The story of alleged extra-judicial killing of Femi Bello by Nigerian police | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 11 December 2014

The story of alleged extra-judicial killing of Femi Bello by Nigerian police

Friends and family of Femi Bello (pictured above), who died last week while in the custody of Abuja police want people to know what happened to their son and are demanding justice. Below is the mail I received telling the story of Femi Below...
Femi Bello is a 300 level student of Economics in Kaduna State University, he had just finished his 2nd Semester exams with the hope of proceeding to his final year, graduating and supporting his mum in Abuja, who had just lost her husband some 4 months before then, after a protracted illness.
A very bright and enterprising young man, he had secured a little contract to customize some Tee-Shirts for a party being organized in his school. He therefore traveled to Abuja on Thursday 4th Dec. 2014 to carry out the job at the popular UTC shopping complex.
He went home to inform his mum of the contract he secured and to notify her that he would be proceeding to Area 10 where UTC shopping complex is located, but the mum was not at home and so he left a message for her to that effect along with a chicken he bought for her as well as a pair of shoes he bought for his younger brother.

Femi went to UTC shopping complex to deliver the Tee-Shirts to Jerry the printer and decided to visit a friend at Mararaba. While sitting outside the friend’s house Samba, in Mararaba at about 4 pm. A Golf Volkswagen car suddenly parked in front of them and some men numbering 8 Came out and arrested Femi, his host and other friends numbering about 7. They were handcuffed and taken to the Mararaba Police Station.

The mum and siblings who had waited for Femi the whole day, unaware of his arrest, started getting worried and made several efforts to reach him but to no avail, as his phone was switched off.
Eventually they got some information on the evening of Sunday 7th December, of his arrest and detention. His younger brother, Biodun, went to the Police station to confirm this story and the Police officers confirmed his arrest, but advised him to come back the next morning before 10 am as Femi’s case was being transferred to the State CID at Lafia, Nasarawa State. He requested to see his brother but this request was turned down. Biodun saw shoes and other personal effects he knew specifically belonged to his brother.

By the next morning, based on the little information obtained the night before, Biodun went in company of a lawyer, Barr. Napon Wuyep to the Police station with the hope that they could secure his release or, at least, further information about the nature of the offence for which Femi was being held.

When the lawyer got to the counter as is the practice, and asked to see Femi, he was first told that Femi was not in their cell, but he was referred to the crime office, where he met one Adamu who directed him to see the Divisional Police Officer (DPO), SP John Omege. The DPO in a very dramatic manner however, informed Barr. Napon that Femi was dead in vernacular “him don die”. Biodun, unable to bear the news broke down in uncontrollable tears.

The DPO further informed the lawyer that Femi had confessed to owning a gun kept somewhere in Bwari and that while they were taking him in the Police van with handcuffs on, somewhere around ‘sharp corner’ in Mararaba, Femi jumped out of the moving van, that he was immediately rushed to the Medical Centre in Mararaba but unfortunately, the medical workers were on strike and so they took him to a private hospital, where he was confirmed dead.

When this news was broken to Femi’s relatives, they found it hard to believe because Femi was generally regarded as a gentle soul who could hardly hurt a fly and saw no reason why Femi would have a gun. He was also described as a very studious person who was hoping to come out with at worst, a Second Class Upper at the end of his course. They felt dissatisfied and even started having doubts if the Femi arrested was their own Femi, and as such could not break the news to his hypertensive mum.

The next day Tuesday, 9th December, the Lawyer in company of members of the family went back to the Police station seeking to see the body of the deceased for identification, the DPO however told them that was beyond his powers as the case was being transferred to the State CID in Lafia and advised them to direct their request to Lafia, which they immediately did, the DPO also showed them a picture of the corpse which family members confirmed bore a resemblance of Femi’s but still expressed some doubts. The family on the same day, also wrote to the Commissioner of Police, Nasarawa State, requesting a full report of the circumstances leading to the arrest and eventual death of Femi.

On arrival at Lafia, which is over 3 hours’ drive from Mararaba, they sought to see the Officer in Charge of the State CID, ACP Tarfa, whom the DPO had specifically directed them to, but his aides would not let them, but rather directed them to the Officer in Charge of SARS Nasarawa, one Cletus.

