Jail is too good for Nigerian pastors - by Abimbola Adelakun | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 22 November 2012

Jail is too good for Nigerian pastors - by Abimbola Adelakun

Found this article in Punch. Written by Abimbola Adelakun  (aa_adelakun@utexas.edu)
Recently, the Daily Mail, UK, had a feature on Bishop David Oyedepo. He was accused (alongside his son who ‘manages’ the UK branch) of fleecing worshippers by making “spurious claims” and “cynical exploitation of the gullible”.
The undercover journalist who visited the British church and the British MP who condemned him acted ignorant of the antithesis of faith and logicality when they expressed surprise about how people were urged to give more money in return for blessings that were neither guaranteed nor cognisant of the realities on ground.

The feature also talked about how much of the money creamed off these worshippers are being repatriated to Nigeria (which, in a perverse sense, is a positive development!)
The same Daily Mail, weeks before, ran a feature on another Nigerian pastor in the same UK, Alex Omokodu, (who claims on his website to have raised the dead twice) and another Pastor Mbenga of the Victorious Pentecostal Assembly who scam worshippers by selling olive oil and black currant drink at double the market rate as “miracle cures”, capable of curing terminal diseases.
Like Oyedepo, Omokodu lives large, far removed from the mess he makes of peoples’ lives.
My visceral reaction at those articles was to defend my countrymen against a searchlight that might have been beamed with a racist undertone. I mean, Daily Mail suddenly woke up and realised religion is exploitative? Wow!

Isn’t that what religion has been all about for many centuries? How can we say that what Oyedepo and Mbenga are accused of peddling different from the Pope’s selling of Indulgences in the 16th Century? Religion plays on fear to rip-off poor and miserable people in the name of God. And the irony is, the more people are deceived, the more devoted they become. So, what’s new? From appropriating people’s money to shoplifting condoms to forcing youths to have sex, what have church leaders not done?

If people have refused to read History books that teach us that religion came to us riding on the back of exploitation and politics, why, with the celebrated cases of Jim Bakker, Eddie Long and Benny Hinn among others, do people still throng churches and sponsor their pastors’ excesses out of their poverty? Why has the case of financial scandals involving the creators of TBN Channel -some of which are so disgusting- not caused a mass boycott of these hawkers of falsehood? Why does it spur people to defensiveness instead?

Why did somebody like Jesu Oyingbo have followership in the first place and why didn’t people walk out on Pastor Chris Oyakhilome when he charged gate fees before one could attend service? Seriously, who should take the blame? The person who sells snake oil or the one who finds a psychic relief (however temporary) from buying?

Take the case of Pastor Enoch Adeboye: On his church website, Adeboye claims God told him He had no choice but to keep Covenant Partners alive for 10 years because they were giving to Him within that period. This takes ideas of bizarre and outlandish to another height entirely.
One, a god is meant to earn his keep but Adeboye’s is one whose services people have to pay for, never mind that billions who are not his covenant partners are not only alive, but live considerably better lives elsewhere. Two, can Adeboye, personally, account for every single one of his covenant partners and that in those last 10 years, not a single one died? Can he? We are used to Nigerian judges and politicians saying that their hands are tied, but God? That sounds like something from the mind of a freakish Nollywood screen-writer.

Since the news broke that Pastor Ayo Oritsejeafor has joined the league of Private Jet-Owning Pastors, there has been, thankfully, a sense of outrage at the excesses of Nigerian pastors.
For the record, let me state that Pastor Oritsejeafor is not a good poster boy for Christianity (never mind the various caps he wears, anyone can be anything in Nigeria’s Pentecostalism). I make this point – debatable, of course- not just because of his Bling Bling jewellery like 50 Cents or even his bond with the present occupant of Aso Rock Villa; there is something about him –and I came to this conclusion after watching him raise an offering on Cable TV- that doesn’t seem to me would wait for God to supply all his ‘greeds’ according to his riches and glory.

His private jet was presented while he was sandwiched, like Jesus between two thieves, in the presence of a President who bizarrely declared he couldn’t see how corruption and road accidents are interlinked and, a governor whose public morals fall below average. Rev. Fr. Matthew Kukah could not have put it better: Oritsejeafor’s moral authority is undermined by these dalliances.

The issue is, religion, exploitation and subsequent scandals will not go away. Not in this generation. Not even in this world. As long as there is that primitive instinct in man to seek the supernatural, to seek God and the fear of death is constantly shaken before our eyes, people will continue to subject themselves to exploitative pastors to use as they like.

But the good thing Oritsejeafor has done for us is that he created a conversation; Oyedepo, Omokodu and other sellers of 21st Century Indulgences keep exposing the underbelly of these merchant-pastors; but whether this will translate into a rationality that will cause Nigerians to slow down on the ill-logic of tolerating these pastors’ shenanigans remains to be seen.

It takes more than throwing pastors in jail for their followers to be set free from the mind-prison they are ensconced in. Religion and political power are intertwined in many ways that make this impossible to begin with at all. History shows that, for instance, with an Industrial Revolution, the process creates a ripple effect that bleaches people of primitiveness to transcend religious superstitions while forging a better society that is not predicated on dogmatic concepts of theodicy which religion propagates. When that day comes in Nigeria, and even Africa, these pastors will wilfully choose jail as rescue from irrelevance the times would banish them.

But here’s the problem: These pastors know that with Nigeria’s developmental progress comes their end. And they are actively complicit in the dysfunctionality of Nigeria to extend their own longevity.

243 comments:

1 – 200 of 243   Newer›   Newest»

The first!!! Sweeet!

BLOGLORD said...

Oya where are they??? yes! the thou shall not judge 'men of God' people.
How can a pastor charge gate fees to enter for church service?
too many fake pastors. all of them with known names. I repeat all u fake pastors u are all pencil in the hands of ur creator, when he erases u with his big eraser, ur jets, exotic cars and all will not follow u ooooo! issorai!

BLOGLORD said...

But then again Abimbola Adelakun, even if they throw all em fake pastors to jail, some of their overwashed followers will still go and serve them mouth watering delicacies in the prison and say the devil is at work. Case study Rev Kings.
My prayer is that gullible followers should wake up from their slumber. worship God and not ur pastor. wake up from being used. If Fireman can say 'God is a game, people are frustrated, capitalize on that..' then am sorry. NIGERIANS WAKE UP!

Critical observer said...

Wowzer! AbimbolA Adelakun doesn't believe in God..

" trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding.."

No pastor or church was mentioned..

They do not matter in your walk with God..

Issorai

Linda! Shut up! Judge not dat ye be not judged!

rubbish!!!!

sheylee bee said...

Wallai, dis english is plenty....need me a dico asap....I av to read it again....*reads again* ....I like this article for one thing, no scripture was quoted...its very objective...I like when poeple argue this way, the deal is u can always quote the scripture to support or condem the luxury life of pastors, but why don't we just put the scripture aside n think logically. We ® nigerians for Gods sake, n we know what nigerians are capable of doing.

they should be shot,the whole lot of them.

Hmmm somebody took d bull by d horn here.Religion is truely d opium of d masses,trust me not to judge.
Btw "LET D POOR SAY I AM RICH" who's fooling who?

eni360 said...

