Ekiti state election: Why I won - Ayo Fayose explains | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 23 June 2014

Ekiti state election: Why I won - Ayo Fayose explains

Some of you think he won because he gave out bags of rice...:-). No o! It was a free and fair election and even the incumbent governor Kayode Fayemi called Fayose to concede defeat and congratulate him. In a sit down with some journalists yesterday in Ekiti, the Ekiti state governor-elect tells how he managed to defeat a sitting governor
"It is the Lord’s doing. I want to recall that my removal in 2006 remains a mystery to the common man on the streets but they never left me for a day, they believed in me. I want to equally let you know that I was left with the people without money, eight years in the wilderness. My charge to every politician is to target the poor people. They will not come and ask you for contracts, all they want is to have their lives improved, to which they believe I have an answer.
I do things a governor is expected to do. For me, I am a grassroots man and because of the way I operate with them, they call me Senior Advocate of the Masses. So, I want to continue that trend, I want to identify with them continuously. I will not leave them. So, the strategy is, when you are voted into power, don’t forget that 4 years is a short time. 
Ayo Fayose, 53, was governor of Ekiti from 29 May 2003 to 16 October 2006. He was removed from office by the Obasanjo administration. He fled the country but returned after Obasanjo left power.

68 comments:

Too much talking just get in and thank ur #God #god whichever.

Congratulobia to him once again on his victory

princess said...

Yes ur Excellency! We knew u were going to win and we happy u did.. d Ekiti pple missed ur humanitarian service and clamoured for it... Kudos to all those who supported Us. I urge d Ekiti pple to sit and enjoy a splendid 4yrs ahead. Up Fayose

Yeah right! You forgot to mention your "needful" gerrymandering tricks too.

Congrats,PDP all the way

###########GOD bless######################Naija

DOBY DOBY said...

Ya he was removed cos he has prbs wiv obj den nd obj accusd him falsely cos dey wer nt in good terms den he replaced him wiv fayemi.. my fwenz frm ekiti lov him.. d election was free nd fair it wasnt a matter of pdp nd apc cos evn if fayose was in an unpopular party, he wil stil win. . Fayemi is only good at speakin loads of grammer.. wat he said its true..

CHERRY said...

Good for him,hope he will continue to help the poor? Bcos na so una d talk after una don enter office everytin go change.

AYO BIG MAN! I JUST LOVE THIS VICTORY!

OBJ WILL BE MAD WHEREVER HE IS...LOL!

Dondumex.com

i don't believe he won the election fair and square, i was in ado when he was still governor never heard any good comment about the guy

Sugar said...

Free and fair election influenced by the bags of rice...its not only Lords doing.

Actions speaks louder than words though.

Killing the masses with bags of rice....wonder why no change ever comes!!!

The difference btw fayemi grammar man and fayose grassroot man don show and the true winners are Ekiti pple & Democracy.

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Sentiments aside. Fayose is loved by Ekiti state people. I personally met him when I was still active in NANS years back and the hospitality and humility in him made me like the man personally. So it's no rigging.!!

Ok ohhh, i hope he performs well

What will be, will be. It only takes tym.

Mrs DAvido

Dat's kool

give urselves brain said...

he has point..i totally agree...senior advocate of d masses dou?hilarious

Strategy? I don't know if u're using the poor or helping them. Whatever u do man let it be because it is right not just a strategy. Congrats and please keep ur promise ----C21

SouthEastern said...

You have said it all Sir Ayo and in lucky dubes voice; Be good to people on your way up the ladder cause you will need them on your way down - That's the way it is.

#God answers all prayers#
Happy moments - Praise God, Difficult moments-Seek God,
Quiet moments -Worship God, Painful moments-Trust God,
Every moment - Thank God.

Am Sø̲ hapi fø̲я U̅ cox we̅ love U̅ like dt ɑ̤̈̊ηd̅ fø̲я †̥ђє life U̅ mad easy fø̲я us den, i bliv U̅ wil dΦ beta. Welcom bak hom Gov. Ayo Fayose @creamyvicky

Its more mystery how a state that claims of having the highest number of literates in the country, could put rice ahead of idealism.

You got in because you knew how to buy people's birthright. Fayose rice aka iresi politricks

Etsako Pearl said...

He was removed by obj administration and fled d Country, why? B'cuz he stole too much.Haba! Make al dis polithievecians Take several back seats wit der Lies.....wel,if d pple of ekiti decides he is d man 4 dem....congrat 2 dem!

Geraldopino90 said...

He deserves the win jare

Okay oooo... Congrats

Linda UR SO FUNNY! WHY D OTHER PIC NA?

