Dozens arrrested in Northern Nigeria as anti-gay law comes into force | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Tuesday 14 January 2014

Dozens arrrested in Northern Nigeria as anti-gay law comes into force

According to this report, they have started arresting people suspected to be gays in the Northern part of the country. Here's an article I found on UK Guardian. Read below
Dozens of gay men are reported to have been arrested across northern Nigeria as police begin to enforce punitive new laws that criminalize same-sex marriages and membership of gay rights organizations.
Dorothy Aken'Ova, executive director of the country's International Centre for Reproductive Health and Sexual Rights, said that the legislation, hailed the "Jail the Gays" law, had led to mass arrests. Police in Bauchi state, she claimed, had a list of 168 purportedly gay men, of whom 38 had been arrested.
The laws, she cautioned, will endanger medical programmes combating HIV-Aids in the gay community. Nigeria has the second-largest HIV epidemic globally with an estimated 3.4 million people living with HIV.

Responding to the spread of anti-gay legislation,Kerry said: "The United States is deeply concerned by Nigeria's enactment of the Same Sex Marriage Prohibition Act. Beyond even prohibiting same-sex marriage, this law dangerously restricts freedom of assembly, association and expression for all Nigerians.

"[The law] is inconsistent with Nigeria's international legal obligations and undermines the democratic reforms and human rights protections enshrined in its 1999 constitution," he added.
"People everywhere deserve to live in freedom and equality. No one should face violence or discrimination for who they are or who they love."

The London-based Human Dignity Trust, which supports legal actions around the world aimed at overturning anti-gay legislation, criticised both the Nigerian and Ugandan acts.
Jonathan Cooper, the trust's chief executive, has described the Ugandan legislation as "a bleak day for human rights. The bill undermines Uganda's human rights protection, breaches its international treaty obligations and violates Uganda's own constitution".

One of the men whose legal challenges the trust supported, Roger Jean-Claude Mbede, 34, died this week after being removed from hospital by his family. He had been jailed in Cameroon for sending a text message to another man saying: "I'm very much in love with you".

Mbede, whose case was highlighted by the Guardian in 2012, was subsequently declared a prisoner of conscience by Amnesty International.

His lawyer, Alice Nkom, said: "[Mbede's] family said he was a curse for them and that we should let him die."

224 comments:

1 – 200 of 224   Newer›   Newest»
MOI said...

So were is d freedum in this county

So fast! No time for wasting time

no time 2 check time

Wow,I weep for nigeria,if only they can fight corruption this way,our demonic leaders have succeeded in diverting our attentions while they loot

Nw nw nwwww hmmm I jst pray dey dnt arrest innocent pple al in d name of anti gay law

Gobe!! So soon...hahahahahaha..Good!

Hehehehehe, this is really funny!! Nice One!! Wondering how they'll write there statements at the Station..

STELCH (Last Man To Comment)

It has started, what all the reasonable ones were worried about is now rearing its ugly face. Well, what now GEJ, when the jail house is full of innocent people, do we start lynching people. Nigeria is not ready for this kind of Law, this just goes to show it.

IkwerreBoy said...

lol when did they enact this law that police have started their madness. Naija or this is one publicity stunt to destroy Jona's Gov.

FAMMIE said...

Already been enforced... More like they have waiting for it to be signed in to law... Gays be ware 14 years awaits

AnnMarie said...

Very good. but i hope the innocent are not being arrested

Ngwanu o setie

shine said...

This country sha!

IkwerreBoy said...

I thought they said it's not a bleaching cream lol. Abeg make your money.

Really and all these hypocrites always aligning SA with HIV not knowing your own has grown smh ignorance this is what happens when issues are not addressed everything seems to be pushed under the rug in Nigeria

Pple arrested cos dey wana b wit who dey love ???i thot Nigeria was ruled by a constitution?? ar we nw governed by religion?? if yes den sex outside marriage is also a crime !!

I know this will b d outcome. innocent will bear d cosiquecies

I hope this law doesn't cause unnecessary fights and killings. For you can be suspected of being gay and not be. There should be adequate proof. Now police will be happy. Plenty cash for bribery.

why is it that in all this, Yerima can still marry kids and remain a senator and the penalty for corruption is not 14 years?

Princess Chinasa Ukaegbu said...

That's funny.

Very good......Na for North them plenty pass

War against gayism#WAG

Lol,interestin!

Afroqueen said...

Linda from today I wont take you serious. I came to the blog to verify UK stories & I find you copying them when you are in Nigeria. I am in UK & I know the Guardian journalists are mostly gays & can make up these stories. Please western media is biased against Africans. You are in Nigeria you give us the story.

Meanwhile Maiduguri bombers are chilling somewhere and may probably never get arrested. Welcom to Nigeria.

~~Success Has No Limitation~~

Okay.... But hope the innocent ones are gonna be released!

MARKET MONITOR said...

is it that in all this, Yerima can still marry kids and remain a senator and the penalty for corruption is not 14 years?
Private Camera Mistakenly Caught A Couple In "The Act" LIVE see pics&video

Stephen Ikiyei said...

Na wa o... Na this kind tin police dey lyk...

Mtcheww I don tire 4 all dis gay dis n dat...........*JESUS SAVES*

Success Key Tutorial, igando said...

this is stupid, gay marriage in nigeria. I believe the northern claim to be religious. Mumu people, success key say so

Phaeton Phoenix said...

Many of you here that are saying "good, arrest them" think it's funny now until...

Buhahahahahaha....if they r guilty,very well. Buh which one is 'the US is concerned wit Nigeria...' bla bla...wuhz their fr*aking concern wit our affairs abi they want 2 colonise us again..abegii.

All dos ones wen she dy talk na her own, it has bin passed nd dt is it,

The problem is not the gay law but how it is interpreted in the north...it will surprise you to see frnds arrested as gays.Its a gud law but the timing is the problem.

