Must read! Chimamanda Adichie writes on the anti-gay law | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 19 February 2014

Must read! Chimamanda Adichie writes on the anti-gay law

Article written by award winning writer Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie titled 'Why can’t he just be like everyone else?'  Find it below...
I will call him Sochukwuma. A thin, smiling boy who liked to play with us girls at the university primary school in Nsukka. We were young. We knew he was different, we said, ‘he’s not like the other boys.’ But his was a benign and unquestioned difference; it was simply what it was. We did not have a name for him. We did not know the word ‘gay.’ He was Sochukwuma and he was friendly and he played oga so well that his side always won.
In secondary school, some boys in his class tried to throw Sochukwuma off a second floor balcony. They were strapping teenagers who had learned to notice, and fear, difference. They had a name for him. Homo. They mocked him because his hips swayed when he walked and his hands fluttered when he spoke. He brushed away their taunts, silently, sometimes grinning an uncomfortable grin. He must have wished that he could be what they wanted him to be. I imagine now how helplessly lonely he must have felt. The boys often asked, “Why can’t he just be like everyone else?”

Possible answers to that question include ‘because he is abnormal,’ ‘because he is a sinner, ‘because he chose the lifestyle.’ But the truest answer is ‘We don’t know.’ There is humility and humanity in accepting that there are things we simply don’t know. At the age of 8, Sochukwuma was obviously different.  It was not about sex, because it could not possibly have been – his hormones were of course not yet fully formed – but it was an awareness of himself, and other children’s awareness of him, as different. He could not have ‘chosen the lifestyle’ because he was too young to do so. And why would he – or anybody – choose to be homosexual in a world that makes life so difficult for homosexuals?

The new law that criminalizes homosexuality is popular among Nigerians. But it shows a failure of our democracy, because the mark of a true democracy is not in the rule of its majority but in the protection of its minority – otherwise mob justice would be considered democratic. The law is also unconstitutional, ambiguous, and a strange priority in a country with so many real problems. Above all else, however, it is unjust. Even if this was not a country of abysmal electricity supply where university graduates are barely literate and people die of easily-treatable causes and Boko Haram commits casual mass murders, this law would still be unjust.  We cannot be a just society unless we are able to accommodate benign difference, accept benign difference, live and let live. We may not understand homosexuality, we may find it personally abhorrent but our response cannot be to criminalize it.

A crime is a crime for a reason. A crime has victims. A crime harms society. On what basis is homosexuality a crime? Adults do no harm to society in how they love and whom they love. This is a law that will not prevent crime, but will, instead, lead to crimes of violence: there are already, in different parts of Nigeria, attacks on people ‘suspected’ of being gay. Ours is a society where men are openly affectionate with one another. Men hold hands. Men hug each other. Shall we now arrest friends who share a hotel room, or who walk side by side? How do we determine the clunky expressions in the law – ‘mutually beneficial,’ ‘directly or indirectly?’

Many Nigerians support the law because they believe the Bible condemns homosexuality. The Bible can be a basis for how we choose to live our personal lives, but it cannot be a basis for the laws we pass, not only because the holy books of different religions do not have equal significance for all Nigerians but also because the holy books are read differently by different people. The Bible, for example, also condemns fornication and adultery and divorce, but they are not crimes.
For supporters of the law, there seems to be something about homosexuality that sets it apart. A sense that it is not ‘normal.’ If we are part of a majority group, we tend to think others in minority groups are abnormal, not because they have done anything wrong, but because we have defined normal to be what we are and since they are not like us, then they are abnormal. Supporters of the law want a certain semblance of human homogeneity. But we cannot legislate into existence a world that does not exist: the truth of our human condition is that we are a diverse, multi-faceted species. The measure of our humanity lies, in part, in how we think of those different from us. We cannot – should not – have empathy only for people who are like us.

Some supporters of the law have asked – what is next, a marriage between a man and a dog?’ Or ‘have you seen animals being gay?’ (Actually, studies show that there is homosexual behavior in many species of animals.) But, quite simply, people are not dogs, and to accept the premise – that a homosexual is comparable to an animal – is inhumane. We cannot reduce the humanity of our fellow men and women because of how and who they love. Some animals eat their own kind, others desert their young. Shall we follow those examples, too?

Other supporters suggest that gay men sexually abuse little boys. But pedophilia and homosexuality are two very different things. There are men who abuse little girls, and women who abuse little boys, and we do not presume that they do it because they are heterosexuals. Child molestation is an ugly crime that is committed by both straight and gay adults (this is why it is a crime: children, by virtue of being non-adults, require protection and are unable to give sexual consent).

There has also been some nationalist posturing among supporters of the law. Homosexuality is ‘unafrican,’ they say, and we will not become like the west. The west is not exactly a homosexual haven; acts of discrimination against homosexuals are not uncommon in the US and Europe. But it is the idea of ‘unafricanness’ that is truly insidious. Sochukwuma was born of Igbo parents and had Igbo grandparents and Igbo great-grandparents. He was born a person who would romantically love other men. Many Nigerians know somebody like him. The boy who behaved like a girl. The girl who behaved like a boy. The effeminate man. The unusual woman. These were people we knew, people like us, born and raised on African soil. How then are they ‘unafrican?’

If anything, it is the passage of the law itself that is ‘unafrican.’ It goes against the values of tolerance and ‘live and let live’ that are part of many African cultures. (In 1970s Igboland, Area Scatter was a popular musician, a man who dressed like a woman, wore makeup, plaited his hair. We don’t know if he was gay – I think he was – but if he performed today, he could conceivably be sentenced to fourteen years in prison. For being who he is.) And it is informed not by a home-grown debate but by a cynically borrowed one: we turned on CNN and heard western countries debating ‘same sex marriage’ and we decided that we, too, would pass a law banning same sex marriage. Where, in Nigeria, whose constitution defines marriage as being between a man and a woman, has any homosexual asked for same-sex marriage?

This is an unjust law. It should be repealed. Throughout history, many inhumane laws have been passed, and have subsequently been repealed. Barack Obama, for example, would not be here today had his parents obeyed American laws that criminalized marriage between blacks and whites.
An acquaintance recently asked me, ‘if you support gays, how would you have been born?’ Of course, there were gay Nigerians when I was conceived. Gay people have existed as long as humans have existed. They have always been a small percentage of the human population. We don’t know why. What matters is this: Sochukwuma is a Nigerian and his existence is not a crime.

1,162 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   401 – 600 of 1162   Newer›   Newest»

Facts and truth in black and white... Chimamanda would never do any wrong in my eyes.

Jerry4U said...

Nice write-up, but incomplete truth. She just have facts, but biased truth.

Couldn't even stop reading, was saddened when it ended. It was a long short write up, didn't know when it ended. This girl has brain but it's just the fact. Many of them didn't choose to be gay, they were born gay. And I know some who have tried to change all to no avail. GOD help us all. They should just ban fornication as well cos God isn't in support of it.

TOPGUN said...

It is very unfortunate that even the so called intelligent one has no wisdom that rise the slightest beyond the surface. Understand this, He who made them, made them Male and female. Not Male and male or female and female. Whether you believe it or not, it is the Creator's design. It is the order of nature. You did not create yourself, your opinion about yourself does not count at all. So don't tell me you are Gay because you are wired that way. That is just a lie you have chosen to believe. And you should be made responsible for that. Gays are outliers. They are aberration, a distortion, an abnormalities like you have in dysfunctional genetic coding. They are human but sick and very hopelessly sick. They should be admitted for proper rehabilitation.

