Photos: The deplorable state of Teaching Hospitals in Nigeria | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Wednesday 29 January 2014

Photos: The deplorable state of Teaching Hospitals in Nigeria

Not all but some of our hospitals are eye-sores. Take the Ahmadu Bello University Teaching Hospital in Shika, Zaria for instance, photos show the deplorable state of some of the wards in the hospital.

A LIB reader who spent some nights at the hospital's Pediatric Surgery Ward sent in the photos and said the cold that comes from the broken ceiling tops can make a white man freeze! She also said there are lots of mosquitoes and the toilets are messed up because of insufficient water supply. Worse is the massive rats she says roams around freely in the ward. See more photos after the cut...

104 comments:

Am sure it Will be renovated soon.

this is unbelieveable, with all the money in this country. Na wa o!

Its quite unfortunate,what do you expect when our leaders can afford to fly abroad for a mere headache.

this is unbelievable, with all the money in this country. Na wa o!

WHICH WAY 9JA

Classgist said...

and the hospital is suppose to b a place where someone dat is not feeling ok would get well. i tot we have a ministry of health?

Eww. I can't even believe this

Na wah o! *cagey*

Mich said...

These issues aren't important to the government after all,neither them nor their wards get medicated there.
They rather score political points by making laws that impose constrains on people who pose no danger whatsoever to the society.
Its 2014 for Cavalli's sake and you have health centres looking like a house hit by a missile in Somalia?
Such a bloody shame!

SMH.....

Huge amounts of money are missing o, yet! Na only God go deliver Nigerians!

@jessyangels4love

God help us, Federal Govt Hospitals at that oh!!!

Phrank316 said...

linda i hope GEJ and his political attack dogs plus our ameable corrupt minister of finance and health are seeing this pictures cos they allocated 700 billion naira to build new vip clinic inside aso rock while aso rock already has a clinic.our presido na commander in chief of corruption plus all those around him.buh one day Gods judgement will be upon them all.

God help us!!! Wicked govt..

When the leaders of the country are looting money and even the president going to seek treatment abroad. God will punish all of the. Stealing from Nigeria, not only the poor man will suffer, they the leaders shall also reap the fruits of their evil deeds.

Lol. Dis is serious oooooo

Funmy Kemmy said...

Incredible! I hope something is done to rectify this as soon as possible.

Lol seems this LIB reader was busy doing more of journalism than recuperating

Is very bad we have bad leaders and government in this country but they can buy cars and houses and post it on line #bright bravo#

sexylipcious.may said...

See the kind money wey IG son dey spend,and we get dis kind hospital,wetin him co-pilots from oda country to tell am,if dem see dis situation?God in ur hands I place dis nation

Peejay said...

Shocking! I always thought ABUTH was top notch.

Glammo! said...

God help naija. Wouldn't you rather get treated at home rather than add to the injury. Now I knw why a lot of patient don't make it alive in some govt hospital. If we lack all the amenities to make it hygienic and condusive,how then can our doctors save life. It is well.

This is the real naija.... Lmao..... See hospital abeg....

You will be surprised to discover that the oga at the top of that hospital flies abroad for treatment too. SMH for the FAILED state called Nigeria!

This is part of d reasons for the NMA strikes.Its good someone else has shown the pix.The hospitals r in a deplorable state.even the consulting rooms r an eyesore.Equipments r another story.

Come down to my place and see worst one's, as in, if yu are sick that sickness will methamorphos to something else.....

Baby Face said...

Like seriously, the govt are suppose to take care of our needs. They are their bcos of us, have they forgotten that? So shameful.

Countless people have died frm little sickness caused frm the odour of this yamayama hospitals.....

Mystic Falls said...

That's why Nigerians need change,we have been suffering in silence 4 too long. Immagine the ceiling could even collapse and kill a patient b4 his tym sef

creamy tola said...

Linda na wa o.. D riches country in africa.

Still on still we all luv our country.. Lol..... Abi yu no luv ur country lindi.....?

no wonda dere are high death rate is not dat dere is no money for hospital in naija but the hospitals add more sickness to you

Igor said...

Not only are they in deplorable situations,the skeletal services and money which they charge is another thing of concern.My mum,myself and my siblings watched helplessly as my father died at ABSUTH last year over an ailment which if they shoud have told us he had no chance of surviving. Instead,they were busy conducting uneccesary tests and charging exhorbitant prices.

Dis is serious,God show us d way 4ward

tbxconcepts said...

Linda ikeji is this all u've got?Yes teaching hospitals are in deplorable state,so what are you going to do about it?what abt showing pix of the ones that are ok.Don't tell me to send pix!

tbxconcepts said...

Linda ikeji,is this all u've got?Yes,teaching hospitals are in deplorable state,so what are u going to do abt that?what abt showing pix of the ones that are ok?Don't ask me to send pix?i ain't sending.

E go better, dats all I can say
Sallysmart

Na waa o this country don spoil

FDJ said...

