Zimbabwe's president Robert Mugabe turns 90, says not retiring yet | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 February 2014

Zimbabwe's president Robert Mugabe turns 90, says not retiring yet

Zimbabwe's longest serving president, Robert Mugabe turned 90 today and in his address to his party faithfuls, said he's not ready to vacate the president's seat yet
"When the day comes and I retire, yes, sure, the day will come, but I do not want to leave my party in tatters. I want to leave it intact".
Mugabe has said that he would leave when he is 94years old, that would be in 2018, after completing his current tenure which he was elected for last year.

Mugabe has ruled Zimbabwe for 34 years now since the country gained independence. He is the longest serving President in the whole of Africa and is also the oldest president Africa has ever had.

127 comments:

Make he die there. FOOL

Zenki brown said...

90 nd nt retiring???

HBD to him... My God preserve his soul.

Hated by the international community,but loved by his people.

KOSI said...

what can a nonagenarian's brain pull about himself talk more of his family, talk more of a country. This man will end up turning that sit into a family affair.

BOOTYLICIOUS said...

na the kind action film wey wan happen for naija if them get the power. people like babangida, gej, buhari go like die in power.smh.. they don't want to give the younger generation the chance to prove their mettle

linda tell queen elizabeth same.

Ugo Boss™✅ said...

Hmmm he wan die for dia ....#Africa

In Lindas voice He want s to die there SHAME! They caught them doing it!

y ? pls dn't retire even when u die.

thnk ur stars u dnt av bad belle ppl in ur cabinet like we have here in 9ja,dem go don poison ur life troway

Mtchwwww.... iv never lyked dz man,modern day idi amin

Order for your home delivered party cakes (Abuja) said...

This man rude ooooooo. 90 Years anand he isnt ready to leave?

prettydoll said...

He better don't end up lyk Gaddafi

Seems 2 b really strong nd active den.XTY

mr mugabe
happy birthday sir

=HUMAN BEINGS & POWER! WAT MAKES HIM THINK HE WL LIVE TO 2018? WAT IF GOD TELLS HIM 2MORO, '' UR TYM IS UP'',WILL HE SAY OGA GOD WAIT ABEG 2018 NVA REACH,I STL DEY MY TENURE?

lol........untill he is 94... sounds like some1 who's 2moro is assured!!!!

90years still not plan to retiring? If u don't retire from that office, wat if the office retire u? U need to rest sir, So that u can prepare for the grave. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Hot fist said...

Na wa. He can remain there so long he can make his country get better. But he is just told old to be there.

But its should rem death..... He keep saying till 2018, if he can't Æ ̴̴͡.̮Æ ̴̴͡ dat yr nko!!! N̶̲̥̅̊☺ beef just opinion

~ALATISHE say so~

AnnMarie said...

this man should go and rest. His brain has aged nah, he won't be able to make wise decisions

Hmmm... He doesn't wanna retire? Isn't it stressful for him at his age?

Dats why african don't move,havin all diz old brain we need the younger generation of ruler nat some old fart wanting 2 rule...imagine 34yrs bein a president

Greedy old man, See his nose. Dem suppose poison this man.

Edwin Akwudolu said...

I cant simply figure out why most of this african leaders are this power drunk. Even at the point of death, they still cling onto power
the two major, best and largest sources of blog traffic

Edwin Akwudolu said...

I cant simply figure out why most of this african leaders are this power drunk. Even at the point of death, they still cling onto power
the two major, best and largest sources of blog traffic

He shld resign pls,he's old!

Ahmed Babs said...

Happy birthday. Make he go retire na.Doctor Caught Having Séx With Female Patients Inside His Hospital [PHOTOS]

he wants to die on that seat, typical of African leaaders.

No wonder d country adopted 9 different currencys from different country. He wants to die in power? When will he enjoy d ill gotten wealth. All is vanity

Lmao..... 90 yrs..... This man is just greedy.....
***CURRENTLY IN THE SUN***

miss rollas said...

HBD sir, but pls retire ok? Or r u dat greedy? *Smh*

Immunity until death.

Linda, bring the Janet Jackson story.

Long life and Prosperity ooo! But we youth na im dem say be leaders of tomorrow..

Happy Birthday Sir... Keep living,we love you and your fight against gays .

Tell Elizer to retire before Mugabe

Disgusting....who rules for that long. The nation will remain static.ewww

Aunty linda I don't like posting me gist after comment have made pls

...."When the day comes and I retire, yes, sure, the day will come, but I do not want to leave my party in tatters. I want to leave it intact". Ok oooooo. We re waiting sir. Many happy returns. Cheers. Lolz.