Dear Chimamamnd, as much as you write very well, but you will never be able to justify this. You went overboard for attempting this. It is a misuse of the One who gave you the gift. Or you don't even believe He exists and you are just what you are all by yourself?
Easy! That is a slippery way to Go! You cannt really understand this world and her content outside Him, it will be more questions than answers in your life. But the fact that you don't have answer does not mean there is none. Gays are not created like that. They are malfuntioning pieces, they need repair or return.

TOPGUN said...

It is very unfortunate that even the so called intelligent one has no wisdom that rise the slightest beyond the surface. Understand this, He who made them, made them Male and female. Not Male and male or female and female. Whether you believe it or not, it is the Creator's design. It is the order of nature. You did not create yourself, your opinion about yourself does not count at all. So don't tell me you are Gay because you are wired that way. That is just a lie you have chosen to believe. And you should be made responsible for that. Gays are outliers. They are aberration, a distortion, an abnormalities like you have in dysfunctional genetic coding. They are human but sick and very hopelessly sick. They should be admitted for proper rehabilitation.

Dear Chimamamnd, as much as you write very well, but you will never be able to justify this. You went overboard for attempting this. It is a misuse of the One who gave you the gift. Or you don't even believe He exists and you are just what you are all by yourself?
Easy! That is a slippery way to Go! You cannt really understand this world and her content outside Him, it will be more questions than answers in your life. But the fact that you don't have answer does not mean there is none. Gays are not created like that. They are malfuntioning pieces, they need repair or return.

sahnzylyn said...

Thanks a lot ma..I am tired of having this argument with my friends, I am as straight as a ruler but I don't understand why people should be discriminated upon just cuz of who they are. They didn't choose to be that way so please like she said. ..'live and live'

patalex said...

hehehhehehe. this your ccomment is just funny

and some guys points out that they feel molested and fear rape around these gay guys and I ask him what should we girls then feel around them as he has a betterchance of fighting off rape, I asked if he gets attracted sexually to every girl he meets? he can't stand gay guys but don't mind watching two girls make out. but then what is the yardstick of measuring gayness with that law?

Chy Somy said...

This is so long I couldn't go through all though I think she doesn't like the anti gay bill,pls ur opinion doesn't count in this issue in Nigeria,hmmm

Wow! Chimamanda is amazing. This is the first wrie-up I have read from start to finish! She hits the nail right in the head, says what she has to say without compromising her own personal beliefs. Truth bt told, being gay shouldnt be a "crime" not to tal of one with a punishable offense. Maybe in their own houses or in their places of worship, but definitely not in a country.

Well done Chimamanda. U rock!

Emperor said...

That's r opinion though, doesn't change d fact that it's sinful. Let 'em be on a low-key if dey wanna stay safe, but I'll surely blow whistle if I find any.

Itsnt acceptable here. Period! If una like, make una go hug transformer and gbuff....nonsence

This lady is blessed with a beautiful mind. Took the words right out my head. Well done.

Zap Up said...

Lovely write up with a sense of intelligence and humanity......some people like Bonario and co would soon come and tell us how mentally retarded they are. I support gay rights, go and call your mother to beat me *ndi ara*

Nice one Chimamanda #TrueDhat

anonymous said...

If any one wants to b guy that's d persons cup of tea

I would have agreed with your write up but the culture,tradition,religion and values across all the tribes in Nigeria forbids homosexuality;So why should we turn around? We are a set of people rooted in these values just like the British (who feel our own culture should never take prominence over what some individuals feel is appealing) follow a life long culture and tradition to revere the Queen and the royal family(which doesn't apppear right to some nations).

So dearest Chimamanda I strongly believe that some acts should not be accepted just because it appears safe to the perpetrators.

Our culture,values and tradition to a significant extent defines us.

Nice Write up. I totally agree with her. These law shld be looked into once again. We shld ask ourselves these question? Are we really fair with ourselves? I said ourselves becos gay or not gay we all are one. If we can be truthful to ourselves, there's no family without a gay member, directly or indirectly. Even the pple making the law, are they justified themselves?. These just a clear pics of the rich getting richer and the poor getting extremely poor. Cos the pple dat will suffer these, are those ones dat have nobody to speak on their behalf. We shld still go back to our board with these question: WHO IS REALLY FREE? Frm these law.

I would have agreed with your write up but the culture,tradition,religion and values across all the tribes in Nigeria forbids homosexuality;So why should we turn around? We are a set of people rooted in these values just like the British (who feel our own culture should never take prominence over what some individuals feel is appealing) follow a life long culture and tradition to revere the Queen and the royal family(which doesn't apppear right to some nations).

So dearest Chimamanda I strongly believe that some acts should not be accepted just because it appears safe to the perpetrators.

Our culture,values and tradition to a significant extent defines us.

Chima keep your useless opinion to yourself.you just make me stop reading all your books.and please stop insulting nigerian graduates,i bet you wouldnt pass through what we see now

God Bless Chimamanda jare....some people just choose to be blind and ignorant at the same, all in the name of religion/african culture...Bloody hypocrites.

She should goo and sleep jorr! All this American calls and CNN spot light she's looking for won't come IJN amen. Dear Chimamanda don't let God take dat you small sense and glory ooo! Be careful. Genesis said "HE MADE THEM MALE & FEMALE. So end of story

Hey Linda, seriously are you GAY?

Admin said...

This girl Chimamanda, hope knowledge will not harm you. You are on your way to become Kola Bluff. Nature does not make anyone gay, a man has the 'right' to behave like a woman and woman to behave like a 'man'; some are just like born like that and i have seen numbers of them and they still have their normal opposite sex spouses. So don't give us crap in the name of fabulous literature. You gays, don't start to think you now have an advocate in the name of HERO CHIM. Just like when all the world atheist were waiting to hear what Albert Einstein's take is if God exist or not. Everyone will answer God personally. And I won't be surprise if she later write something that God does not exist!

Don't let the western life and awards given you corrupt your creativity. Dear, the path you are threading isn't cool.

Tochi Miriam said...

Simple this is just it..live and let live

Nonsense

So true. Chiamanda,God bless u.

Mag said...

Bravo!!!! well said! i just love this Lady..

Pretty cool writeup, am scared that your intelligence would have demonstrated possible hijacking of our morality by education. Careful now!

Mmmmmm dis s not good

Then go hug neariest transformer if u can't abide in d law...devil @work..ceceeboi says so.

Wildflower said...

Nice write-up thou.........most of the politicians are gay.......there is no doubt abt that. And it 23yrs o.....God Bless u gal.....Stay Blessed Linda

Too long? U are obviously uneducated and ignorant..if it waz about Tonto or lady Gaga u wont say itz too long..now dat it has to do with real life issues,its too long am so sorry buh u re such a big fool..go to school,get a life,get educated...#multitude of ignorants everywhere!

