagos but will support with everything I have.

They have now been released

JaCkSoN said...

Niggers abeg mek una free dis NIS tragedy. It was just an unforseen accident. Provoking further protest will seem lik u wanna exploit the govt which unfortunately u cannot!!

princenho said...

i knew it will get to this someone will fill the pain, but arresting omojuwa was a very wrong move .....

May dey never see u Lindz!

princenho said...

@linda abeg no more post chelsea is playing now and we are one goal down *bad mood activated*

Wrung move.....d youths r angry already nd now u do diz.....ur jst lookin fr war,Jonathan nd co

So we dont have freedom again or what.... Make i no talk too much b4 God punish me here.....

Notice how everyone is outraged and calling for the release of Omojuwa and Uche but FFK is only calling for the release of Omojuwa because "he is one of the forthright voices of [his] LAND". Tribalistic idiot!

Anon. said...

Ode you sit in the comfort of your room and scream "...we are solidly behind you" when you coward into your shell during the protest that took place "at your backyard."
Solidly behind ni liquidly behind you ko...

beautifulnaijadeltababe... said...

beautiful9jadeltababe...nothing must happen to brigga an omojuwa bro jonathan,u better realease them fast fast fast now cos naija youth no go take am easy with u ohh or u get ready for resolution@bonario na u dey abuja plz follow up n update us.

Meanwhile Nigerian youths need to wake up! I remember that whole #lightupNigeria movement. I heard the government silenced them with money. Today we are still in the same shambles. Damn all the money and fight for what belongs to you! When these people see that we are easy to disuade with small money they will never take us serious! Props to these two youths who stood for what they believed in. Hopefully it will bring us a step closer.

All these old fools...dem no wan die and no wan retire for the young ones to take over. Tufiakwa!

Behind him in your house? Mtchew. By the way, the protest was to achieve what exactly? The Police man that raped a four year old, why didn't they protest? Thousand s of lives claimed by Boko Haram, they are waiting for what to protest? No one's condoning what happened at the NIS recruitment, but what ll a protest at this stage do? Why didn't they protest sooner? Trust El Rufai to tweet about that. He has finally opened his mouth after his visit to the SSS. Oloshi oshi.

Pls dey should release this innocent souls b4 the wrath of God descend upon them.....

I need a sugar mummy....call me on 08038004659.....most in be abuja....link me up please.

Bonario typical Nigerian youth, solidly behind Omojuwa and Briggs on LIB, SMH for you.
The most annoying thing here is that its NSCDC that arrested them!
What is their website again?
If anyone should be in custody now it should be the Mr. Moro.

judeci said...

Well said,my brother...a REVOLUTION is long over-due.

Omojuwa is an amazing dude. Very kind and honest. He let me share a room with him when i was stranded in 100level . D dude is a god. Very intelligent. God please help him. I am sure this is a blessing in disguise. Oyeami.

Hmmmmmm. Which way naija??? God help us.

Sylvonce said...

Awww not Omojuwa...dt dude is another being dt inspires me...Am sure he'll b released soon. Gat ya back man!
Someone's gonna stand up 4d victims else it wil b another "Under d table shoved cases".
Dis country just gets worse...

Queen Eliza. said...

Those He-goats just tampered with SLEEP.

WTF!!! What's their offfence? Oga ooooo...they're really calling for it "revolution"... Sumtin must be done ASAP oooooo

You are solidly behind him in your closet,instead of all the youths to come out en mass like the test day and fight.but who wan die?

Hmmm (APC mouth piece) well I don't really blame the security guys the least they expect is public disturbance after a deadly shoot out with the boko boys,Omojuwa should know better.He choosed the right move @the wrong time!!

Ds government is so stupid......

GEJ is just like a dictator in agbada yewu

God punish diz govt 4 humilatyn youths.....in all realmification dat concern us...

What's d meaning of this. For making d right move they had to arrest dis gentlemen? Hmmm na wa for naija

Those boys should be freed oh

Jonathan should better order for the release of this guys so that thunder and bomb will not blow his cap from FCT to Maiduguri.where were they when terrorist like Boko haram were killing nigerians like chicken?

AGB said...

