Stop celebrating corrupt people, President Jonathan urges Nigerians | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Sunday 22 March 2015

Stop celebrating corrupt people, President Jonathan urges Nigerians

President Goodluck Jonathan has urged Nigerians to stop celebrating people with ill-gotten wealth in order to discourage corruption in the country.

Jonathan, who participated in the Presidential Debate organised by the Nigeria Elections Debate Group (NEDG) on Sunday in Abuja, said Nigerians should change their attitude towards primitive accumulation of wealth.

He said that his government has introduced e-payment system in the country to stop the flow of raw cash and diversion of funds to reduce embezzlement.
Jonathan said the method he used in fighting corruption was prevention, strengthening of institutions and re-orientation of the people.
“Nigerians should change their mentality and condemn people with ill-gotten wealth.
“What we see is a situation where somebody gets wealth illegally and goes to his village and they give him a chieftaincy title.
“In the government circle, we used the IPPIS; no more use of raw cash; it cuts across all sectors and in that case you stop people from stealing public fund.”

According to Jonathan, the government has tackled irregularities that characterised the supply of fertiliser to Nigerian farmers.

On corruption, the presidential candidate of National Conscience Party, Mr Martins Onovo, said that no meaningful development would be achieved if corruption was not tackled.
Contributing, Mr Chekwas Okorie, the presidential candidate of the United Progressives Party (UPP) said that the fight against corruption must start from the top and that leaders must lead by personal example.
“Assets declaration will be compulsory and made public and should be reviewed yearly.
“Security votes must be tied to only security matters and must be accounted for
“Immunity must be limited to civil matters and all criminals must be tried.’’

Prof. Oluremi Sonaiya, the presidential candidate of KOWA Party, said that public office should be made less attractive by making the holders to earn normal salaries. (NAN)

125 comments:

That's the main reason he should be voted out. Lindaobserve

my Next president

You are the first president ever to publicly embrace corruption. You are an epitome of corruption so I ain't gonna celebrate you. Sure

Yes.. We celebrate people.. But corrupt people? We do t even know who is not corrupt!

HOW TO BE MORE ATTRACTIVE TO WOMEN

8 WAYS TO KEEP HIM FROM CHEATING

WORDS TO MAKE HIM FALL MADLY IN LOVE WITH YOU

Stupid president that has been empowering thieves and his friends and close associates have nearly bankrupted nigeria while he sits and talks rubbish!

...Nice one...

Madam linda. .....sleep now

my vote is for the KOWA party candidate,prof remi sonaiya.

Rotfl Omg. ... this is the highest hypocrite of the highest order! Jona I hail o,u don dey fear corruption over night? Dsame corruption u worship like gods?? Hai! Na wa!

So good of u Jona,I am solidly behind u,u gat my vote on 28

Rotfl Omg. ... this is the highest hypocrite of the highest order! Jona I hail o,u don dey fear corruption over night? Dsame corruption u worship like gods?? Hai! Na wa!

talk2frankky said...

Story for the gods.

How ironic.

Buhari don't know how to speak good English. That's the reason why he didn't participate in the debate. The debate should have been held in fulani or hausa language.

The Perfect Bitch said...

This advice is for u linda Ikeji!!!always celebrating ill-gotten wealth on ur blog

But you supported the most corrupt people in our society.
You almost freed ibori, even granted a big thief like alamysiehia(can't even spell his name) presidential pardon, brought our people like dele momudo that were in hiding out.
Remove what is in your eyes before you remove what is in other people's eyes.

Wow! Udominit, and what does he mean by corruption when he said emphatically that stealing is not corruption.
Wait Buruji Kashamu, Fani Kayode, Ifeanyi Uba and the rest should also see this.

sisi said...

Jonathan stop acting innocent. Members of your administration are certified criminals

Is this guy for real?! Isn't Goodluck Dumbo Alamesiye's number one cheerleader? No wonder nobody takes this clown seriously

We r not sayin jonathan is d best but who is better? Lol Apc shift biko wit una granpa gwegwegwe

Then we should start with you. #StealingIsn'tCorruption

FFK,obanikoro all have corruption cases hovering over their heads and they play active roles in your gov't,is that not supporting corruption

Story for the Gods

Who is not corrupt among all our leaders??
A truthful Nigerian should ans that.
Be truthful and not biased.

D- PinPonter Says: Shagari said that too; Obasanjo said that too; Babangida said that too; Abacha said that too; even Bode George, Patricia Attah; Bankole, Orji Kalu, IG Sunday, Atiku, and the host of other thieves said that too.

udezeobumneme@gmail.com said...

Etsako Pearl said...

Story 4 d malus,not 4 vibrants mind like me.