The only industry that we and is booming in Nigeria is Church. I will rather pay my nephew's school fees than paying tithes and offering. I sow into peoples lives to pastor;s purse.

musing of a young Nigerian woman said...

Kudos to the writer of this article.a lot of points were touched nd I think we ve gone past d stage where all ignorant people chant"touch not my prophets nd do my annoited no harm". We all r priests nd annoited ones to God nd we all derserve to be happy nd wealthy but sme people poaching off us all in d name of religion is just wrong. Take dat offering, buy your self a good meal, thank God nd enjoy it cuz God wants us to be happy nd definately not hungry people. Remember peeps, our God should be served in spirit nd in truth.

musing of a young Nigerian woman said...

Kudos to the writer of this article.a lot of points were touched nd I think we ve gone past d stage where all ignorant people chant"touch not my prophets nd do my annoited no harm". We all r priests nd annoited ones to God nd we all derserve to be happy nd wealthy but sme people poaching off us all in d name of religion is just wrong. Take dat offering, buy your self a good meal, thank God nd enjoy it cuz God wants us to be happy nd definately not hungry people. Remember peeps, our God should be served in spirit nd in truth.

J Girl said...

Let judgement be for the Lord only.

So is he saying we should not give to the work of God because he beliefs that some pastors are using it as an advantage to fill their pocket? Well my opinion is this, it is not necessary that you give your tithe in church, helping others achieve their positive goals and dreams is another special way of giving to God. Linda post my comment o.

Linlin u don vex type all ds long epistle from Antioch abi Corinth.chaii,,,pls u would av to pay me for reading this term paper

Adaeze.... said...

When your making a damn article like this pls remove Adeboye's name, if I had a billion and above I'd buy him a jet voluntarily. U can slander men of God as much as u want, but please not Adeboye. Thank You.

Let judgement be for the Lord only.

Why don't u leave them for God to judge? I'm sure u don't attend any of these churches so just shut up! And be careful of the way accuse people like Pastor Adeboye. A word is enough for the wise!

Worried said...

So I actually read everything, smh @ myself,na my landlord I blame, after shouting at me cos of rent, I beg everybody get where they pain am.

nekkyville said...

Hmmm...strong comments der.d bible says touch not ma anointed nd do ma prophet no harm.*lips sealed* nytin u bliv in works for u.if dey av not been reaping,dey wudnt sow ny further.bt God is d judge.Vanity upon Vanity all is ......yyyyy

People know that religion is used to decieve them but they cant leave it since they want something to believe in and justify there right or wrong doings

Ikeji, I pray God have Mercy on ur soul... And U better watch it befor God cubs ur mouth. These are men of God u'er talking abt. Who made u a judge over them? Pls ask for God's forgive and Delete this post so U don't lead others to hell.

why do you have to Use SCOAN?? the bible says not to judge his prophet or humans begins... i have been enjoying your news but this is out of it..

Hmmmm judge not, so dat thou shall not be judged oo. I rest my case

facebook.com/emmyosha said...

The picture here is that of T.B Joshua's wiseman and congregation and not Bishop Oyedepo or Son. I don't know if you people are becoming anti Christs or what? I am a believer of prophetic declaration. Nobody can force any one to pay money for seed's prophecy. If it is declared that the money you give the higher your blessings, you can decide to pay money or whatever that you have to get higher blessings based on your faith. It is not a must. Linda, stop gossiping about churches and men of God. It is not funny enough. When these men of God are praying against their enemies, you are affected. God forbid one harm or evil befall you and you start wondering what your offense is. Becareful.

Hmmph!!!! Deep talk... She really made a lot of sense and has a lot of points

Linda I really don't care if u post this comment or not, the important thing is I really hope u read this. I totally disappointed in you! Young lady there is a difference between religiosity n spirituality, those of us that still go to church ( unhipocritically) know what we get from God n if I personally decide to give to God through giving to his servant, I don't know what ur business is. Babes park well jor n beta take God seriously n ask for his mercy. If anyone is collecting money in the name of God leave God to judge, he really doesn't need ur services as a lawyer or advocate of justice. Mtcheeew n pls try to be leaving Pastor Adeboye out of ur muni talk n foolishness! Ok.
This is from someone that really feels like slapping u. Omoteniola

Jemima said...

'Judge not my prophets and do them no harm.'

June said...

No comment

Now this is an article many Nigerians should read. Bravooooooooooooooo

!!!!!!!!!!! On point. Gullible Nigerians #phuckyoMOG.

warri chic said...

Asin in all wht hav u said??I wonder why dis jet mata b una headache,ur one naira dey inside?

A country where they turn a warehouse,a shop,an eatery into a place of worship is in serious trouble. We are seeking the face of God because the government has not. Given us basic necessities of life. Once the country starts flourishing, all these churches will fold up cus there will be no money to sustain them. Whatever the church uses my offerings to do is btw them and God. I just do what I have to do in church and leave.

Did Chris Oyakhilome seriously collect gate fee to enter church? I never hear that one b4 o! Na wa 4 d people when pay!*smh* and they ll still do offering & sow painful seed!... Wahala dey!

M jsst stunned!!Oyakilhome was collecting gate fees?!!!God is rilyyyyy merciful

Ken said...

This is a good piece cos there nothing wrong in being a Christian and giving your tithe and offering. My problem is that the Churches are not living up to their role.
Oyedepo's Winners Chapel trat the Pastors as slaves without any welfare.

true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talktrue talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk true talk

this "true talk" guy i can see ur mentally ill

i think dis makes some sense

This is my first comment on this site. This article is so well written that the dumbest person on earth can understand. With hopeless hope in Nigeria comes great exploitation from its leaders and pastors.

Honestly I think we the black people need to wake up to the fact that the biggest problem we are facing today is religion!! The whites have manipulated us by introducing the so called religion to destroy us and now the pastors are taking advantage of poverty in Africa by brain worshipping people to give all they have in other to b rich or healed. God neva introduced religion all he said was for us to worship him and be good to one another. God doesn't need your money or material things to please him!! And I will say this religion brought war, poverty, greed,disease, basically region destroyed the whole world.

hmm comments reserved.let the almighty God be the judge of us all.my lips are firmly sealed.What's new??

IVORY CHI said...

WOW...I AM NOT ONE TO JUDGE

BUT SOME STRONG AND SENSIBLE ACCUSATIONS WERE MADE HERE...IVE BEEN SAYING IT FOR TIME

GOD KNOWS BEST AND HE IS NOT ASLEEP

I totally get the point of this man but I got confused about the pastor Adeboye's issue...pls cn sum1 further explain?!

OY said...

I attended winners in ota and presently attends the one in dartford(kent, london). Never have I heard any of the pastors asking us to give more so that we can receive more blessings. With that's said, its all over the press that oyedepo exorts money or whatever u people write. There has been so many published article all chanelling towards negativity. If only someone can write puiblish article on the kind of miracle people have received in winners. In overall, I don't think that I have given up to 100,000k to God in winners. But to tell u that God of oyedepo which is the God of abrahama, issac and Jacob curred my son from the deadly disease of AUTSIM. Tell me why I won't give all I have to thank God for that miracle. I pray that one day, someone will publish an article by collecting testimonies from the public on all the miracles that God has done through Oyedepo. May be that will put an end to all these scandal

And don't get me started on Chris Okotie...

well researched article and nice academic language

Adorabledammi said...

