Dana Air denies paying celebrities to board its inaugural flight | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 7 January 2013

Dana Air denies paying celebrities to board its inaugural flight

Dana Air have responded to the critics via their Facebook page about the celebrities that were on board their inaugural flight from Lagos to Abuja on Friday January 4th. See it below...
Our attention has been drawn to some online media reports suggesting that celebrities BasketMouth, DIPP, Harrysong, and Buchi, who were among guests on board the Dana Air inaugural flight of Friday, 4th January, 2013, boarded the airplane for financial gains.
We would like to state that these claims are completely untrue. Like all other esteemed guests of the airline, many of which are notable personalities from Nigeria’s entertainment scene, these celebrities have always been a part of the Dana Air family.
See the rest after the cut...

Their decision to be part of the airline’s re-launch was purely out of goodwill, having personally experienced the unrivalled hospitality and world-class services offered by the airline many times before.

We also want to use this opportunity to express our sincere appreciation to all our guests, many of whom have sent congratulatory messages and best wishes on the airline’s return, while pledging our commitment to the provision of safe, reliable and world-class air transport services.

Dana Air Management

Read it on their Facebook page

91 comments:

Cock and bull story!! As if they would agree to the fact that they really paid those Celebs, and of course them Basketmouth would also no divulge. They did it for the money!! Nothing goes for free in Niaja jor! All this won na just Damage control tactics.

So let's believe they boarded the flight out of goodwill? Very funny!

http://theglamfile.blogspot.com

NG said...

Hw Ε̲̣̣̣̥ tak concern moi

BLOGLORD said...

Its too late to cry when the head is already off!
damage control not working!

Michelle said...

Of course they'll deny now. Why wont they? Rubbish airline! Once bitten, twice shy. Good luck to those who'll continue using them

Hmmm...business as usual. Who is fooling who?

They should tell that to the fools.... so Dana is telling us that Basketmouth flow that airline just like that without any benefit.Dana no well at all.

BLOGLORD said...

....And see how they are quick to respond to the media. did they auto respond to the families of those who lost their lives in the crash?
please!

christabel ogudu said...

Welcome back

miss deczy said...

we hear u

I'm still Afraid!

I have never flew Dana and never will.

honestly this airline continues to insult nigerians sha. no be dier fault

This crap can only happen Nigeria, an airline that was involved in one of the worst air disasters in this country, with the said crash still under investigation could have the gall to relaunch seven months after the crash with a few so called celebrities on board and the airline coming the celebrities! Are we really this stupid? Are we really so gullible? Don't we have pride anymore? Where is our self dignity? Have we gone so low that our so called political and business leaders have this fervent believe that they can feed us with s**t and we are bound to take it? What a country, what a people!

Nekky said...

oh well! u can't really blame people for talking. looking at it critically, why did the celebs take pics before boarding and after landing? not like it's their 1st time of flying. so if u ask me,i will say its for PR but whether they were paid or not, na dem sabi.

God will forgive all of us. They should tell us another. Do they think its everybody who can't read in between the lines?

bola femi said...

Whatever they did to convince celebrities to fly their airplane is irrelevant.They should compensate people who are due for compensation.safety is important, that should be their watchword. It will take more than celebrities to convince people to start flying their planes again.

Olivia said...

Yeah ryt! They should tell that to the clouds.

Olivia said...

Yeah ryt! They should tell that to the clouds!

This is a pure lie. some of us close to these celebs know how much was involved

i like,

let the competition begin.

arik and aero, una price must come down this time.

Bloomandgrownaija said...

This dana people are so messed up that integrity eludes them. Haba! Please I just think its senseless for anyone to snap photos after alighting a craft..really they could have snapped elsewhere... And I bet you the celebs involved would have nothing to say... Oh wait a minute, they may be told to deny the claims....I'm dana'ving this conversation!

Another death trap. God save Nigeria oh!!

Dana Air, have you compensated the families of those that were lost in your last crash?

