"Sacking of Sanusi against the law" - Abike Dabiri-Erewa reacts | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 20 February 2014

"Sacking of Sanusi against the law" - Abike Dabiri-Erewa reacts

House of Reps member and chairman of the House Committee on Diaspora Affairs, Abike Dabiri Erewa, has reacted to Sanusi's sack on Twitter. She says it's irrational and against the law. Is it really against the law?

153 comments:

Oya law students or lawyers answer linda .

If sacked solely by GEJ, then it's definately against the law.

@BOBO_EDO said...

I give this heat one week!!! It will calm down.....

@Bobo_Edo

Oya Reno Omokri come and write ya usual one eyed epistles.... Abeg see wahala here

Nigerian keeping up with the kardashians, scandal and drama everyday,Who do this rubbish politicians think they are, you people are there to work not to be creating unnecessary scandal, rubbish people.

All this APC house of rep members can say anything to get media attention! Which one is againt the law again? The office of the president appoints the CBN govt and reserves the right to fire him. Though in this case the guy was suspended mumu!

GO AND SIT DOWN MADAM...

Abeg all these people should go and boil rice. Sack who u want to sack it wont affect LIB readers

GEJ is Jst a Mistake to Nigeria....his Actions r always Wrong!! Misplaced Priorities!!!Shame

very ugly lady and knows nothing about law nor senate

Atobatele said...

Yes Linda it is totally wrong and against the law. President needs two third of the senate to concur before a CBN governor can be impeached. Oga Jona can't just wake up and ask the CBN governor to step aside. It's totally wrong. As for Sanusi, this is a clear lesson not to bite the finger that fed you. No doubt this is pure politics......If I may ask, Is any of them better? My answer would be NO....They're all the same. We need revolution in this country.

@anonymous 3:00pm,you're a thief and I caught you,must you steal the way someone else's comment's on LIB.u think I won't notice.

Akin said...

Yes Linda... It is against the law. CBN Governor cannot be sacked without two thirds approval by the Senate. GEJ will argue that he suspended him but by naming his successor, it amounts to a sack. This decision holds no water in a court of law.

Let me ask Thomas Hobbes< notable political author.

Who the hell is a bike dabiri. She should take a seat abeg. Irrelevant journalist like her.

1 week and everybody goes home happy

Mab said...

aBIKE CALM DOWN NOTHING IS GOING TO HAPPEN, DNT KNW IF U HAVE FORGOTTEN YOU ARE IN NIGERIA, SANUSI SHLD GV WAY FOR ANOTHER PERSON PROBABLY THE NAIRA WLD HAVE A LITTLE VALUE.

Immaculate said...

It is not against the law madam abike, please sinusi should go home, he has done more harm than good, period!

That is how they will all shout at the end nothing will be done,na their problem abeg

The president can't sack the cbn governor without senate approval , i guess that's why he was suspended. Madam should know there's a big difference... of course a replacement can be named because even before the suspension, his term is almost up. so Sarah Alade acts during suspension, and Emefiele takes over upon the expiration of his tenure

See dis person ooo...shey na quiz or debate we they do here ni....no long story it is not against the law....moreover nobody is also above the law including Mr president....Wat ha§ being done ha§ been done...so wat is the bragging about...he ha§ been sacked anð replace finish....if get work to do then mind u® own bizness

Pastor caught with another man’s wife in Hotel room
Here

Ashawo caught servicing her Customer in Public
Here

SEE what this guy and his girlfriend are doing
Here

OMG! Girl opens beer with her breast
Here

Mama Please Teach Him Abeg!! He's In Tension!!

..[EMI O TUSH OH]
.JUST
[Mischevious And Naughty]
>>My Comment Moderation Disabled<<

She should go and have several seat. Senate rubbish people, what good have they achieved as sanators of federal rebulic of Nigeria?
No one can have enemie in his cabinet, not even me and I bet no one does.
Who made the law pls, has the north and the senate ever obeys the law.
Jona should have sacked sanusi since even,he the sponsor of boko haram paiting his goverment bad.