May God forgive us all.....How many of us can say this: May God judge us accordingly!!!......All is well....We no go carry moni go heaven o. Make we thread softly.

FIDELIS OSAMWONYI A said...

LINDA, ONLY A FOOL WILL SAY THERE IS NO GOD!IDIOCY IS A FORM OF LACK OF KNOWLEDGE THAT MAKE PEOPLE SURFER YOUR DOGMATIC EXPLANATION OF OR ATTEMPT AT SPIRITUALITY IS PROFOUNDLY STUPID-THAT GOD THAT PARTED THE RED SEA SEVERAL YEARS AGO IS STILL ALIVE!THAT GOD THAT MADE WATER TO COME FROM THE ROCK IS STILL THERE! YOU CAME INTO THIS WORLD HOW? YOU MET THE SEA, THE SKY,THE WONDERS OF CREATION HOW? YOU DON'T KNOW THAT SAME GOD IS THE SAME YEST,TODAY AND FOREVER.WITH HIM ALL THINGS ARE POSSIBLE NO DISEASE OR SICKNESS OR POVERTY HE CANNOT CURE-SO DON'T SPREAD YOUR IGNORANCE-OKAY!WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM WITH MONEY IF ABRAHAM WAS READY TO SACRIFICE HIS SON THAT YOU CAN'T GIVE? AS A TEST OF FAITH IN THIS GOD WHO GAVE HIS ONLY BEGOTTEN SON TO DIE FOR YOU. YOUR WEALTH YOU WANT TO ENJOY IS LIKE A FILTHY RAG TO THIS GOD.WHO CAN DO AND UNDO. REMEMBER THE HEART OF A KING IS THE HAND OF GOD HE CAN TURN IT IN ANY DIRECTION. AS A PHARMACIST IHAVE TASTED DIVINE HEALING, AM A LIVING TESTIMONY.PLEASE DON'T SPREAD YOUR SPIRITUAL KWASIOKOR!

JAMB 2013/2014 UTME EXAM TO HOLD ON 27TH APRIL 2012 said...

Only God can judge, no man has the right to condemned. May God forgive Abimbola Adelakun for He does not know what he is saying.

Linda, why do u enjoy persecuting pastors. Do u know that millions read ur blog n u it has a way of affecting their lives?

Every week u search for something about a pastor to post here. are u an anti-christ?

Why don't u try something new for a change, post something good about the church?

You are indirectly persecuting the church Linda!

Pple spend time, money, winning souls for God n u r here messing it up.

Did God ask u to fight for Him? God knows who is real n fake n will handle them in His own way..stop discouraging Christians with ur blog. You are attacking the body of Christ!

Lips ar sealed.anytin dat concerns pastors shuld nt just b discuss witout proper investigation.

Ebuka XYZ said...

Linda because u are a catholic, you are always ready to judge pentecostal pastors. If what they are doing is acceptable to the church members let them continue and linda allow God to fight his own fight stop looking for anywhere you see post on pentecostal churches to copy and paste for us to read. Let's talk about catholic church, are their priests without sins? Yet you don't say anything about them because you are catholic. I have dragged my babe with a Reverend Father before and the man had the got to send stupid messages to her,most of these Fathers sleep with married women sef. They will contribute money for them to build churches, the Reverend Fathers an Bishops will embezzled it, most of them are even paedophiles and gays. A lot of atrocities go on in Vatican yet no one hears about it. Father Ede has 3 -5 universities in nigeria with chains of other businesses where did he get his money from? Linda all you do is pastors today, pastors tomorrow what about Anglican and Roman catholic priests? God is God and we are all with sins, allow God to fight his fight and mind you no one will force u to pay tithe or give money in the church, u give when u want and not at gun point.

Bling bling chain like 50cents. wahala wa o

Whoever did dis write up, is 101% correct

Maureen said...

God is watching them via heaven oooo!

CHIBUZOR IGWAH said...

I know the defenders will start blaming Linda for have posted this on her log. But all the same, the truth can never be change. I was telling someone on my last comment that I will put more light on why it look as if Jesus is no more existing, which I concluded that people has rejected true power of God by following the men authorities and majorities.

It is not like the name Jesus cannot work powerfully just as the bible emphasized. But it only works among those whom the authority and power is giving to. Yes, anybody and anyone can confess Jesus is lord, so also anybody can shout the name Jesus in a million times but not everybody can bring Jesus Christ potency on the scene. That is when you do not have the spiritual contact to that name. And without that, you are calling the name in vain, you hear yourself shouting and people around will hear you as well but it does not reach God. This is why people don’t receive answers in their prayers. Because when there’s no power of God in your prayers then you are saying nothing but empty words.

So, we are not fighting fiscal battle but spirit being. And when you are calling the Jesus name the devil will like to know in whose authority are you calling the name for, and if he realizes that you do not have the power of God but saying idle words. He will know you are on his side then he will take over you at once. You become his intermediary that he will be using to persecute the real people of God.

When Satan takes over you to be working for him, he will be busy supplying you with worldly treasures like money and those things that will make you look great in the eyes of men. Through which many will fall for him as well.

Looking at the lives of our so called men of god today and you will agree with me that they have nothing in common with exemplary moral fiber of Jesus alike. Yet, they claim that spirit of God is ministering to them, whereas they are hearing nothing from God. Tell me, if truly these people are hearing from God just as they always claim why would there be troubles which we are facing in this country. Why wouldn’t the same God speak to them before it come with proper solution and direction to overcome?

As they keep visiting president or kings and queens in the palaces and yet things keep going worst in our nation, and no one of them who have the access to the president has ever speak the mind of God to him with permanent solution to the problem of this country, at least, that will serve as evident that God is truly with you. This is why I called both the CAN leaders and all their supporters’ teachers of Pharisees of our time. They will say a thing and do the opposite.

These are the people the bible stated that many will call my name but I will say to them I know you not. They are the Fake Prophets the bible is warning about. Do you think God can be deceived by men? You can keep making your money and enjoying your life here on earth but don’t forget that you will give the account of what you used those money to do. Whatever that comes from God suppose to go back to God by using the tithe and offerings to raise the standard of living if truly that God called you to work for him.

