Her marriage is already over, after a whirlwind romance and fairy-tale wedding | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 January 2014

Her marriage is already over, after a whirlwind romance and fairy-tale wedding

In 2007, actress, singer, entrepreneur, model and author, the very beautiful Hilary Duff began dating Canadian NHL player Mike Comrie. They announced their engagement in February 2010 and had a fairy-tale wedding on August 14th 2010. Hilary said at the time that her wedding was everything she had hoped it would be and that she married her prince-charming, her soul mate.

Fast forward to 3 years later, and it's over. Hilary, 26, and Mike, 33, announced their separation on January 10th 2014 after only 3 years of marriage. The actress accused her estranged husband of not 'putting enough effort into their relationship'.

The couple reportedly went to marriage counseling for 18 months to try and find the spark again. "But recently he wasn't doing any of the things they'd worked on," A source told Us weekly "The spark was no longer there. They are better as friends." The couple have a 22 months old son, Luca.

See pics from their wedding three years ago. And that wedding dress...OMG!...

116 comments:

GodHonestTruth:) said...

Woow how sad.her wedding pictures are stunning

Shit happens

Fairy tale not fairy tail....spell check is your friend.

Marriage is hard work. Someone tell these hollywood people to get with the program.

Linda Ikeji, it is called show biz!!! Lol

just for not putting much effort.
while over here some ladies even with a black eye still shout "we must make it work,its not your business if he beats me he can't help it"

Sabrina agu said...

So sad...and I really like hilary...feel so bad for her!!...

U see d problem of lavish spending for a one day event called wedding. Research has it dat wedding done lavishly always don't last. I feel for her.

I still dont understand why celebrities break up all the time for filmsy excuses..

Lizzy mcguire!nawa for u o!didn't expect ds from her at all.oh well!anoda one bites the dust.

Fairy tale is no reality

khemorah said...

Linda biko, its fairy-tale! Nt tail oh!

Hetty said...

Beautiful!! But why was the cake not decorated?..Anyways..

Ifyawazie said...

Yeh, thats how it ends.. Marriage based on sex and not friendship.

Hollywood n dier fake lives.... sadly our entertainers r taking after dem...

"Fairy tale"

Awww,lizzie mcguire

That is so sad. Marriages these days!! It takes continual efforts and dedication... Lord help us..

Mayowa

The high rate of divorce this days is becoming alarming, wish them d best in their seperate life

Lovely weddn....wish dey can come back again

3 women I thought their relationships would last forever. Regina King, Mirander Ker and Hillary Duff.

Marriage dis dys is jst a temporary union dat seldom wheather d storms of life.Its nt surprisin after all we'v seen marriages of 7mnths crumble.Their own dey tried sef! Mtcheew their headache abeg

3years of marriage? Dem try naaa, aunty princess own no b 7months? She's nw blamin bloggers. Shioooor God hlp us

Tianahdaps said...

Ooh dis is sad...I'm beginning2 ve second thots bout marriage naw..

Not all that glitters is gold

It baffles me how pple dat once loved dem selves xo much, took 2 d alter 2 seal their love, and within a short cycle of time. Things fall apart and all efforts 2 fix it barely or neva works. Where did all d love go 2.

Angelo Bazzini said...

A lot of people will not agree, but being married is really tough. It takes the grace of God to go through the changes you have to institute and go through to remain married. And am talking from EXPERIENCE. Think of all the toothpaste wars and all the food modification, Waka Pattern changes and all that. Its not easy.

OK.

What a waste!ENDTIME!

Awwwww! Can't bliv hw quickly white ple split! Wat do dey tink marriage is abt sef? Anyway wedlock nor b paddlock evn paddlock sef dem dey open A̶̲̥̅♏‎​ . #strollsaway

hur said...

This is just sad... God help us all

Atleast she had d wedding of her dreams

Amarachukwu said...

Na so!

Linda,
You are trying to justify why you are yet to be married. I'm sure no one knows this couple. Considering your position on the anti-gay (which you are codedly displaying), I think it all comes together now.

Hmmmmnnnnn.... Celebrities and breakups! Smdh

Cinderalla is divorced. Wow, life goes on. 'Sergio Frankie'

U'r happy d marriage crashed fa? Consolation 4 ur depressed sef ko!

Linda it's 'tale' not 'tail'

U 2 like sad news...y linda? U must b sad deep dwn...

