Akwa Ibom Governor supervises beating of opposition lawmaker? | Welcome to Linda Ikeji's Blog

Thursday 14 November 2013

Akwa Ibom Governor supervises beating of opposition lawmaker?

Premium Times is reporting that Governor Godswill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom state supervised the beating of a lawmaker. Read below...
The Akwa Ibom state House of Assembly has descended into a serious crisis after the state governor, Godswill Akpabio, personally supervised the beating of a lawmaker he suspected to be politically opposed to him and his loyalists, Premium Times has learnt.
Mr. Akpabio, witnesses said, watched as his loyalists manhandled Onofiok Luke, chairman of the House Committee on Finance and Appropriations, who was accused of being rude to the governor after he rose in defense of another lawmaker accused of challenging a loyalist of the governor at a caucus meeting held two days earlier.
The governor, our sources said, beamed with smiles as members of his kitchen cabinet, comprising Nse Ntuen, chairman of Essien Udim local government and Emmanuel Ekon, a member representing Abak/Ika/Etim Ekpo federal constituency in the House of Representatives, assaulted Mr. Luke for being allegedly rude to the governor.
The incident happened November 2 at a funeral service in honour of the mother-in-law of a state lawmaker, Gabriel Tobi, held in Etim Ekpo local government area of the state.
Mr. Akpabio had at the event summoned some lawmakers and tongue-lashed them for doing nothing after Victor Udofia, a lawmaker representing Ikono/Ini state Constituency, allegedly attacked his loyalist, Aniekan Akpan, a member representing  Ukanafun state constituency, at a caucus meeting of the House.

Witnesses say as the governor fumed and abused Mr. Udofia, who was not at the event, an equally furious Mr. Luke rose in defence of his colleague, telling the governor to abandon his divide-and-rule tactics in the interest of the state.

The governor had directed the speaker of the Assembly, Sam Ikon, to immediately activate a  process that would lead to the suspension of Mr. Udofia from the House. But Mr. Luke reportedly shot back, saying Mr. Udofia committed no offence and that any move to punish him would be resisted.
Angered by Mr. Luke’s audacity, Messrs Ekon and Ntuen descended on him, hitting and punching him repeatedly.
Mr. Akpabio simply looked on, our sources said.
The fight, we learnt, only ended after Paul Ekpo, the state Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, intervened.
The Akwa state House of Assembly is now divided along those from the governor’s minority Annang ethnic group and those from the majority Ibibio ethnic group.

Some lawmakers accuse Mr. Akpabio of financially empowering legislators from his ethnic group and then using them to undermine the speaker and other lawmakers from Ibibioland.
Messrs Ntuen and Ekon, who attacked Mr. Luke, are from Mr. Akpabio’s Annang ethnic group while Mr. Luke is Ibibio.

PREMIUM TIMES learnt that after the incident, Mr. Akpabio directed his aides to embark on a tour of media establishments to compromise them and get them to drop stories on the accident.
Concerned that the incident might do further damage to his image, our sources within the administration said, the governor also hurriedly convened a press conference where he allegedly bribed reporters with N50,000 each not to report the incident.

Mr. Akpabio could not be reached to comment for this story.
But his spokesperson, who is also the state Commissioner for Information, Aniekan Umanah, confirmed there was a disagreement between Mr. Onofiok and the governor.
Mr. Umanah said while talking to the governor on the day in question, the lawmaker raised his voice against Mr. Akpabio.

“Other members asked him not to shout because he was talking to the governor,” Mr. Umanah said. “Later, everything calmed down.”
The commissioner added via a text message, “I was there in person. Nobody beat up Onofiok talk less of doing so before the governor.”
Mr. Onofiok could not be reached for comments. But a source close to him said he had been under pressure from Governor Akpabio in the last few days to address the media to say he was never beaten by the governor’s loyalists.

75 comments:

You knw as we have half hour comedy shows????? Nigeria is 24hrs comedy show.

Hehe dis country isbcomin a big joke.power is a bitch!!!

diamondblinqz said...

Dey hv started o. Dis tym na aks abi? Mbok we r tired of dis shameless old men displayin dere folly pls. God pls save us 4rm dem

AMYY said...

Sorry for the beating,thats the price you pay sometimes for being a politician in this dispensation when impunity thrives.

bbm pin 23491053 said...

Mmm short of words. Cheers. Engr Emy.

hehehe i cant just imagine it

Photos: See The 19-Year Old Girl Who Has No Womb Or Vagina

FRESH AIR.........have dey proscribed icpc and efcc? Those guys there need not earn one kobo as Salary! Fffffffffffrrrrrreeeeeesssdshhhhhh Air.

Yay first 2 comment

Rubbish!!!!!!!!!!!! Corrupt Governor and lawlessness in Nigeria. It is very sad.

Rubbish!!!!!!! Lawlessness in Nigeria. It is very sad.

House dividing against itself. Ndi ara lekweha lele in phino my bro's voice.

