Indian boy, whose face and body are covered in tumours, believes 'the gods have cursed him.' (Photos) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 26 November 2016

Indian boy, whose face and body are covered in tumours, believes 'the gods have cursed him.' (Photos)

16 year-old Indian boy, Mithun Chauhan, has his entire face and body covered in large swollen lumps, which Indian doctors have identified as neurofribroma, noting that there is no cure for the severest form of the disorder. Like most 16-year-old boys, Mithun Chauhan's mind is occupied by three things: Going to school, playing with his friends and meeting girls. But after a rare genetic condition left his body covered in large swollen lumps, he has convinced himself that he is destined to go through life alone.

According to MailOnline, Mithun spends every waking hour of his life inside their home in Navada, Bihar of India, because his swollen face frightens locals, who have branded him 'Ghost Boy'.
'Why have the gods condemned me to a life like this?' says the teenager, through the inflamed lumps around his mouth. 'It is because of the way I look that my friends have abandoned me. Now nobody wants to play with me, it because of my looks that I cannot go to school or simply take a stroll in the neighbourhood.'
Mithun’s family claims the sores spread across his body after a doctor in Bihar state gave him the wrong medicine to treat a painful mole when he was five. The swelling around his face then grew so severe that he struggles to eat, see or breathe.
 'After taking the medicine, my child's face started swelling. His entire body turned red like copper,' said Mithun’s father, Ramji Chauhan, who makes around £3 a day as a labourer.
 Ramji and his worried neighbours feared the gods had 'cursed' the boy, so they prayed every day and performed every ritual they could think of to cure him. It was not until recently when they took him to medical expert Dr Ashwini Dash, that he was diagnosed with neurofibroma, a very rare genetic disorder that causes tumours to grow along your nerves.
However, medical expert have said that Mithun could be treated to help him manage to see and eat. According to the doctors, the operation, would be done in phases and would cost at least Rs 300,000 rupees (£3,500). The Doctors have also told Mithun’s dad to take him to more advanced facilities in Delhi or Mumbai but Ramji says he barely earns enough to feed his family.

Mithun's parents are desperate for him to get an education but until his condition is treated no schools will accept him as a student for fear he 'would scare away the normal kids'.

According to MailOnline, Mithun was admitted to a local primary school aged eight but on his first day, the children were revolted by the sight of him.
'They called me a ghost and started running for their life as if they had a seen a real one,' said Mithun.
And unlike his childhood friends, Mithun said he cannot even bear to look at his own reflection or go out in public.
'I am really scared of the image that I see in them...  I usually stay at home during the day to avoid people. If women and children see my face, they freak out and run away saying, "Ghost! Ghost! My parents have forbidden me to go out at night as people tend to get more scared of seeing my face at night.

Source: Dailymail

21 comments:

Ndi tradition

It is well

Poor child... Smh

Eeeeeeeeeeyah! It is well with him. Linda take note!

Only in India

Chai! I fear Indians, they worship idols too much

poor boy

Na waoo

Always india! Shuuuuu!

LMFAO! It is inbreeding and not the gods, that have cursed you -___-
Cousins marrying cousins for years, recessive defective genes taking over. Why wouldn't there be congenital abnormalities?

I can imagin wat dis boy is passin tru

Eyah! It's well!

***************************the strangest of everything dat happen around the world happen in India....... Xo i think........ Talk strange illnesses and all...... And diz dia stupid belief in gods dix gods dat..... I tire sef

NAWA O

PLEASE KINDLY FOLLOW ME ON LIS @OKECHUKWU NNODUECHI

susan Jackson said...

chai!!! poor thing.. wetin no dey happen for India.. Hello peeps easy money is here again http://paytoday.online/index.php?ref=112206 😁

General said...

why india???

Only in India,I'm not surprise

India again! !!!!!

It's well

berettablattas Blog said...

Only God's healing that's needed at this point.

Swagatika said...

He along with his family are already under a mental trauma,which gets multiplied when the society deprives him of his basic rights.
We need to ponder over the fact that What was his fault,for which he is being treated this way by his community and if God forbid,something similar would have happened with our near and dear ones would we still treat him this way???Please let me know where I can contribute my part as I empathize with the pain