Must read! Chimamanda Adichie writes on the anti-gay law | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 19 February 2014

Must read! Chimamanda Adichie writes on the anti-gay law

Article written by award winning writer Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie titled 'Why can’t he just be like everyone else?'  Find it below...
I will call him Sochukwuma. A thin, smiling boy who liked to play with us girls at the university primary school in Nsukka. We were young. We knew he was different, we said, ‘he’s not like the other boys.’ But his was a benign and unquestioned difference; it was simply what it was. We did not have a name for him. We did not know the word ‘gay.’ He was Sochukwuma and he was friendly and he played oga so well that his side always won.
In secondary school, some boys in his class tried to throw Sochukwuma off a second floor balcony. They were strapping teenagers who had learned to notice, and fear, difference. They had a name for him. Homo. They mocked him because his hips swayed when he walked and his hands fluttered when he spoke. He brushed away their taunts, silently, sometimes grinning an uncomfortable grin. He must have wished that he could be what they wanted him to be. I imagine now how helplessly lonely he must have felt. The boys often asked, “Why can’t he just be like everyone else?”

Possible answers to that question include ‘because he is abnormal,’ ‘because he is a sinner, ‘because he chose the lifestyle.’ But the truest answer is ‘We don’t know.’ There is humility and humanity in accepting that there are things we simply don’t know. At the age of 8, Sochukwuma was obviously different.  It was not about sex, because it could not possibly have been – his hormones were of course not yet fully formed – but it was an awareness of himself, and other children’s awareness of him, as different. He could not have ‘chosen the lifestyle’ because he was too young to do so. And why would he – or anybody – choose to be homosexual in a world that makes life so difficult for homosexuals?

The new law that criminalizes homosexuality is popular among Nigerians. But it shows a failure of our democracy, because the mark of a true democracy is not in the rule of its majority but in the protection of its minority – otherwise mob justice would be considered democratic. The law is also unconstitutional, ambiguous, and a strange priority in a country with so many real problems. Above all else, however, it is unjust. Even if this was not a country of abysmal electricity supply where university graduates are barely literate and people die of easily-treatable causes and Boko Haram commits casual mass murders, this law would still be unjust.  We cannot be a just society unless we are able to accommodate benign difference, accept benign difference, live and let live. We may not understand homosexuality, we may find it personally abhorrent but our response cannot be to criminalize it.

A crime is a crime for a reason. A crime has victims. A crime harms society. On what basis is homosexuality a crime? Adults do no harm to society in how they love and whom they love. This is a law that will not prevent crime, but will, instead, lead to crimes of violence: there are already, in different parts of Nigeria, attacks on people ‘suspected’ of being gay. Ours is a society where men are openly affectionate with one another. Men hold hands. Men hug each other. Shall we now arrest friends who share a hotel room, or who walk side by side? How do we determine the clunky expressions in the law – ‘mutually beneficial,’ ‘directly or indirectly?’

Many Nigerians support the law because they believe the Bible condemns homosexuality. The Bible can be a basis for how we choose to live our personal lives, but it cannot be a basis for the laws we pass, not only because the holy books of different religions do not have equal significance for all Nigerians but also because the holy books are read differently by different people. The Bible, for example, also condemns fornication and adultery and divorce, but they are not crimes.
For supporters of the law, there seems to be something about homosexuality that sets it apart. A sense that it is not ‘normal.’ If we are part of a majority group, we tend to think others in minority groups are abnormal, not because they have done anything wrong, but because we have defined normal to be what we are and since they are not like us, then they are abnormal. Supporters of the law want a certain semblance of human homogeneity. But we cannot legislate into existence a world that does not exist: the truth of our human condition is that we are a diverse, multi-faceted species. The measure of our humanity lies, in part, in how we think of those different from us. We cannot – should not – have empathy only for people who are like us.

Some supporters of the law have asked – what is next, a marriage between a man and a dog?’ Or ‘have you seen animals being gay?’ (Actually, studies show that there is homosexual behavior in many species of animals.) But, quite simply, people are not dogs, and to accept the premise – that a homosexual is comparable to an animal – is inhumane. We cannot reduce the humanity of our fellow men and women because of how and who they love. Some animals eat their own kind, others desert their young. Shall we follow those examples, too?

Other supporters suggest that gay men sexually abuse little boys. But pedophilia and homosexuality are two very different things. There are men who abuse little girls, and women who abuse little boys, and we do not presume that they do it because they are heterosexuals. Child molestation is an ugly crime that is committed by both straight and gay adults (this is why it is a crime: children, by virtue of being non-adults, require protection and are unable to give sexual consent).

There has also been some nationalist posturing among supporters of the law. Homosexuality is ‘unafrican,’ they say, and we will not become like the west. The west is not exactly a homosexual haven; acts of discrimination against homosexuals are not uncommon in the US and Europe. But it is the idea of ‘unafricanness’ that is truly insidious. Sochukwuma was born of Igbo parents and had Igbo grandparents and Igbo great-grandparents. He was born a person who would romantically love other men. Many Nigerians know somebody like him. The boy who behaved like a girl. The girl who behaved like a boy. The effeminate man. The unusual woman. These were people we knew, people like us, born and raised on African soil. How then are they ‘unafrican?’

If anything, it is the passage of the law itself that is ‘unafrican.’ It goes against the values of tolerance and ‘live and let live’ that are part of many African cultures. (In 1970s Igboland, Area Scatter was a popular musician, a man who dressed like a woman, wore makeup, plaited his hair. We don’t know if he was gay – I think he was – but if he performed today, he could conceivably be sentenced to fourteen years in prison. For being who he is.) And it is informed not by a home-grown debate but by a cynically borrowed one: we turned on CNN and heard western countries debating ‘same sex marriage’ and we decided that we, too, would pass a law banning same sex marriage. Where, in Nigeria, whose constitution defines marriage as being between a man and a woman, has any homosexual asked for same-sex marriage?

This is an unjust law. It should be repealed. Throughout history, many inhumane laws have been passed, and have subsequently been repealed. Barack Obama, for example, would not be here today had his parents obeyed American laws that criminalized marriage between blacks and whites.
An acquaintance recently asked me, ‘if you support gays, how would you have been born?’ Of course, there were gay Nigerians when I was conceived. Gay people have existed as long as humans have existed. They have always been a small percentage of the human population. We don’t know why. What matters is this: Sochukwuma is a Nigerian and his existence is not a crime.

1,162 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 400 of 1162   Newer›   Newest»

My name is Toyin and i'm heterosexual,but criminalising homosexuality is wrong on so many levels. So many levels.

