Chelsea fires coach Roberto Di Matteo | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 21 November 2012

Chelsea fires coach Roberto Di Matteo

Chelsea this morning fired its coach just a day after another loss in the Champions League. Full statement on Roberto Di Matteo's departure below...
Chelsea Football Club has parted company this morning with Manager Roberto Di Matteo.
The team's recent performances and results have not been good enough and the owner and the Board felt that a change was necessary now to keep the club moving in the right direction as we head into a vitally important part of the season.
More after the cut...

The club faces a difficult task ahead in qualifying for the knockout stages of the UEFA Champions League as well as maintaining a strong challenge for the top of the Premier League while competing in three other cup competitions. Our aim is to remain as competitive as possible and challenge strongly on all fronts.
The owner and the Board would like to thank Roberto for all he has done for the club since taking over in March. Roberto helped guide us to an historic Champions League victory and a seventh FA Cup. We will never forget the huge contribution he has made to this club's history and he will always be welcome at Stamford Bridge.
The club will be making an announcement shortly regarding a new first team manager.
Is this not the same coach that helped them win the Champions league last season? This Roman Abramovich head no correct sha. There are rumours that Rafa Benitez is being lined up to replace Roberto Di Matteo at Chelsea. Do you support the sack?

78 comments:

Immaculate said...

THEY SHOULD HAVE GIVEN HIM ANOTHER FINAL CHANCE .

MJ said...

Firing the coach will improve chelsea's performance??? Hmmm, ok o

Eeeya sorry 4 him...first to comment:)

BLOGLORD said...

Linda check ur bb msg.

Talk of OLD HABIT DIE HARD. Was expecting dat.
Its quite HAZARDOUS AND TERRIFIYING,D
Matteo sacked without given an OSCAR award,that is what u get from
LUIZING. Loolz.

goodie said...

lol.. Na there way na

DITLO said...

Abramovich is a big baby... who doesn't have an idea how he wants what he wants he shouldn't be so foolish to rush into anything. *passing mic*

Anty bloglord we knw u hv her pin,tanx for d update!

na soo life be

Jt becoz he won d UEFA does not mean he can not be sacked.....

Abramovich is such a d*ck head why will he sack such a sexy dude *mtcheeew*

After everything, nothing for chelsea. Lolz

Yomslaw said...

Lol @BONARIO NNAGS ........ ''HAZARDous and TERRYfying''................

Q matnicy said...

am very sad now!!!

Linda give me ur pin? Or better still add me.2369a840. Dasliva. Pls linda only# straight face#

hmmm bloglord is pulling weight seriously...stupid move on ur part though....linda i want ur pin too...back to d question of d day..why sack di matteo??? i will soon cease to b a chelsea fan!

Dr. Pinch said...

Am disappointed at this decision. SMH how can you build when you always destroy?

Nancy silksignature ltd said...

Roberto Di Matteo. Ilove you but u have τ̲̅ȍ move on ,this is not the ξnϑ of ur world . Maybe u weren't hard enof τ̲̅ȍ the players or ortherwise..miss u dearie

Bonario is a funny guy. Well na Matteo DUROGBA ooo

Someone gave you a Trophy that has eluded your team for 100 years, 6 months after winning it, You sacked him because he had a run of bad results...Chelsea Football Club is an ABSOLUTE DISGRACE to football and all it stands for....GGMU.

Welcome to the first Manchester United Blog in Nigeria..And stay updated if you are a Manchester United Fan

benedictsleek.blogspot.com

Bonario this shit is played out, you always want to sound exceptional, at the end u fool urself

Mumu you put ur pin for the world and you are saying Linda only, who even need ur crying pin? Foolish u!

Is dasilva a pretty chic? Can I add u if u dn,t mind. *wink*

How can a human being sack such a fine boy, gossshhhhh...pls come roberto I will employ u nonsense..

Bona give me ur pin.*kiss*

Chelsea must be run by a bunch of idiots... that includes the owner by the way!

helen said...

BaBa Olowo is impatience and ungrateful. Di Matteo brought glory to standford bridge within a short duration. A glory which neither self-acclaimed "special one" Jose Mouriho, Ancelotti and world cup winning coach scholari did not match.

