Pics: Michael Babatunde breaks arm after blocking shot from Onazi | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 26 June 2014

Pics: Michael Babatunde breaks arm after blocking shot from Onazi

We saw 22 year old Super Eagles midfielder Michael Babatunde taken off in the second half of yesterday's game against Argentina with his arm in a cast but some of us didn't really know it was that serious. It kinda is. A scan after the match showed that he literally broke his arm after being hit by a fierce shot from Ogenyi Onazi. (see pic on the left). He's been ruled out of the 2014 World Cup.

Onazi was aiming to score a goal with the long-range shot but the ball cannoned into Babatunde's arm. The video of the incident is kinda graphic..but you've seen worse, so check on it after the  cut...

53 comments:

Wat??????? I saw it dislocate......

where the f is the video?

Angie Cape said...

Good morning to y'all.

No be small shot... If not that Babatunde deh chop fufu, it would have been much worse.. Assuming that shot hit an Argentine player, he for break into two..N Linda, there's nothing graphic about the video abeg.

*My R1.50c comment*

yaxx said...

eeeee!!!! d shot carry heavy weight oo, sote e break d guy hand!! d last time i saw dis was wen ronaldo's shot breaks a teenage boy's hand outside d pitch,,,,,onazi hmmm, how i wish ur shot got to d keeper

Ikenna Collins said...

wtf,wishing you a quick recovery

OOOOOOOO........ SOWIE MICHEAL....

GDMONI LINDA ND LIBERS.... AV A GRT DAY

Nwa Aba said...

Chaii Ndo, dat shot for break Di Maria leg, dat guy na problem child

That Onazi's shot is Akin to a bomb and would send that argentine goalkeeper to early exit from the match should he attempt to catch it.It was meant to be a goal.I pray Babatunde gets well soon,the new block gave good account of himself in brazil

oh dear, am so so so sorry oo

Yeah that shot was fierce, babatunde would be a big miss for the world cup!!

Oh noo! I love this guy style of play.. Y didn't onazi see Mikel's arm ehn?

Sorry for him.... however I pray u get better soon......

Via BlackBerry z10

CHERRY said...

Rili painful! God will heal u Amen

Too bad and I love this player #bright bravo#

eyaa..hard luck for him though. I pray he recovers on time. I wonder what would have happened if the ball would have reached the goal keeper.!!!

So Onazi actually wanted to kill one of the Argentine. He should continue, let him play all of them against France....

**thåt OAU Bøy**
what is onazi's leg made of....just watch as clubs would start bidding for him now

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Oh nice player he is. Quick recovery man...!!!

**thåt OAU Bøy**
what is onazi's leg made of....just watch as clubs would start bidding for him now

Poor boy...sorry guy.

We wish u quick recovery

#SKALER#

Mumu linda what's graphic here?? Hiss

damilola fambegbe said...

Awww sorry get well soon

joy Egbunu said...

OMG!!

That was quite unfortunate. I wish that shot had hit the Argentines. Babatunde please get well soon. I wish u the best.

pele...

C.E.O

Why nah? Injury pls leave our players alone nah

Wwww sorry

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!! how can a football break ones hand like that??? the other half of his hand was literlly dangling! Sorry babs, i wish you a speedy recovery.

Ouch!!! dat mite cost us cuz his been playing well buh @ list we ve got replacements wish him a speed recovery.

give urselves brain said...

chineke...why d shot no tear d net instead of breaking d hands of dat fantastic player?y'all may not have noticed it but dat Babatunde guy is got alota potentials...he's a rising star..quick recovery son..God be with you...

SORRY MY LOVE

i knew it.....menh get well soon....you a great player....#corleone

Eiyaaaaaah!!!

Gosh! see the way his hand vibrated after the shot. pele oh my dear. U don try.

D'Ace™ said...

d shot had a mission...(to settle insyd d net). bt wen it couldnt, it switch 2 plan B...it fractured babatunde'z arm. anyways, mission stil accomplishd

Babatunde we be miss in d world cup.because u are better than victor Moses.

David (dave_gino) said...

Ouch. Can imagine what the pain is like. Fracture is a NO NO. The pin is a hell. Just got out of the same situation after several months of the incident.

Ogenyi Onazi and his rubbish shots, always off target... does he even score in training with that?

Cant imagine that we have lost that guy just bkoz of rubbish shots of Ogenyi Onazi.

Get well soon.

If not for that his arm we would have counted a goal by nw....

So sorry for him. Its painful but no big deal because Onazi will take him to his father in the Lord(Snr Prophet T B Joshua) and god will heal the hand immediately.

PRETTY GIRL said...

Ohh! This is really sad...couldn't bring myself to watching the video though..I pray for his healing and a successful surgery because I know he' l sure be needing a corrective surgery Soon.I watched the match but didn't knw it was so bad. God will see him through, Amen

I can feel the pain. It has happened to me and is quite painful.
Hopefully he gets better soon

Healing hands of God upon him. wishing him quick recovery. #PICCANTO#

In everything we give thanks. thank god say e no hit him brokos...

One love tunde, we go win the cup for you.

Sorry Babatunde.

CharlesEndy a.k.a Dr. Pepper said...

I wish that shot got to its intended destination. It was meant to be a killer one. A 2014 version of the type Oliseh shot against Spain 16years back. One of the many things am liking about Onazi. Kpele Babatunde. GWS. Onazi we need more of such but make sure they hit the net not your teammies.

Assin...the Mike dude ain't playing for sh*t