Im so disappointed at chimamanda

The Truth is Chimamada is not God, God has Given us Rules to Follow and if you don't want to follow his Rules it's your lost. You are the one who will Burn in HELL because even the Bible says Do not Judge but Judge Wisely. Linda with all Honesty I know you are Christian and I read what you said about God Helping you to be who you are today, pls you have said a lot about Gay people causing people to sin because they argue about stupid things, the Truth is there are other stories to talk about but why you have decided to promote Gay people only God knows. Pls Linda God has blessed you so much, pls don't let him be angry with your Act all because of Money." What shall it Profit a man to Gain the whole World and looses his soul. Pls post my comment, The Writer's own is longer than this thank you I love you Linda but God loves you more don't let this Fame get into your Head do the Right thing God will bless you more.

Ken Jewel Okafor said...

Chimmamanda may have given facts to support her argument but the fact is that "She still lacks Moral Genuinely". If God in the bible according to old testament destroyed Sodom & Gomora cos of Gay, then Nigeria is in the right path of Development.

i am surprise that Nigerian legislators cant differentiate between morality and crime. on the issue of rape, consent is being considered as the yardstick. on this issue of defilement, age is being considered. ie, it was meant to protect the minors of even under 14yrs. but then, this is country where some legislators have been seen to have said i mistakenly pressed a YES instead of a NO when voting for or against a bill (girls marriage) example.Thats the caliber of legislators we have. i cant really figure the yardstick for preventing two "consensual" adults from showing affection. its a matter of choice and i fink that is a private affair. Just like Chiamanda pointed out, we read our bible with different meaning but we forgot that judgement on our moral lives is for God and Him alone. isnt that a bible principle too. i can say that virtually all our laws are circled around the 10 commandments but can some1 pls link the being gay thing to any. what do u say abt those who are not Christians but are gay. where in the African charter or whatever statute was gay issue discussed. its ALL morality. i just feel we should be rational and humane in our decisions. i wont even be surprised if my dear Chidiamanda will be referred as GAY for writing this. Am waiting to be referred to as one for my opinion.

My thoughts exactly....took the words right out of my mouth.

dhobiz said...

Okay but I also used to know a guy odera by name then he used play oga more than any girl in his class,he was four classes ahead of me but his dads tailoring shop was in our compound so we became playmate I called him"o meka nwanyi" but he didn't care he could catwalk more than i do but after primary school they relocated,after many years i ran into him last year in his nysc uniform all gymed up looking sexy i couldn't believe it so i asked what happened to Odera? and he replied i got tired of acting like a girl,i became uncomfortable with guys approaching me so i decided to be me.i blame parents who think it's normal for a boy child to be acting like a girl they will always say he will outgrow it well not everyone does.i used to be a tomboy,girls used to like me but i was crushing on Ifeanyi,my mom neva cared much but my aunt made it a point of duty to have me stop it which i eventually did,people are not born gay,it is the people around them that make room for that.i understand the law is too harsh but we shouldn't use because everyone said yes and do so coz majority is not always right

macky said...

The best article on this gay issue so far. Well said Chimamanda

is chimamanda saying God is wrong for making man & woman. i they are man & man, or woman & woman, then who will procreate. it is unnatural. people can say or do anything to justify being a pervert, but it is still unnatural. you may as well say chickens and goats and cattle have a fundamental right to life and we cannot eat them. the plants also have a right to life and we cannot eat them too. how will life be then?
chimamanda is writing the things that they have told her to write about so she can tour abroad and give talks and make money. if she says its ok, then let her declare herself a lesbian in solidarity.

Yeye Yoruba girl, and y is she supporting dos people dat r doing bleaching their skin.

Rt Hon. Emeka Ihedioha said...

I read LIB, eat LIB, sleep LIB, wake up LIB, sleep again LIB and have been do doing for about two years running, but for the first time I feel prompted to comment. Chimamanda has hit this very important nail on the big 'opioro mango shaped' heads of our Legislators who, rather than focus on the workability of already existing regulations, have morally decided and legally ensured that it is this one Law that will fix the failing others. Why they will fly abroad to treat the impact of her nail on their heads is not at all for us to question. Mrs Adichie has summarised it all, and before you commenters start as always to label as gay her (who is happily married) or me (who feels no obligation to divulge or prove my marital/single status to any of you), think about the many Sochukwuma's around you and reconcile this nasty and brutish law with whether they have ever caused you personal hurt or injury. My name is Chinenye, I am Nigerian and I support this piece 101%.

Yeye Yoruba girl, and y is she supporting dos people dat r doing bleaching their skin.

sharkslord said...

She is so so ryt, I love the write up, I wish our leaders will see dis and rethink.

Actually I supported the law but after reading this I must say shame on me!....she's right

Awesome write up but i still dnt concur

D problem we have in nigeria is ignorance ..many dat went to school think dey are not in dat group buh dey are..if we nigerians are not ignorant we wuld see simple truth in wat chimamanda has written..some will read dis and start sayin dat shez gay..dats part of ignorance..if u have sense,u wuld see a whole lot of sense in dis lil piece she has written!! Thnx alot chima

Chimamanda,u've said it all dear...I kept arguing abt this since this gay thing was passed into law...I have a frnd just like Sochukwuma when I was growing and I know so many Tomboys when I was growing...this individuals didn't choose their lives,they re mostly born that way...those of u condenming them should just pray u don't give birth to the likes of Sochukwuma,cos I have never seen anyone like him who is straight or turned straight

Such an eloquent talker.........alwaz using symbolism 2 drive her points home.........leave dat miserable docile president 2 wallow in his stupidity and cluelessness...........A Waste of sensitive post....

We have become too 'circular' that we condone abnormal behaviors all in the name of freedom. I won't be surprised when people will want to legalize marrying their mothers or fathers because is what they want! Ms Adichie please let go and respect what the Govt of the nation has legislated on. Linda if u like no post my comment o!

Ebuka said...

Gay will always and forever be an abomination in Nigeria..like she rightly said,they are minority especially here in Nigeria,so why can't they act like d majority who are not gay?

Tell them, jeZZz dis is so touching,

I must say well written, no gay person in Nigeria is asking for gay marriage ti be legalised, what they ask for is for it not to be criminalised. Its just too bad how naija law makers can just sign in a law without proper consideration.

The fact that a boy/girl behave differently from their specie does conclude gay. Sochukwuma might b female like in behaviour but not gay. Love/romantic affection for same sex adiro kwa normal oooo

OMG am speechless...wat a noble writer we hv,u should get more awards for dis.u see,it takes only de high intellects to ready understand nd accept dat dis guy tin s inbult...am nt one of dem nd i knw dis noble writer chima s not too but we understand their plight..u can nt jail innocent pple for there personal lives.we hv rapist every where,old man getin married to great grand children nd so many other crimes to b jailed for..i just tire for dis coutry nd all de daft pple livin on it.

Mz. Rolake said...

May God send dwn fire to burn al dose her books! If gays are normal y dnt u same sex parents... Mscheew I dnt knw why sum pple tink their stupid way of thinkin is the right way to tink

Nice. Yhank God u said in nigeria where marriage is btw man and his woman, no gay has asked for same self marriage. Like my Daddy said, God loves all men , gay and straight but each must give account of his actions. So my dear chimamanda, i love ur write up but just as we r guilty of condemning gays for being different, u r now guilty of condemning our president and all nigerians against d gay law, and am guilty of condemning u now, for condemning us, lolll. Enough of this talk already, each must give an account of the choices and life he lived so live choose wisely. Ogy.