Diz realli bad I tel u coz I kw ma Nigeria Police.....innocent pple wil b arrestd too.ve a problm wif ur frd n cal em GAY police wil carry em.dis nt gud coz d Religion we al shout,hw many pple practice it?we al SIN so y nt let pple b demselvez.I dnt care wat pple fink,I wil alwayz Fyt fr Gay right coz itz nt fear 2 force pple 2 do wat dey dnt want

Ó setie na Nu!

We working on dat (in Mama peace voice)

Linda dis news is incomplet o.northern Nigeria,no specifics? And wat hapnd or whr were dey caught?

My friend yerima n corruption is not the issue here. Or are u one of them?

Phaeton Phoenix said...

I sincerely hope and pray many do not fall into the hands of these wicked and troubled Nigerian police men that would make this a cahs making opportunity and be brutally aggressive with absolutely no cause or proof to making an arrest.

You think its all funny now till one of you, or a member of your family or someone you are close to finds him or herself in the right place at the possibly worst time with these failed law enforcers.

SCANDAL said...

My dear anon 7:48.my thoughts exactly.may God help us all in Jesus name.

Igba nri n ofe

miss pearl said...

Good for them

Northerners and all forms of Sins,iniquity and
abnormalities

shakara said...

Isook

Nonsology said...

They should visit Delta state too, they are too much there, in one of the oil companies that I was seeking for a job in Delta, one of there oga untop said i will have to sleep with him before i get employed, that most men in this company are gays, he said they took an oath not to sleep with there wives, and truly those men there wives have the best things in life.

I believe that this is a clear case of misplaced priorities.

In every society, morality kicks in to prevent behaviours that are undesired, in this case homosexuality... banning same might be fruitful, but how proportionate is it to send a gay person to jail for 14 years, when it is not scientifically proven that it is a choice to be gay.

things that are choices, e.g. theft of public funds has 2 years in jail and Yerima can marry his 12 year olds...

but two consenting adults are sent to jail for 14 years! Shame on you Nigeria...

and I am not gay but it is common sense

My fellow corper nearly fall a victim of big politician cum gay in one of Northern States.. My friend has big yansh like Beyonce... Sorry like Ivanovich of Chelsea FC...
-Yemoh.

Lmfao...that's what the law will cause

Ihe di na ulo aputa go ezi. Onye obuna zaa aha nna ya. Arrest all of them faggots

lets think of this
have u ever seen a male dog sexing anoda male dog or vice versa

Its obvious innocent pple will also be arrested.

MO said...

I'm not in support of gays.but I don't think this is the issue at hand.we have more pressing issues.terrorism,kidnapping,corruption amongst high ranking citizens,rape,armed robbery,child bride issues,child trafficking.

The list goes on.will the rich and powerful northern gays be arrested to? Does anal sex depict gayism?.this subject needs deeper Thor.not condoning but please,issues bokun brekete on their legislative tables.this na small fry.

Ok na! Ndi hausa let's go there! All gay men run to America for safety. Zionzukki.

tomiwealth said...

Digressing from the topic
Lindodo why dint u tell us to look out for you on banky and tiwa show tonight
I just spotted you on ebonylife tv discussing this controversial gay *ish*
Am so gonna stay awake to watch you cos its by 11.00pm *tongueout*

Nawa for naija police.They should arrest with proof.HW do u describe a girl dat always refuse his boyfriend sex even after been together for like two year.To d extent that the boy evenn try inducing her with porn movies.

Girls are very touchy touchy.nobody should arrest me for hugging my friend o

Hear...people everywhere shud live in equality...no body should face discrimination for who they are n who they chose to love...the logic is dat I am a kidnapper n I love doing animals... I am also a robber...so no discrimination gainst me...park well joor...
MAPUTOHQ™

Linda whenevr I take my precious time to comment on sth meaningful u dnt upload it y,this isn't a coincidence lyk I used to tink,no wahala,shine its your turn,there's time for everything

Abeg I get some for my back yard make dem come arrest oooo... we go rest now

Naija i hail thee

The problem with nigerians is we are too easily distracted, this law is so stupid why will a govt or anybody else be able to dictate what pple do in their bedroom and if we all keep quiet the next law may be against religeon, self expression on the internet or another human right.I'm not gay and I don't support it btw whatever u choose to shove up ur a** is ur business, in d midst of all nigeria's problems and d various humiliations that we face daily all over the world, our president and law makers picked THIS to solve! This is d height of stupidity! To d morons cheering this abuse of human right... I hope u will be full of joy when u r thrown in d slammer for wearing a pink shirt or worse mobbed! By d way this was how the nazi's started wit the jews rights!

Linda,
This law will be used to prosecute innocent people. People who have problems with others will use it to intimidate them. Nightclub owners and hoteliers will be intimidated.We already have laws in our statute books to deal with this issue. GEJ is causing confusion.

Naija i hail thee

X said...

It's appalling that admist the many socio-economic problems plaguing our nation, not to mention the political instability and poverty, our leaders have seen fit to concern themselves with homosexuals.

Not only is that the LEAST of our problems right now it is also one for which the state is fighting a losing battle. I am a Christian and I believe homosexuality is wrong. But i'm not going to lose sleep over the gay community any more than I would over an adulterer or alcoholic. Let God judge them. Or are we going to do His work for Him? Wouldn't that negate His omnipotency?

Nigeria is not a religious state. We are not Saudi Arabia or the Vatican. We have a constitution that guarantees freedoms. What two consenting adults do in their privacy has no bearing on my life or its path. Homosexuality cannot be equated with murder or corruption or whatever crime which in public or in private has a direct impact on hundreds of lives.

