Photos: Rapper Lyrical behind bars in expressive new photoshoot | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Saturday 18 January 2014

Photos: Rapper Lyrical behind bars in expressive new photoshoot

30 year old rapper, Lyrikal (real name, Jesse James), has released some photos of himself behind prison bars. The concept driven photos are part of the rapper's personal campaign to communicate the challenges of the average young person living in Nigeria today. Continue...

According to Lyrikal; "Hip Hop is a form of self-expression that tries to challenge or merely evoke the mood of the circumstances of an environment. The bars are a metaphorical play on the musical jargon; where they represent a point in a verse which contains the punchline for a rap - this is why we used sixteen photos. But most importantly, the bars represent the physical oppression, mental captivity and creative limitations facing the Nigerian youth today"

Lyrikal borrows quotes from William Glasser, Musiq Soulchild & Nelson Mandela in the expression of his call to freedom.

99 comments:

AnnMarie said...

May ur wish not come true in Jesus name

Nice concept.Dis chap exudes intelligence.Its a true representatn of Nigerian situation

Nice Pics Brov, i second That...

FAMMIE said...

Ok... Seen, heard

are we sure he is not for real!! just saying!

Linda have u get the info about Sen. Magnus Abe in UK, the Uk health had blast Nigeria medical practioners for allowing sen Abe to be flown to UK without any trace of bullet or wounds in his body after paying 50,000 pounds what a shame to naija report said there was no trace of bullet yet they paid £50,000k

owk seen.

Peejay said...

Deep stuff...

Ok next

Zenki brown said...

#itsallrite#

I understand the concept,anti-gay bill 14 years in prison.

I like d wordz,reali gud

I like the concept

Making sense unlike all dis dumbheads

May God not allow u go to prison

He communicated @ least now I know him

This one na Photoshop shoot!

Shocking explicit photos of portharcourt sectary leaks online

You must all agree with me that we are almost all behind bars, as long as we aim as at a target of our individual dreams

visits us too at Nigerian entertainment news

I really love his concept of "behind the bar".... However,I don't wish to live behind the bar in my life.
-Yemoh.

Inyavic said...

Who took the pix?

Dpes he have to use a prison to express himself?`

9NaijaOracle said...

So refreshing to see an artiste with an actual message to youths...devoid of sexual innuendos and nonsensical messages and lyrics...this is real intellectual property spun by an active an virile mind; we need more of this infusion to our youths...thumbs up to your message lyrical!Way to go....

Amarachukwu said...

Ok oooo

I tier o!

Every dick n harry...

Lyrikal should kindly find a productive 9-5. He's been rapping since I've been in secondary school with no success story and now I'm done with nysc. I only feel sorry for the photographer and photo editor who were embroiled in this showcase of joblessness.

Pretty Boy said...

Creativity is not being sensible.. It's freedom to exceed limits. To push beyond invisible boundaries and still deliver a message. Big ups bro! Blessed!

(Ladies love me/Im on ma Cool J)

@ Anon 4:41 Must you just open ur gonorrhea mouth and spew shit?try and read his messages again b4 yarn dust.. abeg go chop calabar dog shit if ur brain don lock

I dnt knw ooo u knw dat all dis janja rastaman r always 4rm prison

Smh ,some musician are just...

@anon 4:41 u're too shallow minded to understand. Nice one jare

These dayz everybody wants to be come a yeyebrity.*celebrity*

Okay... Nice expression!

Anonymous 4:41, what is wrong in that? The concept is brillant, nice words to go with each... Loving it

Read b4 u comment pls. Y do nigerians ask stupid questions instead of findin out demselves?. Naw ur criticizin instead of learning frm one or two quotes.

Its an art and only artistes would understand

Doesn't make sense at all. U don't have to do time to be a star. This is bs. .

This is good... I love it. It weighs more when you read open mindedly.

Love the use of the bars!cool metaphor,creative! Me love totally!

Wats expensive dere? Is it d orange jump suit or W̶̲̥̅̊н̣̣̣̝̇̇̇ɑ̤̥̈̊†̥̥ ?

Janelicious said...

nice concept

Read the message dude!!! Forget the bars, he made a lot of sense....

Deep words that should stir the average Nigerian Youth. Good content from a good head. better than some of the Oshii we get to hear every day. Please when are we seeing the Album. All we need now is great bids then you have an evergreen song!

wemimo said...

Good lyrics on point.

Naija Movies Nollywood said...

Not to express himself? But to express the position in which Nigerians youths. get it right! Thumps up to Lyrical

Which celeb is hotter? Check the pictures out at Nigerian celebrity news

Its creative...really creative n different..quite expression..@PM...u don't hav to be smart to understand dis..geez...wonder wat uld b ..if u r lower dan smart...hear him say:Does he have to use a prison to express himself....He's definitely talking to u...hmmmph...u r behind bars.

STBABA said...

VERY GOOD CONCEPTUAL EXPRESSION

He killed his message by placing that cigarette between his lips. Smoking is a deadly habit that causes lung and colon cancer, diabetes, erectile dysfunction and ectopic pregnancies. It shouldn't be in any responsible messaging targeting the youth.

U obviously can't see/think beyond the pictures #myopic#
U've been imprisoned by ur thots.....this message is for u! Embrace it

Tola said...

