Must read! Chimamanda Adichie writes on the anti-gay law | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 19 February 2014

Must read! Chimamanda Adichie writes on the anti-gay law

Article written by award winning writer Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie titled 'Why can’t he just be like everyone else?'  Find it below...
I will call him Sochukwuma. A thin, smiling boy who liked to play with us girls at the university primary school in Nsukka. We were young. We knew he was different, we said, ‘he’s not like the other boys.’ But his was a benign and unquestioned difference; it was simply what it was. We did not have a name for him. We did not know the word ‘gay.’ He was Sochukwuma and he was friendly and he played oga so well that his side always won.
In secondary school, some boys in his class tried to throw Sochukwuma off a second floor balcony. They were strapping teenagers who had learned to notice, and fear, difference. They had a name for him. Homo. They mocked him because his hips swayed when he walked and his hands fluttered when he spoke. He brushed away their taunts, silently, sometimes grinning an uncomfortable grin. He must have wished that he could be what they wanted him to be. I imagine now how helplessly lonely he must have felt. The boys often asked, “Why can’t he just be like everyone else?”

Possible answers to that question include ‘because he is abnormal,’ ‘because he is a sinner, ‘because he chose the lifestyle.’ But the truest answer is ‘We don’t know.’ There is humility and humanity in accepting that there are things we simply don’t know. At the age of 8, Sochukwuma was obviously different.  It was not about sex, because it could not possibly have been – his hormones were of course not yet fully formed – but it was an awareness of himself, and other children’s awareness of him, as different. He could not have ‘chosen the lifestyle’ because he was too young to do so. And why would he – or anybody – choose to be homosexual in a world that makes life so difficult for homosexuals?

The new law that criminalizes homosexuality is popular among Nigerians. But it shows a failure of our democracy, because the mark of a true democracy is not in the rule of its majority but in the protection of its minority – otherwise mob justice would be considered democratic. The law is also unconstitutional, ambiguous, and a strange priority in a country with so many real problems. Above all else, however, it is unjust. Even if this was not a country of abysmal electricity supply where university graduates are barely literate and people die of easily-treatable causes and Boko Haram commits casual mass murders, this law would still be unjust.  We cannot be a just society unless we are able to accommodate benign difference, accept benign difference, live and let live. We may not understand homosexuality, we may find it personally abhorrent but our response cannot be to criminalize it.

A crime is a crime for a reason. A crime has victims. A crime harms society. On what basis is homosexuality a crime? Adults do no harm to society in how they love and whom they love. This is a law that will not prevent crime, but will, instead, lead to crimes of violence: there are already, in different parts of Nigeria, attacks on people ‘suspected’ of being gay. Ours is a society where men are openly affectionate with one another. Men hold hands. Men hug each other. Shall we now arrest friends who share a hotel room, or who walk side by side? How do we determine the clunky expressions in the law – ‘mutually beneficial,’ ‘directly or indirectly?’

Many Nigerians support the law because they believe the Bible condemns homosexuality. The Bible can be a basis for how we choose to live our personal lives, but it cannot be a basis for the laws we pass, not only because the holy books of different religions do not have equal significance for all Nigerians but also because the holy books are read differently by different people. The Bible, for example, also condemns fornication and adultery and divorce, but they are not crimes.
For supporters of the law, there seems to be something about homosexuality that sets it apart. A sense that it is not ‘normal.’ If we are part of a majority group, we tend to think others in minority groups are abnormal, not because they have done anything wrong, but because we have defined normal to be what we are and since they are not like us, then they are abnormal. Supporters of the law want a certain semblance of human homogeneity. But we cannot legislate into existence a world that does not exist: the truth of our human condition is that we are a diverse, multi-faceted species. The measure of our humanity lies, in part, in how we think of those different from us. We cannot – should not – have empathy only for people who are like us.

Some supporters of the law have asked – what is next, a marriage between a man and a dog?’ Or ‘have you seen animals being gay?’ (Actually, studies show that there is homosexual behavior in many species of animals.) But, quite simply, people are not dogs, and to accept the premise – that a homosexual is comparable to an animal – is inhumane. We cannot reduce the humanity of our fellow men and women because of how and who they love. Some animals eat their own kind, others desert their young. Shall we follow those examples, too?

Other supporters suggest that gay men sexually abuse little boys. But pedophilia and homosexuality are two very different things. There are men who abuse little girls, and women who abuse little boys, and we do not presume that they do it because they are heterosexuals. Child molestation is an ugly crime that is committed by both straight and gay adults (this is why it is a crime: children, by virtue of being non-adults, require protection and are unable to give sexual consent).

There has also been some nationalist posturing among supporters of the law. Homosexuality is ‘unafrican,’ they say, and we will not become like the west. The west is not exactly a homosexual haven; acts of discrimination against homosexuals are not uncommon in the US and Europe. But it is the idea of ‘unafricanness’ that is truly insidious. Sochukwuma was born of Igbo parents and had Igbo grandparents and Igbo great-grandparents. He was born a person who would romantically love other men. Many Nigerians know somebody like him. The boy who behaved like a girl. The girl who behaved like a boy. The effeminate man. The unusual woman. These were people we knew, people like us, born and raised on African soil. How then are they ‘unafrican?’

If anything, it is the passage of the law itself that is ‘unafrican.’ It goes against the values of tolerance and ‘live and let live’ that are part of many African cultures. (In 1970s Igboland, Area Scatter was a popular musician, a man who dressed like a woman, wore makeup, plaited his hair. We don’t know if he was gay – I think he was – but if he performed today, he could conceivably be sentenced to fourteen years in prison. For being who he is.) And it is informed not by a home-grown debate but by a cynically borrowed one: we turned on CNN and heard western countries debating ‘same sex marriage’ and we decided that we, too, would pass a law banning same sex marriage. Where, in Nigeria, whose constitution defines marriage as being between a man and a woman, has any homosexual asked for same-sex marriage?

