Zimbabwe begins evacuation of its citizens from South Africa | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 17 April 2015

Zimbabwe begins evacuation of its citizens from South Africa

Zimbabwe's High Commissioner to South Africa, Isaac Moyo says the Zimbabwean government has concluded plans to begin the evacuation of about 1,000 Zimbabweans resident in South Africa following the recent xenophobic attacks in the country.
"Identification and processing of repatriation documents has already been done. It is very sad. Most people do not have any documentation. They don't have any clothes apart from what they are wearing. Many of them left all their clothes and property behind. We are documenting people. This process means that we are giving them some sort of documentation to use upon returning to Zimbabwe. We are organising some buses to take them from Durban to Beit Bridge (the border between South Africa and Zimbabwe). Then they will be taken from Beit Bridge to their home provinces. We would want (the departure) to be as soon as possible. People are currently living in the most difficult conditions" he told the state-owned Chronicle newspaper today.

65 comments:

Okokobioko!

That's a government that cares for it's citizens.

And Nigeria is still waiting. OK O

This is really unfortunate i swear.....

Cicee said...

Just Negodu....which way Africa? They shlda learnt a bit from BBA one love, one Africa!

Even mugabe self stil get sense at age 99. Our nigeria govt still dey wait for d worst to happen bfor dem go do smtin. Al SA companies shud leave nigeria includin mtn dat cannot giv u free credit n witout use backyard to collect it back. Hissss

prettiyz said...

Has it gotten to that

How sad SA's have decided to cause pain on fellow Africans. I just wonder where they will start life from.

Goziem Oh LORD said...

Good move

That's really Good of them. A step in the right direction. For the first time a Nigerian high commission is acting reasonable.

www.glowyshoes.com said...

Wow this is really sad..nigerian govt shuld wake up and do something..but its really sad that the SA govt aint doing nafin

www.glowyshoe.blogspot.com

biijay said...

Naija waiting una dey wait for?

dudette said...

Our government dosent give a damn of their citizens here in nigeria talk less of those abroad!!

Dats country bn govern by sensible leaders. Let dstv, mtn n shoprite leave Nigeria wt immediate effect

Na wa oo

Mugabe made the right choice to evacuate my fellow citizens. I`m a Zimbabwean myself, living happily in Lagos. #XeNoPhopicAttacks

Nigerian govt be sleeping biko Buhari step in quickly so you can make decisions in case like this,imagine

#IAmProudlyZimbo

Peter said...

Has good luck Jonathan ever cared or bothered about the masses?dancing at a political rally after citizens we're scattered by bomb blast the previous day.h

......And nigerian govt is still waiting for it to get worse....!! #they don't really care about us

Sad!

Leadership is about rendering service when needed.
But 9ja govt is still waiting for
It to get worse b4 they can offer help.
Daris God o.

Smart people! NG is still waiting till the issue becomes uncontrollable

Go back to school. It's a not a must to comment...learn proper English first... :)

God will punish Big Brother Africa this year!!! One love my foot.. I cried when I saw what Germans did to them.. little did we know that they were helping us clear these Barbarians called South Africans... cos they didn't want the rest of Africa to see these wolves

Oh Zimbabwe has strtd evacuating d citizens from SA when nigeria is still sendin out an ordinary phone number, chai I weep for nigeria,9ja stand up n act lik d giant of Africa u re knwn for now o,our men re dying,everyday everyminute,defendless students,oh sb tell us wea we can find south Africans in dis nigeria nw,u assholes beta leave nigeria or die here cos men re comin after u all,shoprite n d rest owned by SAs. I see u all burning in my dreams

SA have strtd a way dey cnt win or end

We sidun dey luku luku our government.. Let's see how dey fight back..

And nigeria is still waiting for it to get.
Can't wait for this dull GEJ to hand over.

Good! Nigerian Govt follow Suit Plss..SAs'are heartless.

Berry said...

A government that values the lives of its citizens

Enjoy ursef

Peejay said...