Congrats once again Mr Peter Ayodele Fayose. I am a witness to some of ur good works. May God continually giv u d strenght

AND YOU SAID RICE DID NOT PLAY A PART IN THIS ELECTION. WHEN IS HE GOING TO DISTRIBUTE THE NEXT BATCH? I PRAY HE HAS LEARNT THE LESSON OF A 2ND CHANCE.

So why did he fled the country why OBJ was still in power n WHY did he return when he was no longer in power?

Well if it is not the rice. Congratulations to him, hoping 4 more in 2015

Nigerian will sell their soul for half pieces of silver! And if this guy was so sure of himself, why did he hand out those miserable looking bags of rice? Why didn't he stay confident in the ability of his words and hope that the people believe him? This is why Nigeria will never settle and people will continue to cry because every man wants something. That bag of rice that he handed out was surely to buy votes, and I hope the people who collected those bags and sold their votes remember what they did when they start crying when things get bad for them as a result of their votes...rubbishness!

Not interested

Whether free and fair o or fair and white,what we want and need is CHANGE !
congratulations to you sir,is not easy.
I wonder what the next sharing will be, maybe fertilizer and #1000.
Your vote is your power according to what they told us,please don't sell it to the highest bidder because it must surly affect you sooner or later and you have no right to bash them then,I said this because I know more are still on their way with similar sharing.I know there is love in sharing but this his sharing get K-LEG O,why he no share till election time come reach ? So if I come hear "huh" later from the rice receivers later on about his office,hmm,na fire go running stomach una go feel.
Diana.

Don't really know anything about this two. But it looks like His people loves Him. Hope he dose well and not disappoint his people that believed him,its goes to show that good deed pays.

Wateva.....let dem do smtin worth while

People can like to chop their future away...na dem sabi,their business, their wahala

CONCRATSSSASS TO HIM

Free and fair with bags of rice?

Great PDP!!! Ayo if i were you i will serve the people of Ekiti with all my body..I guess Fayemi and his wife lost because they were too busy speaking Queens english..lol

Fayemi was doing the right thing @ d wrong tym. He is building new governors office for #25b while sch teachers r cryin 4 dia salaries, planting gardens with #2b while u av neglected 5 farmers n market women, its not done!!!

Chop Chop said...

Ok, congratulations. Please remember poor man's basic needs, food, shelter and health-care.

Muhfucka, yu shud come and see what we're experiencing yu so called 'prince'

I Need Nigeria to sign into constitution... Any Aspirant that gives Material Item or Money to the masses as part of campaign strategy should be automatically disqualified. Let the vote be casted without anything attachment.
Infact they should be arrested that's is a form of bribery. Tush 4rm Toronto

I'm not from Ekiti state and I definitely don't claim to know anything about the politics of the area but I do remember Ayo Fayose from what I read in the News papers a decade ago when he was Governor. I remember that Fayose purportedly used state resources to wage a relentless and violent war on his political enemies,some of these attacks he was alleged to have personally led and resulted in the deaths of several people.I also remember that Fayose sneaked out of the government house when he was about to be removed as governor to avoid being arrested by EFCC for massive looting of Ekiti state treasury. There's also this funny story about how over a Billion Naira that was earmarked for Poultry development in Ekiti state varnished without a trace. All I want to say is that if any of these allegations are true,then the Ekiti people have elected the wrong man no matter how popular he is. The seat of the Governor in any state is sacrosanct and nobody can lay claim to it with diluted integrity.I really hope the people of Ekiti made the right choice because if not,they will later vomit that rice they took 10 times over

Cynic*Igbo*Guy

AAA Events & Design said...

congrats.

www.aaaeventsanddesign.blogspot.com

Hmnnnn, I weep for the people of EKITI state! Imagine this liar just cos he's conned them into believing that he's a grassroots person claiming that he was chased out and he's Peniless like the masses! Mr Ayo Fayose, how many POOR people own houses in Banana Island and Magodo GRA? How and when did u acquire them? Your first 3 yrs was characterised by impunity and embezzlement long with ur brother (Issac Fayose) and your other cronies ! Am just sooo sorry for us as Nigerians cos we deserve the kind of leaders we are getting... Congratulations to Mr Fayose for yahooing the pple of EKITI state to vote him in (cos I actually agree that he won) and congrats to all Ekitians, So u all should enjoy your 5 Dericas of Rice for the next 4 yrs, for u have indeed gotten your dividend of Democracy upfront *drops Mic*

Da Councelor

Bbg Ez2 said...

Now prove ur worth

Ekiti Elections; Lessons Learnt by Magnus Amudi
ArticlesJun 23, 2014

Congratulations All Progressive Congress (APC)

The recent election conducted at Ekiti State is full of lessons for Nigerians and I will assert categorically, that it is a ray of light, a tip of the good things that will follow if the lessons inherent in the just concluded election are well documented and followed in other elections.
First and foremost, I would be precise so that this essay would be readable and appealing to everyone. The general view seem to indicate that the Independent National Electoral Commission fared very well in the conduct of the election, up till now, i am yet to read any negative article or essay criticizing the conduct of the just concluded elections in Ekiti State. The Commission has built on its performance in Anambra State few months ago and we, Nigerian expect that they would soar higher come the general elections in 2015. I give credit to all those who gave in their best, and brought truth to power and upheld the words of the National Pledge.

