Man narrates how police allegedly demanded a N10k bribe from him or be framed for armed robery | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 4 May 2015

Man narrates how police allegedly demanded a N10k bribe from him or be framed for armed robery

A motorist, Niya Ezra, pictured above, has narrated how a group of Policemen attached to the Ondo state Police command allegedly extorted N10,000 from him or be framed for armed robbery while he was traveling to Akungba in Ondo state on April 25th. Two of the policemen were identified as Sergeant Idoko Edache and F. Temitope.

Speaking with Punch, Ezra, who is a staff of the Nigeria Institute of Medical Research said he met with a police patrol team along the road who stopped him and searched his car. The first police team he met asked him to go as nothing incriminating was found in his car. As he continued his journey, he said he met with another set of police officers. They stopped him and asked him to go back to the first patrol team for his vehicle to be properly checked.

"When I got there(the first check point), they told me to park near a bush and proceeded to search the car. I folded both the front and back seats of the vehicle for them. They discovered I did not have anything incriminating. They checked my vehicle particulars and the chassis number and confirmed they are correct.”
According to him, after the search, they became hostile, demanding a bribe of N10,000 or that he will be framed for armed robbery. He said seeing the seriousness in them, he had to part with the money. He however decided to record all of their conversations.
“They threatened to frame me up for robbery if I failed to cooperate. At a point, one of them said if they really wanted to deal with me for proving stubborn, they would radio their station that an armed robber had been arrested. I was shocked. I then pretended as if I wanted to urinate and went to a corner to switch on the recorder of my handset. I begged with N1,000; increased it to N3,000; and then N5,000; yet, they refused. They said they would not collect even N9,999”." Ezra said
In one of the recorded conversations, one of the policemen said in pidgin English
"Your money is N10,000 I don tell you (referring to Ezra). Even N9,999 is not acceptable. When we stopped you why you no stop? You don suffer us instead of you to pack jeje (gently). Where one army (soldier) dey, una go pack, come down inside motor, carry leg go meet am and put money for inside drum.".
Ezra said he paid the money to avoid being set up by the cops. He said he had confidence in the police until his experience on the fateful day and urged that the cops be disciplined for the act.
“They did not see me with anything incriminating. But I had to bribe them at that moment because I saw that they were very desperate. It means they have been doing it to innocent citizens. I want them to be brought to justice.”he said
Reacting to the incident, the Ondo state Police spokesperson, Ogodo said the police officers have been found guilty of the offence
"He (Edache) wanted to deny, but I told him he can’t. Everybody knows me. I don’t compromise on discipline. Presently, I have ordered that he and his team members be locked up. For further disciplinary action to be taken on them, it requires that the man comes forward to give evidence. I thank him for being able to identify two of the cops. Meanwhile, on behalf of the command, I want to appeal to the man not to use the few bad eggs to judge the entire police force. I assure him that justice will be done in this case."he said

54 comments:

Corruption everywhre

Hahahahahah. Trust Naija police

I hope they get dismissed

Reorienting and reforming the police force should be one of buharis main agenda when he's in office..the corruption and indiscipline in dis force is pathetic!! Sorry man!

atexydavid@gmail.com

Bribery and corruption is their motto.

Not surprised @ all, the police are known 4 dis. Sum police men and women hav no chill.

Police why

Useless set of people, dats why dey would never progress. Linda take note!

Growing up I use to think that they don't pay police men, but they pay this guys! I just don't understand why they are like this, not all of them though.

Not surprise. Na 9ja we dey na.

Linda cogitate

Such things often happen.
Faceoflib

Nice one.Time for everyone to go with a recorder to get the needed information to persecute erring officers.

why would anyone have fate in the Nigeria Police, God forbid. terrible people.

na wa o

Nimelda said so....

aramide said...

May God save us all from the evil claws of nigeria police men!!!

Other won't learn from dis. They act as if they're cursed especially the one we hv @ opebi roundabout... dee

Indeed use the few bad eggs to judge the entire police force. Wht a statement frm him if d needful is not carried out. Wht a shame.

lami said...

Shameless policer officers.

I love d fact that d criminals in police uniforms got their punishments.

Do you want to be a sex God (male nd female) add up and get tips... 530A4072

"THEY HAVE BEEN FOUND GUILTY"
that's a first

Kponskii said...

Smart guy!

