Sanusi reacts to his suspension, says he will challenge it in court | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 20 February 2014

Sanusi reacts to his suspension, says he will challenge it in court

In an interview with CNBC Africa this morning, Sansui Lamido Sanusi, who currently in Niger Republic attending an official ECOWAS event, says he will challenge his suspension.

Sanusi tells CNBC Africa
"I have been told by my office that a letter was received. As you know, I flew in this morning to Niamey along with other Governors of West African Central Banks to meet with the President of Niger and President of Ghana. Fortunately, I came in with my VP Sarah Alade whom I have been asked to hand over to. I have left the meeting to hand over to her. I have just met the Nigerian Ambassador to Niger who confirmed to me that the President asked him to inform me of the decision.
About financial misconduct and recklessness he's being accused of...
"I don’t know what they are talking about. When I come back, I will see what those allegations are. I don’t think there is any issue raised that has not been raised before. We all know what this is about. This is about consequences for decisions I have taken. This is something that is long overdue. I am surprised it took them so long.
When asked whether his suspension is politically motivated, he said
I think the answer to that is obvious. There is a legal question of whether the president has the authority to suspend the Governor and whether suspension is not removal. It will be helpful to establish the principles by court.
Even if I challenge it, I will not go back to the job. Even if I challenge it successfully, I will not go back to it. I think it will be in the interest of the institution for the courts to establish once and for all if the president has the powers to do this. If it is not challenged, the next Central Bank Governor cannot be independent with fear of being suspended by a politician. I do plan to have the courts confirm if indeed that authority exists and I will challenge it.
See the video below...

124 comments:

sugar said...

Admiral said...

He should go and sit down it is a direct order!!! Foolish man

Its ur legal right

Your sacked, your sacked #bright bravo#

Its gud dat way.he shld n must not b cheated jare.bcos of truth.?

@BOBO_EDO said...

Whatevuuuurrrrrrrr.... He's out and out for good.... I know that he's very pained tho...

@Bobo_Edo

Season film.

Says Temi

OmoAkin said...

Good!...&let d fyt begins.

purpledeeva said...

Nice sanusi. Let boundaries be set, this our president is going awire suspending everybody.

Politicle Bruhaharism...in PATRICK OBAIHAGBON's voice!!!
#CHUKS REMAP KING# add on FB!

awwww! no sacrifice is too much for our great country.
I find it disheartening he was sacked while outside the country. Its all good,ask OBJ no one rules forever.
tomorrow it will be his turn of writting letters.

Yu will charge who to court, oboy see liver..... Yu want to go head to head with jonah..... Oga mi, na presido him be o incase yu don forget.....

Ammy said...

Sanusi can be accused of anything but misconduct and recklessness,I must disagree wt jona. Sanusi please show dem u r nt to b toiled wt. Dt u r well educated not like does illiterate in d national assembly. Gbam

Shuld just caln down

Look at this idiot,you destroyed nigeria's economy and you're complaining. Yeye fowl

May thunder fire you with your islamic banking

It has to be clear we need to knw if d president hav such powers, if not jt as u hav said d next cbn gov can never be free and independent for fear of been sacked, jt like they claim that inec is independent bt we all knw d truth. Thats why efcc can not prosecute any political big time thief cos they are nt independent. I honestly tink d powers of d president should be checked.

But i read some where about him not caring even though dey suspend him..... Well, oga wan still dey enjoy him soup.....

Jolof Hearts said...

I love this guy, wish we all can be as passionate as this guy for our countries. The same corruption stories are coming out of Sierra Leone and Liberia and the same attitudes by people in leadership who were all ex world bank/IMF staff. Africa's youth you can get your country back not by guns but by fierce actions and principles like sanusi's

On a second thought, i dont like this man and i wish dey remove him but with a vote.....

Peejay said...

Sanusi peeped under the skirt of the sacred cow and got the boot! Shame on Jonathan!