The Government have made a decision

Best Write Up so far about dz issue...S/O to Chimamanda

wat is she sayin..been homo is natural and nt a sin? I ma sef dnt support d law and also dnt like d act too..w@ dis victims need is love,advices and prayers cos dey are bin possessed by demons of d gr8 order though sm do it to get rich sha..but dis lady..i started suspecting her afta i heard d@ bey used sm quotes frm her book in her songs..d truth is d@ dis pple will neva like or accept u unless dey want smtin frm u..b wise its beta to b loved dan to b liked! God loves while men likes..its sad wen u expect to c wisdom and found foolishness!

FDJ said...

Too long jooo buh nyc1

Chimamamda I just loved d way u put it nd d examples u gave especially 'barack obamas own'...in my own opinions, I think Nigerians are fake, dey like to copy nd overdo, my ex who I suspect is 100 percent Gay can condemn Gay pple of which I know he is cos I actually caught him once with his frnd, now bcos of my exposure I quietly broke it off, cos I knew dat was him, but he still denies it...it was a shocker for me nd I hv so moved on, didn't need to be dramatic about d breaking up, being Gay to me is nt a crime..

Nice one.Gays r nt our problem in this country.being gay is nt a crime. Solve the country's problem & leave gays alone.#JC

We all went to school and may or may not have known guys like that. I personally didn't know any which could not be attributed to personality type. My friend's father is very gentle u can sat effeminate in a way but he isn't gay. Homosexuality can be learnt, a large percentage of naija Homosexual learnt it. They were not born like that and they are teaching it to others. Maybe we feel naija went to far but you need to start drawing the line now or else one day pedophilia will be normal

We Nigerians are not copycat, homosexual is not welcome here, whatever anyone think or say is not going to upturn our believe. Nigerians say no to samesex marriage period. If you think otherwise go and cover your head in shame

Exquisite said...

If Adichie likes,Let her Blow English and Ibo, The Law has been passed oo.. All these people should go and sleep or better still go hang on a naked wire.. Abeg Give Us better News Linda.

Hmmm, i think dis is d tym 2 air my view on dis gay issue. I beg 4 ur patience in readin dis. The truth is, i do not fully support gays. But as Chimamanda noted, we can't deny d fact dat there r natural gays. One of my brother in-laws is everytn gay. He shuld be in his 40s. He talks like a girl, Walks like a girl, doesn't hav a hair cut, nd has never bn associatd wit any woman even though his family still lives in d fantasy of him being a man. And he has bn like dat since he was borne. Last time, i was watching CNN. There was dis girl who was a transexual in one African country. His family wantd her 2 behave like a girl dat she appeared 2 be. But she was rather ' a boy' pschologically nd was not attractd 2 males sexually. Yet her parents brought some boys 2 rape her. They wantd 2 force her into acceptn dat she was a girl. Hw dis 'girl' was weepin dat day, sayin nobody cares abt her and how she feels got me sad 4 d whole day. Since dat day, my perception of gays and lesbians changed.

That notwithstanding, i still believ dat 90% of gays 2day r not natural. I went 2 a girls-boardind school where lesbianism was so rampant. U see a littl girl wit right nd normal sexual orientation being changed in d boardin house. Suspending dis students never changed d situatn. The questn is hw do we seperate d wheat 4rm d grass? The truth is, wit d way gayness is growin, i'm affraid for d future. Gays may hav existd 4rm d beginnin bt not like dis. Then, they weren't obvious bt 2day, it seems they want 2 overshadow d society. The question is: why?

So in as much as i sympathize wit d natural gays in dis new gay law, i don't support those who became gay due 2 misplacd sexual orientatn or as a result of yearn 4 adventure. These ppl can confuse our children turnin them into gays. And that is my worry. Yet, what such ppl need is not imprisonment bt change of orientatn thru luv and rehabilitatn. * Phil *

Thanks girl for your very long write up. Almost as long as a book. But, remember that it is your personal opinion.I have nothing against gay people but legalising gay marriage is immoral scripturally or otherwise. Must we do everything the white man is doing all in the name of civilization? Next they will say it is ok to sleep with dogs or monkeys.

Bia Linda why you no dey post my comment . Abi yu don dey chop am

Hmmm, i think dis is d tym 2 air my view on dis gay issue. I beg 4 ur patience in readin dis. The truth is, i do not fully support gays. But as Chimamanda noted, we can't deny d fact dat there r natural gays. One of my brother in-laws is everytn gay. He shuld be in his 40s. He talks like a girl, Walks like a girl, doesn't hav a hair cut, nd has never bn associatd wit any woman even though his family still lives in d fantasy of him being a man. And he has bn like dat since he was borne. Last time, i was watching CNN. There was dis girl who was a transexual in one African country. His family wantd her 2 behave like a girl dat she appeared 2 be. But she was rather ' a boy' pschologically nd was not attractd 2 males sexually. Yet her parents brought some boys 2 rape her. They wantd 2 force her into acceptn dat she was a girl. Hw dis 'girl' was weepin dat day, sayin nobody cares abt her and how she feels got me sad 4 d whole day. Since dat day, my perception of gays and lesbians changed.

That notwithstanding, i still believ dat 90% of gays 2day r not natural. I went 2 a girls-boardind school where lesbianism was so rampant. U see a littl girl wit right nd normal sexual orientation being changed in d boardin house. Suspending dis students never changed d situatn. The questn is hw do we seperate d wheat 4rm d grass? The truth is, wit d way gayness is growin, i'm affraid for d future. Gays may hav existd 4rm d beginnin bt not like dis. Then, they weren't obvious bt 2day, it seems they want 2 overshadow d society. The question is: why?

So in as much as i sympathize wit d natural gays in dis new gay law, i don't support those who became gay due 2 misplacd sexual orientatn or as a result of yearn 4 adventure. These ppl can confuse our children turnin them into gays. And that is my worry. Yet, what such ppl need is not imprisonment bt change of orientatn thru luv and rehabilitatn. * Phil *

This lady just said it all. I love you chimamanda

Topebrass said...

ℓ̊ think people re entitle τ̲̅ȍ their own opinion ...Anon 2:26 , U̶̲̥̅̊ don't ve τ̲̅ȍ be bittered abt it. Lord į̸̸̨§ t̶̲̥̅̊ђε̲̣̣̣̥ chief judge.

Jerry4U said...

Nice facts but half-truth! Biased!!!

Hand out

if homosexuality be right why do we have to argue about .. why do we have to convince our conscience of the sanity behind it . some people might be born wif " no manly trait " but the acceptance to see a sexuality in that is perverse or rather abnormal. Two sides of a coin

This lady is very intelligent sha, wud like 2 be able 2 write like dis. She made a whole lot of sense!

Nice write up dear..... kip it up. all of una wey say linda no dey sleep Wetin una sef dey do dey do ere dis early! Petrol wey dey call kerosene fire

just say it said...

As a christian,my first point of call is what does God think of this.But I also know he never asked us to cast stones on sinners.Judgement is his,here is so much we can focus on.Gay is the list of our problem as a country,please pass a law that any politician find looting should be killed cause its worse than being gay.

Good write-up!! Then again even the devil tries to rationalize sin! Babe! Park well! Linda,I'm beginning to think either you are gay or you support gays cuz your preoccupation with this 'gay' thing...hian!

Nwa na inwele ya na write upssss

just say it said...

