GEJ writes for Washington Post, says finding missing girls is important | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 27 June 2014

GEJ writes for Washington Post, says finding missing girls is important

Pres. Jonathan wrote an article which was published on Washington Post yesterday June 26th, about the missing Chibok girls and why he has remained somewhat quiet about the search for the girls. Find the in-depth article below
I have had to remain quiet about the continuing efforts by Nigeria’s military, police and investigators to find the girls kidnapped in April from the town of Chibok by the terrorist group Boko Haram. I am deeply concerned, however, that my silence as we work to accomplish the task at hand is being misused by partisan critics to suggest inaction or even weakness. Continue...

My silence has been necessary to avoid compromising the details of our investigation. But let me state this unequivocally: My government and our security and intelligence services have spared no resources, have not stopped and will not stop until the girls are returned home and the thugs who took them are brought to justice. On my orders, our forces have aggressively sought these killers in the forests of northern Borno state, where they are based. They are fully committed to defending the integrity of their country.

My heart aches for the missing children and their families. I am a parent myself, and I know how awfully this must hurt. Nothing is more important to me than finding and rescuing our girls.
Since 2010, thousands of people have been killed, injured, abducted or forced by Boko Haram, which seeks to overwhelm the country and impose its ideology on all Nigerians. My government is determined to make that impossible. We will not succumb to the will of terrorists.

I have had to remain quiet about the continuing efforts by Nigeria’s military, police and investigators to find the girls kidnapped in April from the town of Chibok by the terrorist group Boko Haram. I am deeply concerned, however, that my silence as we work to accomplish the task at hand is being misused by partisan critics to suggest inaction or even weakness.

My silence has been necessary to avoid compromising the details of our investigation. But let me state this unequivocally: My government and our security and intelligence services have spared no resources, have not stopped and will not stop until the girls are returned home and the thugs who took them are brought to justice. On my orders, our forces have aggressively sought these killers in the forests of northern Borno state, where they are based. They are fully committed to defending the integrity of their country.

My heart aches for the missing children and their families. I am a parent myself, and I know how awfully this must hurt. Nothing is more important to me than finding and rescuing our girls.

Since 2010, thousands of people have been killed, injured, abducted or forced by Boko Haram, which seeks to overwhelm the country and impose its ideology on all Nigerians. My government is determined to make that impossible. We will not succumb to the will of terrorists.

In September, I will urge the U.N. General Assembly to establish a U.N.-coordinated system for sharing intelligence and, if necessary, special forces and law enforcement to confront terrorism wherever it occurs.

In Nigeria, there are political, religious and ethnic cleavages to overcome if we are to defeat Boko Haram. We need greater understanding and outreach between Muslims and Christians. We also know that, as it seeks to recruit the gullible, Boko Haram exploits the economic disparities that remain a problem in our country. We are addressing these challenges through such steps as bringing stakeholders together and creating a safe schools initiative, a victims’ support fund and a presidential economic recovery program for northeastern Nigeria. We are also committed to ridding our country of corruption and safeguarding human and civil rights and the rule of law.

Something positive can come out of the situation in Nigeria: most important, the return of the Chibok girls, but also new international cooperation to deny havens to terrorists and destroy their organizations wherever they are — whether in the forests of Nigeria, on the streets of New York or sanctuaries in Iraq or Pakistan. Those who value humanity , civilization and the innocence of children can do no less.

81 comments:

Jesus Reigns said...

Gorilla

Hey nigga just admit it that you are not capable, and you have a heart of a woman, u are too weak

Hmmm for the first time I've read something heart rending and thought provoking from the president.
No doubt for us to overcome the evil of boko haram, we've many obstacles posed by ethno religious sentiments to deal with.
I hope the sycophants around the president share these views of his.
By the grace of God we shall overcome this evil.
#BringBackOurGirls

Why September? Why not now? Why not today?

ANYA IKENGA said...

Is the repetition urs Linda or is it typographycal?

All these "them shoot bed him mamma fly"stories are not helping the security situation at hand,JEG take a bold step and arrest this ugly menace.

Yet to be convinced.

Hismajesty said...

I am not in the mood to read the article.. I'm sure by now all the kidnapped girls are already pregnant and some might be dead... Those girl can never remain the same again even if they are eventually found.. To be realistic G.E.J's Government is a failure the Nation has gone from bad to worse. Many things are happening in Nigeria now.. That we Nigerians never thought would be happening in this Nation today... No light, No good roads, No Jobs...these are normal situation in Nigeria for many years..things we as a Nation is already getting used to but now its a different case entirely... We have serious terrorist issues, Citizens get killed everyday, serious insecurity issues. The worst of all there is now bomb everywhere as if we are in a war zone.. My question is how does this so called insurgents get those bombs?.. Is it manufactured in Nigeria or imported?.. Mr President i am sorry to say you are a big failure if you cannot tackle this issue then you are not fit to be on that sit, you are not fit to be the commander in chief... I have alot to say but i will like to rest my case for now

Amen, Mr President, sir! You have our full support and prayers! Godspeed!

