Card reader hiccups avoidable - PDP. Warns against under-aged voters | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 28 March 2015

Card reader hiccups avoidable - PDP. Warns against under-aged voters

Press statement from the PDP. Read below...
The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) says the poor working of the Permanent Voter Card readers in Saturday's Presidential and National Assembly elections across the country could have been avoided if INEC had listened to sound advice from well meaning individuals and organizations including the PDP regarding their deployment without proper testing.

National Publicity Secretary of PDP, Olisa Metuh in a statement on Saturday said the last minute resort to manual accreditation by INEC hours into the exercise against its earlier guidelines clearly shows the failure of the system.

"The unfortunate development is a vindication of our earlier position that as good as the idea of card readers is, it was too virgin to be successfully used in a general election without proper testing especially in an environment as ours that is not entirely digitally proficient”, it said.

The party described as a huge national embarrassment the that the card reader had problems in accrediting President Goodluck Jonathan, Governors Jonah Jang, of Plateau, James Ngilari of Adamawa, Isa Yuguda of Buachi among others and called for thorough explanation from INEC.

The PDP equally frowned at reported cases of accreditation of under-aged persons in some states especially in the northern part of the country and called on INEC not only to ensure that such unqualified persons are not allowed to vote but also to prosecute its officials involved in the crime.

The ruling party said it is seriously concerned about the developments given the avowed commitment of the President Goodluck Jonathan-led PDP administration to hitch-free, fair and credible electoral process.

It charged the electoral commission to take urgent steps within the law to ensure that no willing and qualified voter is disenfranchised, while urging Nigerians to remain calm in the overall interest of the nation.

Signed:

Olisa Metuh
National Publicity Secretary

91 comments:

Seen.. Buhari is leading. Lindaobserve

Shattap pdp dem, d guy is a midget, get ur facts pdp abi na bcus d midget no b celeb like pawpaw na em make ona wan make noise?? Shegu pdp

ogeee said...

Underaged ke! Its not acceptable INEC

If dat guy is underaged...how was he registered in d first place???

Loosing loading for PDP.......

APC are cowards!

Pdp don dey fear

Na wa ohh

Story! Story!! Story!!! Dis wil not prevent GEJ frm winning. GEJ till 2019.

we are calm. are you?
we are calmly voting you these clowns out.

It has always been the approach in the North. Registering under age etc. But God pass them

Dnt mind dem jega, ojoro pple. Anyhow e wan be sha, it must favour pdp IJN.

Okay.

Ok now, INEC might nt use it in d nxt elections bt 4 dis 1, is a done deal. Dis is d 1st tym of using it so mistakes r bond 2 happen.

Apc is a backward party .. period

they should shut up and get a sit.. that boy is above 18. he is just suffering from mal-nutrition...

I think the problem was jega over rating the readiness of inec.
Inec wasn't ready at all,
The card readers would have been tested over and over again, because election is a very sensitive issue.
2011 election was even more credible than this one.

I agree the card reader has some flaws but it doesnt in any way render it inappropriate.PDP is ranting coz their usual rigging has been curtailed to the barest minimum with the adoption of the card reader.They didnt see it coming.If this admin is serious about deploring technology in this 21st century,then the use of card reader in this election is a good step in the right direction.I'm very optimistic that INEC will address these flaws before the gubernatorial election.Jega has tried and no jupiter can deny him that.Afterall,Rome wasnt built in a day.Technology still remains the best option in this digital age.

Endydecency said...

All na their efforts to rubbish GEJ but they have failed already.

The same people that imported Radio frequency jammer to frustrate the system are now out to complain. Useless people

Is that boy up to eighteen?...

Ahah... They have never complained during the past years.. Why Now ?

GEJ all d way👍... APC ntorrr!!!

THAT IS THE LIFE STYLE OF NORTHERNERS,A PLACE WERE CATTLE AND GOAT AND UNBORN CHILD VOTE.

What a shame! Then you all will be coming out here to say GEJ is corrupt. Show me the saint amongst you. GEJ all the way.

PRETTY GIRL said...

APC are really trying their best to cheat,imagine them accrediting that child for voting...It won't work #GEJ till 2019

This Election and Card reader sha, may God help us.

samni said...

Oh please! Next, let the best rigger win

This guy for the picture na clear underage voter. Which level!!

APC thought it was a rigging strategy.now look at how it flopped today, I hope it ends well.

APC are noise makers, they don't knw anytyn.. Gejwins still

No shaking we don win!

K

Segun said...

Oga Metu, u have been vindicated sir. APC deceived Jega and look at the embarrassment

aisha said...

The embarrassment is too glaring. We have returned to manual accreditation. What is the essence of the card reader.

onyeka okorie said...

Jega is a failure. He was warned and advised but he believed APC.

ologun said...

Their conspiracy against Jonathan must fail. Metu u are vindicated sir,those who attacked then should be bold enough to apologize now.

Who issued a pvc to the young lad, and under the watchful eyes of INEC officials, he was allowed to be accredited. Naija 4 u.

Rubbish...they won't talk abt the rigging done in some parts of rivers state. Imagine...we were accredited but when we came to vote...they ask us to go home....some result sheets were not brought ..PDP I hail o....rubbish....they complaining...am a member of no party..pdp so currupt...I swear.

APPLELIPX said...

I knew under age voting is a must do in this part of the country
This illiterates can go as far as using animals to vote jst to inflate the number of voters...
God pass una

Now this is coming from PDP, everyone will say the boy is APC. Anyway, such shud not be allowed

Goaldyn Boy said...