Better man. N u b man wey sabi

If dis is true, I fear for my country

Its a shame. Blackmail and extortion isn't part of the job description. Stuffs like this happen on a daily. Its really bad. The NPF should try and set down ruthless and strict disciplinary measures for such practices, so as to curb these shameful practices by corrupt police officers.

Its so sad that our Nigerian Policemen and women have refused to change. If this incident was not recorded, I bet you the Police Command will deny and say it was one of the ways of tarnishing the Police image. Just look at how the new IGP was wasting our time saying that police road blocks have been banned. Let him just take a disguised trip from Abuja-Bwari-Jere and Kwoi today and count the number of road blocks. They are just bad and bad guys.

Niaja Police Force. I'm glad the 'Oga at the top' did not try to cover them up like most of their colleagues would. They shoud be PROPERLY dealth with.

Ogochukwu said...

Hmmmm na woa ooo! Naija police i hail ooo.... Those meant to protect lives are now simply against the lives kept in their care, may God help us in this country of ours.

Thank God that justice is being done already. No wonder the lives of most police men is wretched. After retirement (that's if they manage to), they live worse than paupers. Or they will have children that will remain an issue of concern to them. People will continue to heap curses on the Police if they don't treat them justly, like in this case. What's 10k for crying out loud! And they would have framed the poor man for robberry and make him pay for a crime he didn't commit just 'cos he won't give them any bribe. God help us o.

Hmm which way naija

NPF are sucks...

lucky you

Hmm short of words, na wa o, so that's how they implicate innocent citizens kai its not fair o!!!

Serves them right, I hope other bad eggs learn from this and stop their evil deals

'You want to appeal to 'HIM' not to use a few bad eggs to judge the entire police force'!!!!

Good you are taking 'some' steps but you need to appeal to the 'PUBLIC'.....RETARD!

Damochedxb said...

Fine and good that justice was served. These so called "bad eggs" of the NPF are a menace to the society, some of them are even undercover armed robbers. My fear is that when these bad eggs are caught, jailed and dismissed, what then now happens to them? They become full time dare devil armed robbers, the type that robs and kills for no reason. These bad eggs need to be monitored after dismissal from the force.

I fear our Nigerian police more than I fear armed criminals in this country, because ordinarily you wouldn't expect a cop to rob you and boom they surprise and catch you off guard.

I can imagine those wrongfully arrested or framed by Nigerian policemen just because they refused to give bribe. They should be aware that the masses are beginning to know their right.

Make dem d scape goat, der indiscipline n corruption is on d high side n I op oda officers lyk dem wl learn dis

My fiends and I have been victims of this kind of situation so I know exactly what this dude means... Something needs to be done about the irresponsibility of some Poloce officers

Police sha!!!!! Thiefs

And they say police is your friend

olusamjide said...

Many lives has been lost in this type of frame-up. Many are languishing in prison on trump-up charges. Nigeria police have no fear of God in them, if you argue with them or trying to form "i know my right" they will just put a slug into one's head and that's the end of the matter

I pray d needful b carried out or else if justice is put aside dis corruption wil stil go on wit out control. Our police men need reforms.

iyke cindy said...

God catch dem....some policemen ae worst dan armed robbers# nd dey say police is ur frnd# make I hear.....

One million likes for this comment

These devils in black uniforms wanted to do such to my dad some years ago...if not for God that also helped him

CMS said...

That was smart of the man to have recorded the conversation because no one would have believed him and the policemen will not be able to deny it.

Thank God he was not harmed and this is an example for others and if the citizens find themselves in similar situations that should try to record the scene

Eagle Eyes Media said...

You actually spelt god with a capital G.

Very good

His own is a small tin, I went to ibadan last month and we missed our way and we met a police man and told him wea. We were going dat we actually lost our lane. Next tin dat d police man will tell us is to park,I was actually tinking is a small tin, he told us to come down frm d car,my frd was asking him for wat,he said for questioning a police man is 25k......na so we start to dey laff o.......LOL I tink say na small tin. He said bring ur driving license and dis police man collected and told us is till we pay 25k b4 he will give us back, and my frds ar very stubborn.the police started shouting am frm iyagonku police station I will teach how to respect police man ma so we. Tell d man 1 kobo we no go give u.me as a gentle girl I. Started begging my frd to jux give him smtin so we can leave d spot. Na so we spend 2hours ooo..........bt am sure u won't believe how much we gave d. Police man 200naira LOL

the frame part.... thats new