University of Ibadan student Taiwo Shittu raped & killed in her home | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 21 February 2014

University of Ibadan student Taiwo Shittu raped & killed in her home

27 year old Taiwo Omolara Shittu (pictured above), a 500l student of the Department of Aquaculture and Fisheries Management, University of Ibadan, was attacked and killed on the 19th of February at her sister's home at Opeyemi street, Gbagi in Ibadan.

Her sister, who she lived with, returned home from work around 5:30pm on Wednesday to find Taiwo in the pool of her own blood, her pants down to her ankle, and a machete stained with blood on the bed. Taiwo had been attacked with the machete as there was an opening on her head.

A man who cuts grass for her sister has been arrested and is currently being held at Alakia Adenubi police station in Ibadan. The man, said to be in his early 30s, has denied any involvement in the murder but it was the machete he uses to cut grass that was found in the crime scene.

The case has been transferred to the State CID. As soon as I get more updates from late Taiwo's family, I will update you guys. So sad. May her soul rest in peace..amen.

240 comments:

1 – 200 of 240   Newer›   Newest»

What a wicked world

Chineke Biko oooo.save ur pple

What a wicked world

So sad.....

Another one?? People prick no de rest again....

What a wicked world

Daizyyyy said...

Na wa o wickedneSs of d highest oder

What a wicked world

hills said...

pls wat is going on? is DAT Hw bad it has become? having girl child is so scary now. pls God help our daughters n sisters. so sorry 4 d family. may God see u thru Dis dark moment

smooshit said...

Such a wicked act!! May her soul rest in peace! Amen

Anoda sad story chai!!!

RIP shittu.....what a strange world,Rape is becoming serious in Nigeria...Our country is turning to Indian country....May God help us

Haaaaaa!!! For heavens sake, dis is so bad. Gush... RIP

So sad, may ur soul rest in perfect peace. Wicked life, wicked people. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

KOSI said...

In as much as i codemn rape but why the inhuman killing. How do some people get to look God in the face on the day of judgement *spits*

Zeitgeist movement or Venus project, anyone part of that movement??

IFY NWAJESUS said...

Wat kind of tin is dis GOD expose dos ppl invoved in dis wicked act

May her soul rest in peace. Amen

Zenki brown said...

Early dis week was ​A̶̲̅ Bowen student ☀f 17yrs, nw anoda student. So sad. May her soul Rest in peace.

kate isangha said...

My God!!!......... Wats goin Ø̲̣̣̥N̶̲̥̅̊ in dis world ?... So sad

Lala said...

What's with these new endemic of following girls home ,raping them and killing them! Can't we feel safe in our own homes anymore ?

wicked world,May her soul rest in peace and may God give her family the Fortitude to bear the lost.

BOOTYLICIOUS said...

May Jehovah God almighty not allow any evil befall us in Jesus name. smh.. all these criminals cant they go and bang an ashewo for Christ sake? why rape and kill someone? kai.. may her soul rest in peace..

This is just tragic..... 500l God, she was almost true with everything b4 she met her untimely death.... May her soul R.I.P.... Amen..
***CURRENTLY IN THE SUN***

This is getting too rampant in Nigeria, raping and killing. May her soul RIP and God comfort her family

Whatsup with touts n no self cntrol. Sme think forking a woman is their right. Education n enlightenment is really imprtnt. RIP----C21

OmG!!!! RIP oh God pls save us frm d hands of the evil oness Amen! Linda correct ur sef (she lives with)not it

What is really happening to Men of these days?I really don't get hw people get the urge to rape.On the rape process,will the victim get her natural lubrication(wetness). Will the Perpetrator get any satisfaction of any kind?
Jesus!!!!!I just hate rape! What's the big deal asking her for sex and if she does say "No....a lot of em are all over even without Charges.May God grant her eternal rest.

What is with this rape madness going on with young people. God help us!!!

So sad, Bad men every where

Rip. Rest in d boSsom of God

This is just tragic..... 500l God, she was almost true with everything b4 she met her untimely death.... May her soul R.I.P.... Amen..

Gracee Love said...

