Award winning pharmacist allegedly commits suicide in Lagos | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 13 April 2015

Award winning pharmacist allegedly commits suicide in Lagos

A married church leader and award winning pharmacist, Paul Olafare pictured above, allegedly committed suicide yesterday April 12th at his home in Lagos. He was found dead by his wife. According to multiple sources, Paul, a father of two, had been under a lot of pressure following a huge unpaid loan he collected from some people to set up his own pharmacy. His dream of setting up his own pharmacy failed leading to huge financial indebtedness. This allegedly led to chronic depression.
Paul was awarded the Lagos State Pharmacist of the Year 2013 and was reported to have been an active member of his church where he mentored the youth group. 
Q
According to a friend close to the situation, Paul had allegedly hinted to his wife that he would take his life if things didn't change for him. He also recently attempted to jump into the lagoon but was stopped by his wife.

His wife said she sound him writhing in pain yesterday morning as she was prepared for church and found that he'd drank poison. He later died.

Though he'd been allegedly battling with depression for a while, his family didn't believe he'd committed suicide and lodged a murder charge against the man's wife who is now being questioned by the State Criminal Investigation Department, Panti.

He was a graduate of Pharmacy from the College of Medicine University of Lagos.

Meanwhile family and friends have taken to his Facebook wall to express their sadness over his death

118 comments:

Smh... wat a waste! I pray say I commit suicide, I dey crase????

Hmmm, Nawa o, he jst left d poor woman wt his weaked families

What a pity, its quite unfortunate he opted for the wrong way to end his problems.
May God comfort his family.

RIP .So much frustration.GMB promised to change everything just wait.I hope GMB will not deny dis.

Did I hear you say a Pharmacist and graduate of medicine?? Biko verify ur post madam. Rip Paul

eka said...

RIP Bro,
May God help our generation
with overcoming depression.....

Depression is a serious problem and we tAke it for granted in this country without asking for help.
Rip man.

He could have picked himself up and tried again. Anyway, may his soul RIP.

PARENTAL ADVISORY!!!

Too bad

Tragic! Rip to him

Petite Diva said...

Graduate of Pharmacy, Faculty of Pharmacy not Medicine.... What?!! I can't believe he did that. May his should rest in peace....

BlonQo said...

As I read this post, I wonder how many innocent people have taken the fall in cases of suicide like this. We generally see suicide as "unAfrican". But the truth is depression is a real and largely underestimated scourge that may be closer to you than you think. May his soul rest in perfect peace amen

Really sad, rest in peace

Family.....Murder charge.....haiii

Linda how can someone be an award winning pharmacist and a graduate of Medicine?

Dr. Rukevwe said...

No matter how bad things are, suicide is never the best option. It is always a permanent solution to a temporal problem. My condolence to his family.

#RandomQuestion does RIP apply to sm1 who committed suicide?
Does RIP change anything sef.
Who started this RIP thingy

What has happened to Hope.
RIP ----C21

DADDYSWIFE said...

I knw those evn pressurin him to pay them bk is among d people sympathisin his family on his facebook wall.may his soul rest in peace in Jesus name amen!
#nothankyoui'llratherbeselfmade

God forbids such... Free VISA to HELL
*** Linda's 1st Daughter * * *

Hmmmmmm, only God knows, how can one commit suicide in Nigeria because he is owning.
Been a role model or a youth leaders, it's something that can't be linked with suicide. God have mercy.

Brown suga said...

It's such a pity, yes d family maybe right to investigate wife bcs she's d 1st & prime suspect (though she may be innocent) but that will be proven in d process of investigation. May his soul find peace but taking one's life is even a sin before God.

Sad!! May his soul rest in peace

Francis said...

It is criminal to detain anyone whom u have absolutely no evidence against... #Nigeriamycountry . Why not investigate look for evident before u detain a woman who is obviously in pain.