This is an unjust law. It should be repealed. Throughout history, many inhumane laws have been passed, and have subsequently been repealed. Barack Obama, for example, would not be here today had his parents obeyed American laws that criminalized marriage between blacks and whites.
An acquaintance recently asked me, ‘if you support gays, how would you have been born?’ Of course, there were gay Nigerians when I was conceived. Gay people have existed as long as humans have existed. They have always been a small percentage of the human population. We don’t know why. What matters is this: Sochukwuma is a Nigerian and his existence is not a crime.

1,162 comments:

1 – 200 of 1162   Newer›   Newest»

Thank you girl, this is a brain working, how can you imprison some one for being gay. Chimamanda I love you,I am going to read half of a yellow sun again because of this.

Linda u no dey sleep? Lol

@iamnoble_d said...

Let me say this...she might be right.and u Linda you no dey sleep??? This one that you are always writing about gay right....

Ugly,Fat, obese, miserable nigerians start insulting gay people.

Too long but nice write-up.

Asaa said...

This girl is just too much. Proud of you! Hope this article gets to them.

u nko?

@iamnoble_d said...

Aunty Linda. Oya lets go and sleep lol

linda wey no dey sleep like me.... very nice one she really touched on all the reasons why people be supporting it.

One thing about ignorant nigerians,is that, anything they don't understand or anything that is different,they call it the devil, just like twins.seeing two babies that look alike is shocking and they didn't know how to explain it,that's why they started killing twins, that's what is happening with this homosexual thing. You people don't know how to explain it, its different,that's why you rather kill gays,imprison them,instead of you to educate yourself and try to understand what homosexuality is.

Well written and well said. I am not gay but criminalising gay people is really unfair and madness of the highest order. If I had a gay child I would be so proud of him or her.

A real Nigerian intellectual finally speaks and does not disappoint.

Deutronomy 22:28-29,if a woman gets raped,she should marry her rapist,why are we not practising that one. You can't take what you like from the bible and leave the rest, if u want to obey the bible,obey everything,don't take what's suits you and leave out what doesn't suit you. Hypocrites

I like this, its quite a good piece. I also learnt some new word, I guess it is something to think on.

She is speaking the trust.nigerians are too shallow to understand that people are born different,I have never even met a homosexual in nigeria,talk more of a gay man saying he wants to marry his partner, nigerians are looking for someone to murder for no good reason.

Says it all! Could not have said it any better!!!

I tire oo, you no dey sleep at all?

GBAM chimaamnda you have said it all. This is how an educated person should be thinking and speaking, not the mumu pastors in this country

Chimamanda head don kolo! Madam writer!

All you foolish ladies saying you hate gay guys, let me ask you, who do you think designed your wedding dress.

U are talkin of studies that show that animals have gay tendencies, you, Chimamanda, have u seen one? Have u seen a hen running after a hen, eh? Talk about reality and forget about studies.
It's so sad that nowadays whatever celebrities endore/support is the right thing.

Two men loving each other can not stop me or you from getting your wife pregnant,and multiPlying your family, gay people don't bother me and they should not bother you, they are matured consenting adults let them do what they like

FOLLY said...

I think she is right in a way? But I trust my African people, they will so curse this girl...wait and see...

I love Chimamanda! If all Nigerians could think like her. Oga Jona should read this cos he's just an onukwu odekwu, ya na mama peace. Mschew!!!

Hot fist said...

Chimamanda, you've written well, but homosexuality is 'unafrican', unbiblical, and very disgusting as much as adultery is. Besides you defending all the points on this article, you couldn't address the last one properly and satisfactorily!

NZ said...

Well written, El garnd Classico from the purple Hibiscus writter....

Oya,ugly fat, pathetic, illiterate nigerians will start to reign insults down at her. Chiamanda tell them. Men have been fucking each other since the beginning of time.deal with it

I'm disappointed , a supposedly proper home grown girl like her has decided to support rubbish because she has mingled with these people who support homosexuality ??? How sad it's wrong and despite the slight ambiguous nature I pray this law stays and our leaders remain steadfast . The entertainment industry is one of the key tools of spreading this gay virus , notice how every other show on "E" has a faggot , ice lives cocoa , hello Ross , Kendra, kardashians .. Etc and the way they are painted to look cool ? Putting these wrong people on tv constantly is supposed to create acceptance and with acceptance might come participation , adiche is a disappointment, I never expected her to lend her voice and celebrated views to such an evil and wrong cause

U re a black fool..I juz imagine how u av won d best award winning writer..Nigerians say NO to gay...go to hell wif ur stupid article.

Many of your fathers,uncles etc are gay, so stop saying we don't want homosexuality in africa, gay people are every where.

Hmmmm very deep and I like

When black people where being beaten and taken as slaves,God didn't destroy the world, when jews (God's own people) where being killed like rats by adolph hitler,God didn't destroy the world, so it is now when two consenting adults are loving each that's when God would destroy the world.

God might shine his light on Nigeria if we fight against on thing the bible is against . lool and again we all know deep in our hearts that homosexuality is wrong no matter how much we hide it. train ur child in d way he should grow so sochukwuma's parents should've done sumtin. and chimaamanda ur not married are u?

Wow! Am very proud of the author. Nigeria should sway away from this homophobia distraction and focus on fighting against schools going on strike, lack of job, poverty, hunger, poor electricity, poor water supply, poor roads and infrastructures..... Etc.... If the church is worried, let them (us) not forget that it is our duty to pray for everyone.

Omo see gay nd lesbians as them dey thank her...wahala dey oooo...u had beta leave d country if u not satisfy wif d law..infact 14yrs small na death by hanging Oga goodluck suppose sign for law..

Law has bin passed y d too much tlk on dis issue mtchwwww...linda if u b same sex activist pls let us knw dan indirectly using oda "free thinkers" to show ur agitations. bt wait ooo imagine if u gave birth to a boy who decides or as the said was created to bang his fellow sex,hw will u feel? Adichie or wateva pls don't forget ur roots our culture is at stake here.we don't want anomalies filled in our streets,kissing their fellow men nd women gosh d sight itself is disgusting nd I thought u where a xtain. LORD HLP US!!

