Jail is too good for Nigerian pastors - by Abimbola Adelakun | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 22 November 2012

Jail is too good for Nigerian pastors - by Abimbola Adelakun

Found this article in Punch. Written by Abimbola Adelakun  (aa_adelakun@utexas.edu)
Recently, the Daily Mail, UK, had a feature on Bishop David Oyedepo. He was accused (alongside his son who ‘manages’ the UK branch) of fleecing worshippers by making “spurious claims” and “cynical exploitation of the gullible”.
The undercover journalist who visited the British church and the British MP who condemned him acted ignorant of the antithesis of faith and logicality when they expressed surprise about how people were urged to give more money in return for blessings that were neither guaranteed nor cognisant of the realities on ground.

The feature also talked about how much of the money creamed off these worshippers are being repatriated to Nigeria (which, in a perverse sense, is a positive development!)
The same Daily Mail, weeks before, ran a feature on another Nigerian pastor in the same UK, Alex Omokodu, (who claims on his website to have raised the dead twice) and another Pastor Mbenga of the Victorious Pentecostal Assembly who scam worshippers by selling olive oil and black currant drink at double the market rate as “miracle cures”, capable of curing terminal diseases.
Like Oyedepo, Omokodu lives large, far removed from the mess he makes of peoples’ lives.
My visceral reaction at those articles was to defend my countrymen against a searchlight that might have been beamed with a racist undertone. I mean, Daily Mail suddenly woke up and realised religion is exploitative? Wow!

Isn’t that what religion has been all about for many centuries? How can we say that what Oyedepo and Mbenga are accused of peddling different from the Pope’s selling of Indulgences in the 16th Century? Religion plays on fear to rip-off poor and miserable people in the name of God. And the irony is, the more people are deceived, the more devoted they become. So, what’s new? From appropriating people’s money to shoplifting condoms to forcing youths to have sex, what have church leaders not done?

If people have refused to read History books that teach us that religion came to us riding on the back of exploitation and politics, why, with the celebrated cases of Jim Bakker, Eddie Long and Benny Hinn among others, do people still throng churches and sponsor their pastors’ excesses out of their poverty? Why has the case of financial scandals involving the creators of TBN Channel -some of which are so disgusting- not caused a mass boycott of these hawkers of falsehood? Why does it spur people to defensiveness instead?

Why did somebody like Jesu Oyingbo have followership in the first place and why didn’t people walk out on Pastor Chris Oyakhilome when he charged gate fees before one could attend service? Seriously, who should take the blame? The person who sells snake oil or the one who finds a psychic relief (however temporary) from buying?

Take the case of Pastor Enoch Adeboye: On his church website, Adeboye claims God told him He had no choice but to keep Covenant Partners alive for 10 years because they were giving to Him within that period. This takes ideas of bizarre and outlandish to another height entirely.
One, a god is meant to earn his keep but Adeboye’s is one whose services people have to pay for, never mind that billions who are not his covenant partners are not only alive, but live considerably better lives elsewhere. Two, can Adeboye, personally, account for every single one of his covenant partners and that in those last 10 years, not a single one died? Can he? We are used to Nigerian judges and politicians saying that their hands are tied, but God? That sounds like something from the mind of a freakish Nollywood screen-writer.

Since the news broke that Pastor Ayo Oritsejeafor has joined the league of Private Jet-Owning Pastors, there has been, thankfully, a sense of outrage at the excesses of Nigerian pastors.
For the record, let me state that Pastor Oritsejeafor is not a good poster boy for Christianity (never mind the various caps he wears, anyone can be anything in Nigeria’s Pentecostalism). I make this point – debatable, of course- not just because of his Bling Bling jewellery like 50 Cents or even his bond with the present occupant of Aso Rock Villa; there is something about him –and I came to this conclusion after watching him raise an offering on Cable TV- that doesn’t seem to me would wait for God to supply all his ‘greeds’ according to his riches and glory.

His private jet was presented while he was sandwiched, like Jesus between two thieves, in the presence of a President who bizarrely declared he couldn’t see how corruption and road accidents are interlinked and, a governor whose public morals fall below average. Rev. Fr. Matthew Kukah could not have put it better: Oritsejeafor’s moral authority is undermined by these dalliances.

