Drake thrashes Rolling Stone mag for replacing him on the cover with PSH | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 17 February 2014

Drake thrashes Rolling Stone mag for replacing him on the cover with PSH

Drake a few days ago thrashed Rolling Stone magazine for replacing him on its cover with actor Philip Seymour Hoffman who recently passed away from a drug overdose. The mag was supposed to use Drake for its cover but Philip passed away and they changed the cover the last minute.

As soon as the issue hit the stands, a disappointed Drake lashed out on Twitter. He also denied calling Bars on Kanye's album Yeezus 'questionable'. See his tweets after the cut...

After his rants, he deleted his tweets and apologized for his outburst. See his statement below...
I completely support and agree with Rolling Stone replacing me on the cover with the legendary Philip Seymour Hoffman. He is one of the most incredible actors of our time and a man that deserves to be immortalized by this publication."
"My frustration stemmed from the way it was executed. The circumstances at hand are completely justifiable (on the magazine’s behalf), but I was not able to salvage my story or my photos and that was devastating. They ran the issue without giving me a choice to be in it or not. I would have waited until it was my time because I understand the magnitude of the cover they chose but I just wasn't given that option and that made me feel violated. I apologize to anybody who took my initial comments out of context because in no way would I ever want to offend the Hoffman family or see myself as bigger than that moment."

57 comments:

I undastand his outburst.Good thing he apologised! Its unhealthy to compete with the dead

Peejay said...

Advice to all: Never express yourself on social media when angry no matter how tempting it is!

Soul said...

Nice statement. Matured. I understand your frustrations too. It was well deserved. They should have told you. Nwoke oma

I think he was angry when he 1st wrote the tweet...but later come back to his right sense...all wat those people a®Ü doing is to honor d dead philp simple...nice 1 for apologizing sha

Pastor caught with another man’s wife in Hotel room
Here

Man tried to Rape a little Girl but got beaten in the proccess
Here

SEE what this guy and his girlfriend are doing
Here

OMG! Girl opens beer with her breast
Here

That's pride speaking in him, must he be used on the cover of the magazine? He also already famous, he don't need a magazine cover to do that for him

The Orator said...

Do i give a fuck? No!

Whatever I love u drake.

Gistyinka Blog said...

With this i love you more Drake, well composed message to the world..

Drake Na DRama King

I knew he was that emotional

OMG VISIT this blog and thank me later LMFAO

Drake Koolu Temper The Man Don Kpai, Your Still Very Much Alive.. @Rolling Stone, it'll cost you guys nothing to have informed him that he wount be on the cover for this Month.. Una Eff Up Gan!!

I Rep IT JAKES YOU ( A Book Of Inspiration By Linda Ikeji)
>>Comment Moderation Disabled<<

AnnMarie said...

This thing called anger.......

ONE HUNDRED KAY said...

What is wrong with all this rappers self

medicine after death

daisy said...

Hey

Wahala evrywere na wa oooO

Aby said...

.....and this is what i call humility.....

Mystic Falls said...

Drake went 2 far with his rant 2 rolling stone,if they replaced Hoffman,they must have a good and legal reason 4 doing that..but its cool since he apologised in the end.

Na dia wahala. First to comment Linda tke note

FINGAF said...

okay, nw u talking.. i wanted u out of tha public scenerio befor sef. not safe at all. #OVOSound!

Sabrina said...

Hmmm...wise man...wise words

Medicine after death

ehyaaaaa drizzy vex gidi gan o ....bt d mag shud av alerted him on their change of plans now

He shld jst shut up cos dat one nah Medicine after death

I was going to blast this guy before I read his apology. I mean, you cannot fight with a dead man now. But the magazine sef, if they promised cover, that's what they should deliver so I understand him in a way sha. They could just have delayed his interview till another issue so he would still have his cover.

sharkslord said...

Appologies accepeted. Una suri for the bad spelling o, no time for prime time, just moving on to do other comenting.

DENNIS DaManOftheYear* said...

I just like DRizzy....I can listen to his rap all day

ehyaaaaa drizzy vex gidi gan o ....bt d mag shud av alerted him on their change of plans now

Linda I'm not begging you to post my comment. All I ask is for you to correct your Gaddamn mistake. It's not "thrashes", it's "trashes". Flip ! I know you're not uneducated, so please don't make me doubt that assumption.

I'm with Drizzy on this. They shoulda notified him before replacing him with Seymour.

daisy said...

Heya

That selfish fool Hoffman killed himself. SAY NO TO DRUGS.

His ego is huge.

OMALICHA said...

Well said Drake. First time commenting. Linlin,I'm a huge fan.

I am so in love with Drake

Oh my love ,,..why do you keep embarrassing me publicly??? Is it too much to ask for you to always Shut The Hell up except when you wana Rap???????? Cos u make very good song but BAD statements.

GREAT love said...

We said man

Learn to respect the dead young blood.

Then marry him or sharrap!

Oshe dats my guy!!. Linda abeg am on my knees biko plss post my comment

That Medicine After Cure. The deed has been done. He can apoligise but can't take his words back. Rip PSH

Nice one dude

Juliana Omolayo said...

Wat an attitude

Him b idiot...someone is dead n u r talkin rubbish...I no blame u...mora fucka. U no for no delete d tweets nah u for leave den.

Drake move on already.

Idiot! Always talkin shit then apologising. Why talk shit in the first place.

Stale news

thought drake thought interviews were like confessions #hyfer

Dreezy 4eva my niggy... But u nid to take tinz eazy bro

Abeg he has a right to vent! You don't do things like that and not inform a person! Why then did you put him through all the photo sessions? Abeg bone that thing!!

Igor said...

Sorry Drake,Seymour's death was a trending news.Something similar happened the day Michael Jackson died.While E Channel was broadcasting the death of an elderly actress,news came in that MJ died. The station immidiately switched over to MJ's story.A journalist even joked that the elderly actress chose a wrong day to die.Drake,take heart, shit happens.

Who cares?I don't .

Anon5:45 Drake's first comments were right but the magazine twisted it around to make Drake look like d bad guy.Na Drake kill PSH? or na im cause im death?

BEST comment @Hilary Obiorah. He has every damn right to be angry, he ought to hv been inform but I see him as a soft hearted person for apologising. *love you more, DRAKE!

ZeeZee said...

Drake is a little girl!

CHIDINMA said...

Dats so gud of him.

annonymous said...

What does the society stand to gain from a drug addict. He gave a bad example for all.