The 10000- Giving Back with Sujimoto | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 16 April 2015

The 10000- Giving Back with Sujimoto

Gone are the days when giving back is regarded as a gesture reserved for the old. For us at Sujimoto, generosity is the pillar of our organization and we took full advantage of this preconception engaging in a hands on “give back” initiative in our society precisely on our young CEO's birthday. 

As a young man, birthday celebrations would be a great reason to travel to great destinations, go for dinner or end up at a night club; but the days of popping champagne are over, because we have realized that the poverty rate in this country is alarming. 

"According to the World Bank report, 112 million Nigerians find it difficult to eat one meal a day. 112 million is almost twice the population of UK. I might not be able to change this situation, but together, we all can make a difference in our own little way.

I grew up between Agege and Oke-Arin, so I understand what it is to drink garri without sugar; and because I know and understand what poverty means, giving back to me is not voluntary, it is an obligation. The '10000 Giving Back with Sujimoto' idea was borne out of  the need to reach out to the needy in society, focusing 80% on our physically challenged women, single mothers, widows and other under privileged citizens of this nation.  It is a major call to action on the Poverty Emancipation Programme (PEP) programme. 

Packaging Event
On the 7th of April 2015, it blew my mind as I saw a multitude of happy faces coming together in a hall, filled with love and excitement, packing items for distribution in the spirit of giving back to our society. The idea stimulated my brother and friend Abba Atiku, who not only attend the dinner event, but helped us in packaging these items, and also joined us on the road show. About 15-20 items/provisions consisting of rice, gala, noodles, oil, Maggi, golden morn, water, toothpaste, Dangote sugar, salt, soap, t-shirts, and loads of nourishment courtesy of Nestle Nig Plc, were carefully packed in customized 'Sujimoto10000' bags, as we were all set to hit the road on the 8th of April 2015. 

Charity Dinner
Rhapsody’s has seen many events but few of them would meet the personification of class and glamour of  'Sujimoto10000' where the lights and camera flashes  made it look like the premiere of a Hollywood movie as all was set for the evening. Adeola Odeku down to Agoro Odiyan was on a complete lock down as everyone kept wondering; “What event is this?” Nigerians proved themselves to be committed to giving back as top shots in society, captains of industry, top politicians and individuals from all walks of life joined us in an evening filled with fun, luxury and giving. Happy people in typical Lagos fashion allow me to say “turn up”. This event won’t be forgotten in a hurry, as Rhapsody’s did not falter in its service and hospitality.  

Falz the Bahdguy delivered in his humorous manner which left the crowd in stitches and the beautiful Pearl was there to assist him. Niyola did not disappoint as she serenaded in her amazing voice remarkably engaging her audience and notable performances from Dammy Krane and the Robot dancers left guests in awe. The celebrant’s vote of thanks was an unscripted emotion laden speech, one filled with appreciation and extolling the virtues of his supportive mother who against all odds and without any formal education rose above all adversity to become who she is today through hard work and Nestle Nig  Plc partnership seeing her on a steady rise to become one its top 3 distributors today;  'I am a living evidence of Nestle's generosity 34yrs ago, if it wasn’t for Nestle, I might  not have been able to go to school and I might not be standing here today'. 

Road Show & Charity Donations
On Wednesday, what looked like a political rally was a campaign towards giving back to society.  The 8th of April 2015 would never be forgotten. This isn’t because it was actually my birthday but for the fact that I was able to leave home from 9am and we did not stop until we touched the lives of so many people. A convoy of about 10 cars and buses set out to give out our packaged bags and other items to charity organizations, needy on the streets and the general public. With about 70  stops in different areas from  Ojuelegba, Orile, Iyana Ipaja, Makoko, Oshodi and areas I never knew existed. We had music, friends, and volunteers as recipients were extremely pleased as they received a surprise bag. The excitement, happiness and love was truly an unbeatable feeling for us. One lady with tears in her eyes said: 'I didn't know what to feed my kids with today, but your surprise has blessed my day, only God would bless you all'

I have such a huge love for twins. It has always been my desire that when I get married, God gives me twins. Coincidentally, there are one year old twins who were born on the same day as I was. These twins are at the Red Cross Home in Yaba which was one of the homes we visited. I instantly fell in love with them and adopted them until they finish their university. I pray that God gives me the strength to support them. 
My friends, colleagues and many other people volunteered and joined us as we toured within Lagos to give to back.

It is my belief that poverty is not just the absence of finances but in reality a poor mind is a weak mind. So it might not be the capacity to give financially but the moral support, the time spent and selfless commitment to change someone's life positively…that to me is the biggest asset  invested in you by  God.

We might not be able to help everyone but everyone can help one person. So let’s eradicate poverty as we all join together and touch one life after the other.” 

Allow me to thank “team Sujimoto” without you guys this wouldn’t have happened, especially Miss Oyinda who was instrumental in management, delegating and execution.

“If your neighbour is hungry, your chicken is not safe”- Sijibomi Ogundele

For more images from the event visit: 
https://www.flickr.com/photos/132469463@N02/sets/

53 comments:

Very nice, and good. Cool pics.

Lovely pics

Brilliant initiative, God bless him real good

Errr... at the start of the article, he said the days of popping champagne and clubs and parties were over.
Biko, what's happening in these photos?
Nigerians and half baked PR people. Smh. It's kuku your money you're spending, you needn't make us feel better about how you're spending it.

