Tiffany spent 17 years covering up her body and wearing thick make-up to avoid cruel comments about the condition, which causes pale patches to develop on the skin due to a lack of melanin. But a chance encounter with another sufferer changed her outlook and now she wears her white bits with pride.
Tiffany, who lives in Brooklyn, New York and grew up in Florida, first noticed small white spots on her knees aged seven.
“I showed my parents but we just thought they must be scars or something,” she said. “Over time I got a few on my wrists and then it spread around my whole kneecaps.
“We had no idea what it was. A dermatologist gave me some ointment but it did nothing.
“Then, when I was 11, I was in a grocery store with my mum and a man pulled me aside and said: ‘You have vitiligo.' He had the same thing and recommended putting a brand of dandruff shampoo called Selsun Blue on my skin every night to get rid of it. I didn’t want to go to school smelling strange so I ignored that.
“Now I had a name for it but I still didn’t know much about it. My parents didn’t make a big deal about it. To them I was just Tiffany. It was comforting in a sense but I wish I could have known more about it. When people stared and made nasty comments, I had no comeback because I didn’t understand my condition.Source: UK Mirror
51 comments:
It's not that bad compared to that one that had birth marks allover her body..you still look sweet, sleek and sexy. #kisses
Nice one.
Nice one.
To b sincere d skin condition is far better than d tatto bcos... Hmmmmm. Dis is my own tak.
lol... so funnny
LIB ADS : DO YOU KNOW THAT PEOPLE NOW MAKE DAILY EXTRA INCOME WITH THEIR PHONES FOR REAL.. WITH LITTLE WORK. NO MARKETING, NO REFERRALS, NO PRODUCT SELLING. CLICK HERE AND SEE .
Eyah so brave of her
I love tattoos
*lib's namesake*
She is hot, I wouldn't care about no vitiligo!
Sorry girl; uwa ezuoke!
..and yes, Selsun medicated shampoo smells horrible, but it works really well on scalp. Don't know abt skin tho.
Good idea one kind one kind sha
Isn't bad on her she's still beautiful!
My first confirmation that white people also get this disease
Vitiligo or not, she's still beautiful... that's all I care to see #ThumbsUp#
It is well
Being proud of ur body...nice one
Poor girl
No matter what, self love is very essential. Now she is finally living!!!
Poor girl
No matter what, self love is very essential. Now she is finally living!!!
People can be so insensitive.
eyah! I hope a remedy for this appears sooner or later
REVEALED! How Coca-Cola affects your body within an hour when you drink it
Chantelle brown young has it too and her's is worse than this but it didn't stop her from being famous and fulfilling her dream of being a model. Don't let it stop you from doing what you want.
Ok.. Seen
embracing her fears, rising above haters and been herself...... wahshesay...
So d tattoo wl clear d scars???? Abi
She is beautiful
She can do cosmetic tatooing to cover the discolouration...
Babe, you are fine.
Knowledge , education and information is everything...vitiligo is a skin condition which happened to affect the legendary late King of Pop hence bleaching his skin to even the body from the rare spots of vitiligo.....But it was mistaken for wanting to be white...Continue to rest in peace Michael Jackson the greatest....
*Linda's Future Hubby*
Vitiligo is not a rare skin condition though
Nice one.
ckjacob.blogspot.com for suspense stories
....way to go dearie
u are beautiful,that's all that matters.
To me its cool,no need to hide
Powerful girl. Love your decision. ....and your shape
Eeyah....
Good one!
Tricks Nigerian women use to deceive men into marriage.
She z beautiful
Wow
it is well
Cute girl...Michael Jackson had this condition too...
Someone told you what to do and you ignored it. You could not research on ur condition either so you could understand it? You just ran to get a tattoo to have a response to ppl's stares. You are not serious
Oh shit, Selsun Blue. Haven't heard that name since the eighties, do they still make it?
Vitiligo is not that rare. And how is dis relevant??
Jeez Linda pls can't u just not post some dumb ppl's comment. Advice 2 u monty read 2 understand ok.how r my even sure u read d whole thing
That's brave and bold
Gorgeous girl!
Tatt neatly written!
Linda olodo. Vitiligo is clearly spelt on the girls skin but somehow you still spelt it wrong
Eyeah.I can imagine what she would have gone through