The issue is, religion, exploitation and subsequent scandals will not go away. Not in this generation. Not even in this world. As long as there is that primitive instinct in man to seek the supernatural, to seek God and the fear of death is constantly shaken before our eyes, people will continue to subject themselves to exploitative pastors to use as they like.

But the good thing Oritsejeafor has done for us is that he created a conversation; Oyedepo, Omokodu and other sellers of 21st Century Indulgences keep exposing the underbelly of these merchant-pastors; but whether this will translate into a rationality that will cause Nigerians to slow down on the ill-logic of tolerating these pastors’ shenanigans remains to be seen.

It takes more than throwing pastors in jail for their followers to be set free from the mind-prison they are ensconced in. Religion and political power are intertwined in many ways that make this impossible to begin with at all. History shows that, for instance, with an Industrial Revolution, the process creates a ripple effect that bleaches people of primitiveness to transcend religious superstitions while forging a better society that is not predicated on dogmatic concepts of theodicy which religion propagates. When that day comes in Nigeria, and even Africa, these pastors will wilfully choose jail as rescue from irrelevance the times would banish them.

But here’s the problem: These pastors know that with Nigeria’s developmental progress comes their end. And they are actively complicit in the dysfunctionality of Nigeria to extend their own longevity.

243 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 243 of 243

Even though some points are true, I dont seems to understand the one about Pst Adeboye.

Usually I don’t really enjoy making comments most especially as regards issues of this nature, but I think this may be an avenue for someone to learn. I think a lot of us here have a general problem, having it in mind that some persons “Pastors” take advantage of the congregation to make fortunes for themselves, I wouldn’t say this is a lie but I’ve only come to understand that there are no oppressor, though, we do have the oppressed and the suppose oppressor only triumph at the ignorance of the oppressed.
Pastors being rich to me is normal like anyone could be rich in his/her endeavors, it will be highly unreasonable for anyone to start criticizing or placing judgement on anyone being a billionaire @ the expense of his congregation “My pastor is a Billionaire”. No one gives under duress in my church, No compulsory target to be meet, U give @ ur will! The blessings of the Lord make’s rich and add no sorrow. Believers should understand that “All that is meant for life and godliness are available through Christ unto the Church, but U’ll only prosper and be in Health only according to the level of ur soul prosperity. I will like to say here that I’m aware of gathering where congregation are put under unnecessary duress to pay one money or the other, meeting one target or another. “Believer’s shine ur eye”. Only willingly giving will be rewarded by God. Our father of faith were rich ” Abraham, Issac was so rich that the philistines envied him, how about David, Solomon. We are suppose to be an avenue to reach to unreached, support the unsupport, be a father to the fatherless and mother to the motherless. We will make Billions, but it wont stay with us, we’ll only be a channel to bless our world. The Kingdom of God must flourish either you give or not, God do not need your leprous driven pocket to glorify himself a midst mankind. Let throw away all this slanderous handwriting as regards this subject matter.
Work it from inside out, It’s in UUUUUU
If u don’t know I’m also a BILLIONAIRE, send your criticism.

Usually I don’t really enjoy making comments most especially as regards issues of this nature, but I think this may be an avenue for someone to learn. I think a lot of us here have a general problem, having it in mind that some persons “Pastors” take advantage of the congregation to make fortunes for themselves, I wouldn’t say this is a lie but I’ve only come to understand that there are no oppressor, though, we do have the oppressed and the suppose oppressor only triumph at the ignorance of the oppressed.
Pastors being rich to me is normal like anyone could be rich in his/her endeavors, it will be highly unreasonable for anyone to start criticizing or placing judgement on anyone being a billionaire @ the expense of his congregation “My pastor is a Billionaire”. No one gives under duress in my church, No compulsory target to be meet, U give @ ur will! The blessings of the Lord make’s rich and add no sorrow. Believers should understand that “All that is meant for life and godliness are available through Christ unto the Church, but U’ll only prosper and be in Health only according to the level of ur soul prosperity. I will like to say here that I’m aware of gathering where congregation are put under unnecessary duress to pay one money or the other, meeting one target or another. “Believer’s shine ur eye”. Only willingly giving will be rewarded by God. Our father of faith were rich ” Abraham, Issac was so rich that the philistines envied him, how about David, Solomon. We are suppose to be an avenue to reach to unreached, support the unsupport, be a father to the fatherless and mother to the motherless. We will make Billions, but it wont stay with us, we’ll only be a channel to bless our world. The Kingdom of God must flourish either you give or not, God do not need your leprous driven pocket to glorify himself a midst mankind. Let throw away all this slanderous handwriting as regards this subject matter.
Work it from inside out, It’s in UUUUUU
If u don’t know I’m also a BILLIONAIRE, send your criticism

http://thebanquethall.blogspot.com/ said...