Starting from ur wife

On point my President

I dey Laugh (in Obj's voice).

eeeerrrmmmm cant believe he said that, we may not know much about his personal embezzlement but people around him ?!! biggest set of thiefs in the history of ''thiefing'' in this country, he needs to look inside before he utters words that make him look like a saint

does this include Alams and Bode George among so many others?

See Jona, talking about corruption and you refuse to declare your assets. Hypocrite!

This Same GEJ THAT GIVES NATIONAL HONORS TO BODE GEORGE AND ALAMS ..Two of the most corrupt Nigerians !! Hypocrisy

Gbam!!! My Presido has spoken. All those corrupt former PDP members now deflecting to Aggrieved/disgruntled people's congress (APC) should take note!!! we're marching very closely 👍. No vacancy yet till 2019

Hahahaha, just like you pardoned and celebrated Alamieyeseigha?

Nd said...

Talk of a kettle calling a pot black!

If truely these statements come from Mr president then I think he will not change deceiving the nation. He personally go about distributing embezzled dollars trying to buy peoples' vote and here is the ill equipped president chatting shits

Oga jona ur govt is d worst govt in nigeria

mercy seat said...

Sai Jonathan!

Same president that pardoned alamieyeseigha, a convicted corrupt thief who even has the guts to seek poliical office.mr president. Lead by example. When allegations of corruption are made against ur cronies u either ignore it or redeploy them. You have no moral standing to even talk about corruption, no wonder u never accept there is corruption in government

I concur mostly to d last point on d last paragraph. Well Jona all I can say is let God's will be done in choosing d right person in this coming election.

am sorry to say this..our president is an idi*t

Val Mario said...

All we want is credible elections. 'A nation deserves the leaders they get'.

valmarioonunkwo.blogspot.com

If o hear quote of the day "public office should be made less attractive by making the holders to earn normal salaries".

Can we pardon them like Diepreye 'Deborah' Alameseigha?

This Jonathan is a mistake of a person in this country.

*defecting

Full of deceit.

Oga Jonathan, I know one of your Ijaw girlfriend you made a millionaire.

God bless you! I find his statement so hypocritical that it stinks to the high heavens! God help us in this country

Well, I'm not surprised, he has taken his people for a fool. How can he look directly into their eyes and lie. The foolish ones too will say GEJtill2019. This has emptied the nation's treasury, the Federal Reserve is all gone. Unemployment is skyrocketing, security is in shambles, kidnapping is the order of the day, your currency is useless in the world market, and you will still see some stupid fools saying GEJtill2019. How can some people lack self esteem, stack illiterates. Fela has said it all, suffering and smiling. This fool is robbing you blind and you still say GEJtill2019. I don't support anyone but give another man a chance because this fool is not working. How can someone in his right mind vote for this guy, his wife is as stupid as you can call it. Nigerians in the Diaspora are doing extremely well, we don't deserve this fool. We Nigerians need to step our game up and change this fool. He's the most corrupt president this country ever had, no accountability whatsoever. He has the gut to talk about corruption! Man, this guy makes me sick. If we vote for this guy, it means we have finally lost our minds.

I just realise I hate you

You talk carelessly lik a big fool I'm sure you are very ugly.i hate u wit passion

That's what u do best stupid! U just appointed Obanikoro as a minister dumbass.
Abi u meant to say those that steal but not corrupt. Ode

Mumu talk

Gej. Is wonderful! . The best advise for most Nigerians and Linda! Lols. Must give you 1000 votes come 28. I have mobilised them

My main man Jonathan but you are corrupt too now so we won't celebrate you. All we hear is the sanitisation in the pension and fertilisers, brother what of the oil scam, where is all the subsidy money, why has nnpc not published their statement for the past 2 years and let me use this opportunity to point out something I have realised people don't notice. Oil price has dropped buy say 30% to be on the safe side and now anyone who went to school will know Kerosine, petrol and diesel etc are all gotten from crude oil. I didn't study business in school oo but I know with basic common sense if the price of a raw material reduces same happens to the final product. Nigerians please wake up forget ethnicity religion all those bullshit and vote from our hearts.

GMB 2015

Still monies are still being stolen EVERYDAY, Mr. President, you are trying but corruption is not what can be eradicated in one day and as for celebration of corruption; well we are all inherently corrupt, whether we like it or nor, thus we will do just about anything to make money or gain favor.

R u a dunce? I pity you and your president because you are on a path to nowhere. Your president financed his election running using the money of Nigeria...and you are hailing him? With all the thievery done in full view of everyone people like u support it, of course it'll continue to happen. not sure why he's even talking about celebrating corruption, the only point to be made is to stop corruption which starts from the head...and unfortunately the head honchos of this country keep 99% of the stolen money and the regressive thinking people like u support it. I hope your life gets better if Jonathan wins but I somehow believe nothing will ever trickle down to the little you already have. God bless.