Unemployment shall not be your portion. I pray for a steady job to keep u busy this year.

Monday Stainless said...

Dana,Dana if u tink u ar doin d right tin no nid xplainin,bt if u av started ur mago,mago again den d cloud is ur limit.

Was anyone expecting Dana to admit paying the celebrities? Of all people, Baskethmouth? He would never do it for free even as Dana's ambassador

Annisabel said...

If I hear! Even if their statement is true, d whole scene looks staged. Besides when did nigerian artistes/comedians begin charity work aka goodwill? LOL

Cos uve never 'flew' in a plane all ur life!

Amen!

Na lie jor,they paid em all,cheatin,conniving bastards,its not rocket science...infact wetin be ma own sef?? Tosynxl

sleekreek said...

Cock and bull story......God is watching!!!

Lmao. Anon u funny ooo.

Buhahhahhahahhahhahahhahahahhahhaahahhaha..... Yepa!!! Anon 4.33, u badt gan ooo. Bet come to tink of it, dis prince juju or wateva hin call himsef needs to really get busy! Haba....

they should tel tht to d birds! btw, who cares if they did? Mtcheeeeeewwww!

I wonder why these indians r still doing business in Nigeria bossing around their black slaves and looking down their noses at Nigerians. Indians kwa! OMG nigeria is so fucked!!
They presumably know d right buttons to press as we have so many corrupt vultures in Nigeria hovering all around d crashed victims and mgt of dana air to feed off frm their blood tainted bribes?Damn.
Ootu nne unu umu ewu India.They have even started fucking nigerian girls b4 they employ them too! Indians kwaaa? Chukwu ama nkwe ka umu alusia Ramu ikpu! I'd rather die!!

zee unique said...

Odd###

So Basket mouth did endorsement for you for free? It shall not be well with you guys if you don't pay compensations to those crash victims.

Shattap dere!!!!
Are u employed?????

Amen, 100x. This Prince Charming is so irritating I swear.

Miss Sexy

I think we should not get that Dana used to be a celebrity Airline sha o! Hmmm may be the celebs just wanna show their support for a possible Dana support towards their events in 2013! Good one guys!!!!

Sue said...

Dana has paid only 10 out of the 153 families that were involved in the crash....go and pay up and stop going on about rubbish as for d hungry celebs basket mouth and wannabe buchi and co, i wish u wetin una dey find

JandonBoy said...

The statement in part from Dana Airline "part of the Dana Air family" confirms that the celebrities are gaining some benefits from the airline in essence. So they are being rewarded for there services one way or the other. In effect, this is purely an endorsement for a gain in in the future, in one form or the other, period.

Oh Please! They should it to the birds..Look at them trying so hard to convince themselves and failing at it.Nigerians are not stupid,we know these things..They were PAID for the patronage...I said it before and i'll say it again,i will never fly Dana,never did,never will...Good luck to those who will

Pretty Girl

Sorry meant to say They should 'Tell' it to the birds..it was a Mistake,i been dey vex as i dey type,lol

Pretty Girl

Ūя̲̅ insulting prince charming he has no job becos his first to comment. As far as Ɣ☺ΰ also commented in any of the post on dis blog Ūя̲̅ also jobless. So Ɣ☺ΰ fill its pple who don't have wat to do dat comments on dis blog. So also Ɣ☺ΰ too don't have wat to do.

Blossom said...

God PUNISH Dana.

the pose don tell say comedians were paid for the advert.but if dana has paid adequate compensation to the decease families they should fly.afterall which airline operator dey safe for naija?non!every businesses dey cut corners to make over profit.

teemah beent said...

Abegi,wetin una been xpect make dem talk?afta all na dis same naija dem de say no to corruption but dem still de ova corrupt. If na u nko,u must collect beta mny bfor u go enta dat plane na,esp for insurance incase anytin happen.me I even hail d celebs wey risk am enta dat plane,cos my liva no go gree me enta am make I talk tru.

