Ekiti state election: APC says they are going to court | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Friday 27 June 2014

Ekiti state election: APC says they are going to court

The APC has released a statement saying they are going to court to challenge the process of the recently concluded governorship election in Ekiti State, for what it termed the militarization of Ekiti during the campaign and election period. APC says the election was neither free nor fair. (Kayode Fayemi and Ayo Fayose pictured above after the election)

Rising from its National Working Committee meeting, the APC in a statement signed by its National Publicity Secretary, Lai Mohammed, said some of their members were harassed by military men before and during the election and this in no small measure affected the performance of their Party during the elections. Find the statement in part after the cut...

"In order to prevent a recurrence of what happened in Ekiti, especially the militarization of the process, the harassment and intimidation of citizens, especially those in opposition, my party has decided to challenge in court some of these constitutional breaches and will also encourage our leaders and supporters, who were arrested, harassed and intimidated to seek the enforcement of their fundamental rights that were recklessly abridged by the security agencies.”
"We believe that the events leading to the D-Day in Ekiti negate the principles of a free, fair and credible election. From the militarization of the election to the police attack on our supporters, arrest and detention of our leaders across the state and the use of huge funds to induce voters, the federal authorities skewed everything in favour of the PDP.  With thousands of armed troops, police, state security and civil defence personnel deployed to Ekiti, the state was simply under a total lockdown"

63 comments:

Its only in this country that people especially our leaders don't accep two things, 1) defeat 2) correction and constructive criticism

Lol. I was expecting it

CHERRY said...

Their business

let APC go nd seat down nd look job to do

Chinedu said...

Na them sabi

I support this! There was so much breach of human rights in the lead up to the ekiti elections. Such as the military stopping Amaechi from getting into ekiti and many others! And we all know who is in charge of the military! A clue is that his name starts with G and his wife speaks horrible english.

Cry me river

Ayokunle said...

APC lacks integrity. They are losing their members everyday because of their hypocrisy. I registered as their member before in Lagos in their last nationwide registration scheme. But now, I have hated them after I discover their mission. WHETHER IT IS A MISTAKE ON THE PART OF EKITI OR NOT; ALL I CAN SAY IS THAT, EKITI VOTED MASSIVELY FOR FAYOSE IN THE LAST ELECTION. MOST OF THE APC LEADERS LOST THEIR POLLING BOOTS INCLUDING FORMER GOV SEGUN ONI AND FORMER GOV ADEBAYO WHO ARE APC

Am not surprise.

If they had won it wil have been free and fair
Shameless poeple

I tot they agreed that it was free and fair... Naija sha, omo person don tire for all this shenanigans jawe

That's their cup of coffee
The people of Ekiti choose raw rice over cooked one. That was what decided the election.

Cry me river

SouthEastern said...

Not surprised, It is their way. After 2011 elections Buhari said he wont be seeking a court redress but his party said otherwise. Same thing with Fayemi who had conceded defeat and already congratulated Fayose. Let them go to court. At least lawyers will be busy and get
paid for Jobs done win or lose

#God answers all prayers#
Happy moments - Praise God, Difficult moments-Seek God,
Quiet moments -Worship God, Painful moments-Trust God,
Every moment - Thank God.

Taking de case to court while it lingers 4 so many years. Sorry sir. Take heart. ***CATCH ME IF U CAN***

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Why am I not surprised? Nothing good comes from APC. I was expecting this before now. It's rather coming too late. Bunch of losers 'n

Abeg all of Una go sleep biko...

yaxx said...

abeg joor,,,APC it have do na,,, leadership is not forever, PDA don win, we no won know weda da ojoro or not, any way na way,,,,,

Osuagwu Friday Niles said...

Foolish fin to do.

LMAO!
dis pple are so pained...
i tot their candidate bowed out honorably,
y d court ish again lol
we ve seen all your aggression with d gore happenings in the country dis few days.
God ll judge all of u.

APC should forget about the Ekiti election story, it has come and gone. APC should concentrate on Osun state election now. ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥♡thanks ⌣̊┈̥-̶̯͡»̶̥ 

Monkeys! Fayose won crysta clear. Apc members are just soar losers. Accept defeat and go home.

An election polling area is being secured as if it were a war front, meanwhile as d days become new there's one new bombing, kidnapping or the other. Constitutional breaches, such as restricting a human let alone, a serving governor such fundamental and diplomatic right as movement around his geopolitical corridors should be challenged. What a country?

APC should not cry more than the berieved . I don't like their double standing in politics. Edo state was also militarized but APC won so why cry faul now dat same

Tired Of Fake Hairs??? Grab 24 inches Indian or Brazilian 100% Human Hair for just 19k and 16 inches for 15k. Promo ends soon. Other types also available. Ping now 2B6C82C7

But your candidate already conceeded defeat.
Why don't you all just chill???? Must it be a win or die affair???

Everyone take note o, this is an insight of hw 2015 election will look like no doubt... It will not be free and fair i tell yu.....

Dis guy is implying dat dere was too much security and it affected the election, wat a dump skul... Stop been a soar loser nd move on, except u had oda plans dat d presence of those security personnel sppoilt ur plans

Oga lai take several sits jare

i have been waiting to hear this..the court is there to prove the wining otherwise..

check my blog TOO BAD: Fally Ipupa Posts Nude Pictures Of His Ex Girlfriend Online.

Thats one yhing I dislike so much abt APC, dey ar so immature. They neva accept defeats. They go to court after evry elections carrying along som useless excuses. I was at ekiti durin d election nd I saw how peacefully things went

damu said...