Damochedxb said...

Quite hypocritical if i must say. Well Sir how about pardoning corrupt individuals and romancing with them all over the place?? Oga Jona leave matter..

This man continues to take us for a ride....decieving us alwayz....

The winner of that debate was Onovo. I would have voted for him if not that I have taken the IRREVOCABLE decision to vote for Buhari. The debate only showed the ineptness and inadequacies of the current administration and why people must not vote for Jonathan

If we were in those biblical days, the whole earth would have been flooded by another great flood and then turned upside down for this errrrr.....blasphemic statement. Few hours later this same guy will be kneeling before a pastor, not for rebuke but for blessings. The rot is everywhere.

He was quoted out of context and he had earlier clarified this in a recent media chat

Abeg, na God I take beg you dash APC, that one vote, it can change the whole equation......... No waste am biko! God bless you.

Stay there.Let the ones who can speak English finish the country. Shebi na job you no get now? Very soon na food u no go see chop.

No, the debate was organised by (NEDG) Dopkesi, the same person who's been airing blasphemous content on AIT against Buhari, and you expect Buhari to participate? I won't either!!

That's the problem with this sneaky man.Always pretending to be a good man.Nigerians are so fooled. They even call him "humble", "good man".How can we be so blind?

If he can let him dare declare his assets.

Thank you! You just said my mind

Did he jx say ill-gotten wealth? Afterall, he said stealing isn't corruption n since he embraces corruption, his statement is contradictory

And stealing is not corruption

that is y we want you out sir, you r d chief "celebrator" and condonator of corrupt pple

Correct

Correct

Your head is correct

I tire o, u sef correct o

This man talks to Nigerians as if we are fools,what about the corrupt pipo in his government that got wealthy:kingsley kuku,asari dokubo e.t.c
I believe he will be laughing to himself on his way back to the villa,saying to himself "Nigerians are so gullible".

He doesn't speak good English but he is God sent,

Correct

i really do think this man have mental issues. LOOK WHO'S TALKING

Correct

Correct

Correct

Mumu

But you celebrated Alameisigha?

But Abba Moro is still your minister of interior.

Well said, and he nailed it wit those words of his. Thumbs up to him, and I wish him well.

GEJ 2015

Jonathan victory is certain for u

sweet malo said...

I dont think you hav a PVC..!

Buhari no come debate. Bush mallam

stop celebrating Tinubu and buhari corrupt people

I just read this comment by ovie ovie on a post and i had to copy and paste..."he that has ears let him hear"...pls vote not fight

When the deadliest civil WAR breaks out all of us ranting here APC and PDP note that the elites you are fighting for on social media will survive with their families but you and i will be refugees in Benin Republic and other countries if we survive it,and they will still sit at a peace accord meeting somewhere in Ghana ,South Africa or the U.N to still decide your fate and fly back their families with their private jets to continue using those who survived,if i may ask where are their children? they are all abroad in safe keeping,Nigerian youths listen and listen good,we have only one Nigeria,what the RADIO did to Rwanda is what SOCIAL MEDIA IS DOING TO NIGERIA NOW,the worst CIVIL WAR IN THE HISTORY OF AFRICA AND MANKIND IS IMMINENT,we are all pushing NIGERIA TO WAR,there will be no winners or losers,Nigeria ,you and i will lose atlast,the U.S/ the West promised SYRIA and LIBYA better life where they would be free from dictators and corrupt leadership, today you can see how free these countries are,Iraq inclusive after Sadam,Americans are safe in their country happy and laughing over the suffering they have caused using divisive propaganda to destroy them,Nigerians be warned a great WAR is at hand all of us here might not be alive to tell the story but i bet you ,all the elites and their children will be alive to tell the story.You and i don't own oil wells and private jets,then what are we fighting for.They want you to be counted as casualties so there would be a case .Please say no to violence if GEJ wins he wont feed his village if Buhari wins he wont feed his village,and nothing will change ,there is no time a govt will solve all your problems.There are more beggars and homeless people in the U.S than Nigeria even in Obamas backyard in Chicago homeless people queue up for food hand outs daily.STOP PUSHING NIGERIA TO WAR WITH SO MUCH HATE ON SOCIAL MEDIA BE WARNED OF WHAT THE RADIO DID TO RWANDA. We might not live to tell the STORY.Lets preach LOVE and KINDNESS.

I like the part he said "there are more beggars and homeless people in the US than Nigeria..even in obama's backyard in chicago homeless people queue up for food handouts daily" .....Nigerians want jonathan the magician to perform signs and wonders!

Jonah, but you celebrated Fayose, Ibori, Koro, etc.
Do you even know what you are saying at all?