SHE'S A BEAUTY AND SO FRESH I WANT HER...HILARY DUFF IS SO ADORABLE.. BREAK UP IS FOR A REASON AND MARRIAGE IS NOT FOR EVERYONE..GOD BLESS..AFTER I FOUND OUT I WAS IN LOVE WITH ONE NAIJA HOE FOR 3YEARS WITHOUT KNOWING..MARRIAGE NOT FOR ME WITH NAIJA WOMEN..DONE DONE.

Linda u r a gossip! Bt come2think of it d@s ur job. I luv d way u delivered dis particular gist. Ehen! Did u by any chance listen 2a radio station were sm1 sent in a msg d@ real guys dnt visit ur blog bt d presenta no mentn ur name sha jst gv d descriptn. D chicken must hv visited here several tyms o! He's nw forming real man. Anyway, Bonario n dem other male LIBers dey say u guys aint realmen, Lol.... LIB juciest blog ever! Luv u mama Li

After the wedding comes the marriage proper

Linda biko its fairy tale

Fairy tale Linda

I don't get how pple just get tired in their marriage,good luck 2 dem
@UA

So what will she do with all this wedding pictures,I think she should tear them to pieces. #sorrymuch

I keep reading the "ok!" In each picture with a Nigerian sarcastic tone... lol.

Phaeton Phoenix said...

LMAO! I swear I had no idea at all (or had forgotten) Hilary Duff was married.

Linda, you say only 3 years? Only? abi you high as u dey write dis post?

3 years is 39 years in Hollywood marital timing.

It's well ooooo. It's only God dt can help us weddings of nowadays Dnt understand @ all.

That's the raining tin even in nigeria they get married and it doesn't last #bright bravo#

success igbinoba said...

OMG OMG I don't want to faint am fyn nw dis is d best wedding reception have seen so far God its lovely its beautiful wish to have sometin like dis some day or maybe better dan dis. OMG still loving It#kiss#

Linda, these things are not surprising.. They needed to sit the bad patch out and work it out.. 3 years is actually a long time for a whirlwind romance to not die down to a bore-fest

Hmmmm, sad! Sad! For both of them. Now there's a difference between reality and film(fantasy) trick.

Adorable Jewel said...

Owuyaaa

What spark? Is he toasting you?
18 month counseling? When will people learn that it not every therapist that is out to help you.

God help us.

Dem try naw, 3 yrs is a long time! And Linda why are u so interested in the wedding and d dress? It is neither the wedding nor d dress dat makes a marriage oh!!!

Lindiway, u too much!All dis extra miles for ur Libers. Na u biko!

mimi said...

Linda why do i sense dat u re trying 2 communicate something to us from the caption u gave this post 'already over'.just try it out it jst might work 4 u #nuffsaid#okbye.

the question now is Y wld sm1 go in to a which u know dat u will nt beable to whistand d test of tym Y toke u need prayer & fastng asap THAT AKWA IBOM BOY

Chai na wah o,abeg I wan marry,these people should stop scaring me with all this divorce this and that..I mean where does all the lovey dovey mushy thingys go to after I DO? What happened to break it n fix it ne? Haaaaaa_devil u be liar! Dazz all
In other news,the cake sha don enter my gallery sha for possible choice for my wedding....sha!

diamondblinqZ said...

OmG y naw? Dis her qown has always been my dream qown

Wow! I love her wedding dress!!!!!! That cake? Yummy!!!!! Everything thing sOoO on point! As for the break up, it aint a BIG deal our celebs are used to it. NEXT!!

AnnMarie said...

Marriage is becoming something else these days

Zenki brown said...

Too bad

Amazing wedding, but it's so usual, they even lasted, Kim was 72days, smh

I wonder why this people even bother to do weddings?you know you can't bear any rough patch in a relationship,you can't make it work,you want things easy,you mess up the little children dat are caught in the middle,cos you are bored and there is no spark left!these so called civilized people are just practicing polygamy in a different way.they also offer permanent solutions to temporary problems!if u r bullied,youcommit suicide!if u angryat ur husband for not kissing u,u divorce him!I just pity d small boy.only 22 months and caught in d middle!

OMG! Love dat dress,this is like the perfect wedding but why seperate? Anyway dats their life, waste of money SMH

It is not how far but how well! Moh'd

Na wah 4 al dis celebrity marriage oooo #Llipsealed
#MzEmeraldSayso

Fuck your opinion said...

That's some serz ish.

Which spark? Fairy tale? OMG for the wedding dress?, Linda?

That cake is an idea.

Janelicious said...

Wowwwwwwww me like the wedding decoration.

Too bad

Chidimma said...