We hate guy suck it up

Darling said...

I hail you Madam Adichie, keep up the good work!

Couldn't have written it better. My respect for Miss Adichie turned up a notch...

Chimamanda don't tell me u are gay! I used 2 like u. Intelligent write up tho!

Yakno said...

Well said...Beauty with brain!

You have sold out, Chimamanda! You have really sold out indeed!! ...To Satan, of course!! Nigerian Jatijati.

Well said Chimamanda Adichie!! Let the ignorant anti-gay brigade start, and any one that insults me is a faggots!!!

Aphrodite said...

Wow! I'm stunned, This Lady is beautifully nd Wonderfully Talented! Oya now, u want to Use bible against "Homosexuality" well u beta check ur Hypocritical ass weda u're nt a Divorcee, or u've neva had Pre-marital sex or done Abortion, or commit adultery! If u've done any or All of d Above, den u need to Shut ur mouth nd Sitchur Hypocritical "Perfect" ass down nd Let the LGBT Be! Their way of live hurts No one. God bless u Chimamanda.

I officially hate u Fir dis guest sasha fierce spirit has entered u better ask God for forgiveness

Smartest girl in nigeria, unlike your pastor who can't write proper english. Just saying.

Don1 said...

1st time I look @ this matter differently. A view so on point, tho I hate it bur that does not justifies its truth. Logically clear

Hmmm....Chimamanda ..i hold my peace.

That explains why she's not known with any guy till date. She's a lesbo i guess. Nonsense!

Nice argument But we all know something went wrong wt sochukwuma . The parents shuld have observe him and correct the child. What is wrong is wrong no matter how you present it.

Chiamanda I kw ur doing muchimuchi wit ur fellow women ifeleme nkpiajani won't u go ad get married ewu . Aju ndi umunachi obodo gi femkposi gi anya u r supporting gay in d contry let leprosy tanpko is gi akahu ij ede nonsence. Aturu awusa nna ga anu

She made a lot of sense in her write-up.

Great article from a great mind, I concur with her submissions. Nigerian government have succeeded in criminalizing consenting adult love. Am not gay though, I travelled for an occasion with dad n we couldt share the same Double bed in d hotel cos they felt we commit homo. I had to go n sleep in a church holding night vigil because of scarce funds. This bad law will hunt everybody without exception. Ajayi, OAU.

Ooook oooo, niger I no fit laugham finish, hmmm confused country

Ngeri said...

LOL at someone calling it too long. Why do people say that? Great contribution on her behalf! I love it! Very insightful!

Na Soludo Chukwuma name u kon shorten like that? Let the man catch you oo, you go know say him no they tear yansh, omo ale africa (african bastard)

I just love Chimamanda, dats an intelligent person talking, we have dull leaders in this country.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion sha.. She has said her own.. As 4 me, na adam and eve beta pass adam and steve.. Man was made and hardwired to love and be besotted by a woman..no more, no less..kpomkwem.

This homosexuality issue is very confusing.

Andre

Charming Kay said...

Linda ℓ̊ know u re against dis anti-gay law,JƱڪτ̲̅ say it..as 4 mε̲̣̣̣̥ she is rite nigerians hve many tins to worry about. Dis law promotes violence..

Great writeup.. inspiring one. Good thinking lady.
I love your vocabulary. Simple yet effective.

ifyouaskmenawhoigoask said...

threw words- Plain and Simple! chimamanda you rock!

Is so obvious ds chimamanda is a stupid woman.yeah! She is a gud writer buh has bin brain washed by those useless white.am sorry to say;amanda is 'animalistic'. Instead of u to think of how to write so dah u can Change d world into a beta place so we don't end up lyk sodom ur talking 'FOOLISH'.I don't think ur needed In ds generation anymore cos its obvious ur gonna rot in hell alongside wiv those Senseless gays. Am dissappointed a true born african child will make such a stupid word. May God forgive u ooOoooo.*so vexed*

two words - Plain and Simple! Chimamanda rocks!

Wow, my respect for her couldn't have gone up any further and I'd implore everyone to please read it and not just trot out "too long" like someone lacking sense.

Earth; The world in which humans, who hold themselves as higher animals for the ability, they say, of reasoning, roam, act and think (if not lower)like the very same animals they hold themselves higher than.
Nigeria; A joke of a country run by educated illiterates weeps and cries for help, for change, for reason.

Chimamanda thank you.

Don't approve? Fine. but don't criminalize.

Very intelligent lady.I must admit she changed my mindset through this piece.

an interesting perspective...sadly, the persecutors see no scintilla of reason in this...it shows just how much their judgement should be pondered upon

I couldn't have said it better. She is soo brilliant

chimamanda.
The crime u r talking about here are viewed as 'sin' by crimefighters on earth.
A sin is a crime committed against man and the God.
chimamanda this time around u match line.

I couldn't have said it better. She is soo brilliant.

@ anon 2:26, u can insult pple but u dnt want gay point le to insulted....ode

mamalette said...

This girl is so brilliant, her brain works like wild fire. God bless you darling chimamanda, Live long α̲̅πϑ prosper.

Truly,onye biri ibeya ebiri,uwa adiranyi nma!God help us and our children!My only concern is those not born gay and are being influenced by the existence of such rights.

Beautiful writing, so humane

Mr. Mmunwa said...

My friend get out of this article; you think this is some wishy-washy talk of who wears what and shops where?

This is an article for intellectual discourse, please find your level in the long list of the other articles which suits your mental echelon.

You have the cheek to call an academic piece by an academic of global acclaim "too long". Wanton ignoramus, it is the likes of you this article describes as, "graduates who are barely literate".