God bless the great ones like this Omojuwa guy & even the Uche Briggs guy. A proverb says "the only thing evil needs to triumph is for good men to sit and do nothing." Most Nigerians just wanna sit, complain and do nothing.

Govt should ask Arik Air what Omojuwa did to them。This matter won't end here。They don't know who they arrested。

saseerusoe said...

WHY WILL THEY GO AND PROTEST?? WHEN THE PRESIDENT HAS COMPENSATED THE FAMILIES OF THE DECEASED AND ALSO THE INJURED BY GIVING THEM A SPOT IN THE NIS AND ALSO QUERIED AND CALLED ABBA MORO TO A SENATE HEARING......... WHAT ELSE DO YOU WANT THE GOVERNMENT TO DO .... YOU JUST WANT TO MAKE NOISE FOR NO REASON!!!

Thumb up 4 dis comment
$$k@y$$

web design jakarta said...

He let me share a room with him when i was stranded in 100level . D dude is a god. Very intelligent. God please help him. I am sure this is a blessing in disguise.

Solidly behind you @Bonario. . No be for LIB? Wen d chips are down na still talk una go dey talk here under anon. Keep quiet my friend and stop talking wat u will never do. U don earn a living or survive finish? Na to dey behind person. Mtcheeew. All talk, no action!

Nice one Omojuwa

Hw much did dey pay u?
$$k@y$$

If say ur papa join dose wey die, u go make dis razz comment?
$$k@y$$

Are guys sure we run a democratic government? How can something like this happen blatantly and open without fear and in a 'democratic government' no doubt.

Aygboko said...

Solidly behind them in d comfort of ur room browsing bah?

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

At least hez getting fame, just shut up ur gutter mouth and wank urself to sleep

Next time write in ur language pls. English is ssure nt ur mother tongue. "Resolution"(Revolution)

Zenki brown said...

Freedom afta speech is nt guaranteed in Nigeria. Well, 1 for all, all for 1.

Mr_SouL Get Naija Twitter/IG followers/7AB109CB said...

God won't descend on them now, but u can..

maxie said...

This government is the most bankrupt on wisdom I know. Helping youth to finally find a rallying point for imminent revolution. Shior

And some fools will line up next year and go vote for Jonathan again! is this the democracy we were promised.

If say ur papa join dose wey die, u go make dis razz comment?
$$k@y$$

Why r they protesting, when the presidenty had already given authomatic employment to d affected nd questioned the organisers. This is really not necessary.
Omo miii

Jonathan's team is so low on strategy. You detain someone as vibrant as these guys are on social media? Maybe finally a rallying point is here for the most imminent revolution in this country- Courtesy a clueless govt out of touch with the realities of the 21st century

@ Wendel simlin is that U??Now tell me who is d Bigger fool? People like you r d reasons ds country will never progress! U r nothing but an insult to ds generation, would u have said that if any of dos who lost their lives during the NIS exercise were to b ur loved one?? #BloodsuckingMonsters#

Anonymous 7:58, you are the fool, not Omojuwa. If we have a lot more Omojuwas in Nigeria and less of fools like you, that Country will be better than the way it is right now. Youths risking life and limbs to protest the injustice towards fellow youths, yet you sit in the comfort of your home and insult them. Ewu!

Dis is so unfair

Abeg ooo...how Omojuwa andd femi take relate for tribe ooo...wey u don dey put tribalist or wetin u call am! Opos as in OPONU!! I'm beginning to dislike Linda and her blog! If u like post am!

oh yeah omojuwa has gotten the attention he was craving for.... ok o #watching in 3D

zibaintl said...

OLD cargos twitting evryday like babies...apc mouth pieces(elrufai,fani n oby) i knw is dinning table syndrome u all suffering from.only pple who dont eat on dinning table talk..if d guy in questn was arrested,den my next questn is did he follow due process or obtain a permit b4 d comencement of protest?..pls ask d guy dis questn..secondly y is it dat most pple fail to release or is it illiteracy dat is ur problem.u attach evrytin to Jonathan n call him names.what den is d meaning of division of labour?..y do u have pple occupying various positions in dis country as well as having different functions to perform?.

