Heroic 13yr old Nigerian boy dies after trying to save a drowning girl | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 23 June 2014

Heroic 13yr old Nigerian boy dies after trying to save a drowning girl

13 year old Ricky Osagie (pictured above, his dad right) from Warrenstown died on Saturday June 21st following a brave attempt to try to save a girl who had got into trouble swimming in a man-made pond at Waterville Hall residential complex in Blanchardstown, Dublin on Friday June 20th.

According to Irish Mirror, a friend of Ricky's, a teenage girl, got into the water and was almost drowning when Ricky and another female friend jumped into the pond to try to save her. The other teen girl who jumped in to help also now had difficulties in the pond, and it was up to Ricky to save both girls. Which he did. Paramedics were called and all three teens were taken to the hospital. The two girls survived, but Ricky died the next day.

Ricky Osagie was a teenage soccer sensation whose dream was to represent Ireland, his distraught father, Kelly Osagie told the Sunday Irish Mirror. He said Ricky was a hero because he knew he was risking his life when he went into the water as he couldn’t swim.
"He was trying to help someone else.That’s what happened. My son died a hero. He went in and then that was it. My son is gone but a girl is alive because of him. He always smiled and was happy all the time. He was such a fantastic footballer. We have trophies everywhere in the house. Ricky was going to play for Ireland, that’s what he said he was going to do. He had so many friends. He is a hero, a real hero. I want the world to know what my son did. He was a man.”
He really is a hero! Rest in peace 'lil man. Such a sad story!

197 comments:

May his soul rest in peace

OMG; RIP Hero.

Mrs DAvido

I just cried. There's hope 4 the world. He was 13 and selfless.Good people still do exist. God bless his soul----C21

Rip lil hero @vickycreamy

Rest in peace, little hero.

RIP Ricky. U did a brave thing 4 a kid, it's sad u didn't mk it in d process.

RIP Little Hero!

Chai! Very sad story........am heartbroken right now. Rest in peace ricky...u already have a place in heaven.

How touching! May his soul be celestially adored forever! RIP!

Rest in peace little man

Gob bless you Ricky. I pray yourwonderful soul makes heaven.

Rip

Eugenia Ekeji said...

May your KIND and BEAUTIFUL Soul rest in peace Dear.

Rip Rick, soso sad.

GLOW said...

So sad,rip lil man. U were braver than most adults

CHAI! MAY THE GOOD LORD BLESS HIS SOUL...THIS KIND OF PEOPLE ARE NOT SUPPOSED TO DIE AT ALL!

Dondumex.com

So so Sad. Dude is so brave...RIP Ricky

BOOTYLICIOUS said...

#SOBS its a pity

May ur beautiful soul rest in d bossom of d Lord..*sobbing*

This actually brought tears to my eyes.RIP little brave man.heaven couldn't wait for ur pure soul.

i have been brought to uncontrollable tears by Ricky's dad comment. rip super hero Ricky

rest in peace,ur in deed a hero

May your beautiful experience peace...

Rip Lil Ricky..........yu'll always b remembered!!!

God bless you Ricky

Aphrodite said...

This is sooo sad! May ur Beautiful soul rest in peace little one

Rip boy, u are really a hero

Does Ricky know how to swim before he jump into the river?anyway sha RIP

Pathetic. RIP Ricky

It's a pity. RIP boy! May God give ur family another Ricky.

RIP Ricky. U are a Hero. God loves u.... So sad

OMG!

God bless you Ricky! You were an amazing selfless young man.

A rare gem...

May your soul find eternal rest in Jesus name.

May God console his loved ones, it must be hard!

LeeBerty said...

Too touching. Rip dear.

*Tears*

Ms Kelly said...

It is heart breaking, may your soul R.I.P Boy..

Yeah... Read it on FB... May ur kind soul rest in peace!

Rip Dearie

RIP Ricky..heaven got one more angel

If only this dude really have a nigerian blood in his veins he would have been living by nw and the other two gals would have died..... thank yu lil man and may ur soul R.I.P......

Hero Rikky rest in God's arms!

Am sure he is resting with d creator he is indeed a hero and would be remembered for ever *crying

CHERRY said...

Rip swthrt # hrt touching

NkiruFatimaOla! said...

Eyaah may is soul rest peace IJN. u deserve to be in heaven my dear may the almighty console ur entire family.

My 1st tyme commentin on here.I can't hold back,May God grant his family d heart 2 bear his loss.RIP ricky

my Goodness said...

