UK Taxpayers face huge bill to recover profits from £50m fraudster (James Ibori) | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 April 2015

UK Taxpayers face huge bill to recover profits from £50m fraudster (James Ibori)

Here's a report I found on Standard UK. UK Taxpayers are blaming former Delta state governor James Ibori for a huge new bill. Find the report below...
Taxpayers are facing a “huge” new bill after efforts to force a former Nigerian state governor from London to repay profits from a £50 million fraud were delayed for more than a year.
James Ibori, who began his working life as a £5,000-a-year cashier at a Wickes DIY branch in Ruislip, became a multi-millionaire after returning to his homeland and committing a series of scams during an eight-year career running its oil rich Delta State.
His wealth allowed him to buy expensive homes, a £12 million jet and a £1 million fleet of cars including a Bentley, Mercedes and armoured Range Rovers. His crimes were detected in a Scotland Yard investigation that led to him being jailed in April 2012 for 13 years for fraud and money laundering.

But a decision on how much he will have to repay has now been postponed again, to June next year, after lawyers for Ibori and two other defendants told Southwark crown court that more time was needed to prepare their cases.

It means Ibori will not have to repay any of the money until at least 2017.

Prosecuting barrister Sasha Wass QC said the delay to the hearing, which was due to start in 2013, meant the cost to the taxpayer of dealing with Ibori would spiral further. She said £2 million had already been spent on his defence. Ivan Krolick, representing Ibori, told the judge that he and another defence barrister needed more time because of the recent submission of a 66,000-page file of prosecution evidence.

Ms Wass said the new file contained evidence already given to the defence, repackaged to make it easier to read.

Judge Pitts agreed to delay the hearing after barristers for the other defendants, London solicitor Bhadresh Gohil and Ibori’s former mistress Udoamaka Onuigbo, also called for a delay.
Ms Onuigbo’s barrister, Ami Feder, said his client — deported after serving her prison term for money laundering — wished to return to Britain for the hearing but failed to obtain a visa and needed time for a new application.

Ibori was governor of Nigeria’s Delta State between 1999 and 2007. He admitted fraud totalling nearly £50 million, but now denies making personal profit from his crimes.   

53 comments:

Gbagaun......

Hmm not nice of ibori

Interesting... linfaobserve

Helena said...

He will get what he deserve.

Dat means he should unpack his already packed bag as he still has ample time to spend in jail. Linda take note!

Who them help in aboki's voice

They should make him pay quickly.
Serious thief.

Haven't this man suffered enough.
They shud let this man and his family
rest from everyday news of him.

Preposterous!

Wht he d was more than making profits frm his crime. God help him frm all d misdeeds of money he diverted dat was meant to develop d state.

Chio, this man chop plenty money o. He should be made to pay all his debts

Bloody Theif ...PDP'S FINEST!!!!

Arsenal said...

This man is a real thief. Others need to be fished out.

Kponskii said...

Eyaaaaa!! See as bros take fall him hand...

Gud

Ibori is suffering becos he was loyal to the late president musa Ya'radua and not president jonathan.

Wale Adeniran said...

So bad ,especially for a convicted felon in a stabler clime to be elected in our land.So unfortunate

One of the pple that have sold their conscience to d Devil n hv ruined this country not minding d consequence God will punish them all

This one seriouz... let him face what he's facing biko. plenty days for the theif, but just one good day for the owner will change things entirely. he asked for it and he got it. i feel for him though, but make him face the repercursion. na lesson!

Dafe writes via old itel mobile

yumyum said...

next please!IgboBorn!

Life Sha... we all need to be careful of what we do in life. I Honestly can't believe this is happening to James Ibori. Those days of plenty partying with loads of chicks and other politicians. He was really reckless. Lucky Igbenedion needs to be his cellmate honestly. Na him papa juju save am.

Awwwwww! I feel for Ibori.

Linda I said so..

A disgrace to Nigerians

Chai! How r d mighty fallen!

Imagin. Somebody will stand in the queue under hot harsh sun waiting to vote for useless politicians like this. Nonesense!

Well things are not gonna be easy. The incoming president has 0 tolerance for stealing so how is he planning to cough it out

uk leave ibori alone,is he the only corrupt person in this universe?

Crime is not good o,see handsome Ibori don turn old papa

See sum1's father bein paraded as a thief, wat a shame... Too much of evrytin is bad, oga ibori ur own too much, u thief plenty, may god help U.

Make him pay biko his thiefery odi egwu biko

See sum1's father bein paraded as a thief, wat a shame... Too much of evrytin is bad, oga ibori ur own too much, u thief plenty, may god help U.

oh please!!!!!

governor Godswill Akpabios end will be worse than that of Ibori

Another people paying for his crime

I note with interest that till mine, no one has posted a comment on this. Typical of our myopic blinkered mindset that exhibits an appalling lack of morals and values. Doubtless this rapine looter of our collective resources remains a heroic figure in his homeland much to the chagrin of all right thinking Nigerians and to the disgrace of our image,good name and reputation. But regardless, GOD RULES and the TRUTH is inviolable ultimately!

FIZZICHILLIO said...

His likes that have killed the country with such fraudulent activities are the reason Nigerians left d country and now are dying at the hands of other nationals. STUPID ASS HO!!

#FiZz

See his face lik hot amala, and a convicted criminal dat he is. He should rot in jail.

Christie benjamin made the most foolish comment of all times! Ibori should be left alone! Her types are the reason why nigeria is the way it is. If the types of Ibori are not here, you would have had a more decent lifestyle! Senseless comment.

He should face the full rate of the law that is all, my prayer is that Buhari, should arrest all the rest criminals who loot Nigeria dry assue as he take over.

I.Douglas.MacGregor said...

The best way to stopping Crime is to make People have a change of dirty heart, not dirty finger nails. It internal not external.

He should b locked up, and d keys thrown into d lagoon.

Anonymous 6:28, u r d senseless fool. Am sure ur own biological father wld have been more notorious if he had d opportunity. So shut d he'll up and take several seats.Idiot.

Have d natural pink/red lips u so desire with our fast action cream for dark lips. Natural pink/red lips guaranteed in one month. Can be used to lighten other sensitive skin parts.
Any requirement, call: 07069487300

But @ least he is a human. Let him be forgiven and mercy ed for. For long now he hasn't see his mother's land

All these people saying he should rot in jail, i'm very sure, that if they get such opportunity, they'd do worse than he did. Everyone is a sinner one way or the other and yet no one knows what you all do behind closed doors.

Yes u are right but... Unfortunately there's something called "scapegoat ".