Although the actual names of most of the defendants in the lawsuit haven’t been revealed and the websites named in the suit can no longer be accessed, the usernames identified in the lawsuit (like “PurpleKissTwo”) indicate that at least some of the targets are Prince die hard fans. Continue...
In the lawsuit, Prince listed his performances from 2011 in North Carolina, 2002 in Oakland and 1983 in Chicago as his private materials that have been copyrighted by the accused or defendants.
The suit went further to state that the circulation of a 31-year-old live set damages Prince’s earning capability, with the singer leveling charges of direct copyright infringement, ‘unauthorized fixation and trafficking in sound recordings’, contributory copyright infringement and bootlegging.
“Prince has suffered and is continuing to suffer damages in an amount according to proof, but no less than $1 million per defendant,” the lawsuit reads.
Prince has a history of suing anyone who uses his material without permission, but most times doesn’t follow through on his threats. A 2007 effort to sue The Pirate Bay went nowhere. This new lawsuit is likely to go much further.
59 comments:
The guy has been silent for sometime.One of my favourite singers.
U Get time. Mtshewww. Com to Niger and sue now.
Big joke,wonder how intends reaching them.to collect the money he claims as damage.
Should I comment?#gaythorization
Next pls........
And when the fans are found guilty,what happens to his reputation and number of fans?
That's America for you... We don't have time for this in Nigeria. Don't even waste your time and resources
@Bobo_Edo
Prince of 1980s this guy is old and $22mill lawsuit 4 a concert? hw much was he planning 2 get a billion dollars mtcheeeewww
Who dash am prince...... I dont even knw him.... My frnd gat away yu....
Ahh dat one na small thing nah, person post ur concert for fb u de tuk, naija bobos go remix ur song still u no go cough!!!!
He looks like gay self.... America like this word sue. Any small thing dem go just sue person.... Thunder strike una...
This guy is getting sooo broke he has to sue his fans to recoup. Sad.
In the world of business, your customers or betterstill your fans are the major referral traffic links to your business. "Your fan is boss" You gonna hit urself in the foot so be wise. #NewsBlist
$22mill lawsuit 4 a concert I bet he thought he was gonna get a billion dollars 4rm the concert mtchewww he should beta keep practicing his guiter 4 syd
This kind of stuff doesnt happen in naija
That's because our judiciary is messed up here.
Look at this nama ndi awusa that should be happy that they are even promoting him by posting links in various areas in the internet is sueing..... Olodo rabata.... 22 million for that matter... My guy really need money like bad bad, finally the opportunity has presented itself.... Iwi..
He should swerve.
Lol....you guys are authorized to post and share links to my tracks below....i promise not sue...:) lol
Newest gospel tracks from Glow
Odumije
His Time
Black or White
Emmanuel
Believer
Good To Me
Please share if you like them. God bless you. Send feedbacks to justglow2013@gmail.com
Linda please this headline isn't complete, he is suing for posting links to his concert videos not just his concert.
Hmmmmmm
Like seriously.
Who be prince kwa? U shud be hapi dat dey re promoting ur song..u jst want to make headlines cos u re almost forgotten
How on earth did he intend to achieve that? Facebook is full of fake people with fake names and biographies.
Linda Abeg dis gist too dry mtchewww.next! #strollsaway2sipvodka#
Pls come and sue M̶̲̅ε̲̣̣. Your face lik dog own
Dis prince sef...:ow does he intend reaching dem to get d money from broke fans...come to nigeria and see whoyou will sue..Msteeeeew...
Dis 1 nor get wrk mtcheew
Sue indeed! Where is he going to seee all of the fans guilty&he is gonna loose muh fan! That money is craZily much!
Harnikky.
Hahahaha u r such a joker
The fans are evening helping fot people to like and get his links and get more fans but he took it as bridge to copyright, no problem, that's how he wants it. Thank God we enjoying our Nigeria ones and we could get the links and downloads yourfully and we enjoy our Nigerian singers/entertainers and musicians.
If d fan no get money nko?
dear linda, you know he has dropped the suit right? update your news.
He dropped the law suit already jawe
DREAMER!!!
I HOPE THEIR FULL NAMES, ADRESSES, BULKY ACCOUNT BALANCES HAF ALSO BEEN ACCESSED FOR D $1m SUITE
Where will the fans get the money from?
Evrytin abt dis guy screams gay...dunno weda any1else saw dat...gaydar
Nice one bonita
RUBISH..NEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEXT...
Ok,come collect the money nah.
duh!!..this man is so old school!...who still listens to his songs by the way??...he should even be happy some people are trying to re-popularize him....
To think that they r actually his fans, dt wld come as a slap lol
Hmm Linda I like you but pls report news accurately. First, according to TMZ, the lawsuit was filed about 2 weeks ago and it was against anonymous bloggers/bootleggers who posted his videos illegally. They were not fans. In addition the lawsuit has was dropped. Nigerians are not that stupid nah. You have readers all the world that also follow accurate news!
22m this guy don over broke......just file for bankruptcy and we would understand. yeye
Hmmmmm.
This nigga is broke and should just say he's looking for money
Na wa Oº°˚˚˚°ÂºO. Prince gay pele #yimu2U
nONSE, COME TO NAIJA AND SUE ME, you will not only sue me for copyrighted material but plagiarising your content all over the net.
nollywood news and gossip
Abeg who still listens to Prince? The dude is trying to remain relevant and wants to even eat his own fans to do it! Awwww
njideka nkem u re such a fool and a big one @ that...if u must know is Prince Rogers Nelson is not gay and has never been, because he behaves like a babe doesnt make him gay....get ur facts b4 dropping comments...mbeke will also want to drop comments on linda's blog
Prince is bored and broke, why the hell not just file a suit to take the websites down and provide your concert material on a site that charges, thats all!!
Firstly the people you are suing are your hardcore fans (trust me they are to be listening to you this time, age and day.. WOW)
Secondly a 1 in three hundred thousand chance says these people actually have that fucking $22 million you are demanding #takeseveralseats
Hello! FYI Prince is not gay..He's straight, but he's what you'd call androgynous.
Ok. Let's watch them pay
Dimnishing returns
Can somebody tell me who that guy is ???...I don't think I know him...No insults pls
Beautiful says so
Hausa is my tribe
This is the cyber world era, let's play safe...Click my name okay. Thank you.
Linda, he's not suing anymore.