The story of alleged extra-judicial killing of Femi Bello by Nigerian police | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 December 2014

The story of alleged extra-judicial killing of Femi Bello by Nigerian police

Friends and family of Femi Bello (pictured above), who died last week while in the custody of Abuja police want people to know what happened to their son and are demanding justice. Below is the mail I received telling the story of Femi Below...
Femi Bello is a 300 level student of Economics in Kaduna State University, he had just finished his 2nd Semester exams with the hope of proceeding to his final year, graduating and supporting his mum in Abuja, who had just lost her husband some 4 months before then, after a protracted illness.
A very bright and enterprising young man, he had secured a little contract to customize some Tee-Shirts for a party being organized in his school. He therefore traveled to Abuja on Thursday 4th Dec. 2014 to carry out the job at the popular UTC shopping complex.
He went home to inform his mum of the contract he secured and to notify her that he would be proceeding to Area 10 where UTC shopping complex is located, but the mum was not at home and so he left a message for her to that effect along with a chicken he bought for her as well as a pair of shoes he bought for his younger brother.

Femi went to UTC shopping complex to deliver the Tee-Shirts to Jerry the printer and decided to visit a friend at Mararaba. While sitting outside the friend’s house Samba, in Mararaba at about 4 pm. A Golf Volkswagen car suddenly parked in front of them and some men numbering 8 Came out and arrested Femi, his host and other friends numbering about 7. They were handcuffed and taken to the Mararaba Police Station.

The mum and siblings who had waited for Femi the whole day, unaware of his arrest, started getting worried and made several efforts to reach him but to no avail, as his phone was switched off.
Eventually they got some information on the evening of Sunday 7th December, of his arrest and detention. His younger brother, Biodun, went to the Police station to confirm this story and the Police officers confirmed his arrest, but advised him to come back the next morning before 10 am as Femi’s case was being transferred to the State CID at Lafia, Nasarawa State. He requested to see his brother but this request was turned down. Biodun saw shoes and other personal effects he knew specifically belonged to his brother.

By the next morning, based on the little information obtained the night before, Biodun went in company of a lawyer, Barr. Napon Wuyep to the Police station with the hope that they could secure his release or, at least, further information about the nature of the offence for which Femi was being held.

When the lawyer got to the counter as is the practice, and asked to see Femi, he was first told that Femi was not in their cell, but he was referred to the crime office, where he met one Adamu who directed him to see the Divisional Police Officer (DPO), SP John Omege. The DPO in a very dramatic manner however, informed Barr. Napon that Femi was dead in vernacular “him don die”. Biodun, unable to bear the news broke down in uncontrollable tears.

The DPO further informed the lawyer that Femi had confessed to owning a gun kept somewhere in Bwari and that while they were taking him in the Police van with handcuffs on, somewhere around ‘sharp corner’ in Mararaba, Femi jumped out of the moving van, that he was immediately rushed to the Medical Centre in Mararaba but unfortunately, the medical workers were on strike and so they took him to a private hospital, where he was confirmed dead.

When this news was broken to Femi’s relatives, they found it hard to believe because Femi was generally regarded as a gentle soul who could hardly hurt a fly and saw no reason why Femi would have a gun. He was also described as a very studious person who was hoping to come out with at worst, a Second Class Upper at the end of his course. They felt dissatisfied and even started having doubts if the Femi arrested was their own Femi, and as such could not break the news to his hypertensive mum.

The next day Tuesday, 9th December, the Lawyer in company of members of the family went back to the Police station seeking to see the body of the deceased for identification, the DPO however told them that was beyond his powers as the case was being transferred to the State CID in Lafia and advised them to direct their request to Lafia, which they immediately did, the DPO also showed them a picture of the corpse which family members confirmed bore a resemblance of Femi’s but still expressed some doubts. The family on the same day, also wrote to the Commissioner of Police, Nasarawa State, requesting a full report of the circumstances leading to the arrest and eventual death of Femi.

On arrival at Lafia, which is over 3 hours’ drive from Mararaba, they sought to see the Officer in Charge of the State CID, ACP Tarfa, whom the DPO had specifically directed them to, but his aides would not let them, but rather directed them to the Officer in Charge of SARS Nasarawa, one Cletus.

