President Jonathan urges world leaders to support incoming administration | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 16 April 2015

President Jonathan urges world leaders to support incoming administration

Read the State House press release..

President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan Thursday in Abuja urged world leaders and international institutions to give their fullest possible support to the incoming Administration of Gen. Muhammadu Buhari. President Jonathan also called on all Nigerians to do their utmost best to help the incoming President succeed in leading the country to greater heights of accomplishment.

At separate audiences with the new ambassadors of France, Senegal and Ethiopia, President Jonathan appealed for patience, understanding and cooperation from all stakeholders in Nigeria, which, he said, General Buhari will need to move the country forward to greater, peace, security and progress. Responding to the commendation of his exemplary concession of victory in the Presidential elections by the new ambassadors, President Jonathan said that he acted out of his abiding conviction that the unity, well-being and progress of Nigeria must supersede all personal ambitions. “Democracy has to be nurtured to grow.

Strong democratic institutions are the backbone and future of our democracy. They must be protected and nurtured. As for me, as a matter of principle, it is always the nation first. “You need to have a nation before you can have an ambition. It should always be the nation first. You don’t have to scuttle national progress for personal ambition. “Since I assumed duty, I have been involved in quelling political crisis in some African countries and I know what they passed through and what some are still going through.

If you scuttle a system for personal ambition, it becomes a collective tragedy,’’ President Jonathan declared. Speaking with the new French ambassador, Mr. Denis Guaer, President Jonathan urged France to extend the support and assistance it gave to his administration to General Buhari’s government. “President Francois Hollande was our guest in Nigeria during the celebration of Nigeria’s centenary.

He has been very supportive of the country in the fight against terrorism. I expect that the same warmth and goodwill will be extended to the incoming government. I expect that France will continue to work with the new administration, especially on issues of terrorism. “The United Nations has been supportive as well. Our troops, supported by regional forces, have done very well in fighting the terrorists in recent times.

What we need now is support to help our people get back their lives,’’ he said. The ambassadors commended President Jonathan for setting a record of humility, patriotism and courage in safeguarding the democratic process in Nigeria and Africa. “Nigeria is not only an economic power in the world today, but also a great democratic example.

And it is all by your effort, Mr. President. The last elections and your response was truly a great achievement and you will always be remembered for it,” the French ambassador told the President. Mr. Guaer, the new Ambassador of Senegal, Mr. Baboucar Sambe and the new Ambassador of Ethiopia, Samia Zekaria Gutu who were at the Presidential Villa to present their letters of credence to President Jonathan, also assured him that they will do their best to strengthen relations between Nigeria and their countries during their tenure.

Reuben Abati
Special Adviser to the President (Media and Publicity)
April 16, 2015

56 comments:

Amen!

He doesn't need to urge them, they know exactly what to do

They will, long live gej

Nky said...

Of cos, his got every one's support

How thoughtful of the president to release such statement.

Nice one there!!!

They will do just that.

Good man, if only...

CHERRY said...

That's nice of him!

Eagle Eyes Media said...

Well said. Mr President.

well written

GEJ the best democratic president of all tym. I hail u sir.

Aww I luv dis man

Nice one Mr President.

Pls where's Doyin Okupe?The most useless somebody I have ever seen on earth.omojatijati.

Jonathan is really a Democrat.. Forever in the mind of reasonable Nigerians

View The Best Relationship Blog of the Year

Get out!!!!

Shut up!!!!

1. Xenophobia
2. BH and Shekau on Times Most influential List
3. BBOG, it's a Year plus
If you ain't talking about any of these world concerns, they you're stupid and a failed president and I'm excited over the moon and beyond you all have been voted out.

*** mynameisSkelewu ***

True talk, and thanks GEJ. God bless u.

Before nko..he doesn't need to tell them that..they know what to do already..smh

U are a coward! Who do u fink u are to call a sitting president dat? Unconvincingly u are the one dat is nt smart. Fufu brain.

Hw can sum1 be wise and @ dsame time nt smart? Sum tyms u jst wish 2 comment rubbish witout previewing dat which u wrote. Pls change ur mentality, its jst 2 low.