Naawaa oo, I really like Hilary duff tho

The quintessential good girl gets a divorce. Hello world it is America, marriages don't work here, it's just another farce amongst many such others that keep their fairy tale life going. Hilary Obiorah

How sad, I really thot her marriage will be different.best wishee dear!

Beautiful wedding dey had now a heap of waste,i hope dis wont happen to Toke cos she said she had a fairy tale wedding too,ask kim n hilary oooooo.Jay noni.

Na wa o...c as dz kind of mony s al gone,oyibos nd dia kind of marriage slf

fly guy said...

Dats d kind of wedding dress my wife will put on

Some men nawah oh how I go take dis kind fine lady play If I am the lucky prince charming smh hell no

dhobiz said...

My dream wedding only that my own marriage will last IJNA!

Uloma said...

Wow! 3yrs? Dem try small.... Some last only 3mnths! Kpele ooooo! Its well

OMG i love this lady,I love her songs why is this happening to her.

Love her pony bun
e fit her die

Did she say she couldn't find spark in the marriage anymore?? Hmm oyinbo and marriage smh. Not that the man cheated on her ?? Can you imagine! The fuck don tire am that's why she wants to change prick. These are the nonesense these whites are exporting to africa that has made our pple to lose their values. Pple divorce at WILL and see it as normal after they will say it is their right, their human right. The world really has a lot of things to batle about, humans have lost their dignity and values. Some have gone as far as legalising sleeping with their own kind which animals created by GOD can't even do and they call it human right. God save us

23 was too young to marry.

Hmmmmm so sad nd dey were so cue 2geda

And she couldn't find a new spark plug to buy since the old has refused to spark

Hahaha me too.

Tina said...

Bush pikin. What more decoration? Lmao. You think na all dis dem cake wey we dey chop for here? Noo be by loud decoo o

Well sed! Anon:9:01

There were rumours he was cheating.

That's why I don't envy anybody for their life or what they have, because nothing is ever as it seems.

All i can say after watching those pix is wow!God please let my wedding come soon and let it be a fairy tale wedding as dat but most importantly, let my marriage last forever in Jesus name . Amen!

Lol! Ur comment cracked me up.

Kay.

Gbenga said...

Some r panda.....

Gbenga said...

Ur blood is definitely white...u dunno it

whitefalcon said...

My thoughts, exactly.

whitefalcon said...

Please don't. These celebrities no longer respect the sanctity of marriage,that is why they opt out of it based on flimsy excuse.

How can one be looking for the spark in marriage when marriage is not always a bed of roses?! Smh

Hehe! Bona u bad gan

3 years huh!! N shes tired alrdy.....lol well she tried sha unlike sum pipu na just months ooo n dia differences cnt b resolves.....lmao.

Ndi ojoo! Where did y'all haters see fairy-tail? Linda wrote tale not tail. Anyway, i love those shoes!
Ogo

Hee Hee, this guy is funny!!!!!

Beautiful wedding dey had now a heap of waste,i hope dis wont happen to Toke cos she said she had a fairy tale wedding too,ask kim n hilary oooooo.

After d wedding comes d marriage proper! Sure is nt d weeding bt d marriage dat matters. U can make it work though nt easy bt is working. Some ppl r just been lame & stupid abt it. @SHoK

MissBusyBody said...

Sad much...

Lisa London said...

They were in marriage counseling for 18 months b4 the called it a day mainly because the man became apathetic post injury

Unbelieving though, after spending lots on a girl marriage, they come with useless excusses, and before you open you close and open your eyes, they don pack their loads. what will man do now?

Ladies dancing almost nakd at Nigerians entertainment news

Just shut up if you have nothing to say, Linda's job is to give us news and she does that, be it news about weddings or divorce. If you don't know who Hillary Duff is, then it's obvious you don't watch movies, I'm guessing at least 60% of LIB readers know who she is,...... enough said.

2007 to 2010 isn't a whirlwind romance

Mereze said...

Who says 23 is too young to marry, you think its like you naija ladies that will reach 35 and approaching menopause to settle down, dey there dey do nightvigil constant

Why do these folks treat marriage as if it is used tissue paper. I thought that if you have issues in your marriage you keep working at it no matter what. Its like a little girl whose tired of her doll and just drops it becasue the doll has a flaw. I tire for these people oh!

ZeeZee said...

I'm beginning to believe ther is a curse placed on Hollywood and Happy Union - to be a part of Hollywood you have to be very prayerful - May the good Lord help them know him out there In Jesus' name