Cletus pointedly told them they could neither see nor secure the release of the body of the deceased but confirmed to them that the deceased was Femi. In another twist, quite contrary to the story the DPO had told the lawyer earlier, Cletus informed them that the case was that of armed robbery and that Femi was killed during a gun battle between the robbers and police.

The mother has been informed of the death of her son, leaving her broken and devastated.

The family strongly believes that Femi was arrested on trumped up suspicions and was tortured to death while trying to secure a confession. Their fears are based on the contradictions in the stories of his death as told by the DPO and the OC SARS as well as the determined and persistent refusal of the Police to permit the family to sight the corpse suggestive of a grand design to cover up the extra-judicial killing of Femi Bello by the Police.

The family is distraught, helpless and seeking justice for their son who they believe was cut in his prime by the Nigerian police.

316 comments:

«Oldest   ‹Older   201 – 316 of 316
SUNNYben said...

When would this end? My heart bleeds for this nation.

Why all dis bad bad stories.

chinweuban5@gmail.com

He woz kill by d police in maraba police station he woz neva an armed robber he has neva used a gun in his life

OMG!...wat a life...

koskos said...

My God! What is happening? When u have a son or a brother, u get so scared of letting them out of ur sight..I wonder y d police keep killing young men. Haba! Husbands are scarce oh! Please Nigerian police stop the killing of innocent young men!!

Obara Jesus! May his soul rest in peace dat was painful but only God knows what actually happened

ug said...

Chineke! God have mercy. anekwozo ozoaneme! Policemen! Tufia!
It is high time the got look into this incessant killings of innocent citizen by the policemen.ogini biko nu? Anyways they always end up with their families miserable.

http://earnrealpay.net/aff/go/jyedough

this is quite unfortunate, my prayers to his family, and may his soul rest in peace. amen

may his gentle soul rest in perfect peace

ONI said...

One too many deaths as a result of extra judicial killings in Nigeria. for how long would this continue?no professionalism.

Very pathetic

i pray justice be served right.the police men involved need to be arrested and made to face the law squarely.

Heath and life said...

The is heart broken. Heavy in my heart. Nigerian police............ God will judge you

Nigeria Police, its well. All I know is that "Karma" is a bitch. It will make a return in whose ever home that is involved in snuffing out life of innocent Nigerians.

favourite girlfriend said...

Nigerian police..which way

which kind country be this one

OMG!!! this is so so sad.

so sad

harrispatrick10@yahoo.com

vincent cynthia said...

what is this country turning into? God!

This is how they keep killing innocent Nigerians. It will never be well with all those involved,what a waste! They won't go after the criminals,always molesting responsible Nigerians. Is high time the Youths staged a protest, living in fear in your own country bcos the ppl meant to protect are the killers now. God help us. Nigeria needs a revolution.

Na wah oh. This always happen in Nigeria unchecked. May his soul rest in peace. Livinfrank@yahoo.com

Na wa for Nigerian police o

Its a pity that we still hear this sorta story in this age and time. Why would Naija police not value human life? Femi rest in peace.

Love Treasure said...

Naija police...always in d news for wrong reasons.
hadyzat3@gmail.com

Anonymous Personified said...

Awww....so so sad. The other day it was husband n wife @ lekki.
Now this. They keep killing people like fowls. God pls save us from these people called Police, they ain't good @all.
God pls give this family the fortitude to bear this great loss. Wonder what the mum is thinking. RIP to the daed.

Wah ar fake nd wicked police we hv in dis country.rita2k4real@yahoo.com

This was how a neighbour of mine was arrested in front of our building,he was there receiving a call and they carried him off. On getting to the station they brought out Indian hemp and asked him to write a statement that he was caught smoking it. How long are we going to live under this kind of Intimidation because they are Uniformed men. Femi RIP! What a sore tragedy.

Awww...so touching..
Let justice prevail.