Too bad

If I didn't know, I'd join the bandwagon to lament the state of our hospitals esp. the Teaching Hospitals, which are supposed to be centres of excellence. But trust me when I say there's no way on earth these pics are that of ABUTH Shika. Anyone who knows will tell you so. Perhaps old ABUTH in Tudun Wada but definitely not Shika - one of the most beautiful & modern Teaching Hospitals around in Nigeria today. You can now attack me! Linda you must post my comment oo!

henny said...

Some of the hospitals are on allocation for repairs buh most contractors don't like going to the far north because of Boko haram.
My friend collected one contract to repair a hospital in kogi last year nov, under 'SUREP' n she hasn't been paid untill now.

If I didn't know, I'd join the bandwagon to lament the state of our hospitals esp. the Teaching Hospitals, which are supposed to be centres of excellence. But trust me when I say there's no way on earth these pics are that of ABUTH Shika. Anyone who knows will tell you so. Perhaps old ABUTH in Tudun Wada but definitely not Shika - one of the most beautiful & modern Teaching Hospitals around in Nigeria today. You can now attack me! Linda you must post my comment oo!

*smh*

Yet we have billionaires in our country they can't do nufin shame on this leaders Ammennn

AnnMarie said...

That's serious, you go to the hospital for one illness get treated then come out with malaria and cholera

Linda darline thanks for this Information, we'v kicked off Investigation... Thanks..

I Rep IT JAKES YOU ( A Book Of Inspiration By Linda Ikeji)
>>Comment Moderation Disabled<<

Dats Niger for u..May God help us

too bad shame to naija

They keep on buiding hotels and pubs, neglecting d health sector.....

EXPOSED---Chat btw Tonto Dike and Terry G...

U're very stupid@tbxconcepts, if u can't provide d pix of ones dt are ok den keep ur big mouth shut ok?

Infact am a witness,I gave birth to my last baby in ABUTH shika n I regreted y I had to deliver dere.Deir toilet n bathrooms is worst dan pit toilet.I cld not bath until I was dischange,dat hospital I really an eyesaw.

Dee Tee said...

If they should have told you he had no chance of surviving? My friend its worse to tell u there's no chance when there's chance. Doctors do their best in trying to be professional and help out when they can. It's a pity that your Dad died and I send you my condolence, but there's a code of ethics governing the medical profession. Please understand this.

So we are sorrounded by all this and all our so called law makers could bother them selves about is "same sex marrage" NIGERIA SHAME ON YOU!!!!!

Wow, this is serious.

Shedding tears for my beloved dear country, these leaders have ruined us, God pls help, fight on our behalf and destroy these corrupts leaders.

Sebi na gay concern Nigeria instead make dem face their evils of corruption

This your grammar na waooo. #migraine#.

Ingratitude

Kai dan Allah! Dis can not be Shika! No way!

Fuck off ass fucker....idiots like u are the ones eating up all d money is this country, I am very sure u are among those spoiling n drying this country down. Abeg Lindodo carry on cus we stand by u any day any time. Gbam

Smh! This is really shameful..but sincerely our leaders don't care about these things..They don't go to Nigerian hospitals when there's need for medical checks, they travel to India, UK, USA and the likes..The common Nigerian who live in this country survives by the mercy of God#sad much

PRETTY GIRL

The leaders are busy stealing!!

OSHAUN_AFRIKA said...

this is exactly what u get when u have shitty leaders...smh!

Being an ABU graduate, this is rather strange especially the part of water supply. ABU has a dam all to itself. I wonder what has gone wrong. I'm almost doubting this is Shika. If you ask me, ABUTH is one of the best teaching hospitals in Nigeria.

Ms. Bee said...

But we have 700 million abi billion to spend on only Aso rock clinic. Isssorait. God is watching in 3D

Amarachukwu said...

What do u expect when they always fly aboard for medical treatment.

Did you have any skills that you think you can make money doing it?, kindly visit www.ansarez.com and get register.

sunday otuns said...

It looks like an uncompleted building that has being abandon for years.

abby said...

Don't mind dem instead of the minister of health to do his job he is busy fighting for docror's allowance to be increased and treats every other personnel like a piece of thrash. Seriously this is not how it should be.

Harnikky said...

God help us help our country º°˚˚°ºoo. Yet our leaders are so spending d money anyaow!

sunday otuns said...

@tbxconcept,are you one of the officials who embezzle the money for building a befitting hospitals?
dont be heartless.

This is so embarrassing, our government should do something about it.

Abubakar Thompson said...

misplace priority anti gay bill.... Jonathan and his clan are the worst bunch of idiots to rule Nigeria...

Shyla said...