As a christian,my first point of call is what does God think of this.But I also know he never asked us to cast stones on sinners.Judgement is his,here is so much we can focus on.Gay is the list of our problem as a country,please pass a law that any politician find looting should be killed cause its worse than being gay.

just say it said...

chima amanda, u r so poor in self esteem and low in priority, you are an opportunist, you want to use the privilege avail by such a controversial issue to gain international acclaim as a human right activist, where was ur English speaking ass when boko haram killed many, where was ur English speaking ass when ASUU went on an excessively prolonged unjustifiable strike, where was ur long English speaking mouth when the senate intended to remand 13years old girls to early marriage. Its so pathetic that you decided to create a fictional character in the person of Somtochukwu or whatever u called ur imaginative childhood friend, u employed the use of emotional rhetoric to drive your ideas home to appeal to peoples emotions, madam no bi only u go school oh. Note Russia, China and Uganda havent succumbed to Western threats. I am only against the harsh punitive 14 terms rather than remanding them to a facility that helps to re-orient them sexually, after all even God himself the perfect giver of the divine ordinance and LAW has given such that drift from natural causes to reprobacy and damnation, i do not think any human institution has the intelligence to deal with such a delicate matter.
But a word of advice to the English speaking mumu "half-of-a-yellow-sun" writing chima amanda. Make u shut up if you no get anything to talk abeg

I totally disagree with Chidinma on this issue. With respect to her person, I will like to say that she had been one sided in her argument, without necessarily considering the otherside of the coin. First of all I would like to say that the act borders on abnormality like she has said. We have learnt that people are flexible and are able to change if the correct principles are taught to them from a tender age. I totally disagree that people with gay tendencies should be left to be who they are. In respect with that why do we punish armed robbers, why do we punish rapist etc, shouldnt we let them be as well. Chidinma should understand that the Law does not punish a man who sways his hips when he walks, or talks in a feminine way, but rather what the law seeks to punish is the act of sexual intercourse within male and male or female and female. I believe the law will act as a propelling force to make those involved in the act to start to act on their consciousness, after all sex is a thing of the mind. Lets not in the name of protecting the minority allow immorality and perversity to take over our society. After all witches, wizards,corrupt politicians, thieves, rapists, prostitutes etc, all are part of minorities too.

I love this write up! Makes a lot of sense,let's see how d foolish ones will start saying rubbish. Everyone has a right 2 love whoever they want to love!

A well thought out and educating article. Not rubbish dust our so called celebs are yarning. Now My thoughts are now re-oriented towards the gay community. "LIVE N LET LIVE", LOVE dnt HATE

This is so well written. Makes you wonder of the fate of this country. God help us!

I am Gay....ngwa....GEJ come and arrest me

Kamto Haf Tok

Truth is we can say she is right in a way, as the basis for our anti gay law holding on its unbiblicality or the fact that is western doesnt hold water... But the law is made by the majority even in a democratic society, and in Nigeria it was made and passed by the majority as well... Unitl gay people come out and fight for their rights to be heard everything would still be a joke...

Dats d truth.der re so many crimes our religions condemn bt d law doesn't condemn dem.the law has only brought violence,injustice and behavioural change.pple will always be diferent,dat y we dnt do d same jobs,different religion.etc. Even d bible acknowledges dat dis pple will b in our midst,we re nt 2 pass judgement on dem.u dnt nid 2 support dem either.Let God b d judge.nyc 1 by chimamanda adichie

Sorry!Its done.All this balderdash will amount to nothing.If you like,write a novel more captivating than all your previous works,it won't amount to anything.Write Iran for Islamization of their country just like Saudi et al.Na wah 4 U oh!I should never be President.They will be jailed for life by law.Keep your oyibo mentality there and tell Sochukwu to live an die indoors.He will be torn apart by his own brothers if they hear.All Sochukwu's in Nigeria are now suspects,unless U craftily changed the name.Mtscheeeeeeew!I see you're lacking issues to write about now.No wonder!You've always been feminist in your novels.Hian!

And how She ended it!!! OMG.. Am nt Gay bt since d law was passed I saw it as a way dt d thieves cald politicans used to draw our attentions off deir stealing ds 2014. Wonderedy yet y it ws signed ist tin ds year?? Brain wrk. Live and let demm live

tee baby said...

I so luv u,u are intelligent dat I wish I had ur brain,she said it so right,some pple just act like an educated illetrate, rubbish

Didi said...

A voice, finally...

Very much in context. Live and let live. Africa has way way bigger fish to fry. If only Nigerians could talk more about the disapproval of corruption, unemployment, poor health care, illiteracy, etc as much as the "gay" topic, we would be well on our way to selfchecks and judges would stop this sudden expunge exercise of high profile politicians, and ministers will be sacked truely because they underperformed and not cuz they are tryinh to run for office, serving elected officials like the first lady will check herself in to national hoslital Abuja and not spend govt funds in Germany, the police will be very reluctant to give kidnappers their guns and every damn official from the bottom up would make Nigeria and Africa a place i desperately want to return to. Gay marriage. ....that one na talk ???

This is what will call simple and understamble fact ,our country always start what dey can never end . Whoever choose to be gay goodluck. gbam

Well articulated piece buh if u r ready 4 a real debate devoid of paroxysm buh instead garnished wit meticulous acumen try make it happen via oraclewest23@gmail.com den I'll also let u knw that since kleptomania is also a natural phenomenon in some kleptos sud walk our street wit absolute impunity den let's see if all thieves living outside same imbalance wudn't claim 2 be...just 1 of my sagacious arguments against diz. vira spreading across planet earth...The Oracle Speaks'

In ur bid to create love for gays or be accepting, u've created unneccesary hate. Learn frm all around u, u just read an article that supports gay rights not with violence or nasty words but wit reason n understanding yet u choose to be abusive. Am sorry, but it's people like u, who make it hard to plead for just cause.

Hahahhahahahahah, well u can love any body , so love ur father , sleep wiv him or ur mother becos to me it's all d same, freaks and just becos u were born a freak does not make it okay for u to do what ever u like. Do the right and normal tin pls pervets out there

PAVOUR said...

Whats d point gay is right or they may not be gay as presumed? whatever d bible is our standard.

Adiche Go on Girl, Fantastic Writer

Guess she is into gals also. Pervets fighting for freaks

Nice work though..

TN said...

I love this woman....all the thoughts I have had as regards the anti-gay law are reflected here in the most eloquent of simple words. I always say....I will not judge a person by his or her sexuality. You sexuality does not affect or bother anyone UNLESS you impose it on them (rape) and regardless of if you are homosexual, heterosexual or bisexual, rape is rape. Do NOT rape me or anyone else but no, your choice of intercourse partners is not my business.

This is what happens when you can't fix your fucking country. When the rich man that pays your children's fees, gives you food and medicine says bring your wife make i knack am you will iron the silk sheets in preparation for the action.

Evo Dee said...

WOW...I'm sincerely having a re-think about my stance in this issue. Chimamanda has a very valid argument. Our ONLY strong argument for the anti-gay law is religious. But if we base our laws on religion den we would b hypocrites since our laws condone acts like fornication nd divorce, which r unaacceptable by our religions like she rightly pointed out. Mayb d appropriate action should have been to put warnings like d smoking warning @all public places, on condom packs and vaseline containers "GAYS R LIABLE TO BE CONSUMED BY FIRE AND BRIMSTONE".