This is the best and most illustrative photo shoot I have ever seen. Makes a lot of sense and for a good cause too. Not photo's promoting nudity and joblessness.

Nice concept

Nice choice of words......!

slimzyose said...

Cul concept,like it.

Deep words....

diamondsr4eva said...

Wow, wow, wow! This is creativity gone free 4get d bars jor. D emotion, body language and the message were in perfect unision and i must say this got me thinking. Kudos lyrical. If ur music sounds as gud as this, ill want me sum rap music

RESPECT!U V GOT A WOLD OF INTELLECTUAL WORDS DRE

Can you even read?

blackpearl said...

Love the words....*deep*

Do u hav 2 comment?????
Essien.

nra said...

U need to go back to school,or u just do not have the intellect to understand his views, so shut the hell up, dumkoph!!

Lovely concept......
Essien

Dyu hav 2 comment????

Lovely concept......
Essien

I wonder

okay.....

BOKO HARAM said...

Mumu, shei U having to used Kiri Kiri to expression your sing. U be dan iska

Hmmm o make sense
#MzEmeraldSayso

E clear...#MAURINgabS

Jumanji said...

Bros dis ur prison cell fresh gan ooo... If na so e dey be, naija agberos no go mind @ all.

By dia fruit u shall knw dem

Tears are rolling down my cheeks right now because I connect to every of his thoughts. I hate the way I look. I just do. I have an ugly body, I have never had a girlfriend, I'm a coward, and I'm just tired of my life....I want to be free. Sometimes I want to get a gun and kill myself. *sobs*, I need help.

So dey have already start puttin people in jail for gay. Naija na waoh.
Didn't he die

Ray Boy said...

Ode! That's literature

Ray Boy said...

Olodo! That's literature

I can't even read it,I don't knw d guy so e matter no interest me.

airbee said...

Nice and creative concept

Chidigood said...

That is why u lack knowlegde. U can't just read to understand. Just for the sake of i have MB, let me use it and open LIB. See what she has posted and comment trash. Coconut head

Ray Boy said...

Olodo! That's pure literature

Must you comment. ? Dpes or Does? Annuofia

Great sense or reason and I love the prison concept....

I read all & I salute him *kress

I hope he won't end there.

Lyrical rapper funny #bright bravo#

Wow!!! Nice concept nd inspiring. pray ur rap lyrics r good too. Hobimeyer say so.

Read d lyrics Mr anonymous b4 u start commenting...Mtscheeew!

We have taken note. NEXT!!! Hilary Obiorah

Jade said...

After reading some comments here,i have come to understand why musicians churn out "ikebe super","whine your waist" etc every single day to d extent that it is almost a norm to have bootyshaking in d first 2seconds of a video before you get an audience. Its a breath of fresh air to see something different.

That's quite inspirational, highly talented guy thumbs up mi guy.... keep it up, he remind me of Bob Marley and lucky Dube

Gbenga said...

Is he ur ex?

Gbenga said...

Someone.... u want to put tht one too behind bars?

Full Blooded Anambra Woman said...

Ha, all una replies hit am gbam! Some people claim to be graduate yet the are not intelligent. Peripheral thots kawai! They refiuse to read the meaning all they do is read the words and churn out what their myopic minds understand! Arrrggghhh! So annoying! a

You fool! Do you fink that you will get a job immediately after wearing that your stupid uniform abi na only you corper shaun! U dey him pocket to know say him no get succes story? Abi him come beg you money? If to say I see you na fifty hundred lashes I go land that your black yansh. How dare you! I pray God keeps you at home for five years, no job, no business no money just only hand-me-downs, na that way you go take swallow your words. Oshi! Ode! Olodo-one-kobo! People like you are the biggest and most challenging problem that Nigeria has; believing that 9-5 jobs are the answer to all financial problems... Na person like you go dey neck deep in debts when you get a job. Fool! Inglorious bastard.

Dude, ds your words also refer to anon 4:52. Did you just read the dude's comment. Irate words!

Walahi! @ boko haram, kai wawa muna-piki ne! Dan buru ubanka! Dan duri uwara ka! Ana magana, kai ka bude bakai da yana wari kaman ka sha ruwan soak away. Ban san don mai Linda takara ba ku hanu, ba ka iya spelling ma bari a chei wey ka iya turanchi! Don allah ka shiga ramin kenkeso da ga fitar. Linda, no find my trouble oh! Better post my comment. Some fools nEed to be told.w

Walahi, @ boko haram, kai wawa munapiki ne. Duri uwara ka! Dan buri ubanaka! Aganin ka, ka na da kai ko! Baka iya spelling bari ka iya turanchi. Ba lafin ka, don mi Linda ta baku hanu ne shei ne ya sa ka na bude bakin ka da yana wari kaman ruwa soak away! Walahi, in su elders na magana, ka yi shuru. Don na gani iska ne kadai ya chika kai na ka. WAwa. Linda, post my comment, d fool need to be told.

Arise Nigeria Youths....I love my country..No be for mouth only. The time to Act is now...

Shuooo! Annmarie wetin he do u?

Zuriel

Jah bless and guide you, protect and get you outta there and make your wish come through blurda..