Pure rubbish she is ranting.

Its illegal and lubriuscous. How can d president involve in such ascorbic behaviour? Sacking a cbn gov is a quantum abysmal parsia and calls 4 urgent corisa of d lacuna.

The guy was suspend not sacked

All this one na story. Abeg he should go and rest

Abike Dabir - Erewa, can you please explain in details.
TheOjukwu - Just Questioning.

Madam let's leave GEJ with his one way of govern. We ve already starting count down for Him. Its can't beyond 2015 for sure. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

No comments.. Only cute babes shud add me pls... 238C2743 :) *winks*

Thanks jare aunty abike god bless u

Rantings of the APC, Sanusi is the only spy in the cabinet. He just had to be thrown out.

Nw attention is been put into this, forgetting that boko haram just killed hundred of souls just last week......

Yes, the governor of the central bank can be only be approved and dismissed if two third of the senate votes on either. But technically the president didn't terminate his position, he was "suspended", so "technically" he hasn't broken any laws, but you all know how Nigerian politics works

Lydia abi wetin be u name u no sabi anyting go and sit dawn jor

I am a law student fully in support of abike dabiri y wuld he do a tin like dt wifout approv al d law gives no presidential sit approval to take decisions like dis alone .....I object to his move

Yes it's against the law

Nice top, Ma.

Na still una go say Jonah no get "moral"...now una dey complain....

It could be against d law as she said, cos dats d importance of house n senate , dats y dey re there for d first place.

Thanks jare aunty abike god bless u

Na Wa O

Jonah don talk, so make everybody go slp...... Tough issues are on ground already and they are still stressing on this particular one..... Nansance... (not nonsense)

Willadebo said...

So you all didn't know that the appointment and dismissal of the post of CBN Governor is the job of the Senate. By legislation, it takes 2/3 of the Senate to sack one from that post. It isn't a Ministerial appointment and GEJ either knows this but decided to play tyranny or he was ill-adviced by his Cassava-Cabinet considering his ever-advancing cluelessness.

A President that sacked an official for leaking several cases of fraud indicting members of his cabinet while protecting the actual criminals.

A President that doesn't even know the rule of Law nor has any regard for the Regulations, his position, the country and the people he was elected to lead.

Nigeria, you deserve the leaders you get!!!

Am sure d last has not been heard of this story. We are waiting. Hope Mr. President will come outof this victorious?

jude iyke said...

Yh, very true, it's against The law

My goverment are just.................

breal said...

Nawa o! The people in power are so confused. Sanusi is reacting to his 'SUSPENSION' while madam dabiri is reacting to his 'SACK'. if this 'sack/suspension' ish! Go make money flow 4 economy, abeg oga sanusi go sidon joor

Very illegal. Just like the appointment, the removal of a CBN Governor requires the support of at least two-thirds of the members of the Senate.

Who's this woman???

Lols...the law that appoints u has removed u!

Professional jobseeker said...

The koko now is that will the rule of law prevail against Mr President's irrational decision??

This is a movie i will watch to see:
Staring:
GEJ
FAT SENATORS!
SANUSI THE BOW TIE WEARER
AND OTHER STAR CORRUPT OFFICIALS

*rushes out to buy popcorn

SIGN UP TO GET INFO ABOUT JOBS DAILY. OVER 226,000 JOBS AIN'T A JOKE. SIGN UP NOW!!!

It is very unfortunate that our president is not properly guided in this issue. If u suspend a CBN governor, u are not suppose to send in a replacement immediately. For me, that is unconstitutional.

Shallow brain

That serves Sanusi Right?

Even if Jonathan is hiding something, He should atleast watch his mouth.

He is to proud, too bragadocious for my liking.

at least let him be humbled a little.

According to the law if he was fired then GEJ broke the law...but he was suspended...which isn't against the law so Mr president still is on point...