Tito

Frank said...

I have always loved u to bits Chimamanda, but I disagree with you on this one. You have made valid points but let us realise that if we keep quiet on this matter, generations after us may see homosexuality as the norm rather than the exception. Yes homosexuality has always been in existence but it is now on the increase because we did nothing about it in the past. I feel bad for the likes of Sochukuma, who found themselves the way they are but what of the straight guys who are switching lanes? I don't fear about us, I fear for our children.

The law has been passed amada pls go to hell and take the deepest part of it.

Angel Judith said...

Nice writeup but I don't agree with the premise. Sochukwuma obviously needs help psychologically n other ways 2 correct such imbalances if not, he would definitely sort after able-bodied and virile men who will love him like a woman.
The problem now is the growing % of such able-bodied and virile men that would be engaged to Sochukwuma and co to the detriment of the essence of creation.

You r still a favourite writer Adichie.

Live and let's live 9ja peeps leave gays alone d most painful part is dat some of dis ugly old men dat made dis law are gays and some of u dat will come here and talk trash abt gays are gays too I can tell u wif proof dat in every 100 girls/women out dia 75 are gays don't really know abt d boys/men... Yet some of dem will come and run dia dirty mouths here now and insult gay people.... Nonsense...

Total rubbish, Sochukwuma my ass. Nobody was born gay, and even if a guy behaves like a girl dooes not give him the right to go be sexing other guys. It's absurd. Any man who has got a dick should only stick that in a woman's private and not in a man's ass. If y'all like, write uncountable write-ups and letters, that law has come to stay and any gay caught will have his ass jailed. U will be long gone for 14 years GUARANTEED. Very stupid write up, are u all mad? U evils just wanna end this world for us, NO WAY. You will all be kept where u belong before you go to hell. With all the billions of juicy vaginas everywhere, ur fellow man is who u wanna have his ass fucked. That's a waste of 2 dicks and it's not even fair on the ladies. Get ur brains checked or land in jail and go to hell. Psychos.

It shall never come to pass in jesus name its enough that the Bible condemns it we cannot live like animals God is above all

Then the Western world should stop arresting prostitutes. Because they can't help themselves . Or pedophiles ..they just can't help themselves. why do they send them for therapy or to rehab? To set them right. Fine.maybe jailing is harsh,but the act is wrong ,hence treated as a criminal offense like these other acts. Even nature itself frowns at it. If they spread. Mankind will become extinct !! This act was designed for this purpose ( mankind extinction)
Maybe we should create rehabs for them to save them...with a touch of deliverance .
Africans in the western world used to send their children to Africa for salvation ie good upbringing ,discipline ,manners etc. at this rate, the west is swallowing our standards through permissiveness .
IMELDA

chizzie said...

Yeah ryt! If we let them be,what about the aborminable act?! There existence is definately not a crime.Do not be decieved.

As usual well thought out and well written. That aside, the gay community instead of seeking asylum should go to an international court to fight the law! We give up easily in this country, which is why we are what we are today.

its abnormal, this gay people turn straight men and women into gay. i stand on the anti-gay law.

I can see the hands of us all over this must not accept what u all accept we might be a democracy country but we still believe in God the most supreme if he says it's bad its bad

When I read stuffs like this written by a Nigerian, my hope for the deliverance of this nation heightens. Very intelligent and objective write up--thumbs up Chimamanda. Although I used to be anti gay based on my religious stance, however, it never did occur to me that criminalizing gay acts was inhuman and unjust. Thanks for the enlightenment girl, God bless you.

Davoo said...

Nice one from the Nigerian finest

If u no dey chop monley for ur side ok good but when u come here back home we shall tell u that monkey is a good meat lols

If you like write another 100 articles or more like this one, it wount reverse the anti-gay law. I wount blame u cos ur almost an american and possibly american LGBT pro activists haf hired u cos ur nigerian. From medical research, being gay/lesbian is a psychiatric disorder... in actual sense them homo ppl should be visiting psychiatric hospitals for treatment. Shebi i've used broomstick inside a gay dude's dick back den in secondary school and now he's forgotten about dat shit called homo... what u allow will be...Nuff said! And y do i think Linda is a lesbian? Cos she can suppprt this ppl well well...

Chuks said...

Chimamanda @ it again...nice one Girl, making us proud as usual.

Petre... said...

It can be considered 9ic bcos she tinks she has somtin upstairs bt we know d@ she centered on only one side. Am fully assured d@ if dis case is argued by 2 debatin paties, d write up won't 'v ended dis way.

Am so touched amanda indeed is d least priority we ve oda issues we re facing,if u decide 2 be homosexual dts btw u n d almighty GOD nt 4 one 2 pass a law of 14yrs imprisonment,did d president even fink of rehabilitation centres 2 hlp dis pple tho 4 me I dnt support same sex marriage cox its sinful bt m nt n support of d law I jux feel he shld profer solutions n see 2 d law

Logically Chimamanda has said it all on gays as a scienticist after analysing her logic I go with her_this write is just wisdom unparreled analysis per excellence.

Okay. I see your point.

ayo ade said...

Good essay yet unjustifying of the fact that it is Aru- abomination even to Sochukwuma himself and the community he is/came from

As much as there are lots of reasons not to discriminate against gay,i really dont think we should be force either to make a choice of those we should talk to either.....among this popular figures and celebrity. i can smell a rat when they support this gay stuff...i tink they do it with lots of pretence and they re not sincere...bcos we have other issue of governance bordering us does not mean we should accept what is strange to us.....how will you feel if a 14year old boy is raped by another man bcos he has abnormal feeling?????????????
maybe we should start encouraging them and later we will start having issues of rape case as its common with the females.....

slimayo said...

And so? Is she trying to tell us that all these her long write up will change Gods view concerning those that practice it? And Linda, are you sure you're straight? I need to come check you out myself.

Too long but Interesting and a nice write up.

Bad thing na bad thing no matter how u take talkam

Midae said...