Am so sorry but when I saw his pix I thot it was obituary..not birthday..

He should die there na!!

HBD man #bright bravo#

Happy Birthday but please let the young citizens of d country rule too nah haba.

Galore said...

die dere now

Bonaria or whatever u are called, I guess u are idle for u to comment on every post, I can't help but wonder.even when u don't have any meaningful contribution. I pray linda gives u another 100k to sustain u for next year

IFY NWAJESUS said...

My GOD!may i live long oo

34 yrs of rulership? Are there nobody else? That country is living in bondage
@DIAMOND

Its his birth right!

I love dat nigga#no homo#

let him die dere na

Hahahahaha I no fit shout

If you couldn't put your party intact in 34Years, than you never will. hBD tho

let him die dere na

mz vee said...

If na 4 naija nw dem 4 luk 4 hw 2 pull d guy down #mtcheew#

Which people? You better shut that your 'I too know' mouth.

I dont understand why evil people live longer than good people. So sad

Olori Tolu Alabi said...

Africans and power hehnnn. Good or Bad,he should have retired.

Wildflower said...

Not retiring....Na so o. Atleast he his doing something better in his country isn't it. I pray he last till 2018..May we all witness it Amen

AND HE WILL END UP PUTTING HIS FAMILY MEMBER... NONSENSE

smooshit said...

Na wa o! Its now as if he owns the country

Sit tight syndrome nd power can be so so intoxicating if hiz pple are still enjoyin hiz leadership den no problem but if not let him leave naaa#Gem saiz so#

Humans and selfishness... I knw he must b wondrin abt sitin @ home while anoda man, probably younger rules on him. Mark my words, its only death dat can make him vacate dat seat. *just sayin

May said...

At age 90?! Baba go and rest jor...

Did want he did to the white farmers and his people were not better for it. Which currency is used in Zimbabwe now? I wish he was more productive. He is blessed with physical and mental health.

That's so selfish,what party or country does he wana build n hasn't done in 34 years..

Happy Buffday to the man. He'll die there.
«Teeshow»

African mentality. Why bother resign at 94 when he can even continue till 200. Mk I laff abeg...umu afrika

Is he really loved by his people?

Africans are power greedy he might die there olofo mugabe

Ajose Olasupo said...

Death will retire him soon. let's just wait and watch.

It's amazing how black men always want to hold on to power till death

Bona,loved by his people ke?! Pls Mr mugabe remain till eternity and get the "abacha"treatment

Eesah 26E90A24 said...

That's Zimbabwe's Mandella right there! He's sooo loved by his pple. And @Kosi, he is a nonagenarian, but he's better than most of yr so called younger Nigerian leaders (Jonathan) wid their corrupt and lukewarm ways

"Zimbabwe's longest serving president" is inaccurate as he is the ONLY president Zimbabwe has had. I am a proud Zimbabwean and Happy Birthday to him :)

Can a Nigerian Rule for 38 years?

RObert mugabe Loves Power, HBD

Happy Birthday boss

Sweetest pussy said...

Make e die there na

Bonario its obvious you comment just for the fun of it. Loved by which people? This man that has led his country to abject poverty and hunger? Smh

Omo na die he wan die put for that office. But he is intelligent sha, recall that jibe he made at the queen on Amanpour show some years ago.

ZeeZee said...

HBD - Theres a reason for his reign

I used to love this man until he masturbated verbally shortly after the death of Mandela. When he called Mandela a coward for leaving office.

This man look's like a real chimpanzee…LMAO.

IBK said...

The old bastard....happy birthday sir

Hehehehehehehe, o ga ooo

Jay said...

Who says he is loved by his people?its only those dat gain from him being president dat love him.Mr "president for life",his country is in tatters and he doesn,t want to give someone else d chance to bring change.na wa for people and power.

If he dies not rule for 200 years then he has tried he should rule forever yeye

Swaggs isimemen said...

He need 2 be remove frm dat seat, old wicked man he want 2 rule until he die nonsense mtcheeeew

hismahillz said...

Yepa! Na hin father property? well if his people want him there who am I to complain..

Topebrass said...

Shey U̶̲̥̅̊ knw ao G̶̲̥̅̊O̶̲̥̅̊D̲̅ ̶̥̊ works? U̶̲̥̅̊ will leave wen U̶̲̥̅̊ re 94yrs

sabertooth said...

Linda and kosi, I think the spelling is seat not sit.

sabertooth said...

Linda and kosi, that word is seat not sit.

Stupid man....die there.

adediana said...

