President Jonathan: The Beginning of the End of Boko Haram | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 24 March 2015

President Jonathan: The Beginning of the End of Boko Haram

Sponsored post.

Adeoye Akinsanya in his book, An introduction to Political Science in Nigeria, reports: “In 1983, when Chadian forces invaded Nigeria in the Borno State, Buhari used the forces under his command to chase them out of the country, crossing into Chadian territory in spite of an order given by then President Shagari to withdraw. This 1983 Chadian military affair led to more than 100 victims and "prisoners of war". Chivalrous as this act may have seemed at the time, it would turn out to be sheer tomfoolery because for a long time, Nigeria would have to deal with a lack-lustre, if not even frosty, relationship with her close regional neighbours.

When the Boko Haram insurgency, which reared its head in earnest in 2009 and fuelled inopportunely by rogue elites for the 2007 elections, took root, it was time to hem in the insurgents and deal decisively with their undesirable acts. It was a tough act. Some antagonists of government had earlier promised to foment violence after losing out in the 2007 elections. Their actions would lead to sabotage, divisiveness and outright support for the insurgency. They infiltrated the ranks of government and the armed forces and caused esprit-de-corps to dip among the rank and file. Added to this, Nigeria was not getting all the much needed support from her neighbours in arresting the miscreants. Things got so out of hand that suicide bombings, kidnappings, mass murder and land grabs were the order of the day.
It has taken the sagacity and tact by the President and Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces, Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, GCFR, to reverse the plunge. Firstly, he moved to equip the armed forces through trainings and provision of cutting-edge military hardware. Then, he engaged Nigeria’s neighbours in fruitful diplomatic reengagement. In the process, the much needed esprit-de-corps among the Nigerian troops was revived and a previously taciturn neighbourhood came alive in helping to fight the insurgents. In the past few weeks, Boko Haram has been on the back foot. The once dreaded group has now been reduced to a mere gang of irritants. It won’t be long before the entire insurgency is totally decimated.
Assuming Nigeria were to continue with a stymied principle of dealing with every problem with force and farce, how successful would it have been in dealing with the Boko Haram insurgency? The skirmish of 1983 not only took Nigeria backwards in her regional diplomacy, it was not well thought out and has unwittingly cost Nigeria so much in terms of men and resources. Its progenitor actually even boasts about it without much discernment. We must not go back to such mindless strong-arm diplomacy. It is wasteful and needless. Rather, the path taken by Nigeria’s President and Commander-in-Chief is the way to go and should be a lesson in strategy and regional engagement for years to come. That’s why it is key that all Nigerians should reelect Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan on March 28, 2015.
To learn more on the achievements of President Goodluck Jonathan, please see:

93 comments:

I just read this comment by ovie ovie on a post and i had to copy and paste..."he that has ears let him hear"...pls vote not fight

When the deadliest civil WAR breaks out all of us ranting here APC and PDP note that the elites you are fighting for on social media will survive with their families but you and i will be refugees in Benin Republic and other countries if we survive it,and they will still sit at a peace accord meeting somewhere in Ghana ,South Africa or the U.N to still decide your fate and fly back their families with their private jets to continue using those who survived,if i may ask where are their children? they are all abroad in safe keeping,Nigerian youths listen and listen good,we have only one Nigeria,what the RADIO did to Rwanda is what SOCIAL MEDIA IS DOING TO NIGERIA NOW,the worst CIVIL WAR IN THE HISTORY OF AFRICA AND MANKIND IS IMMINENT,we are all pushing NIGERIA TO WAR,there will be no winners or losers,Nigeria ,you and i will lose atlast,the U.S/ the West promised SYRIA and LIBYA better life where they would be free from dictators and corrupt leadership, today you can see how free these countries are,Iraq inclusive after Sadam,Americans are safe in their country happy and laughing over the suffering they have caused using divisive propaganda to destroy them,Nigerians be warned a great WAR is at hand all of us here might not be alive to tell the story but i bet you ,all the elites and their children will be alive to tell the story.You and i don't own oil wells and private jets,then what are we fighting for.They want you to be counted as casualties so there would be a case .Please say no to violence if GEJ wins he wont feed his village if Buhari wins he wont feed his village,and nothing will change ,there is no time a govt will solve all your problems.There are more beggars and homeless people in the U.S than Nigeria even in Obamas backyard in Chicago homeless people queue up for food hand outs daily.STOP PUSHING NIGERIA TO WAR WITH SO MUCH HATE ON SOCIAL MEDIA BE WARNED OF WHAT THE RADIO DID TO RWANDA. We might not live to tell the STORY.Lets preach LOVE and KINDNESS.