Linda,

I keep wondering why you put something on your blog that attacks the church every week. Have you lost faith in Christianity? Are you discouraged in God?

In the past, the church were persecuted physically, but now the persecution is done mostly by journalist. Linda, you are a journalist. People's life are greatly affected by what they read.

Do you know that the information you put here criticizing the pastors has a way of discouraging people about going to church.

A quick question for you Linda....when will you ever post some good report about the church? If you can do some research to find some negative report about the church, will you also spend some time to look for a positive news to put up about God.

I have never seen you post any news talking about God, what He has done for u, so i can understand your blog is not a religious blog....so why put up religious news that will affect the Church?

Linda, I BEG YOU IN THE NAME OF JESUS CHRIST, STOP ATTACKING THE CHURCH!

MY HEART IS BREAKING, Pls don't let the devil use u like this. God has given you so much Linda. You have money, you have fame, why are you doing this?

Many people read ur blog all over the world n you don't know what u r doing. The ways of God is not the way of man...but if u continue like this, then i will start praying for u very seriously. That God will use you as a vessel to win souls, like He used Saul on his way to Damascus to persecute the church.

The pen is mightier than the CHURCH. You are doing more damage than those who physically attack Christians, because you are taking the peoples hear away from God.

I hope you read this....FOR GOD SO LOVED THE WORLD! THAT HE GAVE HIS ONLY BEGOTTEN SON! THAT WHOSOEVER BELIEVES IN HIM SHOULD NOT DIE BUT HAVE EVERLASTING LIFE.

When people reject salvation, they will go to hell. Satan wants peoples to go to hell, he will do anything to make man despise Jesus, including attacking the CHURCH by any means necessary.

God is Almighty, let God fight His fight.

http://thebanquethall.blogspot.com/ said...

It is suppose to read, *the pen is mightier than the sword*

I don't know what to say, I ll ask the holy spirit for understanding, I understand the language of the writer and enjoy the reactions from the comments but I think it is complicated. I have very deep respect for the pastors mentioned in the article except pastor Alex Umoduku who I don't know anything about. But this write up is not Good for christianity.

Osacarman said...

My advice to Nigeria's self acclaimed men of god: FEAR GOD!

linda! linda!! You are ignorantly supporting the devils agenda of smearing the church with bad image.you shouldn't have posted this article on your blog.yes, of a truth, we have fake pastors everywhere, but not all pastors are fake and the article failed to buttress that point suffiently.this article might appear to be expossing corrupt pastors but rather it is subtly giving its readers the impression and mind-image of the generality of pastors been corrupt.and this could be seen by the very fact that the writer didnt take his time to stress that we still ve good pastors around. This article is simply bigoted,non-sagacious and prejudiced. Finally,linda, you hardly post any thing that promotes and uplifts christainity and you will never post anything that questions islam or give its preachers and followers a bad image for the fear death.the day you try that, you will surely be attacked by unknown gunmen.. I rest my case here.

Eskoswag said...

I have read this article over and over again, and haven’t seen this guy judge anybody, so all u dummy readers shld shelve of ur ass the “judgement is d lord”. this guy is only saying, he’s got some facts, and neither is he sure of some of the rest. Most importantly, he has not said anything against the name of our lord God who gave him the wisdom n knowledge he used in writing. haa…. Some dummies r even calling linda’s name like they can’t see the name of the writer, btw “they r anonymous ooo” bloody cowards..

Eskoswag said...

even Christ was criticized ontop the bread n fish wey e dey eat ooooo.. 9ice words william wlijah

koch said...

well that's your opinion but i will advise you to research such topics before typing it will save you from embarrassing yourself like this because this is the most foolish article you ve ever written on this blog.

nella said...