These African Presidents never cease to amaze me

Dnt go! Die there. U want to leave ur party intact, wht u dnt achieve for d past 34yrs, u nw wants to do it within 4yrs. Ole! Shey oye ile baba e ni?

*adefunke*

winniekoko said...

What does a ninety year old man still doing as a president....it is hightime he quit and let a youth come in.

ejoec said...

Make him no go die for chair like Karl Marx

Nusitech said...

This is why our progression is slow in Africa. 34 years in office! This isn't democracy, this is a fucking dictatorship.

AGB said...

Linda,firstly Mugabe is not the longest serving president in Africa.
Secondly,Mugabe is one of the kinda leaders Africa needs cos this man is a warrior literally.
Thirdly,A larger fraction of the population of Zimbabwe loves this man so therefore there's no problem. I'm not talking about the bullshit western media spews to us about Mugabe being bad o,I'm talking of actual facts. I used to believe all that shit until I actually started having Zimbabwean friends & relating largely with more Zimbabweans.
Fourthly, happy birthday African warrior.

Felix said...

Linda I think its seat not sit

chinny said...

The greed for power!!!, @90, he is suppose to be relaxing his brain and enjoying the joy of families and grandkids

Nigerian said...

It is appointed unto man....

Let him turn it@kosi.He's d only leader dat can stand and talk to d west and nothin will hapen.The west n especially United Kingdom tinkz he's like our present day cowards callin demselves leaders in Africa.

no let power retire u ooh as u no wan retire 4 power!

Yes oh! Until d queen of England retires,no dulling for u!Carry go.

Akanimo Sunday said...

Gerontocracy in practice.. Also,Linda,it's the President's 'seat' not 'sit'

Wat a panache !!!
â„“̊ admire his guts anyway , retiring @94 ?
Dt means he has already signed a Treaty with God †̥♥ live till dt age !!
#nsogbu adiro

Julius said...

happy birthday to him.

read more interesting stories

That man is loved by the Zimbabweans that kiss his ass in order to survive there. There is no food in that country's shops, there are just empty shelves, they cross the border just to buy food. Those who have guts are flocking to SA on a daily basis braving the crocodiles in the Limpopo river and rape by his so-called soldiers to survive. He will rot in hell. He is so ugly at first glance u think it's a statue.

At anon 3:21: Ode!!! A monarchy is different from a democracy. SS1 government... Borrow yourself brain!

Zeus said...

Bonario is right. He's even worshiped by some of his people in case you don't know. They love him to a fault. I've been there. It's so baffling considering he has ruled them since independence. Funny enough I like him. Long live Uncle Bob.

I almost quit this page the day I saw your young face. Please stop commenting on every issue here. You're too young for this. How u go follow ur parents mates dey talk? U no get manners?

HBD to him

FDJ

Aymii said...

@that age your president should be thinking of where he will spend the Afterlife.........

No matter how e bad reach Nigerians won't allow that kan nonsense!.....imagine a 90 years old Goodluck Ebele Jonathan still leading us???????? ......Hell no!!!!!!!!!!!!!. . Who wan gree???? Insted we will vote Whizkid!

On 2 The Next!

jenny said...

abeg, retire. no be only u dem make d seat for. dem born u born president?

Igor said...

Please this uniformed people should stop attacking Bonario.I've met a lot of Zimbabwas living in Paris who claim that they will die for Mugabe.If he was not popular, they would have criticized him, giving that they are in a foreign land.Even the West have started lifting the econmic and travel ban they placed on him.

Mr president that your eyes like owl.u go surely die gbam!

phemmyB dat lag bobo said...

A beg let the man be. Same people complained bout Gaddafi of Libya and led a revolt but today see the sad outcome, same as present day Egypt. Methinks the African man's political nomenclature is on parallels with the white man, so let's not even use that as a yardstick for judgment. Oyinbo man sees burger as akara, Blackman see burger as 'treat'. Happy birthday to Robert Mugabe joor.

Joke Harry you're just a big joke o, what a question come try am for Naija make they take your eye see pepper nah! Mugabe should please go take several seats at the back. He's old and should give the younger generation a chance to rule, Abi Zimbabwe na him personal property?? HBD thou!

Na next gadaffi una dey look so oo
*vanchuks*

Dem for don assassinate am for 9ja
*vanchuks*

DIE! DIE!! DIE!!! DIE MR MUGABE! i am on MFM now praying

#daveydave

Linda not sit oh.but seat perhaps typographical error

Get a life ..luv Mugabe ,so yiu r hapy wth wht is happening..pliz guys just coz you r also corrupt like him let's syop being cruel people pple r suffering and you have da nerve to open your mouth and say you luv him,if only u cld be panished wth him coz God is watching..