Why these attacks on Christians?do you know how many private jets the pope owns?no one is talking about it!this so called undercover bs isn't even news in the uk but these religious zealots will feed on anything!Nigeria needs prayers.......

some fools will start critisizing this post and saying 'do not judge' and 'touch not my anointed',when it is the same Bible that says that we should test all spirits to see if the are of God and the bible warns us'do not be decieved'. People are overwhelmed with the eloquence and charisma these Pastors possess due to their own laziness to read,study and understand what the word of God says. They leave the interpretation of the bible to their pastors which connects to what the bible calls'the blind leading the blind'. And when they do read their Bibles they do so with a carnal mind and wrongly interprete the message the Bible is teaching. They fall into this trap of wrong interprtation because they have substituted the Holy spirit with their pastors; the same Holy spirit that Christ say will lead us in all things. Sad that people go to church because they were born into a christian family and feel its the right thing to do,thereby living their lives like Zombies and never experiencing God or having a personal relationship with HIM. Most Christians are not true christians as even christ ask the question that when he comes again will HE find anyone faithful? Christians pay lip service to God and instead worship religion and the so called custodians of religion[pastors/priests] and seek after material things and earthly recognition. If the Devil could have the audacity to try and tempt Jesus who he knew was God with the wealth of the world, what stops him from tempting your pastors and succeeding? Especially as pastors are mere mortal like the rest of us? Christains return to God and repent of the Idolatory that you have committed with your pastors. Idolising Pastors. Real Folly!!

mschewwww!!!!!!!!! Rubbish talk, may God not punish ur mouth there, all ye rubbish rumour mongers. Stop giving offerings then, if u think its ur money they spend. mscheww, oshi, am taking it p, o!!! if u like, dont post my comment linda

Best post I've read on this blog in a while. All pastors that exploit church members instead of aiding their development and accurately teaching the word, both nationally and internationally, God is watching you in 3D and you shall be judged accordingly. Please church members, flee from all forms of brainwashing!!!

linda, wats ur beef with oyedepo sef, ehn, is he owing u money ni? free d guy jhoor, every day oyedepo dis oyedepo dat. abeg rest!!!!

CHIBUZOR IGWAH said...

THE BIBLE SAYS BEWARE OF FAKE PROPHETS, YES, BUT IT WAS NOT TELLING YOU THAT THERE WON BE ANYMORE PROPHET OF GOD. EVEN BEFORE AND AFTER JESUS CHRIST, THERE HAS BEEN BOTH FAKE AND REAL PROPHET OF GOD. AND SO YOU NEED TO ASK YOURSELF ON HOW DO YOU RECOGNIZE THEM? I WILL EXPLAIN MORE TO YOU ON THAT VERSE NEXT TIME.

BECAUSE SATAN HAS CAPITALIZED ON THAT QUOTE TO BE DECEIVING PEOPLE FROM ACCEPTING AND PERSECUTING THE TRUE PROPHETS OF GOD.

True talk!

kemsugar said...

Na only God go judge.. Tins de happn for dis 9ja.

There really is nothing wrong in pastors living large in my opinion. If they lead wretched lives how can they convince non believers that The Lord is good. All these people raising alarm about them are enemies of progress on code.

PLEASE!!!

Can't complete it!but so true.they deserve worse than kiri kiri

Fehinty said...

Touch not my anointed and do my prophet no harm. But pastor Alex omokodu? I rest my case. His church is next to my church. So I knw a lot

Baby F said...

God bless ds lady.. And her memory no go short Ijn..I hope d extremist wuld still understnd wachur tryna say dou.. Tru talk no b small..

i love this article:) thieves as pastors

WONU: Wow! Nice write up. Its only God dat will save Nig.

Thank u Abimbola Adelakun, u couldn't have said it better. While Nigerians moan in poverty their pastors and politicians(partners-in-crime) prosper! But then we knw,most people that claim to be called are nothing but workers of iniquity

What a right up! may ALmighty God save us

linda do u go to church..better shutup ur stupid mouth....dont talk bad about pastors esp pastor adeboye

Nwa-nma said...

LMAO! OK LAST 2 PARAGRAPHS, THE WRITER WAS JUST SPEAKING ENGLISH. HADDA GO GRAB MY DICTIONARY.

tybizzle m weak said...

Word eeeeeeeehhhhhh!

Why does it spur people to defensiveness instead! Hmmmm

ladex said...

Religion is the opium of the people.we are being brainwashed by all these pastors.Apostle paul was very clear about true religion in James 1:27 which says :pure and genuine religion in the sight. Of God and the father means caring for orphans and widows in their distress and refusing to let the world corrupt you.
We need to seek our salvation individually,develop our spiritual lives so as to be able to discern what is right from wrong.in such way,we won't be victims of this so called impostors

Depriceless said...

Can I just say before people start coming here to comment. That it's not right to say bad things against people in authority. Also this person sounds so much like an atheist and finally.. Pastor Adeboye never asked people to pay before attending his services neither did Chris Oyhakilome. you know what they say, "what goes around comes around"..Anyone can say or write something.. it's up to you to chose what to believe

hmm said...

hmmm bimbo so na ur mouf dey go hear say teacher mama don die? okay o. carry on

Its well...God is the judge of all

KOFOSHY said...

Phew!...#GodisWatching

Beautiful write up and you hit the nail on the head from every angle.Kudos to you. Readers this is not the time to start quoting bible and giving useless interpretations to verses, read between the Lines, there is no need to be emotional because your pastor's name was mentioned! These are just people's views about our Fathers in the Lord, all you need to do is sit down, think this through and make your own decision as to what to believe. *Thats what I am doing at the moment! God please open the eyes of my heart! Merci

Its regretable that people have shifted their focus 2 analyzing,criticizing the annointed men of God all in the name of journalism even afta God have said touch not my annointed and do my prophet no harm. Mayb they fail to recognize that doing this,makes them useful to the devil as his tool to speak against the only way to God. Itz very dangerous to impose yourself as a self made judge,judging the ministers of God thereby incuring the wrath of God upon your life.

If Fraudsters and 419ers can be jailed,i truly belive if a pastor is found guilty of embezzlement,deceiving the public by raising the dead or pretending to cure the lame,blind,deaf etc THEY SHOULD BE JAILED! This is gone past a ridiculous stage and im surprised at how stupid people are by giving their all to the pastors who are wolves dressed in expensive lamb costumes! And i know some bigger fools will come here saying dont judge and dont touch the annointed..which annointed? Which stupid greedy and wicked annointed? Who annointed them? Because they went to a bible school or started a church? Go and read the bible properly and you will see it is one of the most inaccurate ,inconsistent and biased books ever written!! Do you know for instance that the bible says any disabled person is not allowed the alter? Dyou know it says if a man or woman divorces and remarries it is adultery and any one who commits adultery wont see heaven? Do you know it says if a man marries a woman and finds out she wasnt a virgin she must be stoned to death? Do you kniow it encourages slaver? So the bible thinks the slave trade was ok..and i could go on and on..YOU ARE ALL FOOLS..i was once as well..but now i can see...good luck to you all..if you read and research there is still time to FREE YOURSELVES! HARRIMAN My religion is to DO GOOD

It really is a damn shame! All these liars and thieves who don't pay taxes

Haha! I posted only for one reason..to be the first to post! The names Dash!

MACBOOK said...

Hahahahahahaha I just love this girl lindy love..thumbs up.i red through one line like that which made me to laf.you said it HOOO HAAA

xavier said...

Issorai...wats ur biz.....linda linda linda leav pastors alone..ow many times I call u...ok o...its ur boy xavier

Wow! This,sure is a mouthfull.

Linda slow down ooo with all this news... And if all the nigerian pastors are "theives" r u advising we quit christianity and church? Or don't u go to church? I don't support talking abt pastors @ all. If truly God called them let him judge them not u. And besides dis is not d first tyme we wud hear news abt pastors in Nigeria... Guess what dey r still growing and waxing strong. Trust me "who God has blessed (good or bad) no man can curse. Shallom

liz said...