But I thought Onofiok Luke was empowered by the governor even after being expelled from Uniuyo by the then VC- Prof Akpan Ekpo. He assisted the governor in consolidating power by chasing, kidnapping and even killing all those opposed to Akpabio. Little wonder, he is now a force to be reckoned with in Ibom politics. See his exalted office of committee chairman. A small boy of yesterday. But not surprising, Bible says, I will feed them with their own blood and they shall rise up against themselves. Son fighting papa after he has known all the secret wicked deeds of the governor. Shame on Akpabio

McQ said...

Nigeria and Animal Politics.

OMG!WOMAN said...

chaos, na so them do kill my papa, God judge all u wicked animals, and bring u to ur end soonest

Pls Linda, get the video for us.

That's cool...keep It up governor

Hahahaha...abi o but terrifying comedy, orishirishi..d gov is now d capone. B like spare part dealer

Choiiiii!Go.v Akpabio don fall my hand.he is one of high profile Governors I respect in Nigeria.am disappointed.#sad

Lawlessness z rulıng',..lol,bonarıo ur crayy Ah'swr! #Mz_NenyeH

Jbabe said...

When God is set to punish a man ,he makes him run mad first
Akpabio your cup is almost full.You stupid bully of a governor
if anyone disagrees with you,you throw tantrums like a fool
I dey wait to hear how ur madness will fully evolve

EbonyAma said...

All these akwa ibom people nd calabar sef, mbok stop disgracing us na.

That's Akwa ibom politics for you. You dare not criticize the governor if you want to stay alive. I did my service year there and despite the evil deeds of Akpabio being public knowledge, nobody talked bad about him in the open.
The bad thing is all their youths are doing nothing to be gainfully employed too. The government has abandoned them and all they want is to become part of the dirty political terrain as they know that's where the money is. The state has money but it is only in the hands of the politicians. 90 percent of the people are suffering. Its only roads and expensive relaxation spots that the man did. There's nothing really dere as per employment but the state got oppurtunities if u got biz ideas. Unfortunately d people are myopic with low level of reasoning.

Akpabio is a wicked satanice man...

Akpabio is a terror tin god

2015 around the corner... More beatings to unfold, if killings doesn't go alongside then God is really answering our prayers. Nigeria Politicians with their politics of bitterness and hatred. All for their selfish interest. God help us in this country.

suebaby said...

So true my dear

I looooove H E Akpabiooooo! Dele_yomi@yahoo.com

Good, make them fight and kill each other, I don't care! !!! Shameless leaders! Criminals!!!!YYou are not above the law!

Chei! Premium times have lied big lie! Na wa! Was the governor there??? Its all these people that want to do rubbish thinking that the governor will praise the. Linda if u don't publish this comment, you are such a hypocrite. Its the Local government chairman of Akpabio's local government and a commissioner from the local government that the drama took place that are the actors of this drama. Yes they manhandled the lawmaker. Knowing the lawmaker, I know that sooner or later, he has a surprise package for those 2 voltrons wey nobody send to fight. Linda if u want gist from AKS, I will be giving u free of charge. Premium Times have not chop Akpabio money before that's why they are saying Akpabio supervised the beating of Onofiok.

Ghengen! Watching!

I knew onofiok luke to be d govenors loyalist as well. And d governor is responsible 4 his sudden rise in politics despite his young age. Dis might just b a minor misunderstanding, and wil b settled. 290BCA3B

Welcome to Nigeria, a land of gazillion committees, where lawlessness strives, where corruption is bred like rice in rainy season, where down is up and up is down. Yes welcome to the land where sanity is insanity and vice versa. Yes indeed people, welcome to my bloody fatherland. #SMH

This is just a tip of the ice berg. Y'all don't know what happens in that state. Extremely corrupt.

Madness!

To be honest i got no interest in Naija politics. They can kill themselves for alla care. Its all about their pockets and not their pride so anyone can beat anyone to stupour i dnt mind

christabel said...

Let's hear from both sides

To be honest i got no interest in Naija politics. They can kill themselves for alla care. Its all about their pockets and not their pride so anyone can beat anyone to stupour i dnt mind

Some people just comment on issues based on the little fact they have, Barr. Onofiok Luke was not beaten...he was only asked by my LG chair and some other politicians to be talk in a calm voice to the governor. Who can beat him?? Don't say what u dnt knw....I was there among the press corp and I knew what happen there.

vinchy said...

A politician is a man who comes up with open mouths in any situation ,if u undastand wat i mean,baaaddd people

Linda,i heard about this some days ago and i confirmed it from my best friend who's engaged to Onofiok Luke's younger brother. So,it all boils down to the Ibibio vs Annang thing??

Until Akpabio became Governor,never before was it heard in Akwa Ibom State that there was so much friction bw the Ibibio n Annang nations. It's unfortunate that a leader cud be so tribalistic.
~AKWA IBOM'S FINEST~

ST. KIZITO BOUTIQUE IG: @stkizitoboutique said...

"Talk less" gbagaun

DadMatilda said...