Abeg did u left your brain in your wallet?

Forget who he is, listen to what he said! Nigerians are incorrigible!
He is one person and those corrupt people are many.
We celebrate thieves here.
Any yahoo boy comes out and buys one bmw, any drug dealing musician buys a g wagon, any foolish politician son flaunts wrist watches and Linda will post. When you condemn it, people say you're a hater and you will remain poor.

We love corrupt people. We all want our people to go into politics and award us contracts. We want a taste of the cake too. This is why it doesn't bother us. We are bidding time for our own. Nigerians are corrupt to the grassroot.

However, Mr Jona, you spoke brilliantly. But aside from what you claim to have done(e-transaction and all), you have to empower the youths, so that when they are balanced in life, they won't fall cheap to the antics of corrupt people. If a man is well fed and has all he can basically want. He won't really admire all that show of wealth. Some Nigerians don't want to be billionaires. Some just want a decent life but they have to aim for millions so they can even make anything. Some of what people strive to give themselves, light, water, good secured estates are the work of the government. So your gov and past governments have failed woefully in this regard.

**Bonaparte NN

Gbam!

You are a very confused soul. I don't even know where you belong. Swinging like a pendulum. Today your comment is fir Jona tomorrow it is not

yourstrulyblogposts.blogspot.com said...

Lips are temporarily sealed

Ode! Come and vote him out! GEJ all the way.

Thank you sir, I respect and salute ur moves for they speak so much volume for this great nation. CARRY GO SIR!!! GEJ

AGB said...

Who celebrates corruption in this country more than Mr.Jonathan? Honestly, if you only always read what Jonathan says in papers without watching him live or listening to him live, you'd really think his words are really genuine.

Loool.. Honestly, am so done with GEJ bull shit. Does he think that all Nigerians are fools? What does he mean by we stop celebrating curropt leaders? Who gave Patricia Etteh , Stella oduah National Award? *sigh*

I don't know why young intelligent Nigerians think with their feet instead of brain. There is huge different between corruption and stealing. That's why a younger graduate will be campaigning for Bokohari of over 80yrs (unofficial) same man that was already a governor at your age.

Say the truth..you are washing Mr President abi?

A Spineless President who allows the worst CROOKS represent him and have their ways- Fayose, Fani Kayode, Ifeanyi Uba, Buruji Kashamu, Gani Adams, the Niger Delta Militants etc I think He was really speaking to himself??? He really should be hiding his face in Shame...........

I pity people that will vote Jonathan into power again, what is he going to do within this 4years other than steal all he has spent (wasted) so far campaigning for this election. He's so going to deal with Nigeria Financially. Nigerians Vote Wisely.

Ok sir thanks for the advice. Henceforth we will stop celebrating you.

HEYYY!!!! SEE WHO IS TALKING?
GEJ will allow the likes of Bode George,Alams,Ibori,FFK,Obanikoro etc to be dancing and doing parties with political post in Aso Rock,then he tells me not to celebrate with corrupt officials. Mshewwww........Hypocrite of the highest order.
Or Biko Wait....oh I forgot he said stealing is not corruption..............aggot

Oga jona, u must be fool I swear. So u tink w are foolz lyk u n ya wife

Jonathan has brought bad luck to PDP not Goodluck, I know all PDP members would be disappointed but the truth is Jonathan has destroyed PDP forever. I feel sorry for Jimi Agbaje, because he is a good man in a wrong party. Jonathan has blatantly refused to approve funds to execute major projects in Lagos by The Fashola Administration. Nigeria is bigger than you Sir.

AppleofGod'seye said...

Haa!dat shouldnt be comng from u sir.u just shot urself in d leg.u re d only president dat is not ashame or afraid to celebrate corupt pple.d money u have bin sharing,where did u get it from sir?

GEJ all d way!!!!

Pot..kettle..black

Look at all the negative comments Mr President, the writing is in the wall.

Mr 47 said...

Leadership by Example my black brother. Stealing isn't corruption

Exactly Sir! Thank you for reminding us about all the people you celebrated during your term like oduah, ffk(your own very spokesman), bode George, Alams etc etc. Thank you sit, we shall vote you OUT this Saturday. Because you are the chief celebrator of corruption! Please remember to take Faka dame johnathan with you. We have heard enough from her dirty rude mouth.

@Chris Ojobor Wow!!!! your comment is the most sensible ever. Have always wonder too. U don't need education to figure that out brother. Honestly! Do this ppl really thinks all Nigerians are fools and lack common sense??? How i wish Linda on top so ppl will notice. This is day light robbery and Some Nigerians are happy about it.

Stope abusing ooo. Go and vote for kowa. Let them reduce their salary. No body will go to politics.

GEJ REALLY TRIED FOR CASHLESS NIGERIA