Thank you very much Chima, I have been waiting for an intelligent view on the matter.
N really too long??? We are becoming a drive through society, how many minutes really will it take to read this?? Knowledge is power

The Invisible Ken said...

let me tell u the truth. first u must understand that Nigeria (African) is a traditional country and they re just some thing that d African pple would never accept, it is termed abomination. gay pple has always existed but were nt proud of their act, many friends from childhood who act like girls grow up, change and become manly some of them are now married to female. (d case of the having sex was never of d increase) but with the increase in the worlds evil, you all now fight, lets legalize abortion, premarital sex, gay married e.t.c.
can u now see how something is wrong with us(are this things gud? don't they only destroy us?). condemning it is very gud and d law would help change ds pple for better their is no pride in man to man sex(there is a reason why male and females were created), its an abnormality against man and nature. let me not even start talking about God, we our selves should be able to see that there is a problem and gay is nt normal lets try to help them change rather than just leave them, and if still they would nt change that is for them, the good government of Nigeria would say we tried everything we can hence d law good to help create a balance

She might be right and I dont things guy men should be cretizie...everyone has to life his life...those who even cretizie guy dont even know where they will end up...Heaven Or Hell...so pls lets use our brains to think well

Fantastic....Chimamanda hit the nail on the head. She spoke my mind . PS: I am in love with this woman

Cillaviva said...

Nice write up Chimanda...one question though. Why is doing drugs a crime? I mean consuming it by a well consenting adult who thinks that that is the best way to live and enjoy his life? If you say health hazards, who is he hurting but himself? Answer..The West doesn't think its normal and so either locks them up or tries to rehabilitate them. By God I love everybody equally, gay or not BUT in noway thinks the act should be encouraged or forced down our throat like the world is trying to. The law maybe a harsh option but I tell you if the West didn't start making it look fashionable and almost as important as education, must of us wouldn't even avert our mind to it. Nigeria like most other African countries took the step they did in other to forestall the West from turning our society to what they have turned theirs into. Whether they are developed or not, America is a place of moral and social lawlessness.

I cried wen i read dz,u can imagine how pple treat effeminate guys lyk we r outcasts! i ddnt create myslf 4 God's sake !!iv always attracted attention cos of being different, girly,but dz is who n hw i am !wud i kill myslf becos pple tink am abnormal? plz !!nbdy z asking 4 gay marriage! but d law z jst cruel !especially to d feminine dude dat cant hide dier" gayness" !its really sad half of d comments on my pics were- ur too girly,ur gay... tanks chimamanda adichie !iv always loved u nw i adore u !!such an inspiration!! dat being said ,AM NOT GAY !

BRUCE G. said...

Thank you Chimimanda thank you very much, you couldn't have said it any better. You took those words right out of my mouth & you painted it well, you did justice to it, & broke it down more than i could have. Homosexuals did no harm to nobody Nigerians why can't we live & let them live.?

Nice write up but my fear is how some of them molest kids sexually. I think it's more traumatic And painful than d normal rape.

The Invisible Ken said...

let me tell u the truth. first u must understand that Nigeria (African) is a traditional country and they re just some thing that d African pple would never accept, it is termed abomination. gay pple has always existed but were nt proud of their act, many friends from childhood who act like girls grow up, change and become manly some of them are now married to female. (d case of the having sex was never of d increase) but with the increase in the worlds evil, you all now fight, lets legalize abortion, premarital sex, gay married e.t.c.
can u now see how something is wrong with us(are this things gud? don't they only destroy us?). condemning it is very gud and d law would help change ds pple for better their is no pride in man to man sex(there is a reason why male and females were created), its an abnormality against man and nature. let me not even start talking about God, we our selves should be able to see that there is a problem and gay is nt normal lets try to help them change rather than just leave them, and if still they would nt change that is for them, the good government of Nigeria would say we tried everything we can hence d law good to help create a balance

Logically chimamanda has said it all on gays as a scienticist after analysing her logic I go with her logic_superb analysis,simple & precise. No homo tho

oniisaac said...

hmmmmmm....

She was probably with Beyonce talking price for a collabo wen dey called nigerian to air their veiws, u've said yours. And it nt gonna change anything. And linda we know u female gay, enough of d gay freedom fighting, u can't be a female nelson. If u like swallow my comment with ur mouse. U probally wud av read it by den. No love lost

Nice write up and perhaps the law was harsh but......guy/les, I detest! Finish......

I think she's right, If we have to study are her explanation well. I appreciate u Adichie.

I had 2take my time nd read dis cox its Chimamanda's... Well nice write up buh evry 1 bi left with wat ðεƔ believe in #peaceout#

yewizzy said...

Well said, I seriously haven't been able to wrap my head round how who consenting adult decide to love is a problem..... isn't it the same Christianity that preaches 'don't judge'..... I really dont understand this country of mine, and you are all happy now that you have been successfully distracted by d govt. You are bothered about your gay neighbor, forgetting you have no electricity. Well played Jonathan

samuel nosa said...

Abeg make chiamanda abi wetin be her name go rest,the way I see it she's jst trying to please the west,maybe for an award or some shit...I don't believe in killing gays bt I believe in hate d sin not the sinner...

Tayo said...

Can the abnormality be treated? This gay thing can be passed into law..Its jst doesn't follow abeg..I knw it has been in existence and still existing but plsss..Not legalizing it.Animals may be homosexuals too,but most pple are yet to see them abeg.

linda u and dis gay matter... Na wa o...

I luv the part where she said democracy is to protect the minority, nd when û re among the majority, the minority becomes abnormal, true talk

Am highly dissapointment in Adiche. Because beyounce don recognise you abi...you should have decided not to have kids of your own too and get ursef a female partner too... God shall be your judge eventually, coz I know you havnt spoken out the real truth...

Pretty sure you're no oil painting either, you homosexual. Insulting people that disagree with your mental illness won't change anything

Na wa ooo!!! Bcuz u dey write well no mean say u write all of dis unto gay support of a tin. I like ur books no doubt about that sis!! But all of d write up unto gay support I ask again?Well...........u Chimamada,Linda ikeji,and sure many of us sha knows the truth unto this gay of a thing. Make we dey use our church mind ooooooo........and not just work with the society for some cheap fame,attention and what have you. It is well. God continually help us to live right and do things rightly in accordance to His name and word.

This is rubbish, arrant nonsense. In the beginning, God made them man and woman. God destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah cos of gay and lesibian. Mind what you say. Kimberly

Amaka said...

This is incredibly well written. I wish all Nigerians; you and I, were half as articulate, analytical and accepting as this article calls for. The premise for this unjust law is incredibly small minded and hypocritical.

Not d@ i support being gay,bt dis law is d most foolish thing our govt has done.tnx Chimamanda

Crap. Gay acts are better criminalized so things don't get out of hand. And they start kissing in public places and on the streets.Detrimental to d unborn generation

OJAI baby said...

Wonderful Chimamanda. Thats y i cant stay without reading ur books. Thanks alot.

Very nice indeed! But she is right.

Iyke Igboaka said...