I like the part he said "there are more beggars and homeless people in the US than Nigeria..even in obama's backyard in chicago homeless people queue up for food handouts daily" .....Nigerians want jonathan the magician to perform signs and wonders!

Saibuhari 2015

No more weak dodo 4 president, no #SaiBuhari

By God's grace, we shall prevail. Amen. Psalm 121:7-8. @Bishop_Dammy

Don't worried sai buhari will contnue 4rm where u stop!!!!!!

March4changeteam#

Yesoo! Okwu kwu oto ka cigar. Gej we know....hoohaaa!!!

I can't read it jere buh criously Oga jona beginning of d end of boko haram after six years. We go learn

Vote for Continuity

Vote for @Good luck EBELE Azikwe Jonathan

Juliebabe said...

I believe Mr President(GEJ) will win the fight against Boko Haram as he did with Ebola, more grease to your elbow sir.

Well if he wants to take full credit... he should enjoy.

God Help NIGERIA!!....IT IS WELL!

GEJ the man of the people

GEJ the only man that can bring peace to the nation

U were making sense until d last sentence, *boom* u went mad....

So it took him 4yrs to do what he could in jst 6weeks to his election. Pls there's a cause for alarm cos GEJ shoots himself on d leg by giving room for questions like 'is he involved in dis BH saga' cos obviously it looks that way. If u r sure u can curb in 6weeks what u couldn't in 4yrs it means u r involved n let it go on for selfish reasons. And u play with lives by letting ppl die n using it now as a campaign strategy to win dis election. God will judge u Jonathan n I hp u lose shamefully. Even if u r d last man on earth as a presidential candidate u will never get my vote u dnt deserve a second chance. U r evil

SAI BUHARI

SAI BUHARI

SAI BUHARI

SAI BUHARI

SAI BUHARI

God b blessed for d Presidential election winner is already ordained by God Himsef.

It will be a welcomed development.

I dey #fingerscrossed# mood, no comments for now. Linda take note!

Nigerians are so blind.I don't blame the currupt leaders.they know they are leading gullible people, so they can do what they want.only in 6weeks.shame

It is what it is. A sponsored post.

God punish your father... whoever sponsored.... how gullible and stupid do you think Nigerians are... GEJ only acted on the cases of BH because of the election...... GMB is the way forward

Its so sad,Nigerians, since 1999,what difference. Let's try someone else.doesn't make in voting PDP,no brain

Evans wat do u mean by "went mad? Truth is always bitter! Pls deal wit it and if u can't bro, choke on it...nice piece btw.

Stanislaus Okwor said...

Time must tell. No long stories, no fighting, but I support moving forward. I support transformation not change.

@tamara splash I like that comment posted by ovie it hope Nigerians will come to REALISE that the change they seek is not in ANY GOVERNMENT.the Government has never been known to WIPE OUT sufferings, the best they can do is ALLEVIATE.
Nigerians be warned.
ELECTION IN NOT WAR

When you abuse your president why won't foreigners have the courage to do same? You really need to grow up

With due respect ma, ur generation is in its prime and instead of supporting young and vibrant leaders you are chanting sai buhari someone who's generation is in its twilight.have you no shame?

Are you high or sometin...been noticing this lately, is it that u guys are being paid or what

Abusive, uncivilised puppet, tinubu has all ur mumu buttons.

Is it about the party or the individual? People like you will destroy this country.

Biko dont u have respect? Saibuhari

Good for GEJ

Mc Looks blo said...

Thoughtful article.. god bless Nigeria and much respect to Linda ikeji.... www.adefemiadesida.blogspot.com

@Anon; tell dat to d weak dodo wife who also abuse people older than her,hypocrite!

Mc Looks blo said...

Much respect to special linda ikeji.... Thoughtful article from the writer.... visit.. www.adefemiadesida.blogspot.com

That woman has more guts than you or all the males in your family put together. You keep mentioning dodo..are you hungry?

@Galore biko wat is AZIKIWE doing in an IJAW man's name??? U see,that is d genesis of d corruption it started from his name.smh

@Anon; smh... u couldn't defend my reply abi,all this small small pdp supporters are dame brainless, Mteww no tym

Nice write-up......him who has ears, let him hear

Endydecency said...

This is 21st century and we can't go back to 16th century. We can't go back to trade by barter period, execution without trial period, brutality period, and a period when someone will first do something before thinking about it. Therefore, transformation continues.

He didn't win anything with ebola. The virus was contained by the world health organisations. Get you fact right!

Bibby Palace said...

How can l learn achievements of Mr president when I can't see the outcome,product and end result.......

Is high time we run in dis country,so that our children will walk....