Dana sorry oooo!!!! I no fly period!

ℓ‎​​​oℓ‎​​​ @Unemployment shall not be your portion. I pray for a steady job to keep u busy this year.

fosytee said...

Dana next time u want to do a damage control do it smartly Nigerians are no fools we know work must begin but pleae stop insulting the intelligence of fellow nigerians, how come celebrities flew the aircraft the very first day you started operations coincedence..hehe ....from the interview even Basketmouth was not relaxed it seemed he was still scared of crashin d interview looked orchestrated

Dear Dana,

Please take your bullshit story elsewhere because no one believes you. If I ever want to commit suicide, then I will fly DANA Air. Until then, I will NEVER fly DANA. Period.

Signed,
A Nigerian That Likes Living

We can complain all we want but the power is in our hands. Don't patronize and they will be put out of business. Simple.

Retard celebrities...

Let's forgive and forget. Haba Dana this,Dana that..leave them joor

Danaaaaaaaaaa abi diana this is uncalled for were still recovering from dat sorrowful crash. Pls for now make una park well joooo

Welcome baCk DANA. I am such Ur last crash was politically motivated. I think U r the airline in nigeria. Pls beef up security arround ur aircraft this time so they don't set U up again

I wish people who don't know can just shut up. Spare a thought and think what if they werent really paid? How will u feel after being so sure of ur ignorant selves? If they want to pay celebs to fly, u really think it's this bunch of unknown artists they would pay? That something is black to u doesn't make it black to others. And that u feel right doesn't make others wrong. I flew Dana before the crash. And I flew Dana dis last Sunday.

@Anonymous 4:33; funny you. I got a job pls. And about been busy, it takes me at most only 2 minutes to get a new post notification from Linda, make my comment and be gone. By average Linda post's about 10 stories a day, so do the maths and tell me how much time I spend here. I am surprised when some of you think someone spends all his time here.

Who cares!! If they weren't guilty wtf are they responding for.

LudaXris said...

Abegi! Make we hear word

@anon 4:33: why do u keep harassing prince charming? Why don't u come out straight and tell him u re smitten with him instead of dis old-fashioned method? Btw, if u re employed and so busy, ow come u always shadow his comments? I suggest u seek medical help cos its obvious u re VERY SICK! and while u re @ it pls get sth 2 keep u busy as well! I don't comment on posts hia buh I can't help but do so dis time around cos I ve noticed ur RUBBISH enough! I blame Linda for always posting ur STUPID and HATE-FILLED comments.
NONSENSE!!!

#linda post dis comment oh!#

Ada Anambra!

This is the most foolish piece of information i have read this 2013, Wth? this is a big insult to all of us, do they think we are Stupid or something? So all these celebrities just decided to fly Dana that same day, and took pictures infront of the airplane upon landed? Wtf is this shit, isin't it obvious that yall paid em? F**K DANA

My gawd -___- "I hav neva FLEW" pls don't bother trying cos dis ur #gbagaun is enuf to cause an autocrash

Very nicely done! I like ur style jare....

Exactly!!!!

Its I ve never flown beeko!not never flew...wat is it pple n bad english ds days bikonu?

LUXURY EASE INTERIORS said...

apparently the did for financial gains. tho dana remains one of my two best local carriers. www.luxuryeaseinteriors.blogspot.com

Very nicely done! I like ur style jare....

RAPTOR said...

CHOP CLEAN MOUTH OPA NAIJAMAN STYLE
meanwhile that Dana slogan "the smartest way to fly" now sounds really dumb after the fact

Dana Air resumes flying and Nigerians will resume buying tickets. Please, let us stop yelling foul, the problem is this: if there are no customers a business will fold up. Whether Dana remains in business or not depends, not on the corrupt Ministry of Aviation, but rather on Nigerians and the capacity of our memory box: if we can remember that the crash was avoidable; that the same management still runs the flights of air coffins; that compensations have not been made to the families of its primary and remote victims; that investigations into the crash cause(s) were neither conclusive nor sincere; that concrete reassurances by the airline of a better operational culture have not been given its public; if ONLY we can remember these, Dana would carry not a single life on any of its precarious flights.