God have mercy this issue of rape is getting out of hand

May God punish the killers in jesus name... Amen and i just pray God gives the family the heart to bear their loss....

Wildflower said...

RIP.......may God forgive u all ur sins. Amen

Nawa oooo.RIP.

IFY NWAJESUS said...

May her soul rest in peace o hissss

I dnt undastand y guys still rape gals.....there are so many babes out dia,miss B or C wil definitely give in if miss A refuses ur advance 2wards her.Guys pls stop rape cos it goes hand in hand with murder.May her swt soul ripp.

prettydoll said...

Just when she ws getting her life started..Lord have mercy.. RIP

Too bad, May are soul RIP

May her soul rest in peace. God help us all.

IFY NWAJESUS said...

Wat a world

By naw dey shud av gotten a finger print, o sorry I 4got we in nigeria, don't mind me

This is bad,people are just killing bcos of sex....we need to protect our women in any circunstances **fuck all the monsters calling themselves a man**

agoms said...

Amen ooo, wat a mysterious world?

What the hell is wrong wif sum perverts may God judge dem may Ur soul rest in peace

What's all this thing with brutal murder and rape in the west? Haba na so conji dey una or is it something in the water.

May her soul rest in peace....dis is heart breaking.JAY NONI.

Jolof Hearts said...

This is why we shouldn't be joking with issues like rape.Really sad, killed an innocent woman cos of 2 seconds of stupidity

wanday said...

This is beyond sad. What is happening in this nation. The sad thing is that the perpetrators may likely go Scott free. A country where there is no justice. How can one be killed in one's house. Raped and killed. This is evil

Bimmy said...

Hmmmm, I'm short of words. But why all these for God's sake. This is sad..... the rapist cut her life short cos of few mins pleasure. Wickedness of the highest order.

OMG...... Lord av mercy. The hrt of man is desperately wicked. May ha soul R.I.P

AnnMarie said...

Another one? why are people so wicked?

Naija police I hail o! So because the murder weapon was a tool used by the gardener means the gardener should be arrested? #Just saying#

Very sad :( RIP ..Armageddon..

Lisa London said...

Highly unlikely the gardener would murder there and leave his signature at the scene.....and then wait around to be picked up. More probable to suggest the knife was picked up by the assailant as a weapon.

They should be finger-printing it or don't they have finger printing facilities in Nigeria?

If she was raped then do a semen sample?

Ooh what a world sorry dear, RIP

Hei God avv mercy oooow naaa 2 dey cover hijab naw dey waka evriwer naw oooo hmmmm#GeM saiz so#

Rip

God have mercy..Gosh

What's with all this rape cases when u can get girls of easy virtue who will do u for little or nothing at all sef. So sad n may God rest her soul n comfort her family... i pray d culprits r found n made to face d law... they should b raped wiv a stick up their anus before being sentenced to life imprisonment

This is becoming a trend, that bowen student nt too long ago and now this. Let ur Kingdom come!

win said...

Jesus!!!. Still wondering why some people have no value for lives these days. Smmhh. Rip sister.

lil missy said...

Wats all these 4 for chrissakes???So d new trend is to follow young defenceless women to their homes, rape n murder Dem???Dis is rily annoying to say d least....Taiwo I would lyk for u to rest in peace buh pls do not rest until ur killer(s) is/are also dead!!!

This is becoming a trend, first that bowen student and nw this. Soo sad. Let ur Kingdom come.

Ha God!!! What a wicked world!

May her soul rest in peace

God help us rape incident evrywia. Hmmm...

otevee said...

omg..wats with ol ds rape incidents now...giirls are not safe again ne...may d culprits be brought to book...may her gentle soul rest in peace

What is all these 4 christ sakes? What manner of evil is this? What kind of tragic end is this? God have Mercy.

God strenghten her family & hope they get justice.

OMG!!!! RIP Taiwo!!!! God will punnish dem 1 by 1

So so sad.may ha soul rest in peace

Y all these death?is that the new trend now?

CHAI, SO SAD. GOD WILL PUNISH WHOEVER THAT IS RESPONSIBLE FOR THIS EVIL ACT

This world is coming to and end......... May her gentle soul rest in peace

EvErDrEAm said...