#yawns it no qoncern me or Bros Jona weda u ryt like OBJ or Like aunty Iyabo na ur mata Gays are not accepted .......Ewwww man kissin man...... gross!!!! Tufiakwa!!! Since ur Igbo u knw wetin be ALU!!!! Gaygbukwaa onwe gi ebeaa .........mtcheew

@Swagzkidie.

Chimamanda!!! What a waste you are... Your facts are totally baseless and unaceptable. The question we should ask ourselves is, Is this normal? I mean, how could anyone wantd to be gay fo God sake. Somtin is bin tampered with for sure.

Your write up is really nice cos you are actually a story teller, but that doesn't make being gay right neither does it make imprisoning them right.I am so indifferent about this issue. The "matter" "gay thing" became so popular the min they passed it into law. On a 2nd thought, Why On earth would u want a woman when there are "huge third legs" looking for who to satisfy.

Nice piece

Makes sense to an extent.

Well, wetin man go talk? We all know that we will die but not everyone believes that heaven and hell is real which I do believe in. So, all of you who want to enjoy only on earth should. But, that's your effing business.
TheOjukwu - Just Reporting.

Are u for God side or gay side which be Specific for the bible say Leviticus 18:22
"Do not practice homosexuality, having sex with another man as with a woman. It is a detestable sin." (NLT) Leviticus 20:13
"If a man practices homosexuality, having sex with another man as with a woman, both men have committed a detestable act. They must both be put to death, for they are guilty of a capital offense." (NLT) so be cearful with what u say.

Wiping dead sentiment

good arguement but i disagree with u. the Bible called homosexuality an abomination to God and not just a sin. wat u are trying to say is that u are wiser than God that made man and woman. somiajae

somiajae said...

good arguement but i disagree with u. the Bible called homosexuality an abomination to God and not just a sin. wat u are trying to say is that u are wiser than God that made man and woman

Yusuf Olowo said...

Nice write up, I really respect are novel/story! I used to be a literature student Mrs CA
If your parent where gay will they have given birth to you?
If your child was a gay would you have approved?
You said the bible does not mean the basis of the law we approved, are you sure you actually read the bible or the back?
Gays are in Existence for a long time yes, but do we nid to follow other country?
Which specie have feelings for each other?
People who support gay are not gay, there generation are not gay.
If your child is gay Mrs CA I will support the gay community. Prove me wrong.

My 1st comment ever on dis blog!!Chimanda jst spelt my Mind!!I dnt undy d Fuss abt being gay,its a choice n if truly democracy is abt speaking out d voice of d minority,dn d law shld be reversed!am straight bt I can undy d hell Gays r in now!

MOVIES WITH ASK said...

Good write up and I must say, very thoughtful. I agree that the law is uncalled for but sadly many Nigerians will read this article in the morning and still be stubborn headed to reasoning. why? because w are in a society that is still disillusioned by the doctrines of religion.
Developed countries in Europe went through dark periods like ours where women suspected to be witches were either stoned or burnt to death in the glare of the public, so did homosexuals too but through struggle from the control of the church, people emancipated themselves mentally and today this countries have displayed interest in the protection of rights of every citizen notwithstanding their background, even animals!
But I am against the part of her write up where she said that a law is only passed against activities that are criminal natured. Recently the Lagos state government signed the law prohibiting citizens from smoking in public, and for those who want to quickly criticize, such law has already been passed long ago in some developed countries. Now a law can be passed against activities that are harmful to the health of others, or even of negative influence. I believe the primary focus of the Anti gay law is to steep its influence especially on our gullible young population who seem to accept any trend as pop culture. We are already seeing it in entertainment mags and blogs with popular people coming out of their closets, and remember, that these famous guys have a strong influence.
Whether you like it or not we live in a society where God is given the high accord as the author and finisher of our faith. But we are also very gullible to the influence of high profile men, especially religious ones who tell us to jump in a well and we all excitedly oblige.
The issue of the Anti gay law is a very delicate matter but also one should not be fooled to believe that it is an issue that demands one to be for or against. One needs to take time and critically examine both arguments because I believe that there are always different sides of a story.
But I will still reiterate that Nigerians should emancipate their minds from mental slavery and cease to continue allowing others think for them, instead, they should imbibe the habit of thinking critically rather than just going with the crowd. ONE NIGERIA!

Igor said...

Dear Chimamanda,we love,you are the succesor to the throne that Chinua Achebe once sat on.But please,the anti gay law has come to stay,and it was supported by most Nigerians.In democracy,they say,'majority carries the vote'.

How can u say if dat is the proplem of nigeria do want the riot of God upon us or what is ur point linda u call u name.

A thought provoking piece by Chimamanda Adiche, the oracle has spoken at last.

Omg somebody out dere feels exactly how I feel. I knw many gays. I have dem as friends. Dey are d most harmless persons I have ever encountered. Always supportive n all. Nigeria has a problem. Too many bt believe me, being gay or not is not one of dem. Our govt needs to wake up n stop dis deir attention seeking wiv gay law nosense. Even brain almost damaged kola boof nw writes abt Nigeria n our gay law as if she lives in our backyard. We need to wake up n face d important tins. Thanks. My humble opinion. U can actually cus if u feel like. Freedom of speech or is dere speech law nw? Just asking

yung said...

@chiamanda, we are Africans, And we ave norms ok, Gay shit is not one of dem.. U can kip u write up to yourself!! We are not intrested anymore,bcos u jus failed the African race.... Mstcheeeeeeew!

She resides in US therefore this write up will impress her Fan base but here in 9ja we say #nohomo

U r crazy ngozi! Would u hv been born if ur mother was gay? And Linda I think u support dis. You better don't let d wrath of God fall on you .

1 Corinthians 6:9-11
Don't you realize that those who do wrong will not inherit the Kingdom of God? Don't fool yourselves. Those who indulge in sexual sin, or who worship idols, or commit adultery, or are male prostitutes, or practice homosexuality, or are thieves, or greedy people, or drunkards, or are abusive, or cheat people-none of these will inherit the Kingdom of God. Some of you were once like that. But you were cleansed; you were made holy; you were made right with God by calling on the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God. (NLT)

Say somtin new U fucking faggot! I dare u to shw ur miserable face, imbecile!

Linda nd ngozi. I hope both of u ain't crazy? If your mother was gay. Would u hav been born?

Adichie, this is just a wonderful piece from you,welldone girl.Sandy Berry.

Jude 7
And don't forget Sodom and Gomorrah and their neighboring towns, which were filled with immorality and every kind of sexual perversion. Those cities were destroyed by fire and serve as a warning of the eternal fire of God's judgment. (NIV)

Intelligent girl

Y would she support gay,when she reside in Uk.idiat oshi

Nice write up, chimamanda is a genius!