Coward Jonathan suspends Sanusi why he is on foreign land serving his nation

JONATHAN HAS INDEED CONFIRMED HIS LACK OF TACT. WRONG MOVE, NOT TO MENTION UNCONSTITUTIONAL. HE HAS NO VIRES IN THIS. LMFAOFF

Nonsence! U knw u will not be talking anyhow if it were OBJ that is the president. I dnt blame u. I blame the meekness of mr President. Aboki u had better go and start rearing ur cow. Challenging the powers of the office that appointed you.

Luchiano said...

Oga it is over for you. Just go in peace..

My friend enjoy ur suspension n stop making noise abi u no kn say na turn by turn since u hv expecting it jus enjoy d process stop giving excuses for anyone

Janelicious said...

NIGERIA MY BELOVED COUNTRY

Sanusi might not be an Angel himself but he made some points. Is right time someone stand up to the Presidency and how they run NNPC. Irrespective of what Sanusi must have done, we all know that his crime to Jonathan was exposing the missing NNPC money to the public. He embarrassed his office, his senior staff, business allies both home and abroad about their level of corruption. That to me is a legacy that no one had ever done in recent time. Instead of embarrassing themselves by suspending someone they knew was outside the country on official assignment to represent the country. What a senseless shameful so called government we have. Where is the missing Trillion that was missing from NNPC account? They are to enrich their personal pocket and not the National pocket. Greedy unpatriotic people that have no interest of the country in their hearts.

Waiting for d next episode..linda di ok keep us updated

Akin said...

This government of GEJ is riddled with so much dictatorship and sleaze its incredible.... The CBN Act is clear. The President cannot remove a CBN Governor without the approval of the Senate... Doesnt GEJ read the constitution or our laws?

Blossom said...

I LOVE HIM BUT WHY DOES HE SOUND SO NERVOUS AND DEFENSIVE. SANUSI WHY?????

Jona as his name implies knows notin abt management, just really stupid ass. Out of fashion old fool all in de name of next election. Am so sorry for Nigeria. De way u lots have worked hard to destroy nigeria. My God will terminate ur happiness. U old sick ass. OKIrI

Nawaº°˚˚° .. Dis country Ȋ̝̊̅§ full of theatre of da absurd..

bluemagic said...

Ndi Ala *mad pple* na God go judge evrybdy

I think he has a point on this!

Sanusi...pray your alleagtions becomes true if not,your finished..This not running mouth on the international television...The question is ,did you award contracts without due process? Do you have right to doze out Billions of Naira in the name of donations to charity?

waiting patiently

AZ said...

Oh how we love to stall progress in Africa! Jonathan and his thieving colleagues are about to be exposed so they take desperate measures without any care in the world for it's impact; just look at the hit the Naira has taken since this news. Hopefully Nigerians will be just as vocal and passionate about this just as they were about those hateful gay laws which were designed to divide and take attention away from what is important... probably not! You see, we deserve the leaders we have because we the population are focused on socio-cultural differences while taking our eyes off important socio-economical issues that put jobs, well-being and food on the table. It is why our leaders and ruling elite take us for fools. We let them! But one day something will have to give; just look at the Arab Spring or Ukraine at the moment. One just hopes if anything like that happens we come out of it unified and better, and not in utter chaos.

sasha bone said...

If he has the power to put you in,he also has the power to take u the hell out...deal with it!

Sanusi, kindly expose Him More!!

..[EMI O TUSH OH]
.JUST
[Mischevious And Naughty]
>>My Comment Moderation Disabled<<

Professional jobseeker said...

The problem now is that the real problem has not been sorted. Will suspending Sanusi help the financial problems or just sweep the issue under the carpet??

Sanusi, pls challenge this in court for posterity's sake. Why should politicians have the ultimate power to take such decisions without consulting the right quarters.

Nigeria has to change!!

THIS MIGHT NOT BE THE CBN GOVERNOR JOB, BUT THERE ARE THOUSANDS OF JOBS AVAILABLE FOR YOU TO PICK FROM!!! SIGN UP FOR CONSTANT INFO ABOUT JOBS

Shege mallam sanusi! Nigerians r solidly behind u

I've got even more respect for Sanusi Lamido Sanusi after reading this

The president appoints the CBN Gov. I tink he has d right 2 fire who he appointed. But d court will hv a better ans 2 dat.

Jonathan is just an asshole... a pussy!