WoooW Ricky u ar in need a hero, may ur kind soul rest by the right side of God. Amen. RIP dear.

RIP...he was truely an hero

Rip rick, still sad

Shovey said...

God will give his dad the fortitude to bear the loss. RIPP lil Rick

A sad story indeed. What a brave man u wr Ricky. I pray dat God smiles at ur face wen he sees it. rIP hero

Lucy said...

Rest in peace man! God accept ur kind heart.

God would comfort your family sir. He lived a fulfilling life.

soooooo saddddddd ;(.....R.I.P angel

I am lost for words....a lil guy with a big heart and a big dose of bravery.

RIPerfect Peace. #PICCANTO#

The Sting of death is indeed sharp and painful.
Comfort to the bereaved.

You will live forever because your good deed always be remembered.rest in peace cute bini boy.

May ur cute soul rest in peace,amen......

PRETTY GIRL said...

This story really broke me..I so wish there was a happy ending to it...you know, like he narrowly survived it, but God knows best. Rest in God's bossom lil Ricky, you're indeed a hero even in death. God please comfort his family#So Sad

Rest in peace BRAVE HEART

May your kind soul rest in peace with the lord...Amen.

Swerve said...

RIP Rick, such a sad story.

To have such thought at 13 was admirable. I can't swim and don't think I would jump in after a person to save their lives. Lord have mercy on his gentle soul.

Rip Rick. May God bless ur soul n grant ur family d fortitude 2 bear d loss! *Prettyeva*

I have never felt this down and sad before.I can't stop myself from crying reading this topic.WHAT A MAN !
REST IN PEACE MY SWEET ANGEL !
SMILE ON MY LITTLE MAN !
YOU WILL NEVER BE FORGOTTEN MY ANGEL !
YOU DIED A NOBLE MAN MY DEAR !
Let me console myself and your parents that God took you from this wicked sinful world because he knew you are too good to live in such dirty ,ugly world.I love and bless your sweet gentle soul.
I also wish to ask all parents out there to talk with their young angels to avoid such incident from taking place again.
As for my other sweet Angel that jumped to save her friend,I love you sweet baby,get fit soon dear,red also rise her glass for your blind bravery.if the world have more of your likes as adults,oh my,the world will be bed of roses for all man- kind.Is well you .
Diana.

Kam said...

RIP RICK... BLESS YOU. HEAVEN IS SURE

RIP dear one. May God console your parents.

May God bless his soul.

MAY UR SOUL REST IN PERFECT PEACE

RIP Rick' RIP Hero#

Thumbs up Ricky, brave of you...May your heroic soul rest in the bossom of the lord.

««DJ kimono»»

AUSTINE C OKAFOR said...

MAY HIS SOUL REST IN PERFECT PEACE

May ur beautiful soul rest in d bossom of d Lord..*sobbing*

so sad......

I just can't stop crying......may your soul rest in peace my hero!! Jumbo Samuel Benedict.

Rip Rick.

Rest in Peace Boy, U die as a Hero

Am so touched. What a beautiful heart. Wish he'd be immortalised by the local county officials, at least. From a fathers perspective, this boy would hav made the finest of men: brave, selfless, caring...RIP

RIP rick I believe ur soul will make heaven bc u showed love to ur niegbor and died in the process u re a real hero boy. Rest in the lord

May God bless nd accept his soul in heaven nd may his family never lack kindneess nd mercy in their lives, rest in peace bro,

Adebusola said...

Tears

Awwwwww can't stop crying buh we parents should always tell our children wen dea in a situation they can't handle dey shuld call 4 help rather dan risk dea live,he culdnt swim 4 heavens sake.RIP Ricky.

Tears as i read through. wow. so short of words.

Am very sure you will be in heaven.

Had tears in my eyes reading this....sad tale. He was brave! He cldnt swim but only wntd to help. Rest in peace young man. So sad I mst say. RIP

Dis is so touching...RIP

A sad one...

Utonwa said...

What a great lil man he was!
God rest and bless his soul!

HM! So sad...crying.... May your gentle soul RIP. May God grant your parents and ur numerous friends d fortitude to bear this painful lost.

Blessing okoye said...

RIP Rick we all luv u,and wil 4eva miss u

Rest in peace boy

R.I.P Ricky may God be with the family u left behind.

kriZo 01 said...

Great Kid. Rest in peace hommie

RIP Brave Boy: What I don't understand is that why do people who kindly try to help those drowning in a pool always end up to be the one who lose their lives.

This happens a lot here in the UK.

Can some one please be kind to explain.... It is a spiritual thing?