Release some more comments naa! Abi Dana don dey harass u Linda?
All d grammar wey I don dey knack against dana I nor come see!
Make u nor make me vexooo!

heywhy said...

nigerians pls think carefully before. You fly dana again o, remember that dana's new lagos airport is now @ iju-ishaga.May God continue to protect us in this country

won fe "pay" pa niii. We no be mumu for naija naa.. abeg make dem just quiet for d matter ooo. make sleeping dogs lie jeje... anofia...

Oh Shut up,they werent paid,these celebs fly Dana,so they cant,Dana is still the best in Nigeria,i am an Actor,and i will fly with only Dana,which one is good,is it the crappy Chachangi,arik,aero??

I still like Dana,they were the best,there i sanother new one called medview,i love these two airlines

Hahahahahahahaha, LWKMD, pls make unua no kill me with laugh ohhh.

Blunt Queen said...

Ada anambra or ada fool. This is hilarious. Just laff and pass u must not curse

pokamania said...

Whatever we dont believe!

Looking for a man friend. Holla at me on twitter- @pokamania

teah right...they think we r MUMUs....infact if all d so called celebrities were not paid...they be highest mumus...na joke to fly in a coffin ni?

bim said...

All u cyber bullies should take a chill pill, if prince charming, bonario or any other person makes it their life ambition to be commenting on blogs how does that affect u guys? Because u all hide under the cloak of anonymous doesn't mean you aren't worse than anyone ogling them.

I think that a lot nigerians who wiLl keep flying this mobile coffin will crash again!

Makeover by T.E.J.U said...

Hmmmmmmmmn mbok! I comment my reserve!.......*nd seriously lmao @ d Pro hustlers on this blog.

Just don't fly their planes Nigerians! If u don't,then they r outta of nigeria.
Smart dudes they cut down prices to attract ur patronage but as as u keep coming ,then they go back to business as usual cos they need to recoup their loses with ur blood!

Naijarian said...

Linda, your readers na real learners dem be... All over the world, dem no dey ban airline onto say one of their planes crash. An Air France Airbus crash in 2009, dem no stop one flight. Even before then, in 2000, another air france plane (Concorde) be don crash, dem still no stop the airline but rather, all BA and Air France Concordes were decommissioned. Even for Naija here, when Naija Airways crash for Enugu, dem no stop am; ADC for lagos, EAS for Jos, Bellview for Ogun and Sosoliso for PH; dem no stop any of them; why everybody come dey hala for Dana? Na becos dem no be naija or becos we don dey the social media age wey every adamu, akpos, akpan, adewale and afam fit open mouth yakata dey yarn anyhow ehn? Wetin dey good for the goose, dey good for Uganda, chikena!

Naijarian said...

Per whether dem pay the artistes or not, e dey very possible. Most companies wey dey do collabo with artistes dey do am on trade by barter basis. So, e fit be say Dana Air go dey gii dem free tickets anytime wey dem wan travel. And Linda, if you get sense well well, you no suppose dey pay for travel and hotel accommodation. All you get to do na to just approach the airlines and hotels and agree to yarn about them or advertise them on your blog and dem go dey give you awoof anytime...

I am wondering myself but all I know is if we boycott Dana they will go out of business # BOYCOTT DANA

CINDY said...

Abegi, I flew Dana on sunday from abuja to lagos and it was one of the smoothest flights ever. do u think dey ll b stupid enof to make d same costly mistake, 2ce? Atleast patronise dem so dey ll b able to make enough money to pay the compensation fees.

Amen

My thought exactly! Boycott Dana Air!

basket mouth dey do anything free...they can tel their story to the baboons..scoffs!!!!