Babe I like you but protection of the minority thing is nonsense, why are we still protecting the nigerian thieves who steal billions while in power, are they not the minority but we are protecting them. Homosexualism abi homo na RUBBISH, Jonathan if you have ever done anything in your life, this is it. So don't try nonsense

Mrs writer well done, you have finished talking se? Our bill has been passed on this matter gbam! Capital NO to homosexuality

1 Timothy 1:8-10
Now we know that the law is good, if one uses it lawfully, understanding this, that the law is not laid down for the just but for the lawless and disobedient, for the ungodly and sinners, for the unholy and profane, for those who strike their fathers and mothers, for murderers, the sexually immoral, men who practice homosexuality, enslavers, liars, perjurers, and whatever else is contrary to sound doctrine ... (ESV)

NGOZI Adichie. Pls concentrate on ur fictional world where u r King. U hv no morals. Why do u want to bring out ur past. Have u forgotten your past. How many of ur peers u lured into loosing their vicinity to ur brother if they wanted to be ur friend ? NGOZI u r brilliant but u hv no morals dat is why u were never made a Head girl in University Secondary school despite the fact that u were d most intelligent girl in ur set. How dare you talk and refer to d Bible dat way? If ur parents practice d homosexuality would they have had u?Homosexuality is a deviant behaviour. Same as corruption and other social vices. Repent 😭

I totally agree. Had the same talk with my dad. If adulterey is morally wrong, but you don't get arrested then why should gays be? We shouldn't pass laws just cos our moral sensibilities are being offended.

matylda said...

I love u Chimmamanda. U have said it all....Nice write up!

@ anon 2.26 your mother is ugly,fat and obese.Bastard...Show your ugly face.Mtsheeew!

Abeg she should go away. Because she has a voice now, she can tell us Nigerians what law to pass. Abeg park well. HISS!
Linda, you are focusing on homosexualism that is clearly a sin in your bible but you are silent on innocent people getting killed by Boko Haram. God help you.

Ngozi please shut up nd face ur books.if u dnt want to date d bible deb shut up please. U feel u r too educated to obey d laws of d bible den keep shut

Ireti said...

Wow!!! My respect for chimamanda just tripled.excellent write up

IH said...

Loved your writing, as always. Contained some home truths. But... you advocate for natural African hair and trace your brows with a pencil? #dontstraddlethefence

My opinion have always been dont legalized their union but should not criminalize the system.why do government want send to jail and that has been the stand of USA and UK.most gay people are actually sick of certain hormonal imbalance where some became as result of association .

Ki loruko idiot yi na.....I need to check her name again but I don't have enough time,if devil create you as gay,why didn't you tell God that you want to be. Like normal ppl,Bible and Quiran condemmed it and our tradition in Nigeria (hausa,igbo and. Yoruba)did not accept it,nibo ni iwo omo jatijati yi ti femu wa.....olori bobo ekeji aja,afofun gbemu omo,olowo ko doro to ko ikokuko.....let me hear you talking again....

can you lety your son be gay? I guess your likely going to scold him.some things are better said than done,what government is doing,is help to gay people,it is a way of telling them that what they are into is not right,if left unchecked ,trust Nigerian,every one will be gay over night

@iam_emmadisiac said...

She is writing from the view of a naturalist, some see it from a religious perspective. Good job tho

This was an amazing ryt up... She has trully stood up to question this unjust law.. With rational thinking. I dare any1 to challenge her that's.....

i luv dis story vry much...nigerians ar fools,dey kip rejoicin abt d new law.stupid country,stupid presidnt

Whatever, chew ma bitter kola and walk away

ANITA said...

Nigeria is not a democratic government....if they can't legalize
it,they should not let list it is as a crime....d fact that they sin diff from us doesn't make us saint....

musty said...

chimamanda is one brilliant woman...

U made a point but I still support the anti gay bill..

ric said...

Am regretting the way I strongly supported this anti gay law. The best thing is to judge no one and Let God judge the world he created.

Steve Kola said...

As much as I greatly admire and respect the writings of Adichie, I vehemently disagree with her position on the Gay law. We live in a country notorious for racing after the fad. We copy and copy however bad what is being copied is. The current fad is same sex relationship and we like before are copying again..

I am not bothered about what the fad is in the US or Britain or France or any part of the world, I am bothered about the position of God on it and His original plan for man. God condemn same sex relationship and for me that put an end to the arguments against the Gay law. If God had allowed it in Sodom and Gomorah, then there would have been no reason not to allow it to flourish in the world but because of sins like this, God destroyed Sodom and Gomorah.

Adichie must remember that the law is the law. Reason and common sense might be overthrown by the law but reason and common sense must never be allowed to overthrow the law or our whole society would become like a tatami. The law might appear stupid to some people now but without this law, Nigeria will be taken and consume by the gay world.

Am so impressed by chimamda's write up...i hope dos dumb law makers get a wind of dis

Wow, she got me thinkin again. Wow her points r so real nd visible. Really nice write up

Mz homosharlwah

she may be ryt.but it wnt change a thing.this simply trying to call shit fried rice.

This is by far the BEST write-up on gay rights.....Chimamanda is an Amazing writer.
------Z

Chimamanda. Let me personally applaud your writing sequence. It is beautiful in its way. But I also hope you remember that even in the USA, freedom to homosexuals still hasn't gotten majority votes. There's still a lot of talks about it.
We, my likes that vehemently oppose these psychological disorder that I believe can be corrected are very satisfied with the government's legislation on it.
I will not bring the religious affiliations to the matter, but don't you think the freedom in the west is insane? We were all born of the natural mix of a dad and mom, that's exactly what will always give you the smirk about two homosexuals living as man and wife, whereas they are two men. Its an obstruction of nature, delusional disoder.
Apart from the few you claimed like Sochukwu, which is just mental instability, don't know how is it linked to wanting Chinedu, the other lot engaged in this nasty experiment were never born shy or timid. They capitalize on the free flight of freedom and do all sorts.
Correct me if am wrong, but I remain, NiGERIAN.
MTUSH!
294105de

Linda, e be like say u dey support homo, dis na nonsense.

Pure semantics. Issue is we abhor homosexuality. Period.

Dear Chimanda,
I know some folks in primary school as well who had a knack for taking what didnt belong to them! We also didnt exactly have a word for them for we knew not kletomaniac @ the time! But thank God there is a law against theft, whether you were born a klepto or acquired it, whether klepto are minority or not.
As for Sochukwuma, I must say he wasnt gay @ the time and if he was removed/re-programmed he wouldnt turn out gay.
I have seen ex-tomboys turn out to be very Lady-Like, I have also seen some girly-boys eventually act "NORMAL".
This Law is good. God bless Nigeria

She could have given facts from her findings , but I stand to still question her write up, society is built on her beliefs and ethics and the gay system of living is against our societal beliefs on all standards.