"I totally disappointed in you" Lolz! Meanwhile I'm still searching my Oxford dictionary for the word:"unhipocritically"

Adegboye would stand,you will stand,i will stand and God will judge.The rate at which Nigerians remain gullible home and abroad never sieze to surprise me.....

OtigaInspires said...

i wouldnt know where he got his sources from. but from what i've seen, no pastor lives a philantropic life than Prophet T.B Joshua.
I don't know why SCOAN's picture is up there. Can somebody explain?

Monday Alih
http://otigainspires.com

Anon 5:48pm...you can help the needy,but not with your tithe...your tithe is totally different.You would b robbing God if you use ur tithe,even if it is to save someone.....Your tithe is sacred.....

one bad apple really spoil the rest.am out plsssss

Ehi said...

We evaluate, we criticise, we tear down, - in a very spiritual way of course. It is sort of a game, which I've tagged "Helping Others to Be Spiritual".
When someone spends an amount of money on something that isn't for a christian/spiritual cause, we evaluate and suggest christian/spiritual ways to spend the money.
You should not criticise another man's servant. All Christians are God's servants, so let the Holy Spirit convict them about where and what to spend their money on (see Rom. 14:4).
The best cure for criticism and judging others is to 'remember, each of us will stand personally before the judgment seat of God ... each of us will have to give a personal account to God" (Rom. 14:10,12)

u guyz shld stop judging, everytin u read arent true. @linda, u r a big disppointment

Bullshit....most religious people ,irrespective of any sect makes Donkeys look smart,true that i wasn't there in the days of Jesus but to all i can see now in this present generation of life,his so-called followers are practising totally the opposite remixed side of his teachings....his message was simple{love your neighbour as your self regardless of class,race and color}to me Jesus was just a great down to earth kind of guy with a very great sense of human,understanding and remorse for his fellow man kind which is what we lack as people of this earth.....now lets take a look at some of his deeds"He fed a large multitude of crowd with a loaf of bread and he converted water to wine according to the holy book...somewhere in Africa,natives are converted to slaves,some where in Australia, Aboriginals are converted to Aliens totally segregated from their own land/country meanwhile at the same time the Red Indians of the new world{America}killed,mimed,raped and murdered by some men whom they welcomed to their country/colony,feed, catered for with their own local medicine,protected them from the deadly winter cold with their locally made blanket out of animal Fur.....but at the end of the story what were this warm hearted tribes got paid back with?corruption in a twisted form of civilization,slavery,hatred and all forms of Barbaric/Animalistic Evil all in the name of bringing salvation to this innocent peoples.......this message goes out to any Religious person/Blunder who can still trace his/her own route back to Africa,Australia,Chago Island,the Native Americans etc.....LET IT BE KNOWN TO ALL OF THE CONCERNED PEOPLE OF THE ABOVE ,country/tribe or land that "they came with the Bible on their left hand,a Riffle on their right hand and a Shovel in their luggages" ANALYTICALLY,Bible=dumbing down the peoples traditional and cultural values/view,Riffle=shoot down the wise/strong unbeliever in the name of the lord and lastly,Shovel=Dig up all the Diamond,Gold,Crude Oil etc....have a nice day people and stay blessed for Jesus is coming soon the same thing they kept telling us ever since 14th century but my grand parents died waiting for him,So i came to ask myself this question"why would Jesus ever want to come back to this horrible world of ours after the humiliations he went through by the hands of his own Kin-men?"i challenge you to ask yourself the same question and kindly get back to me with a reasonably and earthical answer after carefully reading and understanding my comment above....FYI fanatics of all sorts and types of religions,please do stay away as for the Muslim counterpart views,i hence fort reserve my comment as i equally respect all faiths....PEACE BE UNTO THE WORLD{i wish}.

Silly bitch

people plz dont be offended .firstly Bola is single and a doctoral student in ibadan believe me when i say she is frustrated , religious activism is her interest.

Maryjane Blogazine said...

Touch not my annointed and do my prophet no harm,Says The Lord!

