CBN threatens to go after landlords, schools that demand payment in dollars | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 25 March 2015

CBN threatens to go after landlords, schools that demand payment in dollars

The Central Bank of Nigeria has threatened to go after schools and landlords in Nigeria that demand fees and rents in dollars. Rising from its Monetary Policy Committee meeting in Abuja yesterday March 24th, the CBN maintained that the only currency officially recognized for business in Nigeria is the Naira.
“The official currency for doing business in Nigeria remains the Naira. Collecting rents or school fees in dollars in Nigeria is illegal. We like to advice those involved in these practices to desist from them, because CBN would very soon begin to go after them,” Mr. Emefiele warned.
He said steps must be taken to prevent the dollar dominating Nigeria's economy. I agree!

73 comments:

Really? People r wicked sha. Lindaobserve

they should go after politicians that give runs girla dollars too. Lindaobserve

Go after them immediately what rubbish dollar in 9ija

For Naija na! Shey dollar be our money?

neneh said...

I concur.

Good for them...

Please do whatever you could to save our economy, its really plunging

Gentletee said...

100 percent with the cbn

Linda's Intern said...

A step in the right direction. Nigerians would use every happenstance to dupe their fellow citizens.
Our currency is naira and not dollar

Good one

@CBN is working

@Good luck Jonathan is working

Atlantic hall...una dey hear so?

Welcomed development. You can't pay for services rendered to you in the US with naira but over here it's different. Mtcheeews

Yep its a welcomed development, there's need to stop this ugly trend. Even some government officials demand payment in dollars.

Finally! Oshe o! Emefieli is now using his head....

7F098C19 said...

Scams everywhere u go in my dear country. God is still speaking. Engr Emy

Nice one, Naira is our currency. If you want dollars go to where they use dollars as currency

How is that there business, its there property and they have the right to do what ever makes them happy, but why would u be in Nigeria and demand payments in dollar....how stupid and brainless can ppl get......such ppl need to be shot in d head.......

Ok o we don hear. Make una help us warn Mr president wey d gv dollars out as gift 2 obas n entertainers all in d name of election.

Gbam!!! Mr Godwin, proudly deltan lol... U av spoken well

True talk!

Good one

Nigerians and greediness...imagine demanding payments in dollars, datz serious s**t.

I hissed as if it's d empty threat that wil tak d actions. Let them stop d talking, and take necessary action. We r tired of all dis empty threats.

Some Nigerians are becoming sumtin else, they now demand for dollars.the School is beta shut down.

dailybenefits said...

They believe that having people pay in dollars give them some sort of class but that does not make sense

http://unisonwealth.com/?dailybenefits

I like this law.
If you can't use naira in nigeria, go to usa and use dollars

Tell that 2 the Minister of Finance.

SUE JORDAN said...

...add Hotels to this list....

I totally agree

99percent of landlords and school owners who demand dollars r politicians. So i hope d law works as they seem above d law. They r d ones that spoil ds country and still point fingers. Tsheww

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Better.

Carina Kikelomo Jacob said...

Better. Good idea

GREEDY PPLE...DOLLARS NA DIA COUNTRY NOTES...AFTA DEY WIL LUK FOR WU TO BLAME, WAT ARE DEY NCOURAGIN NOW???TOMJERRYSWIT

pearls said...

You have my support...

While am in support of that step,they are not the main culprits. politicians are the root cause.

Great! Keep it Up CBN.

We want to see action, and not all dis noise.

Most of them at the helm of affairs in central bank are guilty of the said crime. they have children that attend such schools and live in houses that collect dollar rents. So they should start with themselves first

Mr Jona has been spending Dollars. Pls go after him too

Good. No mind the useless Nigerian people wey go collect dollar spend naira, just to seem tush!

Aunty gwegzzz.... said...

Madam,u r fast becoming a nuisance here...u no get work? Mpam!

Ask your papa Oga Jonadaft. He has been going around d country doling out $$ dollars to entertainers, obas, opc, bloggers et al. He should be d first one to be prosecuted for dealing with dollars$$!!!

What abt the dollar being shared by our President and Politicians? Will he go after them too?

So on point. Oga Jonadaft is d number 1 culprit. He has stolen all d money in our foreign reserve and using it to dash hoodlums, opc, massob et al just to win this election.

Your papa Jonadaft is d #1 culprit in sharing dollars. They should take action against him sharp sharp!!

He has talked but they wont do anything. It is the same big men that pay and receive this rent and fees in dollars. so many of them in CBN inclusive. This country needs help. you cant withdraw one million naira cash from your account but you can withdraw $50,000.00 which is about 10 million naira. who is fooling who. they should list dollars as part of the cashless policy

Nawa ooo.

Yes, a step in the right direction. I always wondered why they advertised in dollars when we have our own currency making things complicated

Sulihp said...

it's about damn time!!! paying dollars when naira has not finished. mschewww. If they dont like our naira they should relocate to countries whose legal tender is dollars. anuofias

I support this

Not when your president pays South West Obas in dollars...Charity begins at home...

what of some embassy's that ask us to pay visa fees in euros or Dollars like Hungry embassy.

But they are not going after President that bribe in dollars...Smh for Nigeria

Let dem check out BIS lekki! Hehehe ....in pounds!

And shops

Gbam.heavy spending for that matter.i pity the masses once he enters power they will cough out all he has spent ,it has to come out from some where n who else but the masses

hrm paul ojeih said...

its about time. But how about jonathan that was dash dollars to traditional rulers, spending dollars to bribe them.how about the finance minster that earns her wages in dollars. clowns una never start

They are not serious then they stop paying the minister of finance in dollars as salary.

They should start with Muazu, the PDP national chairman. I know a property of his in Ikoyi that he collects dollars.

Now that naira has depreciated they remember the official currency in naira, why did they not send out this threats sooner

#smh - Lies - Credit the incumbent, Jonathanians say: “Jonathan, Nigeria has emerged as by far the largest economy in Africa with a GDP of $503 billion; nearly double the previous estimates,” Femi Aribisala wrote.

#smh - When Jideofor Adibe, a Daily Trust columnist, implied the same thing, I immediately threw away 70 percent of the respect I had for him; and I’m now sussing him out on the remaining 30 percent.
Actually, the Economist argued that the Nigerian economy is growing not because of Jonathan but in spite of him: “The single bright spot of his rule has been Nigeria’s economy, one of the world’s fastest-growing. Yet that is largely despite the government rather than because of it, and falling oil prices will temper the boom. The prosperity has not been broadly shared: under Mr Jonathan poverty has increased. Nigerians typically die eight years younger than their poorer neighbours in nearby Ghana.

#Sai Buhari

What do you want to go and do in Hungary biko?

He should tell his boss GEJ to stop sharing dollars and besides, where GEJ got those dollars if its not from Central bank??

I'm in support with CBN. They should go after them jare.

Confirmed na Pounds the woman dey collect and she is no joking about it even when pounds are very scarce you are on your own shikinaaa!!

So this is true? Strange and hard to believe.. Is this really my country or did I just borrow it?.. To pay what in dollars? Chai! Chai!

Start with your boss Jim Ovia!

Toh I know a Government Agency Nepza that collects their fees in dollars.

Nkechi J. said...

Do you even know the duties of your government? Don't make comment that makes you appear daft. If you use another currency in a country, you are putting that country at an economic disadvantage. We have government to help police laws and facilitate functional state!
You're welcome

Dem plenty for abuja pls strt frm there.

Then they should order that all Dom account be closed then!

i agree