U re right dear! May God help us all

The Mr. Anonymous who thinks by infection, catching an opinion like a cold...Civil War is coming your way soon and you going to be dead like chicken. *winks

May God take absolute control in this weekend election...

well said.......... Tamara and the writter of the article

Hmmmmm, true talk. I pray we youths wl listen n nt b a die hard fan. God bless u 4 dat piece of advice

What has he been doing since

Buhari so wnt to get back nd wear this uniform. Pls ask buhari to go and rest. Pa buhari is very fragile can't even stand a one month campaign! And We will win this war against this horrible muslim monsters. So that the non violent muslims can enjoy our full trust again!

5 REASONS WHY YOU DON'T NEED TO DIE FOR ANY POLITICIAN BEFORE, DURING AND AFTER ELECTIONS :

1. In 2011, Governor Shekarau of Kano State contested for the Presidency on the platform of ANPP against President Jonathan of PDP. So did Nuhu Ribadu of ACN. Today, Gov. Shekarau is a Minister in President Jonathan's cabinet & a member of the President's party & Mallam Nuhu Ribadu is the PDP's candidate for governorship of Adamawa State. How many were killed because of them in 2011?

2. President Obasanjo and Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu were thought to be sworn enemies. When President Obasanjo took over SW Nigeria in 2003, Gov. Tinubu became "last man standing" against him in ACN/Lagos. Today, Obasanjo is Tinubu's "Navigator" & Tinubu is treasured guest at Obasanjo's birthday. How many died believing they were enemies?

3. Fmr Govs, Engr. Segun Oni and Dr. Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti used to be political foes and now they belong to the same party. Both are alive as friends & some folks had died fighting for them.

4. Fmr. Governor, Olagunsoye Oyinlola never saw eye to eye with Governor Aregbesola. Now, they belong to the same party, some people died for both, but were they not always friends?

5. President Obasanjo was prepared to throw VP Atiku Abubakar out of Aso Rock. Who would have thought that Atiku would visit Obasanjo in Otta farm after all the brouhaha; politicians belong to one big family. They have their interest at stake, do not die for them especially when you have nothing at stake.

Vote, that is your obligation. You do not owe anyone a duty to die. Value your life, if you are still alive you can be better than them.Say no to violence, say no to blood letting.

Make a choice with your PVC & let Nigeria be the winner! Spread the word and stay alive.

God bless ovie for dis perfect article, jst at d ryt tym..GEJITE

Anony 6:56 why didn't WHO contain ebola in other countries as swiftly as they did in Nigeria? Would they haave done it without the total coperation of the govt? Don't get blinded cos u are not happy with GEJ. When he does something right say so and vice versa! Some pple can be very bitter! *yuck*

Nice writeup.. God bless the writer Ovie Ovie by giving him sense to write.. May we stay alive to see our children's children, if u die u die for nothing. A word is enough for the wise. GEJ we're marching 👍

If u like say sai buhari 1million times. The old man is going no where. He's heading back to his village for retirement. He's grandchildren needs him more. GEJ we're marching..👍

He's not high on anything. What he speak is nothing but the truth. APC is a party full of evil vultures. GEJ is a man of peace anytime anyday. GEJ is d right man for now. No vacancy yet👍

When an aboki comments on blogs he sounds different cos of his background. This boki here is worst than the uneducted ones. He is always all over the place displaying his ignorance. Am sure the educated and vibrant aboki's here re ashamed of dis blog rat Called aboki da warri boy.

Celeb NONI

Juliebabe is right on point. Mr Anonymous it's like u just visited Nigeria recently from MARS.. Go back to the library and read some newspapers. GEJ ebe ano👍

After six year this man is just arriving at the beginning. What proof of failure do we need again?

Jonathan can only perform if everyday is election. Sadly, it's not. So if elected again, he forgets his work, claim he acts patiently and begin to rush things for the next election.
I'm not stupid to be fooled that way.

It reminds me of the tactics NEPA uses: there'd be no light throughout the month and they'd blame it on transformer, low gas and such, but when it's time to share bills and expect ur payment, (tadaaa) light becomes stable. Magic!
Sadly the cycle starts again after payment

Holuphorlahan said...

This is the dumbest post I have read in a long while. What took the government so long to tackle this issue, did they have to wait for so many lives to be lost? The bottom line is that we have a clueless President who let this issue blow out of proportion and has now turned his recent successes in the past few weeks to a political achievement..smh

Unchained said...

Poor unfortunate soul. #change inevitable

Dats my able presido,I hear u sir

She is a dumbo

Moses, and since my comment was bitter to u, choke on it too...

I guess world health organisation is only in Nigeria. Get ur life right!