Say No to Gay,yes!av involved in Lesbianism before but I came back to my senses,went for deliverance and God delivered me,I could remember then that I use to see girls coming to tempt me in my dreams but I give all the glory to God...........
SAY NO TO GAY...

Isi 1 said...

As much as i do not subscribe to Gay rights, i dare say that this piece by Chimamanda was thoughtfully written. She got brains!

Iownmytruth said...

This is a brilliant essay that tears down everything that the Nigerian anti-gay law is built on. Notice that it didn't try to disparage the scriptures of any religion but it argues for protection of the rights of the minority.Homosexuals are not criminals,they do not harm anyone.We must not allow this government that is clearly inefficient in every area of governance tell us what normal is. They wouldn't know it if they sold it.

Why or how people ll chose wat God condemned as their way of life to live? Are they blind? Are they not read their bible or Quran? May God have mercy on them. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Hmmmn, thought provoking!

AnnMarie said...

Do we have to wait for them to ask for same sex marriage before we pass the law? Sorry madam you are wrong. it'd unethical, it has health hazards. sex between a male and female is easy going and fun, it destroys no anal organs, a condom can be used and therefore the spread of disease is limited.

this her pic is damn just too beautiful

janny said...

It may be acceptable to some people who see nothing absolutely wrong with it. But it go against the law of nature and most importantly the BIBLE condemns it totally. All this should be clearly seen as signs of endtime. She may be right in her own mind but then she is entitled to her opinion. People should learn to do what is right. That gays can't help the way they are?...too bad. They need deliverance that's all.

chima amanda, u r so poor in self esteem and low in priority, you are an opportunist, you want to use the privilege avail by such a controversial issue to gain international acclaim as a human right activist, where was ur English speaking ass when boko haram killed many, where was ur English speaking ass when ASUU went on an excessively prolonged unjustifiable strike, where was ur long English speaking mouth when the senate intended to remand 13years old girls to early marriage. Its so pathetic that you decided to create a fictional character in the person of Somtochukwu or whatever u called ur imaginative childhood friend, u employed the use of emotional rhetoric to drive your ideas home to appeal to peoples emotions, madam no bi only u go school oh. Note Russia, China and Uganda havent succumbed to Western threats. I am only against the harsh punitive 14 terms rather than remanding them to a facility that helps to re-orient them sexually, after all even God himself the perfect giver of the divine ordinance and LAW has given such that drift from natural causes to reprobacy and damnation, i do not think any human institution has the intelligence to deal with such a delicate matter.
But a word of advice to the English speaking mumu "half-of-a-yellow-sun" writing chima amanda. Make u shut up if u not get anything to talk

ykrealvision said...

I acknowledge the brain work of a season writer. Fact still remains that homosexuality is not the way.....it is abominable and shouldn't be encouraged.

tee baby said...

I so luv u,u are soo intelligent dat I wish I had ur brain,u said it all. Most nigerians act like educated illiterates

Silly girl. Maybe her brother na gay

Well Mrs A dichte, you sounded intelligent but of course very sentimental, but it is what it is, ABNORMAL. that sochukwuma was different is exactly the issue, I do not support criminalization him but helping him address his abnormality of hormonal disorder like every other abnormality are addressed medically. Not all tom boy or girl tom girl end up been gay. The major problem I already see especially in the west is these gay trying to force it down our every body's throat. And even making it financially attractive which they know will gain them victims because of poverty that is very wicked and unfair. Stop forcing unnatural and inordinate affections on people it is a crime a subtle one and a long term one on society, people are not blind to these. They obviously need medical help and rehabilitation love that is the only support that is needful people cannot be forced to like and accept abnormalities but we should love abnormal people. #my5centopinion.

Benywiz said...

If your father is gay would he give birth to you?You re here writing rubbish, let all your family become gay and lesbians and your generation will come to an end

Oluwatosin O. said...

God bless you Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie for this write up...I love the paragraph where you wrote "The Bible, for example, also condemns fornication and adultery and divorce, but they are not crimes." Justice should not be half served for any reason!

Very disapppointing from sm1 we celebrate as been very African

Chimamanda, thx for speaking wisdom...#WeDoNotKnow and #LiveAndLetLive... Also am happily married to a beautiful naija woman.

Weanniefred said...

Kudos to you Chimamanda, no one culd hav analyzed the wrong done by this law better

I used to love you, but fuck you chimmamanda adichie. Be yarning nonsense!

Gays are sick

Fantastic write up... I am in no way a supporter of being gay but to crimialize it is just going beyon the boundaries!! All adulterers should be made to face jail too and then I'll be ok for gay people to go to jail!

God bless people like chimamanda,and punish Jonathan,our so called leaders are the weakest people I ever seen,fOols.

From this write up, I'm now tilting towards let d gay pple liv their life. We shld have ignored them without putting down the law n criminalising it. We law shld be repealed n let's just be passive. But I still say NO to them getting married, cos next thing like they r doing in d westzn the will want to come into our churches n insist they shld be wedded by d pastors or priest. Let them live their lifes.

She can take the preaching to male folk members of her family charity they say begins at home when she converts her father brothers uncles and entire comunity we will follow suit,am already disappointed in a writer of her status,who has joind the leaque of those who now questions Gods existence and his laws,my prayer like Jesus is father forgive them for they know not what they do.

I know a Sochukwuma, nice, decent, wonderful, fantastic guy. The only difference however is his sexual preference, he asked why just like we do, how he'll love to be ''normal', I know he'll give anything to be normal but that's how he feels, just like the way I feel right when I'm me. I don't want to send him to prison or mob him; my friend is gentle and fragile, I don't like it when people insult or bully him, he's already a victim of 'abnormality' as we term it. I love my friend, I wish he was like me but if anything I want to help him and protect him but not victimize him so he thinks of killing himself. We think it's a sin that's probably our perspective but he without sin cast the first stone, Who made us judges on earth when ultimately we will all be judged in heaven by the Creator of both Sochukwuma and ourselves. Let us all focus on making heaven for the race is not for the swift and let him that thinks he stands take head lest he falls.

joan oluchi said...

wow...good write up

Vera said...

A wonderful piece as to be expected from our very own Chimamamada. I'm not disappointed at all because she drove the point home in a true African way.

Everybody is striving hard to gain popularity n b accepted all over d world. Anti-gay bill has come to stay in Nigerian. Haters its too late for u all so go hug transformer.

The write up is interesting but its not in our culture.. Lets not forget her works are international now anything she writes will be viewed by the internatioal world, I dare her say something against gays, she obviously wont. Between closed doors she prolly supports the bill that was passed. No To Gay Rights.. Old england burnt witches to the stick as a way of dealing with their issues on witchcraft.. It was back then but let us deal with out problem our way. Nigeria has too many problems.. Going to the cinema n seeing emeka n yusuf publicly displaying affection (PDA) would just be so off it. Chucky.

Find something else to write on. It is not this one you failed. Ask your father whether any member of your family is gay and proud at that. Pls move on no room for this. It is more inhuman to be agay than someone claiming someone is infriging on his right. Chinda God will judge you on this. for misguiding young people. Show us your female wife or husband. Devils advocate. Linda I have husband for you do not follow this lost children

nife said...

great writing...homosexual is criminal but marrying an 8 year old girl is lawful.....Nigeria lawmakers r disgusting and many of them are into the act...hypocrites.