This is a pathetic story and a lesson to many lagosians cos many are having varying degrees of trauma and stress often leading to depression.But what a trhic story

It's sad that I can understand where the man is coming from. I find myself living an unfulfilled life. I won't say empty as I have people around me who when I think of them I smile. However on my own I feel like nothing I do ever yields anything. I can't explain it better than saying it's a hollow feeling. I feel guilty about my feelings at times. I've seen my doctor and he was very good and understanding and kept encouraging me. He wanted to put me on pills but that was my worst nightmare although I ended up getting some pills which didn't do anything to improve my mood. I love my kids and husband, I have friends who I know love me but on my own I can't seem to be productive in anything I do. Even to get a job is so difficult. I try to be positive. I believe things can get better though I wonder how long it will take. Life is tough.

Very bad....Suicide is never de last option.

Na wa ooooo.....free ticket to hell fire.....so sad

There is more to this news...I don't believe this guy actually committed sucide,not possible.I personally know him..something Is really fishy.The wife needs to clarify some things

This is really sad. RIP. but if he was a church leader, he should have had more faith.

To touching this life is full of sorrow..up an down

But that does not warrant him to take his life..RIP

...JOSHSAYSO...LIB...FAN

Not enough reason 4 him to take his own
life. RIP tho.

If suicide then it means his ego has led him to make the most ultimate foolish decision known to man. And if so, he's definitely hopped into the direct flight to HELL. But if not suicide, then I'd say RIP to him

OMG so sad!!!

Lucasbalo said...

So sad. Suicide is the permanent solution to a temporary problem.

He had an acute depression but it's a pity no one noticed.. Too bad! Rip bro!

Did I hear mentored d youth hmmmm I guess he himself needed mentorin but come to think of it loan can cause HBP.hope am first hmmmmm Diaris godoooo. (WESTINO says so )

optimisticlady said...

Ooooo hoooooo!R I P Paul.
They should leave his wife alone.

Most men cant handle half what women handle.

Why would he kill himself because of debt,still in great doubt

Paul Ofou said...

When he needed help all these so called friends probably turned their back on him now his dead and they are forming sorrow and sending RIP.... If all of you had contributed 1k I am sure it would have solved his financial situation... I pray his soul find rest Amen

That is so sad..... I pray he finds peace wherever he might be.

Did you read the story? He borrowed money to run his own company. Have you asked if his can help in that huge debt. The story didn't say he was looking for feeding money.

Pple don't understand d depth of depression, I have been there and out. Now I just want to fill my heart with happiness and d way I do that, I have switched from being my actual age to like 12,yrs younger, re living that age has cured me tremendously. Find d strength, don't mind what pple say, live it. Until u find d light back in ur life. Depression is a PURE and un diluted feeling of hopelessness an inability to construct a future

Don't Give up...! #thisisRealLife

Why should u take ur life, it means u don't even believe in d God u serve and unbelief is a sin, RIP

@Chinwe Uba. Your comment is senseless.

The thing tire me sef. Which day medicine grads turn pharmacists?its either he read pharmacy or he is a doctor.

Babe,only graduates of faculty of Pharmacy become Pharmacists,college of Medicine ke! When he's not a Dr. And late Snr colleague, that's an act of selfishness and cowardice,u could have taken TCAs 4 ur depression (lol), but really,suicide should never be an option! My prayers are wt d kids and wife.

Awwww...was he depressed?

Chai! He was even a medical doctor. Wat kinda life will his family live now?

Trust me, you're not as bad as you might think . If people around you love you then that could be a pointer to the fact that there is something good in you that radiates to others. Why don't you try and discover that and build on it to derive your sense of fulfillment as an individual.

Finally please don't compare yourself with anyone, we all have our areas of strength and weaknesses. Identify yours then build on your strength and improve on your weaknesses.

Warm regards.

This is the 1st time I will ever comment on this blog. Depression happened to me. It stole 6months of 2014. Only YOU and God can change it! You are stronger than depression

I rather kill myself than commit suicide....nawa ooo

optimisticlady said...

Do u think the man will come and tell you his innermost feelings of depression and emptiness?
Most people who commit suicide are the least expected to do it.
He has problems which he couldn't solve,instead of hoping and trying harder,he chose the easy way out...suicide.
You guys should please leave the woman who is obviously mourning alone.