Wow! Is a pity. He was on duty b4 they called him off. Wat a life! Not even in the country. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Immaculate said...

Foolish man, go and sit down, you have done more harm than good to Nigerians , go and contest for the Emir which you have been longing for.

..and again I say my president is clueless. Did he say financial recklessness? 2 bullet proof BMW ain't financial recklessness? In fact any1 who votes Gej does so at the expense of his four generations to com...

Amanda said...

mr Presidents Administration is completely guilty of every thing he accused Sanusi of! Totally reckless, corrupt and full of misconduct! Nonsense! Its such a shame now! wheres the democracy in this? Shame Shame Shame! Am completely irritated

CEO said...

Obasanjo has done a serious thing to Jonathan, He just dey misbehave ... Stupid decisions!!!

People don't even unstand what Islamic banking is? People just type sssh tha guy Sanusi is an asset most countries are praying to have bt here in nigeria we just politicise all we do .a common Ijaw man sef deh sack to hell with you mr president

Jonathan is a pussy!

Yes Jonathan will be writing a letter from his prison hole

Swaggs isimemen said...

@ admiral u re a fool idiot ole thief, I support sanusi he should carry GEJ 2 court I suppor...

Swaggs isimemen said...

@ admiral u re a fool idiot ole theif, I support sanusi he should carry GEJ 2 court I suppor...

Swaggs isimemen said...

@ admiral u re a fool idiot ole theif, I support sanusi he should carry GEJ 2 court I support u...

Mystic Falls said...

Sanusi is going 2 court just 2 prove 2 GEJ that he knows nothing about law and his executive power...Sanusi is not pissed off he just want 2 win the case after which he will resign with dignity cos he said it clearly he won't go back even if he wins in court.

AnnMarie said...

His suspension is politically motivated

Ok nex series! Buh wait ooo! May be sanusi has som facts in his allegation buh srsly d way he went abt it ws so unprofessional! 4instance if ur son or daughter raise an alarm In ur awse dat his #20 is missin! 2mao he say is #15 nex he say is #10 leta he say no no is hmm #25! U as a parent wount u have doubt if money actually missed! Hw will d world see us if all dese incosistency is coming 4rm highest finacial institution! Les be realistic peepo!

We might not understand Islamic banking fully but you can thank the acts and actions of Boko haram for it.

U guys are ass hole. i can see APC members taikn, all the contract mallam awarded no body question him. GEJ is the best till 2moro. Surrender to boko haram if u are not comfortable with his administration.

Dee Tee said...

Hmmmm. I see ...

Pls linda post my comment this time o,mr sanusi you ve already said it that even if you er on your right you will not go back 2 that office so y your time and our time by going 2 court pls take heart

Am nt from the north, I love dis guy, I am from delta, but honestly CBN govt is best for that office. EGJ u admin need him. Countries like Ghana 'll kill to have him. If we have 20 of CBN govt in dis country, trust me nigeria 'll grow.............

Do you really understand what islamic banking is? Pls go $ read abt it, SMH

Was it not a sign of reclessness and misconduct when the Federal Government allowed students to stay at home for Six annoying months? FG points one finger at mallam Sanusi lamido Sanusi and four other fingers point back at them.

I wonder if any president can satisfy Nigerians. We are so used to complaining and looking at negative news. That's the only thing that excites us. When positive things are done, no commendations...

Mallam Sanusi did some good work but he was not a perfect individual. He agreed to work for the Jonathan administration not the other way around. If you think something is wrong somewhere, you first go to the president before you start to go public with it. There is only one president in Nigeria, not two.

When Iweala helped to clear our national debt, we all said good intelligent woman. This woman is supposed to be Sanusi's boss yet do you see her jumping to the news all the time to condemn her boss? If you do not like the position of the person that appoints you, you resign and join the opposition.

We should be praying for the president (or any president) we have, to make good decisions not to criticize and abuse whenever we see fit. Have some respect and criticise constructively. I wonder what all of you critics would do if you were in similar positions. You be acting as if you are angels and know all.

bibbz said...

shut up! whAT do u know? mumu

If only u knew... With islamic banking there is nothing like interest, there would have been so many nigerian home and car owners with islamic banking.... Ignorance

Why does Nigeria make mockery of democracy? If this was how America conducted themselves, you think we'd be rushing there for medical check ups and sh*t?