Checout this website
www.naijaopenmouth.com

Honest Nigerian said...

It's unfortunante, but that's football. If U dont get the results, u gotta go. It's a paying job, he's not doing us a favour.

A match as important as that, he could have fielded a better side. Tores ought to have started that game. Granted we have a shortage of strikers, but with Oscar, Mata & Hazzard, Torres would (could) have caused Juve some troubles.

I'm glad he got the booth. He's made some serious poor judgements this season.

Now we need a striker (preferably Falcao), a defender and a coach (prefereably Guadiola)

"A patient hunter will surely get hold of it prey one day"

http://segunojo.blogspot.com/2012/11/chelsea-football-club-has-parted.html

Big Brother Chealsea, anoda coach has been EVICTED lol ff @TWEETEST_BOI

A chicken does'nt have value in it environment, but it does on top of a rice.

forexTRADER said...

Chelsea is a souless & classless club. Unfortunately its owner is stupidly rich. @Honest Nigerian, for your mind u think say u don make sense. Shift abeg. No be only falcao, na falcon u go buy.

Big brother Chelsea, anoda coach has been EVICTED! Ff @TWEETEST_BOI

KOFOSHY said...

Dasilva fine ooooo <3

abeg con coach NIGERIA smal we need coach asin! Badly tinz. Hehe *super pigeons* expect a new coach cos d falcon dn dye.

KOFOSHY said...

Hmm hmm ..ok

KOFOSHY said...

*stamford Bridge

KOFOSHY said...

*Mourinho
*Scolari

Thank me later! *kiss*

Tah!! 4get bro.... D torres dat u bought without d user manual... Honestly, cos dat guy was doing just fine n he got to chelsea n bkoms a flop of d season.... Such an expensive striker not playing up to expectation..... Na wah ooo...inshort its a bigger wah oo

KOFOSHY said...

And work 'under' u abi??..Ashawo!

KOFOSHY said...

Hmmmph!! Wise talk

Gbaskele..... Love wan tin-tin

Pls try again later....

LMFAO!! Bonario lovely write up, so funny and its in line. The new coach will make it 9 Coaches in 8 and a half years. Hmmmmn... Smh...

Chichi Taichi Okere said...

Not even a Chelsea fan but i'm of the opinion that barring substitutions,they could have achieved the Champion's league victory without a coach.I think Maurihnio instilled such a collective desire to win in the core of the team that most coaches could not match afterwards.I think Di-Matteo's just lucky to be at the right place at the right time so in my humble opinion;yes he's very dispensable and he should be sacked.However they need a manager with a bigger ego than than the players'...one in the mould of a Fergie or the special one to bring out the best in them.

@anon 11.46am, don't hate on bonario because he is special and you are a loser.

NecFix said...

Not sure if John Terry has shagged more wives or Roman Abramovich has sacked more managers. Haha.
Just some facts for y'all to savour:
1. Chelsea had eight managers in their first 70 YEARS from 1905 to 1975. Now going for their 9th manager in 9 years under owner Abramovich.
2. There have been 17 different Chelsea managers whilst Sir Alex Ferguson has been manager at Manchester United. 12 whilst Arsene Wenger has been manager at Arsenal.
3. Before Chelsea's former coach AVB was sacked, his last league game with Chelsea was against West Brom which they lost. Now RDM's last league game with Chelsea was against West Brom also which they lost. #CurseOrCoincidence?

4. Final game of RDM: Torres benched. Final game of AVB: Torres benched. Title decider against Man Utd for Ancelotti: Torres benched. All sacked. #CurseOrCoincidence?

Roman Abramovic: #HeSacksWhoHeWants, #HeSacksWhenHeWants. Hahaha

lolz @ nario cmt, dat asyd...,i am a chelsea fan bt, its it gud to spew out wat iz ryt! Di matteo only cme nd drop d aready cooked food 4rm d fire By tkin ova 4rm avb nd winning d chanpions leuge nd f.A cup. Matteo doz nt have a pattern......although he haz already set a record being d first coach to win d ucl 4 d blue. Tank god stamford brdge stake holderz said he iz always welcm at d bridge. Sha abramovic haz hiz own problems nd planz.