For me the saddest part of this is all of you celebrating it. Let's not forget it starts with things like this. Tomorrow, laws would be passed that would make women wearing trousers a crime or outlaw the watching of foreign movies because they corrupt us. Little by little our rights will be eroded and I hope you all will keep applauding then.

God help us all

diamondblinqZ said...

We will qet 2dat soon. I am sure he will relocate.

Mr president has got my ovation on this one

Lolz***if I peck mi mum,dem go fit arrest us abi***well investigate properly b4 u kill pipo o**divy

Ayuba Abdullahi Jr said...

Yerima has nothing to do with gay rubbish, No religion on earth prohibit marrying 13yrs olds but Gay is against all religion

Amarachukwu said...

That's good but I hope are not arrested here.

Cheezy said...

Money making things! Nigerian police I hail!!

X said...

There is already talk of banning the Internet and social media and blogs. Little by little your rights will be snatched from you. But first let us destroy the gays

mulla baby said...

Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere,I love this path of the Nigeria Government.

ese said...

Make una come carry PELA' o!!! Why be gay? It's sickening!

Pity us with ur shorthand, abeg.

diamondblinqZ said...

Exactly my totz n hope it doesn't boost corruption in NPF sha

The hatred being shown through people's comments is saddening, especially from those who claim to be Christians. While I am not gay and do not agree with homosexuality I will never condemn someone for their sexual preference. Who are we to sit in perverse judgement of others like this, a sin is a sin before God and none of us are perfect, if Jesus walked among us today would he treat human being like this, talk about other human beings like animals because their sexual preference differs from our own. One of the callings of a Christian is to bring non believers/sinners to Christ, you will get NO WHERE with such hatred in your heart and do the God you serve such a disservice by treating humans this way. Of all the things facing Nigeria today this should be at the bottom of the list, who was petitioning for gay marriage in the first place please?! Misplaced priorities, if the people of Nigeria had his much passion against the corruption etc going on then perhaps Nigeria would be in a much better place than it is right now #rantover #justmyopinion #weallhaveone

Linda pls stop telling us of people that are against d anti-gay law bcos they are all demons in human form or are u one of dem??? D end is indeed near! God pls may my generation never b part of dz evil/abormination! #endtimetins

honest critic said...

Now dat was fast, what abt implementing a law against cradle robbers. Its funny how the Nigeria law makers are fast to handle inconsequal matters while the real problem is staring them in the face.

Hmm this isgetting more serious o,good for the G community

Oya make una arrest uti nwachukwu and alex

USA!UK!...they will not fight corruption...they will not help remove a bad leader...all they know Ȋ̝̊̅§ †Φ Invade other countries they have fears about without judicial claim α̲̅πϑ try †Φ run other peoples govt! We don't want Gay rights I̶̲̥̅̊n̶̲̥̅̊ our country..leave us alone α̲̅πϑ enjoy your gay rights over there....what Ȋ̝̊̅§ the issue there?

Nyc move

Linda, u are taking this personal. Forget religion, as a scientist it is so abnormal. It seems the lower animals are d ones with the common sense than we d higher animals. I don't support homosexuality but I feel people should be given a chance to repent. The prodigal son sinned, came to his senses and repented. If sinners were still stoned today, who will survive? These homosexuals need our prayers. We all need prayers coz it's a crazy world we're living in. SAY NO TO HOMO!

When the US is concerned for you, you better be concerned for uself...Obama,thanks but no thanks,we can take care of ourslvs. And Bia Linda, its like u're agnst ds gay prohibition law oo...u're just doin evrything 2fustrate our govt 2day.

Fair nt fear.TML

Nice. Just get rid of all them. It will even lower the HIV EPIDEMIC. Crazies who think putting their dicks into another man ' anus is good.

wumy said...

Total rubbish

Nzuonyi said...

Abeg I hail Nigeria 4 dis ooooo but dey shuld nt 4get 2 jail all corrupt leaders

Chichi said...

SFTU.
What has any gay person ever done to ypu.?
Who made you the arbiter of morals.

PM nwannem! Okwua abia go n'nmezu. Onye obuna zaa aha nna ya!

This can get out of control for the hunted and hunters.

FiFi said...

The trouble with this new bill, is police will shift their focus to something petty as same sex relationship, the law will focus more on dis new crime, dedicate time and resource to the fight against same sex relationships. . . Nigeria faces greater and more important ills than homosexuality, to me, this is just wrong and it looks like "over-eagerism" on the part of law makers, now, some newbie on d block of law enforcement will try to make a name for himself through same sex relationships,. . . Please, we need to free this people, . . .so long as they are not having sex with minors, i feel that's God's job to condemn them not ours. . .truth be told the only reason most of us can't seem to wrap our heads around same sex relationships is because our religion has raised us to believe its sin. . . If that be the case let God dole out the punishment and repercussions for that, . . .i don't see anyone hurrying to pass a bill against adultery now do I? We are conveniently making laws around to either promote or protect the perversion of the majority. . .where is the bill against adultery, why is child bride being made acceptable by law? . . .Nah, this is just us choosing the easy way out, Nigerians will go blood crazy, i know lots of innocent people will lose their lives over this or in the least have their human rights infringed on in the least. . . This is law making at its laziest. . .that is what i see in this same sex bill. . .go against, embezzlement, provide good roads, create and sustain jobs, prosecute the corrupt, go after these important things, things that impact the quality of lives of Nigerians, . . . If at all the law wants to get involved in anti-homosexuality then the only step i feel it has against it should be not approving same sex marriages. . .but placing criminal prosecution on homosexuality. . .nope, that's petty, in line with the big picture.

I hope this law doesn't cause unnecessary fights and killings. For you can be suspected of being gay and not be. There should be adequate proof. Now police will be happy. Plenty cash for bribery.

Lol@ colonize us again!!!

mimi pearl said...