Chimamanda I use 2 Luv u bt ur stand is a total disapointment.Don't allow D wrath of God 2 fall upon u 4 usin ur God given talent 2 speak in support of wat God hates.Chimamanda, repent now & be saved.Jesus Loves. Calebsy

nice write up, but she's either naive or she's missing the point. area scatter could perform in the 70s/80s because traditionally we are not a homophobic society. while there may be cases of the odd aggressive behavior towards gay people, they were for the most part left alone . while homosexuallity is not a crime and by itself is a purely moral issue. there is a drive by the west to make homosexuality normal, by allowing gay marriage and teaching that homosexuality is a sexual prefrence to kids. It is not normal. irrespective of if there are cases of it among other species of living things. it goes against natural law. imagine where 90 % of the world's population is gay. it wil be the death of us. who will give birth to children?? Why encourage it when there are no benefits . Admittedly the law is akin to killing an ant with a sledgehammer, however it was passed because of the drive by the west to make queer bahaviour legal.

EvErDrEAM said...

If they are going to hell let them go, if they are going to heaven let them go, LEAVE JUDGEMENT for GOD abeg! This is just another way of people killing, its already happening.

Well written. Truthfully homosexuality has always been in existence, criminalisation of it now is wrong. They haven't committed any crime. How can one be punished for the choice of whom to love?

bugacious said...

However well put together. Her argument on d bible doesnt hold. Yes fornication . adultery etc were sins well recorded in d bible...but not in any verse did we find God so angry that he ruined a whole city. To God, homo' was bad enough for him to do that......he deleted sodom and gomor' from existence cos of homo. hence. ...d earlier we get d likes of sochukwuma to psychiatrist s the better for us all as a nation. The earlier parents pay attention to their children and sexual orientations the better.....tanx

Nice one jawe. She get sense

Girl's Nakkid Photos Exposed Online By Facebook Lover She Slept With (18+ Only)

Bernard 'Morot said...

Any body can choose to rationalise anything and that's exactly what Chimamanda has done! Her write-up is logical but it doesn't make gay marriage right! Gay marriage is a desecration of something sacred and however violently you might want to rationalise this, it doesn't remove the fact that it's a sin! The law could be a bit on the harsh side but if it could give us a bit of holy society then so be it! Her opening story is just a fraction of the truth! We now have previously normal married men and women who left their spouses to become gay. What do you make of that, Chimanda?

Bia Linda this is d third time am asking u y u have refused to let us abt ur friend Tiwa's arrest. Don't b bias. Or I'll delete ur blog from my bb. Swallow my comment as usual.

"the mark of a true
democracy is not in the rule of its majority
but in the protection of its minority" God bless you Girl and God help our Leaders and our Laws.

~O'berry~

wow she jst touched me
nd my view has been changed towards gay peeps

She needs to be in the good books of the West. She lives there abi?

Js sayin....

no matter hw true dis ryt up shud be, it says Adam and eve not adam and noah or abraham

Omojere said...

Gosh...this is beautiful...I am not gay buh I totally support her...the people who feel being gay is a sin commits adultery, fornication, they steal ,they lie and all sort....and I don't think there is any big or small sin...some of these homosexuals were born with those tendencies, some of them whr affected by their environment....its not totally their fault that they are different and prefer their fellow man or women....I don't think its totally their fault...they should be given a chance...

Marshall Matters said...

Thank you babe and I love you very much chimmy... NIGERIANS please stop the hate and discrimination of gay people they didn't turn out country to this hell hole, Corrupt politicians did..

Jimcateringservices said...

Only exposed people think like this, and as you know my dear Chiamanda, most Nigerians are ignorant religious bigots. No apologies.

Banks Emenite said...

Chimamanda must be an educated fool . She shld be put to death !

Another excellent piece by Chiamanda..i am a gay basher but today I repent as no one has ever put their plight to me as Chiamanda has done. Thanks

i just fell in love with Chimamanda

Like they say....understanding is only a function of the dept of insight and the unfortunate truth is that majority of Nigeria are shallow....it is their insecurity that makes them see their way as the only way....

Beautiful write up!

I know linda is a promoter of same sex marriage but chima's article is reflection of the west.

If this Teniola's story is true then hmmmm. U want to protect ur life but u're causing another woman d kind of pain that can make her commit suicide abi. God is watching.

vcypher said...

I have never commented on a blog before, but today I make an exception. I want to say that I am proudly Nigerian just because of this write up. At last here is someone with brains. Chimamanda you are God's gift to Nigeria, you just won my heart, your level of understanding and maturity in disseminating your opinion is remarkable.

nice write up chi, but u should prolly ask d western countries why polygamy is a crime, its also a law of public opinion nd u'd agree wiv me dat in d crime(polygamy) there are no victims nd it doesnt affect government in any way. d law is preposterous just as d gay law, but as u av said rightly some tins are beyond our comprehension. so let d gay law be just as d polygamy law has been

Bernard 'Morot said...

Any body can choose to rationalise anything and that's exactly what Chimamanda has done! Her write-up is logical but it doesn't make gay marriage right! Gay marriage is a desecration of something sacred and however violently you might want to rationalise this, it doesn't remove the fact that it's a sin! The law could be a bit on the harsh side but if it could give us a bit of holy society then so be it! Her opening story is just a fraction of the truth! We now have previously normal married men and women who left their spouses to become gay. What do you make of that, Chimanda?

exactly!!! where is the democracy in forbidding people from loving who they cant help loving? as long as sex is consensual, it's no one's business how it goes. Homosexuality has been discovered in animals as well and no one chooses their sexuality cos i cant remember sitting down and deciding to be straight. Nigeria, PRIORITIES!!! If you dont understand it, dont condemn it yet. take time to understand it, We once killed twins and their mothers cos we felt it wasnt normal. Then everyone sincerely believed God made 1 mother for 1 child, but now we know better. Illiteracy is killing this nation. Tufia! Even if you wont legalize their marriage, decriminalize it.

I think aunty chima is just seeking western appeal. She went about to survey opinions and came up with this. However well put together, her argument that about the bible also recording fornication. Adultery etc as sin doesnt hold. Yes d bible gave several instances of fornication. Adultery etc. But not in any verse was God so annoyed that he destroyed a whole city for it. Its not same with homosexuality. It got God so upset that a deleted a whole city...sodom and gomor' because of homo". I'd like to believe that that event was recorded in the bible for times like this. Pls d earlier kids like sochukuma are given special attention by their parents the better for our societies....thanks

Abebi ade said...

Chi you are simply brilliant , if half of our lawmakers had half of your brain, we would be in a much better place. Totally strange,unjust and cruel law. There are REAL issues that they should be attending to, such a shame. The brainy ones stayed home and sent the dumb ones to the HOUSE.

Alfchye said...