Now did u all know that...His grandfather, Muhammed Sanusi who became Emir of Kano in 1953 was deposed in 1963 for profligacy, brazen violation of emirate financial regulations and fiscal policies. He was found guilty of theft and was deposed. That same arrogant, reckless, vocal thuggery blood runs in all of them...

Nothing remains the same - Drake

@otoonbaflonii

Wat iz wrong wifsm peepz av ya'al forgotn dt jonaa wields veto powers to do and undo,like he'z d C n C fo chrissakes..bsidez diz lamido dat iz alwaiz formin like he'z d onl 1 dat wnt 2skool..Plz he shud go jooooor..we nid chnge in @d CBN..GEJ 1ce again u'v dun a gr8 tin..

Since d NNPC scandal I knw d man iz nt safe 4rm iz office.linda if u like chop ma comment.

Yvonne said...

Section 11(2)(f) of the CBN Act states: “A person shall not remain a Governor, Deputy Governor or Director of the Bank if he is removed by the President: Provided that the removal of the Governor shall be supported by two-thirds majority of the Senate praying that he be so removed.” If we respect the law as Nigerians and if he does as a president, we/he will realise that without the approval of 2/3 majority of the senate, it is against the law of the Federal Republic of Nigeria to fire the CBN governor.

I totally support Abike. You guys commenting for Abike to shut up have no idea what sacking Sanusi means to the Country. If you don't know, let me break it down. First is a big embarrassment for the country to outside world and it will make Naira to fall. How can you sack a whole CBN Governor that was on official assignment outside the country? The foreign investors will now be afraid to come and invest their Money in the country because of the government instability. Honestly, Sanusi might not be a innocent too but it doesn't matter. This will just confirm someone of the fears I'd foreign investor about Nigeria being a joke government country. We might be a country with a lot of potentials but who cares when there is too much corruption and instability. They should have waited for him to come back from the official assignment before the stupid suspension was given to him. By the way, I'm not sure but I believe is against the law for a president to single handed suspend which means sack the CBN Governor afterall he didn't choose him alone without being confirmed with the house assembly and house of Rep.

Since d NNPC scandal,I knw d Man position iz shakin

Since Abike is one of the law makers, I think she should be right and salute her boldness. though mallam says he wouldn't go back to d job. Betty

BOOTYLICIOUS said...

morons all of them... abike dabiri may be saying the truth but she looks like a stuffed turkey sigh...

AnnMarie said...

Its not legal but we are in naija where anything is possible

tahtah said...

1 week is too much sef.

The penny finally drops..this blog is a blog for intellectually retarded and moronic people. just read the comments that is posted by the mist dim witted set of people in the country.Don't even go near their grammer and spelling. My word!!!!

tahtah said...

Hhahahahhaha u need a slap, a serious 1 sef. Better go n hide in shame.

Swaggs isimemen said...

@ admiral sharrap were u re u re a fool idiot ole thief, I support sanusi he should sue GEJ 2 court he have d right GEJ is a thief, I support sanusi, many idiot here re talking nonsense u people re talking rubbish here do u no dat d money dat has been missing it was sanusi dat blow d alarm? U people re just in nigeria talking nonsense hear & there useless people ...

While stating reasons and manners in which the CBN Governor is to be removed from office, Section 11(2f) of the CBN Act 2007, says:

“The Governor, Deputy Governor or Director shall cease to hold office in the Bank if he: (a) becomes of unsound mind or, owing to ill health, is incapable of carrying out his duties; (b) is convicted of any criminal offence by a court of competent jurisdiction except for traffic offences or contempt proceedings arising in connection with the execution or intended execution of any power or duty conferred under this Act or the Banks and Other Financial Institutions Act; (c) is guilty of a serious misconduct in relation to his duties under this Act; (d) is disqualified or suspended from practicing his profession in Nigeria by order of a competent authority made in respect of him personally; (e) becomes bankrupt; (f) is removed by the President: Provided that the removal of the Governor shall be supported by two-thirds majority of the Senate praying that he be so removed.”