No truer words have been spoken, I couldn't have said it better myself even if I tried. Thumbs up for so eloquently speaking my mind

Well captured, rounded up nicely. Leave the gays alone!!! No im not gay, but I will continue to advocate for their right to be free. Freeness to be who you are, who you want to be. Nigeria of all countries has no business on earth and in heaven to discrimate against anyone on account of being gay or lesbian solely based on religious or biblical teaching when fornication, baby mama's, cheating spouses, pedophiles for senators, governors and senators and minister fkg young girls in exchange for money. They call themselves runz girls and now, its almost acceptable like its common place idea to fk someone else in exchange for money. Its called prostitution, plain and simple. Its called adultery, its called fornication. Bible spoke against it, doesnt stop the lot of you from sinning everyday. What about the bleaching epidemic, what happened to keeping your body a holy temple for God, why show such disregard or contempt for what God made, it is these same people with the same dirty split tongue like a snake that will come and criticize, pitch stones at others lifestyle while theirs is full of dirt, disgusting filth that cannot be spoken of in public. The hypocrisy of some Nigerians makes them despicable, I spit on you GEJ and your corrupt officials for choosing to deny freedom to a group of people who have done nothing wrong but just ask to be normal everyday regular people, I spit on you hateful Nigerians that cast stones at others based on religious beliefs when your household is full of unspeakable, disgusting, satanic acts.

I doff my cap to CNA on this write up. Kai! Well said and thank you for being fearless enough to stand up to the braying mob. Like you said, we can't legislate a reality that doesn't exist into being. Gay people have always been around and will not go away. They're harming no one, so what exactly is their crime? I guess it's too much to ask that we show Christian values like tolerance, acceptance and love to gay people. We've used them up on elected robbers and false prophets.

felando via dynamite said...

I was against gay marriage till I read dis write up....truth be told, they shld be left alone...abi d 'straight' pple dey jealous dem??
I aint gay shaa...

Her business!!
Yaaayyyyyyy Happy Birthday to Meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

#That happy sister!

For once, I have cause to reason differently on this issue. Gays did not create themselves and like other normal people, they too deserve to be free, they too deserve the protection of their rights by the state. They deserve to live and since the state- like individuals, cannot help them correct that deficiency, the least it can do for the gays out there as Chimamanda put it is- live and let live. I say 'no' too to the anit-gay law.

Beautifully written. Truth is truth, and not every truth is comfortable to accept. But truth is truth. Thank You Chimmanda.

Madam shut up. Your article is baseless. In d same developed countries...we r now seeing marriage btw animal and human, all in d name of freedom. Jst shut up. God never make mistake in creating man as a man and woman as a woman. Its only in america that u'lll see all manners of shit bcos of freedom.

Seriously!!! I feel smart cos this lady said all that I av always told my friends..God bless you chimamanda adichie - A man who Love p**sy to a fault..yet won't force it down someoneelse's throat

Beautifully put.

kings said...

The bill is already signed. #shikena. Homosexuality is not part of culture and tradition.

God I luv chimamanda all over again!! Dis is a B-E-A-utiful piece! For her to tke dis long to react She must has sat in solitary confinement to fink abt it...d law is so unjust! Pipo kip say being gay isn't biblical; its against christianity blablabla...nd so is fornication/adultery! Hw wud we feel if derez a law passed against it? Pls let's honest nd search within ourslvs...like chimamanda said, its nt a crime to chose who we luv nd its nt deir fault dat dey re different..so those antigay folks castigating gays on dis blog, bfor u cast a stone, ask urslf, re u holier?btw, I'm NOT gay. jux my opinion.....

NB; bfor u fink of takin a jab at me, hestitate for a yle nd use ur head!

We never think before we act in this country. Here is one of the most intelligent amongs us and the best writer of our time speaking. I wish she had done this before the passage of the law. Now my heart goes out to gays. I apologize for my past hate.

Asoge said...

Amazing piece Adichie. They are a minority who needs help not catigation or criminalization

kings said...

The bill is already signed. #shikena. Homosexuality is not part of culture and tradition.

breal said...

Homosexuality is a sin according to my holy book bt we humans have no right to judge anybody with that. Why not let's leave the holy sin for the holy day?
P.S I learnt my trade from a gay person and I'm glad I met him. "I'm straight tho'"
Nobody holy pass

She is so right

So often, I wonder too, growing up I had a friend in high school who is male but acted feminine. Some pple are actually born different, just like some kids are born with autism, some are born with hormonal in balance.

Lmao Dem go finish DZ gurl wit insults today. Divy

I still dnt suport dat gay thing... It sucks, I mean...

The anti-gay law must be the most senseless thing done by this administration, but the scary thing is the amount of support it generates amongst our people. The most common argument they give in favour of it is "how would you like it if your child is homosexual"? To which I reply- nigerian government pls leave my homosexual child to me and my family, try not to involve yourselves with threats of jail time for him/her! We have public officials embezzling money and even senators marrying underage girls and walking around freely. Our hypocrisy as a people knows no bounds...

Adichie,has ur fame got into ur head for writing this trash?
Linda,hope u are nt a lesbian or bisexual with the way u are posting on gay issue easily?
-Yemoh.

Glo said...

Good insight chi armada, we don't know and we do not want to encourage citizens because its becoming a trend. People who are involved in it now don't have that nature and most grow out of it. Area scatter married and had kids my sister. He was never a gay. I meet him. It was all show and had political under tone.

True talk ...am Nigerian and catholic...am against homosexuality and same sex marriage but I am against criminalization of homosexuals

I have always loved Adichie. Love increases more with this. I agree and felt like I wrote this. Every nigerian should go to jail for adultery and fornication. How can a government where politicians sleep with bank girls (adultery) cast stones and say another 'sin' is a crime yet theirs isn't. I knew of men who acted like women but didn't know a name for it when I was young. I will still show them love and pray for their well being rather than hurl them to jail .....hypocrites , Pharisees go and remove the log in your eye before removing the speck in a gay man''s eye. Not everything is black and white. Show love to all and live agod to judge.

Nwanyi ah mechie onu! So two men poking their anus isn't criminal to you? Y won't u support wen u now live in d uk. U don dey fear deportation. Well, urs is an interesting piece but won't change d law, dats my happiness...