Lobatan!! that is a typical example of Naija politics where impunity puts those at the helm of power on a level of demi gods that can do away with whatever wrong doing. hmmm, at it been our judiciary is competent enuf, would have advice the law maker to sue but na same story, the Oga always win!!!! God save Nigeria.

Always hated politics....yucky stuff...

dueka said...

Onofiok is a very young guy was very active in his days as student union leader...was nans president b4 he joined politics.not surprised he would defend sum1 nd damn the consequences

THE MAN said...

AKWA IBOM POLITICIANS PRACTISE POLITICS OF CULTISM. IF YOU ARE NOT A MEMBER OR A CULT GROUP OR KNOWS A MEMBER, YOU CANT GET ANYWHERE.
ALMOST ALL OF THEM ARE FOR CULT MEMBERS FROM UNIUYO AND UNICAL. WHAT THEN DID YOU EXPECT.

Akpabio is a gangster. this nigga needs his own show on HBO.

adorable jewel said...

My country is beautified with shamelessness and comedies***ROTFL******

*not intrested* linda abeg find dat woman wey cause taiwo death...I wanna see her face, e fit be say d woman d rub jars for puci. 3 kids n u aint tayad??? Find her lemme cut of her clit jor! #MADTkEED#

What do you expect from a governor who grew up and administers a state where people are manhandled for being witches/wizards? I think he did what he had been used to while growing up. He's a bloody twart!!

Na wa o wonders shall never end in Nigeria! What is happening in Nigeria I refer to it as " Life Tragic Comedy".
This can only happen in Nigeria! Our plitician think they are alfa n omega they can do and undo, May God help us.

Tafa Toyin said...

Akpabio identify urslf!!!

Nah their way nahhhhhh......
yeye Politicians

hahahahaha....Onofiok na godswill person from time nau....so there's now a falling apart? lmao....God is not asleep!!!!!

u see life? Former gov Attah made Godswill commissioner from where he got liver and money to contest governorship and Attah became a detestable thing in his eyes

now, he and his former boy/main PA whom he made House member are arch enemies? who would've thought?

Abasi ado involved!!!! hehehe

Gangster paradise!!! A state full of praise-singers, sycophants, boot-lickers, and arrogant political touts etc.
God help Akwa Ibom.

Petty News compared to the Rivers State House Of Assembly SitCom#DIZZY

meme fashion said...

Lin. Lin hmMmm I'm short of words!!

Hehehehehe no only capon o

just like Amaechi did at his state...we need balanced journalism and not junk..Have anyone reported that Amaechi was at the floor of Rivers House of Assembly when a member was beaten to coma? who reported it as they have done now? rubbish.

The black man and power. He is just a BEAST in high office, SHAME!

best opinion said...

Ha. Father and son are fighting. Wonderful

HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM, ONOFIOK ND D GOVERNOR SHAME UNTO DEM BOTH IF WAT AM READING IS TRUEE
#POKO#

Stupid annonymous,ope u re still in my state,hw many time have ur so called Gov.employed.but in my state my Gov did it 2011 n just last 2wks de youth collect state service form again,so don't comment on wat u don't knw,unamikot,n wat happen in de state house,de Gov was not there ,though de beatin was nt fair.

Shattap! So u follow chop d bribe

Akpabio is a wicked man

Akpabio is a VERY wicked and callous man..Hes deputy ran away ,His secretary to govt resigned.He believes that he is god or something..wicked wicked man

Funny how we judge ppl based on media stories....wat has d world turned into? Not all politicians r corrupt......all these libers, all they do is criticize, condemn etc as if their lives r perfect. ....... Ppl who believe the media r worse than the me.dia As for me, seeing wt my own eyes n hearing wt my owns ears is believing. I'm not a hypocrite. Akpabio is a God fearing man, believe it or not that's ur cup of tea. I'm not here to convince any1. ...Succumbing to the fact that an Annang man rules the state is the problem of IBIBIO ppl. They believe Akwa Ibom is theirs and theirs alone to rule.... Just like the northern part of nigeria, IBIBIOs wants to rule Akwa Ibom for ever.......... Tarnishing Akpabio's image out of ur hatred for annang ppl wont do u any good...... Evil politicians in nigeria don't allow the good ones to be seen but God'swill will prevail..... Linda, this is my first comment on ur blog

amkessey said...

I no get anything to say

annonymos 3:46am. u are very stupid to talk 2 aks piple wit dat manner of urs. stupid idiot wit ur smelling mouth.

U are a fool can u be bold enough to name ur state ? Low level of reasoning u said. I can see how highly u can reason with ur cut and joined grammer. U are a fool.

Obot, how did u get into d press with this ur unfortunate oyinbo? Hian

anon 4:19pm 15th, u jes took d words ryt outta my mouth. leave all des talkatives that feel like they've got d ryt to cast the first stone.
believe it or not akpabio ia better than alotta governors in nigeria. and that thing u r accusing him off, ur governor may be doing wore.
As for anon.3.46, 14th, i've gat no words for u, cos d best answer for a fool is silence.
Mia .E