Sure one of dis pastors will preach against lindaikeji blog dis Sunday. Oyin

may God 4give the writer and the readers who conclude based on their human knowledge of what is written.

faythe said...

its interesting to see how nigerians are so scared to question religious matters! when it comes to politics and entertainment, they always have the biggest rock ready to destroy. but when it comes to pastors, they pull the 'do not judge card'. let me point out that, the money you donate to your pastors to do 'Gods work' can also be used to help the poor around you. thats the kind of christianity i believe in; i believe in love, compassion,care and everything jesus christ stood for. jesus christ would never have gotten a private jet when his followers cant eat three square meal (yes, im going there)! it hurts to see my people bound in captive to the so called modern day idea of christianity. you want to make it to heaven then BE SELFLESS! instead of getting a new cell phone, how about the you help the peopke around you who are teying to help them selves but nothing seems to work? STOP HELPING THOSE WHO CAN HELP THEMSELVES OVER AND OVER AGAIN WITH LITTLE OR NO EFFORT

faythe said...

let me just say that going to church and paying tithe doesnt make you a christian and vice versa; not going to church and not paying tithe doesnt mean im less of a christian in God eyes. i personally choose not to go to church because i havent yet found a church that shares the same belief as me. i mean, i was raised in a peticostal house hold (rccg), went to a catholic boarding school and none of them works for me. i mostly have common grounds with the amish people, i admire their selflessness' commitment and total dedication to God but i cant live lfe in such extremities so i choose to fellowship with only my boyfriend on sunday. i read my bible and i try to interprete it to my every day life. i believe in charity work, if i dont have the resources, i pit in my time. i rather help the less priviledge than pay tithe to a church, now does that make me a bad christian? i dont think so. people, you dont need your pastors or churches to seek God, they are here to guide you through life. now if you are doing pretty well in guiding yourself does that make you less of a christian? certainly not

Deyon said...

my dear igonorant anonymous 11:29pm ,The Pope is not in ur league so dont mention him here,besides he dosent own any property,anything you see him use is the property of the church which is passeed down to d the next pope.Catholic church no be one man bizness like ur pentecostal churches.If you were privileged to watch the burial of d last Pope,you will know what im talking about,he was buried in one of the poorest coffins ever cos dat was his request.Lesson: he came to this world with nothing nd was prepared to go back same way.

aiphy said...

Linda, You putting up this post on your blog, says you agree to the contents/expostulation of the writer. This is a sore topic for Nigerians because giving when you have lil is impossible to understand, whereas, this is a mark of true Christianity.

Refrain from speaking about topics as this Again!! You only harm yourself and Christians who are not so grounded in the faith!

P.s: Be a Confessing Believer, not a Professing Christian, would you?

linda or whatever your name is better mind your biz.

TAX COLLECTOR said...

Now u r talkin!

TAX COLLECTOR said...

Hahaha!.u r so fony....sorry funny.make I no scatter ur hed more.sorry head.lol!

TAX COLLECTOR said...

I dnt understnd u.r u insinuatin dt d word of God which is life is fake?pls explain

BAM said...

Let me blow your brain...The bible is a collection of writings. The bible is not written by God...it is even right there in your bible (e.g a book would say something like "letter from paul to the corinthians...or account of John etc...don't hit me with details i'm not a "quoter" and i couldn't care less) my point is "was the letter written to the corinthians addressed to YOU?" was the directive given to the children of israel to pay tithes given to YOU?

That's where the manipulation of people who genuinely seek their God happens. it's the misapplication of the bible. it's not a "magic book" Pastors quote out of context and pretty much enslave a congregation. some of you don't care if your pastors are lying because they help you satisfy your urge to "do the right thing" (He says pay tithe, you pay tithe, and in your head you feel you're in good standing with God because you did the "right" thing...according to your pastor)

The only problem is the longer you stay with these "constructs" of your pastors (mostly fear based and the promise of prosperity)the longer you're away from the real jesus (mostly LOVE)

Wake up...your pastors "Annointed" themselves...and for the ones that want to condemn me to hell for my comments? remember this "WRATH is easy...it's LOVE that's hard"

Ironically i write this because of what i experienced when i went in search of my God while listening to the voices of fools. My conscience won't let me sit here and watch you make the exact same mistake.

May you never expereience what i was unfortunate enough to experience.

Damochedxb said...

