My dad is being illegally detained by Governor Akpabio - LIB reader cries out | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 12 April 2015

My dad is being illegally detained by Governor Akpabio - LIB reader cries out

An avid LIB reader is reaching for the public's help, says her 72yr old dad is being illegally detained since yesterday in Akwa-Ibom by the state governor. She tells the full story of what happened below
My dad, Maj. Gen. E. Akpan (rtd) had gone out to vote in his polling unit, when he got back he met a mammoth crowd in his compound. The Corpers who were amongst the crowd explained to him that they had nowhere else to run to with the ballot materials and that Godswill Akpabio's thugs were on a rampage hijacking ballot boxes in all the local governments and carting them away to Akpabio in Government house, so they needed to run away with the ones in their possession for safe keeping and that they felt my father's compound was the safest place to bring them too till the thugs go away.
On hearing this my dad started making frantic efforts to reach Inec Head office in Uyo to alert them on what's happening in his village in Nsit Atai! However before contact could be established ‎SSS, police and the army stormed my father's compound and demanded to have access into the property! The youths immediately wanted to launch a protest but my dad hastily halted them saying he doesn't want further disruptions to the electoral process. He asked his soldiers who are detailed to him to open up the gate and allow them in. So SSS drove into the compound in their armored vehicles while shooting their machine guns into the air! 

My father had to appeal to them to calm down. At this point the SSS officials told my dad that he has been invited to their office for questioning, my dad's soldiers immediately intervened saying they will not allow the General to be taken anywhere and that their job is to protect him! An argument ensued between my dad's soldiers and the SSS before my dad cut in and said he will graciously go with them for questioning. They told my dad it will only take a couple of hours, my dad's soldiers insisted on going with them and they agreed for two of them to come along. After a few hours of questioning Governor Akpabio ordered for my dad's soldiers to be sent back to base which is the barracks! His aide too was sent away. 

My dad was now all alone with no communication with the outside world for hours. They kept turning my family away saying we can't see him. At about 9pm the family was now given access to my dad, he was weak and shaking and could barely utter a word! He was in a very bad shape and we were scared for his health, we begged and they agreed for a medical personnel to come and see him, as suspected his blood pressure was through the roof and he had to be given medication to arrest the situation before it got worse. 

He was put in a dingy, dark and dirty cell room with a tattered, flimsy and disgusting mattress on the bare floor!                                                                                                                                          

We were there till 12midnight and all they could tell us was that Governor Akpabio insist he's held there indefinitely! This is day 2 and my 74 year old pensioner father has not eaten or received proper medical attention! He has given his statement and is still being held without cause! The holding facility is in a deplorable condition and we are concerned that this will worsen his health! My father is innocent of what he's being accused of. Our dictator governor is well known for silencing and quenching anything that comes in the way of his atrocities! 

He cannot stand a right standing citizen like my father because it makes him look bad which he is! They can continue with their "investigations" but Akpabio should please release my father from that dungeon! If my father dies in that cell just like all the others he has killed over the years this particular blood will take away peace from his life till he pays for it! For his own good let him do the needful! #releaseGeneralAkpan

Barr.Iniobong Kelia Akpan

240 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 240 of 240

Akpabio killed Sir UkpanahUkpanah and incarcerated hOdudunUkpanahUkpanah, the only reason MAkpann Akpan is still alive is because he is a retired Army General.

Akpabio kills for the fun of it.

Miss Kezz said...

Akpabio, ur days are numbered!!!! God will not overlook this. What wrong did the old man do to deserve this? Simply because he did the right thing?? God will judge!

Best opinion said...

Akpabio i support u always but this is wrong. Forgive my earlier comment pls. Release this man and every other person unrightfully held. Elections is over abeg

the Nigerian Military Institution has been Basterdized by GEJ and his foot soldiers. How can a General be locked up by the orders of a Bloody civilian Governor. Wait till Buhari hears this.

please this man needs to be taken out asap! They don't even have regard for the service he has rendered to this nation! I pray God intervenes.

May God forgive you

is a big lie Bcos I was an adhoc staff of Inec n nothing like dat happen pls whoever write dat post is lying.

Akpabio release Gen Edet. Human right activists pls intervene oooo.that is how they killed chief ononokpono for daring to say enough of blood spill in Aks.He was picked up and detained just like they are doing to d gen and by the time he was eventually released the man died within a short time. Nigerians pls help the people of Akwa ibom from this tyranny. Enough of illegal detention and killing of innocent citizens.Enough of illegalities. Akpabio is power drunk.