Dave onos said...

MURDER!!!!!!!! Hold the wife.

THE PAUL I KNOW CANT DO THIS TO HIMSELVE....HOWEVER DEPRESSION CAN BE BAAADDD.REST IN PEACE DEAR

I am equally guilty...........can we please change from today.....to family and friends...I LOVE YOU ALL

When we give so much of our self to others,and commit so much into making our generation a better place do we try to make our self better first? We give and give without expecting anything that in return we loose our self.Do we expect life to treat us better than others,do we ever think that life challenges might be trust unto us just like others.........???
When we worship God,do we expect things to just be rosy,do we think men who served God in the past haven't seen or go through things that was even more challenging in life than us? Do we for once think that what we are going through is more than what others are going through and so the next thing is to give up??
Can we just accept people as they are rather than expect so much from them....just like GOD to all of us...that's impossible i guess,but can we try??
Do we look out for each other,Do we love without expecting anything in return,Do we think that because people post pictures with smiling faces on social media it means all are rosy,Do we seek out for each other,do you and i ask how others are fairing.can we stop putting so much pressure on people,so much expectation that its overwhelming to that person???
Can we for once forget all animosity and embrace genuine love,can we please be our brothers keeper.Can we just let go of face book,twitter,chat on,hangout,BB CHAT,ETC just for some minutes and COMMUNICATE to our love ones (may be through phone calls,Skype and other means)so that we can hear there voice and concern............???
I ASK THESE QUESTIONS BECAUSE we never know who might need us.
Please call that person and by the time we all do( to just one person perhaps),we might just have save a soul...............

K.O

The guy is a Pharmacist a well known one at that. Who could ever think of him committing suicide. God av mercy. He Is the pioneer of young pharmacists initiative on fb. He is a promising young guy and he had so many successful people around him. What is this world turning into? We your colleagues miss u RIP

Mowunmi!!!!! Yay you read LIB Too. Journal of a petite diva on point. Guess who is dis. A pharmacist too (a clue)

Sure it was a typo error

Hope u don't expect a miracle from GMB to transform Nigeria in the next 18months sha?

God will console the family and RIP to d dead ....really sad.

A christian brother committed suicide and y'll are posting R.I.P,sorry peeps that's not how it works with GOD,he has given his soul to the devil when he ought to have sought refuge from the Lord. I pray that the case is properly investigated and the wife if found not guilty, released. GOD help his family.

Jay said...

What was GMB got to do with this, you moron? If you don't have anything good to say I suggest you keep quiet, woman! If you are frustrated it doesn't mean all Nigerians are.

weaked families??? Lol u sound so ibadanised.....choi

Jay said...

Life is tough but I encourage you to go on because like the Bible says ' a living dog is better than a dead lion'. You have to keep on keeping on for their sakes. Always remember that there are those who have it worse than you so you should thank God you even have people around you who love you. God will see you through just don't give up!

The wife was not just been seen as a suspect.... Linda please take a visit to, 19 salami str off olorunfunmi str ekore bus stop oworonsoki and investigate this.
Tell me..... what kind of wife will lose the love of her life and an hour later be in the house with her own family to park in convoy of two vehicles.??
She and her family were stopped by the neighbours with the help of people in their street and held down for the husband family to come around.

Life is tough am happy u recognized that, and that's why u have to be tough. It's only tough ppl that make life look like a Rollercoaster. Be encouraged

It gets better. You have to believe that! You must hold fast to what you know- there are people around you who love you. God loves you. About 8 years ago I was in a very dark place. Therapy, pills... None of that actually worked. I almost gave up countless times but as I look back now I'm so blown away by how far God has brought me. Don't give up darling. As cliche as it sounds, this too shall pass. God bless you.

Wasted live

Really? Over what? Bcos u could not pay up ur debts? And he is a 'role model'to the youths in his church? Pls,tell me something else. If he was that good in his profession(pharmacy),to the extent of even winning an award,he ought to know how to have succeeded in his pharmaceutical business......now his wife is being put through hell for his foolishness. No matter the situation we find ourselves in life,so long as there is life,there is surely hope! Our president-elect GMB,never gave up his dream and ambition of being the President on Nigeria again after not 1,2,or 3 trials!. Lesson 4 us all.