Cletus pointedly told them they could neither see nor secure the release of the body of the deceased but confirmed to them that the deceased was Femi. In another twist, quite contrary to the story the DPO had told the lawyer earlier, Cletus informed them that the case was that of armed robbery and that Femi was killed during a gun battle between the robbers and police.

The mother has been informed of the death of her son, leaving her broken and devastated.

The family strongly believes that Femi was arrested on trumped up suspicions and was tortured to death while trying to secure a confession. Their fears are based on the contradictions in the stories of his death as told by the DPO and the OC SARS as well as the determined and persistent refusal of the Police to permit the family to sight the corpse suggestive of a grand design to cover up the extra-judicial killing of Femi Bello by the Police.

The family is distraught, helpless and seeking justice for their son who they believe was cut in his prime by the Nigerian police.

316 comments:

1 – 200 of 316   Newer›   Newest»

Sad

Cooyutevanny@gmail.com

bellionobnv@yahoo.com......bad

2 bad. Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

Story

Vivian Gills said...

RIP Femi (gillsvivian@gmail.com)

God will reveal the truth.

Celebrityoye@gmail.com

2 bad 2 d Nigeria police.Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

Nawa oo

Oladiti.atm@gmail.com

Omg! Pregnant woman and her lover caught in hotel by her husband

See Gobe! Guy Caught his Girlfriend cheating with another Man in Lagos

See What this Man is Busy Doing with a Lady in an Uncompleted Building

Oga oo....dis life!

too bad!

2 bad Bobbyferafavorirabo@gmail.com

May his soul rest in perfect peace

Igbinosa Sarah said...

May God help us in this country.

Nigerian police hmmm are you to protect or kill???Diaris God o
i reserve my comment
7EFB6242

Not

naija police and their stupidity!

Awww..its a pity

The Nigerian police and extra-judicial killing... na waoh
RIP Femi

nawa oo busayooyedokun@yahoo.com

gidis said...

Dis is jes gettn too much....dis men in black nds 2 b checked b4 dis ish get outta hand!!!! God may soul rest in peace tho (toviebo@yahoo.com)

naija police and their lawlessness

Can justice take it's course, how possible

when will all this daunting cases of extra judicial killing of police end in Nigeria... Police should censor the way they recruit...

WHAT HAPPENED HAS JUST HAPPENED THEY SHOULD JUST HOLD THERE HEART PLS AN PLS FROM FREEBORNZINA@GMAIL.COM

Vivian Gills said...

hope justice prevails this time around...i find it hard to believe he jumped out of the vehicle..then why is it hard for the family to see his corpse..its funny but serious (gillsvivian@gmail.com)

WHAT HAPPENED HAS JUST HAPPENED THEY SHOULD JUST HOLD THERE HEART PLS AN PLS FROM FREEBORNZINA@GMAIL.COM

Uche Emma said...

When will all this stop

Dis case shud b investigated o!(Bits4kermie@yahoo.co.uk)

Nice rippet o much Linda?

OMG!!!!... may his soul RIP and console his parent but wat a weaked world is dis.

Nawa for naija police oo...God help us

Student" Kills Herself After Ex-Boyfriend Reveals Her 'Prostitution' Secret To Family Members

May his soul rest in peace

Oloriburuku ni Awon olopa yi o...u can't release his body ke?if u try dat in my place dat dpo go vanish too o.rubbish

Ummmmmm

this is just unbecoming of the Nigerian police. hey are now acting more like the ragtag soldiers (BH). God help us... may the soul of the departed rest in perfect peace. amen

Only God will help us in dis country called nigeria..RIP..rosepowell0@gmail.com

Make una just leave every thing for God simple,some guys are now posting rubish without reading it loi?i know linda we be laughing any were she is now.

and they keep telling us that police is our friend...
"story for the gods"

omo jasmine said...

Sum1 plz read n summarise 4 me

God go punish the police people if dat guy dey innocent ooooo there is God ooooooo stephensy2002@yahoo.com

Pls investigation shud begin(bits4kermie@yahoo.co.uk)

Justice oooo. What a country (Nigeria).... many bad eggs.

elovi said...

Na wa ooo

i wounder the kind of people we have in d police force

elovi said...