Sad though, but there is a lesson to be learnt. You went in to save and this you have achieved. U r an HERO indeed! RIP Rick

Rest in peace young boy. African parents we read about this drowning issue too often, can we all please please avoid this tragedy by making it priority to learn how to swim as a life skill. Teach our kids and ourselves how to swim, it is now important.

Oh ricky your a Wonderful boy, a hero, God will reward u, and I pray u make heaven, RIP ricky

DOBY DOBY said...

Very sad.. dis news is really touchin. Cute boy..Hes soo kind hearted nd wiv a bright future ahead of him.. may his soul rest in peace. .

okoye chinedu said...

May ur kind n loving soul Rip Ricky.

Rip Ricky may your gentle soul continue to rest in the bossom of the lord.

Vry sad, wat a sad story#crying#

May his beautiful soul rest in the bossom of the Lord.He was a man indeed and a Hero!! Rest in perfect peace and may it be well with your Family. God bless

GodfreyDonp said...

#SaD# R.I.P! Ricky! U died a hero! And u'll certainly b givin a Heros welcome in heaven! Dad Rick, tke heart! Ur son earned it!

may his gently soul rest in peace

God knows best, He must have needed his services in heaven so bad

Ewww! Rip lil man...u truly are a hero

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Rest in peace hero. Am sure ure safe in heaven now. Sleep on.

Rip superboy. The world would miss u!

HOT-STEPER said...

Ur indeed a Hero Ricky boy, may ur gentle soul rest in d bossom of d Lord & may he give ur family d fortitude to bear d loss Amen

so touching may ur kind soul rest in peace Ricky.

#King said...

R.I.P..............................#KingOfKings

Rest in peace rick u die as a hero

Rest In Peace Ricky,I Know ur already in heaven.

I pray GOD comfort d parents

Rip Ricky

Hannah Mailafia said...

Rip dear Ricky am possitive ure restin wit d Lord

RIP Sweet lil man...so painful. May the saints accept him into their folds!!!!!

BEAUTIFUL ONYINYE said...

another angel in heaven. May God bless your soul lil hero

Such a handsome young man too, RIP Ricky.

richbeth60 said...

* tears* may his soul RIP ( Amen)

MAY HIS KIND SOUL REST IN PEACE...

AMEN

Princess said...

*Awwww* #crying# wat a luvly child...may God bless your soul with a peaceful rest....I love u.RIP

Rip Ricky,your kind is rare in this world

He was a hero indeed, rest in peace boy.

A touch story τ̅☺ hear you r a hero boy you make heaven even your dead heaven I̶̲̥̅̊ℓℓ reject you. Your beautfully soul rest IN̶̲̅» Peace at your age you save a life god loves you M̶̲̥̅γ̲̣̣̥ hero. The family take heart

So so sad,it actually brot tears to my eyes.Rest in d Lord's bosom little one.God pls be wth his family and console them.

R.I.P GREAT boy.

Wot a wonderful boy...Rest in peace darling!may God comfort ur friends and entire family.amen

Rip boy a hero indeed

God bless your soul Rick, this made me cry.

What a wonderful child. May he continue to rest in peace. I pray God will give his family the fortitude to bear the loss. They should be veg proud of him

RIP hero.

leecia B said...

God bless ur soul little one,good tins dnt last long

Reading this story actually made me cry, it's obvious his future was bright. such a young handsone beautiful soul. RIP Ricky...I Pray heaven has a place for you.

This just brought tears to my eyes. RIP little one. i know you are with God and may God continue to strengthen your family.

Janelicious said...

This story brought tears to eye. RIP HERO

RIP...descance en paz.

#spanishgurl#

R.I.P ricky. Heaven has gained an angel.

R.I.P hero. Heaven has gained an angel

Oh so sorry. May you find peace in heavenly places

Rest in Peace Ricky. I pray God keeps you by his side in heaven.

Rest in peace dearie, we have a few of your kind

God.. I am in tears right now.. may God bless you Ricky,, you died a hero.. the lord keep ur parents and give them peace

clementina omagu said...

R.I.P rick

Rest in peace dearie, we have a few of your kind

A hero indeed. RIP

Main! It's a pity, I feel their pain,what a life!! Never the less,my condolence

May God Blessed his Soul !! Such a wonderful Boy R I P Boy

Dotted lines said...

Rip...........u. r a hero

Meaning..?? UR HOUSEHOLD is pathetic. .. Fool

Almighty father,please accept his precious soul into heaven in Jesus name,amen

RIP hero, u will always be remembered...

