House of Reps Member move to save Nigerians from imminent fuel scarcity | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 18 February 2014

House of Reps Member move to save Nigerians from imminent fuel scarcity

Although things may appear to be good at the moment with regards to fuel supply, we can’t be certain how long this may last. According to Punch, ‘16 vessels are said to have been held in the nation’s territorial waters by the Nigerian Navy and restrained from discharging their contents until “signals” are received from Abuja’.

Hon.Dayo Bush-Alebiosu last week raised the motion as a matter of urgent public importance, informing the House that on a daily basis, the government paid $4.8m as demurrage to the owners of the vessels in the last three months. He said the total amount said to have been paid out so far stood at $446.4m. Continue...

According to Hon. Dayo Bush-Alebiosu, the vessels carried petroleum products meant to be used in the country, adding that keeping the vessels on the seas could lead to fuel scarcity soon.
In his words, “A reliable source at the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation told me on the condition of anonymity that if this matter is not resolved soonest, the country will face fuel scarcity. The source said the fuel being used in the country now is the last from our reserve,” Bush-Alebiosu added.

The Speaker, House of Representatives, Mr. Aminu Tambuwal, who presided over the session, referred the issue to the Joint Committee on Petroleum Resources/Public Accounts/Navy for investigation within two weeks.

Recall that Hon. Dayo Bush-Alebiosu has consistently been against policies that have negative effects on the Nigerian populace, having spearheaded the review of all treaties entered into by Nigeria. He also recently sponsored the Air Passengers Rights Bill, making airlines legally responsible to their passengers.

While its noteworthy that some of these lawmakers are waking up to their legislative duties and responsibilities, we hope this problem will receive the kind of urgent attention it requires, as Nigerians cannot afford another hardship in the form of a fuel scarcity right now!

44 comments:

Janelicious said...

Hope is for the masses interest not just for the pocket.

I just pray that what they are proposing works out

They just performed their legislative duty,so we should wear panties and start drumming for them on the streets of Abuja.

Bad government that's what we have hear in nigeria #bright bravo#

AnnMarie said...

Its now they want to wake up to their duties. I guess they are only worried about their pockets. thieves

Ok ooo we don hear..waiting for d next episode

Abeg oh,they shld prevent that frm happening.

The piolitical thugs in action again ,Jah help us

Blitz Crush said...

Nigerians shuld do sometin fast b4 it gets off hand cos it cos alot of traffic yesterday,everywhr was blocked by vehincle.wen wll Nigeria eva live above Fuel Scaresity??????

We don't want fuel scarcity now i beg. Everything must be settle and make fuel available madam madueke. That is ur duty ooO. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

We'll said linda

--N.II.C.E

Pls they should see to it o. God bless Nigeria

~O'berry~

Pretty Lioness said...

Abeg i tire to hear story.next plz

Here nt hear #thankmelater# #okbye#

Yoma said...

It is shameful nd sad dat a country dat has d natural resources nd produces fuel almost daily is "using d last in her reserve",while a country like America without d same resources has stated dat It has fuel dat culd last 4 anoda 50yrs in her reserve if anytin goes wrong...Wen will dis country get it right nd no dat looting and corruption is not everytin.May God help us

Igor said...

I like your comment.The truth is that we shout up to high heavens in their praise when they do the duty that they are being overpaid for.With regards to the offshore vessels, some marketers import substndard petroleum products into the market. And to avoid this malaise,their vessels are delayed for thorough scrutinization.

its already happening in my place (makurdi). i have to que for almost two hours after which i was told i can only be sold 30 litres max. so anoying. by noon de few stations dat sold are shut down n transportation put to a halt. we cant continue lik dis for two weeks. somtin shud pls be done soon.

Bonario help me ask them. Why remind us of all he has done? Do your job and stop preparing him for Gov of some state or something.

Jonathan has prevented fuel scarcity for the past 6 years, its almost time for election and this starts okay oooo. Hope people trying to sabotage realise we are not fools

the scarcity is already on....long queues at the filling station last nite

Na wah o! Naija,I hail. So we sholud start showering praises on them for carrying out their duty? Why were they elected in the first place? They were elected to represent the people. They shouldn't be praised for doing what is expected of them. See what corruption and poor governance has caused. If they get praised for stuffs like this I wonder what wl be done to the True leader we have all be waiting for to lead us to the promise land (creating a better nigeria) na to dey worship that kind person remain o.abegy make we hear word. #corruptfucktards#

On their own

Finally good to see them earn their money or at least try to.

I jus hp it shuld b 4 d interest of d public oo.

AM.PersonOne said...

I feel its their duty as legislatives to make things work out and act according to their call of duty, that's why people voted them in for actions and change and not that we have to start clapping and dancing over them performing their duty and what seems they enjoy and get well paid/benefits from than the citizens. We pray for a positive outcome.

Its high time Nigerians take the bull by the horn. Great Nigerians, how long are we going to keep hearing this fuel importation story???. The social media is a powerful tool, lets use it to reform Nigeria. If we all start the "Build our refineries campaign", print shirts with the slogan on it, i believe change will come faster than we can imagine. All we need are REFINERIES.. If there are sufficient refineries in place and working to their maximum capacity, there would be no need for all this grammar.

Port to Saudi Arabia, fuel is N22 per litre and no scarcity in dem history. Madam Diezani, please put on your thinking gele....

Hope this is not a way govt is using to chop money. How can govt pay so much money as demourage to vessel owners. Fuel/navy/water is owned by govt.

DENNIS DaManOftheYear* said...

talk about putting our refineries to use already

tony rich said...

God just help me not To be disappointed in this country called Nigeria

olatundeedward said...

Please there should be no fuel scarcity. D-Bush pls try with your colleagues. At least you an Otunba now. Congrats. Do not forget the Air Passenger Rights bill ooooo

Justyswt said...

Pls we don't need fuel scarcity o. But if it happens then...........

Justyswt said...

Pls we don't need fuel scarcity oo. But if it happens, then.................

Swaggs isimemen said...

They should do their work becos government paid them million of naira everytime they sit

Swaggs isimemen said...

Nd they need 2 investigate dis woman well

Weldone Hon. Member... Hope it works out for d best

demola sanusi said...

God bless you my dear uncle

REALLY SAD ABOUT THIS BS>>> NOW PERSON GO BEGIN GO QUEUE ALL IN THE NAME OF PETROL.. PATHETIC

Hmmm, we see you.

and the minster siddon dey look smdh

save country said...

I have been getting a lot of useful and informative material in your blog.

save country said...

Keep more posting because it’s very useful blog I refer my friends to see this blog
Save fuel, Save water, Save electricity, Save environment

Sundraparipooranan said...

very good work great i will like to wish keep more posting to useful all i got lot of information throught this blog i give advice to my friends to see this blog thank you ones again. Save fuel