I am not seeing anything nice about the write up....Nigerians such gullible people, we want to practice western world when we don't even have what this people have in their country....She is talking rubbish to me, After gay marriage then we will have man wed dog or cat or fish, in the next law, they will say Man would marry reptiles...
If animals homosexualities character in them, Please let them start mating each other and let a dog mate a fowl or a cat mating a mosquito, Rubbish, Because you are popular u want to drive people wit ur crazy write up and anyone will applaud you.You are a mistake,Gay IS GAY EVEN IF ONE FORNICATE it is totally different from been gay and those people need to be castrated.If everyone is gay, who do u procreate and how do we multiply...Probably you would write an article why getting married or procreation isn't good.
You think this white folks have a life, They are already dead because they still have more madness to unveil and you will still come out to support their sickness...GAY is not Africa and we can and would never adopt that..You people should leave this case because it has been settled long ago...Like poles repel and unlike poles attract...Gay has no foundation in Africa.If ur kid or friend starts acting abnormal take them to celestial church for enough broom whips...rubbish

If gay was something right , Sodom n Gomorrah wld still be existing n dia population wld v been higher. Be wise dis is end time.

nice write up girl.................... Buttttt

Well I dnt support gay but people are born diffrent. Linda I will be very happy if see my comment

All of u supporting gay rights, I wonder if you would exist if your parents were gay. I wonder if the world would have any balance is all sexes were the same. I wonder if life would have any meaning if men and women were left to give in to every passion and desire that defies regular behaviour. The legalization of alcohol and cigarettes has resulted a growth in cancer, liver, lung and kidney diseases. HIV was first discovered among gay couples and hippies in the 70s. My point is actions have consequences especially where they go against what is normal. Man and man, woman and woman is a not placement of sexual interaction and we will surely see consequences as it continues to thrive. Soon men will marry animals and beastiality and sodomy will thrive. People may be free to live as they please but you will surely be doing good to call wrong as wrong and not lie to yourself that you are supporting 'freedom' which is in essence a new form of captivity. The captivity of the mind.

Well done, a well written piece of article and yet the truth in its birthday suits. There is something about this lady and the way she writes that gives me more insight into life. Thank you for this hopefully Nigerians will read and learn.
*Lola*

I have been indifferent about this anti gay law all this while but after reading this I hv rightly concluded dat being gay may be odd and distasteful but it is definitely not a crime. God help Nigeria

Well done, a well written piece of article and yet the truth in its birthday suits. There is something about this lady and the way she writes that gives me more insight into life. Thank you for this hopefully Nigerians will read and learn.
*Lola*

Chiamanda u hv said it all. It is not a crime to be wat u want to be only if imposed on others dats wen it is a criminal offence. We all no dat d holy book condemns fornication, divorce etc. Let dem pass law against dat also awon oni ranu e lai ini ironu ara garatia.

Brilliant.

"Benign difference"! Hmm... Abeg leave this mata. Linda are u gay? The way u are promoting their "right" to make everyone insane. The child at 8 does not even understand wot Ms Adichie is talking about. I have seen and I know several boys with same mannerisms at that age who grew up to be true men with no disorder of sexual orientation. The boy may have grown up around only ladies and he will begin to behave like them. The only thing about GLBT right is their right to be treated by a psychiatrist. That will take the criminality away, and they can be institutionalized.

Ope she is not one of them. Pls where do u belong? Is not about writing this long epistle bt telling Nigerians where u belong. Dnt be afraid, just say it Chimamanda. And u Linda, am suspecting you. No wonder u refuse to marry.

Well I dnt support gay but people are born diffrent. Linda I will be very happy if see my comment

Chidiebere said...

Chimamanda, you have lost the respect I have for you. You have shown that you are no more African but western. You only use African cover to make money. To hell with you and ya write ups. The anti gay law has come to be and must stay. otherwise let's legalize smoking cannis, abortion, prostitution because there are minorities that wish to live with those things. FOOLS

God bless u Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche. U re a genius

Ok.we have heard u but u still dint answer the question if your parents were gay.....

I do not support humans being gay or whatsoever they wanna be...My own piece is we are all sinners and no one is born pure in this sinful world....so why judge the next person because of his sexuality??? Chimamanda is so right with this write-up of hers. If fornication and adultery can be seen as normal who is then so pure to say gays are criminals??? Thing is let God be the judge and let us wait till judgment day!!!

Brilliant write. i do not support homosexuals but i the fact remains it is not a crime and no laws should be passed. Leave it for religion!!! Well done Chimamanda

Una head no corect now I knw hw imosible and stupid you people are even up you chimamanda you are a disappointment, I taught you have brains, you are just a failure u are even a GAY tufiakwa

temmi said...

I don't judge gays! I jst can't stand em, doesn't mean they have to go to jail! They re human afterall, my opinion

Why do we always call pontius pilate while talking abt d death of jesus even tho he washed his hands off d Crucifixion of JESUS?because he had d power 2 stop d killing boh he didn't, naso e b 4 dis one, bcz if GEJ didn't pass d bill in2 law it will b like he is supporting them#We don't always get what we want

drizzle said...

chiamanda u better shut up, what do u know about the bible? what is wrong is wrong, we have a culture, we are africans u can start all this long talk to make this feel right, its absolutely wrong. if u are homo just say so.

Am not guy tho but I knw derz sometin called fundamental human right...Everyone has a right cos we all are equal but in the eyes of God its wrong....So wich one do we choose God Or Man? #ShayDee

drizzle said...

chiamanda u better shut up, what do u know about the bible? what is wrong is wrong, we have a culture, we are africans u can start all this long talk to make this feel right, its absolutely wrong. if u are homo just say so.

My dear darling chimamanda u jst got d words out of my mounth,wit all our problems gay law is d least of it.

kay kay said...

The law has been passed and there is no repealing. Bia linda post dis comentoo.

She talk tru but e no mean say i no go beat anyone i catch ......my go collect him own today him go tell me wetin make am gay ...dattss all

Lyndy said...

U re simply trying not to sound primitive and backward cos of all the international accolades u ve gotten so far, but u better shut up and uphold which ever religion u claim to belong to or fall where u stand on d last day. Fornication, adultery nd divorce re not crimes against d human nature. By d way, how many Sochukwuma did u kno then nd who told u he's gay? That a male behaves lik a female doesnt mean he's gay or doesnt lik intimate rship wt a female. If we allow gays to exist freely, its only a matter of tim before they ll start demandin gay marriage lik they ve done abroad. Most gays today were coerced into dt forbidden nd depraved act, they werent born gay. The percentage of d population born gay(if ever dt claim is true) is infinitesimal. If only they dated themselves, ds issue wouldnt av ever been debatable at all. But wen they entice our young kids wit gifts and promises of a better future, the end result is gays, gays and more gays. One question av alwz askd is, union btw man and woman is for procreation but how can homosexuality benefit us? According to Pope John Paul II, 'homosexuality nd abortion re crimes against nature nd human existence nd I strongly stand by this. How many cities in the bible did God destroy bc of any other sin, except sodomy? Finally, I believ u hav a religion u profess, support ur religion nd stop being biased in order to sound civilizd or tell us if u re an atheist, then maybe we can understand ur perspectives but until then, peace to u Amanda. Btw, how much were u paid to write this article?

Awesome write up though Am not gay but live let me live
Biri kam biri
They need to ban fornication if so cuz they are all sins

things just gt more twisted when we debate them for too long. ...i honestly dont know anymore

rainbow hearts said...

For all the LGBTQ out there not everyone thinks we are God's abomination thanks to this lady for this 'I am a nigerian and my existance is not a crime'

One word........brilliant....#datsall#

«Oldest ‹Older   401 – 600 of 1162   Newer› Newest»