FAMMIE said...

Where the lawyers, oya, make una come...

Gadgets will soon be powered by batteries that run on sugar

first is there any law in this country?

You get brain so!

Swaggs isimemen said...

@anon sharrap becos u re dumb u don't no anything shot ur mouth up u re d one dat is mumu, @admiral sharrap were u re u re a fool idiot ole thief, I support sanusi he should sue GEJ 2 court he have d right GEJ is a thief, I support sanusi, many idiot here re talking nonsense u people re talking rubbish here do u no dat d money dat has been missing it was sanusi dat blow d alarm? U people re just in nigeria talking nonsense hear & there useless people ...

Hey this school dropout, go back to school! How can you help build a society with a brain like this?

Well...he is no above the law......but Mrs Dabiri-Erewa is right. Obientin

Dis our so called government are sure heading for a revolution if care is not taking, for God's sake dis country belongs to all of us and nt GEJ

Majority of the comments on this issue are insensitive. Only a few people have commented wit sense, the rest of u, have no thots for the future and this goes on to show that Nigerians are thee problem not Nigeria.

TBELLZ said...

Our dear president is fast building a reputation for not keeping in strict adherence and conformity with laid down legal procedures for taking certain actions. The position of the law is that the CBN governor can be removed by 2/3 majority of the senate and the president is not solely empowered by law to do so out of his own volition. I must however admit that he seems to have received some smart advise from his psychopatic team because the removal was neither termed as dismissal nor termination,but as suspension. He has already apponted a successor, albeit in an acting capacity,so what he intends to do is to have the sucessor serve as governor in an acting capacity until June,when the original tenure of Sanusi Lamido is supposed to end by effluxion of time. By so doing,he would have succeded in ousting him out of office in the name of suspension without the necesssity of 2/3 majority of the senate. He would then seek to confrm the appointment of the acting governor. Politicking

Jonathan no act!' He is clueless and liverless' He acts ' He is a tyran' which way Naija. Too many confusionist everywhere. Internet has made a lot of local champions national bigots. I dey laugh in OBJ voice

LET HER GO AND SIT DOWN
CBN Act 2007 which defines the tenure, appointment and removal of the CBN governor.
section (c) stipulates, that, if he is guilty of a serious misconduct in relation to his duties under this Act.
what has he not done wrong? He used his office to employ his girl friend, he opened his mouth to lie only to rescind it on a major national issue; he made use of our money as if it were his personal money.....
he deserved the sack....
NONSENSE. WHO IS HE?
EWU

Law student? Please give me break. Do yourself a favour, stop abbreviating stupidly or else you'd fry your brain. Very soon you'd be struggling to even spell your own name.

SEE YOU ALWAYS TALKING PLZ GO AND SIT DOWN MADAM JO.

BEFORE,the whole dramă is going to lăst least two weeks

vroomangel said...

Sanusi Lamido was more of a politician than a banker..

He almost converted The CBN to charity donor agency , some
of the questionable donations to include N4 billion to Bayero University,Kano; N10 billion to Uthman Dan Fodio University,Sokoto; N500 million to the University of Benin,
Benin;and N100 million to the Kano State Government.while the Bayero University Kano ( BUK)was said to have collected N4billion, the school authorities
claimed it got only N1billion.

How are d mighty fallen?

i still think the President has the right to sack him if he perceive his actions are not in the interest of the Nation..that was exactly what the president gave as the reason for his suspension..let the custodian of the law come up with the interpretation of the law regarding the contentious issue...i rest my case

Chineke meeee!!!choi...bisma tins....lol

No be una carry power vest yakata for presidency?! Wey make am presido fit do anyhow and u no fit question am!!! We wey know, know say na grudge fest be this, but wetin we fit do? No like to say if we comot to protest e go change anything!

Which against the law? The level of injustice that took place in the CBN because of this man... High time he left!!!