Next

I can't believe you all stupidly believe Goodluck stopped Ebola? How? Who let it come in in the first instance. Please Thank Lagos for stopping it because the victims were abandoned to die till That Dr. Who cleaned the rooms arrived . GEJ was hiding in Abuja for fear...Mschewww

nonsense.... person wey go dey sitdown for there.. didnt we all see him sitting on a walking stick

Evans b4 u start beating me.....chill bro, na correction I make. **wink**

#smh - why didn't GEJ TACKLE BH in 5 years? Why did he wait for elections ?

Smh - Fertiliser lies - Another baseline question, if N870 billion fertiliser subsidy was embezzled in 40 years, what was the total budget for agriculture for those years?

Adamu Bello doubted if the entire budget for the ministry of agriculture was up to that amount. “To claim that there was subsidy of N870 billion spent on fertilisers, since the use of fertilisers was initially encouraged by the government about 40 years ago, is most unfair, as I doubt if the entire agricultural budgets for the whole period was up to that sum,” he said.

SAI BUHARI

I serve in osun state, APC is no gud am not saying PDP is gud, but most APC states are poor, except lag, I used to here sat osun state governor aregbe is gud, but till I came teachers have not bin paid for 5months,even corpers state allowee,all cos aregbeshola used state money for election, now the news we hearing is banking on buhari to win to be able to pay teachers,nd corpers, now if buhari ain't corrupt why will ogbeni be banking on him,ders really no change, wake up to reality.

dean said...

He is incompetent...he have failed Nigerians majorly the south-south.open your eyes and realise...March 4 buhari

dean said...

Seems you are deaf and dumb...becos if not Nigerians are now exposed to Wat GEJ and PDP are doing on seat...how money is squandered

Am nt a politician bt an undergraduate studying Bus Admin. We al want change bt have change ur orientation n culture u believe. No Govt can build dis country except we al do away wit our believe.
Be independent,focus n set goal n objective 4 urself,dnt hav d believe dat if my brother is there evrytin wilgo well-dat hw d white rdiff. From us.
Be positive

SAI JONATHAN

When the government started fighting boko earlier, both Sultan and Buhari said, innocent people are being killed. Now they are still not happy when Government tried buying amunition, APC friends in NASS stalled it.

It seem APC enjoy every news of bombings and killings and now dat their source of joy is gradually fading away, dey now attack d C n C of d arm forces, had gej attacked dem (boko haram) earlier like he is now doing, I know many would hv tagged it as an attack against d north & d leader of such noise makers is GMB.

If APC meant well for Nigeria and Nigerians they would have rebuked UK prime minister and US president along with their allies for refusing to sell arms to Nigeria all these while.

Nigeria allies USA and the West has been in the NE for almost a year and they still can't find Chibok girls. They also refused to sell weapons to NA citing human rights reservations.

We know that our brothers in the North know more about Boko Haram than they are admitting.

All the grandstanding about security is a pretext for the North to grab power back. 

APC should stop playing politics with our National Security! They are very irresponsible

The Democrats in US did not play politics with 9-11 terror attack on US, neither did they play politics with President's Bush's Iraq war. They supported the Government as responsible opposition should!

The conservatives in UK did not play politics with 7-7 bombings. They also supported the Government.

APC is the most irresponsible opposition in the world. They keep trying to make political gain out of Nigeria's challenge against terror.

A party that used every available channel to block the purchase of arms to fight any internal insurrection is planning the downfall of that country. All over the world democracies in oppositions will always close ranks to fight a war but here in Nigeria the APC wants thousands of Nigerians dead just to take power from the PDP and this kind of desperation should be stopped lest it should become normal for our politicians to be gambling with our lives.

Does the APC not know that Nigeria has struggled to procure weapons partly due to APC mis-information to the world? When APC was busy accusing the Nigerian Army of high handedness/abuses and countries like US stopped allied companies and countries from selling ammunitions to Nigeria on human right grounds. What does APC expect when they have been part of the clog in wheel?

By now APC should have realised that we have not had the regional coalition that is now bearing fruit. Some of the parliaments of our neighbours only recently voted for their Army to go to war with Boko Haram.

Our Nation is at war with violent terrorism. The number 1 opposition claiming to be ready to grab power at the centre did not show some responsibility at our hour of need as a Nation. Their behaviour has been shameless and disgraceful if not evil!

When the military fail, they blame the commander in chief. When the military succeed, the praise the military but still blame the commander in chief.
APC na wa!

All these Yoruba liars who lack respect and cannot appreciate someone else who have accomplished great feats that their own Obj could not even perform in his entire wasteful 8yrs. Tinubu's house boy, Fashola who cannot curtail the great corruption pervading Lagos is being praised to the high heavens.
Bunch of ingrates!