Womb transplant successfuly done in Sweden | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Monday 13 January 2014

Womb transplant successfuly done in Sweden

Doctors at the University of Gothenburg Sweden have successfully carried out womb transplant for 9  women who were born without a womb and are waiting for them to get pregnant. This amazing new kind of surgery is geared towards helping women who are born without wombs, a medical condition called MKRH or had there uterus removed due to severe medical conditions such as cervical cancer.

The wombs received were from mothers or female relatives of the recipients. All nine women are currently ovulating which is a good sign that the wombs are doing fine inside the women. Continue..

Saudi Arabia is the first country in the world to have carried out womb transplant in the year 2000 but the recipient recorded blood clot and so the womb was removed. Turkey was the 2nd country to try the womb transplant were they took womb from dead people and transplanted into this women but the process also failed as the women lost their babies after 2 months of conception. England is preparing to also carry out the process.

Head surgeon for this process Dr Mats Brannstrom said
"This is a research study. It could lead to the women having children, but there are no guarantees …what is certain is that they are making a contribution to science.".

62 comments:

Ugonu yea nice

Great one

Hmmnnn that's great... Hope it works!

AnnMarie said...

OMG dats good news, there's hope for women. Especially african women who go through alot when they cant bear children

Sylvia said...

Dats a great development! Am in full support!

Whoa dis is very nice.good news indeed.

When God is ready am sure it will be successful.#whenGodsaysyes

The only thing remaining for this oyibo ppl na to create a living human being but they can't beat God smh womb transplant oh my goshhhh

Not suprised anyways...

choqlatelymart said...

Dats rili great,I hope it works out...kudos 2 dem.

AMY said...

Woow! Ds scientists wud never cease to amaze me!

FAMMIE said...

Great, alot of outstanding happenings.You also might wanna see this Linda.

<3D printing Machine that can build a house in 24 hours

Woooowzaa! The prophecies on medical breakthrough this year is already coming to pass... how great thou art Jehovah! the only true God! Na u I go serve titi laiye laiye!

ONE HUNDRED KAY said...

Best news of d year so far, so we can b firing our babes skin to skin none-stop

Reali cool

miss Bin said...

Reali cool

Naija women oya start to abort until your womb finish....lol. There is hope for una now.

FiFi said...

This is great!

Wow that great....Thank God,I pray the women conceive.

That's the type of innovations that we want and look forward to. #awesome# *cagey*

Prophecy coming to pass,

SexiestEngineer said...

They'r already creating human beings**Clones and test tube babies**. I luv S & T!!!

I jst hope it works

Hope Emeghara said...

Contrıbutıon to scıence?..ıts cool though but ı pray they conceıve n gıve bırth!,cant ımagıne gıven bırth wıtaut a womb..How dey wıll long to have babıes of theırs..

Naija no dey join the research?

yusuf said...

God is the greatest. May God increase the knowledge of the doctors and make the conception easy for the women and to deliver their babies without any further operations. Aamina

Its unfortunate; Nigerians chose this path to creativity.

Always reason like a literate, God created us all for a purpose also to help others. It is a good development to people living without womb

Finally, hope for the wombless gurlz in these country...I bet they give new wombs.lol!

New market.!!.(Hawking) Buy ur womb, buy ur womb.!!

Amarachukwu said...

Ok oooo

Naija galz,dnt abort o,make una no go tink say hope dey 4 una o

They don't create babies, test tube babies as you called it just because the put the egg and the sperm together outside the tubes/womb, they didn't create the egg nor the sperm. They still don't know how the bones form after the egg embraces the sperm. Si many things they still don't know... sorry to disappoint you. There are still unexplained infertility that they cannot point out where the problem is. Internet makes every Tom, Dick, Harry and Idiots post anything online. It's a pity!

rocky said...

My fellow black people I hope una dey hear.. While we think as our problems escalate its a sign of end time..people are solving problems that seem to have no solution..it goes to show that nothing is impossible if we put our minds through it..God made us on earth for a reason ..to be fruitful and multiply.. Not destroy it and wait for a new earth.. #peace

White shaaaaa,linda I 4bid every spirit of womb transplant in ur lyf,did I just hear u say amen?bt u too be a gud gal o

Daddy's Girl said...

Good news. Thank God for science

God is at work, the womb must surely carry a baby till nine months

Women are born without wombs? Imagine how many women who might have that condition in Nigeria or who might have had it in days past and having to be scorned for no fault of theirs for being unable to bear kids. Damn! Thank God for technology and science.

So xcited,v an anty who dsnt v a womb,d house hlp she had wen she newly got married was a witch dat she removed her womb n threw it in2 a river.My anty has bin in serious confusion since d gals confesion.

Women are born without wombs? Imagine how many women who might have that condition in Nigeria or who might have had it in days past and having to be scorned for no fault of theirs for being unable to bear kids. Damn! Thank God for technology and science.

I will see this new discovery as successful if d women can carry their babies to term

God is always ready!

success igbinoba said...

Dis is gud news

Good news indeed bt abeg make dem research on how to transplant D*** cos sum pipz own slf...lips sealed.
-linda oya swallow d comment-

Its really a. good news, there's hope for women. Especially african women who go through alot when they cant bear children

hmmmm,na wa.well done

LoL awww just like kidney. Now ladies get read how much for 1 just incase lol

I strongly believe u are one of the idiots!!
That somebody made a comment u think is not accurate doesn't not give u the guts to open that toilet u call mouth,and insult them.
Anonymous fool!!

I want to sell my womb ooooohhh!!.I beg who wan buy.

That was a very hurtful thing to say, I pray God forgives you. Why are you laughing.

it wld work in jesus name

Sweden is one of d highest technologically advanced countries in d world...the best so far in IVF as far as I know! wow!! Dis is great cos they indeed focus on how to improve on health esp for women..and to think health care is completely free for their citizens..God plls grant us brilliant doctors in Nigeria who will one day also perform such wonders thru your blessings..amen

God will crown your effort with success and bring smiles to the wombless through this breakthrough.

Don Peror Francis said...

It will work baring any blood clothing like in d 1st case n also histocompartability wic is vital b4 organ of diff gene composition works.....9c Job

luth still dey put fuel for generator

halliday said...

Good news!

Nice one, great development@mercy

Dr Kevwe said...

Sounds great and is certainly an advancement for the world of Obstetrics & Gynaecology. The reality however is, you might not want to recommend such for a relative seeing that,a recipient of the donated uterus still cannot become pregnant naturally;would require artificial reproductive techniques/IVF and would have to be on immune suppressants for life. Getting a surrogate mother might just have better advantages.