Swaggs isimemen said...

@Anon 3:01 shot up ur mouth idiot like u fool thief ole u re d one dat is mumu wake-up, @ admiral sharrap were u re u re a fool idiot ole thief, is against d law GEJ don't hv d right 2 sack sanusi. Without sinate house & house of reps, I support sanusi he should sue GEJ 2 court he have d right GEJ is a thief, I support sanusi, many idiot here re talking nonsense u people re talking rubbish here do u no dat d money dat has been missing it was sanusi dat raise d alarm? U people re just in nigeria talking nonsense hear & there useless people ...

This is utter rubbish....sanusi has caused more harm dan good...but this aint d crux of d matter...pple r dying...bokoharam is just slicing pple up...and all we hear is GEJ giving 50million heRe or doing dat...r dey stupid dere?...or they have sold deir souls to d devil...its nt right...Its just veRy wrong...

What do u know abt d law? The reps member does not kno d law! The law allow in dis case, the CBN act allows Mr president to throw Sanusi out then seek ratification by d senate!

His action ain't wrong! U jst don't understand the workings of the law!

She definitely jst made a fool of her self cos she sure knows nothing about the law!!

Shut up read the CBN act again! Maybe u will understand

if you like make u go world court na 0/100 u go take

Not without two thirds of the senates approval, he cannot not solely sack or fire lamido. That said, to suspend someone is not the same as sacking or firing. GEJ just had a play on words with sanusi and Nigeria, and numb skulls like you cant see the difference. But when it comes to chika ike, davido, wizkid baby mama, you guys are quick to make comments. It can be" inferred" that suspension is equal to sacking or firing, but they are not the same technically, although, the end result is the same- you cannot work in full or partial capacity until your case is reviewed and reconsidered. In this case, he is on suspension until further notice, which by my inference will last until sanusi's end of term in June, in which case, it can be said no law was broken. He was only suspended, it just so happens that his suspension lasted until June when his tenure as CBN governor will be over. I will tell Nigerians, this is the oldest trick in the book and anyone that thinks Jonathan is stupid had better rethink, he will outsmart you in every capacity, both good and bad. Nigerians better put their thinking cap on and focus.

"We need revolution in this country" guy make thunder guide u 4 me... I wish all 9ja youtjs cud thibk like u..tis time we. Started killin dis numb-fuck polotician.. M talkin about mob attack and leachin dis phuckers

TBELLZ said...

Emmmmmm, Atobatele,impeachment is not the right term to use here contextually. This is because the office of the CBN goverrnor is by appointment and not by election.

English in high definition.lols

rose shasha said...

I support GEJ

rose shasha said...

I support GEJ

Thats a good point. His successor however has to get the vote of the senate. If its anything like the NCAA DG after Demuren was fired, we know this could conveniently take a long time, perhaps until June when Sanusi's tenure as CBN governor will be over in which case, its a case of no harm done, Just an over zealous President. There is no law or crime against an over zealous president.

TBELLZ said...

Hmmmm, naming his sucessor doesn't convert it to sack. GEJ and his cohorts could argue (and rightly) so,that the successor is not a successor properly so called but someone serving in an acting capacity. Remember there shouldn't be a lacuna in office,as it can't be left vacant. Such a position can be convincingly argued in court. That was why I initially said he acted smartly by terming it as 'suspension' cos he would ensure that his successor acts as governor till the end of Sanusi's tenure which is in just a few months. We seem to have forgotten so soon,what he did to ribadu and Justice salami. One was termed as training and the other as suspension and successors were immediately appointed in both instances.Its all dirty politics.

TBELLZ said...

Emmmmmm, Atobatele,impeachment is not the right term to use here contextually. This is because the office of the CBN goverrnor is by appointment and not by election.

Yu we are building it with a brain like yours.

Like you can contribute better. Mind you guys sanusi is suspended.