Later dey will say police is ur freind

Aba...... what is happening in this country.. so sad

THIS IS REALLY A WICKED ACT.MAY GOD GRANT HIS FAMILY COMFORT.

T.David said...

Nigerian police again!daviddvnt130@gmail.com

Linda...I can't stand Nigeria Police. They were trained and equipped to serve and protect Nigerians. But they turned the guns paid for by tax payers on the innocent citizens. At times I wonder how so of them made it into the force. This story of this young man is so disheartening and someone need to get to bottom of what actually happened. He jumped out of the moving vehicle and died! That's a new one. Just the yesterday I read the story you posted about a couple maltreated in Lagos. Something should be done.

nawa ooo, May GOD help Us in this Country.

David E said...

1/1000000

andrewfaith57@gmail.com said...

Rip! Pls linda mk me happy dis month so I can pay my school fee. Pick me among d winers thanks

eseoghene said...

Awwwww so sad. pity d mum

mzhrf20@yahoo.com

In time like this we need God .

Consolation4you@gmail.com

if this is true....God will continue to punish the nigerian police.....amen

Oloriburuku ni Awon olopa yi o...u can't release his body ke?if u try dat in my place dat dpo go vanish too o.rubbish

Dave Mide said...

God! Good God!! I cant believe this. Within days and hes dead? No trial, Nothing. No right to talk to his lawyer? Not even a single call to anyone and he was tortured to death ? A fringe on his human right. This is what happens when u put illiterates and pry sch cert holder to keep order amidst human. I hate police with all my heart

REXOVIC said...

God help us in dis country...just cut short dis young man's life in his prime ! God will judge !

Eastner said...

God have mercy on the masses! Rather than protect the citizen...they're murdering...Dear God,come and render justice as you're the only impartial judge. The defender of the poor...the widow & the orphan... Arise oh Lord & let the wicked be scattered.

Somebody's child...just like dat.na wa o

Everything Rosham said...

Injustice..insecurity..everywhere in d world
_
_
_
DERMIEY--DERMIEYDREAL
Temiarex@gmail.com

DEguebe said...

Naija police enh. It is well. Mc Baba Oloye says so

Ozed said...

Just gone like that ? Justice must take its course.

Judging from d pix he looks cool n gentle. May his soul rest in peace

Amakadarlyn@yahoo.com

The Munificent said...

Which way Nigeria? , which way?... Okoroaforchucks@gmail.com

Zenki Moye Brown said...

God av mercy. The police even av two different reports. The body shud be released so pple can see if its gun shot wound or accident wound.

May his soul rest in peace.

May God give the family the Grace to bear their loss.

May we not be found in such situation. Amen

Bolateetoh said...

May d soul of d dead rest in peace.

Na wah for this our nigerian police sef... they just behave like touts.... no difference between them and the ones on the street.

Only God knows what happened to him,and only Him will judge.. May God comfort his family

nkoyo_anwanakak@yahoo.com

Painful
And they say police is our friend smh

What a devastating sad story.. Condolences to his family. R.I.P dude. »»QUEENMAYA»»REPORTING LIVE»»

I hate our cops, I feel they should fire each and everyone of them and hire new people who must undergo thorough psychological valuation and more subsequently, because many of these guys you see walking around with guns are sick, terribly sick in the head!! #JusticeForFemi

Nigerian Police na wa oooo.....RIP to the dead.

Miss B said...

Lord have mercy. I pray to God always that I shall never be at the right place at the wrong time. RIP to the dead.

Nigerian police is bad news. Cant they all be scrapped and new ones recruitted?!!!

so sorry man

Folashade Idowu said...

Hummmmmmm. This is so sad Nigerian Police? am short of words. May God comfort his family and may his soul rest but his killer will know no peace if he was killed unjustly.

Peter said...

RIP to him. may justice prevail

Nigerian police are so inexperienced and callous. What's all this? They derive joy in killing. Yet all we do is blame BH boys but the real heartless murderers are the ones we hope protects us. God help them find justice.

Hmmmmm all this men in black uniform...

Eyaaaa!

dogworthmontreal.blogspot.com said...

Nigerian police turning themselves to smaller gods...the wrath of God coming on them soon...rip femi.

God help us..abimbolajb@yahoo.com

miss kevwe said...

This is so sad. I pray justice is served.

