11 Nigerian Universities are substandard - NUC | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 16 August 2015

11 Nigerian Universities are substandard - NUC

The National Universities Commission, NUC, on Thursday denied 11 private universities operating in Nigeria full operational licenses for their inability to meet set standards three years after they were issued provisional licenses.

Speaking at the presentation of the full operational licenses to nine other private universities, the NUC Executive Secretary, Julius Okojie, said the 11 affected private universities were given two years to get their full operational licenses, but failed to get in in three.

The affected universities are Wesley University of Science and Technology, Landmark University, Rhema University, Samuel Adegboyega University, Paul University, Oduduwa University, Tansian University, Baze University, Obong University, Achievers University and Wellspring University.
Mr. Okojie, who did not mention any punitive measure for the affected universities, explained that the provisional license was intended to create room for effective mentoring and qualitative growth within the first three years of operation of a new private university.

He noted that the universities were also to be monitored by NUC to ensure that they comply with the original purpose of establishment.

“That was also part of NUC’s initiative for early warning signals to detect compromises in quality for the application of corrective and remedial measures to redress such situations,” he said.
He added that the commission monitors the activities of universities in the country, and inspects and penalises them through the accreditation process.

“If we don’t monitor them now they will have problems. So they will slow down on programmes, (we) look at their staff strength and look at their programmes,” he said.
Also speaking, the Vice chancellor of Caleb University, Ayodeji Olukoju, said private universities are the way forward for tertiary education in the country.

He said since interim licenses were given, the institutions had focused on academic programme development, system development and infrastructural development.

The nine universities that received full operational licenses are Veritas University, Caleb University, Geofery Okoye University, Fountain University, Adeleke University, Western Delta University, Afe Babalola University, Salem University and Nigerian Turkish Nile University.

50 comments:

List the 11.

Every Tom, Dick and Harry wants to run a university.. Resulting to half baked graduates constituting nuisance to the society. Odiegwu o!!!

bae said...

Na wa o. God have mercy

Good moves.

Issokay!

I'm a little shocked to find landmark on the list.

Every Tom, Dick and Harry wants to run a university.. Producing half baked graduates constituting nuisance and manace to the society. Odiegwu o!!!

So dey are just waking up from their slumber, mcheeeeeeew! Linda take note!

Okyyy...noted

Private universities, smh.

Every Tom, Dick and Harry wants to run a university.. Producing half baked graduates constituting nuisance and manace to the society. Odiegwu o!!!

Please madonna university licence should be withdrawn also. CLE banned dem for 10 years from having law intake....

All hands should be on deck.. our tomorrow is at stake oo.. everyone should open his or her eyes. 2thess 5:22

Did they just realise? Who gave them licence to operate? Me? Facking people!

Xo'mara.

Lol @ Oduduwa University.
Bloody ethnic shit.

Yes dat landmark uni tho wia pple go and buy certificate dey dnt merit. Thumps up NUC

I am just hearing about some of these universities for the first time o. For instance, which one is Oduduwa university again?

Wtf is Paul University?????

My gosh, every DT&H owns a uni now...

Smh

Baddest Puta said...

By their names alone sef

Have heard of Tansian university somewhere in d East....nawa o!

Stop reading only headlines! It is a bad habit

2thess. has only 3 chapters.

They were given provisional licenses to operate

Really? I thought all of them were substandard.

Igbinedion University rocks!!!

AMARACHI (LindaIkeji's Daughter) said...

I thought all Nigerian Unis asides university of Ibadan and ilorin were substandard???

Dnt mind dem. Cos dey want to first to comment

Private uni my ass.......

Nigerians knows how to disgrace any moving bussiness just
look at the type of names university is answering?
every body wanted to build a university

Ok good to no

Truth be told, the actual number on the unaccredited list of colleges far exceeds eleven. All these glorified secondary schools better serve the nation well by focusing on technological/vocational skills acquisition in partnership with viable industries. Seems previous emphasis on these empty degrees has done more harm than good esp to our youths in the job market and the ability to undertake enterpreneural risks. QED@atm

Amy said...

Every Tom , Dick and Harry wants to run Universities. Check out the names sef.

Anna said...

@ kennedy Ikwuka, you are very funny for mentioning Madonna University. For your information, that's the Ist private university in Nigeria, it can never be shut down, probably in your dream

I know they'll do something about these issues..

Sighs. Magicblackxxl@gmail.com

Wow Salem university got a full license!! Good for them 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

May Allah continue to bless you my President. Please do not forget to look into the issue of Petroleum Technology Development Fund(PTDF). There are a lot of scholarship racketeering going on there. They are kingpins running that agency, who award scholarships to their friends, family and kindred. The scholarships are also being sold to the public. This is not what it was meant to be. Thank you Mr President.

Faculty of Prostitution, Oduduwa University
Mteeehheeewwwwwww

Faculty of Prostitution, Oduduwa University
Mteeehheeewwwwwww

AHMADU BELLO UNIVERSITY .....NATURALLY AHEAD OF YOU

Dts not landmark uni...it doesn't happen,my kid sis finished frm d sku dey are strict as hell

gentility said...

what re they doing since then ....for crying out loud they were given provisional license for good three years... nawa ooo

Guess ur momma is one of the prostitutes right.

Linda NUC really need to do sth about some of these private universities, cos they are all thieves, if only the likes of Adedoyin the owner of Oduduwa University can stop bin a selfish and ruthless dictator his university would become one of the best private universities in d country but the man is a big criminal refusing to do what is right and I don't blame him I blame those stupid federal Universities dat will not grant students admission based on merit but mostly base on who u know and how much u can pay to get admission.

Good

Netin Naija said...

in Paul uni we knw the shit we face... thankGod for NUC...at least they can wake up from their slumber

you bunch of jealous illiterate if you dnt have d capacity or money for a private school you don't have to b jealous pray for god to provide you so u could also enjoy the benefits instead of coming online and pore out d rubbish you have saving inside you. who even told you bunch of jobless people NUC have d power stop operation bad news for you all jobless people they don't and all licence have been restored thank you.........