I smell 2015 presidential declaration ..........msheeewwww

May God Almighty continue to protect you. Amen!

the hand of Abati.... ptscheeeeew

Hisses he is fighting corruption by pardoning Alams abi ? Dropping the case against Mohammed Abacha and shielding the corrup people in his administration like Madam NNPC

We speak against the president all d tym......none of us all can handle such heat 2 be honest.....If u want him out have u asked ur self who will replace d seat? Definitely d northerners will over power and that mean a boko haram Nigeria. .....u wouldn't be happy one loose faith in you......We can only but hope 4 d best....am not in support of any 1 but I believe pray+patience will achieve it all.....
#onelove#

lip sealed

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

DOBY DOBY said...

U jus said my mind. Gbam.. we av lost enuf souls to bh

Excuse me? Women have weak hearts? So suffering through emotional abuse from men, monthly menstrual cramps, and the worst of all childbirth you use that dirty mouth to say women have weak hearts? Your mother should have swallowed you.

Excuse me, but Mr President needs to shut the fuck up, all this epistle is so long and unnecessary!!! Nigeria is fucked up, how can the Giant of Africa now, be reduced to a war zone, it is unbelievable, and people wonder, why Nigerians in Diaspora wouldn't come back home: can you blame them, even if I pay bills through my nose, at least I enjoy water, constant electricity, good healthcare, good road, good education, good customer service, a good job and more, and I am definitely comfortable!!! Seriously I am so pissed off, anybody can start use the mantra, "It is well", really, look around you, a cesspit of poverty, when would be suffering end, and when would those poor girls be found, when would all the killings and bombings stop, this is really disgusting, sickening and just too much!!! Enough is enough, what kind of future would the next generation look forward to??!! I don't have much else to say, lets face reality and stop deceiving ourselves, Goodluck Jonathan is a failure as a president, I can mention 10 African countries, that are doing better than us, damn!!!Linda post my comment o!!1Whizman

Chidimma said...

All this grammar is inconsequential.

Sui-Generis said...

But why on earth is IBB silent all this while?

Well said. Let's match words with actions. And may God gives us the grace to carry on. Amen.

PURPLE said...

U can form cleverrr???? Most educated. Like u even knw wat ur talking abt

FunG said...

CharlesEndy a.k.a Dr. Pepper said...

This may sound a bit harsh but if or when those girls are reclaimed, what we would have succeeded in doing can't be called a rescue of the abducted Chibok girls but simply an abduction of 'Boko Haram' female 'members'. Reason been that 74days is a time long enough to perfectly brainwash and indoctrinate a person(s) into a hitherto alien ideology. While we continue to pray and the govt. continues to make efforts at rescue and collectively we continue to hope for their 'safe' return, there is the possibility that a number of the adopted girls would have resigned to fate and jettisoned hopes of rescue from their adopters. My point is, its been too long a wait that we can hardly have the same Chibok girls abducted in April but a set of entirely different characters. The government failed them!

helena said...

Story

Why is it that people keep calling president and saying I'll things about him, u don't expect him to go into the forest or to go fight boko haram, he is the president. For crying out loud,and from my point of view and the happenings going on in Nigeria, he is really trying..its his followers that are not being active in the whole issue,and one thing you guy should have in mind is,its his opponents that are responsible for all this,they want it to look aas if he is a failure...one thing is for such nemesis must catch up with them all that are responsible with the things going on in Nigeria

Exactly, all dis na campaign tins

Gbam!

Julian said...

Mr President has spoken.

Visit my blog www.julianmaduako.com

Personally I am solidly behind you Mr President and God also will be with you in this time of difficulties.......all those abusing GEJ are goat....

XDON D DON

International media campaign, planned and executed by paid PR companies in the West, to save GEJ from worldwide ridicule and condemnation, to the applause of his followers while everyone else continues in the misery and neglect Nigeria has been trapped in.

Till when?

Action! Action! Action!

Obiarh,is like u talk anyhow or always want to talk,or u are just talkin just to target d100k linda use to give abi,did d boko harm start in dis goverment.

Hismajesty u are just a big fool,where ur father able to take care of familly b4 he dead not to talk of nigeria

Sir we support n pray for our dear country Nigeria...Ogadimma!!!

PAVOUR said...

God help us.