If this is True! Akpabio pls do the Needful asap

The heart of the king is in the hands of the Lord. Commit it to God, because only him can do a miracle. I pray he's released soon in Jesus name. Just be claim and pray about it, it's well.

Isn't it this same akpabio that is still detaining odudu? Na wa o

fynesojoe said...

#releasegeneralapkan#, please lets make this go viral. Tweet it, Broadcast it on BBM, and other social media platforms

Akwa ibom state is very hot now !

Order for your beautiful bedspread @ 79AEFD3B. Delivery available nationwide.

The story Is too childish and fake,,, nor be only superman,,, na incredible hulk join

Re: My Dad is being illegally detained by Governor Akpabio.
By Ita Benedict

(Cont'd)

For me, I think the most decent and civilized action required of you as a lawyer is to approach the court and seek whatever redress that may accrue to your father’s “illegal arrest” and thereafter sue the Governor for unlawful detention if actually the Governor is in a position to arrest or detain anybody.

The report on Channels Television and Sunday Punch Newspapers quoting the Resident Electoral Commissioner for Akwa Ibom State, Austin Okojie, alleged that your father was arrested by security operatives alongside 10 corps members for electoral offenses. It further stated that they were arrested at your father’s residence in Nsit Atai Local Government Area, while thumb printing ballot papers.

You alleged in your post that the corps members ran to your father’s compound as a safe haven from the rampaging, “Akpabio’s thugs who were hijacking ballot boxes in all the local governments and carting them away to Akpabio in Government house, so they (corps members) needed to runaway with the ones in their possession for safe keeping and that they felt your father’s compound was the safest place to bring them to till the thugs go away”.

Haba lawyer! Can you in all sincerity present this barefaced statement in court? Your local government Nsit Atai has 10 political wards and 75 voting units for the just concluded election. By INEC’s unit staffing strength, each unit has 4 corps members for the election and if you multiply 4 by 75, the total corps members for the election in your local government are 300. So my question is, how many corps members came to seek refuge in your father’s “well secured” compound? Don’t forget that the news report quoting the Resident Commissioner said 10 corps members were arrested. So what happened to the remaining 290 corps members? Where were they at the time of the arrest of your father?

How did you and the 10 corps members establish that Akpabio’s thugs were snatching ballot boxes across the state? Are you aware that Akwa Ibom has 329 political wards and over 3000 voting units? Can you imagine the quantum of thugs Akpabio must have hired to cover these over 3000 units? Could it be – no pun intended – that the ballot boxes snatched by Akpabio’s thugs as alleged by you could be those arrested by security operatives in your father’s compound? Are you aware that as we speak over 80 thugs allegedly recruited from neighboring states by those angling to crucify Akpabio were arrested in a hotel by security operatives?

hrm paul ojeih said...

for the idiots that don't understand this story. i pity u ur clueless like patience faka jona. the guy is saying that nysc inec officers ran to his fathers compound for safety. for those that have served nysc ur taught that in crisis u run to the community leaders house. this man is a retired major general. if a major general has not committed a crime u can not arrest him even if he commits a crime a police man a dss officer can not arrest him, you need a military police to do that. he is not a colonel nor a major but a full major general. it is an insult to the military high command.akpabio will leave next month. he will loose his immunity, then he will answer to the military high command. this guy is a colleague to obasanjo, and buhari he will answer to them army dont forgive. wen fashola seized obasanjo trucks. obasanjo used the army to detain brt buses. fashola had to back down. akpabio reign is over he should know he is not God.

It's obvious your dad and the corpers were there thumb printing and rigging the election.
Question is, Is your dad's house INEC office?
2. Is it a police station?
3. And, you didn't tell us whether the corpers were equally arrested.
Akpabio cannot just stumble into your dad's house and arrest him without any info.
Please check your submissions again, it doesn't correlate

So surprised that the author of this write-up is a lawyer. Infact, youre a broad daylight lair. Your father used his influence to highjack electoral materials only 4 you 2 come here & tell a fat lie. Let him face d full weight of d law. Lair!

A.Danjuma said...

Is this Mfon's dad?I must call my dad

Story for the gods abeg, You are not telling us the truth. Is it possible that the corpers who were supposed to run for their dear lives will wait and pack the INEC materials just to protect them from Akpabio's thugs because na their father's property? when they were not even sure of their own safety. Was Gen. Akpan's house the only house around there? The truth is that they were rigging there as well with the believe that since they have strong security in the compound, they will not be disturbed but he was not that lucky.I pray the release him soon tho.