Nekky said...

sad!!!!! but the truth is that Roman never wanted to give RDM the job in the first place. in his eye, RDM is still a care taker manager. its unfortunate but what can we do? its his club and his money. i personally bliv RDM should hv been given one more chance. he made a silly mistake with his line up in yesterday's match but isn't life all about mistakes and learning from them? at this rate, no top notch coach will be willing to take up an offer from Chelsea. i'm so pissed!!!!

Anon 11:47 I,m vry sure u will be d first 2 send a request. It,s ur whole generation dat,s foolish. Pple like u shuld nt be here! N.F.A

NecFix said...

Seriously, I'm trying to imagine Arsene Wenger as Chelsea manager; He wouldn't only be sacked by Abramovic, he would gun him down

Nilla said...

CFC= Coach Firing Club!! Na their way noni!

Dear Roman, Do you mean UCL & FA Cup doesn't Mata at all? U should know that a team can't go without Luizing a match. Roman, U Terry-Fy me. You have turned Chelsea football club(CFC) into Coaches Firing Club(CFC)

New laundromat launched in Nigeria visit them at http://www.snowyclean.com/

Sincerely I don't believe sacking a coach improves the performance of any football team..

R U B B I S H

Sincerely I don't think sacking coaches and replacing them improves the performance of their team..I believe there other factors that contribute to the success and victory.

Dasliva pant oshi...who wan add u before...monkey...u no kukuma post ur cv for here...odeh!

Kunle said...

Congratulation, this is a much predicted phenomenon. UP CHELSEA.............Want a flat belly, burn fat, loss weight, eat right for healthy sake and maintaining your body shape with fitness.Visit my blog to learn more
http://fastweightlosstipsnigeria.blogspot.com/

And the Juventus 3 Chelsea 0 defeat in Italy, what did he expect, you played a UEFA match without a striker hmmmm...
Fire the bastard till we get a boss with the creativity and discipline to win and restructure the midfield Mikel-Obi watch your back, winning is a mindset not a Noble Peace prize nomination,

“Our aim is to remain as competitive as possible and challenge strongly on all fronts”

Immediate restructuring

Reevaluate the coaching evaluation and hiring process…play the long game like Man U and Arsenal……hmmm I got a name in mind and not Pep G!!!!
Moses lacks confidence and accuracy on the right flank
Oscar is too weak and over stretches plays
Lukaku come back home WE need that African strength
Hazard spot on!!!
Torres is NOT Drogba and still lacks confidence and strength

It has been a terrible month for Chelsea and they need to do at least two things which is to sign a couple of players in January, and have an organized defensive system in place. Defensively that means not alternating the positions between the back four during a match and having the central defenders always play in the center of the field and the fullbacks always patrolling the flanks, especially defensively.

I do not see the hunger, passion and determination in his performances to be that top notch solid central defender that prides himself and has as his top priority keeping clean sheets. He also does not lead his team and fight for every single ball that he has a chance to win. And what is it with him always putting his hands behind his back when a player is about to shoot or cross a ball in? I understand he wants to avoid committing a foul but that clearly shows me that he does not have enough confidence in himself and his game. It also makes midfielders and attackers that come at him less intimated and more encouraged to either cross, dribble and/or past him.

In simple terms, David Luiz is certainly not someone that can or will fill the shoes of John Terry. Terry is tenacious, hungry and passionate, and a leader, not to mention a legend for Chelsea FC. Luiz is casual, uninterested and a non-committed defender with no leadership qualities. If you look at most of the greatest defenders of the past they were all great leaders, e.g. Cannavaro, Nesta, Desaily, Puyol, Ronald Koeman, Tony Adams, Bobby Moore, Jaap Stam, Fenando Hierro and Jaap Stam. Unfortunate but true, David Luiz is not a leader.