Bia linda update about ur friends annie and tuface...no smoke without fire

Gift Amadi said...

This article jst made my day...

My Question is if their parents were gay, wil they b here forming gay? Plus I dn't think any woman who truely knw d God given power of women over men wil nt support this. @ d long run gayism wil end d human race.Women shld read b/w d line cus when a man gt all he need sexually, emotionally, etc frm another man,his need 4 her is 70 met, it go d other round 2. I stand 2 b corrected. We r animal yes bt we r higher in every thing so we shld nt desnd 2 lower animal cus we wnt 2 prove d point gayism is natural. It is nt natural 4 a brother 2 preffer fckin brother instead of dem swt sis n d other way round 2. This might b d only reasonable tin done by d current admistration.

Great article. Great. I could hear her voice from the words. God bless you.

Nyc article...

Interesting article...but you still can't convince some of us

Yea,it really does not show will are praticing democracy,but would u have alow ur child to put he's or her hand into a burning fire..of cus not.to M̶̲̥̅̊y̶̲̥̅̊.own understanding the creator(GOD)never created a man to be like a woman likewise women,behaving like a woman does not make u a woman or should will say him(GOD)made mistake in giving u r/organs of men! I also have seeing a boy who grow up in a family of 5girls who behavios like a girl to be short ur an igbo girl with amarican satanic reasoning,we don't practice that in Nigeria,cus the creator(GOD)did'nt mistake in creating u chimamanda a(woman)

Chimamanda on dis one,its a total foul on Ur side,forget all dis hypocrites dat will spprt U on dis one.those gay pple or watever u call dem need medical or herbal attention,they re not well.See as Man body strong reach,den I go say I wan nak Man,God forbid bad thing. Pls dnt write dis type of thing again thank U.Lokmak

Finally, someone who sees the light that many other Nigerians are too myopic to be able to comprehend. This is a beautiful writeup........ Kudos to chimamanda, and linda. I love you both!

Facts and truth in black and white... Chimamanda would never do any wrong in my eyes.

Homosexuality is not a crime, I agree... But I don't think we in this part of the world are ready to embrace a reality of seeing two people of the same sex kissing and making out in public. Our mentality and consciousness hasn't grown to that point of accepting the gay community. In as much as I do not agree with the anti gay law and seriously condemn it, it shouuldn't mean we should encourage gayism nor accept it. This is not a question of right or wrong nor about who are we to judge, it is about the readiness to accept, to overlook and to understand, that time may come but I don't think that time is now....

Even dis ones dat re supporting dis Ur write up shud be checked as well. Thank U.Lokmak

Zeus said...

We appreciate your "intelligence" miss Adichie, but we cannot be hoodwinked. You have obviously been brainwashed by the white man. Again,your comments are contradictory. You alleged that the passage of the law was a failure of our democracy. But I thought the white man told us that in a democracy,the majority should have their way while the minority can only have their say. Nigerians have never been unanimous in supporting a law like they are on this one. Even some gays are in support of it. Lady, we have passed this law,and no amount of attempted brainwashing can tilt our minds towards repealing it. My advice for the sick minds that call themselves gays is for them to be more cautious in their anal explorations. Better still,they can seek for asylum in the West,because if we catch them,nobody is going to be sympathetic to their case.

Chimamanda on dis one,its a total foul on Ur side,forget all dis hypocrites dat will spprt U on dis one.those gay pple or watever u call dem need medical or herbal attention,they re not well.See as Man body strong reach,den I go say I wan nak Man,God forbid bad thing. Pls dnt write dis type of thing again thank U.Lokmak

Well said..

Finally, someone who sees the light that many other Nigerians are too myopic to be able to comprehend. This is a beautiful writeup........ Kudos to chimamanda, and linda. I love you both!

Shelle D said...

Chimamanda did not write this? some gay dude probably did and it is here already
WE Are people of culture and when a people have culture they have Morals
No culture in Africa Tolerate same sex relationship or Marriage.
This is not who we are and such act should not be celebrated.
They should not this that is anti-cultural to us.
This people make it sound like normal people are the only ones molesting them.
The gay act molests and disturbs the psychology of any morally balanced individual.
you might not understand this unless you have been approached by one.it causes anger pain and hatred.
African arent slaves anymore.The west should leave us alone and let us make laws that are right for our people because we know what is best for our people. same sex relationship or marriage will never be celebrated in Africa.

Wow Is All I Can Say, The Write Up Made A Lot Of Sense. More Things To Worry About Than Passing The Rubbish Law, Just To Divert Attention And Not Doing What U Suppose To Do. One.!!

Linda is trying to make a bold statement, and she is gonna be the 1st Nigerian to do it openly...

She's so cute .. Nd d article is just too interesting..@ anon 2:26pm.... U ar very stupid is that lady f@.... Mumu u want her to b as skinny as u.. Ewu.. . If ur father ws gay u wunt b in dis sweet world. Sinful useless tin..

Taiwo esther1

Laundry enthusiasts said...

WhAt makes you normal or otherwise is the prevalence of such. Take the people we consider psychos for instance...why..not always because they are dangerous..Some..in fact a great many are benign..but what is not normal doesn't require an octa-core brain to decipher. It's not rocket science. What is permissiveness blinding people to common reason. When a human being begins to bark..its time he is turned over 2d medic. Homosexuality is not on d same page as divorce and fornication dearie...same sex is inhuman except you are really foreseeing an asexual human race.

Is she gay......same sex marriage is evil period....

U all have lost it for sure. Mtseeew, RETARDS. PERVERTS.

*Intelligence* speaking, Chimamanda....Bless u girl.....A lot of Nigerians r educated illetrates.

This is the best thing u Linda ve ever posted. Well said. Let the idiots that read ur blog start commenting n showing off their illiteracy

Wow! Spoken the minds of many. Thumbs up Chimamanda

Beautiful write up! Seems its what I've been waiting for for ages..Nigerians are freaking myopic! Stupidly foolishly myopic! The reckless adulterer is even more harm than the gay fellow! I just don't get it with this shallow narrow minded Nigerians! Idiots! Thanks Chimamanda!

Rubbish write up is not our culture is not our culture above all is a sin so whether u write 1million page about it our stand as nigerians remain NO to same sex relationship.

IG - @Hairbyniyot_ (08135891923) said...