The Fashion Engineer said...

This is soooooo selfish. .who is going to take care of the children,the wife alone???...and he's a pastor doesn't he have faith ...i bet she'll even have to pay his debtors
if I was the wife I won't gree o...yyou better come back to life!

9ja Parrot said...

So so saddened by this news. I pray the good Lord receives his soul. May God comfort and support his wife, children to move on in life. Amenn. What a world, God, please, rescure those who are presently depressed, considering ending their life. Amen.

I understand dear.. I have been in the same situation. But you can get out of that feeling.. try and do something you love.. even though it doesn't give u any financial reward, just keep on doing it.. It could be something as simple as writing, music lessons (learn how to play an instrument) or maybe collecting items you love.. take me for example, I have no job, never in my life did think I will be a full-time housewife, but I haven't gotten a job yet, so I am..when I noticed depression setting in, I took up my hobby of bargain hunting. looking for cheap pieces for my house. my husband supported me..and now I am turning it into a business. Have I succeeded? No.. but I am enjoying every minute of it. Reason, I love doing it. Come rain, come sun, success or not.. it fills that emptiness, the devil wanted to use to make me depressed..

I don't suspect his wife but the people he owed money may have made his life hell. Are they happy now? It is a lesson to all of us because people will only cheer you if you are successful and not everybody can become a good sales person.

Moreover, education and business acumen are not the same. He should have learnt how to run a business before going into business. I would rather owe a bank than people.

Fine Sisi said...

May God forgive you for this comment.

Hmmm oo chineke nothing person no go hear. It a pity to pity wat a pity can not pity,is suicide an option? Linda I love Kristen Stewart I can turn gay for her biko. Amaka bae

TOO SAD HE ENDED THIS WAY. HE IS NOT THE ONLY SHINNING STAR BEING ECLIPSED BY DARK CLOUD, AN APPARENT BRIGHT BOY BEING SWALLOWED BY DEBT..ITS A REGULAR OCCURRANCE IN THIS LIFE. THESE ARE THE CHALLENGE THAT MAKES YOU A GREAT MAN. THE PROBLEM HERE IS THAT MOST BRILLIANT PEOPLE SET UNNECCESARY STANDARDS FOR THEMSELVES AND THINKS THE WORLD WILL JEER THEM WHEM THEY FAIL.....FORGETING THAT NOBODY CARES FOR ANYBODY.
ALWAYS LIVE YOUR LIFE TO THE FULLEST AND LOOK UP ONLY TO GOD AND MUST BE IN SPIRIT NIT TO IMPRESS ANYBODY....RIP BROS....ITS NIT AN EASY WORLD

Suicide is never d answer...If it is,i wud ve gone 4 long.I`ve been fighting depression 4 9yrs,but i believe 1 dy,i`ll overcome it totally.

RIP. Wasted soul. Wrong move, he should have thought of the kids and stay strong, its very unfortunate

Rip bro, sometime I wonder wen people commit suicide if that is the last option left, just dat problem and obstacles no they show for face, we all have face it one way or the order. Suicide is not the best option, leaving the poor woman to face d challenge of training the children. Paul if true u commit suicide u no try at all, for the Bible say many are d adversaries of men. That show men will always face with difficulties no matter what is ur professions. May his soul rest in peace

Na wa for this Jean-wearing old mama. Could it be that you were trying to write * wicked*

if he had enough knowledge of the UNCHANGEABLE GOD, he would have known God is already on his matter... to everyone going through disheartening difficulties, God is aware of ur cases....jst hold on alil longer, for He's never too late, He will get to you in due time!