As for new signings, without a doubt we should attempt to capture Falcao as our new first choice striker relegating Torres to the bench and also recalling Lukalu back to strengthen our striking options. We need also to have a new defensive midfielder to bolster the team defensively as well as to provide a quality alternative to Ramires and Obi Mike (Romeu is simply not at the level to be considered a regular first team player). That obviously brings me to the topic of whom we should sign and that is Fellaini from Everton. Feillani would be a quality alternative to the team with his strength, passing and height, and not to mention his physical presence. His physical presence alone is certain to give our team a greater edge and physicality considering our first choice of Mata, Hazard and Oscar are all midfielders that are relatively small in stature. With Fellaini that will also keep Ramires fresh as he cannot be the work horse running throughout the whole match for every match, and when he needs a rest there is only Romeu as a replacement. Romeu is still developing and nowhere near matured yet to play at such a high level such as the Champions League and even the Premiership. With regards to our central defenders, Terry’s contract is also set to end at the end the 2013-2014 season, and uncertainty of whether he will accept only a one year contract given the club’s policy to extend players over thirty years of age with one year contract, it may be time to sign another quality central defender. Robust, full of stamina and highly versatile as he can play all along the back four, Sergio Ramos from Real Madrid would be a great addition however it is unlikely he will move. Another alternative Mat Hummerls for Borussia Dortmund would be a solid acquisition but he also would unlikely leave as he is signed till 2017.

We also need to start using a pressured man to man marking system which would give the players the designated responsibility to defend and hold them individually accountable for their errors. And as much as David Luiz is considered a quality defender, he simply is not performing at the highest level and is far too casual in his style of play. For instance, look at the reply of the second goal that Juventus scored. As soon as the ball was passed down from the wing to the middle of the pitch from Asamoah, instead of Luiz running back to close down space and defend, he does not run, he does jog, he WALKS casually and WATCHES Juventus score their second goal. Yes Obi Mikel could have come back a little faster with Victor Moses but at least they were jogging/trotting back but NOT walking. On top of that once the goal was scored you could see in the reply that Moses, Obi Mikel, Betrand and Ashley Cole all reacted disappointed which shows their commitment and dedication to the team, however Luiz does not even react. It is as though he does not even care!

Abramovic should stop playing with millions of chelsea fans' heart please, poor di matteo hasn't really performed that bad to deserve dismissal!

Stanley Onduru said...

Roman seems to be rolling wit Donald Trump, gettin ery1 fired this days........hmmmm u re fired for reading ma comment...check out yelnatsfashion.blogspot.com sharply

Thats Chelsea for you...they no get patience atall!!!!!!

I'm sorry DMT...thanks for the Champions League..I will always love you...I remain blue for life

I'm soo speechless @ d moment, buh I wish him all d best. Thank u for helping us win d champs league. Its d way ur destiny was written. Waiting patiently to see who d new coach would be! #Teamchelsea4lifeno matterwhat *tongue out 2 haters*

sheyi matthew said...

Chelsea job is like barracks soilder go soilder come barrack remen the same. Di Matteo should noted that b4 taken on the job.mene mene sorry di matteo.

Itz a pity he had 2 be btd out but i v bn anticipatn dt f late.he did a gud job 2 bring d trophy but RDM v neva bn a seasond coach. Talkn f d champions league, it wz only d post dt stoppd avram grant 4rm bn a champions league winner. I v alwyz said dt he wz gvn dt hot seat on sentimntal grounds nt bcs f his credentials. Chelsea nds a coach who s n charge, vry technical and a gud manager f players. RDM wz jas d coach wen chelsea won d champions league but it wz more f d resolve f d old players who smelt a lifetym opprtunty and tuk it, luck ntwtstndn. RDM s a gud coach but i doubt hez gud enof 4 chelsea.l

Lmao!

The quickest way to make money now is to take a coaching job at Chelsea Football Club and get sacked within a year......Oooossshhheeee!!!

Dis Abramrubbish abi wetin be him name self!, naa wah o, A̶̲̥̅♏ sure d guy get touch brain. e ma wo ni ran o

Trigger happy Roman. Benitez now in place.

Yinx said...

If anyone LIBers deserve Linda award, IMO it should be BONERIO, BONE wen u go upgrade ur phone

Stunning quest there. Whаt happeneԁ аfteг?
Thanks!

Alsο visіt my homepage - payday loans online