It's only God that know the real truth..I will always say it everytime that I hate nigerian police with passion .all of them are killers and a bunch of lairs..well whatever is hiding to human,it's very open to God..the family should let God judge..Rip bro

Nigeria Police!!!

All these bastard police, all of u will know no peace....evil bastards. police are not different from boko haram, if not even worse. Its so glaring that ds boy is an innocent young man, who was cut short @his prime for no reason @all. Out of wickedness n der daily evil behaviour, d Nigerian police just killed ds innocent boy for nothing. RIP peace, but pls dnt rest until u avenge ur death, pls don't rest boy. Nigerian Police, shame on u, I spit on u bastards, police is no one's friend, Infact they are Nigerian citizen's worst nightmare, evil lots.

Enimabel said...

MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PEACE. WHAT A SAD STORY.

Wunmi O. said...

WHAT IS THE NIGERIAN POLICE TURNING INTO? ALL THEY DO IS JUST KILL INNOCENT PEOPLE EVERYDAY. MAY FEMI'S SOUL REST IN PEACE, AMEN...

OMG.

Timi Da Uyi said...

Jesus is lord! God of mercy save us from these uniformed people

Nigeria police will not kill us oh see how unorganized they are it's very sad were is d body and why name nigeria 136 most corrupt country we bad pass I can't say

So sad many twists in the young man's death, justice must prevail

Any body connected to this case who has the authority and power to get to the root of this matter but chooses to look the other way shall find no peace! Police this, police that yet most of the time nothing is done to unravel the mystery behind such killing. The Police force in America is not perfect, Yes i know! But Naija policemen are always in the news for negative things and infact, i don't see much being done to erase that identifier. How hard could it be to sanitize the police force? If the Ogas at the top really want to rebrand the police force, it can be easily achieved. My people, pray! One day, Nigeria will be great. It may not be in my life time but i know the beings from my loins will one day live in Nigeria of our dreams while i look on joyfully from the great beyond. Those devil incarnates bedeviling this country think it ends here on earth..lol.. we shall see!

susu cossy said...

Hmmmmmm Nigeria police God deliver us in this country o. ozeisusan497@gmail.com

Tjsca said...

This is very sad and annoying. Please can the family start a fund raising so as to raise money to be able to tackle this extra judicial killing. This is a plague in our society and it hurts so much. I will be ready to support with whatever i can to hire the best lawyer and pursue this case till the end.

This is sad.
motun011@gmail.com

such a sad news ma his soul Rest in Peace. The govt. really need to do some thing about this.

EnigmaLife said...

This is where we need politicians to act up and do something about this but they will never.

Oh my God. Nigerian police should be reorganized..

Oh! God have mercy

Shaniquapatty@gmail.com

God help us in the hands of police oo.. anthoniaclaret@gmail.com

Justice

Sad indeed.
Two contradicting story from the police makes it fishy and suspicious.
Our police force are so corrupt that they can cover up murder inflicted by them.
The IG should appoint special investigators into the case.
May his soul rest in peace.
SMH

The Nigerian police and their blatant disregard for human right. What sort of inhumanity is this? They cannot even give a proper account of a suspect in their custody. The Nigerian constitution has already made provisions protecting citizens, yet law enforcement keep violating this. Like we don't have enough security problems in this country. This is so annoying. Obialoronyinye@gmail.com

All these useless olokpa self na wa ooo let them see and bury their dead now abi? May his soul rest in peace ooo

omotunde2 said...

Nigeria Police oooooo, huh, May be they might have swap femi for another rich man criminal pikin. cos dia xplanation is contradicted. Eleda mi o ni gbabo de ooo ( Amen)

omotunde2 said...

Nigeria Police oooooo, huh, May be they might have swap femi for another rich man criminal pikin. cos dia xplanation is contradicted. Eleda mi o ni gbabo de ooo ( Amen)

nekkyville said...

Dese police pple are wicked n heartless.dey r jst d bokoharam dey r 3yn to eradicate..ny bad police man who kills wud die n d curse wud be extended to his 3rd n 4tg generation! As d black uniform dey wear dia hearts are black as well..God punish n kill every violent,wicked n heartless policeman.and d IG is doin notin abt it.@ d end of d day,d case jst goes away like dat.if u wicked policemen come close to me,family or friends,walahi I will forget God exist n go straight to IFA n SANGO to deal wit u n nt d useless law dat doesn't favor d poor masses.rubbish.Linda post my coment oh

Jess Ruby said...