Nigerian High Commission? Dude, your dealer is selling you expired drugs.

mosbizzy said...

So sad!

A step in the right direction. The Zulu people should be honest and face their grievances to the people they are really angry. Slaves in their own land to white there and looking for innocent people to blame.

Everything Rosham said...

And what in the world is our government doing???

Oh Lord protect our Nigerian brothers and sisters in South Africa.

Nigerian govt please learn from other good and positive govt.

Godwin said...

That's the govt that cares about its own people... Nigeria govt shld still wait until it gets messy

These SA people don't have sense. Let's see how they will be an island to themselves. Their president is even more irritating.

And what d hell is nigeria govt still waiting for?

Good luck pls wake up for once and fo something niw

Must we nigerian's alws blame Goodluck in everything? Nigeria's that are there don't they listen to news? Must they wait4 govt to do something?

And what d hell is nigeria govt still waiting for?

And our government are still preparing & applying makeup before dey can respond to the issue @ hand. God help us. Linda take note!

And wat is FG waiting for to evacuate our ppl

But my dear country Nigeria wiĺl wait for their citizen to die finish....i cnt fit shout

Hmmmmmmmmmmm, imagine wat Africa has become.....

SWILL MARTIN said...

Jeeeeez t thng is d nigerians dere dnt wnna leave oooo dem won die dere.

and 9ja govt no wan do anything? Evacuate your people joor.

Linda I said so.

Question has to be ask if Nigerians in SA wana cum back to thr country...can evacuation be impose on them?

Let us be honest we can hurt or dislike Mugabe but truth is his government is the only one doing something. We have in South Africa a lot more nations under attack but no government has opened his mouth. Zambians are to thousands in SA lungu is keeping quiet. I pray that Africans countries should show south Africans that they aren't"better blacks" like there think. South Africa isn't and has never been what the world like to see. Black south. Africans have more to over come than apartheid. Go to SA and see with your own eyes,hear with your own ears. Black south africans are damn lazy. They think they have a kind of privilege because of apartheid. Mandala has left behind a nation without roots. Amongst black there is a high percentage of uneducated people. Let us be real, people just run to SA because of its international connection and attention. What is real in SA to die for apart from HIV?

But you get sense at all???

Biko me can't wait for us to shut down shoprite as well so we all can go park all d groceries just like dey did to foreigner's stores in their country, then mtn and dstv. Since their Govt is not saying anything and ours too is not...maybe by the time we the citizens take laws in to our own hands I bet dem go give deirsef brain. Wish majority of d SA pips re in warri or rivers...#lips sealed#

VickkyToria said...

These are the Comepetent ones, I really wonder what the Government of Nigeria is Up to.

Nigeria is 'ruled' by a weak ass and slow leader. I dunno how much worse the situation would get before our leaders 'consider' evacuating our people from there. Well if they could not do anything about chibok girls, im scared for Nigerians living in S.A. #SayNoToXenophobicAttacks!!!

Wow, a TLC (Tender Loving and Caring) country called Zimbabwe. GOD will bless una president well oh. Linda i sight you.

The greater the power, the more need there is for transparency, because if the power is abused, the result can be so enormous. On the other hand, those people who do not have power, we mustn't reduce their power even more by making them yet more transparent.

GEJ is doing as much in his last days in office as he did in the last 6 - absolutely nothing. Buhari might meet an empty treasury.

Our government shouLd do something,I pity SA becos they will live to regret dis 4 d rest of their lives,the blood of the innocent children will continue to weep on that Land

O.N. Progeny said...

Yeah, the dude 4ked up big time. But Zimbabweans, once u thru wif g8tn outta that apartheid scarred for life counyry, lynched them in your home. Kill them all.

while we are busy releasing press statements

slylov said...

Naija, this is not fair...let help our pipo to move out nd get dem a safe life ..if na UK or us Canada this type tin dey happen since our so called leaders for don't discuss am for senate house, cos dey have dere children dere......God help the less privilege....

Nigeria oh. We re sooooo weak, sliw nd sluggish to carry out common duty.