All I know is that, whatever a man sowed so will he rip.,and I know there's God in heaven. Rip taiwo. *tears*

this so sad,may her soul rest on.....................

Either women are subjected or subjugated or victimized... Gej can probably invest half of the hatred he has for homosexuals into domestic violence and women abuse..Somebody needs to define wht crime means to him#cheezyjayne

adeola said...

500L so sad
RIP taiwo

I wonder wot joy pple get from dis. RIP

Baby~Blinkz said...

Kia! Dz world is full of evil #why# nobdy wanna see u living. So sad ineed may her sould rest in peace

Jay said...

May her soul rest in peace.its just so sad d police here have no forensic department.most criminals get away with crimes and dats just too bad

Omg

police should investigate it well and fast bco i wil like 2 know what happen 2 the animal that did such evil act

last baby said...

God have mercy on us. This inhuman act is becoming alarming

Gosh! These rape and murder are becoming a prevalent and recurring issue in this country, especially in the south. What the hell is going on? Should we women start keeping guns just so we can be safer?
Hope the authorities také conclusive steps into this cos if we can't be safe inside our own homes, where can we be safe?
Tri.

drizzle said...

this is wickedness, whats happening nau.

May her soul RIP

Good grief! !!
The sting if death is sharp and painful.
May the sting of death poke the perpetrator

linda why s ur country not saying anytin abt dis rape nd killing issue?pple jst commite crime nd get away wif it hun! immportant issues lik dis should b tackled not personal lives.i hate nigeria with all ma heart.

o GOD. may she rest in peace

wemimo said...

Pls wt is going on?? We wake up to read sad crazy news everyday...this is becoming too much..

Wow what's all these now?? Nigerian Police, do your work o

What's up with these useless rabid men? Is it that they're that ugly they can't get a woman normally. God will be your judge.

RIP Taiwo. God will avenge your untimely death

Bigtymerbitz said...

Hmmmm too bad may her soul RIP.

Tragedy death stories r becomin 2 much dis days..dis world don finish sef

Life hmmmmmmmm life God pls help ur children

Pale

DEBBYKURU said...

My God!! This is really sad

R.I.P taiwo,abeg make dem investigate well well,na naija we dey no be india,so why raping?

May God rest her soul & expose d idoit dat did dis

lexy said...

Wonders shall never cease,RIP

Shyla said...

What is happening? What's this new trend of raping and murdering the person in cold blood. I hope the rapist/murderer is found and seriously dealt with. This is really getting out of hand. RIP. Omolara

tayin said...

Linda you just love IBADAN! Confess. you report more on them than any other state in naija. RIP Taiwo. What a sicko that killed her. I hope they didnt arrest the wrong person tho

May her soul rest in peace amen #bright bravo#

God have mercy,R.I.P dear. Ur killer will never go unpunished.

lynda said...

What a wicked world. May her soul rest in peace.

Again? Lord pls protect us all from those monitoring us oooo.may the Almighty giveth the family grace to bear this

Eyah!!! Pple r wicked oo! May she RIP!!!

May said...

OMG! What a wicked world. May God bless the departed.

May God deliver his people. He that dwells in the secret place of the most high, shall abide under the shadow of the almighty...... Make this ur daily prayer.

Zinny

david doku said...

rip taiwo. we gonna miss u.

hismahillz said...

So sad,RIP to the dead

MISSPERFECT said...

Killing killing everywere,Lord hv mercy R.I.p Taiwo Omolara Shittu.

Topebrass said...

Not again ! Why? Dis cruel manner shld be stopped. Haba

This generation is the worst that has ever graced the earth

Adeyinka fash said...

This is a sad story and it is totally unacceptable.I think our govt shud concentrate more of security of the citizen.
May her innocent and gentle soul rest in perfect peace

BLAJO said...

RIP Taiwo, this rape and kill is becoming rampant in our country. Something must be done fast to put a stop to this.

Too much evil in this world we live in, May Godbless the dead!

there is wickednes in d heart of men

So sad! May her soul rest in peace!!! It might nt b d man thou!