Pls lets understand this law before we start ranting. The president has the right to suspend CBN governor which he did, he only nomited Emefiele Godwin and sent his name to senate for confirmation. Whatever outcome takes effect June when Sanusi's tenure will end officially. Sara Alade is the acting CBN governor from now till june.

HONESTLY I ADMIRE THE COURAGE OF THIS MAN..THIS ACTION BY GEJ IS CLEARLY POLITICAL, I WISH HIM BEST OF LUCK IN COURT

No Jonathan is an intelligent mafia who acts than talk...he has always had the last laugh! now they will enter Sanusi's office and gather more evidence of his recklessness! Who says the C'N'C 's powers are limited!

Haha u wish....SLS has many skeletons in his cupboard and will be revealed soon enough!...shebi he wanted to involve himself in politics..oya naa

Who shd be suspended? CBN Gov or NNPC GMD?

Pant more like

Better. Let's see if naira W̶̲̥̅̊ȋ̝̊̅ ̄ι̥ι̥ have value again. This guy frustrated we the business people from getting dollar, made Ȋ̝̊̅t̶̲̥̅̊ scarce A̶̲̥̅̊Ώ̶̲̣̣̥d̶̲̥̅̊ expensive. Thank God we Ǎ̜̣̍я̲̅ε̲̣̣̣̥ still living.

dn't care said...

Nd u who's a dick...I wonder if u ever think of solutions. It's not like u'd be a better president than Jonathan or @ least do a thing to benefit the nation. Badoo my foot

@admiral, you need some education to help you understand what is the debate here. You obviously lack the intelligence to decipher what sanusi's argument is. Let me assist your 5 yrs old brain to assimilate. See Sanusi the CBN governor cannot be sacked or fired without two-thirds of the senates approval. Thats what the law said. In this case, Sanusi the CBN governor has not being sacked but has been suspended, a clause that the law did not address. The CBN Governor position should not be a position that has political influence or interest as Ben Bernake of the US treasury position is meant not to have George Bush's influence. It should be an independent position for fairness to take place. Sanusi is here claiming that if Jonathan can suspend him by looking for a loophole in the law to "ultimately" carry out a suspension, which in effect deters him from carrying out his duty in full capacity, this might create and send a sensation out to incoming CBN governors that their appointment and capacity to do their jobs effectively without political interference or retaliation, can be threatened. Hence, the need for Sanusi to take this case to the courts that even though he was not fired but simply suspended, this act by the President sends the wrong message that the position of CBN governor has political interference or retaliation if they do not play ball. So the court has to decide the application of the law and perhaps an amendment to the law that covers all and methods or words to could deter the CBN governor from carrying out his duties in full capacity without any political interference or retaliation.

winniekoko said...

Badoo go get a life and stop insulting GEJ....When we are talking homosexuals like u will still b talking.

The president is not above the law. You should remember this, you can and should be able to sue your president as well. Its your legalb and constitutional righ to do so.

Sasha, you are dead wrong. He does not. Please, pick up a law book and read to educate hourself lady.

Dis govt is really pushing the masses 2 revolt...sm1 rises alarm over missing funds weeks after he is sacK!oga gudluck ur callin for smtin and soo u go c am

Sirwels said...

Hmmmmm! Najia who get court u wan go?

kayy said...

1. The president suspended and not sacked the CBN chief
2. No action can be brought against the President, he has immunity
3. He has the constitutional power to suspend whoever he appointed
4. Due to the discrepancies in the Governor's statement regarding the missing money, he ought to have resigned.
5. Everyone is crying wolf because Sanusi is Hausa and Muslim
6. Linda post this for your readers to know.
Thank you.