Britain colonized us not United states

Ta! Shut up ya mouth! Hell is waiting 4 u sha

U r so gay believe that

I haven't heard of any reports here abeg! How come it's a UK paper that breaks the news of arrest first?

Words of wisdom here. Nigeria and hypocrisy. .. there's no limit.

Seriously I don't kia, so depressed right now to giv a f**k.

JJC, you said "forget religion" and in the same tone talked about the "prodigal son". Wow, your religious hypocrisy is sifting through. .. you might want to check it.

gbemi said...

Fucking liar! Gay men r known to be picky not perversive! Ull most likely not be their type!

Oh Really? You can take care of yourselves? Is this before or after you import foreign cars shamelessly? Or is it before or after you import resources that you have in abundance, even more than those you import them from? What about your imported rice, tomato (which we can suplly but you shamelessly import? ). Please, dont let your ignorance show so badly, its embarrassing, and just so you know,Iits not only Nigerians that read and ccomment on this blog. So when you make silly ignorant comment such as this, you may likely start to promote the idea of painting all Nigerians with a broad brush- as foolish.

The foolishness of nigerian leaders and the foolishness of their followers... Some of those women who support this abuse of human expression and right foolishly are married to the best straight actors as husbands, meanwhile they love to keep,hold and kiss man..you the foolish follower who is a male, have their best brothers,mentors or even fathers who are gayz but actor so straight...there is nothing new under the sun,everyman with his own free will as higher animals. My point, you with your existment rolling over this law is the reason why your country is backward...personally let's go war, trust me the gay community can buy nigeria 10 times over,so once they got the go ahead, just one apple to whoever is passing this bill and case is closed!

Is dis one a fool of wat? So cos a girl refuses 2 av sex wit her bf be it 5yrs or 10yrs....it means she's a lesbian or isn't dat wat u mean?foolish boy! U beta grow up,so rltnshps is all abt sex ryt? God frowns on fornication,fool!wit all d gbagaun wey u dey blow,nonsense!

I hope the innocent one won't be arrested. See how fast they've started arresting people. I so wish d corrupt ones will be arrested same way so fast.

gbemi said...

Just cuz u can type anything doesn't mean u have to be stupid. This is how runts like u ruin ppls lives cuz they r ahead of u!

Sex outside marriage is illegal. Dont force him to shut up, he has the right to speak his mind just like you do. Just bc you do not like someone else's comment doesnt make it any less of a comment. Shame on all you religious hypocrites out there. Shame on you. Stop fkg sm1 else's husband for money, so giving or collecting bribes, stop sleeping with underage girls, stop stealing in governmental places, stop taking tithes from your congregation and using it for personal lavish use, stop fkg when you're not married. If you want to go the Jesus route, you all do this and it is a punishable offense. You don't see anyone putting cuffs on you and leading you to court or jail, so y criticize on the basis of religion someone else. Hypocrites are what the bunch of you are, liars, shame on all you bigots out there. No, im not gay, but Nigerians and hypocrisy is just gut wrenching, enough already.

i cant 4get dat day, d day i was passin by n a man dat surposed 2 b an age mate wit my dad saw me n said, youngman com n i'll make u hapi dan any gal can, i turnd arnd 2 knw if he was reffrn 2 any1 arnd bt finally knew it waz me. I SWEAR 2 GOD WHO CREATD ME, Dat day i felt lyk stabbin him, i was confusd, was embarrased at such a region of demons dat cud posses a man 2 get 2 dat xtnt..... Hw i wishd i cud joined in d TASKFORCE or whicheva agency dat is carryn out d arrest.

God purnish devil

So u also wanna screw a man's hole or what? Stfu if u are lacking what to say. And all those ranting shld as well lick a hot iron. Nonsense! By day way it freedom Mr MOI.

R u gay?...

success igbinoba said...

Na wa oooooooooo

mzAida j said...

Chi chi are u gay, if yes pls send ur address so that police will come and carry you.

Chinyere ok. said...

Hahahah! Nija oso gaa eme ugbua

ReXX said...

Its obvious that some innocent people will be arrested,in a country like Nigeria where corruption rules, the police will deliberately arrest innocent ones just to get money from them n release them so y'all saying very good don't be surprised that one day they might arrest you or ur siblings n lie abt u or them being Gay. This is Nigeria where the innocent ones suffer.God HELP US

Hehehehe dats gud
#WorldfamousVictor

Just say, "No, thank you" and move on. Have you ever tried to hit on a girl a girl and she said "No thank you, not interested". You know its okay to say No when you want no part of something. What should girls do when some nitwit licks his lips suggestively at a girl walking by? Or making sexually suggestive comments at a girl? Im sure you're guilty of this at one point in time, and im sure the girl is not think what demon possessed you or fantasized at the thought of stabbing you for admiring her. Stop being melodramatic. If im not that into a guy thats trying to hit on me or make sexually suggestive advances, I say No and I move on or I dont even bother to say anything at all. Point is, careful throwing those huge stones with your glass house right next door.

Jacob Baba God bless u! Mr moi-moi wot other bloody freedom to u require?! If not allowing gay niccas get married or them not being allowed to display their affection in public & wot not means we ain't free, may we never have freedom.

CU said...

This is a damn shame! Of all the corruption going on in Nigeria, this is what they are most concerned about? And what makes them think HIV/AIDS is mostly prevalent in gay men. Lesbians nko? Drug (needle) users nko? Foolishness and illiteracy. Start with teaching your youngings about safe sex practices.

lol where are the gays!! hahaha

Lmao... I was thinking the same! Another avenue for our men in black to "increase revenue". Dudes be careful o, u just might get arrested if u look @ another nigga for more than 5secs.

Those commenters supporting gays & claiming not 2b gays r mad.. Madam linda if u like eat diz comment & don't publish it.. *vv* reporting

olori said...