Huh? Like seriously? U think u make sense @ all? Irredeemable dunce

TBELLZ said...

Our dear president is fast building a reputation for not keeping in strict adherence and conformity with laid down legal procedures for taking certain actions. The position of the law is that the CBN governor can be removed by 2/3 majority of the senate and the president is not solely empowered by law to do so out of his own volition. I must however admit that he seems to have received some smart advise from his psychopatic team because the removal was neither termed as dismissal nor termination,but as suspension. He has already apponted a successor, albeit in an acting capacity,so what he intends to do is to have the sucessor serve as governor in an acting capacity until June,when the original tenure of Sanusi Lamido is supposed to end by effluxion of time. By so doing,he would have succeded in ousting him out of office in the name of suspension without the necesssity of 2/3 majority of the senate. He would then seek to confrm the appointment of the acting governor. Politicking

Hahahaha.... ds Linda na real olodo

hrm paul ojeih said...

Linda old news the senate and the house of rep cant do jack Gej has already appointed zenith bank MD as the new chief of CBN

nkgurl said...

@tbells,very detailed explanation. U made me understand it perfectly. Thanks. I love ur choice of words by the way

EZUGO said...

Mr tbellz are u a lawyer? But this ur grammar no be here o. I never Chop bellefull and na person wey don chop money wey them remove make I dey waste my time on? Boko haram people

We speak with both sides of our mouth. The facts are clear on the appointment and removal of the CBN governor. He can only be appointed by the president and his removal will be by the president but supported by 2/3 majority of the Senate. However he also stands removed upon gross misconduct and other financial misconduct howbeit with an indictment from a competent Authority i.e court or investigative panel etc, hence his suspension upon conclusion of investigation is not only appropriate but the right thing in this circumstance. And since the office cannot be left in a vacuum there must be someone in acting capacity. For the forwarding of name for replacement it is also appropriate since no time frame is stipulated for anyone to go for screening in as much as he wldnt take office until all matters a trashed out. So what's all the noise about his suspension let him face the panel and if indicted shld face the full wrath of the law.

nkgurl said...

@tbells,very detailed explanation. U made me understand it perfectly. Thanks. I love ur choice of words by the way

I agree with u tbellz. Nice.

jonathan has murdered sleep

Aby said...

Na them sabi ooo. The behaviour of all the people in the realm of power can never cease from been appalling

I am happy they sacked him.

WHAT THE PRESIDENT HAS DONE IS ULTRA VIRES AND NULL AND VOID. SANUSI SHOULD STAY PUT AND LET JONATHAN GO TO COURT TO SEE IF HIS POSITION IS CORRECT.

ANYA IKENGA said...

All these foreign based commentators please come home. sanusi is not of a sound mind. He can not come up with 3 different figures of missing money under 2months and donate 1billion to opposition party and still retain his job. Do u think GEJ did not do his ground work politically before showin the magalomaniac called Sanusi the door?

JUST OBSERVING...
Section 11 of the CBN Act, especially Section 11(2)(c)?

. Disqualification and cessation of appointment.

(1) A person shall not remain a Governor, Deputy Governor or Director of the Bank if he is-

(a) a member of any Federal or State legislative house; or

(b) a Director, officer or employee of any bank licensed under the Banks and Other Financial Institutions Act.

(2) The Governor, Deputy Governor or Director shall cease to hold office in the Bank if he-

(a) becomes of unsound mind or, owing to ill-health, is incapable of carrying out his duties;

(b) is convicted of any criminal offence by a court of competent jurisdiction except for traffic offences or contempt proceedings arising in connection with the execution or intended execution of any power or duty conferred under this Act or the Banks and Other Financial Institutions Act;

(c) is guilty of a serious misconduct in relation to his duties under this Act ;

(d) is disqualified or suspended from practising his profession in Nigeria by order of a competent authority made in respect of him personally;

(e) becomes bankrupt;

(f) is removed by the President:

Provided that the removal of the Governor shall be supported by two-thirds majority of the Senate praying that he be so removed.