Anonymous 2:58, you so hit the nail on its head. That is why the president is after SANUSI, SANUSI made him so incompetent with that exposure.
Am always amazed at the reasoning of some pple on this blog. A sensitive issue as this and some pple are saying "SANUSI should go and rest jor, "I have never really liked this guy, " he should just go in peace...NOW let us take a look back at the banking reform made possible by this man, The bank MDs where in control of 90% of our money and where loaning it out to pple who weren't credible, this man made sure all that stopped with the reformed. if not for him a lot of us would av lost a lot of money in those banks. The same man is making sure that the Naira does not de-value with the strategy he has put in place. At times I just want to cry for this country...This man has also come out to ask about the missing NNPC Money that is going into the pockets of corrupt leaders who are bent on collapsing our country and the economy and some of you here just open your mouth to say nonsense. I don't blame the kids on this blog it is obvious you are still been taken care of, by the time you grow up to take responsibility of your well being, you will be singing a new song then. pls this is an issue for the intelligent minded pple, if you don't have anything intelligent to say just don't make any comment rather read the intelligent comments here and enlighten yourself since you don't know what is happening in your country. Of course issues like this is difficult for them to discuss abt, if it is a sense less issue u will see them commenting stupidly. Just becos of this decision today, the value of our Naira has dropped. By the time the price of things will increase in the market, your eyes will clear. He is a man who knows his worth and am so sure he won't return to that office after winning the case. This man is an asset to this country and as typical of Nigerians we don't have value for assets. What a senseless shameful so called government we have. Greedy unpatriotic Nigerians who don't have the interest of the country at heart, all they are concerned abt is their pocket. No wonder they are all falling sick. They shouldn't worry, for the wages of sin is death.

Anonymous 3:00pm I meant to say, you so hit the nail on it's head. Same for anonymous 5:07pm. I like intelligent pple like you jor, stay blessed

Who is this fool

Igor said...

A civilised solution,but I doubt if anything will come out of it.

Oya na gen gen part 1 ....

Igor said...

So B.sc in Economics,and diploma in Islamic studies is your idea of one being more educated.

Anon 5:09pm, abeg shusshhh. E don do. Have u forgotten dat dis is Nigeria? Maybe bcos ure in America, u think those rules also apply here. Abegii, make we hear word. Have u ever heard of any individual fighting d Govt in d history of Nigeria. Which court dey wan take d matter to sef? No b dis same Nigeria, abi na for America dey wan carry d case to. U should know dat there is no way we can ever reach those levels or standard set by d developed countries. D more we try to get close, d more they leave us farther behind. So, enuff of dis ur fight d govt bullshit. It doesn't work here. The earlier u realize dis, d better for u.

Anon 2:51. Powers of president checked indeed!!!. In dis Naija? As if, if they make u president today, u will like ur powers to be checked. HYPOCRISY of d highest order

Igor said...

A civilised solution,but I doubt if anything will come out of it.

Anon 2:55. Gbamest comment. Every1 is just taking president good luck's meekness for granted sha!!

Admiral, u be total mumu! Read Anon 5.07pm's comment and educate urself. Ode!

@edDreamz, ur kind of reasoning should be restricted to a beer parlour

Akin, shatttaaap there and try to assimilate wot u just read. He was suspended and there is no place in d constitution dat states anything about suspension which was also buttressed by Sanusi himself. Don't just rush to comment bcos u want to comment

Why do we have a trend for persecuting people who do their Jobs as true as they can without ( limited) corruption. Then go a step further by destroy his reputation to get your way. Been a faithful, truthful and trustworthy civil servant in Nigeria is difficult and it is made harder by ignorant people like @Admiral. This reminds me of when Abacha suspended his CBN president. I just hope GEJ is not repeating the same scenario for the same reasons Abacha had.

Anon 3:16. Arab spring in dis Naija??? Did I hear well??. DREAM on. Abi, na u wan be d first to die or matryr urself?

Badoo, I pity u oo. U dey insult Oga Jona with ur full pic on display in a social media. Try get small sense na

@AZ, well put. I however don't see any uprising in the shape of the Arab Spring or Ukraine happening in this country. Just read through most of the comments on this forum and you'll see why I hold no hope for Nigeria. Where are these soldiers sef?

AGB said...