Just knew something lyk dis will happen soon,I jst hope dey dnt arrest d wrong set of people

You know what? Alot of people here are cowards ,yes cowards and pretenders you think supporting the west is the way or supporting what you are supposed to support ? If you parents don't mate, would you be opportuned to come to LIB and comment. Self fish people. And besides it's just disgusting men...Very very.. what kinda of stupid feeling for each other .Rubbish...Look guyz take it or leave it what is bad is bad...Why are people against it cos it's bad...simple..

Abdul yes yerima has nothing to do wit it but u shdnt say no religion becuz it is only islam dat allow children to be f**kd by idiots like u and yerima. Banza bakwai like u, dey don dey catch una for north na and later una go say na una holy pass.

Nigerians are hypocrites..when pope francis said who is he 2 judge most of u condemned his words nw all of u re here condemning d anti gay law.. I'm kinda confused here...had it been is d oda way round u pple 'll still condemn Gej eh! Which wan we go cum folo

You're gay jor, carry your leaking ass go

People who comment here are so dumb, how can u say its normal to send an innocent person to jail for 14years for living his or her life, when the real criminal bombing n stealing national fund, kidnapping are walking freely on the street. Anyone supporting this rubbish is just pathetic cos we have more serious problems in this country. N hope they will also arrest all the people in power practising it, we all know that its d innocent poor masses that will suffer from dis. So ashamed of this country n d mentality of the people.

No one is saying legalize gay marriage but this law is going to create a monster. Innocent people (gay or not) will suffer!!What if someone hates you and reports you as Gay to police or gets a crowd to lynch you?Those fighting against this law are not necessarily supporting homosexualism, they are seeing the bigger picture and fighing for human right and LIFE!This law is dangerous....

Again BIGGER ISSUES NIGERIANS BIGGER ISSUED LINDA!!!!!!! Its stupidity worrying d legislature

halliday said...

Dis gay fin is soooo irritatin I just can't imagine how same sex enjoy romance nd all oda enjoyable tins!!

dickhead

Govt should also pass law mandating every girl to have a boyfriend.

Well said. I am a Christian and do not support homosexuality but God should be the judge of that. Nigeria is not a religious state.

Let he who is without sin cast the first stone

Obed Ogbonna said...

Hmmm... That fast? I'm really not suprised. I guess this is what the government wanted. Nigerian Police, it's your season, make all the money you can make while it lasts. Go on arresting innocent people calling them gays. Shaking my head for this country.

Amaka said...

@Annonymous 8:55pm thank you very much. Nigerians who died and made you gods? Since when did we become a moral police? People are stealing our billions and impoverishing us, we have not thrown them into jail, but we are jailing two same sex adults what they are doing behind closed doors? Shame on you Nigerians! Shame on you! For as long as you are fucking someon's husband, having threesomes, having anal sex, have pre-marital sex, cheating on your wife, you do not have a right to speak out against gay men and women. They have done nothing wrong! Are we basing this stupid law on religion? Religion is Nigerian's undoing! Until we seperate church/mosque from state,and conduct our affairs with logic and committment, we shall remain a third world country. Hypocrites!

Man: Oga police,I no be gay o
Police: Ta,shut up dia,I saw u admiring that mango tree for more than 5mins,how can u not be gay?

Amaka said...

@Ayuba you are really clueless. So you think an old man marrying a 13yr old in this day and age is not peadophilia? May your daughters be married to 60 year olds at that age! And since when did our laws in Nigeria become determined by religion? See your mentality, that's why we shall never vote for people like Buharia, because he will set the wheels in motion for laws based on religion I.e ban alcohol and start harrassing people with a so-called moral force like those in Kano. Hypocrites

Amaka said...

Can you imagine our stupidity and small mindedness in this country?

fool cant ÿ̲̣̣̣̥ø̲̣̣̥u̶̲̥̅̊ read till †ђξ end. He stated ȋ̝̊̅̄t categorically d̶̲̥̅̊ª† he's not gay. Mumu

I have a frnd dat says he hates gay sex. Omo bt d night I romance am d guy dick stand wella n I know he was awake bt he was pretending he was asleep.I was jerkin him off n he enjoyed it I guess. Hdehehehehdhehehehehehe pretenders n hypocrites

Amaka said...

It is because of people like you that Nigeria will always have problems and be divided along tribal lines. Why do you have to generalise like that and call Northerners a bad name? How would you feel if people were to speak about South-westerners that way? All human being are created equal and have good and bad parts; no matter the tribe,religious,ethnicity or sexual orientation. Behave yourself my friend

Amara said...

Lol oh my country. So when you fill up your prisons with 165 innocent men, where will you keep boko haram bombers and real criminals? It's not like in America/London where we have huge jails. Prisoners have rights too believe it or not.

Well said. Very well said

GAY BASTARD!!

That guy in my office complex who is always wearing tight coloured ankle pants, I pity you o. Nah so so settle you go dey use all your salary settle now. Berra go look for TD Jakes trouser before police gbab you. I know people in the corridors of power and nollywood that should be arrested. I promise free legal services

Best comment Ever

People fear what they don't understand, Hate what they can't conquer....Nas said that. Do you guys think by jailing gay and lesbians makes them less gay??? Hahahaha Stupid fucks!!! Alexandra the great was gay!!! That was before Christ you fucking thwarts, People are born gay!!! Deal with it, the issue with Nigeria is hypocrisy, we focus on unimportant things. How does someone being gay affects u???? Busy bodies!!! Get a life. I am fully in support of gay rights and equality for everyone. I don't care what you sexual orientation is. 99% of our problems are created by straight people!!! Straight people are ruining us in Nigeria. OBJ, GEJ, Tukur etc. I can't wait until these self righteous hypocrites discover a family member or a close friend is gay and get lynched and burnt alive by a mob for being gay. I hope after such a thing u go happy??? GOATS!!!