*** mynameisSkelewu ***

Nice one from him

Nky said...

They ve tried

Thats nice.....

Thanks to. Linda for the inspiration

really cool

Very good

View The Best Relationship Blog of the Year

This article is confusing.
Bad pR

All hype!!

Whoever is handling your PR is doing a very bad job. Eish!...Too lengthy, confusing and contradicting, could barely read it much less comprehend. Happy belated birthday though.

Thinker13 said...

So many Sujimoto press releases full of self glorification.

I think he should focus on succeeding rather than acting successful, you cannot become a success by running propaganda that you are successful.

Anyway, what do I know. I might be wrong.

Suji is too damn loud! If u want to give back then give back quietly. All this noise is so damn unnecessary.

Sijimoto, if you really want to give back in a sustainable manner, talk to the guys at PrecisionInsight. They are good at what they do. www.precisioninsightcsr.com

Them dey try.

this idiot loves blowing his own trumpet

i know you will come here to read this Siji since you're an attention whore

Ok. We've noticed you!

Are you an illiterate? What's so confusing about the article? Dumbo

Thinker13 - you are on the money. Well articulated.

Nice one Sujimoto. God bless u more for making people smile. Linda whatever happen to ur giving back to some gurls? Self made thing I guess? We no hear anything again. God bless me to give too. There is blessing in giving than receiving.

Nice, targeting the needy.

Tom Odama, with his fake lifestyle.....stupid stingy and self centered lad.

Tom Odama, with his fake lifestyle.... Stupid self centered lad. Linda if you like don't post.

Tom Odama, with his fake lifestyle.....stupid stingy and self centered lad.

Btw-D-Lines said...

3rd to d last pic has Jide Adenuga holding a flute of champagne,there's another one in front of Ugo Okoye and Bolaji Folawiyo looks like he crawled out of a bottle of champagne...wtf's this Suji guy on about??

Suji is faker than a 3 dollar bill! All these people you invited hope they gave back. This boy is too damn loud .

who so ever give to needy he or she lend God

who so ever give to needy lend God

Wow..... PR can be dis bad?

How do you know she isn't giving back? Because she isn't posting it all over blog abi?

Better stop putting yourself out there too much suji. You're attracting robbers and kidnappers my dear. You want to give back? Great! Do it privately and stop looking for attn all over the place. Alakija and Dangote give back all the time and no one hears about it. These are people with way more money than you so pls calm down.

nd you see all the needy with him at the night club. you have put peoples pictures out here without their conscent. You told them it was your birthday pictures, not this publicity stunt!!

I think he is successful, but looking for fame in naija since he only just relocated back to naija a few yrs back,

fisblak said...

i find it very worrisome that we manage to find negativity in every single thing other people do. look at those pictures of them on the street and tell me if its not heart wrenching and heart warming at thesame time. this initiative is a refreshing one. lets applaude his efforts.some of us are worse than the xenophobic south africans killing our brothers and sisters out there.. haba!

Loud or not, at least he's giving back to the society.....we should appreciate a good deed and not try to kill the spirit of giving.

Give, but give until it hurts.”
― Mother Teresa

In my opinion, giving is encompassing.. the question is, Did he touch random lives?
No one has the right to judge motives here.Lets encourage good works

Ponder on these things....

What does sujimoto owe the society? Does he really have to give back?
Should this act of selflessness be hated on?
please lets stop the hate, instead let us encourage more acts like this for a better Nigeria.
we need more people like him in our society...the government cant do it alone..

In the final analysis, we all will be remembered by 2 things, the problems we solved and the ones we created.
Nice initiative Suji, you are solving problems, making the world a better place...

Funmi said...

The amount of hate people have! How about you do something for a change as well?! If he has chosen to celebrate his birthday this way, then let him do so! He is spending his money to take care of the needy. You that is over there criticizing, WHAT HAVE YOU DONE?!

MsMimi said...

Oh wow! I saw their convoy with a lot of people crowding them around Ojota sharing things. I was in a rush so didn't even bother to have a proper look. Eyah! God bless him. What a way to celebrate his birthday.

Fiswhite or fisblack Abi fishes or whatever you call yourself, go and learn how to spell. Secondly, how can you be comparing such a tragic event as is taking place in SA to comments about this flimsy, poorly written report. Go and sleep Jor.

Diz guy iz trying let us appreciate him work
Linda post my comment o!

Who come ask u na? Abi how e take consign u. Mother Teresa quoter. The guy should just tone it down, darris all we are saying.

You sound like an angry ex girlfriend!! ALLOW.....

Weytin this guy dey market? but nice one sha.... why should we hate a man who gives..

No, your name is Dumbass.

What do you know? Ode

Fake or not, he's worth more than you. Plus he's giving back. Proceed to fuck yourself for your life sucks.

At least he's recognized. You however, are anonymous not only on this blog, but also in life

AND you also didn't need to open this post. You feel me?

fisblak said...

anonymous at 11:58am there was no need to get abusive. you seem so angry, take it easy.

suji is a poser. he has 5 kids in paris and is married. he should go back and meet them rather than leaving his wife and coming to party here like a single guy...