I was in Ekiti during the election. That election was nothing but free and fair. APC also wants to waste their money...good for them.

Sore loosers are pained,APC a failed party,can never win anywhere, this is what happens when yorubas and hausas merge to form a party

I knew it!!! Knew that election went too smoothly for Nigeria, especially with the bad blood between APC and PDP! God forbid, what's with all the congratulatory messages the APC candidate sent the winner!

blah blah blah, apc go and rest...u want to make trouble out of nothing...Dan Boiz Segun

DOBY DOBY said...

Dis Apc ppl dnt wan to accept defeat. .

Dee Tee said...

... Hmmm. Am not suprise..

This liar muhammad is just too troublesome for my liking. I don't understand why APC won't let the sleeping dog lie. They want power at all costs. Fayemi is too decent to belong there . They should accept defeat, let us watch Fayose and his ekiti rice eaters and see what will become of them come October. Motherhen

the party is just showing it's true character of being bad losers.I was surprised when they conceded last Sunday, now we know better.
the only want to jeopardize how nigerians feel about them.So sorry for Fayemi .

ANYA IKENGA said...

A leopard cannot shed it's skin. Janjaweed must always be Janjaweed. The 486 u guys sent to Amaechi for mobilisation to Ekiti could not reach their destination. Like the 180 Rochas harboured in Owerri for Anambra Election. PDP is always ahead of you. Your rigging machinery has been punctured. Watch out for Osun too.

dhobiz said...

Nmtchew noise makers,any election APC no win is not free and fair....rubbish

APC!!! Una nodey tire to go court?? Lolz# dey neva giv up even wen dey lose. This is serious"""

Don't you think it would be best if Amaechi and the other Govs stayed back in their respective state. They had enough time to Campaign with the incumbent Gov instead of coming to cause trouble a day before

Wat's amaechi looking 4 in ekiti, if its 2 show support he can do it on the fone or on a news paper, his presence wuld only coz commotion, so kudos 2 d military 4 stoping him

WAS EXPECTING DISTO HAPPEN..... COS ALMOST EVERY ELECTION ENDS IN COURT NOW...

Dr Jnr said...

Linda ikeji its a shame you dont have the best theme for your stories before posting them. GOV FAYEMI HAD STATED CLEARLY THAT HE IS NOT GOING TO COURT. THE APC ARE GOING TO COURT TO CHALLENGE THE BREACHES NOT THE OUYCOME OF RESULT. PLS STOP RIDICULING A PERFECT GENTLEMAN GOV FAYEMI PLS

You don't. Know these people .
there is know man of integrity among them.they are all tugs and liars.check their profiles they are all the same.
the cout they are going is a way of collecting the remaining Ekiti money from Fayemi.
Apc will also loose in Osun .nobody will vote for Aregnesola .
they will also loose in Lagos Fasola has finished them..except they produce xtian candidate
lastly instead. Of voting for Jonan or Buhari or any Hauda boko harram .we will vote for okotie after all he has brain not like this kind of good luck you can not pray for you enemies

I support the move, they should go to court and fight human right. If the election is free and fair but the way they treated the Leadership of APC was bad. PDP claim victory as a result of 5kg rice I pity Ekiti people and am sure that the rice must have finish by now. I thought Pounded Yam is the food of Ekiti people when are they turn to bird that eat rice, mo bawo bo o ma to won tii.

Hahahahaha…APC the sour losers!!! APC is sooooooo USELESS!!! Shame on you APC!…Hahahahaha…This is laughable…hahahahaha…Dear government i will plead with you to use the same system you used in Ekiti in all the states, it worked. APC couldn't rig…Hahahahaha..

There is no way APC will not collapse , a party where only one man calls the shots. lol. Unlike PDP, APC belongs to Tinubu. I really pity their members, Tinubu treat's matured men like babies they have no say, what a shame!

abujakenneth said...

Provided they follow the rule of law and not agboro language of rig and roast

APC, ur time is up.

You're both ignorant! If he wants to go to ekiti who's business is it? So he is not free to move around his own country agai? People like you guys are the problems with nigeria.

Hmmmmmn dramatically

I honestly no longer understand APC. Fayemi has accepted defeat. Yet APC wants to go to court to challenge some breaches. These include the non allowance of some governors entry into the state and the massive use of soldiers to monitor the election. If soldiers were not sent, APC would have complained of lack of security.The people of Ekiti have spoken. APC should get her act right. Many Nigerians now think the party is only about propaganda. This may become their albatross.

Shame on APC, shame on Bola Tinubu d GOD all apc members worship,shame on their charms & alfa work, e no work dis time around uuuuuu!!! What a sweet defeat, u neva see anything pple are tired of using Fashola as d brand. Why are crying, did army gather apc followers to 1 place no be everybody dey where army dey, we don understand presence of army blockd Ur Osun state boys u av paid to rig, sorry

They are angry because the army didn't allow the tinubu's tout to operate

And I ear APC wnts 2 go 2 court,evn after Fayemi accepts defeat,ok nw,APC y una dey tke paracetamol4fayemi headache,well I trust my broda (fayose)he go heal una

Exactly my thought,another N100M for Banire and Tinubu's son who got called to the bar recently

Mumu like u, let's see wat ur almighty PDP will offer cum 2015. U go hear am.

I can see all of u are just dum u don't no wat is happening in ekiti. Am from ekiti and still in ekiti presently fayemi accepted defeat but fayose is a total cheat and a bastard he no dat he couldn't rigg d in d election so dey use fake ballot paper and as a learned person won't u go to court