@ onyxx godwin I knw say e dey pain u wella but remember say naija nor go accept u as gay so u better go america where its legal and stop talking rubbish.

so sorry for most of u here, commenting and backing up the bill, the real gays and lesbians are very careful as the gay world had sent out millions of warning to Nigerian gays via twitter and facebook telling them to be very, very careful, now tell me, who are those that would be in jail, if not the straight people mistakenly to be gay

LISTEN! Homosexuality has been around since the bible!! I am not GAY! i am happily married, but this law makes no sense! Who is going to arrest the rich politician that goes to Unis to pick up young boys? The country does not even have the structure to support this. These people do NOT chose to be the way they are...i remember beating small boys in sec school cos we caught the kissing....some people are attracted to the same sex while others are attracted to the opposite sex. Half of these people we look up to around the world are gay men and women, it has not stopped them from success. Listen, I understand if you don't like them, I get irritated sometimes when a man is acting like a woman, but thats his life! For the government to support that sets us back a few centuries! How about we ban those fucking "anglicans", "muslims", "whites"..yes ...lets ban everything we dislike and think its immoral. 300 years ago, a spanish bishop said blacks were a hybrid of animals and indigenous americans..treated like animals and "BANNED"!!! Let fight the real fight people....Lets fight the BASTARD that call himself a politician, yet uses the money for his whole state to secure his familys future....the t.o orji's and all this illiterates leading us ...OBJ, IBB and those clowns...lets banned them.....everybody dey fear those ones tho...na homosexual wey you power dey...let GEJ's son turn out to be GAY ....then we can talk ....

Thank you....more sane Nigerians...Lets speak up....this law does not make sense.

2014 resolution: getting your business recognized worldwide. What’s yours?

Put your business online and get noticed. Save 30%* on domains, hosting, website development & more. Click to get started: http://shop.sodaka.com/
sales@sodaka.com
www.sodaka.com

You just spoke my mind @afroqueen,everyone knows 65% of The Guardian staff are gay, I am not against or for them though but I think Linda should verify stories properly bfor posting them, by the way is this really the issue at stake in dis country atm? The govt be passing unnecessary bills that adds little or no value to an average nigerian's life, I weep n pray for this country :'( *sigh* its well with us

its a shame really that in the 21st century Nigerians can be this gullible Mr PRESIDENT AKA GEJ SIGNS A BILL CRIMINALIZING GAY RIGHTS BLAH BLAH AND EVERY ONE IS CLAPPING FOR HIM OKK.Everyone knows its not a right thing but is this what we should be talking about right now.NOW A QUICK REALITY CHECK
BOKO HARRAM BOMBS MAIDUGURI TODAY NO ONE TALKS ABOUT IT NO ONE COMPLAINS
500BILLION NAIRA FUEL SUBSIDY MONEY IS MISSING EVRY BODY KEEPS QUIET
STELLA ODUAH STEALS 250 MILLION EVRY ONE SHUTS UP MATTER END
YU DONT HAVE LIGHT U ARE USSING GEN
U DONT HAVE WATER U SINK BORE HOLE
URE CHILDREN BROTHERS AND SISTERS ARE STUCK AT HOME FOR 5 MONTHS THANKS TO ASSU STRIKE U DID NOTHING
ONE OLD MAN MARRIED A 13 YEAR OLD GIRL DIVORCES HER AND MARRIES A 12 YEAR OLD GIRL! Old men are busy forcing their old dicks into our little sisters!! And we are here CLAPPING FOR THEM
URE A CIVIL SERVANT THEY ARE OWING YOU BACK PAY FOR 7MONTHS
THE ROADS WATER WAYS AND AIR ARE NOT SAFE
U CANT BUY SOMETHING FROM AMAZON BECAUSE YOU ARE IN NIGERIA
PLEASE BEFORE U CLAP THE NEXT CLAP THINK ABOUT YOUR LIFE IN NIGERIA IF U ARE REALLY HAPPY WITH IT,THEN CLAP AS HARD AS U WANT
BUT IF U ARE NOT AND U CLAP THEN YOU HAVE NOTHING TO LIVE FOR KILLYOURSELF!!!we've got a whole lot of unsolved problems on ground and here we are working ourself over the anti gay rights law!!!now they have signed it,there is no going back!let us see what else they'll use in distracting gullible nigerians from the crucial issues!!!!

Amaka .if only you could educate these foolz. And possible expand their partial brains..smh

yes... they are gay dogs ...do your research

And ain't u sad, depressed and hv nothing else to do??

Now the real gay guys are not the feminine ones whom you think you see out there. Gay men are very undetectable and extra cautious now. They would marry your sisters now, your old aunties wey no get husband to cover up their act. And then watch out for more crashing marraiges and broken home. People wey dey insult another person say na gay, your brothers, fathers, uncles or relatives are probably sucking another man dick somewhere you don't know. And you're here busy running your mouths like typewritters. Oya oh police make you na dey arrest wella now. Let the show begin and let's see if it improves Nigeria's Economy, or make Nepa leave light 247, or get you a job. Rubbish. I don't support gay marriage but people just have to try to mind their own business and what to men do inside their bedroom shouldn't be your concern. Maybe yahoo boyz you like to gather in a close door are probably having an orgy too. Abi na

All religions also prohibit fornication, adultery and many other things that are rampant today. Would you be so vocal in support of a law criminalizing sex outside marriage? Let's try to examine the reasons for singling out this class of people. They are playing your hate and ignorance for cheap points at the detriment of your cousins and brothers and you are letting them. Open your eyes.

SIMPLYCOCK said...