GOODLUCK JONATHAN HAS OBVIOUSLY LOST IT - ITS BAD ENOUGH THAT HE'S SURROUNDED HIMSELF WITH DAFT MORONS, BUTS ITS NOW CLEAR THAT HE'S THE LEADER OF THE MORONIC PACK! HAS HE SEEN THE COMMENTS ON THE WASHINTON POST IN RESPONSE OF HIS DAFT, CONTRIVED ARTICLE?? AMERICANS ARE NOT EASILY FOOLED BY THEATRICS AND PLOYS. HE HAS LOST CREDIBILIY EVERYWHERE ON THE FACE OF THIS EARTH AND POSTING A USELESS ARTICLE ON THE WASHINGON POST (A MOVE WHICH HAS SEEN THE NEWSPAPER FLAYED FOR EVEN GRANTING THE MORON SPACE TO SAY RUBBISH) WILL NOT HELP COVER THE FACT THAT HE AND HIS GOVERNMENT ARE THE MOST USELESS AND INCOMPETENT NIGERIA HAS EVER HAD. FROM DAFT AND UTTERLY SENSELESS COMMENTS LIKE "BOKO HARAM SCURGE IS WORSE THAN THE CIVIL WAR" TO "BOKO HARAM RESTRICTING MY MOVEMENT" -THIS GOVERNMENT IS UTTERLY INCOMPETENT. ITS BEEN CLEAR FOR A WHILE NOW: AFTERALL, THERE HAS BEEN NO INDEPENDENCE CELEBRATION AT EAGLE'S SQUARE ABUJA FOR YEARS NOW BECAUSE OF THE FEAR OF BOKO HARAM. INCOMPETENCE OF WHICH THE WORLD IS SHOCKED AT! OUR PRESIDENT IS NOW A LAUGHING STOCK IN AFRICA AND BEYOND. SHAME OF A NATION AND FAILED STATE!

Story for tortoise. When you fail your nation, in terms of security, you resign. That is what the western nation and sensible people do....but no, you are too selfish and greedy to do that.

Ehya... Touching. May God help u to ovacome dis horror in Jesus name

sharon said...

I have one word for this president "USELESS". Imagine with all his incompetences he still wants to run for 2015.

Just #bringbackourgirls

On a bigger picture, one question that should also be asked is why Nigeria’s borders cannot be fenced. Even if it’s just the Northeastern borders so as to deny Boko Haram the freedom of movement and access to supplies in that area, why can’t we just do it? Border control is one of the most effective security mitigating measures that has been tested in countries like Israel and America that we should copy. Recognizing possible opposition from selfish individuals, since a state of emergency has been declared in the Northeastern states, is fencing the borders not akin to a tactical security measure that the Commander-in- Chief can task Nigerian Army Engineers to directly implement without any further legislative reviews? That way, we will avoid squabbles and over-inflated billions of dollars contracts by corrupt government officials. In January 2013, Israel finished building the main portion of its borders with Egypt. The 16-foot high fence, which is made of razor wire and reinforced by military surveillance, including motion sensors and cameras, aimed at keeping out both illegal African migrants and terrorists operating in the Sinai. According to the most recent quarterly figures published by the Population, Immigration and Borders Authority, only 36 people have been caught trying to enter the southern border since January as against 10,440 that were caught in 2012(Reuters, Jan 2013). This shows that insurgents and illegal migrants completely avoided the borders knowing they would not be able to penetrate the new barriers. Henry Mgbemena

Fanta said...

Viewers disgression advice

Well said mr president..see u in 2015 weda dem gree or dem gree

dilinger said...

Like your father?? Learn to be constructive and not ignorant. The president has written a great article, best support him or provide a reasonable alternative solution. ..what will calling him gorilla achieve for you? ?

Criticism takes Us nowhere; unity brings us together and help us achieve a common goal, the President is not a commando so don't expect him to do the fighting himself. I'll wanna know, how has these abdupted girls being feeding and who's has been cooking for such a large number?

Beast

Ur fada

Wic step cow

Y don't u tell ur poor fada to contest for d next election so we'll all see if wit his bedbug infested head he can do beta dan jona......cow

Is a gorilla nt better than a Batard child lk u?

###########GOD bless#############################Naija

U don't have to be my dear!!! Cus over here in ABJ piple lyk u don't exist

Story Story

Via BlackBerry z10

Alagbado-ode said...

I'll prefer d president stops speaking publickly on the BH issue. Let him work on d issue more quietly becos all our president knows how to do is make empty threats and reckless boasts and anytym he makes such boasts d boko bpys make more daring raids amd attacks to waste iinnocent lives and prove d emptiness of such boasts from our C-in-C. So let us have less boasts and more serious actions. #Bringbackourgirls#

Don't be gullible. he didn't write it. his spin doctors did i.e. the firm they hired for 195 million Naira. Levick is the high-powered PR firm they hired and the vice president Lanny Davis is a columnist for the Hill magazine which also reported the contract. they have begun the image laundering campaign.