This is really one of the best write ups I ve seen concerning *men of God* nd coming from a nigerian.great!!!

LoL...y don't we let GOD judge everyone in the end...no one is forced to give money,its all at deir will and rily don't know who's to say if a pastor being wealthy or fying a privy Jet is biblicaly 'wrong'

Anne said...

Na wa o!

David said...

na wa sha. u just ridiculed someone else's belief to prove a point. so, all the pastors are fake just because they are rich? just 'cos u are ignorant of a lot of things doesn't make u a judge of anything. anyway, it's ur blog. u can do whatever u like with it...

Mind bogging

Of course... Most Pentecostal pastors know that once Nigeria begins to prosper, it will be; No Business for them #fact#.

Gbam! Dis is wat journalism shud be lyk, speak d truth nd damn d consequences, too bad dia r vry few lyk her dat presents fact d way dey are nd nt try 2 beat abt d bush, i pray oda journalists takes a cue from her nd join in dis fight against corruption. Way 2 go miss journalist!

What a nice post

Too mch grammar.Linda abeg send me a dictionary o

man....i love this article....nigerians need to calm the fuck down with all dat religious crap...and that private jet owning pastor should be investigated.

Olawunmi said...

This is pure trash. Its either the writer does not understand biblical principles or he's just aggrieved. Havin convenant partners is not by force. Its a choice. Mind u Adeboye convenant partners are not base on finance alone. Some don't have money to give but pray along wit him on any forthcoming programme. This write up is mere philosophical thinking and u cannot rationalise the things of God base on ur human reasoning

amadius said...

True talk. buh d write up 2 plenty Sha. Church business on my mind.

amadius said...

Church business state of mind.

It is when it comes to money we nigerians react ,like the greedy dogs we re . The truth is nobody knows who is who but these men of God have given us a sense of salvation .we are in a country faced with some many spiritual evil force .forces beyond our imagination ,which scares the living shit out of me . So these men of God serve as that light and without such light we re doom .and pls if u are not certain about the truth . Do not comment Bs .

Many of Naija "pastors" will surely go to hell for keeping quiet in the face of this great injustice. If we want to start a revolution now, they'll start preaching that God hates violence. Yet Israel has been going to war, and God still loves them.

For those who will start with the "leave them to God" line, abeg make una shift far away o... Cos the Bible tells us, you shall know the truth, and the TRUTH shall set u free.

Thank you!

OSHODI said...

You could not have said it any better. Few people dey fat with big money and the rest dey hungry.We Pay Tithes,Offerings,Seeeeeeeeeeds. They Build schools 4d rich,buy exotic cars,live in mansions,and buy private jets. #200million MuMu. Second base jare!

Thank you!

Wow! This is a nice article and there is a lot of truth in it but I'd still say, be mindful of what you say and don't generalise 'religion' under one basket.

anonymous:well thought out post.let those that have ears hear.

OSHODI said...

Wake up from your slumber until its too late.

Shut up!!! There's a difference in the categories of covenant partners. The ones who pray/fast and sweep the church, no special seats are reserved for them during the programmes at the camp. The seats are reserved for the ones who partner with money. Face the truth, and let there be some positive change before you all go to hell in a dustbin. Ignorance is no excuse.

THis is not good at all. first of all u have conficting pictures. u are talking abt Oyedepo and u have tb joshua's church showing. secondly why cant u mind ur bussiness and leave God to judge. the truth is that the more u complain abt this great men of God, the less u become any better. u can gossip abt everything but not abt men of God its totally wrong and good for ur health and safety too....MIND UR BUSINESS. its as simple as that. i'm totally disapointed that Linda Ikeji can stoop so low to post this....im really sorry for you. what a pity

Olawunmi God bless you

bee said...

Hmmmm...Deep!!!

Hmm...linda ikeji,thank u 4 posting dis article

you all saying leave them alone and do not judge men of God and touch not my anointed are seriously deluded and i blame it on the years of brainwashing and social conditioning that you have been put through.
Do you know that the Bible also says that it is God who appoints a nations leader and that the people get the leaders that they deserve? That means leaders are anointed men of God and all you people defending pastors will be the first to abuse and rain curses on GEJ and the rest of the nations leaders.Do you know you have sinned by doing that?The minds of most nigerians are beastial and base,full of corrupt thoughts,that is why we are led by the same corrupt leaders.You cannot get a mango from an orange tree,simple logic.God says worship HIM in spirit and in truth but most christians are full of lies and when they read their bibles they twist the logic to suit their canal and base nature. I am not judging anyone but just stating the facts so if you do not like it . Please continue to decieve yourself.
And mr Harriman anon @4.53am. doing good will not get you to heaven. The dispensation of works has passed and we are now living by Grace and faith. The facts you stated are in the old testament where there was no redemption so please read the new testament and experience the Love of God like you can never imagine.

What does this picture have to do with the post though? This is from a diff church entirely that isn't even involved! Hian

Let truth be told, for you as a pastor or man of God to start living in luxury in a country like Nig where there is so much to be done to alleviate the pains of d masses is a laughable situation. When d missionaries first came to our shores they where complementing d effort of d colonists by providing health care n a solid educational system, they also try to rehabilitate the outcast of d society. the new generation churches should ve tried to improved on the efforts of d missionaries instead of amassing wealth for themselves n their generations. Most of this Rev Fathers or missionaries did not come with their family members who we inherit them this services where even offers free. Today is the turn of our pple n the bible is turn upside down .

seymour said...

Best article on this topic... Nigerians are just too damn religious.On my way to work one morning,there was this church n people were praying. This was a working day! Apparently they wud all go to work late n if queried they'd say their Boss is evil"I went to church º°˚˚°ºoo n see wat My Boss did". Utter rubbish. Therez no moving forward in Nigeria until we realise that prayer wivout work leads to nada.

Let God be true and every man a liar especially Abimbola Adelakun.
Dazzling.

Last new year eve Service, Chris charged his congregation

Hhhmmm, the pastor thing comes up again. People will never learn. Just 1 lil question 4 d writer, hv u taken tym 2 investigate/write about imams n top muslim clerics? Have you written about their wealth or what they teach their congregation and the influence they hv on them. The Imams that teach people like boko haram to kill innocent ppl, hv u written about them or published their names. Off course you haven't bcos you're scared 4 your life.

But u choose 2 write about pastors', u choose to air ur blasphemous n "educated" views on matter u obviously have no clue about bcos u bliv nothing will happen 2 u. As the Bible says " fear not the 1 that can kill the boby, but fear the 1 that can destroy both the body n spirit. A word is enough 4 d wise.

do not judge ,do not judge my pastor, funny people quoting verses that have been turned into cliches,taking away the power from those words.
one question to all of you quoting bible verses that pastors have used to brainwash the masses and turn them into subservient zombies; do you know more of the bible than Tunde Bakare or Kukah who first started this condemnation of the excesses of pastors?
Has any one cared to know if it was God that told them to speak out?
The same way Christ cried out against the Pharisees?
The same way John wrote letters to the seven churches condeming them and their acts on the prompting of the Holy spirit in Revelations? The same letters that are available for all to read in Revelations 3? If you are a Christian read those letters and see if you will not see your own church mirrored in them.Or are you calling God a liar?
Open you minds Christians because the bible says 'my people perish......'

do not judge ,do not judge my pastor, funny people quoting verses that have been turned into cliches,taking away the power from those words.
one question to all of you quoting bible verses that pastors have used to brainwash the masses and turn them into subservient zombies; do you know more of the bible than Tunde Bakare or Kukah who first started this condemnation of the excesses of pastors?
Has any one cared to know if it was God that told them to speak out?
The same way Christ cried out against the Pharisees?
The same way John wrote letters to the seven churches condeming them and their acts on the prompting of the Holy spirit in Revelations? The same letters that are available for all to read in Revelations 3? If you are a Christian read those letters and see if you will not see your own church mirrored in them.Or are you calling God a liar?
Open you minds Christians because the bible says 'my people perish......'