BASTARDS!
PERVERTS!!
Pushing lies and propaganda as news!!!
And none of Nigeria's news medium could pick such a story and air it to the delight of citizens????!!!
Homosexual British journalists kicking...
Only a society that has collapsed into the nadir of moral desensitization and depravity would condone homosexuality...
Homosexuality constitutes a rejection of God and creation...
It is apostasy...
It is the sounding of the death knell over humanity!!!
The spirit of Lilith, the goddess of rebellion and consort of Lucifer has taken over and now in charge of human destiny, reducing men to vaginas, depopulating the rank of men...
Know this: It is not womankind that the demon spirit of homosexuality has as its target for destruction; it is mankind...
Homosexuality is a religion, the most reckless heresy of the age!!!!!!

I woke up this morning after reading all the anti gay comments depression has taken over...nigerian youth are not only ignorant but also stupid...it will concern u when your bro gets killed or ur sister or your pastor sef...I guess I went to bed in Nigeria and woke up in hell....

Meanwhile the people who are trying to give job employment and improve a working facility for your broke ass and jobless country..they re now arresting. Pple who have d solution to push a companyor enironment will be arrest. The blackman likes to attribute wisdom to african but they don't even have the low animal level of reason talk much. My point wisdom is needed...we fathers and husbands who re guy and their foolish wise don't knw or arrogant kids but its...non of your or my damn freaking business. And if I check these commentors some went to school meanwhile nothing in that brains..they say its religion and culture!

i'm not gay,and i dont intend to be one,matter of fact the way dis homosexual shit has been going is disgusting,there was a time in this world when guyz find it insultive if you call them gay,but its like the trend of the moment now...but i dont support arresting them,being gay its rather spiritual than unlawful.

ZODIAC MAGAZINE said...

To those applauding the President over the signing into
law of that disgraceful hate bill, what makes you think that
the homosexual children of the rich are in this country?
What makes you certain that, right now, at least one
member of the National Assembly is not aware that their
son or daughter is gay? Now who is that law enforcement
officer with two heads that will dare arrest them? Are we
finished with pension thieves and certificate fraudsters?
A law has been passed to make life difficult for a small
percentage of the population and people are happy. A
desperate Senator, hounded by his people for value for
their votes, jumps up one day at plenary, and sets in
motion a bill to bury the defenceless, and people are
dancing.
Who have gays hurt? Is homosexuality a human epidemic
now that has to be stemmed before it gets out of hand?
Because that is the impression I get from some very, very
silly remarks.
This is a country where tax payers' money is used to fly a
Senator abroad for "injuries" sustained from rubber bullets,
and somehow sex between adults is a national problem!
Shame.
Don't get it twisted: Climb up the highest mountain, sink to
the lowest depth below the sea, there is absolutely NO
argument against homosexuality. Not one. :|

Nne u're very intelligent...wat a comment

Black Prince of Africa said...

It's never our culture to accept homosexual, time will come when the whole world will come to Nigeria to seek for deliverance cos God lives and operates from Nigeria to other country's. God bless Nigeria!!!

Blitz Crush said...

All of ɣ☺υ here r jst talking out of ignorant,most of our celeb both male n female r all victims of §åɱ£ sex thing including our gonvernors n senators even pastor so †ђξ judgement shuld start 4rm dem nt mere man cos D̶̲̥̅̊ε̲̣̣̣̥γ̲̣̣̥ pay dudes Τ̅☺ get dem suck,he Đ‎​‎‎​​ąτ̲̅ is free of sin shuld cast †ђξ 1st stone.

Charmie said...

This is whr I ve problem wit najia"suspected"u gota be kindin me! I thot wen dey r bn caught in d act I.e publicly..abeg dey shd leave those pple!na robbery dem do?wey dem be suspect.najia tin must alys different.mshewww

So arrests where made in Nigeria and its only UK guardian that heard about it? So Linda you had to go to UK to be informed about people being arrested in Nigeria abi? So 24 hours later, no other news outfit has got this same news? Uk Guardian must really have CIA type reporters.

So this is how they intend to fight the anto gay marriage law by bringing fake propaganda? Threatening us with HIV and all? This is just too funny.

Loooool

most straight guys who are backing the bill and supporting the arrest check well have either had sex with guys or would love yo......i know xo many guys who long to have sex with their fellow guys,some even njoy it......quote me anywhere 89 percent of young guys btw d age of 17-30 who say dey are straight have either had gay sex and enjoyed it or they long to do so........i know xo many guys who say they hate gay guys in front of their frnds but @d back they go hunting for them......please guys be real to yourselves and stop the pretence

Weldone Goodluck! For the first time in the history of your reign you have done sooo noble!! Again I say weldone!!! And to my dear senators, loads of love guys, You guys are the best! Mwuah!!

I just laugh at all the ignorance on display here. With all our morality look where we are as a nation. We think we are so morally upright when 90% of us will end up in hell yes even with the people you all are condemning.

...=))º°˚˚°ºнaĦaнaº°˚˚°º=)) ,so so funny,dunno where we r heading 2,#Justpassing Oooº° #

When it s time to fight Human right they jump into action but the insecurity, corruption and socio-economic underdevelopment is left to flourish.......

olu said...

That's easy... Kill yourself :)

Do we get rewards for naming and shaming gays we know?know quite a few that need the 14yrs behind bars,lol.

olu said...

Ok... So I'm a bit confused... The law just got enacted and there's a list of 168 suspects (with 38 arrests already)... With this kind of efficiency, Boko haram shouldn't have made it past year 1.
And I think our most esteem president is just starting to get a hang of this whole "Politics" thing... "When you sense the people are about to turn against you, give them a war to distract them (G.W. Bush :) )... Or perhaps a law that has absolutely no bearing on the corpse-of-an-economy we seem to have been enjoying". Not gay (never been... Never will be), but instead of rejoicing over this law that has no positive (or negative) effect on your income, get MAD at the fact that we still don't know what happened to $10.8 BILLION!!! (Accounting error? ...I think not!) ...get MAD at the puzzling idea that gunmen shot at Oduah AFTER she got armored cars...
THINK! my fellow Nigerians... THINK!!! and stop clowning around on social media about issues you should be livid about.
Oh, and the biggest message in religion (at least the two major ones in Nigeria) is Love (not Hate)... Consult your respective religious books.
#notasermon,justathought#

Anti-Adultery said...