REXOVIC said...

hmmm

I remembered a day in jaba lagos when a bus parked by my side and told me they where police and I should enter. I was bullied and beaten so badly cause I protested entering the bus cause I was not sure if there where police. On getting to the station. The police beat the hell out of me I was bleeding from my noise. I didn't comit any offense was just going to buy goods and they collected my money and put me on a bike home. God punish Nigerian police. Sick country sick police sick leaders. i hate Nigeria and I'm out for good

Marvy said...

So sad! dr.marvyboy@yahoo.com

ZOE said...

What a pity. May his soul rest in peace.

Jenny said...

God let your justice prevail. J.ofenor@gmail.com

Nigerian police,hmmm,too sad.lauretb@yahoo.com

Adalud said...

This is sad

Nigeria police are dem crazy.... They are just telling Femi family different story......God pls help safe the country from dis dark uniform people .....

#favoured said...

smh, so so sad

yet they say the police is your friend. may his soul rest in peace

enem said...

this is so unfair! oh God!! what a country!!!!!!!!! tufiakwa

DEguebe said...

I buy their story. It is well. It's just an unfortunate countrywe found ourselves. It's well. MC BABA OLOYE SAYS SO

kuma said...

so painful... Rip

We are better off without these demons called Nigerian police.

Justice... Abimbolajb@yahoo.com

K-REX said...

God will punish Nigerian police. I leave around that MARARABA and i can confidently tell you that there is more to this. The police in that station are drunkards and always threatening to shot people unnecessary. May God expose the wicked police men that killed Femi.

2ndeslash said...

this is devastating,it always happen in Nigeria....justice must be served,how can u torture and arrest some one based on suspicion and not prove.My dad once told me that police go on a raid,arrest innocent citizens and swap with criminals who are rich and have paid to the police.thats why we have to watch were we go and the company we keep.........if you don't have money in this country you are a goner.may his soul hunt his killers.......the police is getting worse by the day,the people in charge of recruiting them don't do a good background check.they are lots of people who ere into crime in the Nigerian police

What kind of society is this?

Naija police. Sighs

Hmm what a sad tale, btw when will all this extrajudicial killings stop?
RIP to the lost soul

EehyAa. Blessdab@gmail.com

Cindy said...

I smell a rat here, evn thou I cannot categogorically state if d guy is innocent or nt bt y are dey refusin Dem access 2 d boy's corpse?

Indeed police is ur friend. They are all full time robbers in Uniform. They will deny story and start referall. God help the bereaved family.
Beautifuliber@hotmail.com

Omg!! Police are evil.. These people are not protecting anybody.. Linda please ff up this.. #justice4femi

ashtonkase said...

hmmmmmmmmmm

Dis is serious.....jaiyeolaoluwafemisunday@gmail.com

ashtonkase said...

hmmmmmmm

Hmmn.. it is well o

Beeteewhy said...

The first picture reminds me of one femi in ikotun lagos..the last time i saw him was 2002..i hope he is not the one...and to think he has a younger brother called biodun also..

ashtonkase said...

hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

josh said...

Here we go again...d nigerian police and their brouhaha...stinks

anonymous said...

Where is our country going to? We re not even save wth Police Officers cos of d corruptions n greedyness ahhhh

linda, We must follow thi to conclusive end. RIP brother

wickedness.

grand cover up to kill an innocent young man,they should petition the IGP and also send letters to Amnesty International for assistance.may his soul rest in peace
sameolge2k@yahooo.com

wickedness.

linda, We must follow thi to conclusive end. RIP brother

Lizzy said...

So sad!R.I.P.Olorun ma je ka shi rin o.I pray they get justice in this unjust nation and strength for the mother to go through this phase.

Terrible world, dat is Nigerian Police force for u.

Oh my goodness, which way Nigeria. Police brutality everywhere. God please come to our rescue and give us the leader that will lead Nigeria out of the wood

hmmm, what a world. God pls help us from dis Nigeria police o

Mo'flourish said...

this country has so many twists. Corruption has so much eaten into the deep of this great nation. That is why pple have to be sensible in choosing the next president. Just yesterday, we heard of the police brutality, today again. Funny enough, the brutality and breaching of the constitution stats from the top. For how will u explain why d IG of police has been interfering into political matters these days?
Im tired of all these news jare, MARANATHA!!!! Come oh Lord!!!

justice

This days am scared of the police than arm robbers i swear.....