God knows those that are his,this happen in every human society.the writer is just writing from her own percerption.i know for sure pastor chris does not demand money for you to attend church service neither do pastor adeboye. you know the devil has his writers and they are skillful too in propagating there fathers gospel through pen my be the writer is one of them

I like this article.
Speaks the truth.
Judgement will begin in the house of God, so says in the bible.
So let the deceivers continue to supply their greed and as for the 'brainwashed' who think they can bribe God with their tithe and offerings and not say a word against so-called men of God, learn to read and understand your bible!

best article I've read recently. These pastors sure have a fail safe formula; intimidate your followers with 'touch not my annointed' bible qoutes and the poor masses will be too terrified to question your flamboyant lifestyle.

Scarlet Xi said...

Cheiya.....I actually can't help but smh at the writer. I read a similar article of hers some time ago. She obviously is not a Christian. It's better to be silent about what you do not understand.Spiritual things can not be understood by the carnal mind. Worldly wisdom can not figure out spiritual things. The wisdom of man is folly to God. She speaks with such intelligence but the truth is, it's actually foolishness. ISAIAH 44:25b" [I am the Lord]........ Who turns the wise backward and makes their knowledge foolishness..."
May God open all blind eyes to see the light in Jesus name, amen.
I'll stop here.

Judgement day is almost here..We shall soon know. All of you people fighting for men of God...pls when we get to the mercy seat, plead their cases o. No face truth and work out your own salvation...be twisting scripture in the name of "touch not my anointed" Jesus Christ was not frivolous...

Shut up already!!!!!!!!!!!

How many Muslims clerics you see living large?

Sometimes Christians use their hands to bring problems into their lives!

We all know the truth but turn a blind eye to it all in the name of 'do not touch my appointed or prophets!'

Do these so-called men of God have 1% of the anointing the prophets of old had? Can they go through the same trials like the prophets of old? And who called them to start with? God? or themselves? Remember, many are called but few are chosen!

angel by fifi said...

I am a born again Christian and i believe this is a beautiful write up. It forces you to think about your christianity. It is not about going to church and giving offerings because the pastor said so but it is about knowing God and what the bible says and having faith in it. If a pastor says donate and you do without faith and believe you will be blessed, u may not be.As for me, i pay tithes and give offering because the bible so commands, and some people may say who is God but i believe He created all things and we owe Him our lives. Religion is not an opium for me, It is fact. And no pastor can bedazzle me with words not in the bible. Religion ecpecially christianity has being used to exploit people from the begining because people are afraid of death but you are afraid because you have no hope so a pastor will come and say "do these and you have eternal life" but u just have to believe in Christ to have eternal life. It is not your work, Christ has done the work for you I do raise my eyebrows at pastors that live extravagantly bcos the bible says we should live modestly but a pastor i am not comfortable with i will not attend his church simple! I respect three pastors most in this country namely: Adeboye, Olukoya and Kumuyi Check yourself and know your God personally and you will not fall victim to false and wolfish prophets in sheep clothings.

Hmmmmm! Food for thought, it is only God dat knows who is serving Him in spirit and in truth. Time will tell!

U don't like ham buger!

WTF r u talking abt?na she write am.u go dey form holy holy..evn d bible said many will come in my name.so pls go and sit down somwhere..

seipa said...

Its amazing how we can all sit back and judge others. To start with We ALL sin in one way or the other, be you a pastor, priest, prophet....whatever. These people are human and have got blood flowing in their veins. The thirst for worldly things will always arise because we are flesh, how we handle it is what matters. For a change lets leave the pastors, priest....catholic or pentecostal...and search ourselves and where we stand with God. On that faithful day when we ALL stand in the presence of God,He is not going to ask you how or why you ended up in Adeboye's church or Oyedepo's church or even as a catholic, but how YOU and I have lived our lives, + He has given US ALL His Holy Book to guide us. Lets stop fighting for Him and concentrate on living for Him.

True bit these are false prophets, business men with no shame or fear of God's wrath.

Pple like u r shallow minded pls where in d world av d heard dat pastors live dis large aside nigeria, n pple like u will open ur big mouth n say politicians r corrupt wen sum1 who calls himself a man of God isn't actin like 1, d earlier we start 2 voice out d beta 4 us all

PARDON!!!! Autism a deadly disease?

READ REVELATIONS 3!!!!The truth will set you free.

Why does it spur people to defensiveness instead! Hmmm oga check urself o. R u worshiping God or ur pastor. U can worship God without being a bait to all dis pastors. D. Few good ones r not d opulent ones

Ebuka xyz . you are stupid,pastors are busy renting hotel rooms 4 their girl friends,a married pastor has even ask me to sleep with him before, what have they not done,2monts ago, one got a 14 years old girl pregnant ,he is even a marrid pastor,you are there saying rubish about rev fathers,is it the topic there?

God forgive them bicos they don't know what they are doing, I mean the writer, the person that post the article and those who do have the knowledge of what they are saying. Amen

You are stupid!.

@Seipa @9.53 am,good comment but you cnnot take away the fact that we are all affected by the people we fellowship with and that will adds a lean on the ddecisions we make and were we finally end up.We need to go back to the basicsand if we really care about our pastors and christian brothers we should correct them when they ere and guide them back to the right path.We are al lresponsible for each other and will be judged accordingly. True it is a personal race but the people around you will affect your speed and if you will ever cross the finish line.Everyone will be held accoutable for silence that led to the condemnation of another.For who knows what is right to do and does not do it to him it will be counted as sin.

You need a better slap!.idiot!

linda.let me warn you linda you a threading on dangerous ground keep religion out of your blog.this is not good for you you are not there yet ooo so thread carefully

Best comment so far!.

WellUninspired said...

Brilliantly written, and before people go up in arms, I am a Christian. It took a lot of courage for the writer of this article to do this and for this I am grateful

May God have mercy on you all.

If it the post was about a normal person having pre-marital sex, y'all will jump at anyone saying it is wrong. But because it is about pastors you think u think you've earned the right to judge? Carryon, y'all saying what you don't know. Carryon sowing discord Linda.