Love dis lady.its nt their fault they r gay

People Just write to be recognised. Anything and I mean anything that made My God so very angry that he destroyed a Nation including the flies but saves just one family, NNE it is a serious something.

I am sure we have all heard that God is always with us through our battles and that He never gives us challenges we can't win. We can't accept living in Sin, we have to first accept its a sin then work towards defeating it, but NO you all want me to be destroyed because of other peoples lack of determination.

Please let's be careful what we advice. The purchase of your books will increase by the gay community, my one cent will never go to your books again.

Chiamamanda, u took the words right out of of my mouth. In as much as i abhor homosexuality, this law is inhumane and uncalled for. Thanks Amanda!
Ogo

I wonder what u look like ratty

My question is if same sex marriage is allowed could that lead to birth of many bastard in the land?

femojie said...

Gbam!!! Nice write up

Someone with brains finally speaks fact!!

This is a well structurerd letter. However, there are concerns to the content.Democracy and law is often times measured by what Americans and British have defined leaving the rest to follow or be labelled anti democratic governance. A society is free by standard to define what constitute their rule of law. In Igbo settings which to me is one of the old democratic reference point, there is what is referred to as "aruh" or "taboo". Morally gay is abnormal. Medically, it is anti procreation and also harmful, physically, it is repelling, spiritually, it is a sin and culturally, it is aruh. It does not matter how much structured grammer we put around this act, it is anti social. please it is not part of our culture and can never be period.

U have a right tthink what u tink. But keep it out of nigeria please. The end result of gay right will be doom for generations to come . Mo

candygirl said...

Blah blah blah,nne biko o di too long oooo and there's no way I could read from top down when its not a jamb question or worse a test!*wipes forhead*ehen bia Lindiway why are you always writing about gay rights biko?hmmmm Lindiwayyyyyyy I don dey look u with one eye oo

This is how intelligent people act. This actually makes a lot of sense. We have other issues to deal with as a country. Gay people are the least of our insignificant problems. Instead of the prisons being filled with armed robbers who actually commit criminal acts, it will be full of gay people. Policemen will start raping innocent girls who are assumed to be lesbians and we should just expect a lot of "aluu 4" because that is what is going to start happening now.

I like the part when she says Gay people have existed as long as humans have existed. And life still continue..so what are we now saying

I totally agree with her

I like the part when she says Gay people have existed as long as humans have existed. And life still continue..so what are we now saying

Dear Chimamanda,ur sochukwu write up sounds peotic but that is all is there is to it. You must know now that because you wrote it doesn't mean u re an authority in the subject matter. Am tired of people claming that law against gayism is against human right contained in the constitution and that it shouldn't be a priority in a country with many problems. As a lawyer I can tell u that no human right is absolute,else there won't be law and order in a society hence they all have an exception. You should also know that what informs law is morality.Gay is strange to our culture and if the west wants to complain so much about it,they should first legalise bigamy in their country bcos that is also against "human right"of a man who has a right to choose how many people to love and marry. I must state at this juncture that Nigeria is a sovereign state and can make its laws without interferance from foreign countries as long as it pass through the necessary processes in the parliament. As for passage of this law being given priority where we have many problems I will answer it with a question,what is the yardstick for choosing priority??problems are solved as they come.that you don't see it yet doesn't mean nothing is being done.

Is she gay now since she never marry? Na waa see as she wan make bad thing look good!!!

She is quite right

Mtchewwwww...... Gayyyyyyeeeee!!!!

Yes CHIMAMANDA......A vry succint account u gav there, I wud say dis story came @ d ryt time, it just sent cold chill down my spine.....d essence of passing a Law should be due 2 d menace and probs emanating 4rm dat particular issue......can d presidency and Nigeria lay dia hands on any???? I guess d answer will be collectively NO......we only passed d law due to d rave of d moment.....gayism is gainin grounds in UK nd d US......but its of essence we do d needful......Lemme quickly remind us dat Nigerian gay men cannot be found within d sphere of paedophiles,criminals,murderers,kidnappers,ritualists, rada u"ll find dem amongst Dooctors,engineers,lecturers,pastors,gospel singers,Models,fashionistas etc......these are ppl with extraoordinary talents,contributin 2 national growth n dev in dia own capacity.....show me a MAN with successful career and I will show u a GAY MAN besyd him,givin him useful advise.......am nt here 2 blow dia trumpets but really am talkin 4rm encounters I've had with dem......wot more can I possibly say....wen a country decides 2 criminalise its own citizen just 4 d mere reason of sexuality....wot is sexuality anyway???? Ppl now live in dispair,anguish,untold fear of repraisal, with mob attacks gaining grounds on 2days news......this is wot happens wen a nation has totally lost its focus....(More like a plane in d Bermuda triangle)...dis ppl are our brothers,sisters,uncles,aunties,cousins, wot will Nigeria achieve in subjecting dia citizens 2 permanent self arrest,yes Nigerian ladies condem gays....nt knwin dey will turn out 2 be ur husbands and keep dia illicit lifestyle away 4rm u....wich is beta???? ....in its entirety d law is simply not neccesary.....

This is why she is one of the best Writers in Africa...... Telling a story yet hitting the nail on the head...... I support the "anti-gay" law, but this Lady is got me re-thinking....... "Live and let live"..... "Fornication, Adultery and Divorce are all sins in the Holy book, yet are not considered criminal offences in the Law"...... She's really convincing........

From my spiritual point of view, I will nt condole such act just like I don't admire lairs, fornicators, thieves etc bt I believe they should be protected nt condemned.

Inasmuch as I respect the the thoughts of Chima, it still does not take away the fact that each society has a right to enact laws that a congruent with heir beliefs.

The fact that underdeveloped countries like ours make laws that are not in line with what the west believes should not be the basis of this criticism. A vast majority of Russian population have the same opinion like Nigerians and this subject. They even go as far as mob actions with video recordings and the west won't witch-hunt like Nigeria is being.

Chima has lived a substantial part of her life outside of the country and won't blame her for her opinion on the subject. Only a few days ago, a friend of mine expressed the "I don't really care" attitude about the subject during one of our group discussions, of course he has now lived only 4yrs outside of the country.

When the anti-black-white marriage was popular in America, who fought it? An when it came of age to be put aside, it was done.

Laws are meant to be popular, like Chi acknowledged, and will never be total.

This is a lovely piece by Chimamanda, being gay might be a sin and Un-African but you cannot imprison someone for being different.

Seun Adegbite said...