Scrap Nigerian police now

Chai.. There is God ooo... Celebrityoye@gmail.com

SARS has graduated in the killing of innocent souls it has been there method of operation but would run 4-40 when they see arm rubbers

Na wa oooooo

Ifynwa said...

nawah o! na so life be some are celebrating and some are crying, 9th of Dec. is actually my birthday. NPF has actually killed a lot of innocent youths especially. May God help us and may Femi's soul RIP... Amen.

I hope justice will be served!

Ifynwa said...

nawah o! na so life be some are celebrating and some are crying, 9th of Dec. is actually my birthday. NPF has actually killed a lot of innocent youths especially. May God help us and may Femi's soul RIP... Amen.

IF YOU DNT HAVE ANYONE IN NAIJA, MY BROTHER UR A NOBODY, HUMAN LIVES IS VERY CHEAP HERE. I PRAY THEY GET JUSTICE,

secure.checks@gmail.com

CELEB said...

I will keep sAyiNg, all our police men need psychologicAl evaluatioN. Imagigine senseless killing and the are still accusiNg the corspe!

fashanu Blessing said...

This story is really touching Haba, I suspect a fowl play ooo.

This is a wicked world

Such horrific death lord have mercy

Ok, lemme just say this has happened alot where I live. Two boys I grew up with have been killed unjustly by police based on stories like this....the police would pick up a bunch of boys, take them to nearby bushes and gun them thereafter dump their bodies in rivers. The families don't as much as see their corpses. Is this the same police force that's supposed to protect us?!?

RIP may his family get justice for him

Police Police Police avitltd@gmail.com

Ehya.....damilareadeyemi28@yahoo.com

Those police men should be killed. Hmconcept2000@gmail.com

OMG....only the riches survive..... am sure a time is coming where the poor will have noting to eat again than to fall on the poor.... am sure he was replaced by another femi somewhere....

Ehya...naija sha...damilareadeyemi28@yahoo.com

#crying...what a way to die...Nigerian Police and their unruly attitude.

this clear injustice, this should not be swept under the carpet.wicked idiots, they are the criminals,most roberies are planned by the police assholes

Ehya..naija sha...damilareadeyemi28@yahoo.com

OCD said...

NIGERIA IS A VERY USELESS COUNTRY..........OUR POLICE ARE USELESS, CORRUPT AND FULL OF LIES.......YOUNG NIGERIANS HAVE TO START SPEAKING OUT AND COMING OUT IN THEIR NUMBERS........

NIGERIANS WE ARE ALL SELFISH....EVERYONE OF US....

GOD FORBID IT HAPPEN IN ANYONES FAMILY AGAIN, IF WE DON'T START TO SUPPORT EACH OTHER BY COMING OUT TO SPEAK AND EDUCATE EACH OTHERS ON OUR RIGHTS AND POWER.....

I WONDER WHAT LEGACY WE WILL LEAVE FOR OUR FUTURE GENERATIONS......

GOD HELP US....

police is not your friend, they re our enemy.

naija police. may God have mercy on us.

God of Justice.
Princessvictoria60@yahoo.com

James said...

It's really sad and heart breaking the level of lawlessness in this country. Suspect until proven guilty? Do the Nigerian police even read that part of the law?

Black Anchor 2 said...

As usual the police will do everything possible to cover their ass. May his soul rest in peace. Amen

Na wa oh....may his soul rest in peace.

Sad story! If Femi is truly innocent as the family vouched then this is a wicked act. Rip to him! #onelovefromSnow#

The indiscipline of the Nigerian Police is becoming epic. They need to be trained and taught rules of engagement. how can they just kill a young innocent boy?? Linda you should keep on publicizing this until the hopeless officers involved are brought to justice.

Mikky said...

Very touching story...mark_brown2000101@yahoo.com

stelron said...

haba why now.sad news for his family

GOD ALMIGHTY would reveal d true story nd justoice wld b take its place. Jay-B

It is now becoming a trend, the DPOs are as culpable as the police officers. They never seem to go against their officers. I hope justice is done in this case. novemberman007@yahoo.com

wisemanluke said...