Tonye said...

i don't understand why you all are making noise and calling linda! linda didn't write this, it was gotten from punch, and the name of the writer is clearly written there. if u are attacking anyone it should be the writer and not linda!!! secondly, i feel that the pastors should be left alone pls! like the lady that said her son was cured from autism divinely, and she would give everything she has to thank God for that... its just your mindset people. noone would force u to give to the house of God! God doesn't need our money, its the heart that he needs.... remember, Abel gave the best of his flock to God as a sacrifice, and his offering was accepted by God. God didn't eat the meat, it was the heart that Abel he accepted! another person said, how many people would pray and say 'judge me according to my deeds'?? noone is perfect, let God be the judge!

Most people commenting in anger or angry at the article are just having a psychological reaction which is normal. They have built their lives around 'my pastor/Daddy says' and any attack on their pastors is taken on an unconscious level as an attack on their own lives,their very essence. Thank God this is all done on the internet or else there would have been several lynchings by now.
so the moral of this my comment is DO NOT JUDGE A MANS FAITH OR HE WILL KILL YOU [and will think he is doing the will of God].
So to all the 'my pastor' christians,i apologise on behalf of the rest of my 'rational and God believing' christians.

And by the way i wrote and posted Anon at 1130pm,8.51am and 9.16am

JESSE.

You are a dullard!.

Run ur race let the next person run his. The article is simply trying to rubbish the Christian faith. If you do not believe, leave it for those who believe. Yes, there are fake pastors as there are fake doctors. Why lump them all together because you do not understand them? Why thrash it just cause u dnt believe it. My consolation is that people who have said, done worse, are now Christians. That's my prayer for people like this, else, it'll be a sad ending. God have mercy....

i also wrote Anon at 10.21 am.

Love your neighbor as yourself and love the Lord your God will all of your being and worship HIM in spirit and in Truth.
last comment;

JESSE

Abi o.wen adeboye says my father says know it is exactly what God says he's telling.Never place him side by side with whatever pastor you call fake or money making.By their fruits you will know who truly is called of God.as for me,I am a living testimony of pa Adeboye's God! He's so true and alive!

You are stupid!.

Japhet ilaya said...

In the voice of ''Majek Fashek'' Religion na Politricks...lots of them they are phariesees.. Anyway frns.earn a minimum of 30 Dollars in a day by this refferal system. Visit the link below, register and there after, reffer others to the site.. Its pretty cool. Use time wisely while here.
http://iearn123.com/ref.php?page=act/ref&invcod=150297

Linda the award of the blogger that persecutes the church goes to you; are you okay now. Infact you can change your name to Linda Saul cause it suits you. But i will tell you this, when God begins to fight for his church just know you are counted as one of his enemies. Am not judging you am stating a fact to caution you. If we Christians continue to rubbish ourselves why should other religious group respect us; in fact we give them the right to kill us since we say we are no good.
Have you heard; the God that sees in secret will reward openly but in Nigeria we want churches to come and say we did this or that but they won't, cause its not for man but for God.

Gbam!!!!!! Your words men, they wore gloves and were delivering punches everywhere. Bros that was a TKO. Thanks

y use SCOAN picture for som1 else's story...

goodie said...

and so? Even Atheists can now run dia mouth anyhow and write rubbish. And yes there are false prophets n there are also d true ones. The wisdom of men is foolishness unto God. Dear writer, you need Jesus.

Hopefully you’ll post this… Truth is… ‘I am doing my job’ isn’t an excuse. Whatever you choose to post on ur blog does affects people’s perception and after reading your previous posts, it’s obvious what side ur leaning more towards. I am certainly not in support of exploiting people but I certainly also do not support Jesus and His church being put to shame. I think you owe people more balanced reportage. Here’s my email address: realevantchrist@gmail.com . You just might need to talk to someone. Jesus loves you Linda and ur salvation is more important than generating buzz on your website through any means (I could be wrong in saying that’s ur intention), money or glitz and glamour. God bless you!

People who say no one should speak about/touch an anointed man of God, pls i have a question for you all. Were you there when they were been anointed by God? No one was. For all i care, i can give up my flat, buy a pulpit there, call 5 friends and bam! Am now being called an anointed. Only God knows who really are His. We humans can only know them through their actions. Through speaking what they profess or preach. Only those who really live according to his teachings and places less emphasis on material things over helping the less privileged is a anointed. So please spare us the talk of " 'annoited men' not been judged"

Yes o trust in the Lord with all ur heart the Only One you talk to when no one is close by not the one that's fries his hair(relaxer is now expensive) or calls you to remind you about paying ur tithe coz its past its due date.All u miracle finders be warned.

creamychik said...

first of all, linda didnt write this. second of all, my opinion is this, no one should judge. that should be for God alone. our world especially our country is so corrupt that i dont trust or believe anybody. i go to church not because of any pastor, but to serve my God. i dont pay tithes but i sow seed in other's. i try to live a holy life and do Gods work regardless of any corrupt pastor. i try hard not to judge and let the words of others deter me from God

Adaeze and anon 10:47am so una dey amongst d pple wey dey push pple comot for road when G.O dey pass abi?God will help us in dis country.I will never forget what my bfriend went thru when he was in Christ Embassy,a diff colour of shirt every sunday for service even when he didn't have money 2 feed himself WTF is that?nobody tell am to comot 4 society but not b4 acquiring 24 multi-coloured shirts n in dis country when there's hardly any carnival.

Modupsy said...

first, all u idiots shouting lindas name, i'm sure u can all c that the article was written by abimbola Adelakun of Punch newspaper. second, the second set of idiots shouting"do my prophet no harm'are part of the reasons why this country wont move forward. noone is saying u shouldnt tithe or give offerings, but lets do it with our eyes and brains open. why would some prophet feed off his congregation greedily like we av seen them do? we d congregation dont like cars and private jets abi? everyone is accountable to the people they lead or serve because whether they like it or not or whether or not they agree, these 'prophets"are servants of God , employed to lead his sheep and not steal from them!!!

See how u all are jumping up, read the article well and understand d writers point of view. d writer condemned all, pope, tb, oyedepo , pastor chris, adeboye, etc her words"..How can we say that what Oyedepo and Mbenga are accused of peddling different from the Pope’s selling of Indulgences in the 16th Century?" She is either a muslim or Atheist. So all dis is trash.

And pls religion should not be compared with christianity, they are two different things. Who doesn't worship their Pastor or priest or reverend fathers. And if u wanna talk about exploitation Lemme tell u dat its not jst bcos ur rev fada, priest, Pastor is yet to acquire so he is a saint. They all have their way of exploiting people. The popular father mbaca sold holy water to people. Tb joshua has holy handkerchief to mention a few and u all patronise them jx to come here and write rubbish. Pls dear writer if i dont follow my Pastor who is certified man of God will i follow u who is definitely a confused Being?

@anon 11.12am. You are the judge on behalf of God? As you have already stated that when God begins to judge, Linda will be counted as one of his enemies. Jesus got angry at things like this..We have turned the Church of God into market places and there's no fear of God in the hearts of people..leaders and followers together.

Vanity upon Vanity. Kudos to the writer. Many people are not bold enough to speak their minds like you have done. When Jesus went to the temple to correct the wrongs people must have condemned him, some would have even tried to put the fear of "the men of God" or "priests" in his heart. He STOOD. I STAND with you.

Sisi Clara

Deekay said...