Paul was my classmate at Yabatech before we all left for Unilag were he went ahead to study Pharmacy

We remain frinds on Facebook till dat

He was very vibrant, dilligent and visonary, always looking what liesa ahead

Had a good sense of humour

From his wall on facebook he seem to be active as per the last presidential elections posting results and praying for peace; so suicide seems very remote

His last post is what keeps u thinking again see it, 9 days ago

LIFE IS NOT FAIR...
I returned and saw under the sun, that the race is not to the swift nor battle to the strong neither yet bread to the wise nor yet riches to the men of understanding nor yet favour to men of skill but TIME and CHANCE happeneth to them all.

Sad 1...may his soul RIP

suicide is never the best to succumb to pressure. life may be tough but it has alot to offer. May his soul rest in peace.

"Money is the root of all evil" So said the holy Bible

Don’t fear: God is there with you

3 spirit that controls the world

Yu will commit o if u dont win giveaway after 4years

IT IS WELL!.....

RIP? Suicide is not an option. no matter what happens, we are not allowed to take our lives. wish he found solace in something other than death.

Notice how the fake Bishop never seems to appear when there are serious articles, but the moment it's something gay or scandalous, he's there with bible passages.

The guy is a fraud, for the past months he's been posting comments, you would think atleast 1 person who knows him would acknowledge him... Not one, "Hello Bishop, it was nice to see you at harvest..." or whatever stupid made up unbiblical events churches hold these days....

Fake Bishop Lammy or whatever his name is, is no different to 419ers, he's a fraudsters.

Eeya..soo sad..buh Aunt Linda..ow Pharmacist go study Medicine for skul..abeg correct am mq

D first sane comment. Thanks 4 ur comment. Depression is rarely talked about & plp are ignorant of what it is depression can happen to anybody am a living witness. Plp should b more sensitive & sypathetic

Nice 1. Thanks. Hope plp will understand that it could b any1 depression is not a respecter of class education, status in life, wealth. It could b u. Never say never. Am a witness. Plp should study more about depression

Sorry dear.
Giving up is for cowards n lowers.
We all face troubles BT we will overcome, nothing lasts.

Olafare, as he is called by his friends back in Secondary school, He was a year ahead of me back in school. Brilliant, God fearing and visionary Olafare. You always display on FB, you were happy with marriage, children, profession and every thing around you but nobody would have thought you were considering suicide. RIP Paul, but you lost hope when God's intervention was near. May your ever gentle soul rest in perfect peace.

I totally agree with you on that.depression is and it affects a lot of people. Whether we like it or not Nigeria is changing. We as a people need to be sympathetic to those going through depression.

This is foul play, and I will get to the bottom of this... this was not suicide, it was murder... lol, I be James bond.. Moral of this story.. Cut your cloths according to your material.

John said...

I don't believe he committed suicide. A thorough investigation will reveal the truth of the matter. He did not commit suicide.

Phyzzle said...

It is well

Depression kills faster than ebola.

When the devil steals your joy, he steals your existence.

Lesson: material things shouldn't be your source of joy.

There's more that meets the eye
Paul was the last person to succumb to defeat much to say he committed suicide
Even if he's indebted there are friends that can and will help him out
I smell something fishy

@lindaikeji..you don't study medicine and become a Pharmacist. You study pharmacy. Kindly confirm

bayoxalau said...

I still find it difficult to believe that Paul committed suicide.

Wow. I'm so touched. Thanks to all who commented under my post, it's so good to know I'm not the only one. I've never discussed my feelings with anyone who has understood me so this is big for me and I actually feel better. Thank you all.

Note: The faculty of pharmacy is still under the college of medicine. However, Medical doctors could also present with depression

Sad to learn that a role model did commit suicide. It further went to show his insincerity if patience and endurance were not part of what he imparted to the youths.Besides, being a lover of God; he would have waited on God to see him thru an award winner quitting before indebtedness. The police should not increase the trauma the woman has to go through over the weaknesses of Paul. What a tragedy, Paul having started so well only to end up in a mess.