@Linda Please my opinion is that some comments and bloggers are not meant and fit to be here. See the reason why nigeria can't move forward with the kind of comments people put up. Young nigerian are fighting for the betterment of the country for us and the next generation, they were arrested and some very dull people are busy attacking FFK, El-Rufai for twitting it. Imagine. I tire for this kind thing. Naija which way??????

ron said...

First of all, i think we have prayed enough in this country. prayers without action will lead us nowhere. One day, Very soon, Our so called Leaders Will be shocked when a revolution starts. What Happened in Egypt will be a child's play as to what will happen in Nigeria.

Day after day, I'm always disappointed in this country. Nothing to be proud of, Absolutely nothing. Isn't it pathetic that after over 10years of democracy, politicians are using basic amenities as campaign propaganda. Oh my, Its a shame. The so called 'giant of africa'

www.9jahub.com said...

this country self

Nawa oooooo

Its because of pple like u that we are in this mess. U sit in the comfort of ur home wanking off and when other pple moves u just hate in them. Shame on u

Age limit dey for Twitter? Olodo

I am so proud of Omojuwa Japheth, we actually grew up in same area in ikorodu, his dad is so popular in the area of ikorodu

I am so proud of Omojuwa Japheth, we actually grew up in same area in ikorodu, his dad is so popular in that area of ikorodu

NOW WHERE IS THAT TALKATIVE/LOOSER RHINO SORRY RENO OMOKIRI.

I can bell d cat

So u heard. E reach ur side?
$$k@y$$

Anon. 7.58pm, u r the sort of vermin Nigeria needs to exterminate in order to progress.

Anon 8.04pm, in case u haven't noticed, this country is at war. And we need every "emergency activist" we can find. Taken money from El-Rufai to fight for their own rights? U r amazingly dull!

AnnMarie said...

that's too bad of them. Omojuwa is one of of the most respected voices in naija

Sylvonce said...

No one is evr too old for social media...

Assholes teams arresting world changers... #failed act#

Serves that omojuwa right. Apc stooge , allowing elrufai to be using him at all times. Civil defense make una flog that hand wey e take de write rubbish against Jonathan

beautifl9jadeltababe... said...

Beatiful9jadeltabbe... @annon 9:08pm abeg is there anythng like typographical error for ur brain, english no b ma papa language I hear u but I no dey dumb and olodo like u wey I no go knw the spelling of revolution, o ga abi na madam ITK gbo ro mi di elerun, e so gba yin ekemode, telephone without no wired, eke is ma obi ese a wale wa dupe thank u.

Nawa oh, Orisirisi, so now they treat Adults like children,Ibere Oriburuku,This jonathan should quickly comot jor,Hes such a bad luck

This Nelly is very stupid

Is a pity that Nigerian youths who ought to be reasoning well are been bought over by selfish politicians,
if this guys are reasonable enough why will they be protesting an issue that have been taking caring of by GEN? and Rep is still on that matter,what again do they want?
if it is a normal protest what stops them from doing it since 3weeks ago these people died?
secondly if it was lawful protest why did they have a police approval or they think they can wake up one morning and start a protest?
this guys should stop seeking for unnecessary attention plz.

#Confirmed#

ALL THESE IGNORANT COMMENTERS SEF. THE QUESTION YOU HAVE TO ASK IS IF THEY WERE GRANTED PERMISSION TO STAGE A PROTEST. DEMOCRACY OR NO DEMOCRACY, YOU CAN'T JUST WAKE UP AND DISTURB PUBLIC PEACE AND NOT BE ARRESTED FOR QUESTIONING.IT'S ALL ABOUT THE SECURITY MEASURES YOU ALL ARE REQUESTING. I AM NOT ROOTING FOR ANYBODY BUT "WISDOM IS PROFITABLE TO DIRECT". AFTERALL, THEY WERE ONLY QUESTIONED.

== Dobbie ==

Japhet Floreat!! you are a true kings man! Uche Briggs and co... God bless y'all! keep up the fight...

U lied! Wht wd u den say abt d repressive regimes of Obasanjo, Abacha, IBB, Buhari and others? Use ur brain nxt time...

Silly comment from a confused and biased bigot.