Depriceless, remind yourself of that quote when the next Hitler comes into power. Gullible people! Just cos someone is in authority doesn't make them above the law. Sometimes you even have to set your parents right, or elders, or teachers etc. No one is perfect so stop acting like these your business men pastors are sent from God.

Anyone can start a church tomorrow and be as rich and famous as these other thieves.

They just have to be good at convincing gullible people like u. Mostly hopeless Nigerians looking to God for a better life on earth, and eternal life later on.

When will my people wake up?!

Yes o he collected

Omolola said...

The way Christians come to the rescue of their pastors, I pray and hope they do the same with God. The article just talked about what is going on in the church circle and the fact that your pastors name was mentioned doesnt mean ur pastor is wrong or the writer is wrong and the writer never said anything like God is not real, pls read well before dropping your comments. Nice work. Nigerians should begin to worship God in spirit and in truth and not just their pastors. We should act our faith and not pay mere lip service. A jet can feed so many children starving in somalia and other parts of the world. God will surely judge all cos He sees what man cannot.

Looooool

Not wretched life my dear but toooo much extravagance is the key point here wen that money can be given to help the needy

Odion Akhigbe said...

I worship GOD and GOD alone...I no send any pastor....Jesus is my lord and personal saviour.
I did backslide some years ago because I was using men of God as a standard to practise Christianity but I know better now....Commune with your GOD and leave pastors alone.

My dear its write -up pls..the articles English alone has scattered my head ds morning dnt make it worse

Deekay said...

So it is ok to brainwash vulnerable or gullible people into a false heaven, false healings etc, in exchange for the little the have, with the excuse of sowing seed? It is ok to use this same money and build schools that kids( of most of the folks being brainwashed into giving ) cannot afford to attend? This is why naija is still where it is today. Always leaving mess for god to clean up. Why can't we do our part? How silly are u to imply it is ok for them to live such lavish lifestlye, and especially at the expense of their members?! Smh! U and ur kind need help!

Reading the comments here is making me weep! the article is one of the most logical ones i have seen in a while.... No bias, it's just plain truth..... but the comments have only proven the writer right!..People let's be real!

Show ur trophy.

4 those of u calling linda,she is just d poster,she isn't d writer/auhor of d article/novel...
Take note

Stop name dropping.... It is between you and God... You know only yourself and God... What makes you think these names you dropped are any better?

Oh well, Linda I could let this pass cos U didnt write it up...I almost lost my respect for U.
People jst sit and hate over the wealth of Pastors, makes me wonder if they are better or more reasonable than the followers of these Men of God. Jst Hate, Hate, Hate and Hate...mind U, thou shall not judge, lets actually see were this lands the writer of this piece. May God forgive ur ignorance dats all I hv for U.

There is a misplace of interest in all the you write here. If a man want you to attend his programme with a fee, you have a choice to stay off. In all of this nobody is forced of robbed of his/her money, it is a matter of choice: if I spend my money to a Church and you spend yours in a shrine, if I spent my money to a pastor and you spend yours for herbalist it's a choice. Pls stop all the noise about pastor and their jets.

Well said

I watched a documentary on Aljezera about Nigerian pastors in UK and this Daily Mail story could be true! the Aljezera journalist(undercover tho)had spy camera on and behold! thiefery,deceit etc. the journalist even mentioned a rape rumour abt a particular pastor being investigated. in fact search the story in Aljezera **floetry in motion*

Of what relevance is this 1st position sef? So childish!

Tolulopemi said...

Hmmmmm, let us leave God to judge. but seriously, it is saddening how some pastors now live very large. didn't Jesus teach us to help the poor and sow the seed in heaven? why are some pastors having their rewards on earth already? however, there are some good pastors! I know a pastor who takes care of all the poor in his church, and yet he is not living large at all. God is watching us

If the write up was about Islamic leaders, moslems would have gone on a rampage.
Do a similar write up on Islamic leaders and see what happens.
E fi won sile e je kan ma so lo...let them say what they want to say, u are antitled to your opinion...Song by 9ice)
Whatever anybody sows he will reap...pastor, Linda, Adelakun, readers, commentators...God is watching!!!!

My pple perish cause of d lack of knowledge. D writer has said it all. D modern day christainity has bn capitalised. Money making venture. Business tycoon nd co. Al ds gullible folowers. I pity u all. 2 all dose crucifyn linda, wat crime has she comited? Does d post in anyway say linda wrote it? God will 1st punish U pple nd ur false pastors hu loot 4rm dm gullible worshipers. Where in d bible ws it written dat d 1nce anointed r d pastors? Mtcheeeew.
Pls, left 2 me, all ds pastors deserve death by stoning jor.
Tinablack says via Motorola c2

Linda u don dey give prize 2 d pple wey b d 1st 2 comment 4 ur updates????

Best comment ever! God bless you my dear.

This is to the Writer and Smart pple!! I'm a clinician to be precise, I treat patients everyday n I hve seen different types of diseases, trauma, infections, cancers so I'm gonna sound unconventional n maybe not smart enough, u be the judge!!
1. It's a fool that say God doesn't exist. 2. Roman 10 vs 10! Jesus is my Lord n Saviour!! He is the only son of God!! He is the assurance of salvation and the reason for my righteousness!! I'm a co-heir with Christ!!!
3. I was born into a Christian family, but accepted and confessed Jesus as my Lord n Saviour with my mouth!!! Thru preaching by a man of God!!
4.Malachi 3:10 talked abt tithing n offering!! Mind u, Christianity is not a religion, it's my way of life!! I live by the book called Bible, so when God said out of all he has given me to bring 10% into his house, i jst obey!! I live in the kingdom not by democracy!!
5. I choose to make kingdom investment!! I sow into my Pastors' lives!! Call it stupidity, bondage, it's ur own cup of tea!! Likewise u chose to make Land investment, buy health insurance haha I see that everyday, pay ur cable fee, go to club, party, buy cars, pay online for hookers n porns, it's ur cup of tea!!
5. I give to the prophet of God n the whole household of God becos I want to!! it may sound stupid to u n maybe even seems foolish but then again the wisdom and knowledge of man is foolishness in the eyes of God!! It's by his grace that I treat patients everyday yet I'm free from diseases!! it's thru the preaching by his servants and I studying and listening to the word of God that I'm here writing this!! Not becos I'm too smart/intelligent!!

Wow, u can't be rational n be a born again!!! That's what "I know it all" americans re trying to do!! In the kingdom of God, Christ is the king n the only way to the father!! were u there when Christ died n was resurrected on the 3rd day hence the wonderful gift of salvation and reason for resurrection?? but with FAITH, u believed!!! In God's kingdom, u follow his principles n the new law which is LOVE UR NEIGHBOUR as I hve loved U!!!! This is a command, not a request!! Analyse it all u want, intelligently or Smartly, be my guest!! When God loves, he gives!! For God so love the world that he gave his only begotten son!! I gve to the church n man of God that preaches the word of God to me n the writer calls me gullible/foolish, na u get ur mouth!! Like the way, u wrote this, u invested ur moni in buying laptop, ipad or whatever electronic device, u utilise in writing this article, the same way I invested mine in the kingdom!! Then why do u hve problem with me!!!

You feel like slaping linda abi so na weti n them dey teach una for adebayo church be that one.

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 243   Newer› Newest»