With this, I think it is finally safe to say I give up on president Jonathan even though my hopes were beginning to rise just a little in him. If the president cannot respect the law,who would? This man is so clueless & keeps trampling on the laws of the federation. It's okay if he (the president) wanted to sack Sanusi, but did he do it the right way? NO! Our constitution says the CBN governor can only be sacked by at least a stated fraction of the Senate. What president Jonathan has done is very equal to a coup & he should be summoned by the National house of assembly. This impunity must stop.
We Nigerians just never like to do anything by laws & principles & it's so shameful. This is the same reason why every other country keeps hitting hard on us Nigerians & yet,we would be screaming blue-murder even without us analysing ourselves. What a shame. President Jonathan must go abeg.

Kayy, best comment ever. One million likes for this

This Idiot of a president runs the country of 170m people like he is running is household. He really is a Kindergarten president

Tobi said...

I rarely comment on this blog, but I agree to everything anon 5:44pm mentioned. There are so many immature minds this blog based on responses. How can one say LSL should go to rest in such a sensitive issue in a democratic dispensation..... I shake my head.

Waiting for you in Law court. It is the most civilised way. However, is your hand clean to seek and go to equity?

I wonder why Nigerians are never constructive critics... Thumbs up Mr. President. The suspension of Sanusi Lamido Sanusi is long over due. I do not support corruption neither do I support men with perverse character. For a man like Sanusi, with all his qualifications to blow hot and cold should not be tolerated. He started with almsot $50billion missing, later he dropped to about $10b and recently moved to $20b. This is unacceptable.
PPle should look beyond the PDP and APC...I do not support bad governance but PDP and APC have not given us good leadership. We should look beyond these parties. Sanusi, should not get involved in partisan politics. If he wants to remain a public officer, he should if not he should resign and play d dirty politics.

'Toyed' pls

Gbam!!!

xquisitelucy said...

the issue here is whether the president has the sole power to "suspend" the governor and not what the governor did for the country. in my opinion i guess he should bring an action so as to clarify that part of our legislation. the question now should be will the case not be struck out for immunity reasons

SIMPLYCOCK said...

Idiot tin...
Your travails have just started...
The cries of those whom you have ruined has reached the ears of God...
The cries of many bankers whom you ruined with job losses occasioned by your malicious policies as CBN governor, whom you hounded to no end with EFCC, although you were dirtier, have come before God for judgment...
Sanusi, bet you, judgment day is here!!!!

purpledeeva said...

For someone trying to seem wise you lack grammatic knowledge for failing to differentiate btw a comment & rant.

You get kicked out when u make incomplete statement. He was dumbfounded when nnpc broke down how the missing money was spent with fact in front of the house. APC used him as a tool. Go and be their presidential candidate

Nonsense!

Shame on Jonathan. Where us the rule if law or due process in this matter. Soon he will take away our rights too

My dear Igor,I beg to differ once again.experience and on the field experience has been known to gain more ground especially in civilized societies.
This is one of the many problems we are facing in Nigeria whereby we equate degrees with brilliance.its an added advantage but I know some very good women and men that don't have all the paperwork.

hahaaha this is what happens in the game of politics.Sanusi like you said it, it seems your time is up,take it in good fate and resign,avoid this embarrasment.the same administartion that appointed you, has decided to disappoint you,my sweet muslim father take a seat let the games begin.it was your time in now it is your time out,our economy has not changed even after dismissing my uncle Jim Ovia from Zenith's MD position,now the very same person that replaced my uncle Jim Ovia is about to replace you too.The funny thing is that they are both my uncles #laffingseriously.Sanusi take a seat let my uncle Godwin to the job:).Its a deadly game and the moment you are in prepare to get out!

Ihuaku, ignorance is bliss for u. If it wasn't for Sanusi trying to stem the flow, the Naira would be around N300/ $ by now

Ordinary 9ja said...

Pls watch ur language on our president! (Badoo of Toronto). Pls be very respectful of the office even if u don't like the person. And Linda pls stop enabling such comments that insult the President's office. Thank you.

@Simplycock, true to ur name, all u have just spewed is cock!

Anon 10.24pm, who dismissed Jim Ovia? Ignorant famzer oshi!

You guys are talking rubbish...d best person to rule Dis nation is Steven keshi