(3) The Governor or any Deputy Governor may resign his Office by giving at least three months’ notice in writing to the President of his intention to do so and any Director may similarly resign by giving at least one months’ notice in writing to the President of his intention to do so.

(4) If the Governor, any Deputy Governor or Director of the Bank dies, resigns or otherwise vacates his Office before the expiry of the term for which he has been appointed, there shall be appointed a fit and proper person to take his place on the Board for the unexpired period of the term of appointment in the first instance if the vacancy is that of-

(a) the Governor or a Deputy Governor, the appointment shall be made in the manner prescribed by section 8 (1) and (2) of this Act; and

(b) any Director, the appointment shall be made in the manner prescribed by section 10 (1) and (2) of this Act.

No,you are the one making a fool of yourself.he cannot single handedly sack him without the backing of the senate in a proper democratic situation.we however know our leaders only practice verbal democracy without actualizing it.

Thank you tebelz.you know in Nigeria we just like to yak

Linda the Section 11 of the CBN Act, especially Section 11(2)(c) says:

Disqualification and cessation of appointment.

(1) A person shall not remain a Governor, Deputy Governor or Director of the Bank if he is-

(a) a member of any Federal or State legislative house; or

(b) a Director, officer or employee of any bank licensed under the Banks and Other Financial Institutions Act.

(2) The Governor, Deputy Governor or Director shall cease to hold office in the Bank if he-

(a) becomes of unsound mind or, owing to ill-health, is incapable of carrying out his duties;

(b) is convicted of any criminal offence by a court of competent jurisdiction except for traffic offences or contempt proceedings arising in connection with the execution or intended execution of any power or duty conferred under this Act or the Banks and Other Financial Institutions Act;

(c) is guilty of a serious misconduct in relation to his duties under this Act ;

(d) is disqualified or suspended from practising his profession in Nigeria by order of a competent authority made in respect of him personally;

(e) becomes bankrupt;

(f) is removed by the President:

Provided that the removal of the Governor shall be supported by two-thirds majority of the Senate praying that he be so removed.

(3) The Governor or any Deputy Governor may resign his Office by giving at least three months’ notice in writing to the President of his intention to do so and any Director may similarly resign by giving at least one months’ notice in writing to the President of his intention to do so.

(4) If the Governor, any Deputy Governor or Director of the Bank dies, resigns or otherwise vacates his Office before the expiry of the term for which he has been appointed, there shall be appointed a fit and proper person to take his place on the Board for the unexpired period of the term of appointment in the first instance if the vacancy is that of-

(a) the Governor or a Deputy Governor, the appointment shall be made in the manner prescribed by section 8 (1) and (2) of this Act; and

(b) any Director, the appointment shall be made in the manner prescribed by section 10 (1) and (2) of this Act.

Nice one TBeelz. You make sense die. Very logical. But @4:14 may also have a point about the CBN Act.

He can maje a recommendation but senate needs to vote in and approve his appointment before he can serve in fulk capacity. Listen HRM, there is this thing called democracy, and rule of law. Its there for people to follow it, including the president. Your comment here is false reasoning.

Law student? Please give me break. Do yourself a favour, stop abbreviating stupidly or else you'd fry your brain. Very soon you'd be struggling to even spell your own name.

Initial grgra...

@Tbeelz i'll say no more thanks for your intelligent response.

The truth is that Sanusi is about to uncover a scam ( missing NNPC $20 billion)which I think the president himself is a culprit in the matter...JONATHAN IS A VERY CORRUPT MAN. How come fuel subsidy payment of about N600 billion by Yaradua suddenly jumped to N1.4 trillion within 2 yrs of Jonathan's tenure.What could have happened? Did the volume of fuel consumption suddenly increase within 2 yrs?? Hmmmm...the excess I tell you is channeled somewhere...Nigerian youth arise lets overthrow this corrupt politicians killing these nation....These people are not up to 1500 people ooo, holding the remaning over 150 million people to ransome....Lets unite and do something!!!!Aluta Continua Victoria Aceta...