Truly Nigeria is a very stupid country, filled with ignorant bigots and uneducated fools, Nigerians have misplaced their priorities, instead of us fighting this stupid corrupt government that have been stealing our money, we are here jubilating about Anti-gay laws between two consenting adults behind closed doors, we are not fighting paedophile, corruption, fornicators, adulterers. In as much as being gay is wrong, we have no right to discriminate against them. What of Aristos and gigolos, we must have an Anti-aristo and gigolo law. In years to come we will look back and laugh at our stupidity just like when the whites had their Anti Bi-racial fever

olu said...

This is (bar none) the funniest comment I've ever read... The bubble you live in must be tinted... ON THE INSIDE!
Or you could've just been high when you typed this... To which I'd say "send me two of whatever it is you just smoked"
Clown

Anti-Adultery said...

May God get rid of you if you have ever commited any sins before... Ignorant fool

Anti-Adultery said...

You are mad if you have ever commited any sins before

Anti-Adultery said...

Fornication and adultery is also a sin, people must go to prison if they are not virgins on their wedding day

Anti-Adultery said...

May God punish you if you have ever sinned or committed adultery or fornication

You people praising this moving are just the DAFTEST human beings on earth. Better beg God to take you back to your default setting.

First of all i don't like the homosexual thing but, its nNOT MY BUSINESS...Are they disturbing me? NO? Are they asking me to be gay? NO? Are they consenting adults? YES. Throwing people in jail over their sexual preference is just stupid. Is that the issue with Nigeria? There are no jobs, no power, our roads are death traps the list of atrocities are endless. Stella Oduah looted to buy 2 cars all sorts of rubbish are happening under his BIG nose and all he can do is sign anti-gay laws quickly without thinking of the consequences. Now trust Nigeria if you don't like someone they could be reported as gay,and get thrown in jail. RUBBISH!!!I weep for Nigeria, this is why we get treated anyhow.

If polygamy can be a crime in the western world, then why force gay right on Africans, the same way the holy book frowned at polygamy in d New Testament is still d say way it also condemn gaydom both in the old & New Testament, Europe, America, UK and the rest of the world shud just allow Africa take charge of their own laws & mistakes, if it is Middle East & North Korean they will mind their business!

MissBusyBody said...

BokoHaram struck a few days ago, yet no arrests were made... But the Nigerian Police are quick to swoop down and arrest men who they SUSPECT are gay.. SMH, this is DontAsk DontTell all over again... Failed State!!

If it is about immorality, then every other immoral act (fornication, adultery, covetousness etc) should be punishable by law, then you will ALL be behind bars... Hypocritical bunch!!

No I am not gay, ignorance in all it's glory, your parents must be so proud

U hediotic fag, say wt u kno only.. Wu says people are born gay? Wt scientific theorem do u av to prove ds baseless statement of urs.. U choose to b gay n dnt bother changin ur ways cos u find pleasure in it, same way ppl find pleasure in other sinful acts so ma friend say wt u kno n dnt mislead people here

Lyna Davies said...

Nonso Ibe Ɣ‎​õΰ Α̲̅®ε̲̣̣̣̥ S̶̲̥̅Ơ̴̴̴̴̴̴͡ High! Ǧє̲̣̣̣̥† Ÿ̲Ơ̴̴̴̴͡uя head examine.... You hypocritical Pig!

U are d bigger uneducated full ok not every body in nig,as d only educated person in nig what,ve u been able to impart other than dis derogatory comment

Woman be quiet!!! This is totally wrong Wrong wrong!!! In the eyes of God and man, we shld not encourage such act, it leaves the younger ones coming up no choice but to want to also dab into such act because it has been shown to be ok! We cannot and in Gods name will never allow such, I judge no one but common do u guys read ur bibles at all, God destroyed a whole city for that singular act, who said pole in that city didn't commit other sinful act?? Have u ever wondered ? That shod tell u how much God hates such, God created man in his own image and made out of man woman to be his companion and asked them to be fruitful and multiply and fill the earth for Gods sakeeeeee!!!! Do u tink God does not knw what he was doing?? How can God create man in his own image and the man be gayyyy??? Pls guys you guys need to look beyond the people and face the act, it is wrong! Absolute nonsense I must say, if thr was no woman and it was ok for two men to luv themselves n marry "MY GOD" the sound of it sef,,, you and I would never be here today, so these so cald gay pole shld not be made comfortable to tink it's ok to be gay cos it's NOT! And for those saying pole that commit other sins shld be arrested as well, pls don't be dumb, every country has laws outside of the bible, this is a grievous sin and crime that is seen out rightly if allowed and it affects every religion, race,ethnicity and you name it, no religion has ever said it's ok to be gay, None whatsoever!! But for example islams believe it's ok to divorce,marry 4 wives and so on while the bible does not allow that, but d Buddhist,xtains,Muslims,ehkiest etc say it is WRONG For same sex to ewwwwww.......linda u better post my msg or else hmmm, cos you never post my msgs

Forgot to add, that dis gay we are shouting about, really of what good is it to the society?? It is wrong in every way, that's the quickest and easiest way HIV is contracted , thru anal sex, and the same cursed guys wld go and have sex with girls and infect them, Kai May God forgive us all and have mercy, it's pathetic honestly, all of you that think it's ok to be gay, may you children or brothers or sisters not be gay, so u wldnt ve to prepare for two men or two gals getting married and pictures be posted on lindaikeji and Bella naija Amen

«Oldest ‹Older   1 – 200 of 224   Newer› Newest»