Instead of JAGA to contract SAGEM of FRANCE to produce quality card readers for this election, he went and contracted an unknown CHINESE COMPANY to produce cheap article for him! Now he has JAGA-JAGA the election!

I pray that Jonathan be announced the winner of this election, let me see the mouth APC will use to reject the result! It was APC that insisted on using the card readers when it has not been tested in any election and inspire of the glaring deficiencies! It was also APC that insisted on retaining JAGA even though it's obvious that he is incompetent and compromised!!!

Goaldyn Boy said...

So the northerners are using underaged children to vote?! And they are the ones chanting change!, change! They want to bring about change through cheating and rigging and corruption!

I'm sure that Buhari will see some of these children in his polling unit at Duara but he will turn a blind eye!!!

So all that money, down the drain?! And you people say God will not punish these men?! Ah! Jega must account for the failure of the machines!

Etsako Pearl said...

Abeg enuf ranting bikonu.Let d best man win.Amen

Sai buhari 2015 God'll help us all

Funny!! how do we knw this boy is going to vote APC, because ''E no dey show for face''.....PDP losing to far @SE and NE.....

lol. They are scared.
New post on the blog
www.udokajane.blogspot.com

It's okay

Rellaidiovo.blogspot.com

How did he manage to get the PVC in the first place??? Linda take note!

Linda, please always verify your source of pictures and authenticity before posting. The above picture was taken during a demonstration of card reader not during this election. Kai, you are so blinded with ur support for Jonathan. Pls many people rely on this media for information, don't mislead people. (if u like eat my comment, atleast you get d msg)

rossy said...

That boy is less than 12 years. Northerners I hail. you want change by fire by force

No mind jega.... He was bought by Apc..... When Gej wins, he will sure step down

Chai PDP @ it again ! please Linda u should watch dis!https://scontent.xx.fbcdn.net/hvideoxfp1vt42.1790-2/11085226_901218473274706_71852859_n.mp4?rl=610&vabr=339&oh=68a49dd38cdebc545319739b5e708036&oe=5518E23B

lami said...

I don't think jega meant any harm by introducing the use of card reader these people never supported him and am sure they are now happy. All they care about is their selfish ambitions.

lami said...

I don't think jega meant any harm by introducing the use of card reader these people never supported him and am sure they are now happy. All they care about is their selfish ambitions.

Dan360 said...

Its quite unfortunate that inec is not yet ready for this election. Today, the card reader malfunctioned in many polling units. Really, PDP is vindicated this time around. INEC should tender an unreserved apology to the public for thier short comings.

why are they letting kids vote anyway? I agree the problems were avoidable

Thought PDP was bragging that they were digital while APC was analogue. Guess they dont like the digital card reader now? Ewu gambia. Bye bye Oga Jonah. You've been voted out!!!

Yeye pple,d same manual system is been forcefully used by dere thugs in river...no comment yet oo ..d Lord is more dan u guys

Fools u all will die one after the other.

Ndi ugwu r d most corrupt ppl in nigeria

Bolaito Shigege said...

Why is this part of nigeria always trying to create trouble? This was what they did during the census time, they even brougt their goats and cattles including plants so they can be counted. Why cant this people be peaceful for once? Is nigeria only for them? If every region start doing this will there be peace in this country? Na wa ooo. i was carrying buhari on my head be for as at yesterday and today I wanted to vote for buhari but wasn't accredited maybe God wants me to see this. And for this reason, am changing my mind to vote for GEJ. No man can change Gods will.

The card reader was indeed a national embarassment

A massive failure poor parformance by INEC..

...JOSHSAYSO..LIB..FAN

Linda's sugar daddy said...

Oga tell your principal get set to vacate Aso Rock...While you vanish to irrelevance!

Eno said...

All this one na for anty boo boo

Make PDP go sleep jor
Always complaining.
Please there is no cause for alarm
Cux Eastern Nig is solidly behind him.

Shut-up olisa metuh we vote peacefully in Edo state. Where I com from, nothing like card readers failure

Support for Jonathan ke.. Please don't say rubbish.. Linda is not I support of him.. It's not every new about Jonathan that has to be bad.. Biase being

How come card reader works perfectly in northern areas and fail in western eastern and southern area Jega is a prime suspect

He wasted our money for card reader which is a failure

Even u don't forget that

Sorry to disappoint u he just won

Pray harder cos God is a God of peace and not violence

Sharrraaaap u begi begi.

Inec & the process is a complete failure.

Even bringing down obama to NIGERIA will not make buhari win. JONA they win landslide

ologun said...

Their conspiracy against Jonathan must fail. Metu u are vindicated sir,those who attacked then should be bold enough to apologize now.

@irabo bobby you are talking about your polling unit didnt you watch the election in other polling units. You shut up.

The northerners might kill the poor corpers if they fail to register the kids..

During a demonstration of card reader you say, how did he get the card used for the demonstration or is his father the producer of pvc. Shine your eyes bros. And please linda is never biased watch it.

Mechie onu gi. Iso ha ata aturu maka ina eme ka aturu. Wait for the final result to be announced before you talk rubbish buhari's sheep.

this is not a case of midget voting but under age, am sure you are not calling us fools that can not differentiate between midget and a child. we have a lot of them in some south western state, corpers were force to register them and allow them vote, otherwise take. what ever they comes to them.
i think Nigerians should be patient for Inec to announce the results of the election. A winner must surely Emerge
Anyway i wish President GEJ Best of the Election he deserve to win.
so i will End by saying Go GEJ we are behind you