So so sad, what a wicked world.

Oh God arise and fight for the innocent..Even if he was a susupected criminal,shouldnt der b a trial b4 conviction...9ja police,God help us

Hmmn Nigeria nd her bunch of fools nd murderers in the guise of policemen, na wa oo, dis is so disheartening #chizzy says so.. chisomhelen19@gmail.com

Roman! said...

may God save us all in this country..

Elodie O. Mbape said...

What a loss! Lord please strengthen this family. Chances are he was completely innocent but just found himself in the wrong place at the wrong time. RIP dear.

God have mercy......we shall never see such in Jesus name. .....this country, God help us......*sad*....tannyolaly@yahoo.com

May the Lord comfort the mum.Judgement of God stands firm on those evil doers.

I pray god show the devil behind his death and justice for him.

taiwo.bolaji81@gmail.com

These men in black calle nigerian police should be called to order... for God sake this extra judicial killing is becoming a trend in nigeria. Hian!!

LIBVIRUSSPREADING said...

Nigerian police should be dismissed. Their crimes are too much. Even when cities need genuine help it doesn't come. But they just go about wasting poepl this way

debby angel said...

Hmmm......nawa for d NPF in dis country ooo....ope.fads@gmail.com

debby angel said...

Adurey said...

Demons in disguise @Nigerian Police. No peace for the wicked.

May his soul rest in peace

hmmmm....nigerian police...chai

Nigerian police tufuikwa

Sister we have the worst police in the world,beating US and SA police....thiz guys kill people carelessly every week.What the government should put to law is..if any citizen/suspect dies in custody of police,the dpo and all involved must be sentenced.i know they would always frame d victims up,but let it be put to law first..thiz popos are equally threats,be very carful around dem,plz don't be rude at night or lonely places.the would kill u!

Nigeria

Chai what is this?may we never be at wrong place at wrong time Amen

*crying*

Jay said...

Nigerian police with twisting stories... God help dis nation

Jay

What a wicked world we live in at least to hear what crime he has committed...God is never asleep

Poor guy,may his soul rest in peace. I know naija police will even place a gun and claim its his own

I swear kill a policeman everyday and naija will be safer!!!! I spit on them cos they deserve no graves!!! They should be thrown to pigs to be fed on!!! I HATE the naija police.... So bloody vile that the devil hides in shame!!!! Bastards... U will all die wretched and miserable deaths!!!

FUN said...

Linda pls don't let them sweep this under the carpet. Follow it up to the end. lawlessness is at its peak in the Nigerian police.

Dami Olowoyo said...

Hi Linda, this is getting out of hand. It can be anybody... Pls do kindly start a protest of the police taking a "Mug Shot" of everyone they arrest. So there can be physical record. Please!!! 😖 This can save many lives...................

Na wa oo... this is so so pathetic. I m sure the innocent guy was used to replace another criminal that must hv bn freed tru mago-mago. Its a matter of time, all those that took part in this evil act wont go unpunished. I pray God helps the family.

I don talk' m be4 say police no be work, see linda ikeji any death wey go kill U make ein kill all D nigeria police in jesus name amen. Justice na wen u get person or u get money, u no get money u no get person, were D justice wan come from. Ugo-Gold

Anon49 said...

Nigeria is simply put, a totally screwed up lawless society. May his soul rest in peace.

Such a senseless and callous behaviour by the police.

I jst want to believe all dis so called policemen killing people or torturing innocent citizens are illiterates and are intimidated by d elites cos most of d time u a meet policeman on d road nd u start speaking vocabulary, u don enter their wahala. Its only God dt will help us in dis country. RIP

Enjoy ... is her time

It's well cutekenny68@yahoo.com

Cutekenny68@yahoo.com

Sad

philippa okonkwo said...

dis is so sad!...der's obviously foul play here...2 different stories 4rm d police....sumtin is not right... may His soul R.I.P though

sad storyy ohhh... for how long shall the innocent continually fall victim to these bad cops ..God help us

Wen did he go to steal was it wen we were writing d exams or after, am just short of words cos as for now if I c any police van I will run my life out bcos no 1 is safe with dem but I blive we have a constitution and human right affair pls don't let dis guy to die without judgment. A lost to my dear school and level mate rest with d lord, for God does his thing at his own time.