The corruption in our system ehhhnn!!! The next thing you'll hear is that the innocent guy has been buried. All to cover up the brutality that will surely show on his corpse!

Nawaoo for dis country, God where are u?

Hmmmm. Obumnemeudeze@gmail.com

Our nig police shaaa! God help us

ROLLAND EDWIN said...

this is so sick. I am ashame of the Nigerian Police - erolly45@yahoo.com

so sad. oh God give his mother the strength to bear the loss. what is really hapoenin in our today policing system? its either they beat innocent pple or kill. thereisgodooooo. carolsworld6@gmail.com

Ms lin lin said...

If actually the nigerian police is innocent , then they should show the family his body, as simple as that ..

ROLLAND EDWIN said...

this is so sickening to read - erolly45@yahoo.com

Zombie huntress said...

Awwww what a tragedy news,so sad,I so much blive that guy is very innocent. Oh God

miquel akins said...

I ll rather be killed ( God forbid) in diaspora by a policeman and soothe my conscience that am a victim of racism! Than be shot for nothing by my own kinsmen. What a pathetic situation have we in Nigeria?

ROLLAND EDWIN said...

When will the Nigerian police eva change? erolly45@yahoo.com

Linda! dis is a sad story!

THE TRUTH. mothfav@yahoo.com said...

Justice must prevail. This is so Sad. May his soul rest in peace.

ROLLAND said...

Our Police will never change - erolly45@yahoo.com

Chi said...

This Life.. God will fight there battle n I believe justice will be served. chydyveil@yahoo.com

Rolland said...

WHAT IS THIS COUNTRY TURNING TO? erolly45@yahoo.com

Thomas Emmanuel said...

This issue of xtrajudiciary killing by Armed police needs to be address by our govt once n for all

Daralohi said...

So sad,FG should sanction those involved in this mess,so painful to loose such a young lad.

Miss Indomie says so.

patty. said...

GOD please save us, if our youths are been hacked down everyday like dis by senseless police officers,and we keep mum abt dis, then there might b no leaders of tomorrow if at all our politicians will ever retire.

patty. said...

GOD please save us, if our youths are been hacked down everyday like dis by senseless police officers,and we keep mum abt dis, then there might b no leaders of tomorrow if at all our politicians will ever retire.

May God punish each and every one of them that kill Fami nigeria police are evil and evil will keep on following them all

Hmmmm.. nuradeeeen@gmail.com

NORTH DAKOTA SIOBHAN (foot loose and fancy-free) said...

I am fuming with anger right now! How can a such young man be killed in his prime?its a pity I do not have the resourses I would have taken the so-called dpo and sars down for this gruesome murder.if I who is a totall stranger feels this way,I can't imagine wht his family is going through right now.I hereby call on all human rights lawyer and activist to bring to justice the evil murderers of this young man.I demand on behalf of his family that the dpo should produce a detailed recording of the said confession,and his corpse should be released for an autopsy to demand the actual cause of death.the criminals called police should be tried and sentence to act as a detterrent to the force..am calling on anyone who matters in this country to face this squarely and speak up publicly against this,it could be your child tomorrow.this cannot continue! The nigerian police force has no right to torture or kill any human being accused or guilty.its not their place to take lives.I demand an implementation on such laws

dodo said...

What a world we live in

Kmoney said...

What a sad story..

Eeeeewwwwooo! Nigeria police are as wicked has d devil and am sure their is more †o this. They have killed an innocent boy F̶̲̅õ̳͡я̅ nothing and still refuse his family †o Ơ̴̴̴̴͡.̮Ơ͡ is corps wickedness of d highest order. I pray that G̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴͡D̅ will console his mum and RIP †o him

Modupe

police its nt good o! and there is God o! amaefulechukwuka@gmail.com

What a country ...rest in peace femi

This story is touching n bad news

Feyisetan said...

What a big loss to his family,the cops should produce his corpse,something is fishy

Easy-E said...

Police in nigeria nw has becom a cult, God will punish all of em...

ukbliss said...

God I feel so sorry for the family, a very bad way to loose a child,

Them go beg 9ja police Oooo!

ukbliss said...

God I feel so sorry for the family, a very bad way to loose a child,

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 316   Newer› Newest»