Chimamanda I remember "Area Scatter". He used to perform at NTA Channel 6 Aba and yes we always wondered y he dressed like a woman. On one of his performances just b4 he died, he sang a song dat says "Nigeria has a long way to go". How prophetic. About 34 or so years later we still hv a not gone anywhere. Tufiakwa.
Nigerian leaders saw other countries debating same sex issue and pronto dey copied and even passed d law b4 some of dem. But they travel abroad all d time and see good roads, uninterrupted power supply, 1st class hospitals and other mind blowing infrastructure but NO, dem no fit copy dat one. I just feel sorry for the poor, helpless Nigerians dat r hailing dis useless law not knowing they r d real VICTIMS (apologies to Isidore Okpewho).

This is the greatest lie of the century,,, wow well organised lie... Anyway we have always known that devil is the father of all lies....

Chimanda and Linda were your parents Gay? The problem with you guys is that you think you are very intelligent and you can decieve everybody because of money.... Am not suprised Money is the root of all evil and quest for fame can lead a man into many parts..... I am sorry for you Chimanda and Linda that you have choosen a wrong part to become fame and the end will justify....

I don't care if anyone is gay even if they like they can sleep with animal afterall is their life and its none of our business...hear this they will never be accepted as normal people....and I know that they will still fade away like grass.... They can't stand...... A lot of gays have choosen to be gay because of several heart breaks,,failure in marriages and etc.....

Miss Chimanda and Linda... I will only wish you all the best but don't forget that not all the glitters are gold... Lin

Shyla said...

Sochukwuma (only God knows). To a point she is right in her argument. I have also wondered on the long term jail plan and all the violence now associated with this gay issue. In my honest opinion, I believe if the law is to be implemented well and right it should have a clause ' if found/ caught performing the act openly'. Openly here meaning indulging in view of people,not when they just hold hands and walk on the road Is it that when two guys as she said lodge into the same room supposedly due to lack of funds to pay for individual accommodation, they would be arrested or brgt out and stoned?
I personally think the law has a huge clause and some things need to be adjusted so that people will not be killed based on the assumption of being gay in word and not action.

This is the greatest lie of the century,,, wow well organised lie... Anyway we have always known that devil is the father of all lies....

Chimanda and Linda were your parents Gay? The problem with you guys is that you think you are very intelligent and you can decieve everybody because of money.... Am not suprised Money is the root of all evil and quest for fame can lead a man into many parts..... I am sorry for you Chimanda and Linda that you have choosen a wrong part to become fame and the end will justify....

I don't care if anyone is gay even if they like they can sleep with animal afterall is their life and its none of our business...hear this they will never be accepted as normal people....and I know that they will still fade away like grass.... They can't stand...... A lot of gays have choosen to be gay because of several heart breaks,,failure in marriages and etc.....

Miss Chimanda and Linda... I will only wish you all the best but don't forget that not all the glitters are gold... Lin

This is d 1st write up dat I can say makes perfect sense. Live and let live. If u know u uphold d bible to d letter den cast d 1st stone. It's dat simple

in as much as i agree 98% of what she wrote, the 2% being that, unconsciously, she used the homosexual stereotype by saying.................................." He was born a person who would romantically love other men. Many Nigerians know somebody like him. The boy who behaved like a girl. The girl who behaved like a boy. The effeminate man. The unusual woman."..........................not all guys that behave like girls are gay(believe it or not) and not all girls that behave like guys are lesbians too....

Long epistle. Linda sleep joor

Beautiful write up...its gud to be educated!!

Nice write up, very enlightening, being Gay has always been around. Don't judge people because nobody sees what you do behind close doors.

AnonymousFebruary 19, 2014 at 2:26 AM. That's the problem with gay people,,, you have already started abusing innocent and Wonderful Nigerians...... You gays are just deceiving yourselves.....I am sorry and I only pray for your souls...

Finally, I have been waiting for her to lend her voice to this issue.. We need more people to condemn this inhuman law...tooth fairy

I don't support the act of homosexuality but the truth is from my personal experience from a 5yr old kid they can't help them self, It's just one of those things you can't and we don't have an answer or explanation for or how would you explain a 5 year old boy who likes wearing his sisters cloth and like using his mom's cosmetics, this are early signs but I'm sure he has no idea that he's gay but his parents suspect and are devastated praying day and night he does not turn out gay. Now my question is how does he at 5yrs pick his sexuality, where was the transition to his prefence at 5, God knows best , I think the law should be reviewed may be public display should be a crime not their bedroom matters. I think we need more understanding on this before we jugde them.

Gee said...

Wat took her so long?..it took her a century to put up crap lyk dat,pls how cum she even won an award,used to admire ds amanda girl till now, tot she was wise#wat is wrong is wrong,even if we say its not#

Truth is.... even though I speak against homosexuality, I have a family friend who was born like this... in sm small part of south-south Nigeria. We all thot it weird but now that i think abt it, he didn't choose to be that way...
Esp with all the back-lash.
I feel as a country, at this point we ought to focus on more pressing issues.
GEJ probably just passed this law 2 get more votes 4 2015.

There's nothing I've said here u don't already know... but search deep in ur heart & lives...

gbemi said...

Nothing more to say! Great points.

Finally some sense. I don't understand the whole gay thing but still how does who they choose to love or have sex with affect U and I. The law only increases the incidence of HIV in Nigeria. Which unfortunately is at an alarming high.

Dis is why u are an award winning writer....U can write shaaa....had my heart going out for a minute for gays but I still support the law

Nice write up. I don't understand it, but don't think people should be punished for it.

My question to Christians is if Jesus was here at this moment, What will he do? Jesus condemned no one. Jesus would definitely not support homosexuality but I am certain he ll show love to gay people. Followers of Christ, please take a cue.

Hmmmm....what's too long about this tho! You will rather read short meaningless articles ba!

Willadebo said...

Whatever. I admire Chimamanda as a person as well as her eloquence on this topic but it doesn't mean I support all her points.