You wtote "A crime harms society. On what basis is homosexuality a crime?"
I'll answer you by asking you, how does sex in public harms a society? It is an act between two consenting adults and they require no third party to play any role. So why is it outlawed in many parts of the world?
It is because it is considered an indecent act by those societies. Any society can outlaw an act it considers indecent. Yes, democracy is to protect the people - both majority and the minority. But democracy is also a form of government where the majority have their way and the minority have their say. The majority have their way in passing the anti-gay bill into law and the minority - the gays and their advocates like you are having your say. On this basis I expect you to agree criminalizing homosexuality in Nigeria is democratic.

Lol, I pity u, ur own words is never beyond ugly, fat, obese Nigerians blah blah blah. U re such a daft, that anytime I come across this ur wishy washy comment I SMH# Chimamamda has just written something, her perspective on this issue might change d way some people see ds gay issue, some people might even learn 2 b less judgemental about this issue. But if she had carried on like u a stupid, tactless n a worthless human being that can't speak intelligently why gay people shld be cut some slack, then she might not be communicating d way u re not. U re such a freaking imbecile with a disgusting approach 2 ds issue n really I pity d womb that bore u. Faceless will u continue 2 remain, cos ur sentiments on this issue (U IN PARTICULAR) holds no weight.

OK how abt gals do gals bt guys don't ,I mean come on ass holes smells....backstage

Toyeen Alimi said...

Lovely write up...

I will never support any act of imorality, we have more problems to deal with than add this gay issue to it. This act should be condemned outrightly in its entirety period.

Ms Adichie, you failed this one woefully. Go and get married miss. Call evil, evil. It is simply called evulzz. Copy that.

Learn 2 read, what is long about this write up? Mtchewww.

Very brilliant write up.

IG - @Hairbyniyot_ (08135891923) said...

Love dis lady,she's got talent
It's nt dia fault they r born Dt way

Yeah some of us do have Sochukwuma's protege as a brother, neighbour, classmate, friend etc. Believe me a guy murdered himself for not fitting into the 'straight man's world'. Think! If he were your brother would you hate him for having a nature he can't even explain? Let God be the judge Nigerians!

This girl has voiced every single point i have made. Almost verbatim. I tire of this debate because sometimes i feel my words are not being heard. Hopefully someone as well respected as chimamanda will make a difference. Maybe she will reach someone.

Wow!! Adiche I have never really liked u in the past...but trust me when I say am in love with u now...u just spoke what I hving bin trying to say for the past weeks..GOD BLESS U MY LOVE...

temidire A said...

Niigeria laws are just too anoyn........how can u blame n sentenc som1 for bn Wu he is,he dint creat himself for cryn out loud.*sad* dey won't just focus on d important problems

We don hear oooo! Go sleep or keep writing abt biafra. Mumu we nor want same sex marriage. D law isn't abt what u do in d privacy of ur house bt what u do outtside. Since it's freedom of speech let Nigerians have that freedom 2 condemn or commmend what sexual prefence up for discussion. Besides Madam half of a yellow sun, dis u care 2 find outt if that sochukuma was ever molested @ a tender age? So b4 u go all vocal I suggest u think. And Linda u r a lesbian. If u lk no post am.

peperina said...

Even if she write millon actle, the bible still condem HOMOSEXUAL! God punish ur supporters! I pray u go 2 hell. Dont worry one of ur daughter wil bring home fellow girl 4 marriage. Stupid Acticule!

She's absolutely right.

Thank you. Nigerian government have misplaced priorities. That being said, I was sexually abused as a child and you know it is a chain you teach other children. Doing girls was never an issue but as I grew I realised I was straight. I wasnt attracted to Ladies.

I remember Ijanikin, two girls from my set were beaten because of same sex. I wish we knew then.

In my life, I have met people who are gay and amazing. They are normal people like you and I. Let's give them a chance not to marry opposite sex for show up

Its a very nice piece! Not brainless especially dat part "we turned on CNN and watched the western world debating homosexuality and we decided to implement our own by jailing" I would personally call dat rit up "NO BODY HOLY PASS

Thank you Chimamanda Adichie, very balanced write up

VEEE said...

NICE WRITE UP.

Its nice and convincing. It doesn't make Homosexuality acceptable or a different kind of normal. Also as Christians let's not be found as adulterous or fornicators lest we receive the same punishment as gay people.

Lemme start wiv u u faggot.. If it pains u dat dey ar being
insulted, press die buh dey always wil. U always post dis nonsense here, show ur face if ur bold coz dats wot bold gays do. Tramp, u choose dat life n God wil punish u wen u hav d desire 2 hav kids. U wil die in ur gay partner's arms. Dat shud b ur dream coz I dream same 4 u!! God 4saken fool!! Ewu Ethiopia!!! Pervert!!

She's just the best.

Chimamanda is officially the best writer of our time in this country. We all have sochukwumas in our different lives. They are our friends, siblings,kids,neighbours etc. Let's protect them. D ball might be in ur court tommorow. Let's hop off d bandwagon and have a rethink.

Sayo said...

I av been giving people this exact line of argument o.... Its so sad many are either too ignorant to get it or too proud to understand other standpoints.

Thank you Chimamanda!

The worst thing about this law is that it would teach our children hate. When they study in school and are taught to be close minded, ignorant and hateful of other human beings. Nigeria has taken a huge step backward in a time when others are being more tolerant. Too bad

Jerry4U said...

Nice write-up, but incomplete truth. She just have facts, but biased truth.

Jeeez I love this gurl.....she said t all. Y don't we hv acceptance for them?y do many ppl preach soo much hate?they ddnt hurt anyone. Ol dey did was fall in love with the same sex? Its not unafrican....t has never been. No freedom till we equal...damn right I support it.

SYLVIA MARTINS said...

I love the write up cz it made sense.

This is very deep and thought provoking with many, many insightful ideas. I am not promoting homosexuality but I have no idea what it feels like to be gay so who am I to judge or condemn. I say let us live and let live, let us show each other love and if homosexuality is wrong, let God be the judge not us. In the mean time let's treat each other with respect and perhaps that could encourage change, that is, if change is truly needed

Y didn't you end up like one of d *sochukwuma*. Gay is Gay madam writer. Search your bible well. I hope this not a chapter of a new book.

MINTO said...

By the time you are done reading this,you'd literally have nothing to say coz its a lengthy write-up. Tiring too.#boring

“A crime is a crime for a reason. A crime has victims. A crime harms society. On what basis is homosexuality a crime? Adults do no harm to society in how they love and whom they love.” - I used to be very homophobic and loved the anti-gay bill but damn! Those lines struck me. I'm begining to see these gay thing from an entirely different angle.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 400 of 1162   Newer› Newest»