I get at times when I discover that people don't look at the premise of issues. Here is a young man in a Multi-million Naira church and cant pay his bills and commits suicide as a Pastor(Youth Leader). Meanwhile, if you put together his Tithes and Offerings and turn-around-sacrifices and other financials he has given to the church, its perhaps more than the amount he is owing. The church's finance is supposed to be a reservoir of a Collective purse, like a commonwealth to sort issues in the churches with members welfare. How can a local village Pastor of a famous Church fail Local Government Councillor election becos no money to campaign? then you cry marginalisation by the muslims, meanwhile they support their own and donate freely.

MME TALK said...

so sad it happened to ur family.depresssio is a very destructive element killing our bright and talented youth these days something should be done quickly b4 it eats up more people.sometimes m own huby tells me that but i remember telling him the pain he will suffer after taking the life u did not create the pain and angony of hell can not be compare to the pain he was going thur here on earth so why not bear,pray and believe God for a break thur.May the Lord give te family the heart to bear this erepaairable loss

I'm the deceased brother pls all the woman in this blog tell me if your husband is threatening to kill himself won't you call the husband family and explain the situation of things in ur family,she claimed she saw him writing in pains and she said seun why now and he said it's too late and he drank the remaining poison haba...as a woman u got in and ur husband is writing in pains won't you take the poison from him and shout so people can help you to take him to the hospital,dat aside ur husband is dead u can't call the family u now take him to the morgue to the extent that u go home and start packing ur belongings so people around stopped dem and called my dad....and seun can never ever commit a suicide,

Really sad, may God have mercy on his soul if indeed he committed suicide. As long as there is life, there is hope. Every man has his trying times. Time, hard work, commitment, cutting down on extravagant life style and diligence would help pay every debt. We cannot give life therefore we have no right to take life. May God grant him pardon, eternal rest and grant his family fortitude to bear the loss.
On the woman's part I don't see any reason why she would want to take her husband's life. The man's family should be true to themselves and comfort her in this trying moment.

Gbolahan Jonathan said...

Paul was a year above me in medilag. He was a total gentleman, very intelligent and a God fearing young man. Can't believe he took this sad path, it's so not like him. I pray God have mercy on his soul and grant his family the fortitude to bear the great loss. A big lesson to fellow Pharmacists with the goal of entrepreneurship.

thank you Diana,i am a woman too,if I don't love my husband,i won't have kids for him.the question to the family: do you have a good relationship with the deceased wife? if yes,you wont accuse her of killing her husband. the Lord will judge you too cos I know she will really be in pain by now.

i am also a woman,if I don't love my husband,i won't have kids for him.the question to the family: do you have a good relationship with the deceased wife? if yes,you wont accuse her of killing her husband. the Lord will judge you too cos I know she will really be in pain by now.

thank you Diana,i am a woman too,if I don't love my husband,i won't have kids for him.A question to the family: do you have a good relationship with the deceased wife? if yes,you wont accuse her of killing her husband. the Lord will judge you too cos I know she will really be in pain by now.

Thank you optimistic lady. I am also a widow of a man who committed suicide, I have two children. He died in 2014 with a similar case. You see I never in my wildest dreams imagine he could end that way but I later realised that depressed people don't open up to even their spouses, the worst case is that what they feel they are going through, 1001 people have passed through it and succeeded, but all they feel is they can't make it, so they look for the easy way. And on the spiritual level, it is only God that can make a man not to commit suicide irrespective of the level of commitment to the church or mosque or whatever. It is simply based on a level of faith you have in God, knowing the rules of problems and the level of faith we need to exercise. God help us. Depression is actually a sickness. Or likened to be a disease, people fall into and may either die or get healed. As for me, I never knew my late husband could ever ever do it to me as young as I am, less than 30, but all I put at the back of my mind is God knows why it happened, for he was also a very devoted christian. Depression is real, there is serious need for Nigerians to be enlightened.

If a pastor committed suicide, what do u want ur followers to do. Is too bad

I remember I almost killed myself years ago because my wife left me for a guy she met on facebook and I was in depth, I was about to lose the house to the bank. I give glory to God I didn't have the courage to go through with it. Am now happily married with a new child , my ex wife just left her new husband for one old man. Suicide is never a way out, if you give your life to God he will come to your rescue in time of needs