Rip love....people are wicked

So sad. What's all this raping n killing all about. May her soul rest in peace n may her killers nt go unpunished

MISSPERFECT said...

I think d is something behind that name Opeyemi,d other girl that died her name is Opeyemi,dis very 1 died @ opeyemi street nawa o.

Wat is this world turning into,chai. May her soul RIP

*feonie*

May her luvly soul rest in peace.

I hope investigations were made to ascertain if she was really raped. Sample of semen taken, fingerprints etc b4 they detain someone bcos his cutlass was used, RIP beautiful one!!!!

May her soul rest in peace. May d hand of justice catches up with who ever did dis to her.

H S C said...

Sad. A lot of incidents have been on the news lately. God help us

His eminence said...

He who kills does not know he will die one day, Rest in peace dearest,wounders they say will naver end.

peperina said...

Jezzzz. Rape every were! May God deal with them. Rip

That's brutal. What a cruel world. RIP to the dead

Ammy Becky said...

Hei God oo please save us from the hands of evil
Ah ah so raping her wasn't enuf for him, he had to kill her too...dis rape issue is getting out of hand
God I beg u again Please continue to protect ur children
RIP to the dead girl and I hope the police investigate the case well
Aunty Linda pls oo keep us updated

Dis is a wicked world may almighty God deliver us frm evil doers(Amen)

LilkoyeBlog said...

Terrible news linda

At least u respect d dead and did not post pictures of her deady bodi dis time. Thank God! May her young soul RIP while tormenting her killers!!

What a cruel world,how can a man kill a girl after raping her?God pls save us

What is all this rape,guys are we to leave dis planet for you pepl ? Pls let the old man be the person that did it knows himself, de person just use the knife to set the man up , may her soul in peace the person that took her life enjoy the world

Nikeh El' said...

This is very sad. Why are there soo many rape cases around? Its bad enough they rape but why kill them? If it were up to me,anyone who's caught will be castrated then have both hands chopped off. Lemme see how they'll go and start raping people. If this is done to ten(10) people,am very sure all diz rape cases will reduce.

Anty linda,please don't post my comment o cus I don't know what I did to you.

So sad, may her soul rest in peace.

winniekoko said...

RIP taiwo....the person dat did this will never go on unpunished

OLORI said...

Blood of Jesus !!!!!

This case shd not take a day. I beleive fingerprints are all over dat matchet

Almahroof Mubaraq said...

Where are we going in this country, raping, killing, suicide bombers, and all sorts. May her gentle soul rest in perfect peace.

Mubwiz

Chai fine innocent girl I really feel for her, is it a crime to be a girl ? #crying# RIP

OLORI said...

Blood of Jesus !!!!!!

What is all this rape,guys are we to leave dis planet for you pepl ? Pls let the old man be the person that did it knows himself, de person just use the knife to set the man up , may her soul in peace the person that took her life enjoy the world

My twin sister name sake taye omolara rest in peace, God will fight this battle for you

Darling Happy said...

Kelkas said...

Amen kai

Nikeh El' said...

This is very sad. Why are there soo many rape cases around? Its bad enough they rape but why kill them? If it were up to me,anyone who's caught will be castrated then have both hands chopped off. Lemme see how they'll go and start raping people. If this is done to ten(10) people,am very sure all diz rape cases will reduce.

Anty linda,please don't post my comment o cus I don't know what I did to you.

Etch said...

But honestly this rape thing is getting out of hand. Its not like its hard to get a girl spread her legs for a guy dese days why force the ones that are not ready/willing to. May her soul rest in peace.

IBK said...

RIP to the dead. So sad

Hot fist said...

For now, the man who cuts grass is guilty until proven innocent! Terry news. Rest in peace, Taiwo.

this is barbaric

www.yomiafolabi.com

this is barbaric

www.yomiafolabi.com

maryann said...

Dis is sooo sad. Wats wiv d rape nd killing dis days. O ga o. May ha soul rest in perfect peace. AMEN

What exactly is happening in this country? What is going? Where is nigeria heading to? Are we still save in this country? God! Please come to our aid and turn every bad situation of this country around in Jesus name. My dear, may your soul rest in peace.