No, they have not asked for marriage but with the rate at which things are going of course it'll get to that point.
Being gay is not always a choice but some choose that lifestyle. Some started as early as high school due to the environment they found themselves (especially in boarding schools) - with the new law criminalizing it, that act will surely reduce and give those born 'normal' to live their lives uninfluenced by the abnormality surrounding them.

Before the law, gays were already coming out enmass, even forming groups, some are prostitutes openly going about their trade...just because the law was silent on it. Yes it was only a matter of time before they begin to marry.

Marriage is between man & wife. Sex is between male & female. Biologically, Logically, Soceitally & Religiously. Anything outside that is abnormal.

Legalising gay marriage means being an accessory to alter nature.
The definition of Man & Wife will change
Dad is Mum, Mum is Dad, Dad is Dad & Dad is Mum...ok I'm even getting confused already.

If being gay is normal, then having anal sex is normal...ohhh our hospitals will have to be well equipped form lots of anal reconstrution surgeries due to the rupturing of the 'excretory' organ which has been continuously pummelled by a dick all in the name of sex, also not leaving out several other diseases we'll have to put up with.

The law simply prohibits:
Public homosexual expression
Same-sex marriage & accomplices

No, I do not want gays to be jailed or killed.
Is the Law perfect? No
Will the law serve as a deterrence? Yes
Will it prevent the pollution of abnormality in the soceity? Yes

Only 15 countries in the world has legalised gay marriage so far, so what's the fuss?

If they do not intend to marry, then why are they fucking? So let's quit playing the 'right card' here as there are obviously more disadvantages of this lifestyle than advantages. The health/medical implications alone is a cause of worry considering the current state of health care.

The law only enforced what has already been soceitally refused & frowned upon. So again why is it a problem?

Think from both sides of the coin. We know what's right & wrong & it's CLEAR. I'm only being Rational.
#myOwnOpinion

Brownbutterfly said...

Well said. JONATHAN READ.

What is too long?, if the article is about "kim Kardashian" it won't be long enough for you! KMT!.

Sharp 9ja babe who's beginning to make waves in US and Europe. She knows if she goes against it, it may affect her blooming career. Pls help me tell her dat people are not born gay just like Christians were not born Christians.

Brownbutterfly said...

This is by far the most objective piece I have read in the whole "criminalization of homosexuality" discourse in Nigeria. Chimamanda has coherently put things in perspective and I hope the pro criminalization camp will read this and perhaps reconsider their stance. I am persuaded by this article that it is not right to make it a crime despite my personal/spiritual orientation.

Brownbutterfly said...

Go and sleep chiamanda...we don't want gays. If u don't like it, go and die. Your wisdom decreased wit this bullshit write-up. Too long just blah blah blah vocabulary blah blah blah more vocabulary blah blah DIE!

Crazy dey worry you chidinmanda, u fall my hand dis time. Homosexuality is a sin and all gays should be killed...That's all

bravest hrt said...

True dou...there r sometinz we dnt know n cnt explain and some tinz that we should let the creator b d judge.

WORD!! We have other issues to deal with first before making rules about how a certain kinda pple want to live their lives!!

Never commented on this blog but this moved me. Our law makers need to rethink this. If ur son or daughter told u he/she is gay would you kill or imprison them? A rigid constitution will only call for unwarranted violence. Thank you chimamanda for telling a story....

I don't support homosexuality but this got me thinking.we all grew up with eferminative boyfriends and right from then knew those who could be "gay".Chinamanda puts things in perspective .

Being gay is a total derailment from normality. What will prove attractive in a fellow of the same sex to u if not a demon at work in your body, soul and spirit.... let's leave the law of the bible now. Even physics which is a worldly subject says opposites attract.....the bible says bring up your child in the way he should go and when he is old he shall not depart from it....if you are a parent and your child is displaying such behaviour responsibility is laid on you to strongly correct such....if I may ask how will they give birth? Are we now going against the law of procreation? Plssssssss......God made man to av muscles and He made the woman soft for a reason...muscle come dey attract muscle....chai.....Please if u are a parent bring up your children in d way he shd go and when he is old he shall not depart from it....nice grammatical diaplay wt ur write-up but if every man was gay will u b married and if ur husband turned gay I guess u will gt placards and advocate for him too.....God deliver us from insanity...God bless Nigeria

Smh

Nigeria I hail thee!thank gudness she passed d anti gay bail.and for u Chimamanda u can kip ur western values to urself!!

Awon Stephen Oshi said...

The truth is Nigerians' ignorance is our downfall. We are too arrogant and proud to admit our faults. This gay law issue is a distraction same as tribalism in the workplace to cover up corruption and government ineptitude. It was passed knowing how emotional people get over trivial issues and still surprises me how we keep falling for things like this time without number. After all is said and done 2015 victory is already guaranteed to which political party promises us good roads, water and light (Same problems we've had since the birth of the nation) and then fail to execute same promises.

Ada Ejike Onyeama said...

Chimamanda, u actually made me think again after reading dis, not dt i wil support being gay no 2 ways abt it, its a NO 4 me but i actually remembered my cousin whom we named OME KA NWANYI while we were growing up. He plays wt girls only, does girls stuff, makes up wt his mums make up kit & does it so well & did i 4 get, he cooks so well now dt we are all grown. We dint take his behaviour 2 mean anything then. Could he be gay?

Thank God someone is thinking and speaking right out. Seriously all u homophobic dumb asses re jst tripping. What business of it is urs woteva anybody do wit there lives, no one is perfect. If u judge pple on wot is and not to be, we all wud die in dis world. Dis pple aren't askin 4 marriage @ least not yet, but safety! I think the best judgement for this issue is anybody can be wit whoeva dey wnt 4 how long dey wnt but no marriage (no husband and husband or wife and wife title)

Being gay is not a crime, it's a state of being. Just like I'm a woman and it's just what I am.