This is really bad. Infact did you hear of the general hospital in ikorodu area, I think they caller mentioned Ipakodo, where she complained that to write a prescription for her sick child, the doctor asked her to go and get an exercise book as they did not have papers to write. A whole gen hospital! Infact eh, if this govt don't do anything, I mean the people incharge of allocating funds to put these hospitals in good conditions for the poor masses to make use of, the WRATH OF GOD WILL COME DOWN ON THEM and THEIR FAMILIES OH. This year!! Because this is just sheer wickedness.
How many people can afford private hospitals where you pay 10k as consultation fee which you will also pay again if you have a follow-up appointment.
Linda post this oh cos enough is enough. We see so many things wrong in this country and these Idiots are getting away with so many rubbish. Na to jail their descendants them sabi.

Topebrass said...

Like seriously dats a teaching hospital. #cover •̸ϞƔ face. What a shame τ̲̅ȍ all our leaders not exempting anyone

Tai said...

if I talk say make we change PDP lead Government now, u'll see people we go dey support dem..... After about 15years of ruining the country they still have the guts to point fingers at those that have not ruled during this Democratic dispensation... What do the have to show after 15 years- Massive Corruption, High Unemployment, Animosity in the Country, Boko Haram, Militancy. The General Overseers keep numb about the Raping of the Nigerian people by these Devilish PDP lead Government while they live a life of Opulence. Make I rest for here make I no too vex

And they allocated #700billion to build a VIP clinic in Aso Rock. I swear these old dogs are heartless! #700billion can renovate most if not all the Teaching Hospitals in the country. If they approve that budget then something is seriously wrong with the whole country. Both the rulers and the ruled.

Naija Movies Nollywood said...

but of conrecton Linda, tha's not the stat of our Naja hospitals but the state of our naija polithiecians..

wedding photos from naija

princess zee said...

Yea, was suprised too wen I saw d pictures, we had a patient there, so I was. In ABUTH for 2months, one of d best...dis cannot be ABUTH

I saw this on twitter this morning, Here is everything that is wrong
with our elitist society: 2014
budget: Construction of a VIP Wing
at the State House Clinic:N705M.
Total Capital Budget for OAU
Teaching Hospital: N328M. It just shows we live in an elitist society. The government only take care of things they benefit from directly! They ignore things like this cos they can always fly out for medical care. Like the idiot who was 'hit with a rubber bullet' and had to fly out for treatment! Bastards!

Keep on naming and shaming!

The state of our education system too! ( check your spelling sir)

Phaeton Phoenix said...

Linda, I just want to compliment you on finally putting up posts that can affect peoples lives SUCH AS THIS ONE.
Health care is a pity in Nigeria. Its so sad how we are far behind. It is very important if not the most important thing any country should have. We lose many of our loved ones because of something that could have been easily detected and cured if we had a good system.
One day, I hope someone would step up and revolutionize our health care system so that everybody can gain!

This is not abuth shika, except it s d one at tudun wada.linda always do ur own research n stop feeding libers with all sorts of information.

ZeeZee said...

May God provide us resources- for such situations to be the past Amen

hahaha...it ain't that bad....

Pls tell them ooooooh even d one in tudun wada is not ds bad, SHIKA is one of the best hospitals in niaja Google it n stop publishing trash.

Since LIB is now our mouthpiece dem go renovate am sharply. Watch out. LOLZ

Bonario sha u comment on every story. I hope u put as much tym as dis to other aspects of ur life.

This is not Shika º°˚°˚˚°• Haba na. Wa. º°˚°˚˚°• Shika dey Ok

na wa o, ur grammar na dead

OMG dis is serious....~ chidinma

Marie-Jurie said...

I think d president shud enforce a bill against offshore treatment except truely dire emergencies n it shd be allowed once-to get my approval.

We have far more important things to worry about please, like burning gays.

Donsuramino kolo said...

This pic.must hv been taken sometimes late 2011 Whn a pipe leakage from d toilet of d former psychiatric ward (located directly above it)wrecked d havoc but it has since been renovated and overhauled. The ward is now wearing a new look( I was there jst of recent)

Donsuramino kolo said...

This pix must hv been taken long before d renovation Whn a pipe leakage from d former psychiatric ward( located directly above it) wrecked d havoc, it is now wearing a new look. ' hv been to d ward just of recent .

Goodness- someone an contract a virulent infection from touching the walls.

Please let's get our facts right. This picture is from 2yrs ago . And the ward was empty as renovations were being done then. A childs health is very important. The ward was immediately evacuated and repair has been long done. This picture is very old. Pls confirm before u put such things up.

Wetin do Mich grammar now? No be simple English the guy write? Too many illiterates on this blog, walahi!

This isn't ABUTH shika,must be a mix up.it could possibly be the old building.

I dont understand why people are saying God should help us! What has God not blessed us with that things our leaders shd do are left again for God to come and do? Our leaders are wicked! that is the only word I have. Also, most nigerians are dirty and care less on how to use facilities. We as citizens should do our part whenever these facilities are renovated to ensure it stays neat and clean for our use always!

Dr. Okechukwu said...

Well, I think maintenance culture is still not part of the Nigerian management system; but hopefully these dilapidated structures will be renovated and refurbished soon.

Its a shame