Very sad story,this world is full of wickedness,may her soul rest in peace Amen.

Ms_odun said...

eyah.. may her soul RIP

miss rollas said...

Rape rape rape all d time! D person dat did dis must DIE cos no sinner shall go unpunished and d soul dat sinneth shall die! Rip miss.

tallest matthew said...

may her soul rest in perfect peace

OMG!WOMAN said...

What's alll this.

R.I.p ..wat a wicked world

God! This is so sad and so not fair, may God punish the evil doers. I hope they are booked to justice.

Brutish. Why is it that the ultimate weapon at higher institutions is rape?
Why must women always take the fall when mens blood boil for whatever reason?
Why must a woman be raped and then murdered? Must it all revolve around the degradation of a female?

Sometimes, I believe our country has many terrorists, because rape is a weapon of terror. It is weilded by cowards.

Mwaha.

So so sad, may God save this generation o

Cruel world...r.i.p taiwo

This is really sad... May her soul RIP and may God grant her family the fortitude to bear the lost.

Adorable Jewel said...

Wat is all dis!!!! Wat has dis world turned into??? Oooohhhhhh!!!! RIP lady and may d murderer die a painful,shameful and merciless death!!!

David said...

Omg this is cruelty at its peak! But if he did it, he won't leave his machete there. The killers are trying to play smart and most probably implicate the gardener.
May her soul rest in peace.
No rest for the wicked, the word of God says.

RIP,we live in a very wicked world

AGB said...

RIP to the young lady. I hope the police actually investigates this case properly o & not just prosecute the guy who trims the lawn simply because it was his machete that was found in the crime scene. I really hope they investigate it well cos one thing that plagues most Nigerians is the crazy character of "OVER-Knowing" without any investigations. We just love to always lazily conclude that the way something seems is definitely what it is.

jude iyke said...

500l.. God pls Avenge her death.. Ppl r so wicked.. Very sad..

So sad. RIP. Too much death in dis month. Dis is d worst month of d year.

eka said...

May her soul rest in peace.why do some peeps behave like animals....

This generatn is becoming more wicked. For crying out loud must you murder b4 u fuck? If na fuck why not approach those hawking it sale. Than killing innocent pple. May she RIP and may her killers know no peace on earth. Nkem

So sad,wat is really happening

Harnikky said...

May her soul rest in perfect peace! Only God know what is going on! I will never loose a child or children in my life! May the Lord console her family!

ugochysom said...

RIP oh.... may or murders NVR go free

So sad! May God rest her soul in peace

ugochysom said...

Rip oh... may your murderers never go free

priceless said...

This is wickedness frm d highest order,hw cn sum1 b so wicked to do dis,may ha soul rest in peace n pray whoeva did dt will die dsame way

May her soul Rest in Peace....wat a wicked world...xoxo flynnrules

Bestman said...

May her soul rest in peace.This world is actually a very horrible place to come to.Will evil ever end?May God punish the perpetrator of this act in this world and the next.

My God! What is happening?!! End time! Father forgive dem for dey knw not what dey are doing.

Galore said...

na wa oo

I cover myself with the blood of Jesus

splendourdudie said...

Are they crazy? Isn't that y there is the protocol of taking finger prints? When wld we start solving crimes right? D poor man arrested may be innocent. So sad for the girls family, may she find rest wt peace!

Wat a gruesome way †̥♥ pass on.....
#Jesu biko mee ebere

Rapists are sick people.something you can get free of charge if you know the language of luv,yet some ignoramus won't just learn.so sad!

diamondblinqZ said...

Hmm... Everybody n everythinq is so scary naw. U don't kn who is who anymore.

So sorry for her

R I P

Tony 13 said...

This wicked generation

Faith Ogaga said...

Sooooo people just Rape, Murder and Go like its a childs play???v...wat a country! It wil neva be well for d murderer(s)..RIP

I dnt wot human beings r turnin in2,u jst wake up n decide 2 rape n kill?gosh.Anyway Mr. Awomolo is servin as example,was sentenced 2 death by hangin 3 yrs afta he murdered his banker wife,let dem continue.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 240   Newer› Newest»