RIP... Femi (Enuose) Ur killers will never go unpunished.... May the almighty God grant u a perfect rest... Amen!

PAUL STEPHENS said...

hmmmmmmm

Nawa ooo

lexi said...

i don't get it, despite the touching story being posted by Linda,some of care less by our comments. just because of the Xmas giveaway we want to get from the blog owner, How bad our conscience has been sealed. this could be any of us. God help this country and save us from our worst enemy which is our government and its institution.
aghedomnda@gmail.com

WELCOME TO SUCCESS BLOG said...

Nigeria police are really good in shooting suspect without any evidence. The earlier they stop this nonsense the better for them. Instead of protecting citizen they are killing them. God help Nigeria.

May God fight ur battle Femi.RIP

Same way mycousin 400l uniben student was killed last year may27 in benin,wen will all dis extra judicial killing by d Nigeria police end?

Kingsley Lotanna Ezeonyido said...

What a great man cut short in his primes.
NIGERIA POLICE FORCE is, and have been in many ways, disgrace to this generation and the generations unborn.

Please let a lawyer of sophisticated philosophy take over this guy's case.
The killers deserve to rot in jail.

Why won't they allow the family see his dead body?
Of course they have the right to why deny them that. I wish I read Law. I'll deal with them.

Jobless and frustrated cunts.

I HATE NIGERIA POLICE.

BRYTE TABLET FROM KONGA.COM

We have heard and read about killings like this and the investigations always ends up empty,why all this killings from those that are suppose to "Protect" us?

the evil that men do.tubbytracy@yahoo.com

Nigerian police force is a product of a corrupt system,when a low ranked police man sees himselp as a god.....we need God help

This is sad, rip bro

Too sad

Is there justice in this country. I missed Gani Fawehimi.

Nigerian police can lie to protect their stupid act.

micheal pan said...

BE SMART AND BECOME RICH IN LESS THAN 3DAYS....It all depends on how fast you can be to get the new PROGRAMMED blank ATM card that is capable of hacking into any ATM machine,anywhere in the world. I got to know about this BLANK ATM CARD when I was searching for job online about a month ago..It has really changed my life for good and now I can say I'm rich and I can never be poor again. The least money I get in a day with it is about $50,000.(fifty thousand USD) Every now and then I keeping pumping money into my account. Though is illegal,there is no risk of being caught ,because it has been programmed in such a way that it is not traceable,it also has a technique that makes it impossible for the CCTVs to detect you..For details on how to get yours today, email the hackers on : (atmmachinehacker102@gmail.com). Tell your loved once too, and start to live large. That's the simple testimony of how my life changed for good...Love you all ...the email address again is ;atmmachinehacker102@gmail.com
call me for more info 08138155648

Let us be very careful this festive period, most crimes are done by the bad eggs in the police after which they arrest innocent souls and put blame on them, a friend of mine had similar experience with the police...left his wife at home that he was going to get suya just for him to get to the mallam selling suya he was waiting for his turn, the police just came pick them up and that was it, the wife looked for her husband and now communicated to her husbands father who now sent people to the police station the next day. it was so funny what the police said that they were caught in a robbery incident can u imagine that was how the dad called the police commission and the guy was release and the police started begging...they catch innocent souls kill them and free the real robbers after settlement.

peace please said...

His relatives should just be patient and take constitutional steps to find the corpse and even to get to the root of the problem. All the police want now is for the family to take laws into their hands so that they could justify their hanky-panky. You wont be suprised if they had killed that poor boy in replacement for someone they are pressured to release.
SPADEV

This is sheer wickedness.

«Oldest ‹Older   201 – 316 of 316   Newer› Newest»