Shame on us all for our eagerness to visit America where people have fought for the rights of minorities like gays. Whereas we cannot raise our voice protection of the weak among us.

Let the voices of influence among us speak out like Chimamanda against this gross injustice to our gay brothers and sisters.

Where was she when this law was been deliberated upon in the national assembly. Where was she before the president puts assent to the bill. Whether she likes it or not, because she has a voice and failed to speak when it mattered , she shares in consequences.

Dis whole gay tin reminds me of durin slavery d whites used all manner of tinz 2 justify their wicked acts even the bible. But now a black man is their president. Sooner or later we wud remember this times and laff! #WorldPeace #TogetherNess

the answer to all your questions is salvation,if you have Jesus in your life, it will be clear that Homosexuality is a sin, no matter how intelligent you are or how well read you are, if you dont have Jesus in your life, you are empty and foolish. Instead of supporting the act of homosexuality, lets pray for the people involved in this degrading act. I live in America, and have seen how the so called "world power" is suffering , we are having unexplainable weather conditions, California is suffering from drought, people are loosing jobs every day, the economy is getting worse, and it just reminds me of the story of Sodom and Gomorrah. Let us pray against the wrath of God. God who made them Man and woman knew exactly what he was doing, let us not quetsion the Almighty. wether you paint it in another color or call it a different name, the fact remains the a man sleeping with another man or a woman doing the same is commiting a grave sin. Please repent, we are in the last days,., a word is enough for the wise.

Chimamanda, Do you believe in God?

I admire Chimamanda Adichie anyday, anytime n I'm not God so I hv always kept mute on this gay matter. Who are we 2 judge. If my 2 sisters were gay I'd still lOve them this madly n if my brother chose the lifestyle I might b a little disappointed bt the respect and the way I look up 2 him will nt chnge. I would never stp loving them bt the stranger I might judge without knowing what those close 2 me are bcos if they were atal gay they would hide. The questn is wuld I still love them if I knew? And the answer is YES.it wuld change nahtin nahtin atal except the realization that gay pipo 2 are humans.----C21

Dear chimamanda, I respect u a lot, but knw one tin dat, dat dude behaved like a girl Becos he spent too much time with girls growing up and playing with them, dats why he is the was he is, he was not born dat way.

You punk, you're here again. Get over your gay self already. If you hate Nigerians so much why are you perusing their blogs. Be happy with yourself because insulting Nigerians won't help you!

this is the voice of reason, i will buy all this woman's books by dawn...the truth is true any where in the world. Nigerians have to learn to know the truth.

We knew they were different but they did not typically show affection for the same sex because they were raised in a society that encourages heterogeneity.
This western homo propaganda is the problem.
Now Sochukwu will grow up thinking he should love a fellow man and the society will label him gay even if he may really not be.
You could be so close to one of the same sex and just be best of friends in the past but not today cuz everyone will think you're gay. That's the problem with this homo propaganda.
Yesterday transexuality was a psychiatric problem, today it is normal for a man with children to decide he no longer wants to be a man but a woman and it's 'normal'.
Tomorrow pedophilia will be normal because they can't help loving children.
I don't think it's okay to imprison someone for 14yrs because he is gay but I agree it shd not be legalised.
Stop shoving this down our throats.
Children shd not be raised by gays because children shd be allowed to form their thot processes without forcing an 'unnatural' way of life on them. If such r/ship cannot naturally produce children, then children shd not be there in the first place. That's child abuse.

This is the first sensible piece I have read about this issue.

Fucking homos....I say we kill all the gays around...arrrrrrrggggggghhhhh!!!!

Chimamanda Thank you! I pray this Article would go everywhere. The law needs to be repealed

Speechless.. mixing with the western world for too long get u twisted.. satan res the world tho, pple worship him without knowing it... this little write can ur bus ticket to hell.

omg!!!!! am disappointed! how can someone write this up to support what God doesn't support?
Linda, pls run for your life!!!!!

God bless you lady. Just because I'm not gay doesn't make me see others as lesser humans and they don't deserve to be sent to jail or criminalised because they haven't hurt anybody, unlike pedophiles, rapists, murderers, armed robbers and the list goes on......... Just Saying

Nice write up

It is true but our religion is against it,Furnication n adultery is also a sin but d purnishment of gay n lesbianism can affect d whole nation while fornication n adultery affect only dose who commit it.is beter we learn frm other pple mistake,Since I was born I ve not heard of earthquake etc in Nigeria,just last year we experience flood n it was not funny.Weda dey are crteated like dat or not let us live dat for God to judge but not to give dem room to practice it openenly.May God fgive us our since n continue to guid us.Ameen.

Great artistry from a great budding African writer and it does make good brain.#alaate#

Nice 1.

Neeqilata said...

Beautiful write up. I totally agree.

Just lost all my african respect for you Chimmy...no lelee...maybe you go pick one fine geh dey date dis one wey dem never link you with any guy for your life at age 35.

I believe in all she said esp d sentence, live and let's live. Good for nothing nigerian law makers.

green pasture bale said...

In as much as ur write up is beautiful it can Never change the fact that homosexuality is a sin before God & humanity morally wrong bad precedent in fact u can win another award for this write up but guys will never have there way in our society•hand written of satan•

Totall crap. "We dnt knw why but sochukwuma is still a nigerian". Well go find out why. Looting has no victim but d system just as gay. Bribery too so let's accept all those misorders. Please wake up and let's stop speaking english. Every single religion or culture opposes gay. Its just an order of the evil forces of d world and will not stand as long as good men speak.

She is absolutely right, being gay is a sin, but not a crime, so should not be criminalised, let God be the judge, and not humans, we should all live together in peace as one, the ant-gay law should be repealed, how can we pass a 14yrs jail term for people who are not harmful to the society, who are friendly, but are different from us by their sexuality, being gay is a sin, just like adultery, fornication, stealing, idolatry, drunkiness, etc should we now criminalise everything that's considered a sin in the sight of God? No!