NOTED

What a joke!

World Leaders can't wait for you to get out of the way!!

They are already calling GMB and pledging support directly - goes to show they did not think much of you!!!

What a shame!!!!

In ur mind. Idiot!

GEJ wen nor fit get support dey ask for support for another pesin. GEJ is useless. Go back to Otuoke already

Pharm Dera said...

ROYAL PRIESTHOOD I like your hustle, always leaving your comments under the "Reply" section of the first commenter's comment whenever you fail to be the first to comment so as to gain popularity on this blog. I admire your hustle to win the end of year LIB giveaway. Keep up with it and I'll personally recommend you to Linda. I just wish you dedicate this same effort into some sort of business or something, only God knows where you would be in life; maybe even listed on Forbes. Lol. Wretched blog hustling wench.

If only he released statements during the numerous BH attacks rather than condemn and form committees

Aj Gabriel T said...

Get out? She should get LOST!!!!

Awww my baby. May God Almighty be with you and your family. *hugs*

sweetie said...

Make this failed president go sit down. Na him go tell us Wat to do? Yeye dey smell beside where is dat ur hubby patience. Shame no greed her show face. We don stone her go inside. Otuoke is calling.

May God continue to bless u n ur generation Sir, u r d best n d change we av bin yarning fo.u ll alwys liv in ma hrt, d pride of Nigeria.

We don hear

Thank u @anon

God bless u GEJ. We love u!

God bless u dear GEJ. We luv u sir!

Nice one gej.

please check out my blog www.mavinmis.com

SWILL MARTIN said...

I love this man abeg heks rily a good person.

Do you need to tell us dat??? Park well joor and stop looking for people to pity u.

NICE........

WHY do I jst av a feeling dis man dey find sympathy?!!!!!!!!!!!

UMU ABAGANA said...

JOKER YOU WILL MEET YOUR WATERLLO ON YOUR DAY IN COURT. ALL THIS PLEDGE SUPPORT DON'T MEAN SHIT AND YOUR RETARDED ARMY OF DRONES SAYING MOST DEMOCRATIC PRESIDENT AND ALL THAT FOOLISHNESS WHILE INSECURE AND STARVING IN DARKNESS WILL SEE HOW USELESS YOUR ADMINISTRATION REALLY WAS WHEN THEY LOCK YOU UP AND THROW AWAY THE KEY.

The difference is clear. If it's that brainless bokohari he will be fermenting trouble left right centre. God bless u jare my Presido. The hero oof our time.

Very good one OgaJona...Remain blest!

Thank you sir. You took a wise decision.

Ur the best Mumu.in ur life time will you ever produce a president?

@ pharam dera, why are u dis bitter? Why talking ill of Royal priesthood? U only God in heaven can save u from Amebo life. Use ur brain for a better tin and leave lib readers alone! MIND UR OWN BUSINESS. ASIRI GBAKO UTE, ORARU n'ALA. LOLO1

We wl surely gv him 100% support cos his success is our glory

Anon 6:14pm. At least Obinna reasons with his mind. You reason with your ass. Freakin idiot.

Anon 6:11pm to 6:21pm pls get out of this blog site. Your comments shows that you come from some slum where all you do all day is to stuff your face with amala and ewedu. That shit is clouding your brain

Irvin Bet009 said...

What is some Nigerians brain made up of? Maybe Akamu?! The man is just tryin his best to support his successor and I m not a big fan of GEJ but what he said just shows hw much of a good democrat he is. Nice gesture Mr Pressy! Don't mind dese Macaroni heads!:-D

I Sing And Am Creative(I.S.A.A.C)
#SlaveToTheRythm!

Btw-D-Lines said...

Was it not this same Jonathan that was shunned by world leaders for the 6yrs he was in the saddle?Don't worry your corrupt little head,Buhari doesn't need your help.The world leaders know and respect him which's a lot more than can be said for you chump!

Btw-D-Lines said...

Couldn't have put it better myself.The guy's so deluded and so far into his ogogoro bottle that reality escapes him most times

Good one mr president. Love my president

Did they tell him, they will not support ni......bros abeg park well.......dude is full of shit abeg.