All i can say is, rest in the Lord son, we luv u bur Christ loves u more!

What a sad story! You are one in a million. My dear Lil one, RIP. You have a beautiful soul. Eternal rest grant unto him O lord and let perpetual light shine upon him and may his soul rest in peace, Amen.

and i couldnt help but cry

RIP little but brave in d hrt.

yola said...

He's really a hero.RIP lil man

PD Young Billionaire said...

Awww!So sad!Rest in peace cutie!May God comfort ur dad n mum.

Enkay gold said...

Kai. May ur soul rip Ricky

Ɠогƍеους Ɖίνα said...

RIP lil man...this is so disheartening! God bless your beautiful soul.

Na 2 of una Waka jump inside water but na only u Waka. Go hmmmmm so sad rip boy

kay said...

He didn't have to know how to swim, that's what selflessness is. RIP lil one I knw you are in heaven. The lord console ur loved ones. Adieu.

U ovbiously didnt read d story making asking ur silly question cos if u did ud see were it was said that he didn know how to swim but cos he was selfless&wanted to save d drowing girl he went in&saved her&d oda girl&gave up his life for em!A true HERO!

Rip am really sure u will make heave and u will forever remain in our hrt

vincent ifeanyi said...

Rip lil man.u re a hero indeed

rest in peace lil' hero. God loves u most.

God bless u dear. Lucian

the beauty of heaven is in ur eyes my little guy. may u rest in peace

Oh Ricky, your story was quite touching. A soul was saved here on earth and another gained in Heaven. His short life was blown away just like a candle in the wind. Farewell little angel, you've played your part here on earth even though it was short. We're consoled by the fact that we shall still see your lovely face someday! Take heart, all the heart broken especially the parent and close friends. He was indeed a HERO !!!

winniekoko said...

So sad..what a hero, GOD bless u soul!....RIP little Angel

Good heart.... RIP Ricky.. gid grant u eternal rest... Amen.

Via BlackBerry z10

RIP BRAVE ONE...I BELIEVE YOU ARE IN HEAVEN NOW. GOD NEEDS YOUR KIND OF HEART TO BE HIS ANGEL..

Ve nevr made comment on des blog buh dis lil man story is so touchy.u are indeed a hero dear,Rip.

Rip Ricky.

Stupid Qst frm a mumu boy.silly ass.

Rip Ricky.

Pico said...

Rest in Peace Ricky. God knows best. My sincere condolence to the family. Words cant express my emotions but God would grant you the fortitude to bear your Loss and rest assured if you are a believer in Christ and his Ransome, you would see Ricky again...

O Jesus, this story didn't end well. Poor boy! What a tragedy. Please the parents should do everything to immortalise this little angel. May God reward him with heavenly bliss. Grant his parents the fortitude to bear this painful loss. Motherhen

pjay said...

May his soul rest in peace

Tears in my eyes!..
RIP handsome Hero. .Gud nite Brave Dude...x

POSH MIDWIFE

RIP boy...U really died a hero.. Scrummy.

A real man tries to move mountain or die drying that"s what that little boy did. may his gentle soul rest in peace

Jamelga said...

With tears in my eyes I pray you rest on with God. I feel like I know u as I am feeling so sad u are gone.rest on little angel goodnight

Jamelga said...

Rest on little angel. Your bravery and selflessness cannot be equalled in this era. With a heavy heart and tears in my eyes I pray u rest in peace and dine on the right hand of God. Daddy rick take heart for he is in the best place. Goodnight darling

bisco said...

How sad... :( read in peace dear

NennyD said...

May His Gentle Soul rest in Peace..Amen

REST IN PEACE WITH THE LORD IJMN. AMEN!

rip brave heart and selfless warrior, mankind will go so much further if we had more people like this little boy

facenaija tv said...

The Good die young RIP man!

Na wa for u o. You live in the UK and your English is this bad? No school for your area?
LS

RIP Young Hero.

Chinma said...

I have tears in my Eyes.. Go well Handsome Hero

at such a tender age..he acted so bravery..such a hero such b immutalize..rip lil hero..may ur soul rest in d boosom of the LORD..

Nkem said...

All i kept saying was awwwwww. That was so brave and selfless.

Rip son

R.I.p ma bro
We are proud of you
MAY your gentle soul rest in peace
Amen

Rest in peace Ricky Osagie, you are truly a hero, I don't really no you, but ur death make me to cry tonite, it really painful to hear you are dead trying to save another soul, we love you but God in heaven love you more.