So same sex is a sin, but not a crime, the only law that should be passed is that, legal marriage between same sex will not be passed into law in Nigeria, but gays should have their freedom to life and expression of sexuality Its time we protest against this anti-gay law.

THE ANT-GAY LAW SHOULD BE REPEALED

This is madness

Lady JM said...

Nice one,but there were some hiccups here and there,but it was a great write up!

yimmie said...

I quite agree with the write-up.
Very Intelligent write-up.

Being real said...

Thrash!! And to think I once respected her... Mshewwwwwwwwww... If ur parents were homo or gay we for know you.

One of d few privileged Nigerians who have been "Americanized."
This is how living abroad can easily change people's mentality, and they completely lose their moral rectitude and core values.
It's about our future as a people(procreation), it's about our culture as Nigerians and it's about our religions (God condemns it and it even made Him destroy Soddom and Gomorrah).
I bet those Americans have bought u bcos they believe u r popular with Nigerians but trust me, even a million piece of these articles can't change that law bcos that's what Nigerians want.
Advice: Madam Amanda, stay in your America and don't ever bother coming home if u don't like d law, period....So-Nature

We don't want them infutriating our society. Is it not simple to understand? We don't want their PDA. How can one explain this abnormalilty to our children n the one yet unborn. The law has come to stay PERIOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

In what capacity does nigerian gov have to discuss, debate yet alone pass law on gay rights we have more pressing issues in d country. I support gay people dey have a right to be here like every one else, dey are wonderful people mean while we have pedophils n child marrige going on among d so called law makers. Makingg mockery of d government.

Am still not in support! Even the biblical part was not explained because it is fully against it. Gay is bullshit

Lovely,well written.I wish our leaders could use their brains as well as adichie uses hers.

Abiola said...

I appreciate her effort in putting up this lengthy epistle but I think I have questions to ask her. I would state that my argument against homosexuality is not at all from a religious point of view. If I may ask, are people born gay ? The story of Sochukwuma as said her the author did not indicate that Sochukwuma is a gay. Having a feminine body or behaving in a feminine way does not transcend into being gay. Being gay and having a feminine look are 2 different things. She made mention of homosexuality as a crime or not, as she explains what a crime is. I think there is need to put her on some little mathematics and before I do that , there should be an answer to your question. Yes, homosexuality is a crime against the future of thr society. As much as I know , 10 gay couples will probably eliminate 20 children (the future of the society), even though she wrote that gays in Nigeria are yet to ask for same-sex marriage. But I must state that, one of the best gift of a man is to see far beyond his nose. A yoruba adage says 'you cut the branches of an iroko tree in its prime lets it becomes too gigantic for you to handle in future. We won't wait till they ask for marriage before we pass a law against such act. Save the future, homosexuality is a NO NO NO.

Wow...Chimamanda killd it wit dis Write-Up!! I so Much Luv her and Funmi iyanda...Felt like cryin she did Justice 2 dis Write up!!! God Bless dem bth #LiveandLetlive#

Oby said...

That's my girl! I never supported this law and will never do! I'm not gay but being gay has no criminality in nature! Period! The law should be repealed. Thank you Chimamanda.

green pasture bale said...

In as much as ur write up is beautiful it can Never change the fact that homosexuality is a sin before God & humanity morally wrong bad precedent in fact u can win another award for this write up but guys will never have there way in our society•hand written of satan•

She hasn't said anything we don't already know, but she has said it in a way that we can't help but pay attention. It's all facts. Thanks Chimamanda for that because a lotta myopic minded Nigerians needs that simple but eloquent read up to get them thinking right.
Of cos some ignorant peanut sized brained individuals here will call her all sorts of names cos they're beyond reasoning and assimilating on their own. Think people, think.
Tri.

Nice arguement, something to think about.

Nice one....let's think.its not that hard

Story Time with aunty Ngozi

GBAM!

Spot on.

It's nice to see that she is not one of those 'celebrities' who has suppressed their voice in order to foster their relationship with the govt.

God bless the truth.

I don't understand myself.why I feel this way.most times I WISH I was never born.

GOD BLESS YOU GIRL. I DON'T UNDERSTAND FOR NIGERIANS O. REMEMBER TOO MOST GAY MEN ARE NOT EVEN FEMININE.

Very talented in poetry. Amanda you sound convincing though but use this your talent positively. Just call a spade a 'spade' And Linda you better not be a Lesbian oo cos you're too useful and important to just waste like that bikokwa!

Efdee... said...

Well my dear Chimamanda, Live and Let Live, Majority always win, If over 95% of Nigerians support the anti-gay bill then, You should know the GAY act does not go down well with Nigerians. So let us live it at that... Its Against God who created you and its disgusting to see a man on another man. This people commenting with Anonymous... smh for u lol...

Nice one....let's think.its not that hard

She is a great writer.The beginning alone can make the start of a great novel.some people r really good at what they do.nne welldone!!!!

She is so right....

blog troll said...

Chimamanda I love u! Can't understand the backwardness of Nigerians either! U've said it all. Of course people will insult u cos they just can't get out of the darkness. Live n let live!

Chimamanda you have officially and unofficially lost one big fan of yours. Pls fukc off. You are the biggest fool I have ever seen. I pity ur generation bcuz what you wish, will come ur way fukcer

OMG she just described my teenage yrs in a few lines.I AM SOCHUKWUMA 'ONLY GOD KNOWS'ths by far d best article on d antigay tin

Strong one.. Having a deep breath!!

bherttiewealth said...

i do not particularly support gay but for how long would one arrest and bully them. truth is, would the government separate them in the prison wards or would they still be kept there together and continue practicing it. best thing is the arrest wouldn't work but rather it shouldn't be done or seen in public because everyone has to give an account of their lives by themselves and not by the government.great work chimamanda i hope to be a good write someday.

So gays have employed this one to write for them too bceause she is a good writer abi?? The next time we see you in Nigeria, it will be 10yrs in prisonment for you so you can write ur epistle from there, nonesense chic. I thought she has sense before.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 1162   Newer› Newest»