Secondly, I am most happy about the participation of the good people of Ekiti State, their turn out in numbers, their faith in the process and their bravery. It was reported and as spoken by the present Governor of Ekiti State, that despite the huge presence of military and security forces in the state, the people defiled fear and stormed out in numbers to participate in the elections. This has thus made me to reflex on the famous quote, “the price we pay for not participating in politics is to be governed by our inferiors”, there is no gain stressing that the people of Ekiti State seem to have understood this philosophy and have acted to avert such scenerio.

Finally and most importantly, I congratulate the present Governor of the State, All Progressives Congress (APC), not Ayo Fayose, who won the election, not PDP whose party became triumphant, it is easy for a successful man to forgive, to be happy and to move on, but very tough, hard, and in fact sometimes impossible for the ‘loser’, the ‘defeated’ to accept defeat and move on. But the incumbent Governor of Ekiti State, the APC have all but embraced peace, accepted defeat and extended an olive branch to the Governor-Elect. This is democracy, this is the beauty of freedom, the future of Nigeria. This is hope for Nigeria. If we as a people can abandon political bitterness, sectarian politics, partisan politics, ethnic affiliation and form a joint force, a union to move our various places of employment, locality, neighborhood, LGA, and State forward, there is no need forecasting the future, Nigeria would be a giant scrambling to its feet.

In this Election, Mr. Fayemi and the APC are the true winners. When it mattered most, they grew up, lived up to the billing and showed their maturity and sense of patriotism. I only pray that all political affiliation in this country, take a cue from their actions and learn the fact that, we are partners in the development of this nation. That we are all co-travelers on this ship called Nigeria, we either sail or wreck together.

May we find the peace, love, togetherness and mutual respect our dear country so much need.

Thank You.

bravo!!!. Yes it is good they say. Fayose an impished Governor, A murderer of Daramola, yet Ekiti people decided last Saturday to cast and sold their birth right to. It is so nice that it happen this way cos by the time they are crying then people like us will remind them that Fayose had gave then their four years bag of rice and the #2000 sharing are the polling stand will stand as their children school fees and development fee. As for the president by now it should be clear to the whole Nigerian that Jonathan have no plan for this country, look at the number of Police, army and weapon that was deployed to Ekiti because of Election, Why can't he do that in case of our girls in the den of BOKO HARAM.

Congrats to him

Kindly visit www.mapleservices.com.ng today #recruitments #opportunities

Too bad d sold their birthright nd dat of their children for a bag of rice.

My dear bele first ooo

Abeg na the rice influence people

It was false allegation against him @ ano 3 35 by Obasanjo J̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊s̶̲̥̅̊t̲̥̅̊ 2 bring Olurin as Gov becuase D̶̲̥̅̊e̶̲̥̅̊y̶̲̥̅̊ have A̶̲̥̅̊ misunderstaanding Ekiti people A̶̲̥̅̊rε̲̣̣̣̥ not so daft 2 have elect him again if all ђã†̥ υ̲̣̥ said were true Up Fayose

Issue said...

Hahaha, your reply though laughable shows what a block head you are... My brother that rice he gave is the only thing most of those called masses will ever enjoy.... You don't eat idealism, in grassroot politics you eat rice and have the strength to vote.

Linda... How far? My comment wey u dey chop no go belle ful you o

I met him when I was serving as a corps member. Imagine without having anything to do with us. He gave NACC 200k just to surport us. As a corp. Member , we somtimes go arond his house just to watch the fine gov office he was building then. He made me love Ekiti people.ekitikete 2006

Congrats peter ayo fayose d lord will help ur work in jesus name

The Rice is the last thing the ekiti people will enjoy from this man...They sold their souls for RICE Chai..Nigerians when are we going to change..I don't want to hear any complaint from Ekiti people hence forth ..Shaaaame..Gullible Nigerians will continue to be bamboozled by clever politicians

Congrats to him

Eyeshadow said...

God bless u MZ princess he's just overhyped he never did anything in Ado#mitchew#

Hello, there is nothing to congratulate the terrorist APC about - the Association of Political Criminals that have been creating havocs here and there.

If u like continue to use Boko to wipe out your entire generation and expect other ppl to cease living. Nonsense!

Hello, there is nothing to congratulate the terrorist APC about - the Association of Political Criminals that have been creating havocs here and there.

Remove yourself from this page... U obviously av no idea wot's going on in the state