Abike I beg go siddon this nor be time for wearing gold. Brainless woman did the president seek permission from ur useless house before he employed the talkative ? Sanusi should just Suzuki off to Kano. Bye bye.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Sanusi was not sacked.
He was suspended...

Igor said...

He was not sacked,he was only suspended after the Presidency must have discovered financial improprities committed by Lamido.Emefiele's appointment will take effect when Sanusi's tenure expires later in the year.

AGB said...

IT'S TOTALLY AGAINST THE LAW! Then again, do Nigerians know anything about the provisions of their law. NO!

The word is suspend and not sack. There is a big difference between the two and Honourable Abike,the president cannot sack Sanusi but can suspend him to give way for proper investigation into issues bordering on misapprociation of funds at the CBN that he heads. That all. A simple procedure. He will be re-called if he is cleared of any wrong doing after the completion of the investigation

Dirty game! That's Politics! God should deliver us, that's all we need.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Quite Dabiri...
Which law says a grossly earring CBN governor cannot be suspended from office?
There is no law anywhere in the world that says the tenure of a public officer of whatever name or designation enjoys absolute security..
O! his suspension is unlawful because he has been using his office to fund APC, which he recently enriched to the tune of N1 billion, from public coffers for that matter?
Never seen a CBN governor that politicized and desecrated that hallowed office like Sanusi did....
GOOD RIDDANCE TO BAD RUBBISH!!!!

actually the president has the right to suspend whoever he isnt pleased with. he cant sack him thats all and he has arranged it in a way that Sanusi isn't going to come back so good riddance. i dont like Jonathan neither do i like Sanusi so i am not intrigued by the news.
please check out my blog www.healthcoliseum.com

That's her boy friend,I guess.

EZUGO u b mumu ooo na ur papa b boko haram

Charmie said...

Ooh she stil exists? She is lookin all swollen! madam Abike it's Suspension not Sack pls pay attention to details that position is more serious it's not NTA ndo.

According to the CBN Act of 2007, the removal of the CBN governor by the President is only valid and legal if supported by two-thirds of the Senate.

They are thieves ripping dis country. Nemesis awaits all of them. Very Good

TBELLZ said...

@anons 4.14 and 6.01, there is no such provision in the CBN Act

Abike go and sit down and cover your face.You have lost you credibility ever since you verge into politics.How has you helped Nigeria citizens in the diaspora? Take for an example here in china and you have the gut to challenge GEJ.Your non response to come to our rescue here is because itz predominately lbos.GEJ is doing what we think that is good for the betterment of all Nigerians

Forget the Nigerian problem and join millions of Nigerian making fast money on this link http://ReferralRound.com/?refer=20910 from the comfort of their homes

The president has no right to remove him from his post, by sack or suspension,shikena!

Oh so sanusi gave out one billion naira to opposition party to support their campaign and you expect Jonathan to leave him on the seat abi. Until he empty cbn vault to them before we can now clap for him. Jonathan did the right thing. This man is enemy to the ruling party. Sanusi enter keke marwa to Kano bloody traitor.

What is against the Law Abike Dabiri? you being in the house and sharing money is it not against the law?Have you actually being taking note of CBN unguarded statements since he was appointed? Did you remembered all his comments during the 5K issues cos of his selfish gain? Talking as if Nigerians have no say in the affairs that concerns them? Have being listening to his public lectures, is he not meant to be a public servant than politician? have you seen and access his worth before he became the Governor and now? Don,t you see the ways and manners he spends public money? Have you forgotten this same CBN governor has shown that he is above the law, even when he wore his chieftain dress to office? In fact I think the president is too soft that people EVEN you Abike can as well talk to him.How long have you being in the house? Are you the only candidate from Ikorodu? For Nigeria to move forward they should stop attaching every reasonable moves to politics .