What heat dear?he shouldn't have been in d seat then.we need a competent and capable president

The bible says when foundation is destroyed what can a righteous do.it is only the truth that can make a country overcome.we have all sin in this countrg and we need to go back to God.we need to change our way.Gej is not our problem, we are our own problem.no love between us. Hatred, wickedness everywhere, kidnapping, ritualist, even selfishness. Nobody care about others.govt officials are looting, police customs and others are in one side corrupting, judges even the market women are on the other side, and nobody think we need to change our ways.it is the high time we stop blaming any govt, we should blame ourselves . politicians is even worst and we don't know that right now devil is in control, if not for the mercy of God that we are still enjoying. Stop blaming anybody blame yourself.

i wonder why people who are supposedly educated allow trivial sentiments overshadow their judgment every time the president and his supporters tell us about how evil boko haram is and how much of a difficult situation the president is in. look, the office of the president is not all about making big speeches, attending dinners and flying private jets. the office is meant for people who are very inteligent and know just the right moves to make when things are difficult.

for those of us who put ethnicity b4 every other thing, nobody is against the south-south. come 2015, u guys should make efforts to field a capable person and we'll support him, i dnt think anyone who value his life will want to put his life in care of GEJ

Please stop being ignorant and personal as what is said is vey thorough and objective.....i doubt you ate objective and rational hence your very daft response

OMG spot on! i never actually saw it as releasing new and fresh female and unassuming BH members but that is something to think of and beware of

'Definitely the Northerners will overpower and that will mean a Boko Haram Nigeria' it's kinda like we have a person from South South in power which means a militant Nigeria

the bring back our girls' campaign suits the govt because it deflects attention from the everyday bombings which have a 2day news shelf life. people are killed everyday and govt officials promise to bring back our girls! they dont really care about them

Ibrahim Tijjani Abdullahi said...

U re right we really need prayer

9:28AM, why not stick to the valid points that person raised rather than insult him/her? I'm not surprised, it's shallow people like you who support your inept and extremely corrupt Jonathan. Nigerians do indeed deserve the leaders they get.

@Hismajesty,
You've said it all. This govt is a failure but the joke is on the gullible people who voted him in 2011 & the daft ones who are warming up to do so again next year.

Before nko? Imagine a failed president who ought to go quietly but would not do that. I pity my country.

Thank you 11:38AM. I don't know who forced the fisherman to remain on the "hot" seat. Nonsense!

Thank you. I wonder whether dogo turenchi will cover up his failure.

Don't mind the minus.

It's obvious your own father did not train you. Or he tried to but you chose to not to listen. Goat!

No, he wants to be a life president.

As in...imagine the fools still supporting this failure.

You dry mind them? I wonder if the trash they're writing will change anything on the ground here.

He said he's working to get rid of corruption. Can you just imagine that???

cGOLD said...

Well, Mr President we v heard all u said and i sincerely pray that this whole terrorism comes to an end soonest. Bou d girls...action wasnt taken early enof, 7 days is too much 4 a girl child to be lost smwhere, let alone 76 days. But i am still hopeful dt when dey return, pschological experts would be put in place to rejuvenate dem (i hope it wont b too late). A lot would have happened tho but i pray that God would at least spare their lives. @alldose criticizing d pres,....GOOD JOB!it is easier said than done. We r too judgemntal in ds part of d world! Sme married men cnt evn control their home, let alone a nation...some bosses at work cnt evn control their subordinates, yet we insult d pres, for d unmarried ones n dose who arent bosses, ow ave u bn able to meaningfully managed ur relationship with people around you? how ave u bn able to contribute distinctively to your fellow man? Y'all should tell me one significant thing you have done to create a positive change in your environment, starting wf ur local gov area? Just ONE thing...sm of u cnt evn mk sane decisions admidst d little challenge ure facing, let alone, arrest boko haram. I understnd dt this whole thing may b political(no proof yet) but then wt has ur mussel of insults n curses done to help the situation? Am no fan of d pres, political parties n gov officials, but all i wanto see is very MATURE NIGERIANS with sound n objective ways of reasoning. I want to see CHANGE AGENTS nt CHAOS CATALYSTS. Thanks

is there no money in our country? Fence the border mant cameras stop giving anyhow person appointment the ppl u trust is behind all dis evil doing in this our country, if i may asked if ur daughter is among of dis kidnapped children will take u day to find her. If any of ur family is among dis ppl died in bombo blast wouldnt u done something the poor masess are dying bcus of u some of them are graduates for yrs but no job some hardly eat but u enjoy ur meal everyday pls mr do something the blood shade is too much many families are crying bcus of there died in bombo blast. Many poor widows died in a result of sellind banana and grandnut to look for what their children will eat, in the regume of obasanjo bombo blast is not like this does it means u dont know y u are the president of nigeria? Is it when the ppl u are ruling has finish u will do some thing.

I don tire for this man

pls tlk less n wrk more :| .

Field a person from your greedy and parasitc tribe? You must be high on a hard substance...