U re the biggest fool I ve sen on LIB...u re daft...ewu

This Akpabio man is taking things far...he will definitely fall one day.All the things he did to his God father Atta, people will do to him.This Udom is taking around will definitely turn against him one day.We are watching naaa

idoroenyin etokakpan said...

Seek refuge indeed. Are you speaking about the same law enforcement agencies that have been compromise by politicians or a different one?

I think why they ran in there is because his compound was guarded by soilders so they believed the thugs would be unable to gain access

This kind of things still happens in Nigeria?? How sad,gov akpabio or what ever ur name is you used to be one of my fav governors but with this I think you are going to loose that position in my heart,such a shame

Do you need a suger mummy or Dady that will take care of you finically? If yes, call Mr Joseph via 08163018610 for urgent hookup. Thanks.

You are just a fool

UPDATE ON GENERAL EDET AKPAN

The family of General Akpan would like to update general public on developments with our father.

Our family's attention has been drawn to the unwholesome rumors and innuendos circulating on social media about our father demise.

For the record, our family is a distinguished one with utmost sense of integrity, decorum and responsibility.

It is based on this that we disassociate our family from the rumours and innuendos circulating online about our father.

Signed: Victor Akpan
For the family

UPDATE ON GENERAL EDET AKPAN

The family of General Akpan would like to update general public on developments with our father.

Our family's attention has been drawn to the unwholesome rumors and innuendos circulating on social media about our father demise.

For the record, our family is a distinguished one with utmost sense of integrity, decorum and responsibility.

It is based on this that we disassociate our family from the rumours and innuendos circulating online about our father.

Signed: Victor Akpan
For the family

i think that was a dumb move by the corpers. If thugs are snatchin boxes with force then give it to them, dont risk your lives by running away. Release it and report to the State INEC so that the result from that unit can be cancelled.. simple.!! The mere fact that the boxes have been taken to someones private compund whether for safe keeping or not, it has made the boxes compromised anyway. How sure are we of what really happened in that compound!!

Nawooo

Nawooo

Akpabio, akpabio, akpabio! How many times did I call u? If u want to live long and enjoy good health u had better release d General!! Check what d Bible says about dishonour to elders! I know u havnt touched that book in years but for ur own good just try!

That man is full of Shits! Guess you all know who i am refering to?
Sai Mkpo Abaooo!!!

Is your dad JEGA or inspector general? Story for the gods

How can an old man at that age be meddling with ballot boxes thereby denying ordinary citizens the right to vote. From what the so called Barr. Akpan said, it is obvious that she was lying and desperate so should be ashamed of his stupid father's actions. Meanwhile, the so called barrister did not graduate from UNIUYO because i know her very well. Also, a stupid one called Victor described her family as distinguished, indeed! a family that is solely dependent on their ballot snatching father for survival with none of them having any for of employment or whatsoever is far from distinguished. It was nothing but greed that have lead this old man to commit this criminal act and he should face the full weight of the law for this disgraceful act. I advise the so called barr. Akpan to stop washing their stinking laundry in public because their family is a well know family of useless kids and the barr. Akpan is a well know Prostitute that have slept with almost every man in Uyo so she should just shut up!

Hi Keila, How are you today? I hope you have now seen that Governor Akpabio is merely a victim of a group of persons who see nothing good in his being a Governor of Akwa Ibom State. You alleged that he arrested your father and some corps members who found your father's compound a safe place from Akpabio's rampaging thugs. Am sure you are aware of Umana Okon Umana's accusation on Channels TV that your father was rigging election for the PDP. I think you should be worried by this new revelation. It is public knowledge now that the arresting security agency have taken your father to court and it will be interesting to the public as well if you serve us the court proceedings because I know it would help a lot of reputations here. I do not know why some persons cannot separate the person and office of the Governor from the state? It will make great sense and satisfy judicial precedents for the court to unravel what actually happened in your father's compound on that faithful day. As I advised, you can see the untold garbage your post has heaped on your great father. i don't know why Akpabio is being this vilified for every cough or sneeze in Akwa Ibom? Is it because he is a minority? He must really be strong willed with abundant grace from God, otherwise, some weakling would have broken down by now in view of the maliciously orchestrated bring Akpabio down agenda of his political foes.

I am sure you will be shocked should you see the video of the scene of that ugly event which led to your father's arrest. Thank God for social media which has the capacity to host a video via youtube.

Accept my sympathy for the old man, but I urge you once a again to retract your post, apologize to the Governor which you haven't done and then keep us posting from the court.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 240 of 240   Newer› Newest»