I'm quite surprised with some of these comments. If you have 'faith' in a religion then that is what it is, a faith. A faith is proof of nothing it's just YOUR faith. To make matters worse those with a faith think they can 'preach' to those who for whatever reason do not share YOUR faith. To suggest they have the 'devil' in them is quite disgraceful on the one hand, on the other it does not quite resonate with those who do not have faith because they do not subscribe to that bifurcate position. From an historical perspective the bible is a shadow of its former self with so many books been destroyed via conquest. When you feel you are the 'product' of the workings of the bible that brought 'US' to the western world via slavery then why would those souls share your faith? 'Faith' 'belief' is personal, a relationship with your God, whatever you call your God is also personal. YOUR faith should not permit you to feel that you can preach AT someone because they obviously do not share YOUR faith, and how could they when YOUR faith 'personal'? Speak for yourself and let others speak for themselves.

Linda, I appreciate what u r trying to do, trying to make a living and get influential but if I were you, I won't tread this path at all. Given, some people who call themselves servants of God have manipulated people in the past and some are still doing that but that doesn't mean u must get all suspicious about every man of God. If the word of God says bring in all your tithe into the house of God, what do you care how it is 2spent. God says in Malachi 'that there might be meat in my house'. Now ask yourself, does God eat food? Def not, it is for these men of God who are busy expanding the kingdom of God here on earth.
One thing I have observed is that those who criticize pastors themselves live careless lifestyle (indecent dressing, smoking, fornicating and what have you) they think they know how to judge others who have dedicated their own lives to God.
I wanted to read this blog and forget about it, but I am concerned about your eternity, Linda. Please, give your life to christ. Have a personal relationship with him. Identify with a bible believing church and trust God. Obey his commands and you will live. This lifestyle I am talking about is devoid of worldly living and being used by anti-christ because we are in the end time.Don't say 'I have my way of serving God or I don't wish people bad' cos eternity is more than that.

mrolajyde@gmail.com said...

PASTOR PASTOR Come quick b4 d yeye people wey dey dash una money wake up.I beg make we enter corner talk better jor.
I get 1correct used SPACE SHUTTLE
for sale.
MAKE UNA IMAGINE D YANGA WEY UNA FIT MAKE.
This offer dey table for one week only, then i dey carry am go kenya.
Plenty poor hungry fools dey wey dey dash church rouge money 4kenya too.
No b lieO.Dis space shuttle fit reach heaven come back.
For quick sale to any bogus pastor with an ego larger than sense.
Fly red flag 4una HQ and i go come talk abt d deal.
Remember na correct space shuttleO.
ONE IN TOWN.SORRY NO GOLD TRIMMINGS.

mrolajyde@gmail.com said...

lETS JUST BE GRATEFUL LINDA HAS THE GUTS TO SPEAK THE TRUTH.

You guys should be accusing persons and put up curses on yourself. Linda never u try to post stuffs about pastor weather Good or Bad. ALl of you abusing pastor you lack knowledge, u guys are talking about tithe the Bible ask us to pay. The quickest way to prosperity is giving to ur pastor. STOP ABUSING PASTOR's BEFORE THE WRATH OF GOD DEsTROYS YOU. A WORD IS ENOUGH FOR THE WISE.

thank God the writer said religion. To serve God we have to do it in spirit and in truth! so why all the screaming and yarning? whoever wrote this post was not talking about true Christians. Spirituality is different from religion. thenz

the writer.linda ikeji and people supporting this cheap article are fools and hungry haters.pls stop beefing and pray for urs to come one way or the the other.im sure linda started from somewhere and people dat appreciate her rubbish give her freebies im sure if u are givn a car too u will not reject it including dat foolish adela iku or watever is name is.as a matter of fact i attend a small chr cause i dnt like crowded ones but i dnt judge them bcos im not God.pls y'all get a life!!!!!

this is nonsense really! you don't speak about men of God this way..if they are in any way doing what they aren't supposed to..God sees and he alone shall judge NOT you! if i were you i'll ask God for forgiveness cause there's a consequence for speaking this way about his annointed!

RECENT STUDY SHOWN 8O% OF NIGERIA CHRISTIAN WORSHIP THEIR PASTORS INSTEAD OF GOD I SEE THE TRUTH IS BITTER CHURUCH IS BIZ EVERYBODY KNOWN THAT

LINDA DONT MIND THEM TOO MANY BRAINWASHED PPLE HERE

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 243 of 243   Newer› Newest»