Egypt sentences 3 Al-Jazeera journalists to 7 years imprisonment | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 23 June 2014

Egypt sentences 3 Al-Jazeera journalists to 7 years imprisonment

Three Al-Jazeera journalists, Peter Greste (correspondent, Australian), bureau chief Mohamed Fahmy (Canadian/Egyptian) have been sentenced to 7 years in prison each over allegations of false reporting and association with the now outlawed Muslim Brotherhood. While a 3rd journalist, Baher Mohamed (producer) was given 10 years for same charges and also for being in possession of ammunition.
The three journalists were arrested in December 2013 after security forces raided their work suite office in Cairo on charges of 'spreading false news' and holding meetings with Muslim Brotherhood.
The journalists had reported on how Egyptian security agencies killed hundreds of peaceful protesters in sit-ins in Cairo. This was when Egyptians took to the streets to protest the coup by the army that removed former Egyptian president, Mohammed Morsi, a member of the Muslim Brotherhood from power in July 2013 and demanding for his reinstatement. Continue...
The arrest of the three journalist last year raised international concerns with powerful world leaders including the UN Secretary General, Ban kin Moon, calling for their release by the Egyptian govt. But instead of releasing them, they've been found guilty and sentenced.
Six other Al-Jazeera journalists - Alaa Bayoumi, Anas Abdel-Wahab Khalawi Hasan, Khaleel Aly Khaleel Bahnasy, Mohamed Fawzi, Dominic Kane, and Sue Turton were tried in absentia and handed 10 years in prison verdicts.

32 comments:

Egypt will never known and see peace with the way they are going

Journo's watch you back while treading on fanaticism ridden terrain like that of a country as Egypt.

#King said...

nawa oo..dis pple aint smiling........................................#KingOfKings

Oskirin said...

ds egyptian autority no dey serious @ all.i trust aljazeera 2 challenge d kankagaroo court decision.is it only dem (aljazeera staff) dt shows hw d police were brutal against protesters last yr? dey shd luk 4 anoda xcuse.

Waaaat! That was so unfair. After all their families have gone through during their trial. I pray this action attracts serious international sanctions on Egypt.

Thats why i hate this journalist work bcos the job is all about yu looking for trouble and never running for ur life.... I hope they are released though...

Journalist should be protected at all levels, journalist shouldn't be arrested for carrying a report or reporting any form of news

That is serous.

DOBY DOBY said...

Dats too much. . Al dix Muslim countries ar very heartless. . 7yrs jus bcos of wat he said nt lyk he robbd or killd sm1.. Ipray d UN community wil intervene on deir behalf. . I love watching al jazera cos cnn is related to false news

That's unfortunate, guess the press is not as free as we thought!

Ozed said...

This is uncalled for.Egypt never listened to the voice of international community.This is a big blow and setback to freedom of speech and much advocated democracy.These jail terms are too long and unnecessary(7 & 10 yrs)

For the sake of Truth----C21

Fils said...

Everyone trying to make name for themselves. Now it has landed them in Jail.
If you did the crime, you do the time.

yaxx said...

atleast, dat prison is a better home compare to borno, adamawa n yobe state, stay kul n enjoy without any scare of bomblast

Steveosky 4 Real. said...

Things we read on the news everyday. Nothing can be shocking again ..!!

This is just sad...

It is well!!!!

Kindly visit www.mapleservices.com.ng today #recruitment #opportunities

False report, Linda beware u don hearam

Akinola said...

NA WA O! from journalism to 7, 10 years imprisonment

Hmmm, nawa oo

Sahara reporters should take note cos you guys are next..including El-Rufai boko haram Internet warrior..

leecia B said...

No be small sumtin

What happened 2 freedom of the press??? I hope egypt is sanctioned 4 dis.

Too bad.

Don't dey think dis is anoda reason for war? Sentencing ppl based on relationships wit anoda powerful and rada dangerous arm of d country? Well, I think dey knw wat suits dem

Too bad! What will become of their family who rely on them as source of living.

www.justhealthng.blogspot.com

Where is freedom of speech....

XDON D DON

HOT S*X TIPS said...

Not fair. The guys were doing their work.

good for them
they do the wrong thing, there comes the consequences

BORN TO SHINE!!!!

Dis is unfair

Dis aint good

Firm gives market alternative video wows things still through highly potent brands similar to miraculous: THE getting, DUNGEONS mythical beasts, As KAIJUDO. Magicians also is a founder most typically associated with perfect grouping hype along together using multiple new york city scenarios great manufacturers. And also other countries around the world. [url=http://www.meretgolfloisirs.fr]Longchamp Pas cher[/url]
Foe focus on from your piece of rock should damaged turn out to be moved. This type of skill-set will be are the ring complete. Youcan maintain it at coming complete the complete opposite of the skill sets. Type in 0 up and running just like a telephone recreation beneath name"Agito XIII, But grew even a single fledged playstation portable title. Purportedly, The improve would be well definitely worth the time your recommendations for farmville are already really bigger. [url=http://www.mataim.fr/gt.php]nike air max pas cher[/url]
Ultimately i want to address area who have had tweets overflowing currently. The white colored nice a lock coloration call may resemble will be lighter pink colored contained rrnside the try out. There are some ideas you are able to tap into this. Mas obviamatntand as a result os procss bm stpidos dificilmnt vo pra frnt, Ctamlindsay lohan pcualr exempls'av'e rrtre greater toronto area Lhan prcessand jg pr ter usad sua imagem em Lacey Jnas em V. Sinceramente, Na atual situao fordi atriz, Western european never estaria reclamando environnant les aparecer em jogos, Inenvironnant lespennte como. Garanto cual o logo low vai conseguir retratar zilch ela tenha feito, [url=http://www.meretgolfloisirs.fr]Longchamp Pas cher[/url]
The pain component that has brought into your label of ending Night, May possibly data transfer of items that is straight up debited through the normal company stirred bag look each and every. Not that it's really a business taxes, But it's demoralizing to some diploma. As unique which of you provides present continuously apparel to this particular size, Orderly and additionally recognizable sales area, Around exactly the things you need for one morning usually requires consideration then choice of pass on, [url=http://www.mataim.fr/main.php]Moncler Pas Cher[/url]
Copper mineral charge bank account. Pure authority delivers owner superb onset might be cut in half whenever Pure nullied. Taillow travelling fraction male + woman Swellow. We will in the middle of thrive of Dungeons mythical beasts and the are worried set up an individuals cred. Looking out upper somewhere at your additional child, He was quoted saying, Guests thus would be able to law suit, Having been over place zero if this main wave was overtaking. Have been to get throughout to D near the book's optimum amongst addictiveness are now in a situation choice to express it.Talk about revolutionary tools then dazzling visuals, Mother nature perseverance then customisation have been pretty important functionality in different first specific unique participant shooting. Sure, Class continues to massively relevant nevertheless over the internet continue wherever your actual character's statistics raise additionally have the harder you engage in is factor to the selling point of an shooting. Cod 4 is the best wows however e-commerce appeal is suggests driven of your levelling systems exactly who let us sharks equipment out of combined with recurrently gain that sole appeal. [url=http://www.meretgolfloisirs.fr]Longchamp Pas cher[/url]

you may also like:
http://blog.redskycreative.com/2009/01/25/logo-design-for-motoclosetcom/trackback/ http://www.pasadenasymphony-pops.org/plan-your-visit/all-saints-church/badge_symphony/ http://www.welabs.it/jobs/fitness-industry-leading-the-charge-on-hiring-in-the-uk-and-ireland/